Under the Gun Review Entertainment news for today's generation 2014-07-23T22:13:07Z http://www.underthegunreview.net/feed/atom/ WordPress Nina Corcoran <![CDATA[Watch Pharrell’s “Come Get It Bae” Video Starring Miley Cyrus]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1122911 2014-07-23T22:13:07Z 2014-07-23T22:13:07Z America is still undergoing the heavy airplay of Pharrell‘s “Happy” (and the video of it bringing him to tears), but in the meantime, the music icon is pushing his new G I R L cut “Come Get It Bae.” In his music video for the single, Pharrell Williams brings a slew of models on camera to show off the female figure in a positive way — well, until Miley Cyrus shows up.

The straightforward video is a compilation of studio shoots featuring numerous women dancing and enjoying themselves while Pharrell shoots them on a Super 8 camera. Halfway …

]]>
America is still undergoing the heavy airplay of Pharrell‘s “Happy” (and the video of it bringing him to tears), but in the meantime, the music icon is pushing his new G I R L cut “Come Get It Bae.” In his music video for the single, Pharrell Williams brings a slew of models on camera to show off the female figure in a positive way — well, until Miley Cyrus shows up.

The straightforward video is a compilation of studio shoots featuring numerous women dancing and enjoying themselves while Pharrell shoots them on a Super 8 camera. Halfway through, Miley shows up, wagging her tongue and bringing the Dove ad-ness of the piece down to a reminder that this is just a pop song. That being said, Miley doesn’t do any twerking. Instead, one of the other women does.

Check it out below:

]]>
1
Nina Corcoran <![CDATA[Get a Sneak Peek of Paul Dano as Brian Wilson in Biopic]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1122895 2014-07-23T20:55:22Z 2014-07-23T20:42:50Z A new biopic about The Beach Boys‘ Brian Wilson will be hitting screens later this fall. The film, titled Love and Mercy, stars actor Paul Dano (Little Miss Sunshine, There Will Be Blood, Looper) as Wilson, and today we get our first look at Dano as the iconic musician, courtesy of The Playlist.

Directed by longtime documentary producer Bill Pohlad, Love and Mercy hopes to paint “an unconventional portrait of the artist by interweaving seminal moments in his life, from his artistic genius to his profound struggles, and the love that keeps him alive.” Wilson is …

]]>
A new biopic about The Beach Boys‘ Brian Wilson will be hitting screens later this fall. The film, titled Love and Mercy, stars actor Paul Dano (Little Miss Sunshine, There Will Be Blood, Looper) as Wilson, and today we get our first look at Dano as the iconic musician, courtesy of The Playlist.

Directed by longtime documentary producer Bill Pohlad, Love and Mercy hopes to paint “an unconventional portrait of the artist by interweaving seminal moments in his life, from his artistic genius to his profound struggles, and the love that keeps him alive.” Wilson is also depicted by John Cusack (who plays him in his later years). Additional roles include Elizabeth Banks as Wilson’s second wife and Paul Giamatti as his longtime therapist, Dr. Eugene Landy.

No word yet about an upcoming trailer. Until then, try catching Love and Mercy when it premieres at the Toronto International Film Festival in September.

]]>
0
Kevin Blumeyer <![CDATA[James Murphy to Score Noah Baumbach’s ‘While We’re Young,’ Starring Beastie Boys’ Ad-Rock]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1122878 2014-07-23T22:09:56Z 2014-07-23T20:36:58Z Indie darling Noah Baumbach’s (Greenberg, Frances Ha) films have often represented a beautiful marriage of film and music and his latest, While We’re Young, looks to take that relationship even further.

Not only will the project reunite Baumbach with LCD Soundsystem mastermind James Murphy, who previously scored the 2010 gem Greenberg, but it will also feature Beastie Boys’ Adam “Ad-Rock” Horovitz in one of the starring roles. Horovitz has acted sporadically in both TV and film over the years, but While We’re Young will mark his first major starring role in more than 20 years.

The …

]]>
Indie darling Noah Baumbach’s (Greenberg, Frances Ha) films have often represented a beautiful marriage of film and music and his latest, While We’re Young, looks to take that relationship even further.

Not only will the project reunite Baumbach with LCD Soundsystem mastermind James Murphy, who previously scored the 2010 gem Greenberg, but it will also feature Beastie Boys’ Adam “Ad-Rock” Horovitz in one of the starring roles. Horovitz has acted sporadically in both TV and film over the years, but While We’re Young will mark his first major starring role in more than 20 years.

