Under the Gun Review Entertainment news for today's generation 2014-07-30T02:12:14Z http://www.underthegunreview.net/feed/atom/ WordPress Ryan Kappy <![CDATA[Bayside To Team Up With HRC And Equality Rocks For LGBT Pride T-Shirt]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1123883 2014-07-30T02:12:14Z 2014-07-30T02:12:14Z Alternative rockers Bayside have teamed up with the Human Rights Campaign, the biggest civil rights organization in America for LGBT equality, and Equality Rocks to create a Bayside shirt that has the band’s logo with the LGBT official colors on it. Portions of the profits from the sale will be donated to HRC’s endless effort to acquire equality.

“I think that it’s human nature to want to help those in need,” says frontman Anthony Raneri, “We are lucky enough to have a platform that we can use to help. Our brand of music has always spoken to the kids …

]]>
Alternative rockers Bayside have teamed up with the Human Rights Campaign, the biggest civil rights organization in America for LGBT equality, and Equality Rocks to create a Bayside shirt that has the band’s logo with the LGBT official colors on it. Portions of the profits from the sale will be donated to HRC’s endless effort to acquire equality.

“I think that it’s human nature to want to help those in need,” says frontman Anthony Raneri, “We are lucky enough to have a platform that we can use to help. Our brand of music has always spoken to the kids who are lost or haven’t found themselves yet. Working with the Human Rights Campaign gives us the opportunity to not only support the people who have always supported us but to help the faces that we see at our shows everyday.”

Cassidy Karakorn, Deputy Director for Consumer Marketing for HRC, had to say this about Bayside and the HRC joining forces for this great cause: “Bayside is not only adding their unique punk rock voice but contributing directly to our fight for full LGBT equality through the sale of their special-edition rainbow pride t-shirt. We’re thrilled that Bayside is standing with us and a majority of Americans who support marriage equality.”

The t-shirts are available now and can be purchased here. Check out the design below!

baysidepride

]]>
0
Meaghan O'Brien <![CDATA[Lady Gaga and Tony Bennett Announce Jazz Album, ‘Cheek to Cheek’]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1123888 2014-07-30T02:06:26Z 2014-07-30T02:06:26Z Whatever your opinion on Lady Gaga‘s music and persona, the girl can sing. And although his once-tight vibratto is starting to loosen, there is a reason Tony Bennett is known world over for his jazz crooning. The unlikely pairing announced on The Today Show that they’ve combined efforts and produced a jazz album, entitled Cheek to Cheek, that will be released on September 23.

To accompany the announcement, Lady Gaga released a video on her official YouTube channel titled “Anything Goes,” a sampling of their rendition of the Cole Porter number with a montage of the two generally …

]]>
Whatever your opinion on Lady Gaga‘s music and persona, the girl can sing. And although his once-tight vibratto is starting to loosen, there is a reason Tony Bennett is known world over for his jazz crooning. The unlikely pairing announced on The Today Show that they’ve combined efforts and produced a jazz album, entitled Cheek to Cheek, that will be released on September 23.

To accompany the announcement, Lady Gaga released a video on her official YouTube channel titled “Anything Goes,” a sampling of their rendition of the Cole Porter number with a montage of the two generally having a good time in the studio; Bennett in suits and Gaga in a number of Cher-inspired numbers. More than anything she’s released yet, Gaga really shows off her vocal chops. Bennett would agree:

“She sings so wonderful and she’s actually really a great jazz singer,” he said. “She improvises every time we do a song. We do it over and over and it’s different every time.”

Take a look for yourself and let us know what you think in comments.

]]>
0
Angie Frissore http://underthegunreview.net <![CDATA[STAND-UP TUESDAYS: Mark Normand]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1123869 2014-07-30T01:40:32Z 2014-07-30T00:00:13Z Stand-Up Tuesdays is a weekly comedy spotlight written by the wonderfully talented Angie Frissore. Covering both known and unknown comics, Stand-up Tuesdays is your new source for all things funny.

This week, Angie puts a spotlight on Mark Normand’s comedy career. If you or your comedy troupe would like to be featured on Stand-Up Tuesdays, please email utgjames@gmail.com.

Though my to-do list keeps growing exponentially, there’s one album that’s been waiting patiently for its chance to shine in Stand-Up Tuesdays. Mark Normand’s debut comedy album, Still Got It, was released digitally by Comedy Central a couple of weeks …

]]>
Stand-Up Tuesdays is a weekly comedy spotlight written by the wonderfully talented Angie Frissore. Covering both known and unknown comics, Stand-up Tuesdays is your new source for all things funny.

This week, Angie puts a spotlight on Mark Normand’s comedy career. If you or your comedy troupe would like to be featured on Stand-Up Tuesdays, please email utgjames@gmail.com.

Though my to-do list keeps growing exponentially, there’s one album that’s been waiting patiently for its chance to shine in Stand-Up Tuesdays. Mark Normand’s debut comedy album, Still Got It, was released digitally by Comedy Central a couple of weeks ago, coinciding nicely with the airing of the comedian’s recent taping of The Half Hour. Still Got It is a nice little throwback to an old-Hollywood style of performing, as Normand fluidly cracks wise through his set, while pointing out some insightful and hilarious observations on modern society.

Taped at Madison, Wisconsin’s Comedy Club on State, Still Got It offers Normand riffing on the similarities between religion and magic, stereotypical racism, and not being manly (and being fine with it). While he seems to hesitate a bit at the start of his set, he soon finds his pace and doesn’t look back.

