Under the Gun Review http://www.underthegunreview.net Entertainment news for today's generation Tue, 21 Oct 2014 16:23:14 +0000 en-US hourly 1 http://wordpress.org/?v=3.9 August Burns Red And Miss May I Announce 2015 North American Tour http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/10/21/august-burns-red-and-miss-may-i-announce-2015-north-american-tour/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/10/21/august-burns-red-and-miss-may-i-announce-2015-north-american-tour/#comments Tue, 21 Oct 2014 16:23:14 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1134949 Metalcore giants August Burns Red have revealed they will be heading out on a massive North American trek early next year. Starting January 22 in Baltimore before wrapping up on March 8 in Philadelphia, the tour will feature direct support from Miss May I alongside Northlane and recent Sumerian Records signees, ERRA.

All of the tour’s confirmed dates and locations can be found after the jump, so be sure to see if August Burns Red will be performing in a city near you. As for tickets, they are set to go on sale October 31, so don’t forget to …

]]>
Metalcore giants August Burns Red have revealed they will be heading out on a massive North American trek early next year. Starting January 22 in Baltimore before wrapping up on March 8 in Philadelphia, the tour will feature direct support from Miss May I alongside Northlane and recent Sumerian Records signees, ERRA.

All of the tour’s confirmed dates and locations can be found after the jump, so be sure to see if August Burns Red will be performing in a city near you. As for tickets, they are set to go on sale October 31, so don’t forget to purchase them before beginning your planned Halloween festivities.

Tour Dates

1/22 – Baltimore, MD @ Baltimore Soundstage
1/23 – New York, NY @ Irving Plaza
1/24 – Clifton Park, NY @ Upstate Concert Hall
1/25 – Boston, MA @ House of Blues
1/27 – Quebec, QC @ Imperial De Quebec
1/28 – Montreal, QC @ Metropolis
1/29 – Ottawa, ON @ Bronson Centre
1/30 – Toronto, ON @ Phoenix Theatre
1/31 – London, ON @ London Music Hall
2/1 – Detroit, MI @ St. Andrew’s Hall
2/3 – Cleveland, OH @ House of Blues
2/4 – Cincinnati, OH @ Bogart’s
2/5 – Milwaukee, WI @ The Rave
2/6 – Minneapolis, MN @ Mill City Nights
2/7 – Lawrence, KS @ The Granada
2/9 – Denver, CO @ Summit Music Hall
2/10 – Murray, UT @ Murray Theater
2/12 – Edmonton, AB @ Starlite Room
2/13 – Calgary, AB @ MacEwan Ballroom
2/14 – Spokane, WA @ Knitting Factory
2/15 – Boise, ID @ Knitting Factory
2/16 – Seattle, WA @ The Showbox
2/17 – Portland, OR @ Hawthorne Theater
2/19 – Sacramento, CA @ Ace of Spades
2/20 – Pomona, CA @ The Glasshouse
2/21 – San Diego, CA @ House of Blues
2/22 – Mesa, AZ @ Nile Theatre
2/24 – San Antonio, TX @ Backstage Live
2/25 – Dallas, TX @ House of Blues
2/26 – Houston, TX @ House of Blues
2/27 – New Orleans, LA @ House of Blues
2/28 – Oklahoma City, OK @ Diamond Ballroom
3/2 – Lake Buena Visa, FL @ House of Blues
3/3 – Ft. Lauderdale, FL @ Revolution
3/4 – Atlanta, GA @ The Masquerade
3/5 – Charlotte, NC @ Amos’ Southend
3/6 – Norfolk, VA @ The Norva
3/7 – Sayreville, NJ @ Starland Ballroom
3/8 – Philadelphia, PA @ Theatre of Living Arts

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/10/21/august-burns-red-and-miss-may-i-announce-2015-north-american-tour/feed/ 0
Bring Me The Horizon Debut A New Sound With “Drown” http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/10/21/bring-me-the-horizon-debut-a-new-sound-with-drown/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/10/21/bring-me-the-horizon-debut-a-new-sound-with-drown/#comments Tue, 21 Oct 2014 16:09:57 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1134940 Bring Me The Horizon have spent the last few years evolving, and the results have been evident in every piece of music they released. Their latest is no exception, and in fact might be the biggest change in sound the band has delivered to date.