The film will star Ben Stiller (in yet another Greenberg reunion) and Naomi Watts as a documentary filmmaker and his wife, whose lives are turned upside down after befriending a free-spirited younger couple. That younger couple will be played by Amanda Seyfried and Frances Ha‘s Adam Driver, while Horovitz will play the married best friend of Stiller’s character.

While We’re Young is one of the many high-profile films set to premiere at this year’s Toronto International Film Festival in September. Head over here for the full lineup.

while_were_young_2-620x312

]]>
0
Nina Corcoran <![CDATA[Radiator Hospital Announce US Tour]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1122881 2014-07-23T22:08:22Z 2014-07-23T20:24:13Z Philly pop rock band Radiator Hospital put out a new full-length this year that we’ve been spinning relentlessly. The album, titled Torch Songscame out on Salinas Records and is a tidy collection of the band’s best traits: reckless guitars, pop riffs, and poignant, relatable lyrics. The four-piece will be hitting the road in support of said release, making a series of stops across the US over the course of September and October.

Not all of the stops have venues listed yet, but the band will be updating the schedule over the next few weeks. To find out more …

]]>
Philly pop rock band Radiator Hospital put out a new full-length this year that we’ve been spinning relentlessly. The album, titled Torch Songscame out on Salinas Records and is a tidy collection of the band’s best traits: reckless guitars, pop riffs, and poignant, relatable lyrics. The four-piece will be hitting the road in support of said release, making a series of stops across the US over the course of September and October.

Not all of the stops have venues listed yet, but the band will be updating the schedule over the next few weeks. To find out more information about the tour, check out the Facebook event. Otherwise give the list of dates a look below:

9/2 Philadelphia, PA @ Golden Tea
9/3 Columbus, OH @ Ace Of Cups
9/4 Cleveland, OH @ Happy Dog
9/5 Ann Arbor, MI
9/6 Grand Rapids, MI @ Vertigo Music
9/7 Chicago, IL @ Fireside Bowl
9/8 Milwaukee, WI
9/9 Minneapolis, MN @ Hexagon
9/10 Omaha, NE
9/11 Denver, CO @ Mutiny Information Cafe
9/12 Salt Lake City, UT
9/13 Boise, ID
9/14 Seattle, WA @ Black Lodge
9/15 Olympia, WA
9/16 Portland, OR but maybe a drive day instead
9/17 Oakland, CA @ Jason’s house
9/18 San Francisco, CA @ Honey Hive Gallery
9/19 San Jose, CA
9/20 Los Angeles, CA
9/21 Long Beach, CA
9/22 San Diego, CA
9/23 Phoenix, AZ @ Trunk Space
9/24 Albuquerque, NM
9/25 Oklahoma City, OK @ Blue Note
9/26 Austin, TX @ Hotel Vegas
9/27 Beaumont, TX @ The Art Studio
9/28 New Orleans, LA
9/29 Tallahassee, FL @ All Saints Cafe
9/30 Birmingham, AL
10/1 Atlanta, GA @ Wonderroot
10/2 Athens, GA
10/3 Charlotte, NC @ Snug Harbor
10/4 Raleigh, NC @ Nice Price Books
10/5 Richmond, VA
10/6 Washington, DC

]]>
0
Kriston McConnell http://underthegunreview.net <![CDATA[EXCLUSIVE ALBUM STREAM: Provoke, Destroy – ‘Vulture’]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1122594 2014-07-23T20:22:23Z 2014-07-23T20:22:23Z The five piece metal outfit Provoke, Destroy officially released their debut full-length album, Vulture, yesterday through Indianola Records. We are pleased to have the opportunity to team up with the band to stream Vulture in its entirety today. You can give it a listen by taking a look below the break.

If you haven’t had the chance to pick up a copy of the album yet, you can do so by heading to the band’s Big Cartel page for a physical copy or digital downloads are available through Bandcamp.

]]>
The five piece metal outfit Provoke, Destroy officially released their debut full-length album, Vulture, yesterday through Indianola Records. We are pleased to have the opportunity to team up with the band to stream Vulture in its entirety today. You can give it a listen by taking a look below the break.

If you haven’t had the chance to pick up a copy of the album yet, you can do so by heading to the band’s Big Cartel page for a physical copy or digital downloads are available through Bandcamp.

