Under the Gun Review Entertainment news for today's generation 2014-10-24T23:20:17Z http://www.underthegunreview.net/feed/atom/ WordPress Adrian Garza http://adriangarzajams.tumblr.com <![CDATA[Man Overboard Stream ‘Passing Ends’ EP]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1135499 2014-10-24T23:20:17Z 2014-10-24T20:03:02Z We’ve already had the chance to listen to “Stood Up” and “For Vince,” but thanks to Billboard, we can now listen to Man Overboard‘s Passing Ends EP in full.

It may have only been about a year and a half since the NJ group released their Heart Attack LP, but the maturity displayed on this new EP makes it seem like decades. With a production team of vocalist/bass player Nik Bruzzese on production duties and Will Yip behind the mixing, this EP is sure to whet the appetites of fans before Man O releases …

]]>
We’ve already had the chance to listen to “Stood Up” and “For Vince,” but thanks to Billboard, we can now listen to Man Overboard‘s Passing Ends EP in full.

It may have only been about a year and a half since the NJ group released their Heart Attack LP, but the maturity displayed on this new EP makes it seem like decades. With a production team of vocalist/bass player Nik Bruzzese on production duties and Will Yip behind the mixing, this EP is sure to whet the appetites of fans before Man O releases their fourth studio album in 2015 through Rise Records.

Passing Ends can still be pre-ordered through Lost Tape Collective prior to its release this upcoming Tuesday (10/28).

]]>
0
James Shotwell <![CDATA[One Direction Recruit Danny Devito For “Steal My Girl” Video]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1135469 2014-10-24T19:26:59Z 2014-10-24T19:26:59Z One Direction may seem like any other boy band that has ever existed to those who do not invest much time in such things, but truth be told they are actually quite unique. For starters, they don’t dance in unison. They also don’t take themselves all that serious, which is proven once and for all in their new video for “Steal My Girl.”

Set in a desert far from any major city, the official video for “Steal My Girl” opens with the members of One Direction asking one another where their director has gone. Moments later, the man in question …

]]>
One Direction may seem like any other boy band that has ever existed to those who do not invest much time in such things, but truth be told they are actually quite unique. For starters, they don’t dance in unison. They also don’t take themselves all that serious, which is proven once and for all in their new video for “Steal My Girl.”

Set in a desert far from any major city, the official video for “Steal My Girl” opens with the members of One Direction asking one another where their director has gone. Moments later, the man in question arrives (Danny Devito), and he proceeds to tell the group that their new clip will showcase “a higher form of expression.” This includes, but is not limited to, sumo wrestlers, monkeys, and ribbon dancers. You can view the video below:

I doubt this video will win over any new fans for the group, but Directioners are sure to have one or several heart attacks while watching the clip above. It’s got everything you could ask for from the group, as well as Danny Devito! What’s not to love?

One Direction are planning to release a new album next month. I don’t think it will be better than Midnight Memories, but I would love to be wrong. Comment below and let us know your thoughts on the video for “Steal My Girl.”

]]>
0
Scott Murray <![CDATA[Brent Walsh (I The Mighty) Streams “Default World”]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1135493 2014-10-24T19:10:01Z 2014-10-24T19:10:01Z Guitarist and vocalist Brent Walsh of I The Mighty will be releasing his solo debut through Equal Vision Records on November 10. The eclectic mix of tracks that make up the album, 7, are reflective of different points in Walsh’s life over the past 7 years working with I The Mighty.

Today, Walsh released the second song from 7, a folk-acoustic jam called “Default World.” If you’re familiar with Walsh’s acoustic tracks with I The Mighty you’ll be right at home with this new cut.

You can stream “Default World” below via AltPress.

]]>
Guitarist and vocalist Brent Walsh of I The Mighty will be releasing his solo debut through Equal Vision Records on November 10. The eclectic mix of tracks that make up the album, 7, are reflective of different points in Walsh’s life over the past 7 years working with I The Mighty.

Today, Walsh released the second song from 7, a folk-acoustic jam called “Default World.” If you’re familiar with Walsh’s acoustic tracks with I The Mighty you’ll be right at home with this new cut.

You can stream “Default World” below via AltPress.

]]>
0
John Bazley <![CDATA[…And You Will Know Us By The Trail Of Dead Release Music Video For “The Ghost Within”]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1135485 2014-10-24T18:21:15Z 2014-10-24T18:19:15Z …And You Will Know Us By The Trail Of Dead have released a new video for their track “The Ghost Within” over at The Line Of Best Fit. The song comes from their most recent album, IX.

This is one of the softer …And You Will Know Us By The Trail Of Dead songs that I’ve heard. The feature-style video is a perfect companion piece, as expected from a band that’s been known for their public perception as much as their music.