“Drown” arrived online early this morning following an accidental reveal by the band’s label. The song boasts a very straightforward rock sound, with absolutely no screaming to be found anywhere in its four minute runtime. Instead, Sykes sings about holes in his soul and how the weight of the world is increasingly hard to hold …

]]>
Bring Me The Horizon have spent the last few years evolving, and the results have been evident in every piece of music they released. Their latest is no exception, and in fact might be the biggest change in sound the band has delivered to date.

“Drown” arrived online early this morning following an accidental reveal by the band’s label. The song boasts a very straightforward rock sound, with absolutely no screaming to be found anywhere in its four minute runtime. Instead, Sykes sings about holes in his soul and how the weight of the world is increasingly hard to hold up. There’s also a lot of references to water, which has become commonplace in the band’s music. You can stream the song and view its official video below:

Bring Me The Horizon will not start work on their new album until at least December, but if “Drown” is meant to show us where they are headed then it’s safe to say more changes are likely on the way. For now, comment below and let us know your thoughts on the band’s latest development.

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/10/21/bring-me-the-horizon-debut-a-new-sound-with-drown/feed/ 0
Stick To Your Guns Debut “Nobody” Music Video http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/10/21/stick-to-your-guns-debut-nobody-music-video/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/10/21/stick-to-your-guns-debut-nobody-music-video/#comments Tue, 21 Oct 2014 16:04:45 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1134937 California hardcore/metalcore outfit Stick To Your Guns have teamed up with our friends over at Alternative Press to premiere a brand new single and music video. Entitled “Nobody,” the cut is the first taste of Jesse Barnett and company’s forthcoming LP, Disobedient, which is slated for release on February 10, 2015, via Sumerian Records.

Follow the jump to check out “Nobody” and be sure to let us know your thoughts on the track in the comments section below.

]]>
California hardcore/metalcore outfit Stick To Your Guns have teamed up with our friends over at Alternative Press to premiere a brand new single and music video. Entitled “Nobody,” the cut is the first taste of Jesse Barnett and company’s forthcoming LP, Disobedient, which is slated for release on February 10, 2015, via Sumerian Records.

Follow the jump to check out “Nobody” and be sure to let us know your thoughts on the track in the comments section below.

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/10/21/stick-to-your-guns-debut-nobody-music-video/feed/ 0
The Simpsons’ Halloween Tribute To Stanley Kubrick Is Perfect http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/10/21/the-simpsons-halloween-tribute-to-stanley-kubrick-is-perfect/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/10/21/the-simpsons-halloween-tribute-to-stanley-kubrick-is-perfect/#comments Tue, 21 Oct 2014 15:21:55 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1134926 A number of people on our staff may be closer to 30 than 20 these days, but that has not prevented us from maintaining a strong dedication to The Simpsons. Their adventures have kept us entertained our entire lives in a very literal sense, and this week they won us over once again by paying tribute to the great Stanley Kubrick.

The Simpsons‘ aired the 25th installment of their Treehouse of Horror series last Sunday, and per usual the episode featured a collection of short stories that parodied the world of killers, chillers, and thrillers. The middle segment, …

]]>
A number of people on our staff may be closer to 30 than 20 these days, but that has not prevented us from maintaining a strong dedication to The Simpsons. Their adventures have kept us entertained our entire lives in a very literal sense, and this week they won us over once again by paying tribute to the great Stanley Kubrick.

The Simpsons‘ aired the 25th installment of their Treehouse of Horror series last Sunday, and per usual the episode featured a collection of short stories that parodied the world of killers, chillers, and thrillers. The middle segment, which found Moe, Homer, Lenny, and Carl appearing as characters from A Clockwork Orange, paid tribute to the entire career of Stanley Kubrick with a variety of gags that has kept us laughing well into the work week. The segment has since found its way online and can now be viewed below:

The Simpsons air every Sunday on Fox. Some people will tell you the show is no longer funny, but they are liars and you should probably reconsider having them as a friend.