]]>
0
James Shotwell <![CDATA[MOVIE REVIEW: ‘Sex Tape’]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1122857 2014-07-23T20:16:53Z 2014-07-23T20:11:32Z Film: Sex Tape
Starring: Cameron Diaz, Jason Segel
Directed by: Jake Kasdan

From beginning to end, Sex Tape feels like a film that arrived in theaters a decade too late. There is not a single frame that is in any way sexy or sensual, and very few offer any substantial laughs. There is a sex scene or two, sure, but they’re handled so poorly (like much of the film) that all humor and romance is completely sucked out of the scene, leaving a slew of well known Hollywood talent looking like people who foolishly signed on to create an absolute …

]]>
Film: Sex Tape
Starring: Cameron Diaz, Jason Segel
Directed by: Jake Kasdan

From beginning to end, Sex Tape feels like a film that arrived in theaters a decade too late. There is not a single frame that is in any way sexy or sensual, and very few offer any substantial laughs. There is a sex scene or two, sure, but they’re handled so poorly (like much of the film) that all humor and romance is completely sucked out of the scene, leaving a slew of well known Hollywood talent looking like people who foolishly signed on to create an absolute waste of time.

Cameron Diaz and Jason Segel star as Annie and Jay, a married couple whose love life has lost the spark that once burned so bright that they felt the need to have sex no matter where they went. Annie now spends her time as a mommy blogger and Jay is, well, to be perfectly honest, the film never explains what Jay does for a living. You see him interacting with music a few times, so for the sake of this review we’ll say he simply works in the entertainment business. Anyway, between their two kids and the struggles of everyday life, our leads have found it increasingly difficult to make time for one another’s sexual needs. The answer? Get drunk on tequila and make a sex tape using every position outlined in The Joy Of Sex.

As the extensive marketing campaign leading up to Sex Tape’s release revealed, the couple’s intimate film does not stay private for very long. While the couple sleeps, their iPad uploads their recently shot video to a cloud server that automatically syncs all new content to every iPad Jay has ever owned. This would be fine if Jay still possessed all these tablets, but he’s made it a point to give them out as gifts every time he’s chosen to upgrade, resulting in half a dozen close friends and family now being in possession of his and Annie’s homemade porn. The simple solution to this problem would be to remote delete the file, which is something the leads realize far too late in the film, so instead they decide to do the first thing that comes to mind: visit everyone who has ever been given an iPad and manually delete the video from each device.

The way Annie and Jay decide to solve their problem baffled me, and from the reaction in my screening, many other viewers felt the same. It would make perfect sense if Annie and Jay were new to the world of cloud servers and tablets, but Jay has built their home network from the ground up himself, which is a point he makes more than once during the film. You’re telling me someone that in-tune with emerging digital trends who has already wired all his devices to the same cloud server has never had to delete something before? Ever? The idea of going door-to-door sounds like something a crazy relative who condones the use of technology would come up with, and I only use that example because only someone that far disconnected from the digital age would think the only solution is a manual delete on each device.

Beyond the problems with its plot, Sex Tape suffers from a significant lack of laughs and sex, or at least sex that is interesting to watch. Annie and Jay go at it pretty hot and heavy during the opening minutes of the film, which retraces the beginning of the couple’s sex life from college until now, but from the moment the film catches up to modern times there is almost no sex to be found anywhere, and that includes the making of the tape. By the time you do see the couple’s film, the footage revealed looks more like something you would expect to hear the Benny Hill theme over more than something anyone would find exciting, and even then it’s not funny. Just the same silly faces every comedy about sex has used since the beginning of time, only this time with Diaz and Segel’s vinegar strokes front and center.

Sex Tape‘s one saving grace comes in the form of its extensive, albeit criminally underutilized supporting cast. Rob Corddry and Ellie Kemper shine bright as Annie and Jay’s best friends, and it’s mainly the interactions the two couples share that produce the bulk of the film’s comedic moments. Additionally, Rob Lowe plays the Slayer-loving CEO of a company that specializes in products for young children, and Jack Black takes a turn for the profane as the proprietor of PornHub. Both actors bring a strange and wonderful presence to the film, each seemingly challenging himself to convey a personality they have never before shown on the big screen, but neither offers enough relief to the mediocre moments they appear in to keep audiences engaged until the credit rolls.

By the time my screening of Sex Tape came to a close, I was itching to jump out of my seat and flee the theater in hopes of being able to one day pretend I did not waste my hard-earned income on a film that could very well take home one, if not many Razzies in early 2015. Unfortunately, my memory is too damn strong to shake the mediocrity of Kasdan’s latest creation from my mind. That’s my problem to deal with now, but it does not have to be yours just as long as you remember to skip Sex Tape. Hell, go about life as if you never even knew it existed. That way, you not only have the good fortune of skipping a completely horrible cinematic creation, but you may just make it out of 2014 with some respect still left for Cameron Diaz.

