Under the Gun Review Entertainment news for today's generation 2014-10-23T16:54:41Z http://www.underthegunreview.net/feed/atom/ WordPress James Shotwell <![CDATA[First ‘Insidious: Chapter 3′ Trailer Teases A Chilling Prequel]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1135308 2014-10-23T16:54:41Z 2014-10-23T16:54:41Z You know Halloween is close because the number of trailers for studio backed horror features has been on the rise for several weeks. Today, it’s Insidious: Chapter 3 that finds its way onto our front page.

Set years prior to the events witnessed in the first two Insidious films, Insidious: Chapter 3 will tell the story of how gifted psychic Elise Rainier (Lin Shaye) reluctantly agreed to use her ability to contact the dead in order to help a teenage girl (Stefanie Scott) who had been targeted by a dangerous supernatural entity. It was a decision that launched Rainier career …

]]>
You know Halloween is close because the number of trailers for studio backed horror features has been on the rise for several weeks. Today, it’s Insidious: Chapter 3 that finds its way onto our front page.

Set years prior to the events witnessed in the first two Insidious films, Insidious: Chapter 3 will tell the story of how gifted psychic Elise Rainier (Lin Shaye) reluctantly agreed to use her ability to contact the dead in order to help a teenage girl (Stefanie Scott) who had been targeted by a dangerous supernatural entity. It was a decision that launched Rainier career as a demon fighting badass, and now we’ll learn how it all went down. You can view the film’s first trailer below:

The cast is a bit more recognizable this time around, but the look and feel of this film falls perfectly in line with the rest of the franchise. The ‘scare’ was a bit lackluster, but the tension created in the moments prior was the kind of thing that makes this series work.

Insidious: Chapter 3 opens May 29, 2015. Comment below and let us know your thoughts on the trailer above.

]]>
0
James Shotwell <![CDATA[SINGLE REVIEW: Enter Shikari – “The Last Garrison”]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1135297 2014-10-23T16:26:24Z 2014-10-23T16:00:05Z Artist: Enter Shikari
Song: “The Last Garrison
Album: The Mindsweep

By the time Enter Shikari release The Mindsweep in early 2015 nearly three years will have passed since A Flash Flood of Colour arrived in stores. Enter Shikari have released material in the time between these releases, but any fan of the band knows there is a world of difference between the group’s singles and how they approach full length recordings. The records Enter Shikari create are as much about delivering a cohesive listening experience with a clear message as they are keeping listeners on their toes from …

]]>
Artist: Enter Shikari
Song: “The Last Garrison
Album: The Mindsweep

By the time Enter Shikari release The Mindsweep in early 2015 nearly three years will have passed since A Flash Flood of Colour arrived in stores. Enter Shikari have released material in the time between these releases, but any fan of the band knows there is a world of difference between the group’s singles and how they approach full length recordings. The records Enter Shikari create are as much about delivering a cohesive listening experience with a clear message as they are keeping listeners on their toes from track to track, and it’s the fact the band has mastered toeing that creative line that they have become mainstays in the often turbulent alternative music scene.

Earlier this week, Enter Shikari offered fans a taste of The Mindsweep by releasing a new song titled “The Last Garrison” alongside the reveal that pre-orders for the new record were available. The song marks yet another step forward in the band’s seemingly endless evolution, and it’s something the internet has been buzzing about for well over a day at this point. If you somehow missed the initial premiere, join us in enjoying the song now:

We have been having a lot of fun with single reviews as of late, so while blasting “The Last Garrison” through our offices yesterday we decided that it might be fun to let everyone express their opinion on this track as well. Instead of having one person on staff write 500-1000 words about Enter Shikari’s latest we decided we could all share an opinion and hopefully spark a bit of conversation with readers along the way:

tumblr_muq7dwT42h1ricmw8o1_500

“You never know what to expect when Enter Shikari decide to share new material, and “The Last Garrison” is only further evidence of this being true. After spending some time away, the band known for one of the craziest live shows in music have delivered a song with a relatively relaxed feel (at least compared to their previous work). The last half is far more interesting than the first, in my opinion, but Rou sounds great throughout. I’ve always been far more into the heavy side of this band than the soft, but I think this song will win me over more and more as time goes on.” – James Shotwell, Founder / Co-Owner / Editor


“Since day one, Enter Shikari has always made sense to me. They felt uniquely their own, and I always personally related to the way that they always do their own thing, regardless of what the rest of the scene is doing, all without giving a shit. Each record by the band is very much its own entity, and Shikari seems to be following suit with the latest entry into their catalog, “The Last Garrison.” The song leans heavily on the more electronic elements of their sound, evidently influenced by their favorite brands of UK dub and drum and bass. The song doesn’t hook me in the ways a lot of their tracks do, but the song is definitely catchy, and has me very interested in what the entirety of the record is going to sound like. Enter Shikari continue to push themselves with this track, and I believe that this new chapter of Shikari may be one of their most interesting yet.” – Tyler Osborne, News & Feature Writer


“Rou Reynolds and the boys in Enter Shikari just caught me completely off guard. Although the extent of my experience with the band is limited mostly to seeing them perform live rather than listening to them through my stereo, this track has me extraordinarily curious for what the rest of their upcoming album could hold. Don’t get me wrong, I love listening to their music, but I prefer to see the band dangling upside down from stage trusses and ceiling beams.

