Under the Gun Review Entertainment news for today's generation 2014-12-22T21:46:57Z http://www.underthegunreview.net/feed/atom/ WordPress Kyle Florence http://underthegunreview.net <![CDATA[Bayside Cover “Angels We Have Heard On High”]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1141289 2014-12-22T21:19:50Z 2014-12-22T21:19:50Z Earlier today, Bayside debuted a rocking rendition of the Christmas classic, “Angels We Have Heard On High.” Check it out after the break, and let us know what you think in the comments section below.

In the months ahead, the New York four-piece will hit the road alongside Senses Fail, Man Overboard, and Seaway in celebration of their 15th birthday. To see if they’ll be hitting up a venue in your area, head here.

As we barrel headlong towards JC’s epic birthday bash, it seems that more and more bands are getting into the holiday spirit. A …

]]>
Earlier today, Bayside debuted a rocking rendition of the Christmas classic, “Angels We Have Heard On High.” Check it out after the break, and let us know what you think in the comments section below.

In the months ahead, the New York four-piece will hit the road alongside Senses Fail, Man Overboard, and Seaway in celebration of their 15th birthday. To see if they’ll be hitting up a venue in your area, head here.

As we barrel headlong towards JC’s epic birthday bash, it seems that more and more bands are getting into the holiday spirit. A few weeks back, New Found Glory unveiled a cheery original number called “Snow,” while just yesterday, a recently rejuvenated You, Me And Everyone We Know released an entire Christmas EP for festive fans to enjoy. It’s officially that time of year, folks—get cozy and jam.

]]>
0
Derek Scancarelli <![CDATA[New England Mystery Band Morals Releases Cryptic Teaser]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1141275 2014-12-22T21:46:57Z 2014-12-22T20:35:54Z Morals barely have a social media following. Morals haven’t released any music yet to the world. In fact, the band won’t even announce who the members are. What I can say is that I first met one of the members backstage watching Saosin in May, and I was excited about the barely-explained mystery project that would one day be surfacing.

What we do know about Morals is a little bit more than their mystifying online presence will let us know, which only mentions “Ex Members Of Music You Used To Listen To.” We’ve figured out that the band is comprised …

]]>
Morals barely have a social media following. Morals haven’t released any music yet to the world. In fact, the band won’t even announce who the members are. What I can say is that I first met one of the members backstage watching Saosin in May, and I was excited about the barely-explained mystery project that would one day be surfacing.

What we do know about Morals is a little bit more than their mystifying online presence will let us know, which only mentions “Ex Members Of Music You Used To Listen To.” We’ve figured out that the band is comprised of former members of Auburn, Teamwork, and Die Another Day. The band seems promising to provide some strange new version of tunes from artists that wrote the nostalgic period of the 2000s’ Northeast music scene.

Aside from this cryptic teaser and a few Instagram posts dating back to March from inside the studio, all we do know is that some music is coming very soon.

Check below the jump to see the video.

Day One. Pre Production. #Morals

A photo posted by Morals (@morals_music) on

]]>
1
James Shotwell <![CDATA[The Movielife Sell Out First Show Back, Schedule Another]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1141271 2014-12-22T17:49:55Z 2014-12-22T17:44:54Z The Movielife announced their return to music earlier this month, and it did not take long for the internet to lose its collective mind with excitement. The band quickly announced plans for a reunion show in NYC at the beginning of February, and just last Friday tickets for that show went on sale. Within hours, the show sold out. So, knowing demand was still high, The Movielife did what any intelligent entertainment professional would do when presented with a similar situation: Schedule another show.

This morning, The Movielife revealed that they have scheduled a second reunion show for Friday, February …

]]>
The Movielife announced their return to music earlier this month, and it did not take long for the internet to lose its collective mind with excitement. The band quickly announced plans for a reunion show in NYC at the beginning of February, and just last Friday tickets for that show went on sale. Within hours, the show sold out. So, knowing demand was still high, The Movielife did what any intelligent entertainment professional would do when presented with a similar situation: Schedule another show.

This morning, The Movielife revealed that they have scheduled a second reunion show for Friday, February 6 at Irving Plaza in NYC. The first show is scheduled for February 7, so people who go to this show will technically be among the first to see the reunited band perform. Tickets are $25 (or $35 after fee) and on sale now through LiveNation.

The Movielife have yet to reveal additional shows or touring plans, but we believe that information will be made available soon. Stay tuned.

