Under the Gun Review Entertainment news for today's generation 2014-10-23T00:29:10Z http://www.underthegunreview.net/feed/atom/ WordPress Dana Reandelar http://twitter.com/danarndlr <![CDATA[Stream The New Sorority Noise/Somos Split]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1135187 2014-10-23T00:29:10Z 2014-10-23T00:29:10Z Connecticut and Boston natives, Sorority Noise and Somos (respectively), recently announced that they will be putting out a split EP via Bad Timing Records. The EP officially drops on November 4 and is available for pre-order here.

If you enjoyed Somos’ 2014 release, Temple Of Plenty, and Sorority Noise’s Unforgettable, you may be caught off guard by the slight dip in energy from both bands. When comparing it to both debut full-length records, Somos and Sorority Noise have noticeably gone the laid-back route in terms of their sound’s overall vibe. That is not to say, however, that …

]]>
Connecticut and Boston natives, Sorority Noise and Somos (respectively), recently announced that they will be putting out a split EP via Bad Timing Records. The EP officially drops on November 4 and is available for pre-order here.

If you enjoyed Somos’ 2014 release, Temple Of Plenty, and Sorority Noise’s Unforgettable, you may be caught off guard by the slight dip in energy from both bands. When comparing it to both debut full-length records, Somos and Sorority Noise have noticeably gone the laid-back route in terms of their sound’s overall vibe. That is not to say, however, that these aren’t solid tunes. The material definitely adds some new character to their catalogues.

You can stream the split EP below.

]]>
0
Michael Giegerich <![CDATA[Job For A Cowboy Debut “Eating The Visions Of God”]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1135186 2014-10-23T00:05:56Z 2014-10-23T00:05:56Z Arizona death metal outfit Job For A Cowboy have followed up the recent release of “Sun Of Nihility” with yet another monstrous single courtesy of the guys over at MetalSucks. Entitled “Eating The Visions of God,” the new cut hails from the group’s forthcoming record, Sun Eater. While the full-length officially hits stores November 11 via Metal Blade Records, pre-order options are available here.

The new single just might be Job For A Cowboy’s best work yet, so turn up your speakers to full blast, head over to MetalSucks, and give “Eating The Visions Of God” a …

]]>
Arizona death metal outfit Job For A Cowboy have followed up the recent release of “Sun Of Nihility” with yet another monstrous single courtesy of the guys over at MetalSucks. Entitled “Eating The Visions of God,” the new cut hails from the group’s forthcoming record, Sun Eater. While the full-length officially hits stores November 11 via Metal Blade Records, pre-order options are available here.

The new single just might be Job For A Cowboy’s best work yet, so turn up your speakers to full blast, head over to MetalSucks, and give “Eating The Visions Of God” a listen. As always, feel free to let us know your thoughts on the track in the comments section below.

]]>
0
Michael Giegerich <![CDATA[Attila Guitarist Parts Ways With Band]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1135182 2014-10-23T00:04:31Z 2014-10-22T23:48:21Z Metalcore outfit Attila recently kicked off their album release cycle for Guilty Pleasure with the release of a brand new single in “Proving Grounds,” but slightly less pleasurable news has come from the band’s camp today. According to a post on guitarist Nate Salameh’s personal Facebook page, he has amicably parted ways with the band in order to focus on removing drugs and alcohol from his life alongside pursuing a career in producing.

For those who would like to read Salameh’s full statement on his departure, it can be found below.

I’m making this post to inform everyone

]]>
Metalcore outfit Attila recently kicked off their album release cycle for Guilty Pleasure with the release of a brand new single in “Proving Grounds,” but slightly less pleasurable news has come from the band’s camp today. According to a post on guitarist Nate Salameh’s personal Facebook page, he has amicably parted ways with the band in order to focus on removing drugs and alcohol from his life alongside pursuing a career in producing.

For those who would like to read Salameh’s full statement on his departure, it can be found below.

I’m making this post to inform everyone that the boys in ATTILA and I have decided to go our separate ways. I have no bad blood against the guys at all. It was apparent to the people who are close to me (including the guys in the band) that I wasn’t happy. I couldn’t keep lying to myself. It just took some recent events for me to realize it. I had rrecently decided to make a lifestyle change to clean myself of all drugs and alcohol and it is obvious that this was not the environment that I needed to be in to ensure that I live a clean ,healthy and happy life. I’m blessed to have made so many friends and I am truly appreciative all the life lessons that the road has ttaught me. I wish the best for ATTILA in all future endeavors. This is not the end of the road for me. This past year I have found a new passion for recording so I will be perusing this strongly. I love all you and thank you 
-nate

]]>
0
Brian Lion http://underthegunreview.net <![CDATA[The Jane Shermans Stream “I Walk Alone”]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1135170 2014-10-22T22:57:52Z 2014-10-22T22:57:52Z Nashville rock duo, The Jane Shermans, recently began streaming a brand new single, entitled “I Walk Alone.” Led by an undeniably funky bassline and driving structure, Eulene Sherman seems to channel the best of the ’80s as she uses the unique, punk-disco foundation to show off her vocal chops.

In regards to the song’s meaning, Sherman explains, “The lyrics are about owning confidence to move ahead when the road ahead is hazy and full of fog. Believe in what you got and who you are.” A relatable insight that we should all strive to achieve.

You can stream “I …

]]>
Nashville rock duo, The Jane Shermans, recently began streaming a brand new single, entitled “I Walk Alone.” Led by an undeniably funky bassline and driving structure, Eulene Sherman seems to channel the best of the ’80s as she uses the unique, punk-disco foundation to show off her vocal chops.

In regards to the song’s meaning, Sherman explains, “The lyrics are about owning confidence to move ahead when the road ahead is hazy and full of fog. Believe in what you got and who you are.” A relatable insight that we should all strive to achieve.

You can stream “I Walk Alone” below (via The Vinyl District) which is available in 7″ format with another single entitled “Shotgun.”

]]>
0
James Shotwell <![CDATA[Here Is The First Trailer For ‘Avengers: Age Of Ultron’]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1135172 2014-10-22T23:03:08Z 2014-10-22T22:43:23Z Oh, internet. Sometimes the anonymous computer fiends that create your best content risk legal action to share something amazing with the world, and tonight they truly outdid themselves.