The opening blast of this track has an aggressive dubstep and hardcore infused tone, which then leads into a much more melodic bridge. Call me crazy, but if you isolated those vocals and laid them over different tracks, I’d let a portion pass as a classic rock song. By the end of the four minute journey, the funky-dance rebuild brings the track back to (wherever?) it may have started. I think the song was awesome, but another 12 of them might get stale quickly. Perhaps they treaded lightly on the remainder of the record, but that remains to be seen. It certainly doesn’t seem apparent by listening to “The Last Garrison.” – Derek Roberts, Head of UTG TV


“I guess I understand the appeal, but Enter Shikari is a band I’ve never been able to get into. There are aspects of their music that work for me but I’m yet to find a song by the band that I enjoy from beginning to end. I’m all for an eclectic, experimental mix of styles and sounds, and I typically love metal that infuses a smart use of keyboard, but moreso in the vein of BTBAM or Arsonists Get All The Girls, or even The Devil Wears Prada. The whole dubstep/metal hybrid thing just doesn’t sit well with me, and even though that’s not as present in ES’ newest single, I still think they’re overdoing the massive amalgam of genres. It’s Linkin Park meets 3OH!3 meets The Helio Sequence meets Los Campesinos! All things I’ve enjoyed at different times, in different moods, but not all together simultaneously. “The Last Garrison” is catchy and has solid elements but beyond listening to it 4 times in order to form this opinion, I don’t see myself returning. Maybe I’ll finally find an Enter Shikari song I enjoy from start to finish on The Mindsweep; we shall see.” Brian Lion, Founder / Co-Owner / Editor


tumblr_mp94u3RAUX1syoorco1_500

“Calling “The Last Garrison” unlistenable would be unfair, because I do enjoy certain pieces and ideas that Enter Shikari have put into their latest song, but as a whole I can’t really get into it. In short, the song is a jarring mix of clashing genres that doesn’t really feel like a complete thought. Certain pieces of the song tell my brain I’m listening to post-hardcore, while the droning backup vocals and bright synths make me think I’m listening to 80′s pop. Laced over it all is a dance-groove and the looming feeling that someone is about to rap. Admittedly, I’ve never been a fan of Enter Shikari, but “The Last Garrison” sounds like a complex meal of contrasting dishes that have been dumped in a bucket, stirred, and served. No thanks.” – Scott Murray, News & Feature Writer


“Like the Nu-Metal (doesn’t that name just hurt to type now?) and emo/screamo bands before them, many of the metalcore/deathcore acts that rose to prominence amidst the genres boom in the last seven years or so have begun to fall out of favour,with critics (like us?) and with their fan bases. In order for bands to remain relevant they need to develop their sound in a manner that keeps them sounding fresh. The challenge for most bands is accomplishing this without alienating those fans that want the same record with different lyrics. Bands that accomplish this balance, thrive, those that go ‘too far’ flame-out, those that don’t do anything stagnate (for some stagnating is the safe move). In metalcore it seems British acts (Bring Me The Horizon, Architects) have had the most success at varying their style while appeasing their fans desires. St. Albans quartet Enter Shikari are another UK band determined to follow that path and their output since 2007′s Take To The Skies has reflected that desire.The critically acclaimed Common Dreads (2009) and Flash Flood of Colour (2012) were at times a massive departure from their core sound and fan response wildly varied as a result, leaving the band in an awkward position.

“The Last Garrison” seems to be a reaction to that awkwardness, with the band taking elements from each of their albums and throwing them into one song in what appears to be an attempt to appease everyone. Unfortunately, the result will likely appease no one, as “The Last Garrison” is an absolute mess of ill-fitting ideas. So while I applaud the commitment to progression and innovation this band continues to show, I cannot help but feel that they’ve lost track of whatever it is or was that makes Enter Shikari, Enter Shikari. “Sorry, you’re not a winner”, lads.” – Brenton Harris, News & Feature Writer


“Enter Shikari never cease to amaze me with their ability to do things most would never attempt in music and somehow make it work. The vibe of A Flash Flood of Colour has been utilized with “The Last Garrison” in that the experimental electronica side of the band has again taken over the hardcore roots. When i first heard Take Me To The Skies, I was blown away by Rou Reynolds’ vocals and how that was the focus of the tracks with his growled screams and orchestrated clean vocals. The focus seems to have shifted recently, and here the vocals feel rather bland. That said, the strange sounds that the band are known to produce are still present and Rory Clewlow’s guitars are are powerful when the time is right. I will admit that I was a little disappointed with this track at first though, because I was waiting for something a bit more powerful considering the fact this single doubles as a first sneak preview for their new record. Still, I’m sure The Mindsweep will have my full attention when it hits stores in January.” – Ryan Kappy, News & Feature Writer


“I have to say, I haven’t really liked anything since Take To The Skies. Common Dreads was nice, but I didn’t even enjoy it nearly as much as their debut.

The band has always had electronic elements in their music, which is was initially drew me to them. I dig bands like I See Stars, but I felt that they swerved too far into the dubstep realm with A Flash Flood Of Colour. Lucky for me, it seems they may have taken a step back from that with their new single, “The Last Garrison.” It still has the influential electronics that we’re used to, but they are not overpowering. While I’m happy to see they may be heading back to their roots, I am not a huge fan of the new song. I feel a little underwhelmed. The lyrics are fine enough, but the delivery could use some work. Maybe it has something to do with the mixing, but it just doesn’t jive with me. With that said though, I am much more curious to hear what the rest of the album sounds like than I was before.” – Kriston McConnell, News & Feature Writer


“If there’s one band who can be relied on to release consistently intriguing music in current times, Enter Shikari fit the bill. Thus, it isn’t exactly surprising that “The Last Garrison,” the band’s latest foray into electronic-infused post-hardcore, is instantly satisfying. Containing everything from melodic bridges featuring glimmering synth-work to breakdowns and a blistering D&B outro, all of the band’s savvy is on full display. With that being said, much of Shikari’s music is best enjoyed when listening to their albums in full, so one can only imagine how the new cut will fit in with the rest of The Mindsweep come 2015.” – Michael Giegerich, News & Feature Writer


“It almost seems as if Enter Shikari have come to a point in their careers where instead of introducing new elements to their sound, they’re changing up their execution. Even nearly 3 years later, I’ll still openly claim that the most memorable tracks from ‘A Flash Flood of Colour’ are the ones that boast more of a rock or electronica influence over post-hardcore or metal.

What can I say? I’m a sucker for pushing the envelope.

Yet I can’t really buy into “The Last Garrison.” Perhaps it’s the lazy tone of the chorus, perhaps it’s the lack of something new, perhaps it’s even the fact that I was expecting a much more constant-paced and aggressive feel to the song. Lead singles are a huge opportunity for a band to hit the ground running in terms of album promotion, and I certainly want to hope that the band made the misstep of using the wrong song off the album rather than their best.” – Adrian Garza, News & Feature Writer


tumblr_n0wrszSFaN1sx0gc9o1_500

Do you agree with us? Comment below and leave us your thoughts on Enter Shikari’s latest!