]]>
0
James Shotwell <![CDATA[CHRISTMAS CAME EARLY: Thrice Tease 2015 Return]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1141265 2014-12-22T17:29:45Z 2014-12-22T15:38:11Z I know you are probably spending a few minutes of each day looking at the growing number of colorful packages under your Christmas tree and fantasizing about what each box might contain. I do the same thing, but this morning I learned that sometimes the best presents don’t have a box or wrapping paper at all. Sometimes the best gifts come in the form of plans, and today the members of Thrice teased plans for the new year.

Yes, after a few years of hiatus, Thrice have begun to tease what will likely be a resurgence for the band in …

]]>
I know you are probably spending a few minutes of each day looking at the growing number of colorful packages under your Christmas tree and fantasizing about what each box might contain. I do the same thing, but this morning I learned that sometimes the best presents don’t have a box or wrapping paper at all. Sometimes the best gifts come in the form of plans, and today the members of Thrice teased plans for the new year.

Yes, after a few years of hiatus, Thrice have begun to tease what will likely be a resurgence for the band in 2015. A new image popped up on the group’s official Tumblr page today that features a shot of the band with the words ‘THRICE 2015′ in large print. No additional information was given. You can view the image below.

tumblr_inline_ngzovnkdFu1qzxlbn

The fact this image showcases a live setting leads me to believe a tour will happen before new music, but at this point it’s anyone’s guess. Follow UTG on Twitter for updates.

]]>
0
Emma Guido <![CDATA[SINGLE REVIEW: Tyler Carter – “Tears On The Runway Pt. 1″]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1141218 2014-12-21T19:05:40Z 2014-12-22T15:00:28Z Artist: Tyler Carter
Song: “Tears On The Runway Pt. 1″
Album: Leave Your Love EP

Tyler Carter’s solo work has been anticipated for quite some time now, so the announcement of his debut solo EP, Leave Your Love, created mass excitement in the music scene. Honestly, Carter could not have thought of a better time to release his solo work; the large scale of popularity that his band Issues has gained this past year has skyrocketed his personal career as well, leaving him in an ideal place to launch his solo music. His uniquely driven mainstream style is …

]]>
Artist: Tyler Carter
Song: “Tears On The Runway Pt. 1″
Album: Leave Your Love EP

Tyler Carter’s solo work has been anticipated for quite some time now, so the announcement of his debut solo EP, Leave Your Love, created mass excitement in the music scene. Honestly, Carter could not have thought of a better time to release his solo work; the large scale of popularity that his band Issues has gained this past year has skyrocketed his personal career as well, leaving him in an ideal place to launch his solo music. His uniquely driven mainstream style is a lot of what got Issues to the point they are at now, but 2015 is Tyler Carter’s time to shine.

The second of his singles that was released from the EP is “Tears On The Runway Pt. 1.” If it sounds familiar, you probably heard the second part to this song on Issues’ self-titled debut album. The incomplete story was finished on Thursday when Carter released part one, the uplifting and romantic introduction to the relationship that dramatically falls apart in part two.

In comparison to the first single off of Leave Your Love, “Georgia,” “Tears On The Runway Pt. 1” claims its role as the superior. Both of the tracks highlight Carter’s shining mainstream qualities and stunning voice, but “Tears On The Runway Pt. 1” has an unwavering storyline and rhythm to put it above the rest. A heavy R&B style is not too prominent, so a more widespread audience can enjoy it, but has enough radio potential to really get Carter’s name out there.

The jumping R&B sound of Carter’s vocals are tamed in this track and work really well with its theme. The track has a protective tone as Carter assures guest artist, Nylo, of comfort and love. The twinkling background featured in the verses perceive a lighthearted tone, but the rejuvenating moment on this track is the releasing chorus. Carter expresses a smooth and consistent refrain that is strongly amplified by the delicacy of Nylo’s soothing vocals and lyrics. This solidarity throughout the song offers memorable and sincere hooks that anyone can easily sing along too.

The simplicity of “Tears On The Runway Part 1” shows off Tyler Carter’s potential like no other. We’ve seen Carter work his magic in many different forms, but even when you put just his voice and songwriting skills in the spotlight, he continues to impress. This single is the prelude to heartbreak on the Issues album and an anthemic moment for Carter’s solo work.