The first full trailer for Marvel’s Avengers: Age Of Ultron has found its way online ahead of the scheduled October 28 premiere. The footage shows a world on the verge of being torn apart by an enemy it has never seen before, and it looks like our beloved heroes are no longer the friends they once were. It’s big. It’s crazy. It includes Hulkbuster imagery. Check it out:

James Spader is my …

]]>
Oh, internet. Sometimes the anonymous computer fiends that create your best content risk legal action to share something amazing with the world, and tonight they truly outdid themselves.

The first full trailer for Marvel’s Avengers: Age Of Ultron has found its way online ahead of the scheduled October 28 premiere. The footage shows a world on the verge of being torn apart by an enemy it has never seen before, and it looks like our beloved heroes are no longer the friends they once were. It’s big. It’s crazy. It includes Hulkbuster imagery. Check it out:

James Spader is my spirit animal.

The official synopsis for Age Of Ultron reads:

Marvel Studios presents “Avengers: Age of Ultron,” the epic follow-up to the biggest Super Hero movie of all time. When Tony Stark tries to jumpstart a dormant peacekeeping program, things go awry and Earth’s Mightiest Heroes, including Iron Man, Captain America, Thor, The Incredible Hulk, Black Widow and Hawkeye, are put to the ultimate test as the fate of the planet hangs in the balance. As the villainous Ultron emerges, it is up to the Avengers to stop him from enacting his terrible plans, and soon uneasy alliances and unexpected action pave the way for an epic and unique global adventure.

Avengers: Age Of Ultron opens May 1, 2015.

]]>
0
Brian Lion http://underthegunreview.net <![CDATA[Arms & Sleepers Stream Their Excellent New LP, ‘Swim Team,’ In Full]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1135167 2014-10-22T21:31:32Z 2014-10-22T21:31:32Z Boston duo Arms & Sleepers have a brand new, post-hiatus LP set to release on Halloween. We were lucky enough to have a listen awhile back and have been waiting anxiously for it to officially drop. Today, we have the opportunity to stream the 11-track effort in full over at HuffPost.

Summer might be over but A&S aim to keep things hot with this newest effort. Overflowing with chill-meets-trill vibes, Swim Team can perfectly accentuate just about any activity, especially swimming and/or relaxing by the pool. With ethereal elements that have always been present in the endlessly fantastic catalogue

]]>
Boston duo Arms & Sleepers have a brand new, post-hiatus LP set to release on Halloween. We were lucky enough to have a listen awhile back and have been waiting anxiously for it to officially drop. Today, we have the opportunity to stream the 11-track effort in full over at HuffPost.

Summer might be over but A&S aim to keep things hot with this newest effort. Overflowing with chill-meets-trill vibes, Swim Team can perfectly accentuate just about any activity, especially swimming and/or relaxing by the pool. With ethereal elements that have always been present in the endlessly fantastic catalogue of Arms & Sleepers, the two have now implemented some late ’80s / early ’90s, hip-hop-inspired beats that really elevate their sound to the upper echelon of the ambient/trip-hop genre alongside acts like Bonobo and Tycho. Swim Team should appeal to fans of those greats or other multi-talented producers like Vanilla or The Mad Writer, L’Orange.

Either way, we highly suggest you kick back and stream through the record below. As you’ll undoubtedly want a copy for yourself, head right here and treat yourself to something worth your time and money.

]]>
0
Sam Cohen <![CDATA[‘The Gambler’ Red-Band Trailer Rolls Dice And Spouts F-Bombs]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1135140 2014-10-22T21:13:18Z 2014-10-22T21:13:18Z It’s that time of the year again, where every studio scrambles to find a spot for a film they think is destined for awards this season. The Gambler is one of those films we have almost heard nothing about. Well, until now. Sporting an A-list cast including Mark Wahlberg, John Goodman, Brie Larson, Michael Kenneth Williams and Jessica Lange, The Gambler hits theaters in limited release on December 19, and then expands on January 1 of 2015. The Gambler is directed by Rupert Wyatt (Rise of the Planet of the Apes) and written by William Monahan (The

]]>
It’s that time of the year again, where every studio scrambles to find a spot for a film they think is destined for awards this season. The Gambler is one of those films we have almost heard nothing about. Well, until now. Sporting an A-list cast including Mark Wahlberg, John Goodman, Brie Larson, Michael Kenneth Williams and Jessica Lange, The Gambler hits theaters in limited release on December 19, and then expands on January 1 of 2015. The Gambler is directed by Rupert Wyatt (Rise of the Planet of the Apes) and written by William Monahan (The Departed).

The Gambler follows Jim Bennett (Wahlberg), literature professor, whose gambling problems get him in trouble with the wrong people. After losing all that he has, Jim garners the interest of a underground loan shark by the name of Frank (John Goodman). As Jim’s relationship with one of his students (Brie Larson’s Amy Phillips) deepens, his possibility at getting a second chance at life gets riskier and riskier. (Plot summary per IMDB and Comingsoon.net)

Check out the red-band trailer below along with the first poster and let us know what you think!

TheGambler

]]>
0
Scott Murray <![CDATA[Too Close To Touch Stream Debut EP]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1135147 2014-10-22T20:45:28Z 2014-10-22T20:45:28Z From the birthplace of Emarosa comes an exciting new post-hardcore act with an excellent sound: Lexington, KY’s Too Close To Touch.

Just recently, the band announced their signing to Epitaph Records, and with that signing was to come a self-titled EP on October 21. The 4-song album, Too Close To Touch, is now available to purchase on iTunes or to stream on YouTube.

Now that they’ve made their major label debut, it’s logical to expect a tour announcement soon out of Too Close To Touch. Also, don’t forget to check out the stream of Too Close To

]]>
From the birthplace of Emarosa comes an exciting new post-hardcore act with an excellent sound: Lexington, KY’s Too Close To Touch.

Just recently, the band announced their signing to Epitaph Records, and with that signing was to come a self-titled EP on October 21. The 4-song album, Too Close To Touch, is now available to purchase on iTunes or to stream on YouTube.