“You never really meet an ignorant gay guy,” Normand observes. “You never meet a gay guy who’s like, ‘I only love three things: my truck, my gun, and dick.”

Still Got It proves why Normand is a fast-rising talent on the national comedy scene. In 2013, Normand appeared on TBS’s Conan and Comedy Central’s Inside Amy Schumer, and in 2012, he was featured on John Oliver’s New York Stand-up Show on Comedy Central. He’s been featured in festivals and clubs nationwide, and was recently included in Rooftop Comedy’s Live From Jamestown album.

As a critic, I’ll admit I’m more than likely exposed to a higher amount of comedy than most people – my time is saturated with it, thusly, the notion that there is one joke that Normand uses on his album, his The Half Hour special, as well as Live From Jamestown at first struck me as repetitive. But, that is to be expected when one digests as much stand-up as I do. And at least it’s really quite funny stuff, so even if you hear it a few times, you’ll still laugh.

Check out Mark Normand’s Still Got It today via Comedy Central, and get in on a talent that is sure to makes waves in stand-up.

GRADE: B

]]>
0
Ryan Kappy <![CDATA[August Burns Red Release “Beauty In Tragedy” Music Video]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1123848 2014-07-29T22:32:40Z 2014-07-29T22:32:40Z August Burns Red always seem to put out videos that are visually stunning to the average eye. The Lancaster, PA metalcore outfit decided to change it around this time with their music video for the song “Beauty In Tragedy.” The single is off their latest record Rescue & Restore that was released last year via Solid State Records, which serves as their sixth full-length record since the formation of the band.

The visuals show the band playing live to a very lively crowd on their last tour they did in the UK. It explores different shots of each member of …

]]>
August Burns Red always seem to put out videos that are visually stunning to the average eye. The Lancaster, PA metalcore outfit decided to change it around this time with their music video for the song “Beauty In Tragedy.” The single is off their latest record Rescue & Restore that was released last year via Solid State Records, which serves as their sixth full-length record since the formation of the band.

The visuals show the band playing live to a very lively crowd on their last tour they did in the UK. It explores different shots of each member of the band performing their respective instrument and gives you an in-depth look at what a typical ABR show will indeed look like.

Check out the video below and be sure to check your neck after all the headbanging you will be doing.

]]>
0
Kriston McConnell http://underthegunreview.net <![CDATA[Ex-Woe, Is Me Vocalist Starts New Band, Premieres Lead Single]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1123843 2014-07-29T20:57:20Z 2014-07-29T20:57:20Z Though the members tried to make things work, it didn’t take long for their band Woe, Is Me to die a slow, painful death. Many of the members went their separate ways, and now former vocalist Hance Alligood has teamed up with Alternative Press to announce his new project. His new band, named Favorite Weapon, is a five piece alternative rock outfit. Despite the fact that they are using Woe, Is Me’s old Facebook page (as well as their ~800,000 fans), they definitely have a totally different sound. In fact, Hance is the only member of the band who …

]]>
Though the members tried to make things work, it didn’t take long for their band Woe, Is Me to die a slow, painful death. Many of the members went their separate ways, and now former vocalist Hance Alligood has teamed up with Alternative Press to announce his new project. His new band, named Favorite Weapon, is a five piece alternative rock outfit. Despite the fact that they are using Woe, Is Me’s old Facebook page (as well as their ~800,000 fans), they definitely have a totally different sound. In fact, Hance is the only member of the band who was ever even in WIM.

If you’re interested in checking them out for yourself, the group has also premiered their debut single “Hollow.” You can stream it below. The band will be releasing their debut studio album Sixty Saragossa via Rise Records October 18. Pre-orders are already available for purchase through MerchNow.

]]>
0
Kriston McConnell http://underthegunreview.net <![CDATA[STREAM: Grey Gordon – “Indianapolis 2008″]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1123841 2014-07-29T20:39:35Z 2014-07-29T20:39:35Z Grey Gordon will be releasing his debut full-length album, titled Forget I Brought It Up, September 2 via No Sleep Records. Earlier this month he announced the album, and subsequently premiered the lead single off it. Today he has teamed up with Noisey to unleash the second single, which is titled “Indianapolis 2008.” This song takes a different direction than what fans are usually familiar with from this artist, but the sound suits him well. You can check it out below the break.

Pre-orders for the CD, LP and digital download are available for purchase through No Sleep Records’ …

]]>
Grey Gordon will be releasing his debut full-length album, titled Forget I Brought It Up, September 2 via No Sleep Records. Earlier this month he announced the album, and subsequently premiered the lead single off it. Today he has teamed up with Noisey to unleash the second single, which is titled “Indianapolis 2008.” This song takes a different direction than what fans are usually familiar with from this artist, but the sound suits him well. You can check it out below the break.

Pre-orders for the CD, LP and digital download are available for purchase through No Sleep Records’ merch store. Be sure to grab yourself an LP if you haven’t already, as it seems they are nearly sold out!

]]>
0
Kyle Florence http://underthegunreview.net <![CDATA[Stream Two New Tracks From Fucked Up]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1123811 2014-07-29T21:02:42Z 2014-07-29T20:28:30Z Following the release of their latest full-length, Glass Boys, Fucked Up announced that they would also be putting out a series of 7-inch records featuring several cuts that didn’t make it on to the album. Earlier today, we were graced with our first installment of said series in the form of “Blink” and “The Way We Did,” two unheard tracks that you can stream after the jump.