Watch “The Ghost Within” below and let us know what you think.

]]>
…And You Will Know Us By The Trail Of Dead have released a new video for their track “The Ghost Within” over at The Line Of Best Fit. The song comes from their most recent album, IX.

This is one of the softer …And You Will Know Us By The Trail Of Dead songs that I’ve heard. The feature-style video is a perfect companion piece, as expected from a band that’s been known for their public perception as much as their music.

Watch “The Ghost Within” below and let us know what you think.

]]>
0
John Bazley <![CDATA[The Decemberists Announce New Album]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1135478 2014-10-24T18:13:06Z 2014-10-24T18:10:26Z The Decemberists have announced that their new album will be titled What A Terrible World, What A Beautiful World.

The band announced the album by unveiling a large mural in Brooklyn featuring the album artwork. Frontman Colin Meloy was at the affair, and performed a brand new song called “Make You Better” for everyone in attendance. Check out some YouTube footage of the new song, as well as the album artwork below.

What A Terrible World, What A Beautiful World does not yet have a release date, but that information is likely coming soon. We’ll keep you posted as …

]]>
The Decemberists have announced that their new album will be titled What A Terrible World, What A Beautiful World.

The band announced the album by unveiling a large mural in Brooklyn featuring the album artwork. Frontman Colin Meloy was at the affair, and performed a brand new song called “Make You Better” for everyone in attendance. Check out some YouTube footage of the new song, as well as the album artwork below.

What A Terrible World, What A Beautiful World does not yet have a release date, but that information is likely coming soon. We’ll keep you posted as soon as we find out.

screen-shot-2014-10-24-at-12-32-28-pm

]]>
0
John Bazley <![CDATA[Better Off Release “I Was Better 10 Years Ago” From ‘Meth Head’]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1135476 2014-10-24T18:12:05Z 2014-10-24T17:59:18Z Better Off recently announced their signing to Equal Vision Records and confirmed the release of a seven-inch entitled Meth Head. We heard the title track a while back, and you can now stream the b-side, “I Was Better 10 Years Ago,” at AltPress.

This band is something special, and the new track solidifies that. I think I prefer this song to “Meth Head,” although I’m not sure how I feel about them in comparison to last year’s full-length, (I Think) I’m Leaving. The new seven-inch is a bit of a different direction. Good, but different.

Stream “I Was …

]]>
Better Off recently announced their signing to Equal Vision Records and confirmed the release of a seven-inch entitled Meth Head. We heard the title track a while back, and you can now stream the b-side, “I Was Better 10 Years Ago,” at AltPress.

This band is something special, and the new track solidifies that. I think I prefer this song to “Meth Head,” although I’m not sure how I feel about them in comparison to last year’s full-length, (I Think) I’m Leaving. The new seven-inch is a bit of a different direction. Good, but different.

Stream “I Was Better 10 Years Ago” below or over at AltPress.

]]>
0
John Bazley <![CDATA[Vacationer Release Music Video For “Go Anywhere”]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1135471 2014-10-24T18:10:36Z 2014-10-24T17:46:01Z As fall weather starts to take over, you might have forgotten that Vacationer put out a pretty great album earlier this year. Revisit the summer vibes of Relief with the new music video for “Go Anywhere.”

I don’t think Kenny Vasoli could look more mellowed out than he does here. If you’re having a stressful day, this might be just what you need to regroup and wind down. Take a break, make yourself a piña colada, and enjoy “Go Anywhere.”

You can watch the video below.

]]>
As fall weather starts to take over, you might have forgotten that Vacationer put out a pretty great album earlier this year. Revisit the summer vibes of Relief with the new music video for “Go Anywhere.”

I don’t think Kenny Vasoli could look more mellowed out than he does here. If you’re having a stressful day, this might be just what you need to regroup and wind down. Take a break, make yourself a piña colada, and enjoy “Go Anywhere.”

You can watch the video below.

]]>
0
James Shotwell <![CDATA[MOVIE REVIEW: ‘John Wick’ Delivers Thrilling Action And Little Else]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1135443 2014-10-24T15:51:59Z 2014-10-24T15:38:31Z Film: John Wick
Starring: Keanu Reeves
Directed by: David Leitch, Chad Stahelski

Hell may have no fury like a woman scorned, but neither can hold a candle to the rage that fuels John Wick after losing everything he loves.

The world is a very cold and cruel place when we first meet John Wick, and rarely in the 96 minutes that follow do things ever look up. Hidden away from society after years spent in a life of crime, Wick is a strong and quiet man who is trying his best to mourn the untimely loss of his wife. Her …

]]>
Film: John Wick
Starring: Keanu Reeves
Directed by: David Leitch, Chad Stahelski

Hell may have no fury like a woman scorned, but neither can hold a candle to the rage that fuels John Wick after losing everything he loves.