Now that they’ve made their major label debut, it’s logical to expect a tour announcement soon out of Too Close To Touch. Also, don’t forget to check out the stream of Too Close To Touch below the jump:

]]>
0
Tyler Osborne http://underthegunreview.net <![CDATA[STREAM: Enter Shikari – “The Last Garrison”]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1135141 2014-10-22T20:51:12Z 2014-10-22T18:47:06Z Our friends from across the pond, Enter Shikari, just unleashed the new track “The Last Garrison,” the first single off of their upcoming record, The Mindsweep. The track definitely is in a new distinct musical direction, with a heavier focus on the drum and bass and electronic elements. However, this is still Enter Shikari, so the grand scale and heavy hardcore-influenced sections are alive and well.

The thing I love about Enter Shikari is their ability to really push themselves in a wide variety of directions, exploring what it means to be a band. “The Last Garrison” is …

]]>
Our friends from across the pond, Enter Shikari, just unleashed the new track “The Last Garrison,” the first single off of their upcoming record, The Mindsweep. The track definitely is in a new distinct musical direction, with a heavier focus on the drum and bass and electronic elements. However, this is still Enter Shikari, so the grand scale and heavy hardcore-influenced sections are alive and well.

The thing I love about Enter Shikari is their ability to really push themselves in a wide variety of directions, exploring what it means to be a band. “The Last Garrison” is really catchy, and here at UTG we’re excited to see where this new record is going to take them. If this track is any indicator, it’s about time to get ready for a whole new Shikari experience, which is just the way we like it.

You can pre-order The Mindsweep here if you’re a US-based fan. Click through the break to listen to “The Last Garrison,” and let us know what you think in the comments section.

]]>
0
James Shotwell <![CDATA[Fireworks Release “Run, Brother, Run” Music Video]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1135129 2014-10-22T17:58:17Z 2014-10-22T16:11:09Z The Michigan band behind one of the year’s best albums has just delivered a simple and sweet music video that will have you thinking about calling home.

Fireworks have always been a band that wore their hearts, as well as any/all emotions they may feel, on their sleeves. This has allowed them to create complex pop rock releases that offer infectious melodies and stories that are deeply rooted in real life experiences. People connect with their unwavering sense of honesty, and “Run, Brother, Run” is the perfect example of a song that could easily win them a few hundred new …

]]>
The Michigan band behind one of the year’s best albums has just delivered a simple and sweet music video that will have you thinking about calling home.

Fireworks have always been a band that wore their hearts, as well as any/all emotions they may feel, on their sleeves. This has allowed them to create complex pop rock releases that offer infectious melodies and stories that are deeply rooted in real life experiences. People connect with their unwavering sense of honesty, and “Run, Brother, Run” is the perfect example of a song that could easily win them a few hundred new fans on any given day. It’s got this beautifully melancholy tone throughout, with just enough hope laced in the vocals of Dave Mackinder to keep our heads above water. You can view the song’s official video below:

Fireworks’ latest release, Oh, Common Life, is available now wherever music is sold.

]]>
0
James Shotwell <![CDATA[Song Of The Week: In The Whale – “Ride”]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1135126 2014-10-22T17:59:04Z 2014-10-22T15:17:00Z Denver rock duo In The Whale have spent 2014 becoming one of the most closely watched buzz bands in the world of rock. Now, following the release of two killer EPs and numerous nationwide tours, the band have shared a new track that rips like no other single in recent memory.

I know not everyone who reads this post was able to attend Riot Fest Denver, but had you been there you would know In The Whale opened their set with the killer cut you’re about to hear. Before the song was halfway over you could see people running …

]]>
Denver rock duo In The Whale have spent 2014 becoming one of the most closely watched buzz bands in the world of rock. Now, following the release of two killer EPs and numerous nationwide tours, the band have shared a new track that rips like no other single in recent memory.

I know not everyone who reads this post was able to attend Riot Fest Denver, but had you been there you would know In The Whale opened their set with the killer cut you’re about to hear. Before the song was halfway over you could see people running from other stages to witness what was taking place on the stage where the band was performing. The crowd grew and grew as the set carried on, which was no doubt aided by the fact In The Whale have a great live show, but when I look back now it’s still their opener that stands out the most. “Ride” is the kind of song you put on to drown out the world and get shit accomplished. You can run from the cops to this song just as easily as you jam it while burning calories at the gym or working away at the dead-end cubicle job you keep telling yourself will improve in time (it won’t). Escape reality for a few quick minutes and dig into this track with us:

In The Whale have been busy throughout the year, but we’re hearing that 2015 will be even crazier. We expect a lot of new music from the band in the months to come, as well as the reveal of additional tour dates. When that happens, we’ll be sure to update you with all the information you need to make your rock loving hearts explode with joy. Follow UTG on Twitter for updates.

]]>
0
Brian Lion http://underthegunreview.net <![CDATA[UTG’s 31 Days Of Halloween: ‘Fright Night’]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1134450 2014-10-22T09:50:10Z 2014-10-22T15:00:25Z Of all the holidays celebrated worldwide, no single day is more loved by the UTG staff than Halloween. With the arrival of the year’s best month, the time has finally come to begin rolling out a plethora of features and special announcements we have prepared in celebration of our favorite day, including the one you’re about to read.

Now in its third year, 31 Days Of Halloween is a recurring feature that will run throughout the month of October. The hope and goal of this column is to supply every UTG reader with a daily horror (or Halloween-themed) movie recommendation …

]]>
Of all the holidays celebrated worldwide, no single day is more loved by the UTG staff than Halloween. With the arrival of the year’s best month, the time has finally come to begin rolling out a plethora of features and special announcements we have prepared in celebration of our favorite day, including the one you’re about to read.

Now in its third year, 31 Days Of Halloween is a recurring feature that will run throughout the month of October. The hope and goal of this column is to supply every UTG reader with a daily horror (or Halloween-themed) movie recommendation that is guaranteed to amplify your All Hallows’ Eve festivities. We’ll be watching every film the day it’s featured, and we hope you’ll follow along at home.

[Warning: the material within is likely NSFW]

fright night

Day 22: Fright Night (1985)

Since the days of Vampyr, Nosferatu, and even Dracula himself, there have been countless vampire-related films to grace the silver screen, but the 1980s saw somewhat of a surprising drought when it came to notable, blood-sucking action. Films like The Lost Boys, Near Dark, Vampire’s Kiss and even The Monster Squad would come around later in the decade, but before all the comedy and horror found within those features, Tom Holland’s directorial debut — an eventual cult classic — would breathe new life into the genre in 1985.

