Under the Gun Review Entertainment news for today's generation 2014-08-27T14:35:08Z http://www.underthegunreview.net/feed/atom/ WordPress James Shotwell <![CDATA[UTG Premiere: Big Wow – “Boltzmann Brain”]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1128226 2014-08-27T14:35:08Z 2014-08-27T14:35:08Z Summer may be winding down, but thanks to the feverish take on indie rock presented by Big Wow it’s possible to take carry the feeling of the season with you all year long.

It is our great pleasure to share with you a brand new song from Big Wow titled “Boltzmann Brain.” The band, which features members of The Dauntless Elite and Get Human, have a new record with the fantastic title Teamwork Makes The Dream Work due out September 8 through Specialist Subject Records. You can stream the song below:

Hailing from Leeds with more influences than we can …

]]>
Summer may be winding down, but thanks to the feverish take on indie rock presented by Big Wow it’s possible to take carry the feeling of the season with you all year long.

It is our great pleasure to share with you a brand new song from Big Wow titled “Boltzmann Brain.” The band, which features members of The Dauntless Elite and Get Human, have a new record with the fantastic title Teamwork Makes The Dream Work due out September 8 through Specialist Subject Records. You can stream the song below:

Hailing from Leeds with more influences than we can count, Big Wow pack an incredibly amount of fun into each of their song. Tracks from the band tend to run under 3 minutes, but that’s perfectly okay when the material delivered is as infectious as the song above. We only recently fell in love with Big Wow, but there is a decent chance we’ve already been converted to fans for life.

If you like what you hear and wish to support Big Wow, click here and pre-order Teamwork Makes The Dream Work. You can also catch the band live during the month of September. Here is a list of their upcoming tour dates:

9/25 – London – The Urban Bar, Whitechapel
9/26 – Leeds – Santiago
9/27 – Newcastle – TBA
12/13 – Leeds – Out Of Spite Fest

]]>
0
Matthew Leimkuehler http://underthegunreview.net <![CDATA[LIVE REVIEW: The Blood Brothers @ FYF Fest in Los Angeles, California (8/24/2014)]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1127984 2014-08-27T11:58:09Z 2014-08-27T14:15:17Z There’s a certain sense of euphoria that rushes into you when you’re waiting for your favorite band to take the stage. The steam from the fog lights, the pure energy from the crowd waiting to explode upon hearing that first note. You wait desperately for the house music to fade and the lights to fall. You roll around on the balls of your feet, checking your phone every two seconds, counting down the minutes.

That anxiety, that natural high of anticipation creeps in through your toes and makes its way to the bottom of your stomach, where it settles — …

]]>
There’s a certain sense of euphoria that rushes into you when you’re waiting for your favorite band to take the stage. The steam from the fog lights, the pure energy from the crowd waiting to explode upon hearing that first note. You wait desperately for the house music to fade and the lights to fall. You roll around on the balls of your feet, checking your phone every two seconds, counting down the minutes.

That anxiety, that natural high of anticipation creeps in through your toes and makes its way to the bottom of your stomach, where it settles — waiting to burst out of every pore as soon as that beloved group of musicians take the stage. You’re sweaty, your back aches, you’re even shaking a little bit because the moment you’ve been waiting for — the set you’ve been dreaming about that has gotten you through all of those tough days — is about to come to life right before your eyes. It’s a feeling unlike anything else in this world and every music fan who has had a record or band shape and change his or her life knows this buzz. It’s a natural high more powerful than anything else on this world, and chasing that feeling is the reason I am here today.

For what seemed like years, I had lost that feeling. I had lost the reason I went to shows. That tingle that crept into me as I waited for my favorite band to take the stage had left. It was as though the fire had been extinguished. I had become so immune to the replenishing wave of emotion created by connecting with music that I had forgotten the entire reason I do what I do in the first place.

But The Blood Brothers fixed all of that on Sunday night.

I felt more alive than I had felt in years. I embraced the pre-show euphoria, I let it overwhelm my emotions and spill into the near-perfect 16-song set from the band. I embraced everything The Blood Brothers’ music had meant to me for a decade and I let those emotions take hold. I didn’t look back. I experienced the best I have experienced in recent memory.

And this isn’t just about The Blood Brothers or how special Sunday night was for me — it’s a reminder to all music fans that there’s a reason we attach ourselves to music and there’s a reason we go to shows. Never forget that reason and never lose those feelings.

The Blood Brothers took the stage to what turned into the most energetic set of the entire weekend at FYF Fest in Los Angeles [the acronym contradiction still drives me crazy]. The band quintessentially opened with “Guitarmy,” and all of our little corner of Los Angeles exploded. The crowd was like nothing the festival had seen all weekend — with kids crawling, pushing, climbing, jumping, clapping, and doing anything they could to engage in music that hadn’t seen the light of day in years.