The world is a very cold and cruel place when we first meet John Wick, and rarely in the 96 minutes that follow do things ever look up. Hidden away from society after years spent in a life of crime, Wick is a strong and quiet man who is trying his best to mourn the untimely loss of his wife. Her death, brought on by medical issues, has left him searching for purpose in a world he only cared about when she was in it.

One night, following a strange encounter at a nearby gas station, John awakes to find intruders in his home. They knock him around, steal his car, and do something awful to his newly-adopted puppy before leaving John passed out in a pool of his own blood. When he awakes, the sun is out and the men have gone. John tries to stay calm, but before long he pieces together the identities of the men responsible and sets out to unleash his own brand of violent justice.

I’m not sure I would go as far as to call John Wick a ‘noir’ in the classic sense, but it definitely takes cues from that popular genre in order to craft its bleak and bullet-riddled universe. Less than twenty minutes pass from the moment we first meet John to the day after his attack, and nearly every minute that happens after that point is drenched in violence or the talk of violent acts. John is a ruthless killer, willing to take down anyone who stands in the way of taking out the men he views as responsible for his pain, and he never pays much mind to whether or not he is ever making a scene. He kills indoors just as he does when he is on the streets, and the same goes for every crowded place he roams as well. The body count rises, the set pieces change, but what happens after each transition is largely the same: John enters, says a few cheesy lines about not backing down or not giving up, kills bad guys, gets a new piece of information about the true villain’s whereabouts, and leaves.

John Wick would likely be written off as another dull action effort if it weren’t for the extreme level of badassery with which Keanu Reeves portrays the lead role. It has been a little while since Reeves was given the chance to carry a major action film, but here we learn that time has only improved the screen veteran’s impeccable delivery. It’s often hard to differentiate between the characters a particular star plays, as many roles today are written in a way that cater to an individual’s traits, but the way Reeves portrays John Wick is different from anyone else he has brought to life on screen. There is no regret in John Wick’s heart, nor is there any real sense of sympathy for those he must gun down in order to reach his true foe. He is simply heartbroken, and through his speech and actions Reeves allows audiences to see what the weight of heartache can do to a man’s soul.

This is not a perfect film. Though its violence is engrossing and largely original, John Wick has little else to offer viewers for the majority of its runtime. This is very much a straightforward tale of a man on a mission, and to make matters worse there is rarely a moment when we doubt his ability to complete his journey. All we’re really able to do is kick back, count the bodies as they fall, and wait for John to feel as if his thirst for vengeance has been quenched. I’d be lying if I said I didn’t begin to wonder just how many nameless and essentially faceless bad guys would have to be shot in the face before the credits would roll. I lost count around 57.

John Wick is a thrilling ride, but how many miles you get out of your journey will vary greatly from person to person. It’s not the kind of astounding action film that people will still be talking about in five years, but at the moment it’s one of the best and most grisly entries the action genre has received in some time. Keanu is great, the gunplay is heavy, and the entire thing looks really good. With a little more substance this film could be something special, but as is John Wick is good enough to please those still willing to pay for a trip to the movies and that’s more than I can say about most films released this year.

GRADE: B

Review written by: James Shotwell

]]>
0
Kyle Florence http://underthegunreview.net <![CDATA[UTG’s 31 Days Of Halloween: ‘Lake Placid’]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1135312 2014-10-24T15:04:51Z 2014-10-24T15:00:32Z Of all the holidays celebrated worldwide, no single day is more loved by the UTG staff than Halloween. With the arrival of the year’s best month, the time has finally come to begin rolling out a plethora of features and special announcements we have prepared in celebration of our favorite day, including the one you’re about to read.

Now in its third year, 31 Days Of Halloween is a recurring feature that will run throughout the month of October. The hope and goal of this column is to supply every UTG reader with a daily horror (or Halloween-themed) movie recommendation …

]]>
Of all the holidays celebrated worldwide, no single day is more loved by the UTG staff than Halloween. With the arrival of the year’s best month, the time has finally come to begin rolling out a plethora of features and special announcements we have prepared in celebration of our favorite day, including the one you’re about to read.

Now in its third year, 31 Days Of Halloween is a recurring feature that will run throughout the month of October. The hope and goal of this column is to supply every UTG reader with a daily horror (or Halloween-themed) movie recommendation that is guaranteed to amplify your All Hallows’ Eve festivities. We’ll be watching every film the day it’s featured, and we hope you’ll follow along at home.