GRADE: D+

Review written by: James Shotwell

]]>
0
Nina Corcoran <![CDATA[Hear Wildcat! Wildcat!’s New Single “Holloway (Hey, Love)”]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1122844 2014-07-23T19:41:19Z 2014-07-23T19:31:50Z Los Angeles trio Wildcat! Wildcat! recently recorded their full-length debut, No Moon at All, set to come out on August 5 via Downtown Records. Co-produced with collaborator Morgan Kibby (M83, White Sea), the record sees the electronic indie pop group creating “an emotionally rousing world” all of which is captured on ten tracks. We’ve already heard the lead single “Hero,” and today we get to hear “Holloway (Hey, Love).”

The new song is a bright blend of reverb drums, thin layers of synth, and harmonies worth singing with friends that maintains an intimacy throughout. Give it a …

]]>
Los Angeles trio Wildcat! Wildcat! recently recorded their full-length debut, No Moon at All, set to come out on August 5 via Downtown Records. Co-produced with collaborator Morgan Kibby (M83, White Sea), the record sees the electronic indie pop group creating “an emotionally rousing world” all of which is captured on ten tracks. We’ve already heard the lead single “Hero,” and today we get to hear “Holloway (Hey, Love).”

The new song is a bright blend of reverb drums, thin layers of synth, and harmonies worth singing with friends that maintains an intimacy throughout. Give it a listen and you’ll understand why they’ve toured with the likes of Portugal. The Man and Alt-J. Check it out below:

]]>
0
Derek Scancarelli <![CDATA[New Ninja Turtles Film Features Rap-EDM Theme; Should’ve Used HORSE The Band Instead]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1122845 2014-07-23T19:40:05Z 2014-07-23T19:26:10Z How far we’ve come. It’s 2014 and the new Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles film appears to be a far cry from the cartoon which ran between 1987 and 1996. Being a product of 1991, my pillow cases and toy-boxes have always been littered with the color-coded reptilians, so any TMNT news seems to be good news.

This week, Atlantic Records unveiled the newest film’s theme song, entitled “Shell Shocked.” The electronically produced tune was done by Kill The Noise & Madsonik and features Juicy J, Wiz Khalifa, and Ty Dolla $ign.

The song is cool, I guess. What am I …

]]>
How far we’ve come. It’s 2014 and the new Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles film appears to be a far cry from the cartoon which ran between 1987 and 1996. Being a product of 1991, my pillow cases and toy-boxes have always been littered with the color-coded reptilians, so any TMNT news seems to be good news.

This week, Atlantic Records unveiled the newest film’s theme song, entitled “Shell Shocked.” The electronically produced tune was done by Kill The Noise & Madsonik and features Juicy J, Wiz Khalifa, and Ty Dolla $ign.

The song is cool, I guess. What am I saying? To be honest, it just doesn’t make sense to me. I understand keeping up with pop-culture and all, but this tune just didn’t do it for me.

In all TMNT related songs’ defense, I think HORSE the Band did a fairly good job on their Pizza EP and it deserves some recognition. Why don’t you check out this post and decide which one you’d go with as the theme once it hits the big screens?

“Nobody do it better, all my brothers tryna get some cheddar
We all want our cut like the Shredder
Me and my bros come together for the dough
Bought the orange Lamborghini, call it Michelangelo
With the nunchucks doors and I’m pullin’ up slow
When we fall up in the party, they know anything goes
Check my rolex they say I’m the man of the hour
All this green in my pockets, you can call it turtle power”

“Don’t do it Michaelangelo!”
“It’s no use Leonardo, don’t try talking me out of it.”
“You don’t know what you’re letting yourself in for!”
“A turtles gotta do what a turtles gotta do…”
“Please Michaelangelo, don’t go for pizza!”

]]>
0
James Shotwell <![CDATA[Sony Moves ‘Amazing Spider-Man 3′ To 2018, Sets 2016 Release Dates for ‘Uncharted’ And ‘Sinister Six’]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1122839 2014-07-23T19:36:39Z 2014-07-23T18:43:03Z The Amazing Spider-Man 2 performed far below expectations, both for fans in love with Peter Parker and studio execs hoping to make a profit on what was a reportedly an $800 million dollar production, but that does not mean the world has seen the last of Peter Parker. Far from it, in fact.

Today, Sony Pictures announced that they have decided to move The Amazing Spider-Man 3 from June 10, 2016 to some point in (probably summer) 2018. As you already know, the original release date is prime summertime box office placement, so Sony has decided to fill the now …

]]>
The Amazing Spider-Man 2 performed far below expectations, both for fans in love with Peter Parker and studio execs hoping to make a profit on what was a reportedly an $800 million dollar production, but that does not mean the world has seen the last of Peter Parker. Far from it, in fact.

