Under the Gun Review Entertainment news for today's generation 2014-09-02T04:35:22Z http://www.underthegunreview.net/feed/atom/ WordPress Brenton Harris <![CDATA[The Getaway Plan Announce ‘Dark Horses,’ Launch PledgeMusic Campaign]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1128685 2014-09-02T04:35:22Z 2014-09-02T04:35:22Z Over the course of the last decade, Australia’s The Getaway Plan have evolved from teenage post-hardcore wunderkinds into one of the nation’s most successful and critically acclaimed rock bands. It has been a journey marked by incredible highs (such as their debut Other Voices, Other Rooms debuting at #14 on the Australian charts) crushing lows (the band went on an unplanned hiatus from 2009-2010, during which a former tour manager and close friend of the band was convicted with several sexual offences for which he was jailed for 16 years, providing an unwelcome run on front pages of the national …

]]>
Over the course of the last decade, Australia’s The Getaway Plan have evolved from teenage post-hardcore wunderkinds into one of the nation’s most successful and critically acclaimed rock bands. It has been a journey marked by incredible highs (such as their debut Other Voices, Other Rooms debuting at #14 on the Australian charts) crushing lows (the band went on an unplanned hiatus from 2009-2010, during which a former tour manager and close friend of the band was convicted with several sexual offences for which he was jailed for 16 years, providing an unwelcome run on front pages of the national press for the band) and of truly remarkable personal and musical growth.

Having reclaimed their place in the Australian music landscape by virtue of the critically acclaimed and musically ambitious album Requiem in 2011, the band furthered their evolution with 2013’s independently released double A-side Lovesick/Mirrors and the occasional live show, while working tirelessly in the background on crafting the next chapter of their musical story. Today, fans and industry folk alike were granted an insight into what that chapter may contain, as the band announced that they will be funding their forthcoming record, Dark Horses, via crowd funding site PledgeMusic. The band made the announcement via a heartfelt video to their fans in which principal songwriters Matthew Wright and Clint Splattering state their hopes, aspirations and intentions for the album and the role they hope it will play in the progression of their band moving forward.

Excitingly for fans, all pledgers will receive an instant download of an exclusive 4-track acoustic EP titled Journaux, which will feature re-imaginings of three favourites, alongside one previously unreleased B-side, Untitled,” as well as a 12-month ‘AccessPass’ which will provide exclusive access to a steady stream of content covering all aspects of the recording process.

The video announcement and the rest of the information relating to the campaign can be found here

*feature photo courtesy of Tim O’keefe

]]>
0
Kriston McConnell http://underthegunreview.net <![CDATA[Emarosa Stream ‘Versus’ In Full]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1128673 2014-09-02T01:14:42Z 2014-09-01T20:03:12Z Fans have been waiting for what seems like forever to finally hear Emarosa‘s new album, and at long last the wait is over. Versus is currently available to stream in its entirety through Rise Records’ YouTube channel. You can also check it out below the break.

If you haven’t pre-ordered the album yet, be sure to grab yourself a copy while you still can! Bundles can be purchased on MerchNow or digital copies are available through iTunes.

]]>
Fans have been waiting for what seems like forever to finally hear Emarosa‘s new album, and at long last the wait is over. Versus is currently available to stream in its entirety through Rise Records’ YouTube channel. You can also check it out below the break.

If you haven’t pre-ordered the album yet, be sure to grab yourself a copy while you still can! Bundles can be purchased on MerchNow or digital copies are available through iTunes.

]]>
0
Dana Reandelar http://twitter.com/danarndlr <![CDATA[LISTEN: New Foo Fighters Audio Clip from ‘Sonic Highways’]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1128652 2014-09-01T19:28:50Z 2014-09-01T19:28:50Z As we here at UTG have talked about in the past, HBO’s new eight-part documentary series featuring David Grohl (as the director) and the other members of Foo Fighters, entitled Sonic Highways, is scheduled to hit the airwaves on October 17 this year.

The documentary’s trailer showcases bits of the band’s new music off of their upcoming record. This new record, which is due out a month after the series premiere, is also entitled Sonic Highways and is proving to be quite the exciting new discography addition.

Below you can find a vine clip from Bob Moczydlowsky, Twitter’s …

]]>
As we here at UTG have talked about in the past, HBO’s new eight-part documentary series featuring David Grohl (as the director) and the other members of Foo Fighters, entitled Sonic Highways, is scheduled to hit the airwaves on October 17 this year.

The documentary’s trailer showcases bits of the band’s new music off of their upcoming record. This new record, which is due out a month after the series premiere, is also entitled Sonic Highways and is proving to be quite the exciting new discography addition.

Below you can find a vine clip from Bob Moczydlowsky, Twitter’s new Head of Music presenting a little bit of guitars from the band’s new record. Even at the measly six-second clip, it already does sound like the music takes its influences from all over the country. Appropriately, Grohl talks about this in the trailer and says, “I really believe the environment in which you write or record an album influences the musical result.”