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/10/21/the-simpsons-halloween-tribute-to-stanley-kubrick-is-perfect/feed/ 0
Jessica Pratt Announces New Album ‘On Your Own Love Again’ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/10/21/jessica-pratt-announces-new-album-on-your-own-love-again/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/10/21/jessica-pratt-announces-new-album-on-your-own-love-again/#comments Tue, 21 Oct 2014 15:19:53 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1134922 If you love folk, specifically the gentle sound of classical guitar playing, you likely spent much of 2012 and the following years giving Jessica Pratt‘s self-titled debut a whole lot of play time. Now the California-based singer-songwriter is returning in 2015 with a follow-up, at long last. The album, titled On Your Own Love Again, drops January 27 via Drag City. Pre-orders are ongoing.

Her austere playing and dark, whimsicle wanderings will sound similar to “Night Faces” and “Dreams” off her last release, likely because they were recorded at home over the past two years. According to the press …

]]>
If you love folk, specifically the gentle sound of classical guitar playing, you likely spent much of 2012 and the following years giving Jessica Pratt‘s self-titled debut a whole lot of play time. Now the California-based singer-songwriter is returning in 2015 with a follow-up, at long last. The album, titled On Your Own Love Again, drops January 27 via Drag City. Pre-orders are ongoing.

Her austere playing and dark, whimsicle wanderings will sound similar to “Night Faces” and “Dreams” off her last release, likely because they were recorded at home over the past two years. According to the press release, Pratt created the album out of a sense of urgency to render songs she was hearing inside of herself, honing them down to their tiniest details. Check out the tracklist below:

On Your Own Love Again
1. Wrong Hand
2. Game That I Play
3. Strange Melody
4. Greycedes
5. Moon Dude
6. Jacquelyn In The Background
7. I’ve Got A Feeling
8. Back, Baby
9. On Your Own Love Again

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/10/21/jessica-pratt-announces-new-album-on-your-own-love-again/feed/ 0
PREMIERE: Tesla Rossa – “Wishes” http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/10/21/premiere-tesla-rossa-wishes/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/10/21/premiere-tesla-rossa-wishes/#comments Tue, 21 Oct 2014 15:15:21 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1134916 Nashville’s indie rock trio Tesla Rossa is a brilliant and bombastic example of everything that’s right about rock and roll music. The new self-titled record contains song with utter sex appeal, songs with drive, songs with blistering distortion, and songs with the softest and most humble melodies. It’s an effort worthy of modern rock ‘n’ rolls best — swaying and sensitive enough for this decade’s version of Arctic Monkeys and loud enough to be a product of Jack White.

Today, Under The Gun is premiering the band’s new song off the record, “Wishes.” A lo-fi and entrancing number, “Wishes” embodies …

]]>
Nashville’s indie rock trio Tesla Rossa is a brilliant and bombastic example of everything that’s right about rock and roll music. The new self-titled record contains song with utter sex appeal, songs with drive, songs with blistering distortion, and songs with the softest and most humble melodies. It’s an effort worthy of modern rock ‘n’ rolls best — swaying and sensitive enough for this decade’s version of Arctic Monkeys and loud enough to be a product of Jack White.

Today, Under The Gun is premiering the band’s new song off the record, “Wishes.” A lo-fi and entrancing number, “Wishes” embodies everything the new record is about. Singer and guitarist Jason Denton said this about the new song:

“This song was actually the original demo I recorded in our basement. I had just gotten an octave pedal and was screwing around with playing my electric like a bass to some loops I’d been making on the computer. I liked the uniqueness of the track compared to everything we were writing at the time—it made the cut.”

Click the “Read More” button to check out an exclusive stream of the new song and an interview with Denton. Be on the lookout for the band’s new self-titled record, due out November 11.