The band then fired through hit after hit. “Guitarmy” turned into “Trash Flavored Trash” which led to “Fucking’s Greatest Hits” and then into “Laser Life.” And this is the first 15 minutes of the set. There wasn’t a dead second for all 55 minutes. The near-manic juxtaposition between dual vocalists Jordan Billie and Johnny Whitney wasn’t rusty the way most bands are rusty after nearly 7 years of inactivity — it was just as alive as if the songs were released yesterday. If this is a band seven years removed from activity then I can’t imagine what the experience was like when a record like Crimes first hit shelves. Songs like “Ambulance vs. Ambulance” showed no sign of age or lost touch. All the songs were full of vigor and pent-up energy from the crowd and band alike. Age treated The Blood Brothers well.

The songs hit fast and slow, heavy and soft. It was a perfect balance, like the way we remember the band. Songs like “Crimes” gave the crowd time to catch its breath, while songs like “Beautiful Horses” sent the crowd into overdrive. There was a beauty to it, the way the band created an ebb and flow through years of amazing music. There was little interaction between songs. The band let the nearly-decade marinated set do the talking for it.

“This is a song we wrote in high school,” Billie told the crowd in one of the few pauses in the set before tearing into “Burn, Piano Island, Burn.”

Thousands gathered for the undeniably most impressive performance at the festival. I guarantee I’m not the only one who had my life changed after the set. A decade ago, The Blood Brothers were considered one of the most eclectic bands in music — maybe revolutionary to the point that even the alternative scene wasn’t ready for it. The music isn’t describable the way most music is — it transcended and melded jazz, hardcore, pop, and even funk the way no band had ever, or will ever do again. And maybe that was something fans weren’t ready to appreciate in 2007. But when the band took the stage for the second time this decade Sunday night, there was no question of the band’s mutual acceptance.

And maybe it took seven years for the band’s fan base to mature and understand what a fantastic catalog they were hearing. I didn’t understand or appreciate the band when I was 17 the way I do now, and that’s a good thing. It made the night that much more special. It was as though the world was ready for this band to reunite, to show the world that these songs are songs ready to stand the test of time unlike any of its peers.

All philosophical reasoning to why the stars aligned the way they did last weekend aside — it was a fantastic set. The band closed the night with back-to-back songs “Love Rhymes With A Hideous Car Wreck” and “Cecilia and the Silhouette Saloon” and then the singers embraced in an emotional hug. Not the way you hug a relative you don’t especially like but feel obliged to show compassion toward; but the kind of hug you give someone when you go through something indescribable together.

Thousands chanted for an encore that never came. We can only hope we will see the band again soon enough. The world needs a band like The Blood Brothers to keep it on its toes — to continue to push the boundaries of music and influence future generations to do the same.

Although we all scream in our own pitch for the band to continue, it appears this will not be the case.

“This is very, very temporary. We live in three different cities, and we all have careers and families and other bands. This was our one chance to do this and we don’t want to wear out our welcome,” Billie told the Los Angeles Times in an exclusive interview.

A band that will truly be forever imitated but never duplicated, The Blood Brothers showed Los Angeles and the greater musical world that after seven silent years people still give a damn about chaotic and passionate music.

Thank you, The Blood Brothers, for making me care again.

The-Blood-Brothers-photo

Written by Matthew Leimkuehler (@callinghomematt)
*feature photo credit to Oliver Walker.

]]>
0
Michael Giegerich <![CDATA[What You Didn’t Know: MUST DIE]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1128114 2014-08-27T10:50:10Z 2014-08-27T13:30:56Z Starting this month, staff writer Michael Giegerich will begin bringing readers a brand new feature to feast on. Focusing on lesser known aspects of artists, What You Didn’t Know looks to help people gain a better understanding of their favorite musicians from all levels of the music scene.

After the successful debut of our fresh column earlier this month, we’ve returned to bring you another slew of interesting facts about your favorite artists. With the recent release of his brand new banger in the form of “Hellcat,” today’s edition features MUST DIE, a Berlin born, Atlanta based producer who …

]]>
Starting this month, staff writer Michael Giegerich will begin bringing readers a brand new feature to feast on. Focusing on lesser known aspects of artists, What You Didn’t Know looks to help people gain a better understanding of their favorite musicians from all levels of the music scene.

After the successful debut of our fresh column earlier this month, we’ve returned to bring you another slew of interesting facts about your favorite artists. With the recent release of his brand new banger in the form of “Hellcat,” today’s edition features MUST DIE, a Berlin born, Atlanta based producer who dabbles in a variety of genres ranging from house to dubstep. Read on to get a glimpse at his life behind the scenes of touring the globe.

1. I was raised on and off by my grandparents in Mississippi, and by age 13 I had moved in with them full-time to start a new life.