]]>
0
Ryan Kappy <![CDATA[Finch Release New Song “Anywhere But Here”]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1128651 2014-09-01T19:22:38Z 2014-09-01T19:22:38Z Finch are gearing up to release their latest record Back To Oblivion, which comes out September 30 via Razor & Tie Records. Today, the band has released the next song off the record entitled “Anywhere But Here,” which premiered over at Bullett today.

The song at first starts subtly with the intro and verse before the chorus kicks in with singer Nate Barcalow’s signature vocal delivery brightening the song. The bridge has the best parts of the track with both guitars feeding off each other with effects before Barcalow lets out a blatant scream before the final chorus. Check …

]]>
Finch are gearing up to release their latest record Back To Oblivion, which comes out September 30 via Razor & Tie Records. Today, the band has released the next song off the record entitled “Anywhere But Here,” which premiered over at Bullett today.

The song at first starts subtly with the intro and verse before the chorus kicks in with singer Nate Barcalow’s signature vocal delivery brightening the song. The bridge has the best parts of the track with both guitars feeding off each other with effects before Barcalow lets out a blatant scream before the final chorus. Check out the stream of the song below after the jump.

If you haven’t yet, check out the last track that was released from the record, titled “Two Guns To The Temple”. Also, below are the dates of the band’s headlining fall tour they will be going on with Maps & Atlases and Weatherbox.

Finch dates w/ Maps & Atlases and Weatherbox:
Sep 30 – San Diego, CA – Casbah
Oct 04 – Santa Ana, CA – Observatory
Oct 08 – Las Vegas, NV – Hard Rock
Oct 10 – Salt Lake City, UT – In The Venue
Oct 11 – Denver, CO – Summit Music Hall
Oct 13 – Minneapolis, MN – Mill City Nights
Oct 14 – Chicago, IL – Bottom Lounge
Oct 15 – Detroit, MI – St. Andrews
Oct 17 – Pittsburgh, PA – Mr. Smalls
Oct 18 – New York, NY – Gramercy Theater
Oct 19 – Philadelphia, PA – EFC
Oct 20 – Boston, MA – Paradise
Oct 22 – Baltimore, MD – Soundstage
Oct 23 – Raleigh, MC – Lincoln Theater
Oct 24 – Jacksonville, FL – Freebird
Oct 25 – Orlando, FL – The Beacham
Oct 26 – Atlanta, GA – Masquerade
Oct 28 – Houston, TX – Warehouse
Oct 29 – San Antonio, TX – Backstage Live
Oct 30 – Austin, TX – Red 7
Nov 01 – Tucson, AZ – TBD
Nov 02 – Phoenix, AZ – Joes Grotto
Nov 05 – San Francisco, CA – Slims
Nov 06 – Sacramento, CA – Slims
Nov 07 – Los Angeles, CA – Roxy
Nov 08 – Ventura, CA – Ventura Theatre

]]>
0
Dana Reandelar http://twitter.com/danarndlr <![CDATA[Ryan Adams Streams Upcoming Self-Titled Album]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1128636 2014-09-01T19:25:45Z 2014-09-01T15:28:43Z September 1 marks the time of the year where social media fills up with Green Day puns about waking up, and a time of the year where a sudden influx of Countdown to Christmas memes surface. This year’s September 1, however, is also filled with the excitement over the fact that Ryan Adams, through NPR, has shared a stream of his highly-anticipated self-titled album, which happens to be his fourteenth (incredible) record to date.

After his 2011 release of Ashes & Fire, fans of the former Whiskeytown and The Cardinals front man were reasonably unsure of whether or not …

]]>
September 1 marks the time of the year where social media fills up with Green Day puns about waking up, and a time of the year where a sudden influx of Countdown to Christmas memes surface. This year’s September 1, however, is also filled with the excitement over the fact that Ryan Adams, through NPR, has shared a stream of his highly-anticipated self-titled album, which happens to be his fourteenth (incredible) record to date.

After his 2011 release of Ashes & Fire, fans of the former Whiskeytown and The Cardinals front man were reasonably unsure of whether or not they would be hearing new music from Adams any time soon. Several issues arose with regards to the supposed plans of producing of a new record with Glyn Johns in 2012, which Adams and his team eventually called off. Having put out EPs with other bands he has formed, and having helped produce several heavier sounding records (with PAX AM) within the last four years after that 2011 release, fans were ready for some new alt-country material.

Due out on September 9 via PAX AM, Ryan Adams is very resonant of older Whiskeytown and Bruce Springsteen hits, which are guaranteed to appeal greatly to his listeners.

You can stream Ryan Adams (via NPR) here.