[Warning: the material within is likely NSFW]

lake placid

Day 24: Lake Placid (1999)

For as long as there have been horror movies, there have been monsters to fill them. This particular sub-genre has outlasted all others, and despite its habit of recycling old material, still manages to draw in viewers by the boatload. Perhaps it is mankind’s inherent fear of the unknown that fuels the need for inhuman antagonists, but whatever the reason, there is something timeless about a grotesque figure lurking in the foreground, snatching up victims without warning or mercy.

Enter Lake Placid. Written by David E. Kelley and directed by Steve Miner, this creature-based carnival expertly emphasizes genre tropes without growing stale while sprinkling in enough humor along the way to keep things light and accessible. Though not particularly groundbreaking in terms of plot or content, this film has a personality all its own, and builds suspense in a way that is both fun and refreshing. Plus, it also has Betty White swearing like a trucker and berating law enforcement, which is a treat in itself.

Betty white

Set in the fictional town of Black Lake, Maine, Lake Placid revolves around paleontologist Kelly Scott (Bridget Fonda), who is flown out east to investigate a mysterious tooth and a serious of odd, seemingly accidental deaths. Following a number of strange occurrences and accounts, she is soon joined by Sheriff Hank Keough (Brendan Gleeson) and fish & game officer Jack Welis (Bill Pullman), and with the help of eccentric millionaire Hector Cyr (Oliver Platt), the unlikely outfit set out to determine just what lies beneath the glassy surface of Black Lake. SPOILER ALERT: it’s a huge freaking crocodile.

lake placid croc

As mentioned, Lake Placid is by no means the best monster movie to ever grace the big screen, but it is more than enough to make you second-guess that trip to your family’s lake cottage. The cast has a natural chemistry that keeps things moving during less exciting sequences, and while there are a few times that the script overreaches, eye-rolls are kept to a minimum. Additionally, the real star, the crocodile, looks damn good considering this film was released in 1999, when CGI was still in its infancy. Toothy and terrifying, his screen time is kept to a minimum until the second act, paying homage to classic thrillers like Jaws and Alien without feeling like a total rip-off.

The end result is an easy-to-swallow piece of cinema that, despite a good amount of dismemberment and mayhem, doesn’t take itself too seriously. And though it probably won’t haunt your dreams quite like The Thing or It, Lake Placid is an essential viewing experience for any fan of man-eating monsters.

Editorial written by: Kyle Florence
Last year’s Day 24 film: The Faculty

]]>
0
James Shotwell <![CDATA[UTG PREMIERE: Act As If – “Easier”]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1135446 2014-10-24T17:28:43Z 2014-10-24T14:54:47Z The weekend is almost here, so in our minds it is as good a time as any to forget about work and focus on what really matters: Discovering great new music.

Today, we have the great honor of partnering with fast-rising pop rock outfit Act As If to premiere the closing track from their highly anticipated new album. The song, titled “Easier,” knocked us off our collective feet when it first blared throughout our offices, and in the days that followed it could be heard booming from various individual work spaces. To say we’ve fallen head over heels would probably …

]]>
The weekend is almost here, so in our minds it is as good a time as any to forget about work and focus on what really matters: Discovering great new music.

Today, we have the great honor of partnering with fast-rising pop rock outfit Act As If to premiere the closing track from their highly anticipated new album. The song, titled “Easier,” knocked us off our collective feet when it first blared throughout our offices, and in the days that followed it could be heard booming from various individual work spaces. To say we’ve fallen head over heels would probably be an understatement, so drop whatever you’re doing and take a few moments to fall in love with Act As If:

Act As If have been on the rise for four years now, and with songs like “Easier” it should not be too much longer before they are considered a household name. Comment below and let us know your thoughts on the new song.

Steady, the new album from Act As If, is slated for release on November 10. The album was produced by Peter Verdell, Adrian Alvarado, and Eric Palmquist over the course of six months at Grey Area Studios and Infrasonic Sound.

“This is hands down the best album we’ve made as a band; I think we created something quite special – something that is unique to us,” explains vocalist Peter Verdell. “I love our last EP and our previous album, but the new record is on a new level…and it’s really exciting.”

For more information on Steady and the rest of Act As If’s plans for the future, head over to the band’s official website.

]]>
1
James Shotwell <![CDATA[MOVIE REVIEW: ‘Whiplash’ Is Likely The Best Film Of 2014]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1135436 2014-10-24T15:43:08Z 2014-10-24T14:18:40Z Film: Whiplash
Starring: Miles Teller, J.K. Simmons
Directed by: Damien Chazelle

Featuring two unforgettable performances and a script that is as close to perfection as you can find in cinema today, Whiplash is a surefire contender for best film of 2014.