Tell me about the new self-titled record.

It’s been a very long time coming. We demoed over 50 songs and toured on them for a couple of years deciding which to cut for an LP. Most of the record was tracked live to 2-inch tape in Nashville at Vance Powell’s studio. A handful of tracks were done specifically with different producers trying to achieve certain sounds. “Wishes” in fact started as a demo that we recorded in our basement. A lot of those sounds ended up making the final version.

What was it like working with Ken Coomer and Vance Powell on this release?

Brilliant. Both of them. Vance is really good at capturing the way an artist actually sounds live. His records are real. Our songs come through exactly the way we sound live with minimal tweaking. It was killer hanging late night with Vance, drinking bourbon and listening to his records. Ken is another kind of animal. He’s really into developing the sounds of an instrument. Finding one particular unique thing in a track and pushing it straight to the foreground. I think on this record both of their strengths as engineers are prominent. It was Ken’s idea to throw the bass on “Kinetic” through a giant 10-foot plate reverb, which really made that track.

Tell me more about the overall essence of the new album — what kind of sound are you bringing to the table with this effort?

Well, this record is Tesla Rossa. We have been developing this band for the last five years. Sometimes with direction, sometimes meandering but it definitely sounds like we do live. Minimal frills and packed with emotion. The album to us feels like we rolled our debut, the follow up, and our weird third record into one. It chronicles our different musical influences and the changes we’ve been through over the years. We’re really excited it’s finally seeing its moment.

We’re premiering “Wishes” today. What’s the story behind this track?

Like I mentioned before, this song was actually the original demo I recorded in our basement. I had just gotten an octave pedal and was screwing around with playing my electric like a bass to some loops I’d been making on the computer. I liked the uniqueness of the track compared to everything we were writing at the time—it made the cut because it was radically different. If you don’t like Tesla Rossa, skip to the next track. We try to keep our audience guessing.

Lastly, what are the future plans for the band? What does 2015 look like for you guys?

We’ll be writing a ton this winter. It’s been a minute since I’ve actually sat down to write a song. Most of my time has been spent with other creative outlets recently. The band is really looking forward to saying some new things. Also, we’ll be doing SXSW followed by a West Coast run in the summer. Really looking forward to it. People keep telling us we’re gonna do well out there. It’s in our sights for sure.

Written by Matthew Leimkuehler (@callinghomematt)

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/10/21/premiere-tesla-rossa-wishes/feed/ 0
UTG VIDEO PREMIERE: The Weekend Classic – “Dread The Weather” http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/10/21/utg-video-premiere-the-weekend-classic-dread-the-weather/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/10/21/utg-video-premiere-the-weekend-classic-dread-the-weather/#comments Tue, 21 Oct 2014 15:00:29 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1134656 Several weeks ago we brought you an extensive introduction to fast-rising Indiana pop-rock outfit The Weekend Classic, and today it’s our great honor to assist the band in sharing their first music video with the world.

I have spent a lot of time over the last month listening to The Weekend Classic, which is kind of amazing when you consider the fact they have only released two songs to date. The debut single took us by surprise, and it has continued to win over new fans every single day since its initial release. I think that trend will only …

]]>
Several weeks ago we brought you an extensive introduction to fast-rising Indiana pop-rock outfit The Weekend Classic, and today it’s our great honor to assist the band in sharing their first music video with the world.

I have spent a lot of time over the last month listening to The Weekend Classic, which is kind of amazing when you consider the fact they have only released two songs to date. The debut single took us by surprise, and it has continued to win over new fans every single day since its initial release. I think that trend will only continue when the world sees the visuals for “Dread The Weather,” and to be honest I don’t see it dying off any time soon.