]]>
0
Brenton Harris <![CDATA[REVIEW: The Smith Street Band – ‘Throw Me In The River’]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1133443 2014-10-22T07:30:48Z 2014-10-23T15:30:04Z Artist: The Smith Street Band
Album: Throw Me In The River
Label: Poison City Records / SideOneDummy Records
Genre: Folk-Punk, Punk

The past few years have seen Melbourne, Australia’s The Smith Street Band grow from local cult favourites to international touring, folk-punk juggernaut. Much of that rise to prominence can be attributed to two factors: the unprecedented success of their critically acclaimed debut full-length album, Sunshine and Technology, and the band’s relentless and tireless approach to touring in support of that release. A sleeper hit, Sunshine and Technology opened the world’s doors to The Smith Street Band and the …

]]>
Artist: The Smith Street Band
Album: Throw Me In The River
Label: Poison City Records / SideOneDummy Records
Genre: Folk-Punk, Punk

The past few years have seen Melbourne, Australia’s The Smith Street Band grow from local cult favourites to international touring, folk-punk juggernaut. Much of that rise to prominence can be attributed to two factors: the unprecedented success of their critically acclaimed debut full-length album, Sunshine and Technology, and the band’s relentless and tireless approach to touring in support of that release. A sleeper hit, Sunshine and Technology opened the world’s doors to The Smith Street Band and the band’s renowned live show and affable personalities ensured those doors were blown off of their hinges. The downside of this success and the increased touring schedule it brought was a fan base left pining for what seemed like an eternity for a sophomore effort.

After temporarily satiating cravings with 2013’s excellent Don’t Fuck With Our Dreams EP, The Smith Street Band are finally due to unleash their second full-length, Throw Me In The River, and after constantly playing it for the best part of two weeks, I am pleased to say that it was well worth the wait.

A more mature and fully realised record than Sunshine and Technology, Throw Me In The River finds The Smith Street Band expanding their trademark style to incorporate new influences, all the while remaining true to the core elements that have made the band so beloved by fans. The result is a record that is at once devastatingly honest and yet undeniably uplifting. Recorded in a cottage in the pristine surrounds of The Otways in the band’s native Victoria, Throw Me In The River takes the listener on an auditory tour of the last three years of their existence, providing stunning insight into the reality of the band’s being. Expertly produced by Jeff Rosenstock (Bomb The Music Industry!) and mixed by Jonathan Low (The War On Drugs, The National), the production strikes the perfect balance between rustic charm and radio-friendly polish, placing the band’s greatest asset, vocalist Will Wagner’s impassioned delivery, up front where it belongs. Wagner, for his part, delivers as only he can, throwing his all into every heavily-accented word, as he belts out lyrics that detail experiences of life in places as disparate as Winnipeg, Salt Lake City, Calgary, London, New York and North Melbourne.

A triumph of sequencing, Throw Me In The River opens in stellar fashion with “Something I Can Hold In My Hands,” a slow burning number that sets the record’s introspective tone as Wagner delivers an impassioned opening lament on the gradual gentrification of inner Melbourne suburbia (“Stories from southern explorers / tell of vastly open skies / all I can see is sweat and concrete / I avert my eyes / they put scaffolding and warning signs on the things we used to climb / fences upon fences / and told us to stay inside”) over sparse instrumental accompaniment, before exploding to life in spirited defiance as Wagner recounts the personal transformation his musical journey has seen him undertake, claiming victory over naysayers, the powers that be and his own personal doubts as he screams, “All I ever needed was something that I could hold in my hands, and here it is.”

“Something I Can Hold In My Hands” is followed by the more up-tempo lead single, “Surrender.” An absolute corker of a track which features the witty lyricism, unbridled passion and raw instrumentation the band is famous for, “Surrender” perfectly encapsulates the band’s sound as it places unashamed honesty next to shrewd songwriting craft in a beautiful tandem that will have your ears and your soul aching for more. Thankfully, the remaining 8 tracks more than satiate those cravings as the band takes you on a roller coaster ride of human emotions. From the determined defiance of “Surrey Dive In” to the quiet, reflective contemplation of “Calgary Girls” and “Throw Me In The River,” and onwards to the jubilation of the appropriately titled “I Love Life,” Throw Me In The River is the sound of a life lived and not merely survived.

While Wagner is undoubtedly the star of this show and it is his ability to find deeper meaning in not just the milestones, but the minutiae of modern life that has grown to become the band’s calling card, Throw Me In The River is by no means a solo venture, and it is the performances of the other members of The Smith Street Band that lift Throw Me In The River from being a good folk-punk record to a status of essential listening. There is efficiency in the performances of Lee Hartney (guitar), Fitzy Firzgerald (bass) and Chris Cowburn (drums) that enables Wagner’s lyrics to shine, as if every note is perfectly tailored to accentuate the meaning of the words being sung, and the band feels like a more cohesive unit than they did on Sunshine and Technology.

Whether it be creating an eerie atmosphere in the quiet moments of “The Arrogance of The Drunk Pedestrian” or “Throw Me In The River,” or adding a joyous pop sensibility to “I Don’t Want To Die Anymore,” or rocking out in riotous fashion in “East London Summer,” Hartney, Fitzy and Cowburn nail every note, giving the songs a feeling of connectedness that many artists strive for a lifetime to achieve. Particularly impressive is the manner in which the rhythm section is deployed, not just as a backbone but as a core component of each song’s structure, with Fitzy and Cowburn providing several moments in which their innovative performances add depth to the tracks. It is a credit to the band that they have been able to harness the energy and urgency of their live performances in a studio setting and a credit to the production team that the intricacies of each member’s performance has been maintained. It is the combination of each of these elements that gives Throw Me In The River the raw power in which it thrives.