Today, Sony Pictures announced that they have decided to move The Amazing Spider-Man 3 from June 10, 2016 to some point in (probably summer) 2018. As you already know, the original release date is prime summertime box office placement, so Sony has decided to fill the now vacant weekend with the highly-anticipated adaptation of the video game franchise known as Uncharted. No star has been revealed for that project at this time, but earlier this month we learned that production will likely begin at the very beginning of 2015. We’ll bring you more on that project as soon as additional information becomes available.

Sony also informed members of the press today that the company plans on keeping their November 11, 2016 release date for Sinister Six. The film, which was originally scheduled for release after the planned events of Amazing Spider-Man 3, will now be used to make people excited about Peter Parker’s return in 2018. Will it work? Only time will tell.

The Amazing Spider-Man 2 is headed to home video soon. If you have not seen it yet, go ahead and wait a few more years. It’s bound to be a letdown whether you watch it now or in preparation for the 2018 release of part three. In fact, don’t even waste your time. Just watch ASM, jump to Raimi’s Spider-Man 2, and call it good.

]]>
0
Meaghan O'Brien <![CDATA[Beware, the StubHub Security Breach]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1122821 2014-07-23T18:40:50Z 2014-07-23T18:40:50Z Your favorite band is coming to town. You’ve fallen behind on UTG news and didn’t catch the tour dates before the show sold out. So you head over to StubHub and nick some great seats, for less if you’re lucky. What’s not to love? The ticket-selling service admitted Tuesday that there is one rather large thing not to love: a security breach.

StubHub is another in a long line of online retailers to be the victims of online fraudsters. This time, criminals didn’t hack the company’s server but instead went straight to the accounts of over 1000 customers through stolen …

]]>
Your favorite band is coming to town. You’ve fallen behind on UTG news and didn’t catch the tour dates before the show sold out. So you head over to StubHub and nick some great seats, for less if you’re lucky. What’s not to love? The ticket-selling service admitted Tuesday that there is one rather large thing not to love: a security breach.

StubHub is another in a long line of online retailers to be the victims of online fraudsters. This time, criminals didn’t hack the company’s server but instead went straight to the accounts of over 1000 customers through stolen log-in information and made unauthorized purchases. The total monetary damages have not been disclosed. Speaking for StubHub, Glen Lehrman said

“[There was a] pretty intense network of cyber-fraudsters working in concert with each other.”

Sounds pretty scary. For eBay, StubHub’s parent company, this is the second security breakdown in the last year and they say they are investigating. If, like me, you made a purchase on StubHub recently or have an eBay account, change your passwords and keep a weather eye on your credit cards. And maybe consider giving ticket scalpers a shot next time you need a last minute ticket.

]]>
0
Scott Murray <![CDATA[Weird Al’s ‘Mandatory Fun’ Becomes First No. 1 Comedy Album in Half a Century]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1122781 2014-07-23T17:54:43Z 2014-07-23T17:54:43Z Last week, “Weird Al” Yankovic took the internet by storm when he relentlessly debuted 8 music videos including parodies of everything from Pharrell’s “Happy” to Lorde’s “Royals” in order to celebrate the release of his 14th studio album, Mandatory Fun, on July 15. In addition to the success of the hilarious and star-studded music videos, Yankovic reached a monumental achievement of his lengthy 28-year music career:

As of this morning, Mandatory Fun has topped the charts, making it Yankovic’s first ever number 1 album on the Billboard 200. Even more impressive, the record is the first number 1 comedy …

]]>
Last week, “Weird Al” Yankovic took the internet by storm when he relentlessly debuted 8 music videos including parodies of everything from Pharrell’s “Happy” to Lorde’s “Royals” in order to celebrate the release of his 14th studio album, Mandatory Fun, on July 15. In addition to the success of the hilarious and star-studded music videos, Yankovic reached a monumental achievement of his lengthy 28-year music career:

As of this morning, Mandatory Fun has topped the charts, making it Yankovic’s first ever number 1 album on the Billboard 200. Even more impressive, the record is the first number 1 comedy album in over half a century! According to Billboard, the last comedy chart-topper was 1963′s My Son, the Nut by Allan Sherman.