The video you are about to see is pretty straightforward. Directed/produced by Vince Lundi, the clip features a multi-angle performance sequence juxtaposed against images of the band driving around their hometown, with the majority of the band having a good time in the bed of an aging pickup truck. It’s nothing too complex, but it is beautifully shot and edited to the point of near perfection. Check it out:

As mentioned above, “Dread The Weather” is part of The Weekend Classic’s debut single release, which was mixed by Mike Hart and mastered by Tyler Smyth (Dangerkids). If you want to add the track to your personal collection, stop by iTunes and show the band your support.

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/10/21/utg-video-premiere-the-weekend-classic-dread-the-weather/feed/ 0
Dissecting “How About Now” And The World’s Ongoing Obsession With Drake http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/10/21/dissecting-how-about-now-and-the-worlds-ongoing-obsession-with-drake/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/10/21/dissecting-how-about-now-and-the-worlds-ongoing-obsession-with-drake/#comments Tue, 21 Oct 2014 12:30:11 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1134874 On Sunday night, something incredibly unexpected happened for the second time in two months: A track rumored to be off Drake’s upcoming album Views From The 6 found its way online through a source other than the rapper and his management team.

The song, titled “How About Now,” was first uploaded to the internet by a 17-year-old fan from Georgia, and as far as I’ve found, no explanation for how he came to be in possession of the unreleased material has surfaced, aside from a comment that it was an “exclusive leak.” It doesn’t really matter …

]]>
On Sunday night, something incredibly unexpected happened for the second time in two months: A track rumored to be off Drake’s upcoming album Views From The 6 found its way online through a source other than the rapper and his management team.

The song, titled “How About Now,” was first uploaded to the internet by a 17-year-old fan from Georgia, and as far as I’ve found, no explanation for how he came to be in possession of the unreleased material has surfaced, aside from a comment that it was an “exclusive leak.” It doesn’t really matter at this point however, because once it hit the net it was available for anyone who felt like grabbing a free mp3. Drake’s team leaped into action, but the damage was done.

2014 has not been that great of a year for hip-hop, which has given Drake an amazing ability to capitalize on his popularity at a time that could be considered an easier year compared to those prior. He’s had no album release, but he’s delivered a number of free singles, as well as several high profile guest appearances, that have kept him a regular fixture in music headlines. There was also his summer tour alongside Young Money boss Lil Wayne. More importantly however, he’s one of the only people in mainstream hip-hop doing anything the least bit interesting with his sound. He’s had half a decade at the top, something proven by the numerous chart-topping singles he’s appeared on, and he’s still constantly trying to challenge the rest of the industry – not to mention his own fans – with something new. Something real.

“How About Now” is classic Drake as told through the mind and voice of a man with many more life experiences than the boy who gave us Comeback Season. The things he once spoke of have become reality, and while that happened his dreams grew more ambitious. They say if you teach a man to fish he will never go hungry again, and in a similar way those men who learn that achieving your dreams is 90% getting over whatever hesitation you have and devoting yourself fully to the pursuit of your passion have a hard time ever considering their work complete. There is always another mountain to climb, another song to write, another band to discover, another pie to bake, another lap to run, and so on. That pursuit of something that has no real end point is what has driven the best of Drake’s material, and here it comes front and center once more to be juxtaposed with talk of past lovers who never had the patience to handle a man with ambition.

“You changed up,” accuses a female voice at the beginning of the track, which informs us of everything we need to know before Drake speaks his mind. He’s always responding to something, and here it’s thinking about the sacrifices made for someone who wouldn’t do the same for him. He probably didn’t see it at the time. No one ever does. In the mind of the one putting in everything they’re far too busy trying to make the other person’s dream a reality to think all that much about whether or not that person is doing the same for them. The drawback to these situations is that all too often the other person is not doing their part, and if they are it’s not to the same extent as the other. As the relationship carries on, there are societal expectations that come into play, and it’s not uncommon for that to force one – or both people – to change their pursuit in an attempt to fit more in line with cultural norms. That’s not the kind of thing Drake is trying to do with his life, but it seems at a time there was someone capable of having that impact on him.

