Under the Gun Review Entertainment news for today's generation 2015-07-06T19:05:02Z http://www.underthegunreview.net/feed/atom/ WordPress Matthew Leimkuehler http://underthegunreview.net <![CDATA[UTG PREMIERE: Ryan Stapleton – “Vibrate Your Body”]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1153396 2015-07-06T19:03:43Z 2015-07-06T17:29:01Z “Vibrate Your Body,” the new single from Philadelphia-based artist Ryan Stapleton is both sensually addictive and overtly magnetic.

The song, streaming exclusively below, contains the swagger of ELO, the sophistication of MGMT and the pop sensibility of Passion Pit. The single, which is due out for purchase July 14, shows Stapleton can write songs with the best of the alternative pop world. He called the lyrics of the song very ‘tongue-in-cheek,’ but we don’t mind. The hook is still undeniable.

“There’s a lot of my dumb teenage self in there, in regards to a so-called sexual awakening—for lack of a …

]]>
“Vibrate Your Body,” the new single from Philadelphia-based artist Ryan Stapleton is both sensually addictive and overtly magnetic.

The song, streaming exclusively below, contains the swagger of ELO, the sophistication of MGMT and the pop sensibility of Passion Pit. The single, which is due out for purchase July 14, shows Stapleton can write songs with the best of the alternative pop world. He called the lyrics of the song very ‘tongue-in-cheek,’ but we don’t mind. The hook is still undeniable.

“There’s a lot of my dumb teenage self in there, in regards to a so-called sexual awakening—for lack of a better word—but the image in my head is your teenage self at the top of the block of your girlfriend’s street, waiting for her parents to leave so you can be let in,” Stapleton said.

“I consider my tracks to be more trains of thought than songs, per se,” he continued. “There’s a phrase that I love to use to describe my writing—staircase wit. It’s essentially thinking of the perfect response after the time to speak up has passed. My lyrics are everything I should have or wanted to say in the moments that inspire the songs.

Listen to the song now and leave your thoughts in the comments below. Pre-order the single here.

*Feature photo by Nick Grzeczkowski

]]>
0
Dana Reandelar http://twitter.com/danarndlr <![CDATA[Patent Pending Sign To Rude Records, Announce New EP]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1153387 2015-07-06T17:13:26Z 2015-07-06T17:13:26Z Long Island’s finest five-piece, Patent Pending, have just announced that they will be putting out a brand new EP this summer, entitled Armageddon, under Rude Records.

The band spent this past year recording the new EP in Nashville, Tennessee with Jordan Schmidt. Below you will find a new music video for their single, “Brighter.” The band shares: “The video is a metaphor for the crazy journey that our band has taken to this point and leaves us with a sense of hope at the end that with hard work and dedication, accomplishing the impossible may be possible one …

]]>
Long Island’s finest five-piece, Patent Pending, have just announced that they will be putting out a brand new EP this summer, entitled Armageddon, under Rude Records.

The band spent this past year recording the new EP in Nashville, Tennessee with Jordan Schmidt. Below you will find a new music video for their single, “Brighter.” The band shares: “The video is a metaphor for the crazy journey that our band has taken to this point and leaves us with a sense of hope at the end that with hard work and dedication, accomplishing the impossible may be possible one day.”

“We’re so excited to join forces with Rude Records,” vocalist Joe Ragota shares. “After years of searching we’ve finally found a home for our band with people that truly understand our vision, our goals and our craziness. It’s going to be an amazing partnership and we can’t wait to get a ton of new music in everybody’s hands this year.”

Armageddon is due out on July 31. Its album artwork and track list can be found below. You can pre-order it here. Additionally, the band is set to play a few dates in the UK this fall with Zebrahead. You can check out the dates below.

unnamed-4
Armageddon track list:
01 Too Much to Think
02 The Way I See It
03 Tick Tick Boom
04 We’re Getting Weird
05 Brighter

Tour Dates:
21 Nov. Southend: Chinnerys
22 Nov. Birmingham: O2 Academy Birmingham 2
23 Nov. Nottingham: Rescue Rooms
24 Nov. Leeds: Stylus
25 Nov. Glasgow: The Garage
27 Nov. Manchester: Manchester Academy 3
28 Nov. London: Brooklyn Bowl London
29 Nov. Oxford: O2 Academy Oxford 2
30 Nov. Portsmouth: The Wedgewood Rooms
01 Dec. Bristol: The Marble Factory

]]>
0
Dana Reandelar http://twitter.com/danarndlr <![CDATA[Lil Wayne Drops Free New Album On Tidal]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1153383 2015-07-06T17:10:26Z 2015-07-06T17:10:26Z Lil Wayne and his Tidal-using fans got to spend their Fourth Of July weekend jamming to fifteen new tracks.

The New Orleans hip-hop recording artist released the much anticipated/now-shortened FWA–also formerly known as the Free Weezy Album–this past Saturday for free on Jay-Z (and company)’s brand new music streaming platform, Tidal. FWA is, as one can observe, one of the many streaming service-exclusive efforts that will continue to roll out.

FWA follows Lil Wayne’s fallout with Cash Money Records and his latest I Am Not A Human Being II from 2013, and it features Jeezy, Cory Gunz

]]>
Lil Wayne and his Tidal-using fans got to spend their Fourth Of July weekend jamming to fifteen new tracks.