Check out “Tacky,” the video that started it all, below:

]]>
0
Dana Reandelar <![CDATA[REVIEW: RX Bandits – ‘Gemini, Her Majesty’]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1122698 2014-07-23T17:51:26Z 2014-07-23T17:51:26Z Artist: RX Bandits
Album: Gemini, Her Majesty
Genre: Progressive Rock
Label: Mash Down Babylon Records

When it comes to bands similar to (and comprised of members from) The Sound Of Animals Fighting, I find myself amidst the conclusion that progressive-sounding genres are either automatically bewildering or strangely fascinating. The latter can fortunately be said about Gemini, Her Majesty, RX Bandits‘ eighth full-length album, out now via the band’s own MDB Records. Five long years after the release of their last record, Mandala, these California natives are finally back with new material that they’re currently supporting on tour …

]]>
Artist: RX Bandits
Album: Gemini, Her Majesty
Genre: Progressive Rock
Label: Mash Down Babylon Records

When it comes to bands similar to (and comprised of members from) The Sound Of Animals Fighting, I find myself amidst the conclusion that progressive-sounding genres are either automatically bewildering or strangely fascinating. The latter can fortunately be said about Gemini, Her Majesty, RX Bandits‘ eighth full-length album, out now via the band’s own MDB Records. Five long years after the release of their last record, Mandala, these California natives are finally back with new material that they’re currently supporting on tour alongside The Dear Hunter. From the record’s astronomical cover art to the choral, fade-out last few seconds, Gemini, Her Majesty is filled with upbeat reggae-infused melodies and an overall intrinsic technical vibe characteristic of the band’s impressive back catalog.

“Intro” and the first minute into “Ruby Cumulous,” the beginning of this eleven-track outfit, are undeniably the outliers, setting the audience up for an outlandish impression that will fall short mid-way through the record. The latter track quickly jolts into its catchy, beach vibe, capturing the essence of the entire record from there on out. It becomes quite difficult to explain how the band manages to blend punk riffs into the record, but that’s the band’s roots for you.

Although arguably the least melodically and lyrically convoluted of them all, “Wide Open” is probably my favorite track. The strong resemblance to at-peak Red Hot Chili Peppers wasn’t bad, either. “Fire to the Ocean” was another funky one; funky, as in “using a strong dance rhythm” funk. Next track, “G2G” is what a Menzingers song would sound like had they written happier, slightly more chipper material for Rented World. “Will You Be Tomorrow” breaks the upbeat dynamic on a degree that’s just right. The effects we heard during the intro track can pompously be found in this track.

Another standout was “1995” as this track also broke the upbeat dynamic and managed to incorporate all the themes of the record, including the grandiose guitar solos and celebrated Chris Tsagakis drum fills. “Future, Buddy” was an excellent closer choice as it sums up (and wraps up) the record perfectly by combining the catchy with the complex.

Hiatuses and side projects aside, half a decade was a really long wait for a new full-length. Luckily, a shiny new toy that is Gemini, Her Majesty easily obliterated those five years.

SCORE: 8/10
Review written by Dana Reandelar

]]>
0
Derek Scancarelli <![CDATA[Do YOU want to work with UTG TV?]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1122754 2014-07-23T18:23:26Z 2014-07-23T17:26:22Z Hey you! Yes, I’m talking to you. Do you have an interest in music journalism, but prefer the visual side of things? Perhaps you’re the type of person who enjoys shooting acoustic videos or conducting interviews with bands. Well, if that’s the case, then we’d love to hear from you!

Under The Gun Review is searching for videographers from around the United States who would like to build up their resume and acquire some real experience working with members of the entertainment industry.

Please check out inside this post to read more about the openings.

To apply, you must have

]]>
Hey you! Yes, I’m talking to you. Do you have an interest in music journalism, but prefer the visual side of things? Perhaps you’re the type of person who enjoys shooting acoustic videos or conducting interviews with bands. Well, if that’s the case, then we’d love to hear from you!

Under The Gun Review is searching for videographers from around the United States who would like to build up their resume and acquire some real experience working with members of the entertainment industry.

Please check out inside this post to read more about the openings.

To apply, you must have your own equipment and be able to operate independently. This includes but is not limited to:

-A professional camera setup: DSLR or camcorder set-up
-Tri-pods, microphones, etc would always be beneficial
-Proficient in editing and in possesion of editing software such as Final Cut Pro, Avid, or Adobe Premiere
-Transportation is always a plus

As far as qualities of the applicant:

-We need someone who can be comfortable and personable with those in the public sphere, whilst always maintaining professionalism
-A go-getter, confident and outgoing, but also humble
-Strong interviewing, researching, and writing skills
-Adaptable and improvisational; problem-solver
-An interest in the world of entertainment

The great thing about UTG TV, is that we’re loose about things. We are always open to new ideas and always looking to grow. If you’d like to arrange for this to work as an internship where you acquire college credit from your school, we can arrange that. Keep in mind, experience and access to events is always a resume builder and great for growing.