]]>
0
James Shotwell <![CDATA[Rae Sremmurd Streams “No Flex Zone” Remix Featuring Pusha T and Nicki Minaj]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1128642 2014-09-01T19:59:26Z 2014-09-01T15:15:01Z We could argue about who dominated the pop charts all summer long, but when it comes to hip-hop there is no question over who has been in control of the radio game during 2014′s hottest months.

Rae Sremmurd have risen from obscurity to international fame in about four months, and it’s thanks to the Mike Will Made It produced hit, “No Flex Zone.” The song first hit the net in May, and in the weeks following release it gained momentum in the media thanks to remixes by Busta Rhymes, Lil Kim, Juicy J, and more. If you …

]]>
We could argue about who dominated the pop charts all summer long, but when it comes to hip-hop there is no question over who has been in control of the radio game during 2014′s hottest months.

Rae Sremmurd have risen from obscurity to international fame in about four months, and it’s thanks to the Mike Will Made It produced hit, “No Flex Zone.” The song first hit the net in May, and in the weeks following release it gained momentum in the media thanks to remixes by Busta Rhymes, Lil Kim, Juicy J, and more. If you somehow slept on the original, check out the song’s official video at the end of this post.

This weekend, the duo known as Rae Sremmurd surprised fans by releasing the long-awaited remix to “No Flex Zone.” The updated track features a new verse from the group, as well as previously released remix verses from Nicki Minaj and Pusha T. You can stream the song below:

I assume Rae Sremmurd will have another single out by the end of the year, but for now it seems the duo is perfectly fine riding the wave of fame that “No Flex Zone” has brought their way. We’ll update you when more information on their plans become available.

]]>
0
Derek Scancarelli <![CDATA[UTG EXCLUSIVE: John Nolan Talks ‘Bridge And Tunnel,’ TBS, And Straylight Run]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1128614 2014-09-01T06:05:50Z 2014-09-01T15:00:32Z If you may have noticed, we here at Under The Gun Review are big supporters of the independent film Bridge and Tunnel, which features an overwhelming amount of talent from cast, to crew, to composers. A few months ago, we ran an interview with Ryan Hunter (NK, Envy On The Coast) where he discussed creating an original score for the film.

We are now proud to bring you an exclusive one-on-one sit-down with John Nolan, the renowned guitarist and vocalist of Taking Back Sunday. We spoke to Nolan on set of a video shoot for his track “Here …

]]>
If you may have noticed, we here at Under The Gun Review are big supporters of the independent film Bridge and Tunnel, which features an overwhelming amount of talent from cast, to crew, to composers. A few months ago, we ran an interview with Ryan Hunter (NK, Envy On The Coast) where he discussed creating an original score for the film.

We are now proud to bring you an exclusive one-on-one sit-down with John Nolan, the renowned guitarist and vocalist of Taking Back Sunday. We spoke to Nolan on set of a video shoot for his track “Here Comes The Wolf,” an original he’d written just for Bridge and Tunnel. The video, which is yet to be released, displays a unique side of John Nolan I can assure you you’ve never seen before. The track itself is amazing and introspective, as always, and even won an award at the Long Island International Film Expo.

Check below to watch our interview where we discuss Nolan’s involvement in Bridge and Tunnel, his extensive touring with Taking Back Sunday and the likelihood of Straylight Run reforming for a 10-year anniversary of their self-titled EP.

Nolan and Brescia

Produced by: Derek Scancarelli
Check out D. SKANK PHOTOGRAPHY.

]]>
0
Derek Scancarelli <![CDATA[MOVIE REVIEW: ‘Bridge and Tunnel’ Gets Long Island Right]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1128587 2014-09-01T16:44:03Z 2014-09-01T14:00:58Z Film: Bridge and Tunnel
Starring: Ryan Metcalf, Arjun Gupta, Mary Kate Wiles
Directed by: Jason Michael Brescia

Simply speaking, Bridge and Tunnel is the film I didn’t know I was waiting for. Director Jason Michael Brescia follows up his 2012 release The Newest Pledge in a complete directional change. This story fuses elements of humor, realism, tragedy, and camaraderie in a tale that isn’t flashy or forced. But to be honest, I think I enjoyed this movie because I am living this movie.

The plot takes place in current day Long Island, NY, where 20-somethings struggle to pave their lives’ …

]]>
Film: Bridge and Tunnel
Starring: Ryan Metcalf, Arjun Gupta, Mary Kate Wiles
Directed by: Jason Michael Brescia

Simply speaking, Bridge and Tunnel is the film I didn’t know I was waiting for. Director Jason Michael Brescia follows up his 2012 release The Newest Pledge in a complete directional change. This story fuses elements of humor, realism, tragedy, and camaraderie in a tale that isn’t flashy or forced. But to be honest, I think I enjoyed this movie because I am living this movie.

The plot takes place in current day Long Island, NY, where 20-somethings struggle to pave their lives’ paths in a post-educational world. In a community that has been stricken with economic collapse and a natural disaster as destructive as Hurricane Sandy, the stresses of facing adulthood make the future seem meek, underwhelming and likely just as unfulfilling. But that grim attitude can’t always reign supreme for the New York natives, as the promise of lifelong friendship will always be the driving force keeping their ship afloat.