The New Orleans hip-hop recording artist released the much anticipated/now-shortened FWA–also formerly known as the Free Weezy Album–this past Saturday for free on Jay-Z (and company)’s brand new music streaming platform, Tidal. FWA is, as one can observe, one of the many streaming service-exclusive efforts that will continue to roll out.

FWA follows Lil Wayne’s fallout with Cash Money Records and his latest I Am Not A Human Being II from 2013, and it features Jeezy, Cory Gunz, Euro, and Wiz Khalifa among others. Its album artwork and track list can be found below. You can stream it over at Tidal now.

free weezy

FWA track list:
01 “Glory” (Prod. Onhel, Avenue & Infamous)
02 “He’s Dead” (Prod. Kane Beatz & T.O.D.A.Y. For The Building Productions)
03 “I Feel Good” (Prod. Infamous & T@)
04 “My Heart Races On” (Feat. Jake Troth) (Prod. Jake Troth)
05 “London Roads” (Prod. London)
06 “I’m That Nigga” (Feat. Hoodybaby) (Prod. Onhel)
07 “Psycho” (Feat. Leah Hayes) (Prod. Infamous)
08 “Murda” (Feat. Capo, Cory Gunz & Junior Reid) (Prod. Reefa Beats)
09 “Thinking Bout You” (Prod. T@ & Infamous)
10 “Without You” (Feat. Bibi Bourelly) (Prod. Nascent & Sakwe)
11 “Post Bail Ballin” (Prod. Develop)
12 “Pull Up” (Feat. Euro) (Prod. Twice As Nice Productions)
13 “Living Right” (Feat. Wiz Khalifa) (Prod. T@ & Infamous)
14 “White Girl” (Feat. Jeezy) (Prod. Infamous)
15 “Pick Up Your Heart” (Prod. Cool & Dre)

]]>
0
Gabbie Brown <![CDATA[UTG TV: The Cadillac Three Chat About Writing For Keith Urban, Eric Church & Rascal Flatts]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1153230 2015-07-06T02:31:42Z 2015-07-06T13:45:57Z Under The Gun Review headed to Nashville, Tennessee for country music’s biggest week in the south, CMA Fest. We had the chance to dig deep into the musical backgrounds of Nashville natives The Cadillac Three. We bet you didn’t know that they’re the reason behind some of your favorite songs falling into the hands of Rascal Flatts, Eric Church, Keith Urban and Tim Mcgraw.

The Cadillac Three is one band that will knock your boots out from under you with their dedication to bringing rock back into country music. The band just released a video on Vevo for their …

]]>
Under The Gun Review headed to Nashville, Tennessee for country music’s biggest week in the south, CMA Fest. We had the chance to dig deep into the musical backgrounds of Nashville natives The Cadillac Three. We bet you didn’t know that they’re the reason behind some of your favorite songs falling into the hands of Rascal Flatts, Eric Church, Keith Urban and Tim Mcgraw.

The Cadillac Three is one band that will knock your boots out from under you with their dedication to bringing rock back into country music. The band just released a video on Vevo for their newest single, “White Lightning.” It’s a song that will for sure send goosebumps up and down your spine, and is no doubt the real showstopper during their live shows.

Check out our interview with The Cadillac Three below as they discuss Steven Tyler, the songs they wish they would have kept, and how they might have a hand in babies being born.

Produced by: Gabbie Brown

]]>
0
Gabbie Brown <![CDATA[UTG TV: Jessie James Decker Knows How To Handle A Busy Schedule]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1153226 2015-07-06T02:26:31Z 2015-07-06T13:30:31Z Jessie James Decker might be married to every female’s Man Crush Monday, but she’s not letting that stop her from making a name for herself. She makes being pregnant and balancing a career look like a walk in the park and absolutely deserves the coveted hashtag #MomGoals.

You might remember Jessie from her pop days, with her catchy single “Wanted,” but she’s all country. Her EP is due out shortly, but you can get a taste of her new music endeavors on Billy Currington’s new single, “Good Night.” Decker describes her new EP as fun, loving, …

]]>
Jessie James Decker might be married to every female’s Man Crush Monday, but she’s not letting that stop her from making a name for herself. She makes being pregnant and balancing a career look like a walk in the park and absolutely deserves the coveted hashtag #MomGoals.

You might remember Jessie from her pop days, with her catchy single “Wanted,” but she’s all country. Her EP is due out shortly, but you can get a taste of her new music endeavors on Billy Currington’s new single, “Good Night.” Decker describes her new EP as fun, loving, and cool, and she couldn’t help but gush over her husband and daughter being a big inspiration in her music.

Jessie chats with UTG TV to let us all know about her evolution as a singer, handling her career and, of course, a makeup mishap on a major red carpet.

Produced by: Gabbie Brown

]]>
0
Brian Lion http://underthegunreview.net <![CDATA[The Unravelling Stream New Single, “Master Drone”]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1153371 2015-07-06T03:11:29Z 2015-07-06T12:30:03Z Following “Revolt” from earlier this year, Calgary’s The Unravelling are streaming their newest track, titled “Master Drone.” At well over five minutes in length, the duo’s newest offering pulses along at a steady chug with with eerie, building backing sounds and a passionate conviction in Steve Moore’s vocal delivery.

