Under the Gun Review Entertainment news for today's generation 2015-01-25T01:50:33Z http://www.underthegunreview.net/feed/atom/ WordPress Nina Corcoran <![CDATA[Rihanna, Kanye West, and Paul McCartney Just Dropped a New Song Called “FourFiveSeconds”]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1143921 2015-01-25T01:50:33Z 2015-01-25T01:16:04Z Out of nowhere, Rihanna, Kanye West, and Paul McCartney just dropped a new song. The track, called “FourFiveSeconds,” is three minutes of inter-tangled talent that sounds like a stripped-down studio recording, much of which is dominated by Rihanna’s soulful return to the music world. If this is the song Kanye played for radio programmers, we fully support this one getting major airplay.

“FourFiveSeconds” is much more heartfelt than the combination of the three may lead you to expect. McCartney provides the rhythm and backing music on acoustic guitar while Rihanna takes over for most of the verses, occasionally …

]]>
Out of nowhere, Rihanna, Kanye West, and Paul McCartney just dropped a new song. The track, called “FourFiveSeconds,” is three minutes of inter-tangled talent that sounds like a stripped-down studio recording, much of which is dominated by Rihanna’s soulful return to the music world. If this is the song Kanye played for radio programmers, we fully support this one getting major airplay.

“FourFiveSeconds” is much more heartfelt than the combination of the three may lead you to expect. McCartney provides the rhythm and backing music on acoustic guitar while Rihanna takes over for most of the verses, occasionally stepping to the side for Kanye to let a few lines out about daily ups and downs. It has a happier sentimentality than West’s other collaboration with McCartney, the beautiful “Only One.” The song’s credits also include Kirby Lauryen, Mike Dean, Ty Dolla $ign, Dave Longstreth, Dallas Austin, Elon Rutberg, and Noah Goldstein. It’s unclear yet if this song will be on his album or Rihanna’s since both have new full-lengths coming this year. Given Rihanna’s tweet about the song, however, it seems likely that it will be off her record.

Give it a listen below or purchase it over at iTunes.

]]>
0
Brian Lion http://underthegunreview.net <![CDATA[RX Bandits Announce East and West Coast Spring Tour]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1143907 2015-01-24T00:42:35Z 2015-01-24T00:42:35Z Continuing to roll with the success of their most recent album, 2014′s excellent Gemini, Her Majesty, Southern California’s RX Bandits will be embarking on 18 dates across the west and east coasts between March 16 and April 17. No supporting acts (if any) have been announced as of yet.

Starting things off with a two-nighter at my personal favorite venue in San Francisco, RXB will travel mostly around California, with a couple stops in Nevada and Arizona before taking a week off then heading out east to rock in Boston, New York, and the DC area. Whether or not …

]]>
Continuing to roll with the success of their most recent album, 2014′s excellent Gemini, Her Majesty, Southern California’s RX Bandits will be embarking on 18 dates across the west and east coasts between March 16 and April 17. No supporting acts (if any) have been announced as of yet.

Starting things off with a two-nighter at my personal favorite venue in San Francisco, RXB will travel mostly around California, with a couple stops in Nevada and Arizona before taking a week off then heading out east to rock in Boston, New York, and the DC area. Whether or not supporting acts will be added to these dates, you can expect a killer night packed with groovy jams and plenty of dancing. Don’t miss out if RXB rolls through your area.

Tickets for all shows will go on sale this Saturday, January 24 at 10AM local time. You can view all dates via Jon Hoeveler’s rad tour poster below.

rxb tour

3/16 – San Francisco, CA @ Bottom of The Hill
3/17 – San Francisco, CA @ Bottom of The Hill
3/18 – Fresno, CA @ Strummer’s
3/19 – Bakersfield, CA @ B-Ryders
3/20 – Santa Cruz, CA @ Catalyst Atrium
3/22 – Santa Barbara, CA @ Velvet Jones
3/23 – Las Vegas, NV @ Fremont Country Club
3/24 – Tucson, AZ @ Club Congress
3/25 – Flagstaff, AZ @ The Green Room
3/28 – Hermosa Beach, CA @ Saint Rocke *Acoustic Show
____________________________________
4/8 – Boston, MA @ The Sinclair
4/9 – Boston, MA @ The Sinclair
4/10 – Wantagh, NY @ Mulcahy’s Pub & Music Hall
4/11 – Pittsburgh, PA @ Mr. Smalls
4/13 – Brooklyn, NY @ Music Hall of Williamsburg
4/15 – Washington, DC @ Rock & Roll Hotel
4/16 – New Haven, CT @ Toad’s Place
4/17 – Philadelphia, PA @ The Trocadero Theatre

]]>
0
Kyle Florence http://underthegunreview.net <![CDATA[Eminem Returns Home in New “Detroit vs Everybody” Video]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1143897 2015-01-23T22:39:06Z 2015-01-23T22:07:30Z This past November, Eminem graced us with “Detroit vs Everybody,” a guest-heavy track that paid homage to the rap icon’s roots. Now, nearly two months after the release of Shady XV, Em and friends have provided the single with some visuals, which you can check out by following the jump below.

Announced yesterday evening via Eminem’s manager Paul Rosenberg, the black and white clip follows the Grammy Award-winning rapper around his hometown while showcasing a number of notable landmarks along the way. If you dig it, let us know in the comments section.

Shady XV hit shelves on November …

]]>
This past November, Eminem graced us with “Detroit vs Everybody,” a guest-heavy track that paid homage to the rap icon’s roots. Now, nearly two months after the release of Shady XV, Em and friends have provided the single with some visuals, which you can check out by following the jump below.

Announced yesterday evening via Eminem’s manager Paul Rosenberg, the black and white clip follows the Grammy Award-winning rapper around his hometown while showcasing a number of notable landmarks along the way. If you dig it, let us know in the comments section.