Fright Night was a film that I had unfortunately overlooked for the majority of my life. It wasn’t until just two years ago that I experienced it for the first time, and when the end credits began to roll as I completed that inaugural viewing, I immediately began kicking myself.

Holland’s Fright Night, before anything, is a ton of fun for horror fans. With perfect measures of all things essential to the genre, you’d be hard-pressed to find a ‘horror hound’ that’s seen the movie and not loved it. There’s a true sense of mystery and dread throughout, elevated by the eerie score and the familiar themes, but there are darkly comedic elements strewn about as well which only make the film that much more enjoyable. One of my favorite aspects of Fright Night, however, is the full use of practical effects. Unsullied by the use of CGI, the original Fright Night is pure visual horror to its core without the aid of over-the-top digital effects. Richard Edlund’s (Ghostbusters, Big Trouble In Little China) time-consuming makeup, puppetry, and other visual manipulations are outstanding and have held up beautifully over the past three decades. I’ll take practical effects over computer-generated ones any day.

fright night gross

Another unique quality of the film is its ability to often feel like a stage play in its flow and delivery, which adds a truly dramatic, theatrical feel to the whole affair. This of course is already inherent in the Dracula-esque production, but the tone is likely due mostly in part to Tom Holland’s roots as a classically-trained actor and his meticulous approach to pre-production for the film. The cast was provided with ample rehearsal time and actually acted out the entire movie on a blocked-out stage as they delved into self-written biographies (suggested by Holland) for each of their respective characters, aiming to more fully understand who they were to become within the story.

Furthermore, when you combine vampire motifs with the ’80s, you have to know you’re going to get some formula that consists of blood, grisly transformations, over-the-top acting and some saxophone-soundtracked sensuality. I mean, what would a vampire film be without some sexual activity, right? Fright Night has it all. With a relatively simple plot in place, the film is carried along by the acting of all involved — regardless of whether or not you think it’s overplayed — along with the necessary effects that help portray everything as needed. On top of that, the film just looks beautiful. The lighting, the camera work, the costumes and set design; it all makes Fright Night a pleasure to watch.

fright night 3

As this isn’t intended to be a synopsis, I wanted to focus more on why this is a film you should have an interest in this Halloween season. Like any great film, it’s better if you take the time to experience it for yourself, rather than have me spoil all the fun. Luckily for us, Fright Night is currently streaming on Netflix, but if you’re not a subscriber (do those people exist?), you can always rent it or just pull the trigger and blindly purchase a copy.

While the trailer below admittedly isn’t the best representation of Fright Night, it, in conjunction with this editorial, might just convince you to spend some time with this dynamic, ’80s horror classic, no matter how cheesy you might end up believing it to be.

Editorial written by: Brian Lion
Last year’s Day 22 film: Saw

]]>
0
Derek Scancarelli <![CDATA[UTG INTERVIEW: Joe Hahn Of Linkin Park On Directorial Debut ‘Mall’]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1134777 2014-10-22T05:24:24Z 2014-10-22T14:15:58Z Joe Hahn has been recognized as the man behind Linkin Park’s turntables since the band’s release of Hybrid Theory in 2000.

In 2014, he is proud to have made his feature-length directorial debut with Mall, which hit theaters on Friday, October 17. Creating and releasing the film was an in-depth journey, which he simultaneously coordinated with releasing a new album, The Hunting Party, and playing a nationwide summer tour.

With a team of strong actors including Cameron Monaghan (Shameless), Vincent D’Onofrio (Law and Order) and Gina Gershon (Wilfred), he was able to …

]]>
Joe Hahn has been recognized as the man behind Linkin Park’s turntables since the band’s release of Hybrid Theory in 2000.

In 2014, he is proud to have made his feature-length directorial debut with Mall, which hit theaters on Friday, October 17. Creating and releasing the film was an in-depth journey, which he simultaneously coordinated with releasing a new album, The Hunting Party, and playing a nationwide summer tour.

With a team of strong actors including Cameron Monaghan (Shameless), Vincent D’Onofrio (Law and Order) and Gina Gershon (Wilfred), he was able to take the script’s foundation and his vision to create a film that is truly compelling.

Hahn describes the process of creation as a race, and this past week has finally become his finish line. Proud to see the fruits of his labor, he took some time to chat with Under The Gun Review about the process of directing his first full-length film and the themes and symbolism within the movie. Check below to read UTG’s exclusive interview with the director.

UTG: I know you shot the film well over a year ago, and since then you’ve released The Hunting Party with Linkin Park and done a whole summer tour with 30 Seconds To Mars. Have you been anxious since you shot the film for it to finally come out?

Joe Hahn: Yeah, for sure. I think things just have a way of working out. When we promoted this film, we did it during the U.S. tour that we were on, but we were able to show the trailer to all the people that came to the shows. Things have their way of happening at the right time.

Lately have you been able to take a breather from the band and put more energy into the release of the film?

The way we work is we’re always working on a bunch of things simultaneously. Actually, this week I’m focusing on doing some interviews and getting the word out on the film, but I actually leave to go to Brazil tomorrow. I’ll actually have to watch in the theater next week.

Before we jump into the actual film I want to touch on the music within it. Did you create an original score?

Yeah, there’s an original score. You can actually get a taste of it; we put out a clip of the opening credits that has a song called “White Noise,” that’s in the beginning. It’s pretty cool, it helps define that thrashy-ness of one of the characters in the film who is the catalyst of the negative things that go on. We also have a couple of other songs that speak directly to certain characters. Especially these characters that Jeff [main character] connects with on a spiritual level. Because of that we’re able to also use those songs as thematic songs during the film, to present different melodies to remind you audibly of who these people are.

In the beginning of the film, did I hear Chester [Bennington] in that track?

Yeah, that’s Chester singing on that one. Mike [Shinoda] sings on the other two that are later on in the movie.

So you might release those songs formally someday?

It’s up in the air now but we will put it out formally.

When I was watching the film, the first scene made me react immediately. It’s just one of those “Oh shit!” moments that you rarely get. Was that something that you did on purpose? Starting with a bang?

Yeah. It gets very lighthearted after that, but yeah, for sure. I wanted to let the viewer know that this is the world that they’re entering, and show how horrible this guy is. He has a clarity to what he’s doing, but it’s definitely not a good thing.