In regards to the song’s subject, Moore comments, “the Master Drone is certain of his reality, and therefore living through an artifact. He is opinionated, and likely a respectable, ambitious member of society. He could be a motivational speaker, an atheist, a religious leader, a ‘life coach’ or a …

]]>
Following “Revolt” from earlier this year, Calgary’s The Unravelling are streaming their newest track, titled “Master Drone.” At well over five minutes in length, the duo’s newest offering pulses along at a steady chug with with eerie, building backing sounds and a passionate conviction in Steve Moore’s vocal delivery.

In regards to the song’s subject, Moore comments, “the Master Drone is certain of his reality, and therefore living through an artifact. He is opinionated, and likely a respectable, ambitious member of society. He could be a motivational speaker, an atheist, a religious leader, a ‘life coach’ or a serial entrepreneur. He thrives within identity and strives for new identities as he grows old. He’s in all of us. He represents our human programming.”

You can stream The Unravelling’s newest single below via the band’s Bandcamp where you can also find the song’s lyrics and further information.

]]>
0
Kyle Florence http://underthegunreview.net <![CDATA[UTG INTERVIEW: Kingmaker’s Alex Gaspar Discusses the Creation of ‘The Cradle’]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1153335 2015-07-03T05:11:24Z 2015-07-03T14:00:52Z Kingmaker have always been a group that thrives on progression. Since bursting onto the scene in the summer of 2009, the Lake County quartet has undergone a number of style and lineup changes, all leading to the release of their latest full-length effort, The Cradle–a bold blend of abrasive riffs, ear-shattering percussion, and poignant lyricism.

We recently spoke with guitarist Alex Gaspar, who not only gave us all the details on the band’s latest album, but also elaborated on what they have in the works for the rest of 2015. Read our conversation below, and keep in touch with …

]]>
Kingmaker have always been a group that thrives on progression. Since bursting onto the scene in the summer of 2009, the Lake County quartet has undergone a number of style and lineup changes, all leading to the release of their latest full-length effort, The Cradle–a bold blend of abrasive riffs, ear-shattering percussion, and poignant lyricism.

We recently spoke with guitarist Alex Gaspar, who not only gave us all the details on the band’s latest album, but also elaborated on what they have in the works for the rest of 2015. Read our conversation below, and keep in touch with Kingmaker here.

Back in February, you guys released your highly-anticipated new album, The Cradle—how does it feel to have it completed and in the hands of fans?

It definitely feels really good considering it was a project that was well over a year [in the making]—we recorded it the very first time back in January of 2014, and then we ended up trying to record it again in the summer, and it wasn’t until the end of the year that we finally recorded the version that we released. It was just such a pain trying to get everything put together, but it felt really good, and we’re really proud of it.

Very cool. As you mentioned, this album has been in the works for quite some time, and despite a number of lineup changes and instances of uncertainty, it has always remained The Cradle. What’s the significance of this title, if any?

Honestly, I think with a lot of the stuff we come up with as a band–I don’t know–I don’t want to say there’s not any meaning behind it, but it was honestly just something we were like, “This is really, really sick” [laughs]. It just kind of became this blanket name that we were like, “Okay, yeah, that’s cool–that’s really awesome, maybe we’ll build something lyrically around it,” and we never felt like we wanted to change it. It always felt like that was sort of the destined name for the project. I can’t remember exactly how it was formed or discovered, but I know Andy, our other guitarist, came up with it. It may be from a movie or something–I can’t really remember, but it’s really bad-ass.

I couldn’t agree more. In much the same way, “Serpent’s Song” has also withstood the test of time since first appearing on Less Faith. Is there any particular reason this song keeps popping up, or is just one of your guys’ favorites?

Originally, we were actually going to put “Blood Thirst” on The Cradle–that was on the original six-song version that we did back in January ’14, but we took it off because we didn’t love it. I think in hindsight it would’ve been cool to maybe replace it with another newer song, but I like it, and we all really liked it, and it was a song that we felt just could’ve been better the second time around. Once we recorded it in the different tuning and in a different tempo (it’s a little faster), we were like, “You know, this song is good enough to bridge the gap between kind of the old Kingmaker and the newer version with Kyle,” and kind of help people get reacquainted with it a little easier. I think that was the reason it stuck around on that record particularly.

Nowadays, there’s sort of this expectation for bands to progress their sound with each new release. Listening to some of your guys’ earlier work (Stay Pissed, Catacomb), you guys clearly have, but this seems especially true of The Cradle. What do you feel sets your newest record apart from your past releases?

Well, like you said, we’ve always been doing something different, and there’s a lot of bands that sound different from release to release, but I think it’s been noted with us because so many of our older fans are such enormous fans of the first three releases specifically. There was definitely a considerable amount of backlash when the style changed. I mean, Less Faith is even way different than the first two. The first two are very old-sounding, kind of beatdown records, and then Less Faith was like a lot darker–no breakdowns on it–and Stay Asleep is very melodic, sad, foreign. The Cradle was kind of a testament to the fact that we refused to stay the same. And a lot of that came from just wanting to play different music now that we’re all in our 20s. Catacomb was written when we were 16, and now we’re a lot older so it’s just different. A lot of it too is the fact that Kyle’s in the band, so you know, we don’t want to play an old style with his vocals, we want to write a style of music that also serves his vocal strength.