Shady XV hit shelves on November 28 of last year–download it here through iTunes.

]]>
0
James Shotwell <![CDATA[UTG PREMIERE: Marco Featuring Keano Spitta – “WITIT”]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1143868 2015-01-23T21:19:26Z 2015-01-23T21:00:25Z We have been featuring a lot of new talent as of late, but the amount of fresh hip-hop appearing on UTG has admittedly been low. We aim to change that this afternoon, however, and we’ve recruited some of our favorite young talents to help make that happen.

Kicking off 2015 with a bang, WFFW member Marco is back at it with the uptempo ride-out anthem titled “WITIT.” This is the third single from his anticipated mixtape, “$tudio Night$,” and in our opinion it’s one of his best tracks to date. Produced by Tay on the Beat, the song features Marco …

]]>
We have been featuring a lot of new talent as of late, but the amount of fresh hip-hop appearing on UTG has admittedly been low. We aim to change that this afternoon, however, and we’ve recruited some of our favorite young talents to help make that happen.

Kicking off 2015 with a bang, WFFW member Marco is back at it with the uptempo ride-out anthem titled “WITIT.” This is the third single from his anticipated mixtape, “$tudio Night$,” and in our opinion it’s one of his best tracks to date. Produced by Tay on the Beat, the song features Marco and fellow WF comrade Keano $pitta as they take you on a night ride through their city. It’s chill, yet vibrant, and it serves as yet another sign of WFFW’s impending global takeover. You can stream the song below:

There is still no street date for $tudio Night$, but we assume the project will see the light of day before summer arrives. Follow UTG on Twitter for updates.

]]>
0
Kyle Florence http://underthegunreview.net <![CDATA[Fall Out Boy and Wiz Khalifa Join Forces on Radio-Ready “Uma Thurman” Remix]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1143886 2015-01-23T21:02:32Z 2015-01-23T20:52:26Z This June, Fall Out Boy and Wiz Khalifa will be hitting the road together for ‘The Boys of Zummer Tour 2015,’ a two-month run that will visit over 30 prominent venues across the country. In anticipation, Wiz has added a few verses of his own to FOB’s recent single, “Uma Thurman,” resulting in dance-inducing remix that seems destined for top 40 greatness. Check it out after the break, and share your thoughts with us in the replies.

If you’re a fan of this rambunctious reimagining, ‘Boys of Zummer’ tickets went on sale this morning—get ‘em now

]]>
This June, Fall Out Boy and Wiz Khalifa will be hitting the road together for ‘The Boys of Zummer Tour 2015,’ a two-month run that will visit over 30 prominent venues across the country. In anticipation, Wiz has added a few verses of his own to FOB’s recent single, “Uma Thurman,” resulting in dance-inducing remix that seems destined for top 40 greatness. Check it out after the break, and share your thoughts with us in the replies.

If you’re a fan of this rambunctious reimagining, ‘Boys of Zummer’ tickets went on sale this morning—get ‘em now before they’re gone.

]]>
0
Dana Reandelar http://twitter.com/danarndlr <![CDATA[Sleeping With Sirens Announce New Album, Unveil New Song And Music Video]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1143869 2015-01-23T19:32:56Z 2015-01-23T19:32:56Z Having joined the Epitaph Records family and having released both “Kick Me” and “We Like It Loud” not too long ago, Florida post-hardcore outfit Sleeping With Sirens are slowly gearing up for the release of a new record. Madness, which is scheduled for a March 17 release date, will be the followup record to their 2013 release of Feel.

The four-piece has also unveiled a new song entitled “Go Go Go,” which you can check out along with its corresponding music video below. Additionally, the band is currently on the U.S. leg of their …

]]>
Having joined the Epitaph Records family and having released both “Kick Me” and “We Like It Loud” not too long ago, Florida post-hardcore outfit Sleeping With Sirens are slowly gearing up for the release of a new record. Madness, which is scheduled for a March 17 release date, will be the followup record to their 2013 release of Feel.

The four-piece has also unveiled a new song entitled “Go Go Go,” which you can check out along with its corresponding music video below. Additionally, the band is currently on the U.S. leg of their world tour with Pierce The Veil, which stretches up until mid-April. You can take a look at all those dates here.

Pre-order bundles for Madness are now available here. The album artwork and the album’s track list are both available below.

madness sws

Madness track list:
01 Kick Me
02 Go Go Go
03 Gold
04 Save Me A Spark
05 Fly
06 The Strays
07 Left Alone
08 Better Off Dead
09 We Like It Loud
10 Heroine
11 November
12 Madness
13 Don’t Say Anything

]]>
1
James Shotwell <![CDATA[UTG PREMIERE: Variants – “Idle Eyes” (Studio Performance)]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1143861 2015-01-23T21:15:25Z 2015-01-23T18:00:33Z The weekend is just around the corner, and if you’re anything like us you’re in need of the perfect soundtrack to help say goodbye to the work week. We don’t make music ourselves, but thanks to the talented men of Variants we have just the record for you.

Today, for the first time in our history, UTG is thrilled to partner with up-and-coming rock act Variants to premiere a video featuring a studio performance of their song “Idle Eyes.” We’re also excited to announce that the band’s debut record, The Concept of Color, is free for a limited time

]]>
The weekend is just around the corner, and if you’re anything like us you’re in need of the perfect soundtrack to help say goodbye to the work week. We don’t make music ourselves, but thanks to the talented men of Variants we have just the record for you.