So where did she go? What changed? Drake doesn’t go too in depth, but the lines about how it’s crazy how it’s gotta be dark out to know who is really with you makes it clear enough. Drake was chasing his passion and the pursuit came with up and downs. His girl may have been there for the highs, but when those lows came around she wasn’t, or at least not in the way Drake needed. He may have been able to forgive that at first, but as his highs grew greater, the lows grew deeper, and suddenly that lack of a reliable woman to fall back on eventually came to a head. Looking back now, Drake cannot help wondering where that same girl is now, and it’s clear he’s doing his best to downplay anything she may still mean to him. Let’s be honest though; if he’s willing to put these feelings to digital tape all these years later it’s safe to say she still crosses his mind from time to time. That, and the fact the track samples the Jodeci classic “My Heart Belongs To You.”

It’s tracks like this where Drake showcases what has truly made him the music mainstay he became in recent years. Any creative mind can string together egotistical phrases about greatness and share fictionalized tales of excess, but it takes another level of intelligence to craft detailed songs based on your own life experiences that draw parallels to situations everyone goes through in life. Drake has the ability to make you miss people you never knew, and “How About Now” is one of the finest examples of that talent he has delivered to date. There are only a handful of people in the world who know the girl at the center of the track, and even less know the story behind this material, but sitting alone in your car or tucked away somewhere with headphones on you’re pulled into Drake’s world and forge a connection to the people in it. You’re given a front row seat to his journey, which humanizes his high level of celebrity in a very ‘average Joe’ and manipulates your personal memories of love on the rocks through vague descriptions of dramatic sequences while exploiting them for commercial success. It’s genius. Perhaps somewhat evil, but definitely genius.

Drake is not an originator in this effort, but he’s one of the few mainstream artists tapping into that skill today. Drake’s music is as much about what he says, as what he doesn’t say. This song tells us about a girl who seems perfect on the surface, but unfortunately fails to grasp the concept of how two people are supposed to support one another through thick and thin. We’re given just enough information to connect this female with any person we have been romantically linked to and let down by, which I would wager is not all that difficult for most people over the age of 18. Once we forge a connection between the story Drake is telling and someone we interacted with in our own lives there is almost no chance we’re getting out of the track without feeling something. Drake doesn’t need to make us feel good, but he also doesn’t need to make us cry. He just needs to make us feel something other than the endlessly repetitive command to dance demanded by the thumping bass of every EDM song currently nestled in pop’s top 40. Drake goes above and beyond the bare minimum, of course, but that simply speaks to his desire to be better than anyone else in music. He could do the same with less, but he doesn’t, and that’s just classy.

Written by: James Shotwell

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/10/21/dissecting-how-about-now-and-the-worlds-ongoing-obsession-with-drake/feed/ 0
Sullivan Launch Pre-orders For ‘Heavy Is The Head’ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/10/20/sullivan-launch-pre-orders-for-heavy-is-the-head/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/10/20/sullivan-launch-pre-orders-for-heavy-is-the-head/#comments Tue, 21 Oct 2014 03:42:55 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1134873 Back in August Sullivan not only announced that they were getting back together, but that they would also be releasing a brand new album, titled Heavy Is The Head. We hadn’t heard much more about the album at the time, but now the band has revealed the cover art and tracklist for the album. You can check those out below the break.

The band has also launched some pre-order options for the release. Heavy Is The Head‘s first pressing is limited to 500 copies, with 5 different variations available. You can snag yourself a copy by heading right …

]]>
Back in August Sullivan not only announced that they were getting back together, but that they would also be releasing a brand new album, titled Heavy Is The Head. We hadn’t heard much more about the album at the time, but now the band has revealed the cover art and tracklist for the album. You can check those out below the break.

The band has also launched some pre-order options for the release. Heavy Is The Head‘s first pressing is limited to 500 copies, with 5 different variations available. You can snag yourself a copy by heading right here.

