Posts Tagged ‘hopeless records’

driver friendly

REVIEW: Driver Friendly – ‘Unimagined Bridges’

ArtistDriver Friendly
AlbumUnimagined Bridges
Label: Hopeless Records
Genre: Pop-Punk / Pop-Rock

When I saw that Driver Friendly’s new album was titled Unimagined Bridges, I let out a chuckle that hid a lingering feeling of disappointment; the band used the metaphorical bridge extensively on their Hopeless Records debut EP Peaks + Valleys, and seeing the word in the new record’s title immediately set off a fear trigger that they hadn’t progressed as much as I would have hoped in the year since their last effort. While my fears immediately subsided upon initial listens, it’s …

aaron west

REVIEW: Aaron West and The Roaring Twenties – ‘We Don’t Have Each Other’

Artist: Aaron West and The Roaring Twenties
Album: We Don’t Have Each Other
Label: Hopeless Records

If nothing else can be taken away from Aaron West and The Roaring Twenties‘ debut record, then at least take away this: even in the most fictitious stories there can be subtle truths about struggle in life. Everyone goes through trials, tests, tribulations and people far wiser than myself will tell you it’s how you face these situations that helps mold and shape who you are and what you can become.

This is what We Don’t Have Each Other is about. It’s about …

Neck Deep Promo 2013

Watch Neck Deep’s Music Video for “Losing Teeth”

Neck Deep‘s new music video for their hit single “Losing Teeth” has had us posi-jumping in our seats since its premiere at AltPress this morning.

The song comes from the UK band’s debut full-length, A History of Bad Decisions, which released last year through Hopeless Records. More recently, the band’s gone through the US on their first headlining tour with the likes of Light Years and Knuckle Puck, and they can currently be found setting crowds off on the Beatport stage of the Vans Warped Tour.

Follow the jump to watch the music video and to see remaining …

aaron west roaring twenties

Aaron West and the Roaring Twenties Stream Debut Album

It’s finally here. Aaron West and the Roaring Twenties, the new project of Dan “Soupy” Campbell (of the Wonder Years) is streaming their debut album one week before its scheduled release date. Check down below for the stream.

The LP, We Don’t Have Each Other is due out on July 8 via Hopeless Records, where you can still get the pre-order. You can expect our review of the album soon.

East coasters can find Soupy performing live this summer on the Acoustic Basement stage at the Vans Warped Tour. Those select dates are below as …

the wonder years

The Wonder Years Release Full-Band Version Of “Living Room Song”

Brace yourself: The Wonder Years have released a new song, kind of.

The undisputed kings of new-school pop-punk have released a full-band version of “Living Room Song” over at Alt Press. The acoustic version of the track originally appeared as an elusive Japanese B-side to 2011′s Suburbia I’ve Given You All And Now I’m Nothing, and has since been released as a bonus track on the deluxe edition of the record. I personally believe that the acoustic version is far superior, but it’s great to have both versions around.

The song will be released through No Sleep Records’ …

aaron west roaring twenties

Listen To a New Song From Aaron West and the Roaring Twenties

We are now barreling headlong towards the release of We Don’t Have Each Other, the first-ever full length from Aaron West and the Roaring Twenties, a.k.a. Dan “Soupy” Campbell of The Wonder Years. So far, the famously frank frontman has graced us with two tracks from his debut solo effort, and earlier today, unveiled a third during an extensive interview with Look below to check out the full podcast; if you’re pressed for time, the new song, “St. Joe Keeps Us Safe,” begins at around 25:50.

On this latest effort, Campbell’s protagonist wrestles with his …


Driver Friendly Debut New Song, “Everything Gold”

Texas pop rockers Driver Friendly are gearing up to release their new full-length, Unimagined Bridges, in July. Today, they have treated fans to the album’s second single, titled “Everything Gold.” You can check out an acoustic performance of the song courtesy of Zero Platoon and AbsolutePunk.

If you want to hear the song’s catchy melody and horn line in a more rocked out setting, the full-band version of the song is available on Spotify.

Driver Friendly will be hitting the road July 10 for a summer tour with Seaway, Stickup Kid, and Candy Hearts. Check out the …

aaron west roaring twenties

Stream The First Track From The Wonder Years’ Dan Campbell’s New Side Project

Last week, UTG became immensely excited when Dan “Soupy” Campbell of The Wonder Years announced his new project titled Aaron West and The Roaring Twenties.

“I’ve got a gut full of ulcers. They’re gonna burn out like dead stars; and turn to dust,” sings Campbell in his typical fashion of brutal honesty, although the song itself is presented unlike anything you’ve heard from Soupy in the past.

Check out below the jump to watch the lyric video for the new track “You Ain’t No Saint” and look forward to the album We Don’t Have Each Other which will be …

aaron west roaring twenties

Dan Campbell Of The Wonder Years Reveals Solo Project, Aaron West And The Roaring Twenties

You’re going to get to know Aaron West very well this summer.

Who is Aaron West, you ask? He is the character at the center of Aaron West and the Roaring Twenties, the new solo project of Dan Campbell, vocalist of pop punk favorites The Wonder Years. Here’s what Campbell has to say about the project and his upcoming album, We Don’t Have Each Other, produced by Ace Enders of The Early November and out July 8 on Hopeless Records:

Everything I had ever written lyrically up to this point had been non-fiction. I wanted to push myself

Have Mercy

Have Mercy Sign To Hopeless Records, Announce Fall 2014 Release For LP2

Hopeless Records has been making excellent signing decisions for the better part of the past year, but they might have just outdone themselves today. The label announced that they’ve picked up Maryland’s Have Mercy, and will be releasing their second LP this fall.

For those of you that missed it, Have Mercy released their excellent debut record, The Earth Pushed Back last year on Topshelf Records to universal acclaim and have built a steady following in the months since. The record took me by surprise at the end of the summer and earned its place as one of my …

stickup kid (2)

Stickup Kid And Seaway Announce National Tour With Candy Hearts And Driver Friendly

Mark your calendars, because one of this Summer’s most fun pop-punk tours was just announced. Stickup Kid and Seaway will be co-headlining a national tour this July and August with support from Candy Hearts and Driver Friendly.

Candy Hearts and Driver Friendly will be releasing their new records, All The Ways You Let Me Down and Unimagined Bridges, respectively, this Summer, just in time for this run. While Stickup Kid and Seaway are great headliners, this tour really shines in the support bill. If you haven’t already done so, make sure you take the time to listen to …


Driver Friendly Premiere New Song Featuring Dan Campbell, New Album Out July 15

Austin, Texas natives Driver Friendly have announced that their new album, Unimagined Bridges, will be released July 15 on Hopeless Records. In typical Driver Friendly fashion, the announcement was accompanied by a fun, elaborate music video for the album’s first single, “Stand So Tall.”

In the clip, which you can check out after the break, the band members attend a sort of superhero boot camp, complete with costumes, skateboards, and even a Shake Weight. The aspiring superheroes are even joined by Wonder Years frontman Dan “Soupy” Campbell, whose unmistakable voice adds a shot of adrenaline to the song’s bridge.…