There have been many films about music and various fictional individuals’ attempts at greatness, but never have the heartbreaking sacrifices and unnervingly tense moments that come with truly achieving something special been captured the way they are in Whiplash. Written and directed by Damien Chazelle, the film is as much an exercise in focused effort as the story …

]]>
Film: Whiplash
Starring: Miles Teller, J.K. Simmons
Directed by: Damien Chazelle

Featuring two unforgettable performances and a script that is as close to perfection as you can find in cinema today, Whiplash is a surefire contender for best film of 2014.

There have been many films about music and various fictional individuals’ attempts at greatness, but never have the heartbreaking sacrifices and unnervingly tense moments that come with truly achieving something special been captured the way they are in Whiplash. Written and directed by Damien Chazelle, the film is as much an exercise in focused effort as the story it has to share, stripping away every moment of needless exposition and unnecessary side-stories in order to deliver a driving and relentlessly thrilling journey to heights of human ability.

Miles Teller stars as Andrew, a promising young jazz drummer who hopes to one day join the elite band at his East Coast music conservatory. That group is led by Fletcher (J.K. Simmons), a tough-as-nails instructor whose methods of pushing his students are viewed by many as unorthodox. He screams, throws things, tears people down, swears, and often makes it clear that nobody currently performing for him is so good he cannot cut them at a moment’s notice. He’s probably amongst the most ruthless instructors to ever be brought to the screen, but as the story unfolds Chazelle makes a clear and well-fought argument that such over the top methods are necessary in order to help others reach a point where they do something truly unique.

I was sold on Whiplash from the opening scene, but what took me by surprise was just how far Chazelle was willing to push his characters in order to do something out of the ordinary with a somewhat familiar setup. It’s clear very early on that Whiplash has set out to go beyond the heights of past music films, abandoning many of the familiar tropes that give characters depth in favor of delivering a more goal-oriented story, and while that move may cause some titles to eventually lose steam it’s a decision that allows Whiplash to break miles of new ground in a genre that has been flooded with redundancy in recent years.

Whiplash would likely work with almost anyone filling the lead roles, as the script is tight and Chazelle’s work behind the camera is strong, but the entire production is taken to another level with the presence of Teller and Simmons. Teller has been the breakout star of young Hollywood for the last two years, and here he makes it clear that his talents are going to be a staple of the entertainment industry for years to come. Having started drumming at the age of 15 and learning new techniques specifically for the film, he pours his all into the role, and in doing so accomplishes something great himself. Simmons, on the other hand, has long proven himself to be an intense and, at times, vicious actor. Watching him display his vast talent throughout the various set pieces of Whiplash is akin to taking a lightning-fast class in acting taught by a professor who at this point needs no real introduction. Those familiar with Simmons have known him to be a star for years, and here he finally gets the time in the limelight he has long deserved.

There will be some who talk of Whiplash with the opinion Fletcher pushes too hard, or that perhaps the message of the story is one that risks ruining some people’s desire to ever chase their dreams, but the more I think about it the more I believe Chazelle is speaking the truth with this picture. To achieve real greatness you must make great sacrifices, and that includes everything from physical demands like endless hours of practice, to emotional ties that may distract you from remaining focused on your goals. Most people realize these things must happen in order to go beyond wherever they are in life, but very few fully commit. Most drop whatever they feel is detrimental and reason with themselves as to why other elements of distraction or laziness may remain. I know I’ve done it, and if you think about it you probably have as well at one point or another. We’re only human, after all.

Whiplash fully commits to being something great from its opening scene, and it demands that its audience do the same. If you get behind that idea early enough, you will find yourself spending over 90 minutes on the edge of your seat. If it takes a while, that’s fine too. Everyone’s journey to self-fulfillment is different, and in many ways I think the same will eventually be said about how people view Whiplash. Those who have given their all for something will connect the most, while those on the fence about how much they can commit to whatever they desire to pursue may feel a bit antagonized by the message the film conveys. All I’m going to say is that it has a point to make, and it’s one more people should take to heart.

GRADE: A+

Review written by: James Shotwell

]]>
0
Brian Lion http://underthegunreview.net <![CDATA[REVIEW: Arms And Sleepers – ‘Swim Team’]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1135423 2014-10-24T16:17:45Z 2014-10-24T13:30:35Z Artist: Arms And Sleepers
Album: Swim Team
Genre: Chillwave, Trip-Hop

Adding to a hefty catalog of LPs, EPs, and split releases riddled with lush tones, intricate instrumentals, ethereal auras, smooth beats and soothing vocal samples, Boston’s Arms and Sleepers are back, post-hiatus, with Swim Team, their fifth full-length studio effort since forming in 2006.