]]>
0
Brenton Harris <![CDATA[LIVE REVIEW: Scott Russo (Unwritten Law) and Phil Jamieson (Grinspoon) in Melbourne, Australia (12/19/14)]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1141154 2014-12-21T19:36:40Z 2014-12-22T14:00:15Z Scott Russo of much loved San Diego pop-punkers Unwritten Law and Phil Jamieson of Australian alt-rock gods Grinspoon, have forged a famous friendship since meeting on the Warped Tour in 1999. This friendship, born of youthful exuberance and strengthened through the shared experience of life on the road (and all of its ups and downs), has played a crucial part in the lives and careers of both men. Tonight, some 15 years since becoming instant best friends, Russo and Jamieson took the stage together at the Corner Hotel for the Melbourne leg of their Australian dual headlining acoustic tour …

]]>
Scott Russo of much loved San Diego pop-punkers Unwritten Law and Phil Jamieson of Australian alt-rock gods Grinspoon, have forged a famous friendship since meeting on the Warped Tour in 1999. This friendship, born of youthful exuberance and strengthened through the shared experience of life on the road (and all of its ups and downs), has played a crucial part in the lives and careers of both men. Tonight, some 15 years since becoming instant best friends, Russo and Jamieson took the stage together at the Corner Hotel for the Melbourne leg of their Australian dual headlining acoustic tour and provided a sold-out crowd with an insight into the power not only of their music, but of their friendship as well.

Taking the stage first, Jamieson was in fine form, flexing his rather impressive vocal chops as he made his way through a selection of reimagined Grinspoon hits and much loved album tracks. With a room full of punters ready and willing to sing back every word of the songs that soundtracked their misspent youth, Jamieson rolled through the likes of “No Reason,” “Just Ace” and a surprisingly faithful and tender version of The Beatles’ “Till There Was You” to an appreciative and increasingly drunken audience. Highlighted by a bluesy rendition of the usually frantic “Thousand Miles,” Jamieson’s set was the perfect introduction to the night’s proceedings.

As Russo took the stage, many of the females in the audience (and a few of the males) pushed their way to the front and Russo wasted no time ensuring their effort was worth it, kicking off his set with a killer rendition of “Teenage Suicide” before ripping through a list consisting of audience favourites such as “Shoulda Known Better,” “Seein’ Red” and “California Sky” before closing out with a stellar solo version of “Save Me.” Russo has a warmth to his vocal tone in an acoustic setting that isn’t present on Unwritten Law’s recorded works and this was particularly evident in his moving rendition of Unwritten Law’s signature tune “Cailin.” Inspiring the biggest sing-a-long of the night, “Cailin” remains every bit as heartfelt and meaningful as it was when it was first unleashed on the world all those years ago, and its inclusion in the set alone would have made many a fan’s night complete.

Thankfully, Russo and Jamieson were not done yet, and as they took the stage together to perform a short set consisting of equal helpings of Grinspoon and Unwritten Law favourites, the crowd predictably lost its collective mind. Opening with an electrifying version of Grinspoon’s “Repeater” Russo and Jamieson traded verses as they led the audience on a much appreciated trip down memory lane. Unwritten Law’s “Up All Night” followed next and the audience sing-a-long drowned out Russo and Jamieson in the chorus, perfectly encapsulating the song and the night’s party spirit. That spirit remained for the remainder of the set, reaching fever pitch as the two friends tore through an inspired version of Grinspoon’s “More Than You Are,” the audience reaction to which rivaled even that of “Cailin” and “Up All Night.”

A fun-filled and festive night in which the combination of witty banter, stripped-back instrumentation and an appreciative crowd combined to create the atmosphere of a particularly jovial (and rather large) campfire sing-a-long, and is a night I won’t soon forget. Kudos to both men on their performances and extra kudos for having the balls to embrace and celebrate the power of genuine male friendship; it truly is a beautiful thing.

scott russo

Feature photo image by Stephen Archer Photography

]]>
0
Brian Lion http://underthegunreview.net <![CDATA[UTG INTERVIEW: The Society Islands]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1141020 2014-12-22T09:03:54Z 2014-12-22T13:30:37Z Boris Rogowski began writing songs as a lovesick teen at 15. Years later, he’s still creating music, now under the banner of The Society Islands. In September, he released his newest album, The Big Sleep, an 11-track, indie-pop and neo-folk record brimming with unique textures and vast instrumentation.