Unashamedly honest, undeniably accomplished and unapolagetically passionate, Throw Me In The River is a record that needs to be heard. These are not just songs crafted to be the soundtrack of our lives, or even about life; these songs are life and life is beautiful. To quote Wagner himself, “I love you so fucking much right now.”

SCORE: 9/10
Review written by Brenton Harris — (follow him on Twitter)

]]>
0
James Shotwell <![CDATA[UTG’s 31 Days Of Halloween: ‘Feast’]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1135288 2014-10-23T15:25:44Z 2014-10-23T15:20:08Z Of all the holidays celebrated worldwide, no single day is more loved by the UTG staff than Halloween. With the arrival of the year’s best month, the time has finally come to begin rolling out a plethora of features and special announcements we have prepared in celebration of our favorite day, including the one you’re about to read.

Now in its third year, 31 Days Of Halloween is a recurring feature that will run throughout the month of October. The hope and goal of this column is to supply every UTG reader with a daily horror (or Halloween-themed) movie recommendation …

]]>
Of all the holidays celebrated worldwide, no single day is more loved by the UTG staff than Halloween. With the arrival of the year’s best month, the time has finally come to begin rolling out a plethora of features and special announcements we have prepared in celebration of our favorite day, including the one you’re about to read.

Now in its third year, 31 Days Of Halloween is a recurring feature that will run throughout the month of October. The hope and goal of this column is to supply every UTG reader with a daily horror (or Halloween-themed) movie recommendation that is guaranteed to amplify your All Hallows’ Eve festivities. We’ll be watching every film the day it’s featured, and we hope you’ll follow along at home.

[Warning: the material within is likely NSFW]

feast

Day 23: Feast (2005)

I never intended to only highlight films that are as much comedies as they are horror stories, but as I’ve written more this year than what I have left to write it is clear a pattern has emerged. 2014 has been a year filled with realizations for me, and I suppose the most recent one is that I love thrillers and chillers that are so over the top they transcend the horror genre and become something far more memorable. Very few films pull this off, but many try every single year, and today I’ve decided to highlight a title that was so incredible and outright insane it somehow spawned two direct to video sequels: Feast.

The number of monster movies being made annually is currently on the rise thanks to a renewed interest in the mythology of Bigfoot, but in 2005 finding a film that featured people in giant rubber suits tearing everyday citizens to shreds was next to impossible. The only reason Feast came to life is because the team people behind it won season three of the long defunct reality series Project Greenlight. Writers Marcus Dustan and Patrick Melton, along with director John Gulager, won the opportunity to make their little slice of insanity after appearing on the show, and in addition making their movie the crew also picked up executive producers Ben Affleck, Matt Damon, and Wes Craven. It had potential hit written all over it from day one, but the theater going public did not get hip to its terrifying offerings until the film was already headed to video. Buzz continued however, and in the years that followed two direct-to-dvd sequel, each more ridiculous than the last, found their way to the public. Sloppy Seconds is my favorite of the pair, but The Happy Finish is not all that bad.

Set in an aging bar on the side of rarely traveled desert road, Feast begins with a night like any other. A collection of depressed and depraved individuals are swapping stories and drinking their cares away, when all of a sudden a man covered in blood bursts through the door and proclaims, “Unless you want to die, you’re going to do what I say and you’re going to do it fast.” The patrons are startled, but ultimately they’re far too concerned with their own problems to pay much mind to the strange individual talking about creatures in the dark. That is, until the monsters he tried to warn them about appear.

When the blood begins to fly, Feast takes off like a rocket fueled by fun-filled terror that never stalls out. There is not one moment in the film’s 92-minute runtime that feels wasted, including the ten minutes of exposition needed to get our story in motion. Marcus Dustan and Patrick Melton crafted a script that abandons the convention of most horror films and go straight for the jugular, delivering laughs and screams in heavy doses with rarely a moment of peace to be found. It’s filthy, bloody, and chock full of imagery that will stay with you for many years to come.

What sets Feast apart from the vast majority of monster films is the fact Gulager is not afraid to show you the unique creatures that inhabit the universe in which the film takes place. It takes a while for the beasts to be revealed in full, but from the moment they first appear you’re teased with brief reveals of design. It’s clearly someone in a suit, but it looks so damn cool you just roll with it. Don’t worry, I brought along a photo to help you get familiar:

feast_4

Pretty freaking cool, am I right?

The only reason I picked up Feast in 2005 was because I knew Jason Mewes was part of the cast. What I discovered while watching it was a story and universe that has become an essential part of my home video collection, as well as a staple of many Halloween movie marathons. It’s the kind of film that you enjoy for different reasons with each viewing, be it a moment of creative filmmaking or some of the goriest monster deaths in recent memory outside of Hatchet franchise, and it’s always better in groups.

This Halloween, make time for a classic or two, then take a chance with friends and Feast. You will never forget your first time, nor will you want to.

Written by: James Shotwell

]]>
0
Tyler Osborne http://underthegunreview.net <![CDATA[UTG Premiere: Swingin’ Utters – “I’m Not Coming Home”]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1135278 2014-10-23T13:49:30Z 2014-10-23T15:00:35Z Today the UTG offices are pleased to share with you a brand new track from Swingin’ Utters, titled “I’m Not Coming Home.” The track comes off of Swingin’ Utters upcoming album, Fistful of Hollow, and it’s every bit as fun as you’d expect. The song brings their definitive West Coast punk vibe right off the bat, and is the perfect soundtrack to driving to the beach, or just away from anywhere you don’t really feel like being.

We talked to guitarist Darius Koski about where the inspiration for the song came from, and how “I’m Not Coming Home” fits …

]]>
Today the UTG offices are pleased to share with you a brand new track from Swingin’ Utters, titled “I’m Not Coming Home.” The track comes off of Swingin’ Utters upcoming album, Fistful of Hollow, and it’s every bit as fun as you’d expect. The song brings their definitive West Coast punk vibe right off the bat, and is the perfect soundtrack to driving to the beach, or just away from anywhere you don’t really feel like being.