Was that shift in sound kind of a unified decision that you all talked about ahead of time, or did it occur naturally as you were writing?

It’s a combination of both. I mentioned that first recording back in January–we recorded it in New York in the studio, and it was a way different record. As we kept writing, months after that recording, we wrote “My Savior,” “My Only Devil,” “Brain Burner,” Awful Disclosures,” and stuff like that, and I don’t know…it was definitely a combination of both. We found that it was a premeditated thing; going into it we had this set idea, but then as the record kept getting pushed off and re-recorded, and as we kept rewriting and readjusting, we realized like, “Oh, we’re really figuring out a lot of stuff.” The final version–the one that we released–is so significantly greater than the original recording, from a songwriting standpoint especially.

You sort of touched on this earlier, but what role did the addition of your guys’ new vocalist, Kyle, have in the direction of The Cradle? I think he has a very unique delivery.

He has an extremely unique delivery. His vocal style is just so different, and his lyrical style is very poetic. He specifically as a vocalist experimented on The Cradle because we brought Kyle into the mix very late in the songwriting process, and he absolutely shined on it. It definitely was one of those things where we kind of rushed him a little bit just because of the time constraints, but he did a great job and met all the deadlines perfectly. But it was definitely a trial period. It was like, “Okay, this is his first time with this band and he’s about to record a record,” [laughs], Overall, I think after this record was said and done, and after we kind of talked about it as a band, he kind of recognized the strength of what he did great, and he knows what he needs to improve on, etc. His role in this band is super huge now, and it’s awesome to have him on board, and have him deliver what he’s been delivering.

Kind of spring boarding off that last question, are there any artists that you feel majorly influence your guys’ sound or style?

Yeah, definitely. As a band, we’re all over the board—-we really like Daughters a lot, Botch, Converge–a lot of those early, mid-2000s mathcore bands. We’re all really big fans of thrash music, like Encrust and stuff. I don’t know…old Norma Jean, like Oh God, The Aftermath. I just saw they’re announcing their 10-year anniversary tour for that record, and I think a bunch of us are going to try to go. That’s a pretty big one for us.

Hell yeah, definitely a classic. And do you personally have a favorite track off the album?

They’re all really good, but I’d probably have to say “My Only Devil.” I think that’s Kyle’s best song, and it’s probably my favorite. It’s got a really cool ending, and I really enjoy that one a lot.

In addition to a more out-of-the-box sound, the release of The Cradle saw sort of a physical rebranding too, mainly in regards to the imagery you guys have been using to represent yourselves. It all seems very premeditated and cohesive. Could you tell me a little bit about that?

As far as like the visual stuff, it’s just specifically supposed to be for this release. We all really enjoy when bands have a myriad of art created for an album, and I like that. I like that theme. It’s kind of like a comic book, punk style, drawn artwork kind of stuff; there’s a lot of yellow in the imagery and things like that. And yeah, a lot of it was just experimenting with different stuff and seeing what looked the coolest, and once we landed on it, we were just like, “This rules, let’s roll with it.” After The Cradle, we’ll retire what we made for that and move on to something else entirely.

This question may be a little premature, but what do you see as the next evolution of Kingmaker’s sound?

Well, we are writing right now. We’re actually taking the summer off, and this is the first summer we’ve taken off from touring since our first tour, which was four years ago in 2011. We’re just writing songs right now, and it’s just going to be for whatever the next release is, and I can definitely tell you that it’s going to be cool [laughs]. You know, every band says “It’s going to be heavier” and “It’s going to be this” or “It’s going to be that,” but it’s just going to be us expanding and trying to make our sound even cooler. We want to make sure the kids are going to like it, and it’s always going to be something you can headbang to or throw an elbow or two to. We’re really excited, and we’ve got some really cool stuff in the works, and we’re excited to reveal it in the coming months.

That’s awesome. I’m stoked to hear it. And while on the topic, do you guys have any other plans for the future? Any touring on the horizon?

We definitely see more touring in our future, for sure. As much as this summer was like, “Oh, we’re bummed we couldn’t get on the road,” it was definitely for the best. I think we really needed to take this summer off and really focus on hammering out songs and just sort making our next few moves. I can promise that in the next two or three months–or hopefully around that general area–we’ll be releasing some information, so definitely stay tuned for that stuff.

We definitely will be. That’s all I’ve got for you today, so is there anything else that you would like to add or would want fans to know?

I guess rather than using this time to talk about anything self-serving, I just want to give a huge shout-out to some bands that are really awesome and really good friends of ours. There’s a band called Our Lady, from Springfield, Illinois, and they’re awesome. We have friends in this band called Ghost Of A Dead Hummingbird from the Chicago suburbs who are a really great band. Arkham from Chicago, Illinois, are really awesome, and yeah, we just have a ton of really, really talented friends, and I of course would spend forever listening to all of them, but those are three that I think a lot of people should really check out that are from our general Illinois area. There’s just a crazy amount of good talent coming up right now, and I’m stoked to have a lot of our friends be a part of it. They all have Bandcamps, so give ‘em a peek.