“These two songs we recorded during the Glass Boys sessions and maybe should’ve made the record because they are really good,” the Toronto six-piece recently explained over Facebook. “The songs are about subcultures …

]]>
Following the release of their latest full-length, Glass Boys, Fucked Up announced that they would also be putting out a series of 7-inch records featuring several cuts that didn’t make it on to the album. Earlier today, we were graced with our first installment of said series in the form of “Blink” and “The Way We Did,” two unheard tracks that you can stream after the jump.

“These two songs we recorded during the Glass Boys sessions and maybe should’ve made the record because they are really good,” the Toronto six-piece recently explained over Facebook. “The songs are about subcultures and growing up around the punk scenes we did in Toronto. On the cover of the record is a picture of Will Munro, who left us way too soon.”

Presently, pre-orders are ongoing, but as the outfit’s webstore is limited to a mere 100 copies, I’d suggest you act quickly.

Let us know what you think of Fucked Up’s latest in the replies below.

]]>
0
Kevin Blumeyer <![CDATA[The Felix Culpa, Rescuer and Aviator Set For First-Ever No Sleep Records Tour]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1123821 2014-07-29T20:24:36Z 2014-07-29T20:21:48Z Absolutepunk just announced the insanely good lineup for No Sleep Records’ first ever tour, dubbed the ‘Death to False Music Tour.’ Aviator and Rescuer will appear on all dates, while Seasons Change will open the west coast dates and The Felix Culpa will actually headline the dates on the eastern half of the U.S.

The recently rebooted The Felix Culpa made their return this past weekend at Chicago’s Wicker Park Fest, and will have two new songs appear on a No Sleep Records split with Foreign Tongues, due on August 12. Pre-order that split right here and make the jump …

]]>
Absolutepunk just announced the insanely good lineup for No Sleep Records’ first ever tour, dubbed the ‘Death to False Music Tour.’ Aviator and Rescuer will appear on all dates, while Seasons Change will open the west coast dates and The Felix Culpa will actually headline the dates on the eastern half of the U.S.

The recently rebooted The Felix Culpa made their return this past weekend at Chicago’s Wicker Park Fest, and will have two new songs appear on a No Sleep Records split with Foreign Tongues, due on August 12. Pre-order that split right here and make the jump to hear a new The Felix Culpa song called “Karma City” and take a peek at the ‘Death to False Music’ tour poster.

death to false music tour

]]>
0
Brian Lion http://underthegunreview.net <![CDATA[Run The Jewels Release Proper Teaser of “Blockbuster Night Part 1″]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1123807 2014-07-29T17:26:34Z 2014-07-29T17:26:34Z One week ago, we got a brief snippet of a new Run The Jewels track via El-P’s Instagram. Today, we get a proper 90-second teaser of that same track, which we now know is tentatively entitled “Blockbuster Night Part 1.”

With an absolutely nasty beat and comedically angsty lines like “I Jake The Snake ‘em / DDT ‘em in mausoleums,” and “Top o’ the morning / my fist to your face is fuckin’ Folgers,” Killer Mike and El-P are firing on all cylinders with RTJ2. According to a tweet from El-P earlier today, the follow-up to last year’s near-perfect …

]]>
One week ago, we got a brief snippet of a new Run The Jewels track via El-P’s Instagram. Today, we get a proper 90-second teaser of that same track, which we now know is tentatively entitled “Blockbuster Night Part 1.”

With an absolutely nasty beat and comedically angsty lines like “I Jake The Snake ‘em / DDT ‘em in mausoleums,” and “Top o’ the morning / my fist to your face is fuckin’ Folgers,” Killer Mike and El-P are firing on all cylinders with RTJ2. According to a tweet from El-P earlier today, the follow-up to last year’s near-perfect debut is but one day away from being fully mixed, which seems to indicate that the duo’s promise of a 2014 release is still in the cards.

We’ll be seeing Run The Jewels at Outside Lands in San Francisco on August 8, so the possibility of hearing “Blockbuster Night Part 1″ live for the first time has our anticipation at a record high. Stream the teased section of the track below.

]]>
0
Nina Corcoran <![CDATA[The Unicorns Reissue ‘Who Will Cut Our Hair When We’re Gone?’ With Four Bonus Tracks]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1123796 2014-07-29T17:12:12Z 2014-07-29T16:50:47Z With their reunion shows taking place in just a few days, The Unicorns have released a reissue of their iconic 2003 album Who Will Cut Our Hair When We’re Gone? on iTunes and other digital retailers. The reissue sees the original tracks remastered and includes four bonus tracks, including a live version of “Haunted House” and a cover of Daniel Johnston’s “Rocketship.” It’s released on CD on August 26 and will get a limited-edition vinyl pressing that drops on October 7 via the band’s own Caterpillar Records via Redeye Distribution. Pre-orders are ongoing.

If you’re lucky enough to catch The …

]]>
With their reunion shows taking place in just a few days, The Unicorns have released a reissue of their iconic 2003 album Who Will Cut Our Hair When We’re Gone? on iTunes and other digital retailers. The reissue sees the original tracks remastered and includes four bonus tracks, including a live version of “Haunted House” and a cover of Daniel Johnston’s “Rocketship.” It’s released on CD on August 26 and will get a limited-edition vinyl pressing that drops on October 7 via the band’s own Caterpillar Records via Redeye Distribution. Pre-orders are ongoing.