I may not be quite at the point in my life where I’m looking to get married or have kids, but I’m sure that juncture isn’t too far off. I was born and raised in Long Island and will wholly embrace the regional quirks portrayed by the likes of Joe Murphy (Nate), Ryan Metcalf (Sal), Arjun Gupta (Terry) and the rest of the cast. Whether you’re from Queens or San Diego, every area has their own habits and go-to references. This film manages to represent the area in which it takes place, with only one or two shoehorned bagel or pizza references. It also doesn’t hurt that the male leads are perfectly complimented by some of the most talented and beautiful actresses that Brescia could’ve gotten hold of. Mary Kate Wiles (The Lizzie Bennet Diaries), Natalie Knepp (Orange Is The New Black, Think Tank) and Annet Mahendru (The Americans, The Blacklist) hold their own in charm, quirk, and purveyance.

The nuance of Bridge and Tunnel was set by a score created by Ryan Hunter (NK, Envy On The Coast) and a handful of original tracks recorded just for the soundtrack. The Long Island roots are strong with John Nolan’s (Taking Back Sunday) track “Here Come’s The Wolf” and Vinnie Caruana’s (The Movielife, I Am The Avalanche) “It’s Been Way Too Long.” If you listen close to one of the bar scenes, you’ll be sure to notice the boys in Bayside playing in the background. Rightfully so, because beer tastes better when Bayside is riffing.

Character development is key in Bridge and Tunnel. When I first finished watching the initial cut of the film, I almost felt like I was waiting for my screen to offer me episode two. That wasn’t for a lack of closure or a concise ending, but because the individual characters truly had an identity that was independent of the surrounding cast. Of course, there’s the college-educated funny guy bartender, the romantic and gullible indebted lawyer, the beautiful independent small business owner, and the devout Giants fan who thinks it’s funny to joke in his DUI counseling sessions. But even the knuckleheads in this flick show genuine depth; you can relate to them and you understand them, probably because you grew up around someone just like them.

For a feature that manages to include dramatics as upsetting as arrest, violence, drug abuse and even death, you aren’t in gut-wrenching pain by the end. I’m not sure if the filmmakers had a direct intention on how you should feel at the end, but I’d like to think it’s different for everyone that watches it. The use of killer cameos helped to counter-balance the heavier moments. I’d say the regular appearances by Mike Jones, who you may remember as the WWF wrestler “Virgil,” or stand-up comedian Kurt Metzger being arrested in an alcoholic’s counseling session add to the lighthearted positive energy. Oh, and Wass Stevens makes every scene he’s in that much better.

For those who aren’t experiencing some of the issues that the characters in the film are dealing with, it would be easy to shrug them off as “First World Problems.” But I have a bone to pick with those dismissive people. The characters of this film have always had a place to live, a car to drive, and food to eat. So have I. But that doesn’t negate the fact that having $100,000 in student debt is an enormous and depressing undertaking. It doesn’t change that those around us who may appear to be happy could be abusing prescription medication or that understanding what love is will never be an easy thing to do.

For a truly localized and independent film, Bridge and Tunnel hits the nail on the head. The acting, the original score and soundtrack and the locations are authentic and well thought out. It doesn’t hurt that it all comes together on the Long Island Rail Road; a lot of us locals know how that goes.

GRADE: A-

Review written by Derek Scancarelli

]]>
0
Derek Scancarelli <![CDATA[UTG SESSION: Sleep On It, Part 2 – Train Tracks]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1128322 2014-09-01T05:10:55Z 2014-09-01T13:00:45Z UTG TV is happy to present you with the second installment of our UTG Session with the boys in Sleep On It. For part one, we brought you an interview with the band from their first ever national tour (‘The Rebel Alliance Tour’), in addition to an acoustic rendition of a brand new track called “Sunrise.”

Today, we bring you two tracks off their debut EP Everything, All At Once, which we recorded alongside some train tracks in Rockville Centre, NY. The track “Cope” was actually premiered through Under The Gun Review back in February. We couldn’t …

]]>
UTG TV is happy to present you with the second installment of our UTG Session with the boys in Sleep On It. For part one, we brought you an interview with the band from their first ever national tour (‘The Rebel Alliance Tour’), in addition to an acoustic rendition of a brand new track called “Sunrise.”

Today, we bring you two tracks off their debut EP Everything, All At Once, which we recorded alongside some train tracks in Rockville Centre, NY. The track “Cope” was actually premiered through Under The Gun Review back in February. We couldn’t be happier to develop such a great relationship with these guys early on in their career and be any kind of assistance in their much-deserved rise in popularity.

Keep your eyes on Sleep On It and be sure to check out these exclusive videos after the jump. We even included a photo of the band’s tour tattoos below!