Interview written and conducted by Kyle Florence
Feature photo courtesy of David Mullis

]]>
1
Gabbie Brown <![CDATA[UTG TV: Parmalee At CMA Music Festival 2015]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1153223 2015-07-03T05:17:47Z 2015-07-03T13:30:58Z We caught up with Parmalee right after they took the stage at CMA Fest in Nashville, Tennessee last month. These guys have been around each other for some time now and know how to have a good time, even with their busy lives. The band had just come back from a performance the night before and spent some time in the airport catching up on sleeping. This of course led to photos being posted of each member caught snoozing. How flattering!

This will be Parmalee’s fourth year at the major music festival that has helped launch major acts in the …

]]>
We caught up with Parmalee right after they took the stage at CMA Fest in Nashville, Tennessee last month. These guys have been around each other for some time now and know how to have a good time, even with their busy lives. The band had just come back from a performance the night before and spent some time in the airport catching up on sleeping. This of course led to photos being posted of each member caught snoozing. How flattering!

This will be Parmalee’s fourth year at the major music festival that has helped launch major acts in the country music scene. In our interview, the four-year veterans take a walk down memory lane as they recall their growth within the festival from 2012 to 2015, and we of course had to find out what these country music stars keep in their pockets.

Produced by: Gabbie Brown

]]>
1
Drew Caruso <![CDATA[toe Return With “My Little Wish”]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1153350 2015-07-02T20:55:02Z 2015-07-02T20:07:20Z Japanese band toe return with their new track, “My Little Wish,” off of the band’s upcoming Topshelf release, Hear You.

The instrumental band write crazy guitar lines that somehow connect within the madness to make beautiful, translucent sound. Fans of American Football, Owen, and all the twinkle daddies should feel right at home with toe.

The band is also playing the US this July – dates can be found here. Be sure to pre-order Hear You here.

Follow us after the jump to listen to the fantastic “My Little Wish.”

]]>
Japanese band toe return with their new track, “My Little Wish,” off of the band’s upcoming Topshelf release, Hear You.

The instrumental band write crazy guitar lines that somehow connect within the madness to make beautiful, translucent sound. Fans of American Football, Owen, and all the twinkle daddies should feel right at home with toe.

The band is also playing the US this July – dates can be found here. Be sure to pre-order Hear You here.

Follow us after the jump to listen to the fantastic “My Little Wish.”

]]>
1
Drew Caruso <![CDATA[As Cities Burn Surprise With New Track “Goldmine”]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1153346 2015-07-02T20:54:24Z 2015-07-02T19:39:34Z As Cities Burn have released another new track, surprising fans with the band’s return to new tunes.

“Goldmine” is a blistering track, featuring thundering drums, screams, brooding atmospheres, and more. Still keeping with the band’s keen sense for melody, guitars thrash back and forth as the two vocals intertwine with one another.

The band will be embarking on a ten year anniversary tour for their hit album, Son, I Loved You At Your Darkest – you can find tickets to those shows here.

Follow us after the jump to listen to “Goldmine.” What do you think?

]]>
As Cities Burn have released another new track, surprising fans with the band’s return to new tunes.

“Goldmine” is a blistering track, featuring thundering drums, screams, brooding atmospheres, and more. Still keeping with the band’s keen sense for melody, guitars thrash back and forth as the two vocals intertwine with one another.

The band will be embarking on a ten year anniversary tour for their hit album, Son, I Loved You At Your Darkest – you can find tickets to those shows here.

Follow us after the jump to listen to “Goldmine.” What do you think?

]]>
1
James Shotwell <![CDATA[Latest ‘Wet Hot American Summer’ Trailer Is Perfect]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1153337 2015-07-02T18:50:06Z 2015-07-02T15:08:49Z Netflix will help everyone return to Camp Firewood for one more wild season of memories when Wet Hot American Summer: First Day Of Camp hits the popular streaming platform on July 31, 2015. Today a new trailer for the mini-series found its way online, and it might just be the funniest thing you see all week.

If you didn’t know by now, First Day Of Camp is being marketed as a prequel to the original WHAS film. The entire original cast will return, including Elizabeth Banks, Michael Ian Black, Bradley Cooper, Judah Friedlander, Janeane Garofalo, Joe Lo Truglio, Ken Marino, …

]]>
Netflix will help everyone return to Camp Firewood for one more wild season of memories when Wet Hot American Summer: First Day Of Camp hits the popular streaming platform on July 31, 2015. Today a new trailer for the mini-series found its way online, and it might just be the funniest thing you see all week.

If you didn’t know by now, First Day Of Camp is being marketed as a prequel to the original WHAS film. The entire original cast will return, including Elizabeth Banks, Michael Ian Black, Bradley Cooper, Judah Friedlander, Janeane Garofalo, Joe Lo Truglio, Ken Marino, Christopher Meloni, Marguerite Moreau, Zak Orth, Amy Poehler, David Hyde Pierce, and Paul Rudd. There are numerous newcomers as well, like Kristen Wiig and Jon Hamm. Everyone appears in the trailer released today, and everyone is given one brief moment to shine. Click below and prepare to laugh.

Every episode of Wet Hot American Summer: First Day Of Camp arrives in four weeks, which gives you plenty of time to revisit the film that started it all. Heck, just buy a copy off Amazon. It’s not like you’re only going to watch it once. That, my friends, is basically impossible.