2. I play multiple instruments including guitar, drums, bass guitar, and keyboards.

3. I love to read and have finally started finding time to read again amidst touring and writing music.

4. I have a weird talent where I can emulate most singers and I have an oddly wide vocal range.

5. I can’t taste cilantro/coriander properly (it tastes instead like soap).

Follow MUST DIE on Twitter

]]>
0
Michael Giegerich <![CDATA[REVIEW: Lumberjvck – ‘Jvckwood’ EP]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1128026 2014-08-27T10:49:24Z 2014-08-27T12:45:29Z Artist: Lumberjvck
Album: Jvckwood EP
Genre: Bass music
Label: Rottun Recordings

As heard during his live shows and mixes, Excision, Canada’s resident creator of skull-shaking dubstep, has quite the ear for electronic music of all varieties. Thus, it’s no surprise that his label, Rottun Recordings, is filled to the brim with rising talents from across the scene. After stumbling across a producer named Lumberjvck and realizing he was a part of said label, it took little convincing to listen to the teaser for his record, Jvckwood, and quickly becoming interested in hearing how it would flesh out in its …

]]>
Artist: Lumberjvck
Album: Jvckwood EP
Genre: Bass music
Label: Rottun Recordings

As heard during his live shows and mixes, Excision, Canada’s resident creator of skull-shaking dubstep, has quite the ear for electronic music of all varieties. Thus, it’s no surprise that his label, Rottun Recordings, is filled to the brim with rising talents from across the scene. After stumbling across a producer named Lumberjvck and realizing he was a part of said label, it took little convincing to listen to the teaser for his record, Jvckwood, and quickly becoming interested in hearing how it would flesh out in its entirety.

Fortunately, it seems Jvckwood does not disappoint as heard on the KhemehK-assisted track, “Bumpwood,” a genre-bending assault packed with tattering trap snares, crunchy synths, and a metal guitar riff to match. Believe it or not, this ends up being the lightest of the EP’s four tracks, though, as Lumberjvck veers into the heaviest territories of electronic music via absolutely devastating drops. Cuts such as “Reelfoot Lake” pierce the air with screeching deathstep tendencies while the percussion in “Cordwood” marches along in hardstyle fashion before melting into a trapstep breakdown.

The album closer, “Mirkwood,” is a fitting ending to a 15-minute crash course in Lumberjvck’s ability to run with the best of those on his label (and even the man at the top) as its machine-gun synths and liquid bass lines solidify the notion that Jvckwood is quite possibly one of the best electronic releases of 2014.

SCORE: 9/10
Review written by Michael Giegerich (Follow him on Twitter)

Purchase Jvckwood on Beatport

]]>
0
Kriston McConnell http://underthegunreview.net <![CDATA[LYRIC VIDEO: Fit For A King – “A Greater Sense Of Self”]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1128159 2014-08-27T11:28:30Z 2014-08-27T04:12:32Z Slave To Nothing will be the third full-length album for Christian metalcore outfit Fit For A King. They recently confirmed its release date, and now they have finally dropped the lead single off it. They teamed up with Alternative Press to unleash the lyric video for “A Greater Sense Of Self,” and it’s also available below the jump.

This is the band’s first single since their clean vocalist, Aaron Kadura, parted ways with the band. The vocals are markedly different, but do not have a negative impact on the overall sound. Their new clean vocalist’s voice is solid, and …

]]>
Slave To Nothing will be the third full-length album for Christian metalcore outfit Fit For A King. They recently confirmed its release date, and now they have finally dropped the lead single off it. They teamed up with Alternative Press to unleash the lyric video for “A Greater Sense Of Self,” and it’s also available below the jump.

This is the band’s first single since their clean vocalist, Aaron Kadura, parted ways with the band. The vocals are markedly different, but do not have a negative impact on the overall sound. Their new clean vocalist’s voice is solid, and it will be great to hear what the rest of the album sounds like.

Slave To Nothing will officially hit stores October 14 through Solid State Records. Pre-orders will become available this Thursday.

]]>
0
Ryan Kappy <![CDATA[The Acacia Strain To Headline Tour In Support Of ‘Coma Witch’]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1128180 2014-08-27T03:23:48Z 2014-08-27T03:23:48Z Deathcore outfit The Acacia Strain are back in full force this fall with their new album, Coma Witch, which will be released on October 14 through Rise Records.

In order to fully support the release of the album, the band has announced a brief headlining tour in October. The tour will start on the album’s release date in Richmond, VA at the Canal Club and end in Buffalo, NY on October 26. Supporting the tour will be fellow Rise metal act The Plot In You and Cane Hill.

In case you missed it, the band released the first song …

]]>
Deathcore outfit The Acacia Strain are back in full force this fall with their new album, Coma Witch, which will be released on October 14 through Rise Records.