We recently had the chance to speak with Rogowski about where his musical path began and where it’s at currently following the release of his newest works. Read through the jump to get the scoop from The Society Islands as he dishes on his influences, working solo and what he …

]]>
Boris Rogowski began writing songs as a lovesick teen at 15. Years later, he’s still creating music, now under the banner of The Society Islands. In September, he released his newest album, The Big Sleep, an 11-track, indie-pop and neo-folk record brimming with unique textures and vast instrumentation.

We recently had the chance to speak with Rogowski about where his musical path began and where it’s at currently following the release of his newest works. Read through the jump to get the scoop from The Society Islands as he dishes on his influences, working solo and what he has in the pipeline for the future of the project.

I know that The Society Islands is an island group in the South Pacific that contains Bora Bora and Tahiti. Is this where the project’s name was derived from or does it have a completely different meaning for you?

I stumbled upon the name while reading about the French artist Paul Gauguin who spent the last part of his life on Tahiti, painting and philandering – or so I read. I thought it was a pretty cool band name. In the past, much has been made of the friction between ‘society – many’ and ‘island – one,’ but to be honest, I just thought it had a good sound to it. I like things that sound good.

What music did you listen to growing up and who are some of your most important influences?

As a kid, I listened to classical music exclusively. My father collects recordings of classical works, always has; it’s mostly radio recordings on reel-to-reel, although he has tons of vinyl as well. I used to ask him to play me this or that, and I think I was especially fond of music from the baroque era, Bach and Haendel and Vivaldi. In the late ’80s I listened to Eurodance and Simple Minds, mostly – New Gold Dream is still one of my favorite albums – haters gonna hate. In the early ’90s it was grunge, and then I started smoking pot and began to listen to all kinds of stuff and lost interest in genres. If I needed to come up with the three albums I think influenced me the most: Wowee Zowee by Pavement, Angel Dust by Faith No More and Gaucho by Steely Dan.

Do you recall what initially inspired you to want to become a musician?

I don’t think I ever wanted to become a musician, to be honest. But I started writing songs at age 15 because I was terribly lovesick. There was this one girl at my school who was a complete mystery to me, and I was obsessed with mysteries in those days. Looking back, I don’t think she was mysterious at all, just a normal girl obsessing over boy bands and doing her thing. But to me she was an enigma, and I would create an entire world out of my perception of her. Actually, I still draw from that image pool now and then; it was a very rich and complex thing – youth is such a strange time.

Were you born and raised in Germany or did you move there at some point? Do you feel that Europe itself has any specific influence on your sound?

I was born and raised here, and I have never lived anywhere else. As to European influences, I really can’t tell. I think influences come from everywhere, and it’s impossible to break them down into factors like geography. I certainly would approach music differently if I had grown up in Canada or China or Chile, but I really don’t know what the exact difference would be.

I know that on your Facebook and such, you tend to refer to “we.” Is TSI still a solo project for you or has it become a full band at this point?

It is absolutely a solo project. I do all of the writing and 99% of the playing and even the engineering and recording myself. It is really the epitome of a solo project. Sure, I have guest singers/musicians, but I always know exactly what I want them to do.

Do you plan to keep it as such or do you ever find yourself wanting to expand to a full band?

On stage, yes. I have played TSI songs with various lineups, and that was always great fun. As of now, I don’t really have a fixed band, but I would love to have one and play more regularly. In the studio – I think no. I have too strong an idea of where I want things to go, and I guess I would just end up being some hard-ass dictator and everyone would hate me. So no, not a good idea.

How would you briefly describe The Big Sleep to someone who’s never heard your music before?

It’s a collection of songs that I came up with. It’s the best I could do. I gave my best to do it, and I love it and I hope that you will love it, too.

How have you been enjoying the reception from fans and critics on the album?

I’m really happy that I’m getting so much positive feedback. When you do everything on your own, you automatically lose all distance. That’s why reception is so important. I guess it helps you see things that are beyond your perspective. I can say with confidence that first and foremost, I make music for myself; I have no high expectations of fame and success. Still, I like to be liked, just like everybody else does.

I know there’s an unofficial video out for “Archer,” but do you have plans for an official video for it or any other track on the album currently?

I had plans for a “Gone” video, and I also had a team to realize them. But then life happened and it didn’t work out. It was a great concept, though. I would still love to do a video, but I am extremely picky. “Any video is better than no video” is a view I definitely do not subscribe to. I am not putting out shit, and I am not putting out half-baked or okay either. But if someone came up with a great idea and a great concept, I’d definitely be up for it.