When we introduced the other characters, it was important to have sympathy for them. These people are people that are violent, but in different ways (to themselves), which can affect other people around them. Then there’s this guy that’s on a rampage and it’s important to see that range of emptiness in these people. Jeff will eventually be able to distinguish the difference between himself and the others.

In the beginning when you first see Jeff entering the mall, he tackles a lot of commercialization of America, going into all these rants that almost seem like Fight Club, manufactured happiness and whatnot.

It’s very pseudo-intellectual [laughs].

[Laughs] well, as the film carries on, I feel as though that theme of anti-corporation seems to become less apparent. Is it an underlying theme? What is the relevance?

I wanted to show the audience that Jeff was a really smart kid, with an imagination, and he’s able to paint a picture of the world. He thinks he has everything figured out. But the reality is that he doesn’t. He’s kind of acting like a poser because he’s trying to impress this girl. Even to the point where he’s reciting Steppenwolf [a 1929 German novel], which at the beginning is meaningless, but as the story goes on and he becomes a little bit more enlightened in his awareness of things, the words from Steppenwolf, they start to have a different type of meaning that helps guide his path.

Well, in the beginning, a sizable amount of time goes by before you realize that a lot of this might just be in his head. He’s just imagining he’s able to impress this girl, right?

Yeah, and it’s meaningless because she doesn’t care about any of that stuff anyway.

There was definitely a lot of repetition with the themes. At one point, he references the “man and wolf dichotomy.” What’s the significance of that?

That one is a very identifiable theme. He is able to realize that in an altered state, through that altered state, he’s able to transcend beyond his intellect that you see at the beginning of the film. He’s actually able to connect the intellect with spirituality with different people. He’s talking about these different people, his assumptions on who they are, but in the end he’s actually kind of right about them. It shows how perceptive he is, he’s able to connect with people on a different plain. When the security guard is dying, he’s actually feeling it even though he’s nowhere near him. He’s somehow spiritually connected. These are all different people who represent Jeff in different ways; they represent paths of life that he could go down.

I created the wolf theme as symbolism of the primal nature of man being very savage and animal-like, it directly connects to some of the Steppenwolf references which he is obsessed with. It’s engrained in him somehow and he’s able to see that. That creature in other people, especially in Mal [mall shooter]. With the security guy, he’s connected with the snakes and the whole Haitian voodoo culture and all that. With Mal, he sees the beast, the wolf. When they actually meet, that’s a crossing point where Mal is trying to pass the torch on to Jeff. He’s saying, “Okay, my job here is done. You need to take over, get rid of me so you can finish the job.” Jeff is able to know the difference and choose for himself that he’s not predestined the way these other people are.

So he needed to go through that whole transformative experience? By the end he seemed like a stand-up guy and was even smiling…

Pretty much. He realized what the whole thing was about. His interpretation of it at least. I wanted to keep it a little open-ended to have meaning to whoever is watching it, to kind of assume that he’s going for something better. You don’t know what the future lies for him, but it’s definitely not what those other things are. He has that moment of clarity where you hear one of the songs as he goes back to the mall and he goes up the escalator and he sees the girl of his dreams making out with his buddy, but then you see him not caring too much. At the end of that scene he’s smiling, it just doesn’t bother him anymore. He’s moved on. These are all indications that he’s able to move past his former self.

I know you’ve directed music videos in the past. But this, as your full-length directorial debut, seems like a complicated story. It has so many individual back-stories that are happening at the same point in time; they all come together in the end. Was that a difficult process, going through all of those layers?

The blueprint is all in the script. I was fortunate enough to be given a great script that had the master plan in it. It was my job to build layers upon that. If you look at it as a foundation, which are the words and the story, then me as a director, I can really take that in many different directions. That’s where it became really fun.

music composed

What would you say were some of the most fun experiences shooting this?

I loved working with all of the actors. Especially with these scenes being really crazy; a lot of raw performing, letting yourself go, becoming the character and not taking yourself too seriously. Because, there is some dark stuff. All the actors, they committed themselves, but had fun doing it as well. I think for the actors it’s hard for them to envision what the director wants. Like if I explain this is the effect I’m gonna do, even though it’s never been seen, it’s kind of hard for the actor to really completely understand it. So there is always a certain level of trust. For example, when Cameron Monaghan, who plays Jeff, is in the bathroom, he’s flashing his arms around and turning into the wolf. Imagine you’re being told, “Okay, the camera is gonna be moving around and I need you to throw your arms around and imagine a wolf coming out of you.” It’s not an easy thing to do. You need to imagine what that is. I’m really grateful I was able to get that trust out of everyone, to really do the things that I was asking them to do. The movie came out great because of that.

I think it’s cool that you didn’t really seem to censor yourself either. In the first few minutes one of the characters said, “Shit-covered prick.” I just thought to myself, “Wow, they really went for it…”

Yeah, there are certain things [in the film] that I would never say to anyone [laughs]. It shows how it’s not who I am, it’s who these people are. You have to show the ugly side of things for people to really understand how truly bad they are.

So how did you go about choosing this script? What about it jumped out to you?

The interesting thing is that people who know me, and know the types of things that I’m into, I think that they would think that I’d like to do some kind of sci-fi or fantasy related film that I could really paint a cool picture with, which is definitely one of the things that I strive for, but it’s hard for me to connect with those things when the story and the characters aren’t that compelling. I was really lucky to be handed this script, for someone to see the potential in me to do something like this. I think that requires knowing someone beyond face value. I was able to really lock in with each of these characters and the story of Jeff and what’s going on in his life. I really thought I could visually shape his journey.

I think with each task it has its own unique circumstances in what you can do. One of my favorite films is Fight Club. As you mentioned, if you actually think about that film, the script versus what the film was- I don’t think I’d be able to do anything that David Fincher did because it was all his way of connecting with the film that made it unique. If you think about films like that and the way the story was told, that’s something that I strive for. Giving the unique perspective to something that’s very soulful.

What’s strange about Fight Club is that the movie was just as incredible as the book. I can’t decide which one I like more.

I would assume also that when people read that book without seeing the film first, the picture that they create in their mind would be completely different than what was actually realized on screen.