If you’re lucky enough to catch The Unicorns when they open for Arcade Fire or play at POP Montreal, godspeed. We can only imagine the ridiculous antics and fun that will ensue when the band’s full lineup from 2003-04–Nick Thorburn, Alden Penner, and Jamie Thompson–take the stage.

See the reissue’s full tracklist below:

Who Will Cut Our Hair When We’re Gone? reissue tracklist:
1. I Don’t Wanna Die
2. Tuff Ghost
3. Ghost Mountain
4. Sea Ghost
5. Jellybones
6. The Clap
7. Child Star
8. Let’s Get Known
9. I Was Born (A Unicorn)
10. Tuff Luff
11. Inoculate the Innocuous
12. Les Os
13. Ready to Die

Bonus Tracks (digital version only):

1. Rocketship (Daniel Johnston cover)
2. Let Me Sleep
3. Evacuate the Vacuous
4. Haunted House (live)

]]>
0
Nina Corcoran <![CDATA[Listen to Greylag’s Beautiful Folk Single “Another”]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1123787 2014-07-29T15:42:47Z 2014-07-29T15:42:47Z Portland trio Greylag have the rustic charm and sweet folk rock of a band whose music will break the grip of fall and see itself played year-round. Their self-titled debut comes out October 14 via Dead Oceans. We suggest pre-ordering it now, especially after you give opening track “Another” a listen after the jump.

It’s been a while since we’ve been this excited over an Americana band. With producer Phil Ek behind the board, the similarities to Fleet Foxes and The Shins are obvious, but even moreso given their songwriting abilities. Roots get a rhythmic stomping in “Another” with guitar …

]]>
Portland trio Greylag have the rustic charm and sweet folk rock of a band whose music will break the grip of fall and see itself played year-round. Their self-titled debut comes out October 14 via Dead Oceans. We suggest pre-ordering it now, especially after you give opening track “Another” a listen after the jump.

It’s been a while since we’ve been this excited over an Americana band. With producer Phil Ek behind the board, the similarities to Fleet Foxes and The Shins are obvious, but even moreso given their songwriting abilities. Roots get a rhythmic stomping in “Another” with guitar licks straight from celtic jam circles and dark, emotionally softened lyrics. Just like the genre itself, it wins you over with simplicity. Trust us: Greylag need to be on your radar for 2014.

Give it a listen below:

]]>
0
James Shotwell <![CDATA[MOVIE REVIEW: ‘Lucy’]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1123717 2014-07-29T05:40:37Z 2014-07-29T15:20:25Z Film: Lucy
Starring: Scarlett Johansson, Morgan Freeman
Directed by: Luc Besson

Luc Besson has to be messing with us. Either that, or he’s laughing all the way to the bank.

The man behind Léon: The Professional, The Fifth Element and The Transporter series is back in theaters this summer with a new film by the name of Lucy. At first glance, the film offers a slick, thought-provoking look at what might happen if a woman scorned was unable to unlock 100% of her mental capacity. The actual feature, however, offers something far more silly.

Lucy tells the story …

]]>
Film: Lucy
Starring: Scarlett Johansson, Morgan Freeman
Directed by: Luc Besson

Luc Besson has to be messing with us. Either that, or he’s laughing all the way to the bank.

The man behind Léon: The Professional, The Fifth Element and The Transporter series is back in theaters this summer with a new film by the name of Lucy. At first glance, the film offers a slick, thought-provoking look at what might happen if a woman scorned was unable to unlock 100% of her mental capacity. The actual feature, however, offers something far more silly.

Lucy tells the story of a woman (Scarlett Johansson) who, after being kidnapped and forced to smuggle a new street drug, awakes in a prison cell to learn the sack that was surgically placed inside her body has begun to leak. The drugs enter her bloodstream at an alarming rate and, as the trailers teased, Lucy begins to change. Her mind unlocks as the drugs rush through her body, and as that happens she is able to do more than ever before, including moving people and objects without touching them. She can even control gravity, but we’ll get to that in a minute.

Johansson is great in the lead role, and even when the story begins to come off the rails she delivers a performance that you never want to end. This is no great surprise really, but it’s good to know becoming a member of the Marvel universe has not gone to her head altogether. This film demands a strong lead, and in the end it’s her portrayal of Lucy that lingers in your mind as the theater raises the lights.

Morgan Freeman is the lighthouse in the storm of changes that are happening in Lucy’s life throughout the duration of the film. He’s a scientist with many theories on the human mind, and after Lucy realizes what is happening to her she seeks out his help. It’s a role not too far removed from what Freeman delivered in Transcendence, but it does end far better for him.

The central premise of Lucy is based on the idea that humans only use 10% of our mental capacity. This idea has been debunked several times over, but this is a movie so there is no reason to let that interfere with a fun sci-fi journey. The only problem is, Lucy uses this idea of unlocking one’s potential as a backbone for the progression of the film without properly conveying the changes that occur. The first time we meet our heroine she is functioning around 7%, which is a number we know because it flashes on the screen in a bold white font. By 20%, which coincidentally happens about twenty minutes into the film, she’s convulsing on ceilings and mastering various fighting skills without moving a muscle or blinking an eye. At 50%, she’s moving objects. You have no idea why she could not move objects at 20% other than the fact you sit through screens that read ’30%’ and ’40%’ before it happens onscreen. Otherwise, nothing in the actions or words onscreen express to the viewer that an evolution has occured. Lucy simply upgrades and performs, like a wizard slowly remembering how to perform magic.