Today, for the first time in our history, UTG is thrilled to partner with up-and-coming rock act Variants to premiere a video featuring a studio performance of their song “Idle Eyes.” We’re also excited to announce that the band’s debut record, The Concept of Color, is free for a limited time on their Bandcamp. You can view the video, which was filmed and edited by Finis Robinson at Unknown Element Media, below:

Speaking about the decision to create this video, Variants drummer Michael Rivera commented:

“We chose “Idle Eyes” for the live session because it’s the most emotionally expressive song on the album and we felt that would translate best to that type of raw, organic format. It was important to us that you can hear that song live and in the moment while at the same time being able to see how much the track meant to us. Also, The Concept of Color being our first album, a large part of that process was discovering our sound and figuring out how we fit together musically, and we believe “Idle Eyes” is the most accurate precursor of the sounds to come in the future.”

Variants have been promoting The Concept Of Color for nearly a year at this point, and soon they will begin work on their as of yet untitled follow-up. The band has booked studio time with Jay Maas (Title Fight, Transit, Polar Bear Club) at Getaway Recording Studios March 1-13 in Wakefield, MA. They will be touring to and from the studio, but at this time dates for those performances have yet to be revealed. Follow UTG on Twitter for updates.

]]>
0
James Shotwell <![CDATA[NEEDTOBREATHE Tease ‘Tour De Compadres,’ Reveal Support]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1143875 2015-01-23T21:13:38Z 2015-01-23T16:56:40Z NEEDTOBREATHE toured heavily throughout the second half of 2014, and though they’ve started the new year on a quiet note they will soon be on the road again. We have no dates yet, but we can confirm the band will soon reveal the routing for a US outing dubbed ‘Tour De Compadres.’ We also know who will open, or at least some of the people who will open, and fans are going to be stoked.

Generally speaking, most tours are announced all at once, with support revealed right along with the dates, ticket details, and other supplementary information. NEEDTOBREATHE are …

]]>
NEEDTOBREATHE toured heavily throughout the second half of 2014, and though they’ve started the new year on a quiet note they will soon be on the road again. We have no dates yet, but we can confirm the band will soon reveal the routing for a US outing dubbed ‘Tour De Compadres.’ We also know who will open, or at least some of the people who will open, and fans are going to be stoked.

Generally speaking, most tours are announced all at once, with support revealed right along with the dates, ticket details, and other supplementary information. NEEDTOBREATHE are changing this tradition by first introducing ‘Tour De Compadres’ through a creative video promotion. It seems the members of NTB sent care packages to the artists who will join them, and as each package is received the associated talent uploads a video of themselves opening the gift for fans. So far, Colony House, Drew Holcomb, and Ben Rector have all uploaded clips, and according to the band one more packaged is still in the mail. You can view the announcement videos already made public below:


We will bring you more information on ‘Tour De Compadres’ as soon as additional details are made available. Stay tuned.

]]>
0
Nina Corcoran <![CDATA[Watch Run the Jewels’ Hilarious Campaign Video for the NME Awards]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1143876 2015-01-23T18:16:33Z 2015-01-23T16:41:40Z Rap duo Run the Jewels are back with another video. After giving teenage girls love advice, the two have taken to YouTube to film themselves asking for your help to make Run The Jewels 2 NME’s Album of the Year. El-P tweeted an understated preface that this is just “a message from run the jewels,” but things quickly heat up to be more than that.

In the video, the duo thank their fans and politely ask for help. They’re in the running to win Album of the Year at the NME Awards and, as such, ask that you vote …

]]>
Rap duo Run the Jewels are back with another video. After giving teenage girls love advice, the two have taken to YouTube to film themselves asking for your help to make Run The Jewels 2 NME’s Album of the Year. El-P tweeted an understated preface that this is just “a message from run the jewels,” but things quickly heat up to be more than that.

In the video, the duo thank their fans and politely ask for help. They’re in the running to win Album of the Year at the NME Awards and, as such, ask that you vote for them at the award’s website here. But in true goodhearted fashion, the two make the video as gaudy as possible, including American flags, a tabletop of veggies, and some classic Queen. Things get intense, though, when El-P is offered some milk chocolate.

Check the video out below and try not to laugh:

]]>
0
James Shotwell <![CDATA[MOVIE REVIEW: ‘Everly’ Will Kick Your Ass]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1143858 2015-01-23T21:10:26Z 2015-01-23T15:24:21Z Film: Everly
Starring: Selma Hayek
Directed by: Joe Lynch

With bullets and creative flare to spare, Everly ushers in a new age of cool for its lead, as well as its director.

Joe Lynch hasn’t made a feature-length film that made it to audiences with his vision in tact since Wrong Turn 2. In the time between, Joe has contributed to various film projects (Chillerama, for example), starred in a sitcom (Holliston), and even made a movie that was taken from him and cut to shreds by a third party who then completely mishandled the …

]]>
Film: Everly
Starring: Selma Hayek
Directed by: Joe Lynch

With bullets and creative flare to spare, Everly ushers in a new age of cool for its lead, as well as its director.

Joe Lynch hasn’t made a feature-length film that made it to audiences with his vision in tact since Wrong Turn 2. In the time between, Joe has contributed to various film projects (Chillerama, for example), starred in a sitcom (Holliston), and even made a movie that was taken from him and cut to shreds by a third party who then completely mishandled the flick’s release (Knights Of Badassdom). All of that has been interesting enough, but I don’t think anything in Lynch’s history could properly prepare viewers for the violent, yet heartfelt adventure that is Everly.

Starring Selma Hayek, Everly tells the story of a woman pushed too far by men who put her in a terrible position. It’s something akin to your classic revenge tale, but instead of wasting a third of its runtime with back story, Everly chooses to begin at the exact moment when the lead character has reached her breaking point. After years spent as a sex slave to a powerful underground kingpin, Everly has chosen to fight for her existence, and in doing so she will be forced to claim many bad guy lives. Why? Because, dear reader, no one gets out of an underground sex ring without first killing dozens of people.