Have you already been working on new material since releasing this album? Any specific plans for your next release?

I have written lots of songs and half-songs in the meantime, and I will definitely start recording again soon. There’s not really a specific plan, but I think whatever I do will be more stripped-down. The Big Sleep is an extremely colorful album with very intricate arrangements, and I don’t think I could take it much further than that. So the obvious way to go would be to head in the opposite direction, and at the moment I think that this is what I’ll do. That said, please do not be mad at me if I end up making a concept album with a 60-piece orchestra. I never really know where things are going until they are well underway.

With 2014 at its end, what do you have planned going into 2015?

Oh, tough one. 2015 still seems awfully far away. But my plans involve long walks and good food.

]]>
0
Kriston McConnell http://underthegunreview.net <![CDATA[You, Me And Everyone We Know Release Christmas EP, ‘A Mutty Christmas’]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1141239 2014-12-21T22:08:15Z 2014-12-21T22:00:23Z You, Me And Everyone We Know have joined the rest of the music community by getting in the holiday spirit. Yesterday the group released a short Chirstmas EP titled A Mutty Christmas. The EP features two cover songs and an original YMAEWK track. If you like what you hear, the EP is available for purchase through Bandcamp, and you can also stream it below.

With so many Christmas albums out there to choose from this year, which one has been your favorite so far? I personally have really enjoyed Solid State Records‘ compilation, Midnight Clear, which …

]]>
You, Me And Everyone We Know have joined the rest of the music community by getting in the holiday spirit. Yesterday the group released a short Chirstmas EP titled A Mutty Christmas. The EP features two cover songs and an original YMAEWK track. If you like what you hear, the EP is available for purchase through Bandcamp, and you can also stream it below.

With so many Christmas albums out there to choose from this year, which one has been your favorite so far? I personally have really enjoyed Solid State Records‘ compilation, Midnight Clear, which was released at the end of November.

]]>
0
Drew Caruso <![CDATA[Andy Shauf Streams “Hometown Hero” From Upcoming LP]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1141206 2014-12-21T19:38:30Z 2014-12-21T19:07:30Z I found Andy Shauf way too late. It was the drone, somber, and warm, “I’m Not Falling Asleep” that showed me how much musical reward I had missed from this fantastic Canadian artist. Adding to his already great impression on me, Andy Shauf has released another great new track from his upcoming LP, The Bearer Of Bad News.

“Hometown Hero” takes the slow and brooding challenge of “I’m Not Falling Asleep” and gives it a welcomed jolt of sway. Much brighter than the previously released track, “Hometown Hero” opens up Shauf’s sonic roster, and welcomes in new …

]]>
I found Andy Shauf way too late. It was the drone, somber, and warm, “I’m Not Falling Asleep” that showed me how much musical reward I had missed from this fantastic Canadian artist. Adding to his already great impression on me, Andy Shauf has released another great new track from his upcoming LP, The Bearer Of Bad News.

“Hometown Hero” takes the slow and brooding challenge of “I’m Not Falling Asleep” and gives it a welcomed jolt of sway. Much brighter than the previously released track, “Hometown Hero” opens up Shauf’s sonic roster, and welcomes in new listeners. With The Bearer Of Bad News dropping Feb. 3, 2015 via Tender Loving Empire/Party Damage Records, let “I’m Not Falling Asleep” and “Hometown Hero” tide you over until then.

Be sure to follow us after the jump to enjoy “Hometown Hero,” and be sure to check if Shauf is coming near you here.

]]>
0
Adrian Garza http://adriangarzajams.tumblr.com <![CDATA[‘Hobbit’ Finale Defeats Competition]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1141220 2014-12-21T19:07:52Z 2014-12-21T18:49:56Z The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies has officially arrived, and it’s left quite the impact on this week’s charts. With an estimated weekend total that pushes far past $55 million, the finale to the highly revered Hobbit trilogy has now made over $90 million dollars in the past five days.

Though their numbers aren’t nearly as high, the total draw of this weekend’s other premieres are nothing to sneeze at either. Featuring one of the last appearances of the late Robin Williams, Night at the Museum: Secret of the Tomb made landfall with $17.3 million, earning itself the …

]]>
The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies has officially arrived, and it’s left quite the impact on this week’s charts. With an estimated weekend total that pushes far past $55 million, the finale to the highly revered Hobbit trilogy has now made over $90 million dollars in the past five days.