Lucy’s other issue, and the reason I began by saying that I believe Luc Besson is messing with us, is the fact that the majority of the film involves extended sequences of people discussing bullshit science as if it were hard facts. It’s as if Besson believes having a commanding voice deliver nonsense somehow makes that nonsense coherent. It might sound smart, to some, but anyone who has ever put any effort into learning about the human mind will immediately recognize nonsense for what it is and become a little less engaged with the film.

All that aside, there will probably be no other film released this year edited like Lucy, and for those who like their films a bit more metaphorical, that is meant to be a compliment. Besson interjects footage of animals hunting with Lucy’s initial kidnapping, and as the drugs elevate Lucy’s understanding of the universe, audiences are given a journey through time and space to the very origin of all things. It’s beautiful and crazy in a way unlike anything Terrance Malick could deliver, but I am not sure the average moviegoer will find it all that interesting.

Lucy is a short-lived acid trip that is chock full of scientific nonsense and offers surprisingly few action scenes. It sort of feels like Besson came up with the film’s premise and ran with whatever ideas popped into his head from that moment on. The results, while aided by a strong performance from the film’s leads, play out liked a mixed bag of hit or miss concepts that are never fully realized and end far too soon.

GRADE: C-

Review written by James Shotwell

]]>
0
James Shotwell <![CDATA[Hilary Duff Releases “Chasing The Sun” Music Video]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1123784 2014-07-29T16:38:19Z 2014-07-29T15:04:52Z A day after her comeback single found its way online, Hilary Duff is back on the front page of UTG with the official video for “Chasing The Sun.”

Summertime is the best and worst time of year for people who spend the majority of their week inhabiting cubicles. The nice weather guarantees the potential for full-on escapes from reality every weekend, but it also means each business day is spent staring longingly through tinted glass at the beautiful world outside. Hilary Duff understands this pain, and the central premise of her latest music video explores the kind of paradise she …

]]>
A day after her comeback single found its way online, Hilary Duff is back on the front page of UTG with the official video for “Chasing The Sun.”

Summertime is the best and worst time of year for people who spend the majority of their week inhabiting cubicles. The nice weather guarantees the potential for full-on escapes from reality every weekend, but it also means each business day is spent staring longingly through tinted glass at the beautiful world outside. Hilary Duff understands this pain, and the central premise of her latest music video explores the kind of paradise she would escape to if she ever found herself living day to day in an office. You can view the clip below:

When we shared this song yesterday I will admit that I was not exactly in love with what I heard. The more I hear it, however, the more the return of Hilary Duff sinks in and the further in love I fall with this track. It’s pure pop escapism, and it goes down smooth like lemonade on a blazing hot Sunday afternoon.

Duff has kept the majority of her future plans under wraps up to this point, but in the coming weeks there are sure to be a slew of headlines regarding a new album, tour, and the possibility of additional song streams. Stay tuned.

]]>
0
Nina Corcoran <![CDATA[Hear Sufjan Stevens Cover Arthur Russell’s “A Little Lost”]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1123779 2014-07-29T16:36:44Z 2014-07-29T14:38:05Z For years, Red Hot Organization has been putting out incredibly stacked compilations with the proceeds going to AIDS research. Fittingly, their newest record is a tribute to musical mastermind Arthur Russell, who passed away from AIDS in 1992. The tribute compilation, titled Master Mix: Red Hot + Arthur Russell, is out October 21 via Yep Roc with covers by Robyn, Hot Chip, Arcade Fire’s Richard Reed Parry, Scissor Sisters, Cults, Blood Orange, Phosphorescent, Jose Gonzalez, and more.

Perhaps the biggest name on the list, Sufjan Stevens, gets to cover perhaps the biggest song on the list, Russell’s 1994 track …

]]>
For years, Red Hot Organization has been putting out incredibly stacked compilations with the proceeds going to AIDS research. Fittingly, their newest record is a tribute to musical mastermind Arthur Russell, who passed away from AIDS in 1992. The tribute compilation, titled Master Mix: Red Hot + Arthur Russell, is out October 21 via Yep Roc with covers by Robyn, Hot Chip, Arcade Fire’s Richard Reed Parry, Scissor Sisters, Cults, Blood Orange, Phosphorescent, Jose Gonzalez, and more.

Perhaps the biggest name on the list, Sufjan Stevens, gets to cover perhaps the biggest song on the list, Russell’s 1994 track “A Little Lost.”

Stevens shared his thoughts on the song in the following statement:

I like “A Little Lost” because it’s all about kissing. I love kissing. If I could kiss all day, I would. I can’t stop thinking about kissing. I like kissing more than sex because there’s no end to it. You can kiss forever. You can kiss yourself into oblivion. You can kiss all over the body. You can kiss yourself to sleep. And when you wake up, you can’t stop thinking about kissing. Dammit, I can’t get anything done because I’m so busy thinking about kissing. Kissing is madness! But it’s absolute paradise, if you can find a good kisser.

Arthur’s music is all over the place, but most of it seems to be about embracing darkness (loneliness) and ambiguity (confusion) with the biggest bear hug in the world. Catharsis! He didn’t give a shit about fads or fashion even as he was influenced by popular music, club music, and all that shitty art music at the Kitchen. He kind of cobbled it all together to create his own diverse musical language, He was funny as shit (a wordsmith, a master of the innuendo), but also dead serious (and blunt) about the deepness of his feelings, unafraid to express affection in his songs, without pandering or cliche. Arthur was real as shit. You can’t fake realness.