It’s easy to understand why your first impression of Everly may cause you to think of it as The Raid, only this time it stars a woman and is set in a single apartment. That would be cool, but it’s not the movie Joe Lynch has created. After her initial rampage cools down, Everly transforms from a story of revenge to one of survival, and it’s at that point both Lynch and Hayek truly begin to shine. The gunplay is still heavy and frequent, but there is much, much more to be experienced as well. Whether you’re looking for creepy super villains with tools and cages sure to give you nightmares or a genuinely compelling story about a mother’s enduring love for her child (on multiple levels), this is the flick for you. It has heart, soul, violence, and plenty of moments that will leave your jaw on the floor.

One of the main reasons this film not only works, but in fact rises above its genre peers is due to the incredibly badass performance of Selma Hayek. It has been nearly a decade since we saw her action chops put to use on the big screen, and even longer since they were used in a film worth talking about. Everly allows her to not only reclaim her title as one of the most talented female action stars, but also provides enough moments of sentimentality to remind you she is as dynamic a talent as you could hope to find. This is certainly due in part to the super writing of Yale Hannon, who wrote the screenplay after developing the original idea alongside Lynch, but to be fair his writing only works because of the way Hayek delivers it on screen. It’s the perfect combination of talent, and it makes for a thrilling journey.

Not to be overshadowed by his leading lady, filmmaker Joe Lynch also shows a nice bit of growth with Everly. There was never really a question as to whether or not Lynch could handle the execution of shoot-outs and other moments of tension, but here he is able to showcase other sides of his storytelling abilities as well. I wouldn’t go as far as to say he’s mastered his craft, but Lynch has definitely come a long way from his previous work. Aside from a handful of shots that feel weak due to the way they’re either lit or framed, Everly is as slick as any other action title found in theaters today. There’s even a nice Fincher-esque sequence near the end that, without giving too much away, explores the entire set of the film in a powerful, beautiful and incredibly smooth fashion. It’s the kind of moment that hints at what Lynch may pull of in the years ahead, and it’s sure to be an incredibly exciting sight for any fan of his work.

It’s easy to oversell action movies simply because they offer something different from your typical studio feature, but Everly truly is something special. From the opening sequence right on through to the heart-stopping end, Joe Lynch and his team have crafted a crazy, intense, and altogether batshit insane story that manages to not only make your heart race with excitement, but also feel for the plight of the protagonist. More importantly, they’ve done so with an original tale that will surely not be duplicated anytime in the foreseeable future.

I don’t know what else to say. You need to see this movie. You will cheer, you will shake with fear, and you will walk away feeling like you’ve just went on the ride of your life.

GRADE: A-

Review written by James Shotwell

]]>
0
Brian Lion http://underthegunreview.net <![CDATA[UTG INTERVIEW: The Great Escape Discuss Influences, California and Their Debut LP]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1143843 2015-01-23T12:30:41Z 2015-01-23T13:30:51Z California’s The Great Escape is sure to be on the rise in 2015. With a strong debut under their belts, only beginning to make the rounds, the three-piece are poised to take the jam-rock world by storm, with the powerful vocal presence of Amie Miriello leading the charge. With Malte Hagemeister on guitar and Kristian Nord on drums, collectively laying the foundation, the band draws influences from Woodstock-era luminaries like Hendrix, Joplin, and Cream and fuses them with a modern twist that would appeal to fans of The Black Keys and The Dead Weather as well.

With their Ram Jam-ish …

]]>
California’s The Great Escape is sure to be on the rise in 2015. With a strong debut under their belts, only beginning to make the rounds, the three-piece are poised to take the jam-rock world by storm, with the powerful vocal presence of Amie Miriello leading the charge. With Malte Hagemeister on guitar and Kristian Nord on drums, collectively laying the foundation, the band draws influences from Woodstock-era luminaries like Hendrix, Joplin, and Cream and fuses them with a modern twist that would appeal to fans of The Black Keys and The Dead Weather as well.

With their Ram Jam-ish single “All I Think About” just recently receiving an accompanying music video, The Great Escape are showing no signs of slowing down in the promotion of this album, with plenty of plans to continue on in 2015. We had the chance to talk to them all about it as Hagemeister and Nord provided insight into their musical roots and plenty more. Read through below and get the scoop from two thirds of The Great Escape, then check out their brand new video for “All I Think About.”

How did the three of you come together to form The Great Escape and how was the name decided upon?

Kristian: Malte and I had the vision for the band and have worked with Amie before writing songs for other artists. Since we’re big fans of her as a singer and songwriter we asked her to start writing songs with us and then everything went by itself. In the very first session we wrote and recorded “All I Think About.” For all of us creating and performing music is the best way to forget everything around you. For us, The Great Escape is to listen to yourself and do what you love to do. It’s the escape to your inner self, but in a very active way, following your dreams.

You three have a lot of soul in your music, which is nice to see in such a young band. So I’m curious about your influences. What music did you grow up around, what are you listening to now, and what artists do you think had the biggest hands in the sound you all developed?

Malte: Thanks! Our music obviously has its roots in the 60s and 70s. Hendrix, the Stones, The Beatles, Sly And The Family Stone are definitely big influences. But we listen to a lot of new music as well, like The Black Keys, The Heavy or pop artists like Adele. We love the rawness of the old stuff, but try to put it into a new context. And we love melodies and story telling, that’s the essence of a song.

You seem to have a strong love for California as well. How does The Golden State play into your music and personality as a band?

Kristian: None of us grew up in California but we all love the land, the lifestyle and the spirit. When I came here for the first time when I was 16 years old I knew with the first stinky breath at LAX that this is my home and where I want to live. It’s the land of letting loose, surfing, the ocean and the sun. And it’s the land of freedom and opportunity.

Malte: There’s something light in the air that you hardly have anywhere in the world. It has a strong history of people who were different and expressed it. People who had big dreams and went for it, LA has been a great inspiration.

Do you happen to remember anything specific about the very first time you all jammed together?