Sullivan

You Don’t Mean It
Where The Pavement Meets The Road
Profile
What’s Good For The King
The Other Side
Pieces
Melanoma Lullaby
Higher Ground
Statuette
Seagrams
Playing With Fire

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/10/20/sullivan-launch-pre-orders-for-heavy-is-the-head/feed/ 0
Ty Dolla $ign & Belly Remix The Weeknd’s “King Of The Fall” http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/10/20/ty-dolla-ign-belly-remix-the-weeknds-king-of-the-fall/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/10/20/ty-dolla-ign-belly-remix-the-weeknds-king-of-the-fall/#comments Tue, 21 Oct 2014 01:50:42 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1134867 Canadian crooner The Weeknd has become one of the most sought after voices in modern R&B and hip-hop circles, so it’s always exciting to see any release with his name attached. Remixes featuring other artists are a bit of a catch-22 when it comes to his tracks, though, as it’s no easy task to hop on one of his songs and offer something that genuinely improves the original work. In the case of Ty Dolla $ign and Belly’s new found effort, their added verses don’t exactly detract from “King Of The Fall,” but it’s indeed hard to decide if they …

]]>
Canadian crooner The Weeknd has become one of the most sought after voices in modern R&B and hip-hop circles, so it’s always exciting to see any release with his name attached. Remixes featuring other artists are a bit of a catch-22 when it comes to his tracks, though, as it’s no easy task to hop on one of his songs and offer something that genuinely improves the original work. In the case of Ty Dolla $ign and Belly’s new found effort, their added verses don’t exactly detract from “King Of The Fall,” but it’s indeed hard to decide if they end up crafting a remix truly worth multiple listens.

Click here to check out the rappers’ “King Of The Fall” remix and be sure to let us know your thoughts on the track in the comments section below.

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/10/20/ty-dolla-ign-belly-remix-the-weeknds-king-of-the-fall/feed/ 0
Such Gold Stream “No Cab Fare” Off ‘The New Sidewalk’ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/10/20/such-gold-stream-no-cab-fare-off-the-new-sidewalk/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/10/20/such-gold-stream-no-cab-fare-off-the-new-sidewalk/#comments Tue, 21 Oct 2014 00:48:37 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1134820 Melodic pop-punkers Such Gold have been promoting the forthcoming release of their new album, The New Sidewalk, by sharing the tracks “Faced” and “Nauseating.” Today, the band have released yet another song that is most assuredly among their most complex material to date.

“No Cab Fare” is filled with odd guitar parts throughout the song as well as echoed measures that truly show how the band’s sound has matured since the release of their debut LP, Misadventures. You can stream the song after the jump. The premiere includes a behind-the-scenes of the band’s time in …

]]>
Melodic pop-punkers Such Gold have been promoting the forthcoming release of their new album, The New Sidewalk, by sharing the tracks “Faced” and “Nauseating.” Today, the band have released yet another song that is most assuredly among their most complex material to date.

“No Cab Fare” is filled with odd guitar parts throughout the song as well as echoed measures that truly show how the band’s sound has matured since the release of their debut LP, Misadventures. You can stream the song after the jump. The premiere includes a behind-the-scenes of the band’s time in the studio. You can pre-order the album here.

The New Sidewalk was produced by Bill Stevenson (Descendents) and will be released on November 10 via Razor & Tie Records. They are currently on tour with Transit and Driver Friendly and will be going on tour with Four Year Strong in November.

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/10/20/such-gold-stream-no-cab-fare-off-the-new-sidewalk/feed/ 0
BACK FROM THE DEAD: Fear Before The March Of Flames Come To Life, Post Studio Video http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/10/20/back-from-the-dead-fear-before-the-march-of-flames-come-to-life-post-studio-video/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/10/20/back-from-the-dead-fear-before-the-march-of-flames-come-to-life-post-studio-video/#comments Tue, 21 Oct 2014 00:42:42 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1134855 The post hardcore champions of the mid ’00s are (finally) back and appear to be making new music. Fear Before The March of Flames (otherwise known as Fear Before) dropped a 10-second video of what looks and sounds to be frontman David Michael Marion in the studio recording a set of vocals. The post is captioned, “New songs…No hoax.”