In order to fully support the release of the album, the band has announced a brief headlining tour in October. The tour will start on the album’s release date in Richmond, VA at the Canal Club and end in Buffalo, NY on October 26. Supporting the tour will be fellow Rise metal act The Plot In You and Cane Hill.

In case you missed it, the band released the first song off the record called “Cauterizer” and you can listen to it at this location. Check out the tour dates below after the jump.

the acacia strain

The Acacia Strain w/ The Plot In You & Cane Hill:

10/14 Richmond, VA – Canal Club
10/15 Raleigh, NC – Southland Ballroom (feat. Gideon)
10/16 West Columbia, SC – New Brookland Tavern
10/17 Jacksonville, FL – 1904 Music Hall
10/18 Tallahassee, FL – Pug’s Live
10/19 New Orleans, LA – The Beatnik
10/21 St. Louis, MO – The Firebird
10/22 Lansing, MI – Mac’s Bar
10/23 Covington, KY – Legend’s Bar & Grill
10/24 Columbus, OH – Ace Of Cups
10/25 Erie, PA – Basement Transmissions
10/26 Buffalo, NY – Studio At Waiting Room

]]>
0
Ryan Kappy <![CDATA[A New Alien Ant Farm Song Titled “Homage” Has Surfaced]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1128174 2014-08-27T02:28:28Z 2014-08-27T02:28:28Z Who remembers Alien Ant Farm? You know, the band that breathed new life into Michael Jackson’s “Smooth Criminal,” possibly making it bigger than the original version. Yes, the band that had that cover and their hit original song “Movies” as their go-to songs in the early 2000s is back!

After a long break from releases since 2006, the band launched a Pledge Campaign last year to support a release of a new record on their own even though they have been on Universal for the past four albums. After reaching their goal to record, it seems our first taste of …

]]>
Who remembers Alien Ant Farm? You know, the band that breathed new life into Michael Jackson’s “Smooth Criminal,” possibly making it bigger than the original version. Yes, the band that had that cover and their hit original song “Movies” as their go-to songs in the early 2000s is back!

After a long break from releases since 2006, the band launched a Pledge Campaign last year to support a release of a new record on their own even though they have been on Universal for the past four albums. After reaching their goal to record, it seems our first taste of the new record has hit the inter-webs today in the release of a new song named “Homage,” which premiered over at 91x San Diego.

The song is a total change from the early material from the band that you may remember. “Homage” is more keyboard-driven, and frontman Dryden Mitchell has changed his distinctive vocal style with what appears to have a heavy Brandon Flowers (The Killers) influence. This could either be a turn-on for eager fans open to a nee direction or a turn-off for older fans who want more punk-driven riffs and a sound similar to what the band was producing on Anthology and Truant.

An album announcement should be surfacing in the next couple weeks, but in the meantime, you can stream the new song here and see what you think.

]]>
0
Ryan Kappy <![CDATA[Stream Interpol’s New Album ‘El Pintor’ In Full]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1128168 2014-08-27T02:00:25Z 2014-08-27T02:00:25Z After years of anticipation, lineup changes and countless single premieres in the past couple weeks, NYC post-punk band Interpol is now streaming their latest album, El Pintor, over at NPR today.

The album, serving as the follow-up to 2010′s self-titled effort, will be released on September 9 via Matador Records. It was recorded in their hometown of NYC by James Brown (Arctic Monkeys, Foo Fighters) as engineer at Electric Lady Studios and Atomic Sound. It features long-time guitarist/vocalist Paul Banks playing bass for the first time as well as the band being a three-piece outfit for the release.

You …

]]>
After years of anticipation, lineup changes and countless single premieres in the past couple weeks, NYC post-punk band Interpol is now streaming their latest album, El Pintor, over at NPR today.

The album, serving as the follow-up to 2010′s self-titled effort, will be released on September 9 via Matador Records. It was recorded in their hometown of NYC by James Brown (Arctic Monkeys, Foo Fighters) as engineer at Electric Lady Studios and Atomic Sound. It features long-time guitarist/vocalist Paul Banks playing bass for the first time as well as the band being a three-piece outfit for the release.

You can check out the album artwork and track listing for El Pintor after the jump.

Interpol El Pintor

El Pintor Tracklist:
01. All the Rage Back Home
02. My Desire
03. Anywhere
04. Same Town, New Story
05. My Blue Supreme
06. Everything Is Wrong
07. Breaker 1
08. Ancient Ways
09. Tidal Wave
10. Twice as Hard

]]>
0
Kevin Blumeyer <![CDATA[Unearth Announce New Album, Co-Headline Tour With Darkest Hour]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1128155 2014-08-27T01:18:38Z 2014-08-27T01:09:43Z Unearth just wrapped up a massive anniversary tour celebrating ten years of The Oncoming Storm, but now it’s time to look to the future. The Massachusetts metalcore titans have announced plans to release their sixth studio effort Watchers of Rule on October 28 through eOne Music.