Though their numbers aren’t nearly as high, the total draw of this weekend’s other premieres are nothing to sneeze at either. Featuring one of the last appearances of the late Robin Williams, Night at the Museum: Secret of the Tomb made landfall with $17.3 million, earning itself the title of the second highest grossing film in the country. The 2014 remake of Annie follows, with $16.3 million.

Curious about our thoughts on some of these new releases? Our reviews of Annie and The Hobbit can be found here and here, respectively. Be sure to follow the jump to see our top ten list of the current highest grossing films of the weekend.

  1. The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies – $56,220,000
  2. Night at the Museum: Secret of the Tomb – $17,300,000
  3. Annie – $16,300,000
  4. Exodus: Gods and Kings – $8,070,000
  5. The Hunger Games: Mockingjay – Part 1 – $7,750,000
  6. Wild – $4,150,000
  7. Top Five – $3,570,000
  8. Big Hero 6 – $3,560,000
  9. Penguins of Madagascar – $3,530,000
  10. P.K. – $3,500,000
]]>
0
Kriston McConnell http://underthegunreview.net <![CDATA[Burn It To The Ground (Ex-The Air I Breathe) Stream “Deadweight”]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1141202 2014-12-21T05:24:40Z 2014-12-21T04:14:21Z After the members of The Air I Breathe parted ways, fans weren’t sure what frontman Tony Dougard would end up doing, though we all hoped he would continue on making music. He recently started up a new band named Burn It To The Ground. Earlier this weekend the group unleashed their second single, titled “Deadweight.” You can stream the new song by taking a look below.

If you dig their sound, they have another single available to download for free through Bandcamp. “Deadweight” will be available for purchase in the next few days.

]]>
After the members of The Air I Breathe parted ways, fans weren’t sure what frontman Tony Dougard would end up doing, though we all hoped he would continue on making music. He recently started up a new band named Burn It To The Ground. Earlier this weekend the group unleashed their second single, titled “Deadweight.” You can stream the new song by taking a look below.

If you dig their sound, they have another single available to download for free through Bandcamp. “Deadweight” will be available for purchase in the next few days.

]]>
0
Emma Guido <![CDATA[Paradise Fears Announce 2015 Spring Tour]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1141203 2014-12-20T05:05:45Z 2014-12-20T05:05:45Z Alternative pop outfit Paradise Fears have announced that they are kicking off 2015 with a US spring tour.

The tour will run from February to April hitting places like Dallas, Boston, Los Angeles, and New York City.

Accompanying Paradise Fears on this tour will be acts Andy Grammar and Alex & Sierra. Check out the band’s Facebook page for updated information on the tour and ticket sales.

You can view the list of tour dates below.

Feb 24 Showbox at the Market Seattle, WA
Feb 25 Wonder Ballroom Portland, OR
Feb 26 The Fillmore San Francisco, CA
Feb 28 …

]]>
Alternative pop outfit Paradise Fears have announced that they are kicking off 2015 with a US spring tour.

The tour will run from February to April hitting places like Dallas, Boston, Los Angeles, and New York City.

Accompanying Paradise Fears on this tour will be acts Andy Grammar and Alex & Sierra. Check out the band’s Facebook page for updated information on the tour and ticket sales.

You can view the list of tour dates below.

Feb 24 Showbox at the Market Seattle, WA
Feb 25 Wonder Ballroom Portland, OR
Feb 26 The Fillmore San Francisco, CA
Feb 28 House of Blues Anaheim, CA
Mar 01 Marquee Theatre Tempe, AZ
Mar 03 House of Blues Houston, TX
Mar 04 House of Blues Dallas, TX
Mar 08 Beacham Theatre Orlando, FL
Mar 10 Music Farm Charleston, SC
Mar 11 Lincoln Theatre Raleigh, NC
Mar 12 Masquerade Atlanta, GA
Mar 13 The Fillmore Charlotte, NC
Mar 14 The Fillmore Washington, DC
Mar 15 Altar Pittsburgh, PA
Mar 18 Port City Music Hall Portland, ME
Mar 19 House of Blues Boston, MA
Mar 20 Webster Hall New York, NY
Mar 21 Theatre of the Living Arts Philadelphia, PA
Mar 22 Ridgefield Playhouse Ridgefield, CT
Mar 25 20th Century Theatre Cincinnati, OH
Mar 26 Crofoot Pontiac, MI
Mar 27 House of Blues Chicago, IL
Mar 28 Old Rock House St Louis, MO
Mar 29 Varsity Theatre Minneapolis, MN
Mar 31 GOTHIC THEATRE Englewood, CO
Apr 01 The Complex Salt Lake City, UT
Apr 03 House of Blues Los Angeles, CA