At the beginning of this year, we talked about Dirty Projectors’ bassist Nat Baldwin and his cover of the same track. Stevens takes a different approach, ditching the somber cello in favor of sparse piano, warm choruses, and crashing electronic waves. It’s available for immediate download when you pre-order the compilation on iTunes. Stream it below (via Pitchfork):

Red Hot Arthur Russel Pic

]]>
0
Brenton Harris <![CDATA[Sounds of the (Down) Underground: 5 Australian Acts You Should Be Listening To]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1123039 2014-07-29T05:32:08Z 2014-07-29T14:35:04Z Australia has a proud history of punching above its weight, musically speaking. This is particularly true when it comes to acts operating in the heavier music spectrum. With the seemingly endless advances in streaming and social media technologies making the ears of the world more accessible than ever, the Australian independent scene is thriving. The result is an influx of bands across a variety of genres making a considerable impact on the music scene globally.

As a UTG contributor and proud Australian who resides deep within the nation’s undisputed punk rock heart of Melbourne, it gives me great pleasure to …

]]>
Australia has a proud history of punching above its weight, musically speaking. This is particularly true when it comes to acts operating in the heavier music spectrum. With the seemingly endless advances in streaming and social media technologies making the ears of the world more accessible than ever, the Australian independent scene is thriving. The result is an influx of bands across a variety of genres making a considerable impact on the music scene globally.

As a UTG contributor and proud Australian who resides deep within the nation’s undisputed punk rock heart of Melbourne, it gives me great pleasure to be able to provide you with a unique insight into the Australian scene via my locally focussed reviews and interviews. However, with so much great music being produced down here, I have come to the painful realisation that I cannot possibly cover it all, so below you will the first of what I hope will be many editions of ‘Sounds Of The (Down) Underground,’ a list of 5 Australian acts that I believe you should all be listening to right now. So gather your headphones and get ready to take a ride on the back of a digital kangaroo as we take a trip through the sounds that are currently killing it in the land down under!


Artist: Violent Soho
Genre: Grunge, Garage
Latest release: Hungry Ghost
For fans of: Nirvana, Mudhoney, Dinosaur Jr, Dinosaur Pile-Up, the ’90s and big fuzz pedals in general.

Why should you care? They’re the name on everyone’s lips down under at the moment, having taken over the airwaves and stages nationwide, thanks in large part to the success of their album, Hungry Ghost, and its lead single, “Covered In Chrome.” Having recently inked a deal to release the album via Side One Dummy records in the USA and planned an extensive touring schedule in support, it won’t be long till Violent Soho are providing the soundtrack to warehouse parties in Soho and throughout the remainder of the USA. Check out “Covered in Chrome” below.


Artist: Clowns
Genre: Hardcore, Punk
Latest release: I’m Not Right
RIYL: The Bronx, Black Flag, Ceremony, Cerebral Ballzy

Why you should you care? They’ve been ripping stages to shreds nationwide for the best part of the last 12 months, supporting some of the finest punk rock bands the country (and the world) has to offer — earning rave reviews in the process. Their debut full-length I’m Not Right is 12 tracks of the most face-meltingly awesome hardcore punk rock Australia has produced and will have you throwing down comically over-sized cans of Fosters in reverence in no time. Check out “Eat A Gun” below.


Artist: High Tension
Genre: Hardcore Punk, Noise Rock
Latest release: Death Beat
RIYL: The Bronx, Young and Restless, Lo!, Kvelertak, The Dillinger Escape Plan.

Why should you care? Front woman Karina Utomo is clearly not a lady to be fucked with and her aggressive vocal styling, banshee scream and dominating persona are a force to be reckoned with both live and on record. Her performances alone make this band a must-know act. However, they are far from a one trick pony, with guitarist Ash Pegram (ex-Young and Restless), bassist Matt Weston and drummer Dan McKay (both from The Nation Blue), providing a skull crushing backdrop that is a perfect match for the intensity of their fearless leader. A breathtaking live act who won plaudits at SXSW, High Tension are on the cusp of becoming one of the nation’s loudest and proudest exports. Check out “Mountain of Dead” below.


Artist: Trophy Eyes
Genre: Pop-Punk, EasyCore
Latest release: Everything Goes Away
RIYL: The Wonder Years, Gnarwolves, Such Gold, Kid Dynamite

Why should you care? Recently signed to Hopeless Records, this Newcastle quintet are fast making a name for themselves in the pop-punk scene with their uniquely Australian take on the quintessential easycore style. Meshing the intensity and lyrical focus commonly associated with much heavier acts with the pop sensibilities of modern pop-punk, Trophy Eyes write the kind of songs that make your heart beat faster, your mind tick over and your legs want to pogo uncontrollably. Ridiculously young for a band with a sound this accomplished, Trophy Eyes seem set to become a staple of the Warped Tour for years to come. With a debut full-length marked for release via Hopeless in late 2014, Trophy Eyes are destined for a very bright future. Check out “Bandaid” below.