We talked to guitarist Darius Koski about where the inspiration for the song came from, and how “I’m Not Coming Home” fits within the rest of the record. He went on to tell us that,

“The inspiration for this song comes from the Ramones, who I ripped off, entirely and probably pretty obviously. I basically wrote ‘Carbona not glue’, realized what I did, and just figured I might as well write a Ramones style song, just not completely rip them off like I did originally.  I think it fits on the record just like everything we do somehow fits on each of our records, and that it’s of a different style than some of the other songs… Kind of, oh, I don’t know, like the Ramones?”

You can pick up Swingin Utters’ new record Fistful of Hollows off of Fat Wreck Chords’ website here, or while they’re on tour with Lagwagon in the upcoming months. We’ve included the tour dates for you after the break, just to make your life even easier.

Enough talk, click through the break to check out the brand new track from Swingin’ Utters, and let us know exactly what you think in the comments section.

Screen Shot 2014-10-23 at 9.39.44 AM

]]>
0
Derek Scancarelli <![CDATA[UTG PHOTOS: Limp Bizkit & Machine Gun Kelly (10/8/14)]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1134012 2014-10-23T05:24:33Z 2014-10-23T14:00:45Z Under The Gun sent photographer, Derek Scancarelli, to Best Buy Theater in Times Square to photograph Limp Bizkit on October 8, 2014.

If anyone would’ve told me that in 2014 I’d be losing my mind at a sold-out Limp Bizkit show, I would’ve told them that they’re crazy. Believe it or not, that’s exactly what happened when Durst, Borland, and the gang took stage at Best Buy Theater.

The sold-out performance came at the very end of a fall tour with Machine Gun Kelly. The room was electrified with what turned out to be a genuine enthusiasm, although it …

]]>
Under The Gun sent photographer, Derek Scancarelli, to Best Buy Theater in Times Square to photograph Limp Bizkit on October 8, 2014.

If anyone would’ve told me that in 2014 I’d be losing my mind at a sold-out Limp Bizkit show, I would’ve told them that they’re crazy. Believe it or not, that’s exactly what happened when Durst, Borland, and the gang took stage at Best Buy Theater.

The sold-out performance came at the very end of a fall tour with Machine Gun Kelly. The room was electrified with what turned out to be a genuine enthusiasm, although it was just as likely to have been driven by irony. The swagger and confidence of Fred Durst was on par as he ran through hit after hit, including “Rollin’,” “My Way,” “Faith,” and an aggressive encore of “Break Stuff.” He even took a moment to dive into the crowd to send the security into a panic. Perhaps the most interesting portion of the set included their random outburst of covers, including Rage Against The Machine’s “Killing In The Name Of.”

For MGK, he took on the persona of an Occupy inspired member of Anonymous, entering the room to a podium encouraging a classless society. His bottle of Jameson, extreme intensity, mask and gun-holster microphone stand only embraced his demeanor. His mohawk also probably added a foot to the already enormous Cleveland rapper.

You can view our photos from the show, below.


MACHINE GUN KELLY

MGK (D. SKANK PHOTOGRAPHY)

MGK (D. SKANK PHOTOGRAPHY)-2

MGK (D. SKANK PHOTOGRAPHY)-4

MGK (D. SKANK PHOTOGRAPHY)-6

MGK (D. SKANK PHOTOGRAPHY)-7

MGK (D. SKANK PHOTOGRAPHY)-8

MGK (D. SKANK PHOTOGRAPHY)-9

MGK (D. SKANK PHOTOGRAPHY)-5

MGK (D. SKANK PHOTOGRAPHY)-10

MGK (D. SKANK PHOTOGRAPHY)-11

MGK (D. SKANK PHOTOGRAPHY)-12

MGK (D. SKANK PHOTOGRAPHY)-13

MGK (D. SKANK PHOTOGRAPHY)-3


LIMP BIZKIT

Limp Bizkit (D. SKANK PHOTOGRAPHY)-2

Limp Bizkit (D. SKANK PHOTOGRAPHY)-3

Limp Bizkit (D. SKANK PHOTOGRAPHY)-4

Limp Bizkit (D. SKANK PHOTOGRAPHY)-5

Limp Bizkit (D. SKANK PHOTOGRAPHY)-6

Limp Bizkit (D. SKANK PHOTOGRAPHY)-7

Limp Bizkit (D. SKANK PHOTOGRAPHY)-8

Limp Bizkit (D. SKANK PHOTOGRAPHY)-9

Limp Bizkit (D. SKANK PHOTOGRAPHY)-10

Limp Bizkit (D. SKANK PHOTOGRAPHY)-11

Limp Bizkit (D. SKANK PHOTOGRAPHY)-13

Limp Bizkit (D. SKANK PHOTOGRAPHY)-14

Limp Bizkit (D. SKANK PHOTOGRAPHY)-15

Limp Bizkit (D. SKANK PHOTOGRAPHY)

Limp Bizkit (D. SKANK PHOTOGRAPHY)-12

Photography by: Derek Scancarelli
Check out D. SKANK PHOTOGRAPHY

]]>
0
Dana Reandelar http://twitter.com/danarndlr <![CDATA[UTG @ CMJ 2014: The Madness That Was ’68]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1135243 2014-10-23T05:43:23Z 2014-10-23T13:00:50Z No Sleep Records threw quite a party Tuesday night and UTG was there to witness it.

The No Sleep ’Til CMJ Showcase brought a whopping eleven bands out to play at The Paper Box in Brooklyn. The diversity in the showcase’s lineup brought fans from different scenes together in a tiny space where gear filled almost half of the floor.

Closed out by Taking Back Sunday’s John Nolan, several good acts preceded (XERXES, Chris Farren, The Felix Culpa, etc.) Directly before Nolan, however, was a band called ’68. This two-piece, hard rock outfit comprised of vocalist Josh Scogin …

]]>
No Sleep Records threw quite a party Tuesday night and UTG was there to witness it.

The No Sleep ’Til CMJ Showcase brought a whopping eleven bands out to play at The Paper Box in Brooklyn. The diversity in the showcase’s lineup brought fans from different scenes together in a tiny space where gear filled almost half of the floor.