]]>
0
Kriston McConnell http://underthegunreview.net <![CDATA[Stream Tyler Carter’s New Single, “Tears On The Runway, Pt. 1″]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1141199 2014-12-20T01:31:56Z 2014-12-20T01:31:56Z Only a couple of days have passed since Tyler Carter revealed the lead single off his solo album, Leave Your Love, and he’s already streaming the next song. His newest track is “Tears On The Runway, Pt. 1,” featuring Nylo. You can stream it below.

I do enjoy this song, but I have to say that I like “Georgia” quite a bit more. This is still a stellar song nonetheless, and I can’t wait to hear the rest of the EP. Leave Your Love is going to be released Jan. 13 via Rise Records. The EP is available to …

]]>
Only a couple of days have passed since Tyler Carter revealed the lead single off his solo album, Leave Your Love, and he’s already streaming the next song. His newest track is “Tears On The Runway, Pt. 1,” featuring Nylo. You can stream it below.

I do enjoy this song, but I have to say that I like “Georgia” quite a bit more. This is still a stellar song nonetheless, and I can’t wait to hear the rest of the EP. Leave Your Love is going to be released Jan. 13 via Rise Records. The EP is available to pre-order on iTunes and MerchNow.

]]>
0
Kriston McConnell http://underthegunreview.net <![CDATA[Watch Jonah Hill Interview James Franco In The Trailer For ‘True Story’]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1141196 2014-12-20T00:41:48Z 2014-12-20T00:41:48Z Bummed out about James Franco and Seth Rogen’s The Interview being shelved by Sony? So are we. Lucky for Franco fans though, they will get to see him in the upcoming film based off the memoir of New York Times journalist, Michael Hinkel.

In 2001 an Oregonian man named Christian Longo was wanted by the police when the bodies of his three children and wife were found. Turns out their suspicions were spot on, and he was subsequently found guilty of their murders. While he was on the run though, he stole the identity of Michael Finkel, a New

]]>
Bummed out about James Franco and Seth Rogen’s The Interview being shelved by Sony? So are we. Lucky for Franco fans though, they will get to see him in the upcoming film based off the memoir of New York Times journalist, Michael Hinkel.

In 2001 an Oregonian man named Christian Longo was wanted by the police when the bodies of his three children and wife were found. Turns out their suspicions were spot on, and he was subsequently found guilty of their murders. While he was on the run though, he stole the identity of Michael Finkel, a New York Times journalist. Finkel met Longo in person, and eventually wrote a memoir on his experience.

In the upcoming film based off that memoir, titled True Story, Michael Finkel is played by Jonah Hill, and Michael Longo is played by James Franco. The movie follows Finkel as he tries to find out more about Longo’s story. You can watch a new trailer for the movie below. It’s scheduled to hit theaters April 10, 2015.

]]>
0
Matthew Leimkuehler http://underthegunreview.net <![CDATA[Sledding With Tigers Premiere “Quit YR Job,” Announce Vinyl Release]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1141189 2014-12-19T21:29:00Z 2014-12-19T20:53:36Z Southern California-based acoustic, heart-on-his-sleeve punk Sledding With Tigers is bringing his record, Not The Beatles Yet, to vinyl via Antique Records. The record, which is limited to a press of 300 copies, consists of 14 occult tracks from the scene’s favorite acoustic act.

Along with the announcement of the new pressing, Sledding With Tigers have officially released a song, “Quit YR Job,” off of Not The Beatles Yet, via PropertyofZack.

Check out the pre-order for Not The Beatles Yet here and stream the new track, “Quit Yr Job,” after the jump. Be sure to leave your …

]]>
Southern California-based acoustic, heart-on-his-sleeve punk Sledding With Tigers is bringing his record, Not The Beatles Yet, to vinyl via Antique Records. The record, which is limited to a press of 300 copies, consists of 14 occult tracks from the scene’s favorite acoustic act.