Along with the announcement came news the band will co-headline the ‘Hell or High Wattage Tour’ alongside Darkest Hour, who just released their new self-titled LP three weeks ago. The trek will feature support from Carnifex, Origin, I, The Breather and Black Crown Initiate. Dates for that run can be found below.…

]]>
Unearth just wrapped up a massive anniversary tour celebrating ten years of The Oncoming Storm, but now it’s time to look to the future. The Massachusetts metalcore titans have announced plans to release their sixth studio effort Watchers of Rule on October 28 through eOne Music.

Along with the announcement came news the band will co-headline the ‘Hell or High Wattage Tour’ alongside Darkest Hour, who just released their new self-titled LP three weeks ago. The trek will feature support from Carnifex, Origin, I, The Breather and Black Crown Initiate. Dates for that run can be found below.

Hell or High Wattage

]]>
0
Brian Lion http://underthegunreview.net <![CDATA[Join Arms and Sleepers’ “Swim Team” For One Of Summer’s Last Appropriately Seasonal Singles]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1128154 2014-08-27T02:36:59Z 2014-08-27T00:58:13Z There’s been an influx of new music as of late from bands and genres that we tend to cover heavily here at UTG, but one act I’ve backed since 2006 is Arms and Sleepers, and after hearing their newest material, my support is still as strong as ever. Basically, take the time to experience their unique blends of ambience, electronics, and various moody beats. It all makes for a great release from your typical daily grind.

The Boston duo are set to release their fifth LP (and sixteenth release overall), titled Swim Team, on October 28 via Fake …

]]>
There’s been an influx of new music as of late from bands and genres that we tend to cover heavily here at UTG, but one act I’ve backed since 2006 is Arms and Sleepers, and after hearing their newest material, my support is still as strong as ever. Basically, take the time to experience their unique blends of ambience, electronics, and various moody beats. It all makes for a great release from your typical daily grind.

The Boston duo are set to release their fifth LP (and sixteenth release overall), titled Swim Team, on October 28 via Fake Chapter Records. Following the super chill “Hurry Slowly,” A&S are streaming another new single from the effort over at Earmilk. Serving as a fittingly bright and upbeat, yet lo-fi, cut for the season, the album’s title track should appeal to fans of everything from Passion Pit to Odesza, and will fit perfectly on your ‘Pool Party Playlist.’ Jam it after the jump.

You can pre-order Swim Team now through the band’s Big Cartel page. We snagged a vinyl copy with record speed (#pun). Join us by grabbing a copy of your own.

]]>
0
James Shotwell <![CDATA[‘Son Of A Gun’ Trailer: Ewan McGregor Introduces Brenton Thwaites To A Life Of Crime]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1128145 2014-08-27T00:41:13Z 2014-08-27T00:36:45Z Here’s yet another fall 2014 film with a ton of potential. The season is filling up fast.

Ewan McGregor is not typically the first movie star that comes to mind when someone starts telling stories of crime and violence, but in the upcoming film Son Of A Gun that is the exact world he’s mastered. McGregor plays a hardened criminal who, after making friends with a young thief (Brenton Thwaites) in prison, takes a young criminal under his wing for the biggest job of his career. The goal: Steal all the gold. The problem: Lots of cops and bad guys. …

]]>
Here’s yet another fall 2014 film with a ton of potential. The season is filling up fast.

Ewan McGregor is not typically the first movie star that comes to mind when someone starts telling stories of crime and violence, but in the upcoming film Son Of A Gun that is the exact world he’s mastered. McGregor plays a hardened criminal who, after making friends with a young thief (Brenton Thwaites) in prison, takes a young criminal under his wing for the biggest job of his career. The goal: Steal all the gold. The problem: Lots of cops and bad guys. You can view the film’s first trailer below:

McGregor is always a treasure on screen, but the big draw for me is Brenton Thwaites. We have been covering Thwaites’ career heavily in 2014, and it looks like Son Of A Gun will offer him a chance to showcase a side of his acting talent we have yet to see this year. We’ve seen sweet (Maleficent), scared (The Signal), and heroic (The Giver), but Thwaites as a badass is something entirely new. Count me in.

Son Of A Gun is slated to hit Australian theaters this fall, but at this time does not have a stateside release date. We’ll bring you more information on this project as additional details begin to surface.

]]>
0
Matthew Leimkuehler http://underthegunreview.net <![CDATA[DROP EVERYTHING & JAM: Shadow Of Whales’ New EP Is The Best Thing You’ll Spin Today]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1128140 2014-08-27T00:38:44Z 2014-08-26T21:53:05Z Thanks to an exclusive stream via our friends at AbsolutePunk, we have officially found our favorite new release of the day. Shadow of Whales, an Austin, Texas based indie-rock group, have dropped one of the sassiest and catchiest records in recent memory. Mixing synth-pop with a bit of post-hardcore aggression, the self-titled record comes off sounding like everything the new Panic At The Disco! record should have sounded like but missed completely.