Malte: The whole record is a big jam starting the first day when we wrote “All I Think About.” Usually we wrote a song within three or four hours, then went upstairs in the studio to lay down a guitar track and the lead vocal.

Kristian: Those almost always stayed because they had the right feel and we jammed around them. There’s a certain kind of chemistry that takes over – in a way it’s very innocent; it’s just us having fun like when we were 15…

When beginning work on this album, was there anything in particular that you wanted to focus on or make sure came across clearly in your sound or lyrics? A mission statement of sorts I suppose.

Kristian: Not really. The music pretty much reflects the way we’re living. You can kind of hear the sunshine through. Positivism is definitely an important point…

Malte: Which doesn’t mean though that you can’t be sentimental or reflect on difficult things like on “I Just Can’t Help Myself.”

Kristian: But it’s funny, a lot of times happiness is a point of view, it’s the perspective on things. There are people who experienced such horrible or intense things but still are the happiest people in the world; it’s a decision.

Malte: Yes, it’s seeing the good or the bad aspects of things. We try to see the glass half full instead of half empty. Well, maybe even three quarters full.

great escape

You guys produced the album yourself — great job on that by the way — but you did have some impressive talents helping you out in other areas. What can you tell me about who you worked with and what that experience was like?

Kristian: Thank you! Yes, we were very lucky that some amazing people helped us on this record. Zac Rae (Lana del Rey, Santana, Alanis Morrisette) played his ass off with an unreal Moog solo on “Put It On Ice.” He’s a wizard on the B3 organ, too. Katja and Luis, the horn section of Rod Stewart, killed it on “It’s Getting Better” and “I Want It All.”

Malte: It was an honor to record Stanley Behrens (War, Canned Heat) on “The Secret Song,” or having the super, super low voice of Kevin Dorsey in my little studio – he used to be the vocal director and singer with Michael Jackson since the Bad album. All those musicians brought such a spirit and made the album 200% better. This is another thing we love about living in LA – the city is filled with insane talent!

It’s been almost three months since you released the album, so musically, what have you guys been working on since? Any new material already being developed?

Malte: There’s plenty of ideas but nothing recorded yet except on our phones – maybe the most important tool these days. But we will start recording new songs [at the] end of this month and want to have a new record out this summer. It definitely itches to get the new ideas “on tape” and start recording again. And playing gigs all around LA helped us in creating even more of a trademark sound and to express ourselves even better. We can’t wait to start with new material…

How’s the response been to the album and how have you guys been adjusting to the praise and radio play both here and overseas?

Malte: It’s amazing that the audience seems to love the songs as much as we do. We’re stoked. And there’s nothing better than going out and playing the songs live. Getting the direct response from the audience is amazing and you kind of understand, re-live and re-interpretate your own songs.

Kristian: You get something back. The energy exchange is something you can’t really describe. There’s a reason why Paul or Keith are still on the road; it sucks you in…

What did you guys do for New Years? Anything exciting?

Kristian: [Laughs] I was in the jungle of Nicaragua, lying in bed with a tropical fever — not nice — but we had one week of glorious surf before it hit me, so it’s all good.

Malte: I had quite the opposite: I DJ’d at my friend Richard Gibbs’ NYE party – he filled his amazing Woodshed recording studio in Malibu with friends and musicians. I made them dance with my huge mash-up collection; super fun way to start my new year. I got sick afterwards [laughs].

And now that we’re making our way into 2015, what does The Great Escape have in store for the remainder of the year? Any big plans?

Kristian: Yes! As we said, definitely a new album and hopefully some more shows as well. There are some plans regarding touring but nothing is confirmed yet. But we’ll let you know as soon as it’s clear.

Overall, what is your guys’ goal for this project? What do you hope to achieve as a band?

Malte: Uhhh, that’s hard to say. The band kind of is the goal itself. It’s a playground where we do exactly what we want. The process of creating the music is the goal itself, but of course we are very happy when people like it and we hear it on the radio or on TV.

Kristian: I guess the goal is to keep on doing what we’re doing and to see where the universe is taking us with it…

mario

]]>
0
Brian Lion http://underthegunreview.net <![CDATA[UTG INTERVIEW: Manilow, Festering Away On The Underground]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1143478 2015-01-23T11:55:09Z 2015-01-23T13:15:42Z “More honest and ragged” than aiming for a certain sound, London’s Manilow (nothing to do with Barry), offer up a blend of nearly every nook and cranny of rock; punk, lo-fi, power pop and more all make an appearance on their newest EP, Cease And Desist.

We recently had the chance to chat with the band and discuss their method of operation, the current state of punk, and where they see that newly released effort getting the most attention – so read through the jump to get familiar with this English trio and be sure to stream Cease And

]]>
“More honest and ragged” than aiming for a certain sound, London’s Manilow (nothing to do with Barry), offer up a blend of nearly every nook and cranny of rock; punk, lo-fi, power pop and more all make an appearance on their newest EP, Cease And Desist.

We recently had the chance to chat with the band and discuss their method of operation, the current state of punk, and where they see that newly released effort getting the most attention – so read through the jump to get familiar with this English trio and be sure to stream Cease And Desist after you’ve finished our conversation.

I’m sure you guys get this far too often but I’m going to ask anyway: is the band name some kind of homage to Barry Manilow or did it come about from something else entirely?

The band was named after the drummer’s pet goldfish. He lived an exciting life of travel and adventure, despite being fitted with a prosthetic fin. He was an inspiration to us all and had such a spectacularly bad name, we just had to have it. Manilow, wherever you went after we flushed that toilet…this one’s for you.

So how did the three of you originally come together to start this band and how easy was it for you to decide on what type of music you’d play?