Along with the announcement of the new pressing, Sledding With Tigers have officially released a song, “Quit YR Job,” off of Not The Beatles Yet, via PropertyofZack.

Check out the pre-order for Not The Beatles Yet here and stream the new track, “Quit Yr Job,” after the jump. Be sure to leave your thoughts in the comments below.

]]>
0
Scott Murray <![CDATA[I The Mighty Are Entering The Studio]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1141174 2014-12-19T20:35:25Z 2014-12-19T20:35:25Z San Francisco post-hardcore band I The Mighty have recently announced their return to the studio to record their second full-length album early in the new year.

The band released a statement over Facebook that they will be working with producer Mike Green, who has produced albums for artists including Paramore, Pierce The Veil and All Time Low.

With the announcement came the exciting news that their brand new album would arrive sometime in 2015 on Equal Vision Records. We’ll look out for more updates from the band. In the meantime you can read the band’s official statement …

]]>
San Francisco post-hardcore band I The Mighty have recently announced their return to the studio to record their second full-length album early in the new year.

The band released a statement over Facebook that they will be working with producer Mike Green, who has produced albums for artists including Paramore, Pierce The Veil and All Time Low.

With the announcement came the exciting news that their brand new album would arrive sometime in 2015 on Equal Vision Records. We’ll look out for more updates from the band. In the meantime you can read the band’s official statement below:

We’re very excited to announce that we’re going into the studio in January to make our 2nd full-length record with Mike Green (Paramore, Pierce The Veil, All Time Low). Mike has been one of our favorite producers for a very long time and we’re beyond thrilled to be working with him. The new album will be out in 2015 on Equal Vision records. Thank you all for being on this crazy ride with us! – Brent, Blake, Chris, Ian

]]>
0
Dana Reandelar http://twitter.com/danarndlr <![CDATA[Watch Foo Fighters Perform “I Am A River” Alongside A String Orchestra]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1141162 2014-12-19T20:33:56Z 2014-12-19T20:33:56Z A little over a week after the last episode of Sonic Highways aired on HBO, we find Foo Fighters still heavily promoting their documentary and their most recent album of the same title worldwide.

Set to embark on a massive world tour, hitting parts of South America, Europe, and North America starting in January, the rock icons made a few stops on a couple late night shows, with the most recent being The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon.

On last night’s episode, the Seattle quintet graced the audience with a performance of their song “I Am A River” off …

]]>
A little over a week after the last episode of Sonic Highways aired on HBO, we find Foo Fighters still heavily promoting their documentary and their most recent album of the same title worldwide.

Set to embark on a massive world tour, hitting parts of South America, Europe, and North America starting in January, the rock icons made a few stops on a couple late night shows, with the most recent being The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon.

On last night’s episode, the Seattle quintet graced the audience with a performance of their song “I Am A River” off of Sonic Highways. The band was accompanied by a full string orchestra and it resulted in a majestic performance.

You can check it out below.

]]>
0
Dana Reandelar http://twitter.com/danarndlr <![CDATA[Miguel Just Dropped Three New Tracks, Stream Them Now]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1141167 2014-12-19T20:30:27Z 2014-12-19T20:30:27Z Grammy Award-winning artist, Miguel, just took his fans by surprise and put out three new tracks via SoundCloud. We haven’t seen anything at all from the R&B star since his incredible release of Kaleidoscope Dream in 2012, which brought tracks like “Adorn” and “Do You…”

From track one, “nwa,” to the closer, “Coffee,” which ends very abruptly, this untitled collection of songs was something you didn’t know you needed, and it’ll make you want more. The three new tracks are guaranteed to be heard blasting in everyone’s cars pretty soon. Let’s hope that this finally leads to a new …

]]>
Grammy Award-winning artist, Miguel, just took his fans by surprise and put out three new tracks via SoundCloud. We haven’t seen anything at all from the R&B star since his incredible release of Kaleidoscope Dream in 2012, which brought tracks like “Adorn” and “Do You…”

From track one, “nwa,” to the closer, “Coffee,” which ends very abruptly, this untitled collection of songs was something you didn’t know you needed, and it’ll make you want more. The three new tracks are guaranteed to be heard blasting in everyone’s cars pretty soon. Let’s hope that this finally leads to a new record. Everyone’s “Anticipated Music For 2015″ list just got a little bit longer.

Check out Miguel’s surprise new tracks below.

]]>
0