Closed out by Taking Back Sunday’s John Nolan, several good acts preceded (XERXES, Chris Farren, The Felix Culpa, etc.) Directly before Nolan, however, was a band called ’68. This two-piece, hard rock outfit comprised of vocalist Josh Scogin (ex-The Chariot) and drummer, Michael McClellan, put in some serious work. “This is gonna be soooo wild,” the kid with the beanie that enveloped most of his face said to me as the band walked in.

IMG_1401

The band, jokingly introducing themselves as AC/DC, Nirvana, and more, played a (rather small) number of songs from their most recent record, In Humor And Sadness, which is especially notorious for its “R e g r e t n o t .” track titles. Their thirty-minute set, however, was enough to keep the crowd fired up. “We’ll play maybe like three songs, because our songs are like… ten minutes long,” Scogin announced.

Despite the fact that I am personally not big on the band’s genre, the dynamic duo’s energy completely stunned me and kept me thoroughly entertained. McClellan is probably one of the most energetic drummers I’ve had the pleasure of seeing live. The photographers struggled as they all tried to attempt to capture the madness that was unfolding. Scogin’s foot, as he was shredding, was on McClellan’s ride cymbal at one point. I’d show you, but my personal photography skills with that amount of movement were especially inadequate. Just let your imagination run wild.

It was a solid half an hour, to say the very least.

Live review written by Dana Reandelar

]]>
0
Kriston McConnell http://underthegunreview.net <![CDATA[A Skylit Drive Lose Two Members; Announce New Album]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1135272 2014-10-23T06:28:16Z 2014-10-23T06:28:16Z A Skylit Drive have had a lot going on in the last 24 hours, so let’s start from the beginning.

This past Tuesday, ASD bassist Brian White and drummer Cory LaQuay announced via Instagram, that they were both leaving the group to pursue other endeavors. Though they are not leaving “together” per se, they are leaving for similar reasons. In a nutshell, they are no longer happy doing what they are doing with this particular band. You can read their entire statement below.

According to the band’s Facebook page, this news apparently was not supposed to be made public …

]]>
A Skylit Drive have had a lot going on in the last 24 hours, so let’s start from the beginning.

This past Tuesday, ASD bassist Brian White and drummer Cory LaQuay announced via Instagram, that they were both leaving the group to pursue other endeavors. Though they are not leaving “together” per se, they are leaving for similar reasons. In a nutshell, they are no longer happy doing what they are doing with this particular band. You can read their entire statement below.

According to the band’s Facebook page, this news apparently was not supposed to be made public at the time it was posted on the internet. However, the band has since posted their own statement on the situation, and included in there is some exciting information for fans. The group confirmed they will be releasing an acoustic version of their last album, titled Rise: Ascension. Their comment on the situation and video announcement can be found below as well.

Rise: Ascension will hit stores January 6, 2015.

A message for our fans and friends, from Brian and Cory: First and foremost, we want to express our gratitude towards our fans and friends who have believed in us enough to support the music we love to play. Whether you have been with us since the beginning of A Skylit Drive or have started listening recently, and regardless of how you showed your support (by coming to a concert, buying our CD or merchandise, or spreading the word about us)…thank you. After careful consideration and having spent a significant amount of time making our decision, we will be parting ways with A Skylit Drive. The life-shaping experiences we have had as individuals, with our band mates/fellow touring bands and especially with our fans and friends is what makes our departure weigh so heavily on our hearts. While we arrived at our decision to leave A Skylit Drive separately, our reasons for doing so are very similar. Unfortunately, the same passion for our band that once fueled our success has changed. How a person values their art and the creative process is their own right, but for the two of us it has gotten to the point that we do not want to lose our love of writing, playing and preforming music because our values and ideas are no longer aligned with others. When we started this band, we could have never imagined that our dreams to travel and perform on stages across the world would come true. Thankful is an understatement for the way we feel about the opportunities we have been given to live our dream for the past eight years. That being said, we hope that you—our fans and friends— will continue to follow your dreams, whatever they may be. Do what makes you happy; otherwise there is no point in doing it at all. Music and performing will always be a part of us, and so we look forward to embracing new opportunities. We will not stop dreaming and we hope you will continue to dream with us. With the sincerest love and gratitude, Brian White and Cory LaQuay

]]>
0
Kriston McConnell http://underthegunreview.net <![CDATA[STREAM: The Killing Lights – “Until I Bleed”]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1135268 2014-10-23T06:05:18Z 2014-10-23T06:05:18Z The Killing Lights is the latest project by former Vampires Everywhere! frontman Michael Vampire. The band hit the ground running and have been working fiercely to produce music that reflects the musician’s new direction. Because of that quick work and determination, the group will already release their self-titled debut EP this December.

We have already heard one song from the band, but now they have teamed up with Kerrang! to premiere the second track off the EP. The new song is titled “Until I Bleed,” and you can listen to it below.

Their EP is available for pre-order through District

]]>
The Killing Lights is the latest project by former Vampires Everywhere! frontman Michael Vampire. The band hit the ground running and have been working fiercely to produce music that reflects the musician’s new direction. Because of that quick work and determination, the group will already release their self-titled debut EP this December.

We have already heard one song from the band, but now they have teamed up with Kerrang! to premiere the second track off the EP. The new song is titled “Until I Bleed,” and you can listen to it below.

Their EP is available for pre-order through District Lines, so if you like what you hear be sure to grab yourself a copy.

]]>
0
Kriston McConnell http://underthegunreview.net <![CDATA[Cobra Starship Have Parted Ways With Two Members]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1135260 2014-10-23T05:52:28Z 2014-10-23T05:45:18Z Up until today, most of the band members in Cobra Starship were original. The band has announced that their lead guitarist, Ryland Blackinton, and bassist, Alex Suarez, are no longer a part of the group. From the sounds of it, the two decided to part ways on their own, and there are no hard feelings between the members. You can read the statement from the band, as well as the two former members, below.

The band has also confirmed that they already have a new bassist and will be announcing his identity shortly. It does not appear that they have …

]]>
Up until today, most of the band members in Cobra Starship were original. The band has announced that their lead guitarist, Ryland Blackinton, and bassist, Alex Suarez, are no longer a part of the group. From the sounds of it, the two decided to part ways on their own, and there are no hard feelings between the members. You can read the statement from the band, as well as the two former members, below.