Dean (vox/guitar) and Paul (Bass) had worked together for a couple of years as Sub Machine. When it folded after the drummer upped sticks, Gary was drafted in to complete the formation of Manilow. Once we decided to ditch yodeling and 3/4 Waltz time signatures, the music quickly hit the adrenaline-fueled trajectory of the EP. Seemed pretty natural to punch it out as we do.

Do you happen to remember anything in particular from the first time you all jammed together?

It felt right. The room wobbled and shit fell off the ceiling.

Who are some of your favorite bands, collectively, that you’d say have influenced the sound you’ve taken on or the way you write?

Joy Division, Dr Phibes & the House of Wax Equations, Sex Pistols, Wire, Hawkwind, Keith Morris, Here and Now, The Who, and of course, the mortally expired and exotically scented GG Allin.

Your debut EP, Cease And Desist, has been out for a few months now. You’ve had time to let it breathe and play the tracks live. How has the response been? Do you feel like it’s still gaining traction?

We’ve had some fantastic reviews, which is great. We think Cease And Desist is one of those EPs that will fester away on the underground rather than be a big smash, but it’s still garnering interest. It’s a slow process, getting stuff heard as an independent band – it takes time for people to hear it. The songs still feel fresh and exciting to play. On top of that, we have lots of material that is pretty much unheard and also some completely new stuff that we are getting ready to unleash over the next few months.

The speedboat image on the cover is really interesting. Can you explain the reason for using that and how you feel the artwork relates to the music on the EP?

The speedboat is a representation of where we posit modern society, decadently worshiping false consumer goods at this, the filthy dog-end of capitalism. See the ‘limpet mine’ insert on the sleeve artwork and our jagged, angry music as our real message – spiritual values are fucked, let’s rip it up and start again. We feel so strongly about this that, until we are stinking rich and can afford a speedboat each, scathing critiques of consumerism will continue to be our modus operandi.

manilow art

Apart from Manilow, do you think punk music is still alive and well, or are you guys fighting the good fight all alone?

We never set out to be a punk band, or any other genre. There is a punk aesthetic in the band which is: make the music you want, regardless. If audiences or viewers want to classify it as “punk” that’s OK; whatever works for them. We do it because we believe in it, not because we belong to a clan. We want to be able to take Manilow in whatever direction we feel like. Punk as an ethos is as alive and valid as its ever been, but the institutions that wield power have become better at diffusing angst in our society. People can protest over social channels these days without picking up an instrument or a microphone and they are doing so. The outlets for anger are more diverse and the targets less well defined.

What have you been listening to lately? Any particular favorite album of 2014?

Mikrokosmos, Panda Bear vs The Grim Reaper, A Place to Bury Strangers, Tame Impala, Temples, Sleaford Mods, Jagwar Ma, Thee Oh Sees. From last year, Unknown Mortal Orchestra and also KStarke Records: The House That Jackmaster Hater Built – proper killer acid house reissued from Chicago vaults – that’s punk right there!

Any local bands from your area that we should keep our eyes and ears on?

We can’t possibly answer this question without raising a glass of Vimto to our engineer’s band Part Chimp. Also worth checking out are Early Mammal and Fat White Family, who share the same studio – Dropout. If you’d like some urban swamp, Blighty style, go hear Peckham Cowboys, founded by Guy Bailey (who mastered Cease And Desist), and also Guy’s new project, Thirsty. Beard 58 are a mystery wrapped in an enigma, a classic case of a boiled sweet covered in fluff. Check them out if you can find them anywhere.

[We couldn't...]

What did your guys’ New Years celebrations consist of?

Joint fondling of a Take That doll (Howard) as the bells chimed. Quick clean up with a wire brush and Dettol.

With 2015 now under way, what does Manilow have in store for the foreseeable future? What are you hoping to accomplish this year as a band?

We have a couple of London shows to kick off the year in Jan. and Feb. and then we’re working on taking it out of the capital for a while. We’d love to get on the festival circuit – we know crowds would dig us in all that mud, sex and cider. There will be another recording, we just don’t know when at the moment. We have enough material for an album, but we may go for another EP in the interests of speed, depending on what else kicks off.

]]>
0
Ryan Kappy <![CDATA[Rush Announce Massive North American ‘R40 Live’ Tour]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1143832 2015-01-23T04:03:33Z 2015-01-23T04:00:52Z The Holy Trinity, Rush, have been gracing the world with their unique talent as a power trio for an impressive 40 years. After releasing twenty studio albums and renowned singles like “Tom Sawyer,” “The Spirit Of Radio” and “Limelight,” the band has proven to be not only one of the best rock acts of all time but also one of the most hardworking ones.

To commemorate their 40th anniversary as a band, the three-piece — consisting of bassist/vocalist Geddy Lee, guitarist Alex Lifeson and drummer Neil Peart — will be embarking on a 34-date trek throughout North America starting …

]]>
The Holy Trinity, Rush, have been gracing the world with their unique talent as a power trio for an impressive 40 years. After releasing twenty studio albums and renowned singles like “Tom Sawyer,” “The Spirit Of Radio” and “Limelight,” the band has proven to be not only one of the best rock acts of all time but also one of the most hardworking ones.

To commemorate their 40th anniversary as a band, the three-piece — consisting of bassist/vocalist Geddy Lee, guitarist Alex Lifeson and drummer Neil Peart — will be embarking on a 34-date trek throughout North America starting on May 8 in Tulsa, OK and ending on August 1 in Los Angeles, CA. These concerts will showcase music throughout the band’s career and will supposedly be their last massive tour they go on that will last this long.