]]>
1
Kellie Gannon http://underthegunreview.net <![CDATA[UTG PHOTOS: Imagine Dragons In Cleveland, OH (6/22/15)]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1153310 2015-07-02T10:17:30Z 2015-07-02T14:00:01Z Under The Gun Review sent photographer Kellie Gannon to Quicken Loans Area in Cleveland, OH to shoot Imagine Dragons on June 22.

Recently, Quicken Loans Arena in Cleveland saw a whole lot of action, or lack thereof if we’re considering the Cavs during NBA Finals (just like every other year, next year is our year… seriously… maybe… COME ON, LEBRON!) Anyway, on a humid, rainy night less than a week after that final fateful basketball game, The Q was thankfully rocking to a much different, upbeat tune.

Hailing from Vegas and putting on a Sin City-worthy show, Imagine Dragons have …

]]>
Under The Gun Review sent photographer Kellie Gannon to Quicken Loans Area in Cleveland, OH to shoot Imagine Dragons on June 22.

Recently, Quicken Loans Arena in Cleveland saw a whole lot of action, or lack thereof if we’re considering the Cavs during NBA Finals (just like every other year, next year is our year… seriously… maybe… COME ON, LEBRON!) Anyway, on a humid, rainy night less than a week after that final fateful basketball game, The Q was thankfully rocking to a much different, upbeat tune.

Hailing from Vegas and putting on a Sin City-worthy show, Imagine Dragons have been making waves in the music industry for a few years now. They formed six years ago and were catapulted into the limelight in 2012 with their heavy-hitting, radio friendly debut album, Night Visions. Having quite a few large tours and festivals under their belt in such a short time, they are no stranger to filling large venues and putting on larger than life stage shows. This current arena tour, in support of their sophomore album, Smoke + Mirrors, is exactly what Imagine Dragons fans have been waiting in anticipation for.

Direct support on the tour came from Halsey and Metric, both incredible acts in their own right. Young, blue-haired rocker chick Halsey jump-started the night with a handful of her catchy, dark tunes and Metric’s infectious energy got the crowd on their feet and eager for Imagine Dragons.

Imagine Dragons couldn’t just take the stage like any other band though. The stage before their set was rigged with curtains that dropped immediately following the first notes of the intro song and front man Dan Reynolds immediately traversed the triangular stage onto a catwalk over the crowd, causing the arena to erupt in shrill, adolescent shrieks. They played the majority of their new songs from Smoke + Mirrors including current hit single “Shots,” while also pleasing the crowd with older hits including “Radioactive” and “It’s Time.” Drummer Daniel Platzman certainly held down the rhythm all night, but had a hand from his three band members via floor toms scattered onstage during various songs, including “Top of The World.”

Check out Imagine Dragons in a city near you and enjoy the photos from this wild, energetic show!


IMAGINE DRAGONS


Imagine Dragons 003

Imagine Dragons 002

Imagine Dragons 001

Imagine Dragons 004

Imagine Dragons 005

Imagine Dragons 006

Imagine Dragons 007

Imagine Dragons 008

Imagine Dragons 009

Imagine Dragons 010

Imagine Dragons 011

Imagine Dragons 012

Imagine Dragons 013

]]>
1
Dana Reandelar http://twitter.com/danarndlr <![CDATA[Nai Harvest Release New Music Video For “Ocean Of Madness”]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1153328 2015-07-02T10:11:16Z 2015-07-02T13:00:53Z Sheffield, UK indie-emo duo Nai Harvest released their sophomore record, Hairball, this past April. Today, with the help of director Eric Crisp, they released a brand new music video for their song “Ocean Of Madness.”

The dreamy ballad is brought to life with lead singer Ben Thompson and drummer Lew Currie having a lot of fun in what appears to be a room full of a number of their friends dressed up in very odd costumes. Bunnies in gas masks, “happy birthday” signs, and neon wigs, among others? Must have been a great party.

“I had the idea a …

]]>
Sheffield, UK indie-emo duo Nai Harvest released their sophomore record, Hairball, this past April. Today, with the help of director Eric Crisp, they released a brand new music video for their song “Ocean Of Madness.”

The dreamy ballad is brought to life with lead singer Ben Thompson and drummer Lew Currie having a lot of fun in what appears to be a room full of a number of their friends dressed up in very odd costumes. Bunnies in gas masks, “happy birthday” signs, and neon wigs, among others? Must have been a great party.

“I had the idea a while ago for a video that was based on a band playing in the middle of a circular dolly track, so that was the sort of starting point for the video,” Ed Crisp, the music video’s director shares with Stereogum. “Calum and I got some ideas from the internet and set about building a dolly that can move on a track made of PVC pipe, pure DIY all the way. The concept was built around that, we wanted it to be kinda weird, with loads to look at and loads going on, I think it turned out pretty well considering we only had a day of filming including setting up and testing the dolly.”

The band is set to play two UK dates this month. More info can be found here. You can grab yourself a copy of Hairball here. Check out the new music video for “Ocean Of Madness” below.