It has power, it has drive, and it without a doubt contains some of the most grossly intimidating melodies around. Songs like the burlesque and barber …

]]>
Thanks to an exclusive stream via our friends at AbsolutePunk, we have officially found our favorite new release of the day. Shadow of Whales, an Austin, Texas based indie-rock group, have dropped one of the sassiest and catchiest records in recent memory. Mixing synth-pop with a bit of post-hardcore aggression, the self-titled record comes off sounding like everything the new Panic At The Disco! record should have sounded like but missed completely.

It has power, it has drive, and it without a doubt contains some of the most grossly intimidating melodies around. Songs like the burlesque and barber shop-influenced “Bury The Hatchet,” and the infectiously indie pop track “Fall Back,” are locked and loaded, radio ready numbers just waiting to creep into households world wide.

Be a cool kid and jump on the Shadows of Whales bandwagon now before all your friends. Click the link to buy the record today and be sure to head over to AbsolutePunk to stream the record in full.

]]>
1
James Shotwell <![CDATA[REVIEW: Ty Dolla $ign – ‘$ign Language’]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1128130 2014-08-26T21:33:22Z 2014-08-26T21:27:12Z Artist: Ty Dolla Sign
Album: $ign Language
Genre: Hip-hop

After seven years of making people move with his original take on urban music, Ty Dolla $ign makes it clear that he is ready for the next level of stardom with $ign Language.

Most people in music today have made their money leveraging a signature sound and perfecting it again and again. Ty Dolla $ign did this quite a bit early on, but over the last two or three years the California native has been exploring the possibilities of urban music through a series of mixtape and EP releases. The …

]]>
Artist: Ty Dolla Sign
Album: $ign Language
Genre: Hip-hop

After seven years of making people move with his original take on urban music, Ty Dolla $ign makes it clear that he is ready for the next level of stardom with $ign Language.

Most people in music today have made their money leveraging a signature sound and perfecting it again and again. Ty Dolla $ign did this quite a bit early on, but over the last two or three years the California native has been exploring the possibilities of urban music through a series of mixtape and EP releases. The Beach House series promoted the good life and everything that comes to those who work hard to chase after their dreams. This allowed ample space for sonic exploration, and the result of that multi-year journey is $ign Language, a diverse and thrilling collection of hits that should push Ty$ further into the national spotlight than ever before.

The best highlights of $ign Language involve star-studded tracks that keep Ty$ in focus while welcoming a variety of the biggest names in hip-hop to the mix. “NDK,” which features G.O.O.D. Music member Big Sean, ushers fans into the album with provocative talk of living the life listeners only dream about. This idea of embodying a lifestyle where you make money with friends, sleep with random girls (who are referred to on this release as ‘pussy’ and/or ‘bitches’), and not take shit from anyone who hates on your hustle. It’s all well and good, except for the misogyny, but it’s nothing a million other rappers haven’t covered on a million other mixtapes. The only originality comes in the way the metaphors and phrasing are strung together — which is where appearances from YG, Rick Ross, Yo Gotti, Jeremih, Juicy J, Jay 305, Casey Veggies, and more come in. Ty$ knows his subject matter is generic; he packs songs with guests who have unique perspectives on life in hopes of catching people off guard. Surprisingly, it works more often than not. Listen to “Dead Presidents,” “Drank N Cranberry,” and “Issue” if you need proof.

$ign Language only really falls flat when Ty$ is left to create entire songs on his own. There are only two tracks on the record that boast no features, and neither of them offer anything redeeming in the slightest. “Stetch // She Betta” spends three minutes of its six minute runtime talking about what can done to loosen the sex organs of Ty’s latest lover. It’s not romantic or all that smooth, but rather boring and incredibly misogynistic. I mean, how many ladies in your life have you caught wishing someone would come along and openly proclaim their desire to quote “stretch their pussy out?” “Missionary,” the other solo track, keeps sex at the center of everything, but offers nothing we haven’t heard before in terms of lyrical content. It’s smoother than “Stretch // She Better,” but ultimately goes nowhere.

All misguided attempts at swooning aside, $ign Language offers a thrilling and entirely enjoyable look at the latest developments in the life of Ty Dolla $ign. It’s not the perfect release fans have been waiting for him to deliver, but it is a far more entertaining experience than the Beach House EP Ty released earlier this year. With a little more work on his verses Ty$ could become a serious threat as a solo act in the world of hip-hop, but for now he’s best used whenever someone needs a vocoder-heavy hook or a few bars on sex. I do believe he’s capable of much more; however, and I hope he reaches those heights in the years to come.