Opening with a slow-builder in “Unbound,” Swim Team immediately compels you to nod your head to one of its many ’90s-inspired beats as you float along with A&S’ evolved sound before meeting a very new one in the title track, which brings to mind the …

]]>
Artist: Arms And Sleepers
Album: Swim Team
Genre: Chillwave, Trip-Hop

Adding to a hefty catalog of LPs, EPs, and split releases riddled with lush tones, intricate instrumentals, ethereal auras, smooth beats and soothing vocal samples, Boston’s Arms and Sleepers are back, post-hiatus, with Swim Team, their fifth full-length studio effort since forming in 2006.

Opening with a slow-builder in “Unbound,” Swim Team immediately compels you to nod your head to one of its many ’90s-inspired beats as you float along with A&S’ evolved sound before meeting a very new one in the title track, which brings to mind the playful and summery childlike exuberance of acts such as Neon Indian, Discovery, and Cults. The rest of the album features moments of hard-hitting, down-tempo drone (“Tiger Tempo”), twinkling R&B that brings Nelly & Kelly to mind (“Forever Only”), pure relaxation to completely lose yourself within (“Better Living Thru Chemistry”), and amped-up, synth-driven, ’80s sunglasses-wearing awesomeness (“Tetro”).

One of my favorite aspects of Swim Team, however, are the subtle musical nuances that serve as callbacks to the earlier works of the duo from their Black Paris 86 and Matador days (e.g. “Hummingbird,” “Ghost Loop,” “Hurry Slowly”). There are specific notes and tones that I pick up on that sound like they’ve been plucked straight from some of my favorite A&S tracks; not in a lazy, recycled kind of way, but more in a ‘not forgetting the roots of our brand’ kind of way. That’s an aspect that I love and respect when it comes to any ever-evolving act, no matter the genre.

Overall, there’s something more simple, safe and reserved about Swim Team; something ostensibly less complicated. That might sound like a negative remark, but I promise you that it’s not. While I do find myself missing some of the more natural-sounding instrumentation and intricacies of the duo’s back catalog, this newest effort is as welcome as any in my book. Swim Team is wholly cohesive and plays like the instrumental accompaniment to a charting hip-hop album, and that might not sound very A&S but they’ve already proved themselves several times over in numerous other areas of ambient and experimental electronic music. The fact that I’ve listened to this album at least 20 times in the past month proves two things to me: 1) It has tremendous replay value, and 2) I wish it was twice as long.

Swim Team is easily one of my favorite albums of the year and the only way it could get any better is if A&S pulled a reverse Ratatat and got some of hip-hop’s finest to record complementing bars over each of the tracks, then released the results as an alternate version called Swim Team 2: Freestyle.

SCORE: 9.5/10
Review written by Brian Lion — (Follow him on Twitter)

]]>
0
James Shotwell <![CDATA[Foo Fighters Stream “The Feast And The Famine”]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1135433 2014-10-24T15:55:24Z 2014-10-24T13:17:48Z Just a week after fans devoured “Something From Nothing,” Foo Fighters have shared another song off their highly anticipated new album.

“The Feast And The Famine” arrived online early this morning. The track is the second to surface off Foo Fighters’ Sonic Highways album, which found the band recording eight songs across eight US cities, and it is the result of the band’s time in Washington D.C. You can stream the song, in full, below:

Foo Fighters frontman Dave Grohl is a DC regular, so it’s probably safe to assume this song is a little special. It was …

]]>
Just a week after fans devoured “Something From Nothing,” Foo Fighters have shared another song off their highly anticipated new album.

“The Feast And The Famine” arrived online early this morning. The track is the second to surface off Foo Fighters’ Sonic Highways album, which found the band recording eight songs across eight US cities, and it is the result of the band’s time in Washington D.C. You can stream the song, in full, below:

Foo Fighters frontman Dave Grohl is a DC regular, so it’s probably safe to assume this song is a little special. It was recorded at Inner Ear Studios, the Arlington, Virginia site where countless Dischord classics were created.

Sonic Highways is slated for release in November. Comment below and let us know your thoughts on “The Feast And The Famine.”

]]>
0
Brian Lion http://underthegunreview.net <![CDATA[Our Speakers Were Blowing Up All Night Because Killer Mike & El-P Leaked ‘RTJ2′]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1135430 2014-10-24T13:03:39Z 2014-10-24T13:00:19Z Killer Mike and El-P don’t typically play by the rules. The dynamic tag-team are on another level within the rap game and we’ve simply given up trying to understand how they consistently raise the bar for their peers in the genre.