In the past month alone, UTG TV has sat down to talk with Bro Safari, Savoy, John Nolan, Atmosphere, Yellowcard, Neck Deep, Every Time I Die, Close Your Eyes, Bowling For Soup, Crown The Empire, The Story So Far, Mayday Parade, Nick Santino, and many, many more.

To apply, please contact UTG’s Head of Videography, Derek Scancarelli at DerekUTG@gmail.com.

Be sure to include a cover letter in the body of the email, a copy of your resume, and any links to see your work online. Be sure to include a direct link to the video you are most proud of. Good luck! We can’t wait to hear from you!

]]>
0
Derek Scancarelli <![CDATA[A Loss For Words To Headline RAMBUDIFEST In August]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1122805 2014-07-23T19:24:45Z 2014-07-23T17:09:22Z Yesterday, our friends in A Loss For Words announced that they’d be headlining the RAMBUDIFEST at the Worcester Palladium on August 23. The Boston boys, still riding the wave of their latest release Before It Caves, are excited to be playing the show with openers Lions Lions, The Venetia Fair and many more.

According to the band’s Facebook:

We are proud to announce that we are headlining this years RAMBUDIFEST at the palladium AUGUST 23rd with some amazing bands! We also will have a BIG announcement at this show! Come hang before we head to JAPAN in September with

]]>
Yesterday, our friends in A Loss For Words announced that they’d be headlining the RAMBUDIFEST at the Worcester Palladium on August 23. The Boston boys, still riding the wave of their latest release Before It Caves, are excited to be playing the show with openers Lions Lions, The Venetia Fair and many more.

According to the band’s Facebook:

We are proud to announce that we are headlining this years RAMBUDIFEST at the palladium AUGUST 23rd with some amazing bands! We also will have a BIG announcement at this show! Come hang before we head to JAPAN in September with our friends in STATE CHAMPS & PVRIS.

Check out below the jump to see a flyer for the show, the band’s dates in Japan, and to listen to my favorite song from their latest effort, featuring Lynn Gunn from PVRIS.

a loss

AL4W Tour

]]>
0
James Shotwell <![CDATA[Required Listening: Angus & Julia Stone – “Grizzly Bear”]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1122770 2014-07-23T19:22:40Z 2014-07-23T16:48:24Z Every so often a song arrives in my inbox from a group that not only captures my attention, but somehow manages to hold onto it throughout the majority of any given work day. I stumbled upon one such track early this morning, and in the hours that have passed since its initial discovery I have spun that song at least a dozen times. Now, having finally finished my dance party for one, I’m ready to share it with you.

Angus & Julia Stone are currently preparing to release their new self-titled, Rick Rubin-produced album on August 1. Today, the duo …

]]>
Every so often a song arrives in my inbox from a group that not only captures my attention, but somehow manages to hold onto it throughout the majority of any given work day. I stumbled upon one such track early this morning, and in the hours that have passed since its initial discovery I have spun that song at least a dozen times. Now, having finally finished my dance party for one, I’m ready to share it with you.

Angus & Julia Stone are currently preparing to release their new self-titled, Rick Rubin-produced album on August 1. Today, the duo shared a new song titled “Grizzly Bear” that feels influenced by the greatest hits of Tom Petty mixed with a few select tracks of Foster The People’s debut album. It’s an uptempo, fun-loving song that evokes images of summer romance and youth that you will never want to end. You can stream the single below:

“Grizzly Bear” was written and recorded in California. As described by Rubin himself, it is the Sydney-born, Californian based siblings’ own “poetic depth” that carries and makes this album and track so very special.

We hope to feature Angus & Julia Stone more in the week and months to come. Stay tuned.

]]>
0
Anthony Dobrini <![CDATA[‘SLC PUNK 2′ Teaser Trailer Revealed]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1122751 2014-07-23T19:19:53Z 2014-07-23T16:42:43Z The first teaser trailer for SLC Punk 2: Punk’s Dead has been revealed and features a still very dead Heroin Bob (Michael Goorjian) joined by his friends Sean (Devon Sawa), Eddie (Adam Pascal), and John the Mod (James Duval).

The film is set to take place 18 years after the original SLC Punk ended. There has been very little detail in regards to plot announced but the storyline will be focused on Heroin Bob’s son, Ross (Ben Schnetzer). Hip hop artist Machine Gun Kelly is also set to co-star as a character named Crash. The two new female leads will …

]]>
The first teaser trailer for SLC Punk 2: Punk’s Dead has been revealed and features a still very dead Heroin Bob (Michael Goorjian) joined by his friends Sean (Devon Sawa), Eddie (Adam Pascal), and John the Mod (James Duval).