Artist: Lunaticks on Pogosticks
Genre: Indie, Punk, Stoner Rock
Latest release: Slug Cat and Snail Dog
RIYL: Sonic Youth, The Sonics, PUP

Why should you care? This band of teenage rapscallions and their unique blend of vaguely surf-infused indie/punk are the perfect antidote to those late afternoon mid-week blues. Laid back and laconic yet somehow utterly enthralling, the Melbourne via Lennox Head, NSW trio have taken the momentum gained via their win in a national high school battle of the bands (Triple J Unearthed High) and run with it, creating a dynamite debut EP Slug Cat and Snail Dog that has seen them achieve nationwide airplay for lead single “Less Than Sober” and granted them touring opportunities that kids their age can usually only dream of. Remarkably accomplished, yet gloriously disheveled, their delightfully simple songs come laced with a knowledge of song craft that is seemingly at odds with the brash teenage nature of their lyrical focus. An absolute riot in a live environment, this band of upstarts seem destined to go as far as they want to. Whether that is to the moon–or the corner store shortly after 4:20–it’s kind of hard to tell, but my best guess is that wherever it may be is somewhere you’ll want to be, too. Check out “Less Than Sober” below:

Conceptualized and written by Brenton Harris

]]>
0
James Shotwell <![CDATA[Fall In Love With Sir Sly’s “You Haunt Me” And Prepare For Their Debut Album Release]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1123778 2014-07-29T14:25:45Z 2014-07-29T14:25:45Z Don’t you love when a song comes along out of the blue and fills you with all the good feels anyone could hope to have? It’s a rare treat, especially if your main source of music is terrestrial radio, but every so often lightning strikes and you find yourself with a new addiction.

Ladies and gentlemen, prepare to fall in love with Sir Sly.

Boasting big hooks and groove-laden verses, Sir Sly come barreling out of Los Angeles with a sound best likened to shoegaze indie rock having a love child with the debut record from Foster The People. Their …

]]>
Don’t you love when a song comes along out of the blue and fills you with all the good feels anyone could hope to have? It’s a rare treat, especially if your main source of music is terrestrial radio, but every so often lightning strikes and you find yourself with a new addiction.

Ladies and gentlemen, prepare to fall in love with Sir Sly.

Boasting big hooks and groove-laden verses, Sir Sly come barreling out of Los Angeles with a sound best likened to shoegaze indie rock having a love child with the debut record from Foster The People. Their first full length, You Haunt Me, is scheduled for release September 16 and earlier today the record’s lead single found its way online. You can stream the song, which also happens to be the title track for the album, below:

You Haunt Me will be released through Cherrytree/Interscope Records. Anyone who pre-orders the album will receive “Where I’m Going,” “Ghost,” “Gold,” “You Haunt Me” & “Found You Out” as instant grat tracks. Pre-order the album here.

Sir Sly hit the road this month for a multi-week national headline tour with label mates Wolf Gang. The “Cherrytree Presents” tour begins in Dallas, TX at Club Dada on August 25 and wraps with a show at the El Rey Theatre in Los Angeles on September 29. The full itinerary reads:

8/25 DALLAS, TX Club Dada #
8/26 HOUSTON, TX Fitzgeralds #
8/27 AUSTIN, TX Parish #
8/29 FT LAUDERDALE, FL Culture Room #
8/30 ORLANDO, FL The Social #
9/2 ATLANTA, GA The Earl #
9/4 RICHMOND, VA The National #
9/5 MYRTLE BEACH, SC WKZQ’s Big Night Out @ House of Blues *^#

9/6 CHARLOTTE, NC 1065 Weenie Roast @ PNC Music Pavillion*#
9/7 RALEIGH, NC The 95X Big Shindig @ Walnut Creek Amphitheatre*^#

9/8 WASHINGTON, DC U Street #
9/10 NEW YORK, NY Stage48 (18+)
9/11 ALBANY, NY The Hollow #
9/12 BOSTON, MA Brighton Music Hall (18+)
9/13 PHILADELPHIA, PA Radio 104.5 Summer Block Party*^#
9/15 PITTSBURGH, PA Stage AE #
9/16 COLUMBUS, OH The Basement #
9/17 ST LOUIS, MO Firebird #
9/18 MILWAUKEE, WI The Rave #
9/19 CHICAGO, IL Subterranean (17+)
9/20 MINNEAPOLIS, MN Triple Rock (18+)
9/22 KANSAS CITY, MO Riot Room (21+)
9/24 COLORADO SPRINGS, CO Black Sheep #
9/25 DENVER, CO Marquis Theatre #
9/27 PHOENIX, AZ Crescent Ballroom (16+)
9/28 SAN DIEGO, CA Irenic #
9/29 LOS ANGELES, CA El Rey #

Sir Sly = *

Wolf Gang = ^

All Ages = #

]]>
0
James Shotwell <![CDATA[Radical Something Offer A Fresh Take On West Coast Pop Rock With “Cali Get Down”]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1123772 2014-07-29T16:27:50Z 2014-07-29T13:59:36Z I hope you’re ready to dance.

Some Tuesdays feel a lot like second Mondays, but thanks to music it’s possible to turn even the most wretched of days around in a matter of minutes. This morning, an up-and-coming band from California had that impact on our offices when they delivered a single titled “Cali Get Down.”

Radical Something are a fittingly named band featuring three guys who do not strike you as the kind of men that would create music that one staffer described as “club punk.” To be fair, another one said “West Coast bro pop rock.” Regardless, their …

]]>
I hope you’re ready to dance.

Some Tuesdays feel a lot like second Mondays, but thanks to music it’s possible to turn even the most wretched of days around in a matter of minutes. This morning, an up-and-coming band from California had that impact on our offices when they delivered a single titled “Cali Get Down.”