The duo’s followup to last year’s unreal debut was set to release via Mass Appeal in just four days’ time on October 28, but late last night, they decided “Aw, fuck it. We can’t wait any longer.” Thus, we’ve been graced with the ability to download the epicness that is RTJ2, for free. Featuring guest spots from Rage …

]]>
Killer Mike and El-P don’t typically play by the rules. The dynamic tag-team are on another level within the rap game and we’ve simply given up trying to understand how they consistently raise the bar for their peers in the genre.

The duo’s followup to last year’s unreal debut was set to release via Mass Appeal in just four days’ time on October 28, but late last night, they decided “Aw, fuck it. We can’t wait any longer.” Thus, we’ve been graced with the ability to download the epicness that is RTJ2, for free. Featuring guest spots from Rage Against The Machine’s Zack de la Rocha, blink-182′s Travis Barker, BOOTS, actor Michael Winslow and more, RTJ2 was a contender for album of the year before it even dropped in full. Now, it’s officially in the ranks.

Don’t be a fool; download RTJ2 right here and be prepared to yell “Run The Jewels!” If you’re really a fan, you’ll throw some money their way for some merch to help them create even more perfection. That of course includes the forthcoming, feline-friendly Meow The Jewels.

RTJ2 Tracklist:

1. Jeopardy
2. Oh My Darling Don’t Cry
3. Blockbuster Night – Part I
4. Close Your Eyes (And Count to Fuck) [feat. Zack de la Rocha]
5. All My Life
6. Lie, Cheat, Steal
7. Early (feat. BOOTS)
8. All Due Respect (feat. Travis Barker)
9. Love Again (Akinyele Back) [feat. Gangsta Boo]
10. Crown (feat. Diane Coffee)
11. Angel Duster

]]>
0
Brian Lion http://underthegunreview.net <![CDATA[REVIEW: Vision The Kid & Tru – ‘Somewhere In A Dark City’]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1133692 2014-10-24T11:01:54Z 2014-10-24T12:30:43Z Artist: Vision The Kid & Tru
Album: Somewhere In A Dark City
Genre: Hip-Hop

Minneapolis tag-team, rapper Vision The Kid and producer Tru, joined forces roughly two years ago to combine their talents and create the best material that their capabilities would allow. The result is this year’s Somewhere In A Dark City, a 14-track hip-hop album that swings for the seats with impressive form — (excuse the baseball metaphor; I’ve been enveloped in the postseason/Fall Classic). Akin to the works of Macklemore and the lesser known and under-appreciated Common Market, Vision The Kid uses Tru’s excellent production as …

]]>
Artist: Vision The Kid & Tru
Album: Somewhere In A Dark City
Genre: Hip-Hop

Minneapolis tag-team, rapper Vision The Kid and producer Tru, joined forces roughly two years ago to combine their talents and create the best material that their capabilities would allow. The result is this year’s Somewhere In A Dark City, a 14-track hip-hop album that swings for the seats with impressive form — (excuse the baseball metaphor; I’ve been enveloped in the postseason/Fall Classic). Akin to the works of Macklemore and the lesser known and under-appreciated Common Market, Vision The Kid uses Tru’s excellent production as a foundation in which to layer his ostensibly veteran flows. Bar after bar, Vision delivers, but his writing and Tru’s music shine in unison throughout the effort, with both stealing the show in equal measure.

Somewhere In A Dark City opens with a spoken word from Vision The Kid that sets up the narrative of the album, ending with the lines, “the b-boys are dancing / the train cars are scratching / the asphalt is alive / if you’re quiet enough you can hear it / for the city is singing all of the time.” “Love Past Midnight” comes in hard after the album’s intro as an absolute banger reminiscent of the great P.O.S. You’re immediately set on course for a hell of a ride within this dark city with a track that will undoubtedly be one of many that aids in Vision’s rise.

While some tracks (e.g. “None Of Y’all,” “Roll Call”) feature lyrics that explore the tired hip-hop themes of money, women, drinking, drugs and being superior to one’s peers, they still have catchy hooks and are memorable within the scope of the album, and even the genre itself. Regardless of occasional faltering originality, the delivery is solid and the production, again, is top-notch. But that’s not all the album is about. There’s depth, and lots of it. Vision gets personal at times and it makes the album feel more intimate and ofttimes visceral, especially when paired with choruses like the one in the title track from Ben Burwell. Vision The Kid recently told us a bit about what he touches on in the album: “Things like long distance relationships, struggles with substance abuse, growing up a white kid in a black community, skateboarding, petty theft; things that resonated to me on multiple levels were the things I left in.” These are all present and the album is all the better for having those personal elements on display.