]]>
1
Sam Cohen <![CDATA[MOVIE REVIEW: ‘Terminator Genisys’ Is More Than A Bit Rusty]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1153300 2015-07-01T15:59:11Z 2015-07-01T15:59:11Z Film: Terminator Genisys
Starring: Jai Courtney, Emilia Clarke, Arnold Schwarzenegger
Directed By: Alan Taylor

“Old, but not obsolete.” This line reverberates throughout the narrative of the new reboot/sequel/studio machination, Terminator Genisys. As the camera lingers on Schwarzenegger’s automated façade, we see that the lines on his face are more noticeable than ever. A sign of passing times, one would say. Time has most certainly passed since director James Cameron built the foundation for the franchise on top of schlocky B-movie tropes like relentless violence, threadbare sci-fi concepts and seemingly invincible villains. But this is 2015, folks – the time …

]]>
Film: Terminator Genisys
Starring: Jai Courtney, Emilia Clarke, Arnold Schwarzenegger
Directed By: Alan Taylor

“Old, but not obsolete.” This line reverberates throughout the narrative of the new reboot/sequel/studio machination, Terminator Genisys. As the camera lingers on Schwarzenegger’s automated façade, we see that the lines on his face are more noticeable than ever. A sign of passing times, one would say. Time has most certainly passed since director James Cameron built the foundation for the franchise on top of schlocky B-movie tropes like relentless violence, threadbare sci-fi concepts and seemingly invincible villains. But this is 2015, folks – the time when that kind of nutty sci-fi must be over-explained until convolution is achieved. Some things are better left unsaid and under-exploited; however, that isn’t Terminator Genisys’ bag. It’s much more interested in cheaply calling back to its predecessors, sporting a framework indicative of the superhero genre’s increasingly huge influence on blockbusters, and setting the stage for installments to come. This one is programmed to dull.

It’s Los Angeles in 2029 and John Connor (this time played by Jason Clarke) is about to lead an attack that would cripple Skynet once and for all. After discovering Skynet’s major weapon, a time machine, John sends Kyle Reese (Jai Courtney) back in time to 1984 to save Sarah Connor (Emilia Clarke) from one of Skynet’s many robot assassins. Things are different though. Sarah has already destroyed the terminator sent back to kill her with the aid of pops (Arnold Schwarzenegger), another terminator programmed to protect Sarah. There’s a new foe in town though and it has raised the stakes.

Terminator Genisys is the perfect example of a film that believes it can use the goodwill drummed up by its predecessors. While that may be true, Genisys makes it clear that those callbacks and references won’t be the only things reused from other films. Akin to Marvel’s most recent effort, Avengers: Age of Ultron, a physical MacGuffin (plot motivator with little explanation) in the form of the new foe is chased around by the trio of heroes so that judgment day can be averted, once again. Nothing in this effort indicates that the filmmakers wanted to develop something interesting in Terminator lore, like an interesting serial that complements the source material. The explosions are big, the chase scenes are endless, and the mid-credits stinger is Marvel-level insipid. The whole film is a product to be marketed, sold and then sequel-ed by people who believe bombastically dull stories will put butts in seats. I think you already know that answer. There’s still a certain dinosaur movie eating up the box office with a vacuous grin.

The performances both save and make the film sadder to watch. Schwarzenegger’s robotic stoicism is intact but his one-liners never land. When humanistic qualities are added to his moments, they feel cheap and never earned. Emilia Clarke is decent as the new iteration of Sarah Connor. This is a different Sarah though. One already battle-hardened and never looked down upon by others for her prophetic looks into a possible destructive future. Jai Courtney heralds back to Sam Worthington’s performance in Terminator Salvation – one replacing vigor and charm with lifeless line readings and robotic attempts at charm. Jason Clarke as Connor is the biggest loss in the film, though. The kind of confliction in the face of violence he showed in Zero Dark Thirty isn’t here. But again, this isn’t the same John Connor we grew up knowing. J.K. Simmons makes a needed comedic appearance, luckily.

What is it about the Terminator series that resonates with audiences? To me, it was all about the practical effects and John Carpenter-esque qualities to the first and second films. 1984’s The Terminator was a seedy action-thriller bordering on horror with enough sci-fi qualities to set itself from the pack. The second film, although being a bit of a slog, is a sequel that expounds upon the thrills of the original while sticking to the mythos set by the first film. The third and fourth films? Well, their respective quality ranges from fine to dull. Terminator Genisys is what happens when those sci-fi qualities trump the B-movie ones. When the origin of your franchise has the sci-fi depth of Philip K. Dick fan fiction, it’s probably not best to expand upon that mythos. That’s exactly what Genisys does. It tries to make camp into some kind of well-informed fiction by way of nutty, convoluted science.

The visuals are all too familiar as well. There are countless sequences of destruction muddled by an orange tinge, unsaturated colors dulled by 3D post-conversion and the constant fetishistic need for the characters to survive some kind of destructive act. All of the action sequences are shot and scored like they have to carry the heft of the finale. Alas though, that won’t be coming for another two hours.

What is Terminator Genisys’ purpose in the summer of 2015? To remind us that Mad Max: Fury Road was here to save us all and the world didn’t pay attention.

GRADE: D+

Review written by Sam Cohen (follow him on Twitter!)

]]>
1
Dana Reandelar http://twitter.com/danarndlr <![CDATA[UTG PREMIERE: Mirror Eyes Debut Their New EP, ‘Reality’]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1153254 2015-07-01T12:31:50Z 2015-07-01T14:01:28Z Coming together from the Northeast, the Midwest, and the South, melodic hardcore five-piece Mirror Eyes are here to impress and offer diverse musical stylings to a vast majority of music lovers. Today the band is thrilled to premiere their debut EP, entitled Reality.