Rebel Alliance Tattoo

TJ Rebel Alliance Tattoo

Produced by: Derek Scancarelli
Check out D. SKANK PHOTOGRAPHY.

]]>
0
Adrian Garza http://adriangarzajams.tumblr.com <![CDATA[‘Guardians of the Galaxy’ Continues its Box Office Romp this Three-Day Weekend]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1128577 2014-08-31T22:45:17Z 2014-08-31T17:31:36Z It’s official, Guardians of the Galaxy will be known as THE movie of the summer. If not for the hilarious one-liners, stellar soundtrack, and headline-worthy unofficial merchandise, then for its dominance as this quarter’s top film, with $274 thousand dollars made domestically since its August 1 release date. This weekend, the Marvel Studios film topped the charts with the $16.3 thousand dollar pull that it made.

As Above/So Below made its debut this weekend and made around $8.3 million dollars, putting the horror flick not too far behind Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles and If I Stay, which made …

]]>
It’s official, Guardians of the Galaxy will be known as THE movie of the summer. If not for the hilarious one-liners, stellar soundtrack, and headline-worthy unofficial merchandise, then for its dominance as this quarter’s top film, with $274 thousand dollars made domestically since its August 1 release date. This weekend, the Marvel Studios film topped the charts with the $16.3 thousand dollar pull that it made.

As Above/So Below made its debut this weekend and made around $8.3 million dollars, putting the horror flick not too far behind Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles and If I Stay, which made $11.75 million and $9.2 million, respectively. Pierce Brosnan’s The November Man also went into theaters this week, and made a meager $7.66 million dollars.

Be sure to check out our reviews of As Above/So Below and The November Man before following the jump to see this weekend’s top ten highest grossing films.

  1. Guardians of the Galaxy – $16,310,000
  2. Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles – $11,750,00
  3. If I Stay $9,260,000
  4. As Above/So Below – $8,340,000
  5. Let’s Be Cops $8,200,000
  6. The November Man – $7,660,000
  7. When the Game Stands Tall $5,650,000
  8. The Giver $5,250,000
  9. The Hundred-Foot Journey $4,600,000
  10. The Expendables 3 $3,500,000
]]>
0
James Shotwell <![CDATA[There’s Something Irresistible About Radical Something’s “Cali Get Down”]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1128558 2014-08-30T04:29:25Z 2014-08-30T16:12:25Z Several weeks ago we brought you an audio stream of a new song titled “Cali Get Down” by a band we had never previously covered called Radical Something. That same group has since released a video for the that single, and we have only fallen further in love with their unique take on modern pop rock.

I have tried and spectacularly failed to explain the sound of Radical Something at least a half dozen times this month. The closest I have come to nailing it, at least according to people I’ve spoken with, is a more mature …

]]>
Several weeks ago we brought you an audio stream of a new song titled “Cali Get Down” by a band we had never previously covered called Radical Something. That same group has since released a video for the that single, and we have only fallen further in love with their unique take on modern pop rock.

I have tried and spectacularly failed to explain the sound of Radical Something at least a half dozen times this month. The closest I have come to nailing it, at least according to people I’ve spoken with, is a more mature take on the sound Metro Station first brought to the mainstream back in the mid-2000s. That may turn some of you off, but I swear it’s far better than anything that group ever put to tape. “Cali Get Down” is a song that should have dominated radio over the summer, but due to the typical industry BS it’s still finding its way to curious music fans across the country. The video is mostly a performance piece, but it still keeps things interesting with a story involving average people starting a not so average dance party. Watch the clip and discover the song we cannot stop spinning below:

Radical Something are going to be supporting Matisyahu on the rapper’s upcoming nationwide headlining tour. Click here for the tour dates.

We don’t know what Radical Something have planned beyond this tour, but we plan to stay in touch with the group as they plot total global domination. Follow UTG on Twitter for updates.

]]>
0
James Shotwell <![CDATA[MOVIE REVIEW: ‘The One I Love’ Ruminates on Love Lost With A Sci-Fi Twist]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1128549 2014-08-30T04:26:07Z 2014-08-30T14:12:02Z Film: The One I Love
Directed by: Charlie McDowell
Starring: Mark Duplass, Elisabeth Moss, Ted Danson

***This review originally ran during our coverage of the Provincetown Film Fest. We are posting it a second time because the film has just hit VOD and theaters nationwide.***

The One I Love is like Who’s Afraid of Virginia Wolff? wrapped in the enigma of aTwilight Zone episode with Ted Danson’s character acting as the narrator instead of Rod Serling. So as you can see, this film is a completely different take on the romantic drama subgenre with an otherworldly twist to …

]]>
Film: The One I Love
Directed by: Charlie McDowell
Starring: Mark Duplass, Elisabeth Moss, Ted Danson

***This review originally ran during our coverage of the Provincetown Film Fest. We are posting it a second time because the film has just hit VOD and theaters nationwide.***

The One I Love is like Who’s Afraid of Virginia Wolff? wrapped in the enigma of aTwilight Zone episode with Ted Danson’s character acting as the narrator instead of Rod Serling. So as you can see, this film is a completely different take on the romantic drama subgenre with an otherworldly twist to it. Luckily though, The One I Love ventures into how love is an imperfection in itself more than any other romantic film to come out as of late. It paints a painstaking portrait of a couple that try and try again to make perfect versions of themselves to please each other. Unfortunately, that isn’t how love works.