SCORE: 8/10
Review written by: James Shotwell

]]>
0
Drew Caruso <![CDATA[State Champs Reveal “Elevated” From ‘The Acoustic Things’]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1128127 2014-08-27T00:36:02Z 2014-08-26T20:40:02Z State Champs recently announced a new acoustic EP titled The Acoustic Things, which will contain 5 acoustic renditions from The Finer Things as well as two new tracks. Thanks to Kerrang! we can now hear the acoustic version of the band’s hit track “Elevated.”

Showcasing how easily the band can transition to acoustic, the stripped-down version of “Elevated” can act as the perfect welcome into the fall season. Featuring bright guitars, piano, snapping, and perfectly transitioned vocals, the soothing “Elevated” should get any fan excited for the upcoming release.

Follow us after the jump to take a listen, and …

]]>
State Champs recently announced a new acoustic EP titled The Acoustic Things, which will contain 5 acoustic renditions from The Finer Things as well as two new tracks. Thanks to Kerrang! we can now hear the acoustic version of the band’s hit track “Elevated.”

Showcasing how easily the band can transition to acoustic, the stripped-down version of “Elevated” can act as the perfect welcome into the fall season. Featuring bright guitars, piano, snapping, and perfectly transitioned vocals, the soothing “Elevated” should get any fan excited for the upcoming release.

Follow us after the jump to take a listen, and be sure to pre-order the EP here.

]]>
0
Sam Cohen <![CDATA[A Norse God And Kaiju Expert Join The Remake Of ‘Vacation’]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1128110 2014-08-26T20:22:55Z 2014-08-26T20:21:56Z The Hollywood Reporter broke the news that stars Chris Hemsworth (Thor, Cabin In The Woods) and Charlie Day (Pacific Rim, It’s Always Sunny In Philadelphia) have climbed on board to New Line’s reboot of National Lampoon’s Vacation, called Vacation, of course. This news is following the report that this new comedy headlined by Ed Helms as Rusty Griswold (son of Chevy Chase’s original character, Clark) and Christina Applegate as his wife.

Furthermore, Hemsworth will be playing Stone Crandall, the husband of Rusty’s sister Audrey. Crandall will be an up-and-coming anchorman (according to …

]]>
The Hollywood Reporter broke the news that stars Chris Hemsworth (Thor, Cabin In The Woods) and Charlie Day (Pacific Rim, It’s Always Sunny In Philadelphia) have climbed on board to New Line’s reboot of National Lampoon’s Vacation, called Vacation, of course. This news is following the report that this new comedy headlined by Ed Helms as Rusty Griswold (son of Chevy Chase’s original character, Clark) and Christina Applegate as his wife.

Furthermore, Hemsworth will be playing Stone Crandall, the husband of Rusty’s sister Audrey. Crandall will be an up-and-coming anchorman (according to THR). My guess is that Helm’s ‘everyday man’ look will be made fun of when juxtaposed to Hemsworth’s bravado. Hemsworth will next be seen in Michael Mann’s cyber-crime thriller Blackhat on January 16, 2015.

Charlie Day will be cameoing as a river-rafting guide while both Chevy Chase and Beverly D’Angelo (the original couple from the first Vacation) will show up in some fashion. Day will next be seen in Horrible Bosses 2 on November 26. John Francis Daley and Jonathan Goldstein, the writers behind Horrible Bosses, will be pulling double duty as they write and make their directorial debuts. Harold Ramis, who passed away earlier this year, directed the original film. John Hughes (The Breakfast Club) wrote it.

Just in case you need a reminder of how funny the original film is, check out the clip below!

Photo: AP Images

Source: The Hollywood Reporter

]]>
0
James Shotwell <![CDATA[Jessie J, Ariana Grande, And Nicki Minaj Deliver “Bang Bang” Music Video]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1128120 2014-08-27T00:35:12Z 2014-08-26T20:18:54Z I don’t know why “Bang Bang” is not already the biggest single at pop radio worldwide, but it certainly deserves to be. Featuring three of the hottest stars in music today, the song features memorable verses, fun production, and a hook that refuses to leave you alone long after the track itself has come to a close. It’s everything most singles wish they could be, and today the song destined to become your new anthem was given its own music video.

If you caught Jessie J, Ariana Grande, and Nicki Minaj performing together at the VMAs over the …

]]>
I don’t know why “Bang Bang” is not already the biggest single at pop radio worldwide, but it certainly deserves to be. Featuring three of the hottest stars in music today, the song features memorable verses, fun production, and a hook that refuses to leave you alone long after the track itself has come to a close. It’s everything most singles wish they could be, and today the song destined to become your new anthem was given its own music video.