So what else is coming up in the world of Mr. Hahn, as far as music or film goes?

I love making music with the guys in Linkin Park. I think it’s a result of a great friendship we have and our ability to perform and share with the world and achieve something greater than we can individually, so we’ll keep that going. I’m hoping to do more films. Hopefully I’ll include them as well. It’s kind of an open book at this point. We’ll see what the future holds.

Interview conducted by: Derek Scancarelli
Check out D. SKANK PHOTOGRAPHY.

]]>
0
James Shotwell <![CDATA[SINGLE REVIEW: Bring Me The Horizon – “Drown”]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1135118 2014-10-22T17:36:20Z 2014-10-22T13:49:18Z Artist: Bring Me The Horizon
Song: “Drown
Album: TBA

Eighteen months have passed since Bring Me The Horizon released their critically acclaimed album Sempiternal, and in that time the band has rarely had more than a moment to rest. From appearances, to sold out performances around the world, the men of Bring Me The Horizon have spent very little time at home in the last year. Somewhere along the line they did manage to enter the studio, albeit only long enough to produce one new song, and earlier this week that material found its way online.

One …

]]>
Artist: Bring Me The Horizon
Song: “Drown
Album: TBA

Eighteen months have passed since Bring Me The Horizon released their critically acclaimed album Sempiternal, and in that time the band has rarely had more than a moment to rest. From appearances, to sold out performances around the world, the men of Bring Me The Horizon have spent very little time at home in the last year. Somewhere along the line they did manage to enter the studio, albeit only long enough to produce one new song, and earlier this week that material found its way online.

One has to listen to thirty seconds of “Drown” to realize Bring Me The Horizon are no longer the boys who delivered tracks like “Tell Slater Not To Wash His Dick.” A recently rehabilitated Oliver Sykes has written in a far more cathartic manner as of late, and as he’s made that transition the music of Bring Me The Horizon followed suit. If you somehow missed the premiere of “Drown” when it first ran on UTG, join us in streaming the song below:

We have been having a lot of fun with single reviews as of late, so while blasting “Drown” through our offices yesterday we decided that it might be fun to let everyone express their opinion on this track as well. Instead of having one person on staff write 500-1000 words about BMTH’s latest we decided we could all share an opinion and hopefully spark a bit of conversation with readers along the way:

tumblr_ndtj77EHuK1s2b5lho1_500

“This song was a definite surprise, but it’s not exactly the most shocking evolution for a band that has constantly tried to reinvent themselves. The last album was as clear an indication as they could have possibly given that things were changing, and now it’s time for Bring Me The Horizon to embark on a new adventure in the world of rock. This track has broad appeal, which the band needs in order to continue growing as a brand, and the performance delivered by Sykes is nothing short of applaud worthy. The hook is memorable, if not entirely infectious. I would go as far as to say I enjoy this effort, but I’m not sold on hearing an entire album of similar material.” – James Shotwell, Founder / Co-Owner / Editor


“As an individual whose music taste has evolved parallel to Bring Me The Horizon’s sound over the years, it’s exciting to see the band’s metamorphosis continue with “Drown.” Building upon the impressive post-hardcore tinges found throughout last year’s Sempiternal, all signs of the musicians’ former mosh-triggering ways have disappeared in favor of an exercise in highly melodic instrumentals and emotional clean vocals from frontman Oli Sykes. While going as far as saying “Drown” is radio-ready is a stretch, it’s undoubtedly an infectious cut that just might double as the finest track Bring Me The Horizon have written to date. If this style is further embellished when they hit the studio in December, 2015 already has a potential album of the year on its hands.” – Michael Giegerich, News & Feature Writer


“Bring Me The Horizon never truly resonated with me. Flooded with their presence in a scene that was dying out in my musical interests and tastes, they were easy to pass by in a sea of mediocrity and tired chugs over-saturated with autotune. Out of my seemingly uninterested palate for them, the one thing that was easily seen from the band was their phenomenal musicianship. The sounds reverberating from their instruments may not have attracted me, but damn do they know how to use them. With “Drown,” it’s about time they put those skills to a more interesting use. While it may not be the best track that this newly elevated sound can offer, it sure is a step in a more desirable direction. Bring Me The Horizon, you now have my (mild) attention. What’s next?” – Drew Caruso, News & Feature Writer


“I’d be lying if I said that I don’t sometimes miss the Count Your Blessings era Bring Me The Horizon. I do miss that crazy, unapologetic and in your face sound sometimes. However, I absolutely love what they have been doing with their sound over the last few years. Whether or not you like the direction they’ve taken, you can’t deny their damn good musicianship. “Drown” is a prime example of Sykes’ ability to write a catchy lyric. It’s not the best song they’ve released, but it makes me excited to hear what else they have in store for us.” – Kriston McConnell, News & Feature Writer


tumblr_ndt49phqqF1qero7go3_500

“Wow, what a change for the band that brought us some of the heaviest guitar riffs in recent memory with Count Your Blessings. This song surpasses Suicide Season and Sempiternal in my book, dropping the screams and bringing a whole new face to Bring Me The Horizon. There are no chugging guitars or double bass durum work on “Drown,” but what is present is a very straightforward rock sound. This band has always been an interesting part of the metalcore scene, and I for one am incredibly curious to learn what they do with the new sound they have on display here.” – Ryan Kappy, News & Feature Writer


“Here’s an interesting new look at Bring Me The Horizon, who appear to have shed their thrashy roots in favor of a more mature alternative sound. Yes that says “thrashy,” and if you read “trashy” then you weren’t too off base either. Honestly, I think it’s a great change for the band who probably wouldn’t survive too much longer on the brutal style that made them famous. Sure, it’s probably not what fans were expecting, but to quote the late Steve Jobs: “…people don’t know what they want until you show it to them.”