Undeniably an homage to those that have brought melodic hardcore to the forefront, Reality changes in shape and color after every track. Similarly, the band also brings to the table nuances that recreate some of our most beloved acts’ sound today.

The collection initially calls to mind a more aggressive PVRIS or early-era New Years Day

]]>
Coming together from the Northeast, the Midwest, and the South, melodic hardcore five-piece Mirror Eyes are here to impress and offer diverse musical stylings to a vast majority of music lovers. Today the band is thrilled to premiere their debut EP, entitled Reality.

Undeniably an homage to those that have brought melodic hardcore to the forefront, Reality changes in shape and color after every track. Similarly, the band also brings to the table nuances that recreate some of our most beloved acts’ sound today.

The collection initially calls to mind a more aggressive PVRIS or early-era New Years Day. It then transforms to a fusion of Circa Survive and Pierce the Veil, and closes off the ride with an elaborate synthesis of all four.

“We are really excited about the way the EP came out,” the band shares. “Going into the studio for the first time together, we didn’t know what to expect but we couldn’t be more happy with the end result. The EP embodies everyone’s individual influences. We are excited and anxious to let the world hear.”

Make sure to catch the band live during the Nashville date of Warped Tour on July 1, and again at GameChangerWorld in New Jersey on August 8.

Reality is officially out today, July 1, and you can stream it in full below. You may also purchase it via their Bandcamp. Don’t forget to leave a comment and let us know what you think!

unnamed-3

]]>
1
Kyle Florence http://underthegunreview.net <![CDATA[Knuckle Puck Share “True Contrite” Off ‘Copacetic’]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1153286 2015-06-30T20:40:15Z 2015-06-30T20:40:15Z Knuckle Puck have joined forces with SPIN to begin streaming a new track titled “True Contrite.” Give it a listen by following the jump below.

The group’s latest single is taken from their impending debut album, Copacetic, which is set to arrive on July 31 via Rise Records. It is preceded by the equally infectious “Disdain,” which hit the web about a week back. If you dig one or both tracks, you can snag a pre-order here.

Share your thoughts with us in the comments, and follow UTG on Twitter for more updates on all your …

]]>
Knuckle Puck have joined forces with SPIN to begin streaming a new track titled “True Contrite.” Give it a listen by following the jump below.

The group’s latest single is taken from their impending debut album, Copacetic, which is set to arrive on July 31 via Rise Records. It is preceded by the equally infectious “Disdain,” which hit the web about a week back. If you dig one or both tracks, you can snag a pre-order here.

Share your thoughts with us in the comments, and follow UTG on Twitter for more updates on all your favorite artists.

]]>
1
Kyle Florence http://underthegunreview.net <![CDATA[Caspian Announce New Album, ‘Dust & Disquiet’]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1153271 2015-06-30T19:25:14Z 2015-06-30T19:25:14Z Caspian will release their fourth studio album, Dust & Disquiet, on September 25 via Triple Crown Records. It follows 2013’s Hymn For The Greatest Generation, and will act as the group’s first full-length effort since the unexpected passing of bassist Chris Friedrich.

To celebrate said announcement, the band has also shared the record’s moving lead single, “Sad Heart Of Mine.” Give it a listen after the break (via Noisey), and let us know what you think in the replies.

The Massachusetts post-rockers will spend a majority of September and October on the road, occasionally sharing the stage …

]]>
Caspian will release their fourth studio album, Dust & Disquiet, on September 25 via Triple Crown Records. It follows 2013’s Hymn For The Greatest Generation, and will act as the group’s first full-length effort since the unexpected passing of bassist Chris Friedrich.

To celebrate said announcement, the band has also shared the record’s moving lead single, “Sad Heart Of Mine.” Give it a listen after the break (via Noisey), and let us know what you think in the replies.

The Massachusetts post-rockers will spend a majority of September and October on the road, occasionally sharing the stage with Circle Takes The Square. If you’d like to get in on the action, a full list of upcoming tour dates can additionally be found below.

Caspian Fall Tour 2015

]]>
0
Kyle Florence http://underthegunreview.net <![CDATA[The Black Dahlia Murder Unveil First ‘Abysmal’ Single]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1153263 2015-06-30T18:14:55Z 2015-06-30T18:14:55Z In anticipation of their seventh full-length album, Abysmal, The Black Dahlia Murder have graced fans with a brand new ripper titled “Vlad, Son Of The Dragon.” Stream it below, and if you’re a fan, pick up a pre-order here.

While I’ve always been somewhat indifferent to the Michigan outfit’s thrashy brand of death metal, I firmly believe that their latest single is a huge step in the right direction. There’s a lot more at work here than strung-together riffs, and after jamming this track a few times, I’ll definitely be making time for Abysmal when it drops on …

]]>
In anticipation of their seventh full-length album, Abysmal, The Black Dahlia Murder have graced fans with a brand new ripper titled “Vlad, Son Of The Dragon.” Stream it below, and if you’re a fan, pick up a pre-order here.

While I’ve always been somewhat indifferent to the Michigan outfit’s thrashy brand of death metal, I firmly believe that their latest single is a huge step in the right direction. There’s a lot more at work here than strung-together riffs, and after jamming this track a few times, I’ll definitely be making time for Abysmal when it drops on September 18. If you will too, let us know in the comments section.

]]>
0