The One I Love picks up Sophie (Elisabeth Moss) and Ethan (Mark Duplass) at a very crucial time in their marriage. Having lost the luster that they used to have, the unhappy couple seeks the aid of their therapist (Ted Danson) who suggests that they have a vacation getaway for two to patch things up. Sophie and Ethan agree to travel to a nearby, secluded locale to repair their relationship, but along the way something weird happens at the vacation home that will change their relationship forever.

If anything, The One I Love is revolutionary in the fact that it can carry a 91-minute film effortlessly with only two main characters driving the narrative. The humor injected even makes a great case for a heartbreakingly realistic look at a dysfunctional marriage on the edge of break-up. Mark Duplass is the perfect choice to play the dopey and emotionally distant facet to a marriage. Elisabeth Moss proves that her Mad Men TV presence can be transcended as she plays the conflicted wife juggling the pros and cons of continuing her loveless marriage. That may sound like a character done many times but with that aforementioned twist, Moss is able to take the archetype to places never explored before.

The twist in the film doesn’t only serve the plot; it puts the whole romantic drama genre through a blender of unpredictability in the subtlest ways possible. Instead of shoving a narrative-altering convolution in the viewer’s face, the twist is like a character in itself that plays like devil’s advocate to both Sophie and Ethan’s worst personal vices.

Where the film soars high and above any romantically complicated film is the way it treats love. Love in this film is a combined goal as it is with every marriage. What are the costs that we are willing to pay for love, though? That is where things get interesting. Sophie and Ethan struggle with love because they are trying to make the perfect versions of themselves for each other. That isn’t love, though; it’s all about being accepted for who you are, not who you are trying to be. Not all relationships can thrive on short instances of danger/thrill and that is evident in The One I Love.

Okay, enough ranting about the prospect of love! The One I Love ventures into some idiosyncratic territory but its ending almost brings the downfall of the whole film. The makers behind the film spend most of the time trying to make the argument that love can be repaired and that the characters can live happily ever after. There is literally a scene before the final act in which things are spelled out for the viewer on how it is going to end. Instead, The One I Love completely contradicts itself with an ending that almost sent me into furor. Maybe that is The One I Love’s point, though…that love is an entity that is so imperfect and unpredictable that it could make or break the viewer when shown onscreen.

GRADE: B

Review written by: Sam Cohen – (Follow him on Twitter)

]]>
0
James Shotwell <![CDATA[MOVIE REVIEW: ‘As Above, So Below’ Is Just Another Found Footage Dud]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1128555 2014-08-30T04:39:34Z 2014-08-30T13:30:00Z Film: As Above, So Below
Starring: Perdita Weeks, Ben Feldman
Directed by: John Erick Dowdle

There is a moment fifteen or twenty minutes into As Above, So Below when it seems as if the film will finally be the long awaited title that raises the bar for found footage across the board. For a few fleeting minutes the characters are interesting, the story is thrilling, and there is a genuine sense of mystery to everything taking place on screen. Then, just as the catacombs begin to close in, things take a turn for the predictable.

The film follows Scarlett (Perdita …

]]>
Film: As Above, So Below
Starring: Perdita Weeks, Ben Feldman
Directed by: John Erick Dowdle

There is a moment fifteen or twenty minutes into As Above, So Below when it seems as if the film will finally be the long awaited title that raises the bar for found footage across the board. For a few fleeting minutes the characters are interesting, the story is thrilling, and there is a genuine sense of mystery to everything taking place on screen. Then, just as the catacombs begin to close in, things take a turn for the predictable.

The film follows Scarlett (Perdita Weeks), a female Indiana Jones set on finding the legendary Philosopher’s Stone. There is a lot of nonsense related to the stone and its powers, but all you really need to know is that the search for this potentially nonexistent rock has driven many people – including Scarlet’s father – insane. After she discovers a long sought after clue in Iran, Scarlet recruits a team of friends and strangers to explore the Catacombs in search of a secret passage. The group equips themselves with cameras, find a whole in the ground, and slowly begin to work their way through the world’s largest burial ground.