The band has also confirmed that they already have a new bassist and will be announcing his identity shortly. It does not appear that they have a new guitarist yet.

]]>
0
Kriston McConnell http://underthegunreview.net <![CDATA[La Bella Charade Stream Their EP, ‘Born To Crawl,’ In Full]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1135252 2014-10-23T05:45:00Z 2014-10-23T05:08:08Z The St Louis-based pop-punk outfit known as La Bella Charade are releasing a brand new EP at the end of next week, titled Born To Crawl. This will be the followup to the EP they released this past January, which is titled Sleepwalkers. The group teamed up with Absolutepunk to stream the new EP a little over a week early. It’s also available to stream right below the jump.

Born To Crawl will officially be released by the band on October 31. If you like what you hear, be sure to follow the group on Facebook if you …

]]>
The St Louis-based pop-punk outfit known as La Bella Charade are releasing a brand new EP at the end of next week, titled Born To Crawl. This will be the followup to the EP they released this past January, which is titled Sleepwalkers. The group teamed up with Absolutepunk to stream the new EP a little over a week early. It’s also available to stream right below the jump.

Born To Crawl will officially be released by the band on October 31. If you like what you hear, be sure to follow the group on Facebook if you haven’t already.

]]>
0
Dana Reandelar http://twitter.com/danarndlr <![CDATA[Mac Miller Streams New Song After Signing $10M Contract With Warner Bros.]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1135197 2014-10-23T00:57:33Z 2014-10-23T00:57:33Z In line with recently signing a reportedly $10 million contract with Warner Bros., Pittsburgh rapper, Mac Miller, put out a new song, entitled “Just Some Raps, Nothing To See Here.”

The 22-year-old released Faces last May; a release that had his critics second-guessing themselves. Slowly distancing himself from the tendency to constantly rap about marijuana, Miller and his newly-conceived Frank Ocean lyrical semblances is growing noticeably more substantial. Here’s to hoping the ball keeps rolling and he starts to talk about things other than “bitches” and his cash money.

You can listen to the new track below.

]]>
In line with recently signing a reportedly $10 million contract with Warner Bros., Pittsburgh rapper, Mac Miller, put out a new song, entitled “Just Some Raps, Nothing To See Here.”

The 22-year-old released Faces last May; a release that had his critics second-guessing themselves. Slowly distancing himself from the tendency to constantly rap about marijuana, Miller and his newly-conceived Frank Ocean lyrical semblances is growing noticeably more substantial. Here’s to hoping the ball keeps rolling and he starts to talk about things other than “bitches” and his cash money.

You can listen to the new track below.

]]>
1
Dana Reandelar http://twitter.com/danarndlr <![CDATA[Stream The New Sorority Noise/Somos Split]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1135187 2014-10-23T00:29:10Z 2014-10-23T00:29:10Z Connecticut and Boston natives, Sorority Noise and Somos (respectively), recently announced that they will be putting out a split EP via Bad Timing Records. The EP officially drops on November 4 and is available for pre-order here.

If you enjoyed Somos’ 2014 release, Temple Of Plenty, and Sorority Noise’s Unforgettable, you may be caught off guard by the slight dip in energy from both bands. When comparing it to both debut full-length records, Somos and Sorority Noise have noticeably gone the laid-back route in terms of their sound’s overall vibe. That is not to say, however, that …

]]>
Connecticut and Boston natives, Sorority Noise and Somos (respectively), recently announced that they will be putting out a split EP via Bad Timing Records. The EP officially drops on November 4 and is available for pre-order here.

If you enjoyed Somos’ 2014 release, Temple Of Plenty, and Sorority Noise’s Unforgettable, you may be caught off guard by the slight dip in energy from both bands. When comparing it to both debut full-length records, Somos and Sorority Noise have noticeably gone the laid-back route in terms of their sound’s overall vibe. That is not to say, however, that these aren’t solid tunes. The material definitely adds some new character to their catalogues.

You can stream the split EP below.

]]>
0
Michael Giegerich <![CDATA[Job For A Cowboy Debut “Eating The Visions Of God”]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1135186 2014-10-23T00:05:56Z 2014-10-23T00:05:56Z Arizona death metal outfit Job For A Cowboy have followed up the recent release of “Sun Of Nihility” with yet another monstrous single courtesy of the guys over at MetalSucks. Entitled “Eating The Visions of God,” the new cut hails from the group’s forthcoming record, Sun Eater. While the full-length officially hits stores November 11 via Metal Blade Records, pre-order options are available here.

The new single just might be Job For A Cowboy’s best work yet, so turn up your speakers to full blast, head over to MetalSucks, and give “Eating The Visions Of God” a …

]]>
Arizona death metal outfit Job For A Cowboy have followed up the recent release of “Sun Of Nihility” with yet another monstrous single courtesy of the guys over at MetalSucks. Entitled “Eating The Visions of God,” the new cut hails from the group’s forthcoming record, Sun Eater. While the full-length officially hits stores November 11 via Metal Blade Records, pre-order options are available here.

The new single just might be Job For A Cowboy’s best work yet, so turn up your speakers to full blast, head over to MetalSucks, and give “Eating The Visions Of God” a listen. As always, feel free to let us know your thoughts on the track in the comments section below.

]]>
0
Michael Giegerich <![CDATA[Attila Guitarist Parts Ways With Band]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1135182 2014-10-23T00:04:31Z 2014-10-22T23:48:21Z Metalcore outfit Attila recently kicked off their album release cycle for Guilty Pleasure with the release of a brand new single in “Proving Grounds,” but slightly less pleasurable news has come from the band’s camp today. According to a post on guitarist Nate Salameh’s personal Facebook page, he has amicably parted ways with the band in order to focus on removing drugs and alcohol from his life alongside pursuing a career in producing.

For those who would like to read Salameh’s full statement on his departure, it can be found below.