The film is set to take place 18 years after the original SLC Punk ended. There has been very little detail in regards to plot announced but the storyline will be focused on Heroin Bob’s son, Ross (Ben Schnetzer). Hip hop artist Machine Gun Kelly is also set to co-star as a character named Crash. The two new female leads will be played by Sarah Clarke (Twilight) and Hannah Marks (The Amazing Spider-Man).

Writer-director James Merendino turned to crowdfunding website Indiegogo back in October of last year to help raise the funds to bring the project to life. He had promised the majority of the cast had agreed to come back to reprise their roles. However, it has already been reported that the previous movie’s main character, Stevo, played by Matthew Lillard, and Mike the tree hugger, played by Jason Segel, will not be coming back. There are reports of two surprise cameos so we can only hope something has since been worked out.

There is currently no official release date set as Merendino is currently editing the sequel, but November 2014 is likely according to the Indiegogo page. Watch the trailer below and be sure to leave your thoughts in the comments.

]]>
0
Derek Scancarelli <![CDATA[‘The Jim Norton Show’ Premieres With Mike Tyson And Dana White]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1122784 2014-07-23T19:18:08Z 2014-07-23T16:40:37Z I think it’s fair to say that Jim Norton has had an overwhelming month. In early July, the co-host of The Opie And Anthony Show, Anthony Cumia, was fired from SiriusXM over a controversial series of tweets.

Jimmy, who was third chair on the show, is now faced with finishing out his contract alongside longtime radio personality and now self-proclaimed COMPLETELY F’D RADIO HOST Gregg “Opie” Hughes. The two have been taking it day by day, dealing with the backlash of media critisicm along with the traitorous accusations of longtime listeners. Opie and Jim have since been reaching out …

]]>
I think it’s fair to say that Jim Norton has had an overwhelming month. In early July, the co-host of The Opie And Anthony Show, Anthony Cumia, was fired from SiriusXM over a controversial series of tweets.

Jimmy, who was third chair on the show, is now faced with finishing out his contract alongside longtime radio personality and now self-proclaimed COMPLETELY F’D RADIO HOST Gregg “Opie” Hughes. The two have been taking it day by day, dealing with the backlash of media critisicm along with the traitorous accusations of longtime listeners. Opie and Jim have since been reaching out to friends of the show for help passing through an uncomfortable time, bringing in comics such as Rich Vos, Joe DeRosa, Ricky Gervais, Dan Soder, Robert Kelly, and many more.

Forunately for Mr. Norton, the Black Sabbath obsessing, meaty-breasted zilch stand-up comedian, his all new talk show premiered today through Vice. The original series makes its debut with the head of the UFC Dana White and boxing legend Mike Tyson.

Check out below to see the first episode of The Jim Norton Show. If you’re easily offended, don’t bother. There is enough transgender humor and self-degradation in the opening monologues to last you a lifetime. If you’re not hypersensitive and enjoy uncut and authentic comedy mixed in with quality interviewing skills, this may be the show for you.

]]>
0
Kriston McConnell http://underthegunreview.net <![CDATA[UTG VIDEO PREMIERE: Bonfire – “Before You Left”]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1122765 2014-07-23T19:16:17Z 2014-07-23T16:19:41Z Bonfire are a four piece post hardcore outfit based out of Saskatoon, Canada. They just released a short split with fellow Canadian singer/songwriter New Born. Bonfire’s contribution is the emotion-inducing single “Before You Left.” We are happy to have teamed up with the band to premiere the music video for this song. You can check it out below the jump.

“Before You Left” isn’t your typical music video, as it’s a conglomerate of year’s worth of home videos stitched together. It provides a hint of nostalgia for anyone who is familiar with the shaky, often pixelated, home videos from …

]]>
Bonfire are a four piece post hardcore outfit based out of Saskatoon, Canada. They just released a short split with fellow Canadian singer/songwriter New Born. Bonfire’s contribution is the emotion-inducing single “Before You Left.” We are happy to have teamed up with the band to premiere the music video for this song. You can check it out below the jump.

“Before You Left” isn’t your typical music video, as it’s a conglomerate of year’s worth of home videos stitched together. It provides a hint of nostalgia for anyone who is familiar with the shaky, often pixelated, home videos from their own youth. If you like what you hear, be sure to pick up a copy of the split through Bandcamp.

]]>
0