The initial passages in the catacombs are tense and chilling, but things quickly go from creepy to downright silly as the film attempts to set an ominous tone with seemingly no idea how to make it happen. It would be wrong of me to revel too much as many examples would double as spoilers, but I will say that every ‘strange occurrence’ in the film’s trailers has no setup or explanation whatsoever. Things just seem to happen, and no matter how unsettling they appear, or how lost the group becomes, no one ever fights to stop and turn around. They plunge further and further into the dark embrace of the catacombs with complete disregard for the half dozen red flags staring them in the face.

Once the action begins, which aside from a few jump scares is not until well over halfway through the film’s runtime, the inherent shakiness of the found footage genre ruins most climatic moments. It’s clear the filmmakers thought a POV perspective would make people feel as if they too were in the claustrophobic confines of the catacombs, but that is rarely the case. The panicked movements of the team make it impossible to appreciate any set or creature design, though very little of either exists in the first place.

The one advantage As Above, So Below has over other found footage hitting the VOD market this year is an above average cast. Weeks is a great lead, and Ben Feldman delivers a pitch perfect turn as her former lover turned helpful confidant. The two have strong chemistry from the moment Feldman’s character is introduced, but the dialogue is so heavy handed that there is no question as to what will develop between them as things progress. In fact, there is never really any question what will happen to any of the characters. The ones with a story make it longer, the ones with the most story make it the longest.

When all is said and done, As Above, So Below falls into the same traps that catch 99.98% of all found footage films. The best parts were all revealed in the trailers, and the stuff that wasn’t has been featured in countless other films. The premise shows promise, but it’s ultimately overshadowed by a lazy script and far too many attempts at cashing in on tired genre cliches that occur without explanation or justification. It could have been something great, but it’s not. It’s not even good.

GRADE: D

Review written by James Shotwell

]]>
1
James Shotwell <![CDATA[Amazon Is Bringing Back ‘The Tick’ And Patrick Warburton Is Already On Board]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1128561 2014-08-30T04:34:59Z 2014-08-30T01:19:40Z There may in fact be a higher power. After all, who other than an omnipotent being could have the power to bring back such a critically under-appreciated, yet deeply loved show like The Tick?

People Magazine is reporting that Amazon has secured the rights to bring back The Tick TV show as a streaming series with brand new episodes. Even better, star Patrick Warburton has already signed on to reprise the lead role. No release date has been set, but a close source to the story tells the magazine the deal is done.

The Tick series is based on …

]]>
There may in fact be a higher power. After all, who other than an omnipotent being could have the power to bring back such a critically under-appreciated, yet deeply loved show like The Tick?

People Magazine is reporting that Amazon has secured the rights to bring back The Tick TV show as a streaming series with brand new episodes. Even better, star Patrick Warburton has already signed on to reprise the lead role. No release date has been set, but a close source to the story tells the magazine the deal is done.

The Tick series is based on a comic book by Ben Edlund. It was first brought to television as an animated series that lasted three seasons in the mid 1990s. In late 2001, Fox cast Warburton as the lead in the live-action series, but the network cancelled the show after only 9 episodes. You can watch the show’s pilot episode, for free, at the end of this post.

In a world where it seems every obscure character is getting their own film or series, it seems only right that The Tick series live once more. I was a fan of the live-action series just as much as the cartoon, but I never imagined it would return. Anything is possible in the age of streaming, I guess. Even if Yahoo! passed on Enlisted.

]]>
0
Tyler Hanan http://underthegunreview.net <![CDATA[Watch A New ‘[REC] 4: Apocalypse’ Trailer For More Death At Sea]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1128544 2014-08-29T23:53:35Z 2014-08-29T22:49:53Z Two weeks in advance of the film’s debut at the Toronto International Film Festival, we’ve received another trailer for [REC] 4: Apocalypse.

The trailer reuses much of the footage from the previous trailer, leaving out, well the most exciting bits. It gives us a few different views, like security cameras and an exterior view of the boat, but otherwise unfolds the same way: with everything hitting the fan. This one also doesn’t have subtitles. If nothing else, it invites a revisiting of that first trailer and restokes fans’ anticipation for the film.

[REC] 4: Apocalypse is billed as …

]]>
Two weeks in advance of the film’s debut at the Toronto International Film Festival, we’ve received another trailer for [REC] 4: Apocalypse.

The trailer reuses much of the footage from the previous trailer, leaving out, well the most exciting bits. It gives us a few different views, like security cameras and an exterior view of the boat, but otherwise unfolds the same way: with everything hitting the fan. This one also doesn’t have subtitles. If nothing else, it invites a revisiting of that first trailer and restokes fans’ anticipation for the film.

[REC] 4: Apocalypse is billed as the final installment of the series. It marks the return of Jaume Balagueró, who directed the first two entries, and Manuela Velasco, who stars as imperiled reporter Ángela Vidal. The film will be released internationally on October 31.

]]>
0
Nina Corcoran <![CDATA[UTG VIDEO PREMIERE: Jeremy Loops – “Sinner”]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1128541 2014-08-29T23:55:52Z 2014-08-29T22:21:44Z Every now and then, a folk artist comes our way that leaves us completely floored. In 2008, it was Fleet Foxes. In 2012, it was First Aid Kit. Now, in 2014, it’s Jeremy Loops.