If you caught Jessie J, Ariana Grande, and Nicki Minaj performing together at the VMAs over the weekend then you already have a good idea of what to expect from the official “Bang Bang” video. It’s pretty, but also incredibly shallow. If a plot exists, it’s paper thin and involves three complete strangers having separate dance parties throughout the city of New York on a hot summer’s day. When night falls, the three leads gather at a fancy rooftop party and – you guessed it – dance some more. Check it out:

The appearance of Ariana Grande is what first brought this track to our attention, but in the weeks since the audio first debuted online we have fallen in love with every aspect of “Bang Bang” twice over. Even Nicki Minaj, who is the one element of this song that receives too much attention from the press, contributes an admirable verse that fits the song without stealing the show altogether. Comment below and let us know your thoughts on the video above.

]]>
0
James Shotwell <![CDATA[FREE MP3: The Chainsmokers – “Polkadots” (Original Mix)]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1128104 2014-08-26T19:04:58Z 2014-08-26T19:04:58Z Alex Pall and Drew Taggart, aka The Chainsmokers, are currently riding an EDM roller coaster filled with career highs and epic bass drops. 2014 has found the group topping Billboard with “#Selfie,” paying tribute to the king of controversy with “Kanye,” and now – just as summer is winding down – the duo is making headlines once again with a new track titled “Polkadots.”

If you have been fortunate enough to catch one of The Chainsmokers’ live shows in recent months there is a good chance you are already familiar with “Polkadots.” The thump-heavy track …

]]>
Alex Pall and Drew Taggart, aka The Chainsmokers, are currently riding an EDM roller coaster filled with career highs and epic bass drops. 2014 has found the group topping Billboard with “#Selfie,” paying tribute to the king of controversy with “Kanye,” and now – just as summer is winding down – the duo is making headlines once again with a new track titled “Polkadots.”

If you have been fortunate enough to catch one of The Chainsmokers’ live shows in recent months there is a good chance you are already familiar with “Polkadots.” The thump-heavy track has been a staple of the group’s stage show throughout the summer season, and earlier today they decided to share the studio cut of the song through our friends at DJ Mag. It’s a pretty big sonic departure from the duo’s other recent hits, but that is not necessarily a bad thing. You can stream and download the song, in full, below:

Speaking with DJ Mag about the track, The Chainsmokers remarked:

“So we made this track about 6 months ago and have been playing it every set of ours since. Its a big room fun energetic song that is perfect for any dance set. Obviously its not our traditional vocal indie style but we like to get weird and do that whole put your hands up thing too, is that such a crime… Plus whatever its free so if you dont like it dont listen to it! But we wanted to put something out for free and we get tons of messages about this song and when we will release it, so…wonder no more!”

The Chainsmokers will continue to tour throughout the remainder of 2014. Click here for the group’s latest dates and ticket information.

]]>
0
James Shotwell <![CDATA[New ‘Interstellar’ Trailer Is Everything You Want And More (But Not Too Much)]]> http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1128101 2014-08-26T19:04:27Z 2014-08-26T18:56:03Z Christopher Nolan is one of those rare filmmakers who can bring any story to the big screen and fans will line up at their local cineplex to show support. It was not always this way, of course, but over the last decade Nolan has proven himself to be a one of a kind visionary who never seems short on fresh ideas.

For his latest feature, Nolan has given the public a trailer-heavy campaign that has somehow managed to keep the vast majority of his new film’s plot tightly under wraps. We know Interstellar will find Matthew McConaughey heading into space, …

]]>
Christopher Nolan is one of those rare filmmakers who can bring any story to the big screen and fans will line up at their local cineplex to show support. It was not always this way, of course, but over the last decade Nolan has proven himself to be a one of a kind visionary who never seems short on fresh ideas.

For his latest feature, Nolan has given the public a trailer-heavy campaign that has somehow managed to keep the vast majority of his new film’s plot tightly under wraps. We know Interstellar will find Matthew McConaughey heading into space, likely for a lengthy amount of time, but the reasons why he specifically must go and the things he finds along the way have been shrouded in mystery since day one. The latest trailer does not provide a lot of answers, but it does offer several gorgeous seconds of new footage that successfully pull you in even further than previous marketing efforts. You can view the clip below:

I am in love with the look of this film, and I know I am saying that after only witnessing five minutes (or less) of footage, but it’s completely true. There is a grittiness to everything, including space, and I think that stylistic choice will help set Interstellar apart from the growing number of space adventures making their way to the box office.

In addition to McConaughey, Interstellar features Anne Hathaway, Jessica Chastain, Casey Affleck, Matt Damon, Michael Caine, Ellen Burstyn, John Lithgow, and Topher Grace.

Interstellar is set for release on November 7. The official synopsis reads:

Interstellar chronicles the adventures of a group of explorers who make use of a newly discovered wormhole to surpass the limitations on human space travel and conquer the vast distances involved in an interstellar voyage.

Are you interested in seeing Interstellar? Comment below and let us know your thoughts.

]]>
0