Check out the dates below, and if I were you, I would not miss this concert because it may the best one you ever go to.

rush r40

R40 Live Tour Dates:

May 08 – Tulsa, OK – BOK Center
May 10 – Lincoln, NE – Pinnacle Bank Arena
May 12 – St. Paul, MN – Xcel Energy Center
May 14 – St. Louis, MO – Scottrade Center
May 16 – Austin, TX – 360 Ampitheater
May 18 – Dallas, TX – American Airlines Center
May 20 – Houston, TX – The Toyota Center
May 22 – New Orleans, LA – Smoothie King Center
May 24 – Tampa, FL – Amalie Arena
May 26 – Atlanta, GA – Verizon Wireless Ampitheatre
May 28 – Greensboro, NC – The Greensboro Coliseum
May 30 – Bristow, VA – Jiffy Lube Live
Jun. 08 – Columbus, OH – Nationwide Arena
Jun. 10 – Buffalo, NY – First Niagara Center
Jun. 12 – Chicago, IL – United Center
Jun. 14 – Detroit, MI – Palace Of Auburn Hills
Jun. 17 – Toronto, Ontario, CAN – Air Canada Centre
Jun. 19 – Toronto, Ontario, CAN – Air Canada Centre
Jun. 21 – Montreal, Quebec, CAN – Bell Centre
Jun. 23 – Boston, MA – TD Garden
Jun. 25 – Philadelphia, PA – The Wells Fargo Center
Jun. 27 – Newark, NJ – Prudential Center
Jun. 29 – New York, NY – Madison Square Garden
Jul. 09 – Kansas City, MO – Sprint Center
Jul. 11 – Denver, CO – Pepsi Center
Jul. 13 – Salt Lake City, UT – Maverik Center
Jul. 15 – Calgary, Alberta, CAN – Scotiabank Saddledome
Jul. 17 – Vancouver, British Columbia, CAN – Rogers Arena
Jul. 19 – Seattle, WA – Key Arena
Jul. 21 – Portland, OR – Moda Center
Jul. 23 – San Jose, CA – Sap Center At San Jose
Jul. 25 – Las Vegas, NV – MGM Grand Garden Arena
Jul. 27 – Phoenix, AZ – Us Airways Center
Jul. 30 – Irvine Meadows, CA – Verizon Wireless Amphitheatre
Aug. 01 – Los Angeles, CA – The Forum

]]>
0
Ryan Kappy <![CDATA[Periphery Stream ‘Juggernaut: Omega’ In Its Entirety]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1143826 2015-01-23T02:56:49Z 2015-01-23T02:56:49Z Prog-metal giants Periphery are on their way to releasing their highly anticipated dual-disc album Juggernaut, with Juggernaut: Alpha already up for streaming as of earlier this week.

The band linked up with Metal Hammer to stream the other portion, Juggernaut: Omega, in full before next week’s release. The double album is slated for release on January 27 via Sumerian Records and will be the followup to 2012′s Periphery II: This Time It’s Personal.

Pre-orders are still available through MerchNow with a plethora of bundles to choose from. Stream Juggernaut: Omega below and enjoy the riffing that is …

]]>
Prog-metal giants Periphery are on their way to releasing their highly anticipated dual-disc album Juggernaut, with Juggernaut: Alpha already up for streaming as of earlier this week.

The band linked up with Metal Hammer to stream the other portion, Juggernaut: Omega, in full before next week’s release. The double album is slated for release on January 27 via Sumerian Records and will be the followup to 2012′s Periphery II: This Time It’s Personal.

Pre-orders are still available through MerchNow with a plethora of bundles to choose from. Stream Juggernaut: Omega below and enjoy the riffing that is about to ensue.

]]>
0
Dana Reandelar http://twitter.com/danarndlr <![CDATA[Paramore Announce Full U.S. Tour Alongside Copeland]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1143825 2015-01-23T02:53:48Z 2015-01-23T02:53:48Z It has been one hell of a ride for Paramore‘s self-titled record. The reception for this most recent effort has been magnanimous and has changed the game for both the band and its fans. As the pop-rock frontrunners approach the end of this cycle, they are very excited to announce that they will be heading out on tour in support of Paramore one last time.

Joining them will be their longtime pals and fellow frontrunners, Copeland, whose most recent record, Ixora, has also received an immense amount of praise this past year. This will definitely be one …

]]>
It has been one hell of a ride for Paramore‘s self-titled record. The reception for this most recent effort has been magnanimous and has changed the game for both the band and its fans. As the pop-rock frontrunners approach the end of this cycle, they are very excited to announce that they will be heading out on tour in support of Paramore one last time.

Joining them will be their longtime pals and fellow frontrunners, Copeland, whose most recent record, Ixora, has also received an immense amount of praise this past year. This will definitely be one for the books as it will be Copeland’s first full U.S. tour in five years. Tickets will be available to the general public on January 30 at 10AM EST, while paramore.net subcribers will be able to purchase tickets on January 26 at 9AM EST. All will be available via LiveNation.

You can check out a gratitude-filled statement from the band below. More details regarding this tour are also available after the jump.

“It feels right to bring the Self-Titled era to a close. We’ve had a very personal and hugely triumphant journey with this one. What wouldn’t feel right is saying goodbye to this time in the band’s career and not celebrating it with our fans in some special way. So we’ve decided to do one last little run with it. Smaller shows, beautiful theaters…and we’re not calling it a tour, by the way. Each night will be a little event, or as we said just a few seconds ago, a celebration. As we acknowledge the past few years (and more) of everything we’ve been through together, we’re also looking forward together at all there is to come.
Another way we want to celebrate our journey thus far, is to bring out a band who helped us in our most humble, playing 500 beats faster than we should, terrible hair, beginning. We might’ve never gained any traction on the road had they not allowed us on their tour almost exactly 10 years ago. So if you’re coming to one of these shows make sure to get there early for Copeland.
Lastly, thank you to anyone and everyone who made this album a milestone in Paramore’s career and in each of our lives. We started this journey 3 years ago, desperate for any sort of future at all! Now we are standing taller, more confident, knowing that we are the ones who write our own future. This means you too.