Fresh out of Cape Town, South Africa, Jeremy Loops is a modern folk musician whose music is just now reaching our shores. While his debut album, Trading Change, has already debuted at #1 on his homeland’s iTunes chart, the 27-year-old is still beginning to form his place here in the US. The one-man folk act scratches up a percussive sound thanks to his loop pedal. …

]]>
Every now and then, a folk artist comes our way that leaves us completely floored. In 2008, it was Fleet Foxes. In 2012, it was First Aid Kit. Now, in 2014, it’s Jeremy Loops.

Fresh out of Cape Town, South Africa, Jeremy Loops is a modern folk musician whose music is just now reaching our shores. While his debut album, Trading Change, has already debuted at #1 on his homeland’s iTunes chart, the 27-year-old is still beginning to form his place here in the US. The one-man folk act scratches up a percussive sound thanks to his loop pedal. Without it, he couldn’t make sure every rhythm is layered, every melody is multiplied, and every lyric is more authentically harmonized.

We’re proud to premiere the video for his debut single, “Sinner,” months before Trading Change comes out in the US in January. There’s the careful plucking of banjo, the similar wailing of Mumford and Sons, and the freeing tones of a man with his chin up. Don’t be surprised if you hit replay. This is an infectious debut that shows what the buzz is all about.

Filmed on his last trip to New York City, the video sees him exploring the city and meeting everyone–from music shop owners to hungry pups–along the way. Once you know his background, his friendly demeanor doesn’t come as a surprise. Loops frequently works with Greenpop, an organization he co-founded to help educate students in South Africa about sustainability and eco-friendly actions, and together he and the students have planted over 40,000 trees. He couldn’t get more down to the roots of folk if he tried.

Check it out below:

]]>
0
Dana Reandelar http://twitter.com/danarndlr <![CDATA[Nai Harvest Release New Music Video For “Buttercups”]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1128533 2014-08-29T21:32:30Z 2014-08-29T21:32:30Z Cutting-edge, emo indie rock duo from the UK, Nai Harvest, have recently released a new music video and it’s quite the acid trip. This new video is for their song “Buttercups” which is off of the band’s most recent Flower 12” split EP (via Dog Knights) with fellow UK natives, Playlounge.

An appropriately “that’s so wicked, bro” video for a really wicked song, this music video involves a lot of forestry and a lot of washing machines. Get hip to these guys if you haven’t already because majorly breaking through the scene is in their near future.

You …

]]>
Cutting-edge, emo indie rock duo from the UK, Nai Harvest, have recently released a new music video and it’s quite the acid trip. This new video is for their song “Buttercups” which is off of the band’s most recent Flower 12” split EP (via Dog Knights) with fellow UK natives, Playlounge.

An appropriately “that’s so wicked, bro” video for a really wicked song, this music video involves a lot of forestry and a lot of washing machines. Get hip to these guys if you haven’t already because majorly breaking through the scene is in their near future.

You can check out the music video for “Buttercups” below.

Nai Harvest is touring the United States this fall, under Topshelf Records, with bands like Foxing, Dads, and Tiny Moving Parts. You can check out the dates via Topshelf here.

]]>
0
Nina Corcoran <![CDATA[SOHN Streams New Single “The Chase”]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1128529 2014-08-29T20:56:00Z 2014-08-29T20:45:54Z Electronic musician SOHN dropped his debut album, Tremors, via 4AD earlier this year. The Vienna-based musician is now returning to our attention with a brand new song called “The Chase”.”

The track is a modern ambient piece that sees SOHN singing beautifully over it. Sporadic synth pools in the background before ’80s-style keys make an appearance. All in all, it’s well worth the listen, especially if you’ve been burning through Tremors. Give it a listen after the jump.

SOHN will also be touring this September around England. He kicks off his dates at the iTunes Festival in Lodnon before …

]]>
Electronic musician SOHN dropped his debut album, Tremors, via 4AD earlier this year. The Vienna-based musician is now returning to our attention with a brand new song called “The Chase”.”

The track is a modern ambient piece that sees SOHN singing beautifully over it. Sporadic synth pools in the background before ’80s-style keys make an appearance. All in all, it’s well worth the listen, especially if you’ve been burning through Tremors. Give it a listen after the jump.

SOHN will also be touring this September around England. He kicks off his dates at the iTunes Festival in Lodnon before making his way to Brighton, Glasgow, Manchester, and Liverpool. See the full list of dates below.

SOHN September Tour:
9 London, Roundhouse (iTunes Festival)
12 London, Shepherd’s Bush Empire
13 Brighton, The Haunt
16 Glasgow, Stereo
17 Manchester, Gorilla
17 Liverpool, Kazimier

]]>
1