As soon as Oli started singing all I could think about was a recent decline of the scream. Lately bands have been trading their screams for gritty cleans, like vocalist Dave Stephens of We Came As Romans. “Drown” is a great start, but I’m curious to hear what else BMTH brings in their next release.” – Scott Murray, News & Feature Writer


“I came into doing this single review with the intention of making some snarky comment along the lines of “Bring Me the Horizon is still a band in 2014,” or “People still listen to bands like Bring Me the Horizon in 2014?” It appears the band had a similar thought in their head as well, producing something that sounds wildly different then their back catalog. I’m sure a lot of people are going to be pissed off about this track, but it makes sense as to why they are trying something new. Their fanbase is pretty rabid, so I don’t doubt that people will get into it, but I’m very interested to see if they’ll bring in new fans with this track. This doesn’t do it for me, but I’m sure it will for someone.” – Tyler Osborne, News & Feature Writer


“They’re few and far between, but in recent years, there have been scene/core bands that have made the wise choice to alter their sound drastically – some to a nearly unrecognizable extent. This is either for the simple desire to try something new, a natural progression due to lineup changes, or out of necessity for staying relevant, ultimately transcending their respective genres which are very likely drowning in stale unoriginality. Just ask Polyenso (ex-Oceana), or more recently, Pianos Become The Teeth.

For the most part, metalcore has long been dead to me. That includes the works of Bring Me The Horizon. Their last album, Sempiternal, swayed me a tad, but not enough to convert me in any way. I may be crazy, but if this new single is indicative of what’s to come from BMTH – regardless of the reasoning – sign me up. I’m not wholly surprised by this evolution, but I’m intrigued as I think it’s the best choice the band has made in a very long time. There’s certainly nothing groundbreaking or overtly exciting about “Drown” but changes like this within the scene are rare and any kind of variation is wholly welcome.

This new direction would likely change the heavy dynamic staple of their live performance (which I am a fan of) but I don’t see why they can’t adjust to that as well and still put on an entertaining performance for fans new and old.” – Brian Lion, Co-Owner / Editor


“My relationship with Bring Me The Horizon is an interesting one to say the least. When they first exploded to prominence with Count Your Blessings, I couldn’t stand them, dismissing them as horribly generic, sub-par deathcore wannabes. Suicide Season, while a progression in the right direction did little to improve my opinion and when coupled with the less than savory stories I heard about them as people, I was ready to dismiss them completely. Then a funny thing happened; they evolved and produced There Is A Hell Believe Me I’ve Seen It, There Is A Heaven, Let’s Keep It A Secret and all of a sudden I found myself liking the band quite a lot. Then I dropped in on their set at Soundwave to catch a few songs and ended up staying for the remainder, thoroughly entranced by their performance. I walked away from that set anticipating Sempiternal‘s release, hoping that the progressive elements and improved songcraft they’d displayed on TIAHBMISITIAHLKIAS would be even more evident. Suffice to say, it was, and the result was the band’s most accessible and impressive record to date, leaving me wondering what could possibly be in store next.

Today, we appear to have our answer in the form of “Drown” and that answer is a play for commercial viability via a more pop oriented sound and surprisingly crisp clean vocals, creating a sound not that dissimilar to fellow Brits You Me At Six in there heavier moments. While nothing particularly memorable or groundbreaking in itself, “Drown” is a competent enough song that will strike a chord with fans that sit at the poppier end of the spectrum, and win them over some new ones. However, it remains to be seen if the band’s dedication to evolving their sound will continue to be supported by their fierce fan base or if this is a step too far. Whatever the outcome, I applaud the band for having the balls to change styles so drastically. For a band this size, that’s a very bold move indeed.” – Brenton Harris, News & Feature Writer


tumblr_ndt8bpjFXj1r6uv9mo1_500

Do you agree with us? Comment below and leave us your thoughts on Bring Me The Horizon’s latest!

]]>
0
Ryan Kappy <![CDATA[REVIEW: Transit – ‘Joyride’]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1134887 2014-10-22T18:07:22Z 2014-10-22T13:30:36Z Artist: Transit
Album: Joyride
Genre: Indie, Pop-Punk, Alternative
Label: Rise Records

Transit has been through a roller coaster ride as a band in the past couple years. After releasing the widely loved Listen & Forgive, their world changed quickly with how they went from stage-diving pop-punk in Keep This To Yourself to the indie rock vibe that they had adapted for the latter record. Then Young New England was released and total outrage came at the band’s expense in that they were scrutinized for the album that was produced. Now, the band has put out a new record in …

]]>
Artist: Transit
Album: Joyride
Genre: Indie, Pop-Punk, Alternative
Label: Rise Records

Transit has been through a roller coaster ride as a band in the past couple years. After releasing the widely loved Listen & Forgive, their world changed quickly with how they went from stage-diving pop-punk in Keep This To Yourself to the indie rock vibe that they had adapted for the latter record. Then Young New England was released and total outrage came at the band’s expense in that they were scrutinized for the album that was produced. Now, the band has put out a new record in Joyride that combines these two worlds; it is very enjoyable to listen to. This truly is the sound that Transit has been exploring and they have integrated their past releases into one fun record that has different transitions and great harmonies.

The record opens with the subtle yet somewhat hard track in “The Only One” that brings you back to the Listen & Forgive sessions with a nostalgic feel. This is where the band showcases their light power chord guitars with vocalist Joe Boynton’s emotional delivery. This is followed in succession by “Saturday, Sunday,” “Rest To Get Better,” and “Sweet Resistance,” each giving off the band’s contemporary influence; you can’t help but sing along to the catchy choruses with the “raw” poppy progressions. “Nothing Left To Lose” is a personal favorite of mine on Joyride. It emphasizes that the indie vibe is still with the band in the most simplest way. Sex and alcohol play a huge part in the lyrics section of the song and that in the end “We’re making everything old feel new again.”

With how the record may come up with happy, yet slick riffs on “Ignition & Friction” and “Fine By Me,” you can’t help but gain back your love for the band as they truly are delicate with their sounds for this release. On the other hand, songs like “Loneliness Burns” and “Summer Dust” show the ballad side of the band with piano-driven songs and soulful singing that is usually outside of the realm of Transit. It represents the versatility that the band has long endured for.

Joyride is the album that Transit has been waiting to release, in the sense that they have found the balance in spectrum of sound that shows who they are. Even with lead guitarist Tim Landers leaving the band, Transit picked themselves up to write an honest, contemporary, rockin’ record that still has its punk roots but with a softer tone. The record truly has a great flow of songwriting throughout, and for that, I think Joyride should be a release that reignites the interest of old fans and brings on a bevy of new ones.