Hayley, Jeremy & Taylor”

copeland tour

Tour dates:
4.27 Augusta, GA @ Bell Auditorium
4.28 Clearwater, FL @ Ruth Eckerd Hall
5.03 Rosemont, IL @ Rosemont Theatre
5.05 Boston, MA @ Citi Wang Theatre
5.06 New York, NY @ Beacon Theatre
5.08 Atlantic City, NJ @ The Borgata
5.09 Uncasville, CT @ Mohegan Sun Arena
5.11 Baltimore, MD @ Meyerhoff Theatre
5.12 Louisville, KY @ Palace Theatre
5.14 New Orleans, LA @ Saenger Theatre
5.15-5.16 Gulf Shores, AL @ Hangout Festival*
5.17 Nashville, TN @ Grand Ole Opry House
5.19 Dallas, TX @ Verizon Theatre At Grand Prairie
5.20 El Paso, TX @ Abraham Chavez Theatre
5.22 San Diego, CA @ SDSU Open Air Theatre
5.23 Los Angeles, CA @ Dolby Theatre
5.25 Portland, OR @ Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall
* without Copeland

]]>
0
Emma Guido <![CDATA[Avi Buffalo Share “Think It’s Gonna Happen Again” Music Video]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1143806 2015-01-23T01:32:12Z 2015-01-23T01:13:55Z After dropping their long-awaited At Best Cuckold in 2014, California’s Avi Buffalo continues this promotion with an impressive music video to pair with the track “Think It’s Gonna Happen Again.”

The indie-pop melodies of this dreamy song tie the cool, romantic, and grungy scenes of the video together beautifully. Endless nighttime car rides, party aftermath, and steamy romance fill any spaces in the vivid song, leaving a lasting impression on its importance.

The video is quite an adventure for Avi Buffalo throughout the song’s duration. Check it out for yourself below.

]]>
After dropping their long-awaited At Best Cuckold in 2014, California’s Avi Buffalo continues this promotion with an impressive music video to pair with the track “Think It’s Gonna Happen Again.”

The indie-pop melodies of this dreamy song tie the cool, romantic, and grungy scenes of the video together beautifully. Endless nighttime car rides, party aftermath, and steamy romance fill any spaces in the vivid song, leaving a lasting impression on its importance.

The video is quite an adventure for Avi Buffalo throughout the song’s duration. Check it out for yourself below.

]]>
0
Dana Reandelar http://twitter.com/danarndlr <![CDATA[La Dispute To Play A Few Intimate Shows This Spring]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1143792 2015-01-23T01:06:11Z 2015-01-23T01:06:11Z La Dispute announced earlier in December that they will be embarking on a short co-headlining U.S. tour with Title Fight this spring, with the support of The Hotelier. During this brief run, the band will also be playing a few seated, intimate shows in four cities, starting on March 28 in Philadelphia.

These smaller shows will involve playing songs that the band has never played live, readings of excerpts from the members’ favorite books and poems, and a Q&A session with the audience. Tickets for these dates, which are sold separately from the co-headliner with Title Fight, will go …

]]>
La Dispute announced earlier in December that they will be embarking on a short co-headlining U.S. tour with Title Fight this spring, with the support of The Hotelier. During this brief run, the band will also be playing a few seated, intimate shows in four cities, starting on March 28 in Philadelphia.

These smaller shows will involve playing songs that the band has never played live, readings of excerpts from the members’ favorite books and poems, and a Q&A session with the audience. Tickets for these dates, which are sold separately from the co-headliner with Title Fight, will go on sale on Friday, January 23, at 10AM EST here.

You can check out all of the dates below.

la dispute

3/21 – Houston, TX @ Fitzgerald’s *
3/23 – Atlanta, GA @ The Masquerade *
3/24 – Carrboro, NC @ Cat’s Cradle *
3/25 – Washington, DC @ Howard Theater *
3/26 – Philadelphia, PA @ Union Transfer *
3/27 – New York, NY @ Webster Hall *
3/28 – Philadelphia, PA @ First Unitarian Church #
3/29 – Boston, MA @ Paradise Rock Club *
3/30 – Boston, MA @ TBA #
3/31 – Pittsburgh, PA @ Altar Bar *
4/01 – Toronto, ONT @ Phoenix Theater *
4/02 – Detroit, MI @ Mosaic Temple Chapel #
4/03 – Pontiac, MI @ The Crofoot *
4/05 – Chicago, IL @ Metro secret room (matinee performance) #
4/05 – Chicago, IL @ The Metro *
4/07 – Grand Rapids, MI @ Covenant Fine Arts Center (DAAC benefit) #

* w/ Title Fight, The Hotelier
# seated show

]]>
0
Emma Guido <![CDATA[Enter Shikari Cover ‘Game Of Thrones’ Theme]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1143800 2015-01-23T01:03:39Z 2015-01-23T01:03:39Z The best covers are always born during the BBC Radio 1 Studio Sessions it would seem. Enter Shikari are the latest to stop in the studio, due to the release of their newest album, The Mindsweep, on Tuesday.

As the band promoted this new record in the studio, they also surprised listeners with an intense and thrilling cover of the popular HBO series Game Of Thrones‘ theme song.

The uniqueness of Enter Shikari’s sound goes incredibly well with daunting style of the score, giving fans of the band and the TV show an exciting twist to their music …

]]>
The best covers are always born during the BBC Radio 1 Studio Sessions it would seem. Enter Shikari are the latest to stop in the studio, due to the release of their newest album, The Mindsweep, on Tuesday.

As the band promoted this new record in the studio, they also surprised listeners with an intense and thrilling cover of the popular HBO series Game Of Thrones‘ theme song.

The uniqueness of Enter Shikari’s sound goes incredibly well with daunting style of the score, giving fans of the band and the TV show an exciting twist to their music selection.

Give the cover a listen for yourself and let us know what you think.

]]>
0