With at least nine guests featured on the album, you know you’re going to get a great variety, and you do. Between both male and female vocals and the great diversity in Tru’s production, the album has a lot to offer and keeps things interesting throughout. Still, with so much going on, Somewhere In A Dark City manages to feel entirely cohesive, which could be due in part to its structure, containing an intro, interlude and outro all made up of Vision’s spoken word as he explains the city from his own perspective.

“If the city forgets us, what have we left? Nothing but beer bottles and asphalt between toes, omens of grass to grow. Cement playgrounds and street lights, cheap wine halos. Oil-slick rainbows and dirty snow angels, back alleys at odds with angles. And the city is breathing a sigh of relief tonight.”

SCORE: 8/10
Review written by Brian Lion — (Follow him on Twitter)

]]>
0
Brian Lion http://underthegunreview.net <![CDATA[Cosby Release Video For Newest Single, “Heartracer”]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1135400 2014-10-24T13:09:34Z 2014-10-24T12:15:17Z This has nothing to do with ridiculous sweaters or Jell-O.

Virginia-based brothers Chris and Chip Cosby only formed their band two years ago, but Cosby have already released a healthy catalogue of music in that short period of time.

Most recently: their newest single, entitled “Heartracer.” A fun, poppy, synth-driven, indie-rock track in the vein of M83 and Phoenix, “Heartracer” is a great place to start with Cosby if you’ve yet to check out their work. The accompanying visuals explore some of the ’80s-esque vibes found in the song, with an arcade, plenty of neon and even …

]]>
This has nothing to do with ridiculous sweaters or Jell-O.

Virginia-based brothers Chris and Chip Cosby only formed their band two years ago, but Cosby have already released a healthy catalogue of music in that short period of time.

Most recently: their newest single, entitled “Heartracer.” A fun, poppy, synth-driven, indie-rock track in the vein of M83 and Phoenix, “Heartracer” is a great place to start with Cosby if you’ve yet to check out their work. The accompanying visuals explore some of the ’80s-esque vibes found in the song, with an arcade, plenty of neon and even a keytar.

You can stream the band’s newest single below, and make sure to follow the band on Facebook and Twitter to keep an eye out for their next EP.

Cosby have explained that “Heartracer” is about “that moment when we finally feel at ease with the realization that we are all, for better or worse, heading in the same direction on this big floating rock in space we call Earth.”

]]>
0
Kriston McConnell http://underthegunreview.net <![CDATA[Dayseeker To Release Deluxe Reissue Of ‘What It Means To Be Defeated’]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1135382 2014-10-24T05:48:33Z 2014-10-24T05:48:33Z Last year the post hardcore outfit Dayseeker released their debut full-length effort, What It Means To Be Defeated. Since then, the band has kept themselves busy with touring. Apparently that’s not all they’ve been up to though, which was made clear by their exciting announcement.

The band confirmed they are releasing a deluxe reissue of What It Means To Be Defeated next month. The reissue will feature four acoustic renditions of their popular songs. The original tracks have also been remixed and remastered. You can pre-order the album through InVogue Records’ MerchNow page.

In addition to the announcement, the …

]]>
Last year the post hardcore outfit Dayseeker released their debut full-length effort, What It Means To Be Defeated. Since then, the band has kept themselves busy with touring. Apparently that’s not all they’ve been up to though, which was made clear by their exciting announcement.

The band confirmed they are releasing a deluxe reissue of What It Means To Be Defeated next month. The reissue will feature four acoustic renditions of their popular songs. The original tracks have also been remixed and remastered. You can pre-order the album through InVogue Records’ MerchNow page.

In addition to the announcement, the band revealed a music video for their single “Sleep In The Sea.” The video is available to watch below.

]]>
0
Kriston McConnell http://underthegunreview.net <![CDATA[Bring Me The Horizon To Release Another Single Next Week]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1135372 2014-10-24T06:25:27Z 2014-10-24T04:52:04Z It’s only been a couple of days since Bring Me The Horizon premiered their standalone single, “Drown,” but it seems they are poised to drop another one on us much sooner than expected. Frontman Oli Sykes tweeted earlier this evening that the band will release a new song titled “Don’t Look Down” next week. You can read his tweet below the jump.

Though it’s unlikely the band will be releasing a new album this year, the fact that they are releasing two songs right in a row is very exciting. I know I’m looking forward to hearing it …

]]>
It’s only been a couple of days since Bring Me The Horizon premiered their standalone single, “Drown,” but it seems they are poised to drop another one on us much sooner than expected. Frontman Oli Sykes tweeted earlier this evening that the band will release a new song titled “Don’t Look Down” next week. You can read his tweet below the jump.

Though it’s unlikely the band will be releasing a new album this year, the fact that they are releasing two songs right in a row is very exciting. I know I’m looking forward to hearing it myself!

]]>
1