SCORE: 8/10
Review written by: Ryan Kappy

]]>
0
Kellie Gannon http://underthegunreview.net <![CDATA[UTG PHOTOS: Allen Stone & Bad Rabbits at Terminal 5 (10/9/14)]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1134688 2014-10-22T04:50:00Z 2014-10-22T12:45:39Z Under The Gun sent photographer Kellie Gannon to photograph Allen Stone with Bad Rabbits at Terminal 5 on Thursday, October 9 in New York City.

Allen Stone should already be a household name. If he isn’t known in your household yet, shame on you. Same goes for Bad Rabbits. These incredible artists always put on the most energetic, interactive, funky shows. I’ve had the pleasure of seeing both multiple times over the past few years and every show just gets bigger and better. If you have never attended a live show for either artist, you needed to put that on …

]]>
Under The Gun sent photographer Kellie Gannon to photograph Allen Stone with Bad Rabbits at Terminal 5 on Thursday, October 9 in New York City.

Allen Stone should already be a household name. If he isn’t known in your household yet, shame on you. Same goes for Bad Rabbits. These incredible artists always put on the most energetic, interactive, funky shows. I’ve had the pleasure of seeing both multiple times over the past few years and every show just gets bigger and better. If you have never attended a live show for either artist, you needed to put that on your bucket list, like yesterday. Also, head on over to iTunes (links below) and update your iPod, trust me and thank me later.

Allen Stone headlined Terminal 5 with support from Bad Rabbits on a beautiful fall evening in New York City. There was just a minor chill in the air, the smell of fall leaves beginning to descend onto busy sidewalks, and the sweet sounds of Romeo Testa, the evening’s opening act, as I entered the venue. This was my first show at Terminal 5, and I could tell upon my arrival that I was going to love this venue. The show was sold out, the stage is vast, the sound system booming, and there is a balcony that encircles 3/4 of the venue with an incredible view.

Boston’s Bad Rabbits took the stage amidst dim, sultry red lights to a very amped-up crowd. The guys kicked off their set with soulful, booty shaking tunes off their first album, Stick Up Kids, mixed with songs from last year’s release, American Love. Mid-set they also played their newest single, “Better Days,” which received an incredible crowd response. Bad Rabbits can do no wrong onstage. Lead vocalist Dua Boakye is a pro at keeping the crowd on their toes and moving during the entirety of their set, and the rest of the band is just as energetic, joining in the majority of the set with synchronized, choreographed dance routines.

Allen Stone is a soulful, hippie musical genius in a very young, humble body. His West Coast roots and laid-back style translate seamlessly to the East Coast and his stage presence is always upbeat and flawless. He has an amazing band and singers backing him and their energy is infectious, complete with carefree, huge smiles, and all moving their bodies in sync with the feel of the beat. Allen has the soul and voice of someone triple his age and he plays guitar with such an immense love and style that the crowd eats up every note and shouts his name wanting more. Allen always makes sure his crowd knows how thankful he is for their appreciation of his music and thanked the crowd multiple times throughout the evening. They played an extended version of “Celebrate Tonight” as the third song of the night, catapulting the entire venue beyond cloud nine for the remainder of the set. By far, the crowd favorite of the night was “Unaware,” from Allen’s self-titled and originally self-released second album. Currently he is working on a third full-length album, Radius, set to be released on Capitol Records this year.

The entire evening was nothing short of magical, and it was the kind of show that ignites a spark in your soul and makes your heart smile. Check out the photos from Allen Stone and Bad Rabbits below and be sure to grab tickets next time they grace a city near you!


BAD RABBITS

BadRabbits001

BadRabbits002

BadRabbits003

BadRabbits004

BadRabbits005

BadRabbits006

BadRabbits007

BadRabbits008

BadRabbits009

BadRabbits010


ALLEN STONE

AllenStone001

AllenStone002

AllenStone003

AllenStone004

AllenStone005

AllenStone006

AllenStone007

AllenStone008

AllenStone009

AllenStone010

AllenStone011

AllenStone012

]]>
0
Kriston McConnell http://underthegunreview.net <![CDATA[The American Scene Announce Short December Tour]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1135080 2014-10-22T06:04:52Z 2014-10-22T06:04:52Z The American Scene have announced a short tour this December in the western part of the US. The group will take along with them Elder Brother and Souvenirs. You can find the list of stops by taking a look below the break.

If you are interested in seeing these guys live, tickets are already on sale. You can pick up a ticket through your local vendor, or links can be found through the band’s Facebook page.

12/05 Vera Project Seattle WA
12/07 The Colony Sacramento CA
12/10 Eagle Aerie Hall Las Vegas NV
12/11 Fifty One West Mesa …

]]>
The American Scene have announced a short tour this December in the western part of the US. The group will take along with them Elder Brother and Souvenirs. You can find the list of stops by taking a look below the break.

If you are interested in seeing these guys live, tickets are already on sale. You can pick up a ticket through your local vendor, or links can be found through the band’s Facebook page.

12/05 Vera Project Seattle WA
12/07 The Colony Sacramento CA
12/10 Eagle Aerie Hall Las Vegas NV
12/11 Fifty One West Mesa AZ
12/12 Chain Reaction Anaheim CA
12/13 The Red House Walnut Creek CA

]]>
0
Kriston McConnell http://underthegunreview.net <![CDATA[STREAM: Air Dubai – “Love In Retrograde Pt. II”]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1135063 2014-10-22T05:08:00Z 2014-10-22T05:08:00Z Earlier this year Air Dubai signed to Hopeless Records and released a new album titled Be Calm. Only a few months have passed since the album dropped, but the band already has some new music ready for fans. They recently dropped a song titled “Love In Retrograde Pt. II,” and you can stream it beneath the break.

The group haven’t announced any plans for a new album or additional singles, but we can certainly hope for some more in the near future. “Love In Retrograde Pt. II” is an unexpected and pleasant surprise. If you like what you hear, …

]]>
Earlier this year Air Dubai signed to Hopeless Records and released a new album titled Be Calm. Only a few months have passed since the album dropped, but the band already has some new music ready for fans. They recently dropped a song titled “Love In Retrograde Pt. II,” and you can stream it beneath the break.

The group haven’t announced any plans for a new album or additional singles, but we can certainly hope for some more in the near future. “Love In Retrograde Pt. II” is an unexpected and pleasant surprise. If you like what you hear, you can download it for free through the Soundcloud player.

]]>
0