I’m making this post to inform everyone

]]>
Metalcore outfit Attila recently kicked off their album release cycle for Guilty Pleasure with the release of a brand new single in “Proving Grounds,” but slightly less pleasurable news has come from the band’s camp today. According to a post on guitarist Nate Salameh’s personal Facebook page, he has amicably parted ways with the band in order to focus on removing drugs and alcohol from his life alongside pursuing a career in producing.

For those who would like to read Salameh’s full statement on his departure, it can be found below.

I’m making this post to inform everyone that the boys in ATTILA and I have decided to go our separate ways. I have no bad blood against the guys at all. It was apparent to the people who are close to me (including the guys in the band) that I wasn’t happy. I couldn’t keep lying to myself. It just took some recent events for me to realize it. I had rrecently decided to make a lifestyle change to clean myself of all drugs and alcohol and it is obvious that this was not the environment that I needed to be in to ensure that I live a clean ,healthy and happy life. I’m blessed to have made so many friends and I am truly appreciative all the life lessons that the road has ttaught me. I wish the best for ATTILA in all future endeavors. This is not the end of the road for me. This past year I have found a new passion for recording so I will be perusing this strongly. I love all you and thank you 
-nate

]]>
0
Brian Lion http://underthegunreview.net <![CDATA[The Jane Shermans Stream “I Walk Alone”]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1135170 2014-10-23T01:06:06Z 2014-10-22T22:57:52Z Nashville rock duo, The Jane Shermans, recently began streaming a brand new single, entitled “I Walk Alone.” Led by an undeniably funky bassline and driving structure, Eulene Sherman seems to channel the best of the ’80s as she uses the unique, punk-disco foundation on which to layer her vocal chops.

In regards to the song’s meaning, Sherman explains, “The lyrics are about owning confidence to move ahead when the road ahead is hazy and full of fog. Believe in what you got and who you are.” A relatable insight that we should all strive to achieve.

You can stream …

]]>
Nashville rock duo, The Jane Shermans, recently began streaming a brand new single, entitled “I Walk Alone.” Led by an undeniably funky bassline and driving structure, Eulene Sherman seems to channel the best of the ’80s as she uses the unique, punk-disco foundation on which to layer her vocal chops.

In regards to the song’s meaning, Sherman explains, “The lyrics are about owning confidence to move ahead when the road ahead is hazy and full of fog. Believe in what you got and who you are.” A relatable insight that we should all strive to achieve.

You can stream “I Walk Alone” below (via The Vinyl District) which is available in 7″ format with another single entitled “Shotgun.”

]]>
0
James Shotwell <![CDATA[Here Is The First Trailer For ‘Avengers: Age Of Ultron’]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1135172 2014-10-23T01:32:55Z 2014-10-22T22:43:23Z Oh, internet. Sometimes the anonymous computer fiends that create your best content risk legal action to share something amazing with the world, and tonight they truly outdid themselves.

The first full trailer for Marvel’s Avengers: Age Of Ultron has found its way online ahead of the scheduled October 28 premiere. The footage shows a world on the verge of being torn apart by an enemy it has never seen before, and it looks like our beloved heroes are no longer the friends they once were. It’s big. It’s crazy. It includes Hulkbuster imagery. Check it out:

James Spader is my …

]]>
Oh, internet. Sometimes the anonymous computer fiends that create your best content risk legal action to share something amazing with the world, and tonight they truly outdid themselves.

The first full trailer for Marvel’s Avengers: Age Of Ultron has found its way online ahead of the scheduled October 28 premiere. The footage shows a world on the verge of being torn apart by an enemy it has never seen before, and it looks like our beloved heroes are no longer the friends they once were. It’s big. It’s crazy. It includes Hulkbuster imagery. Check it out:

James Spader is my spirit animal.

The official synopsis for Age Of Ultron reads:

Marvel Studios presents “Avengers: Age of Ultron,” the epic follow-up to the biggest Super Hero movie of all time. When Tony Stark tries to jumpstart a dormant peacekeeping program, things go awry and Earth’s Mightiest Heroes, including Iron Man, Captain America, Thor, The Incredible Hulk, Black Widow and Hawkeye, are put to the ultimate test as the fate of the planet hangs in the balance. As the villainous Ultron emerges, it is up to the Avengers to stop him from enacting his terrible plans, and soon uneasy alliances and unexpected action pave the way for an epic and unique global adventure.

Avengers: Age Of Ultron opens May 1, 2015.

]]>
1
Brian Lion http://underthegunreview.net <![CDATA[Arms & Sleepers Stream Their Excellent New LP, ‘Swim Team,’ In Full]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1135167 2014-10-23T07:02:20Z 2014-10-22T21:31:32Z Boston duo Arms & Sleepers have a brand new, post-hiatus LP set to release on October 28. We were lucky enough to have a listen awhile back and have been waiting anxiously for it to officially drop. Today, we have the opportunity to stream the 11-track effort in full over at HuffPost.

Summer might be over but A&S aim to keep things hot with this newest effort. Overflowing with chill-meets-trill vibes, Swim Team can perfectly accentuate just about any activity, especially swimming and/or relaxing by the pool. With ethereal elements that have always been present in the endlessly fantastic …

]]>
Boston duo Arms & Sleepers have a brand new, post-hiatus LP set to release on October 28. We were lucky enough to have a listen awhile back and have been waiting anxiously for it to officially drop. Today, we have the opportunity to stream the 11-track effort in full over at HuffPost.

Summer might be over but A&S aim to keep things hot with this newest effort. Overflowing with chill-meets-trill vibes, Swim Team can perfectly accentuate just about any activity, especially swimming and/or relaxing by the pool. With ethereal elements that have always been present in the endlessly fantastic catalogue of Arms & Sleepers, the two have now implemented some late ’80s / early ’90s, hip-hop-inspired beats that really elevate their sound to the upper echelon of the ambient/trip-hop genre alongside acts like Bonobo and Tycho. Swim Team should appeal to fans of those greats or other multi-talented producers like Vanilla or The Mad Writer, L’Orange.

Either way, we highly suggest you kick back and stream through the record below. As you’ll undoubtedly want a copy for yourself, head right here and treat yourself to something worth your time and money.

]]>
0