Radical Something are a fittingly named band featuring three guys who do not strike you as the kind of men that would create music that one staffer described as “club punk.” To be fair, another one said “West Coast bro pop rock.” Regardless, their sound is undoubtedly unique, and their latest single offers a catchy hook and bouncy beat to help the day pass just a bit easier. You can stream the “Cali Get Down” below:

I cannot tell you what I like about this song aside from its tempo, hook, and melody, but I know it’s unlike anything else that has passed through our submissions inbox this season. Comment below and let us know if you agree.

Radical Something will be embarking on a extended tour of the US later this month as direct support for Matisyahu. Yes, Matisyahu. Click here for dates.

]]>
0
James Shotwell <![CDATA[MOVIE REVIEW: ‘Hercules’]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1123705 2014-07-29T14:42:44Z 2014-07-29T13:55:47Z Film: Hercules
Starring: Dwayne Johnson
Directed by: Brett Ratner

This is not the myth you remember, but it’s the legend you will love.

If you thought that line was corny, you may not want to purchase a ticket to Brett Ratner’s take on Hercules. It’s a wise-cracking, too cool for its own good type of film that [finally] gives us a good reason to care about so-called ‘sword and sandal’ films again. I went in expecting nothing and walked out with the realization I had just experienced one of the most entertaining 98-minute periods of the last year, if …

]]>
Film: Hercules
Starring: Dwayne Johnson
Directed by: Brett Ratner

This is not the myth you remember, but it’s the legend you will love.

If you thought that line was corny, you may not want to purchase a ticket to Brett Ratner’s take on Hercules. It’s a wise-cracking, too cool for its own good type of film that [finally] gives us a good reason to care about so-called ‘sword and sandal’ films again. I went in expecting nothing and walked out with the realization I had just experienced one of the most entertaining 98-minute periods of the last year, if not longer. It’s nothing like you expect, but that is exactly what makes it great.

Hercules begins, as so many action films set in the time before pants do, with narration that informs the viewers of the legend most people already know: Hercules, son of Zeus, was born on Earth and faced many labors. He fought a lion, a three-headed serpent, and more. He even killed a snake while still in his crib. If you don’t believe it simply by hearing some nameless and faceless soul tell it to you, don’t worry. They show it to you as well.

What people don’t know, and what sets Ratner’s vision of Hercules apart from the start, is the fact Hercules was just a man like any other. His legend is just another example of good PR at work, and because of his demigod fame the average man with a name people likened to godliness is able to make loads of money doing mercenary work for the highest bidder. That’s the story the trailers have not revealed, and that’s what is waiting for you after five minutes of bad CGI and regurgitated fables at the top of the film. It’s not the classic tale of man versus mythical beings, but rather man versus men and their horrible ways.

It’s also not a one man show. If you believe one man could handle the twelve labors Hercules faced you probably also believe a fat man in a red suit spends his Christmas Eve journeying around the planet led by reindeer. Santa is your parents and Hercules is a man with very talented friends who also just so happen to possess a diverse set of personalities that offer plenty of avenues for side stories and distraction from the central story. It’s nothing you haven’t seen before, but it’s a set of stereotypes that work extremely well for this type of film. There’s a cocky sidekick, a tough female that no one seems to realize is also gorgeous, a silent-yet-aggressive fighter with a twisted history, and an old man who has visions.

The true star of the show, however, is Dwayne Johnson’s portrayal of Hercules. From the moment he appears on the screen it’s clear he’s not letting the fact he’s assuming a role that many great(er) actors have performed before deter him from being himself. It’s the same guy you love from G.I. Joe or Fast & Furious, only this time he wears a lion’s head for a hat and carries a club that looks to the size of most people. He’s also haunted by visions of his past, which offers viewers a unique look at the frightened side of an otherwise strong man.

Without any monsters, the effects side of Hercules is surprisingly light. There are a few battle sequences, but Ratner has handled enough action sequences over the years to know just what viewers need to see in order to connect with a large-scale war. He finds the human element in CG-littered moments, and it’s because of that gift he’s able to keep you connected to Hercules and his companions throughout the duration of their journey.

If Hercules has any Achilles’ heel it’s that I fear it sometimes plays things too safe. There is true originality to the way Johnson portrays Hercules, and Ratner’s vision of his world is well thought out enough to endure the trip, but there comes a point just before the third act when things take a turn for the horribly predictable and just a bit of the fun is sucked out of film. It’s still a satisfying ride to the finish line, but other than the exact execution of the final moments it’s fairly easy to see where things are headed twenty minutes before the credits begin to role. I suppose as a stand alone film there are only so many ways you can end a story, and when you’re working with a studio like Paramount it’s probably advisable to choose the one most people want to see, but I couldn’t help feel a bit of my appreciation for the originality of other elements in the film dim as the story began to wind down.

Brett Ratner does not have the best track record at the box office, and I will be the first to admit that Dwayne ’The Rock’ Johnson does not always choose the best films, but the combination of these two Hollywood powerhouses has resulted in a film that is both thrilling and fun from beginning to end. More importantly, it offers a surprisngly original take on a familiar story amidst a summer flooded with predictable endings. It’s not about building a universe or continuing a trilogy with Hercules, the focus is solely on entertainment, and aside from a few missteps early on, it succeeds in a big way.

GRADE: B

Review written by James Shotwell

]]>
0