We have no idea what the band has in store, but its potential resurrection is some of the best news to come out of the scene since we were told of The Blood Brothers reunion earlier this year. The band has …

]]>
The post hardcore champions of the mid ’00s are (finally) back and appear to be making new music. Fear Before The March of Flames (otherwise known as Fear Before) dropped a 10-second video of what looks and sounds to be frontman David Michael Marion in the studio recording a set of vocals. The post is captioned, “New songs…No hoax.”

We have no idea what the band has in store, but its potential resurrection is some of the best news to come out of the scene since we were told of The Blood Brothers reunion earlier this year. The band has been on hiatus since 2010 and no original music has been released since 2008′s self-titled effort. The band’s drummer, Clayton “Goose” Holyoak, currently plays in metal act Norma Jean.

Is this video a sign we are to see or hear more from the otherwise stalemate Fear Before? Under The Gun will have more information as it’s released. Click the “Read More” button to check out the teaser video now and leave your thoughts in the comments below.

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/10/20/back-from-the-dead-fear-before-the-march-of-flames-come-to-life-post-studio-video/feed/ 0
Damon Albarn Hints At New Gorillaz Album in 2016 http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/10/20/damon-albarn-hints-at-new-gorillaz-album-in-2016/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/10/20/damon-albarn-hints-at-new-gorillaz-album-in-2016/#comments Tue, 21 Oct 2014 00:32:57 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1134805 Damon Albarn has been busy this year promoting his debut solo album, Everyday Robots, which was met with high praise upon release. This means he is keeping the status of famed UK rock outfit Blur under wraps, where he serves as frontman for the band. Most recently though, he came out of the clouds with another project that could once again see the light of day: The virtual cartoon band we know as Gorillaz.

According to Albarn in an interview with The Sydney Morning Herald, he has stated that he is in the “process of reactivating” the …

]]>
Damon Albarn has been busy this year promoting his debut solo album, Everyday Robots, which was met with high praise upon release. This means he is keeping the status of famed UK rock outfit Blur under wraps, where he serves as frontman for the band. Most recently though, he came out of the clouds with another project that could once again see the light of day: The virtual cartoon band we know as Gorillaz.

According to Albarn in an interview with The Sydney Morning Herald, he has stated that he is in the “process of reactivating” the virtual four-piece. If this is to be true, this would be the first full-length record that Albarn and co-creator Jamie Hewlett have collaborated on since their last album, The Fall, which came out in 2011. Rumors had it that there was a creative difference between the two for years but that as early as last year, Hewlett had told Consequence of Sound this quote regarding the band:

“Well, of course, I believe there is a future for the Gorillaz. But Gorillaz is quite a complicated and expensive thing to produce. So, I think we need to wait a little bit to see what happens because usually in the music industry everything changes. And Damon’s got a bunch of other things going on. We usually have a break for a few years in between each album anyway just to go off to do other stuff because it’s quite intensive when you do one of those albums. I’m usually doing things for a few years nonstop, so it’s good to go away, stop, and do other stuff. But it also just depends. There needs to be a really smart idea behind each album, and we need to stay inspired. I think it’s really more collective but not alone.”

Stay close with UTG as more updates develop within the Gorillaz camp.

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/10/20/damon-albarn-hints-at-new-gorillaz-album-in-2016/feed/ 0
In The Whale Update “Ride” To Support The Denver Broncos http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/10/20/in-the-whale-update-ride-to-support-the-denver-broncos/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/10/20/in-the-whale-update-ride-to-support-the-denver-broncos/#comments Tue, 21 Oct 2014 00:28:05 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1134853 We said this a lot in our review of Riot Fest Denver, but In The Whale are quickly becoming our favorite unsigned band in the entire world. Their unique take on rock and roll is incredibly exhilarating, and their live show cannot be topped.

Today, the Colorado natives surprised fans by sharing an updated version of their fan favorite track “Ride” that is meant to show support for the Denver Broncos. The song is now called “(Mile High) Ride,” and it contains lyrics like “Number 18 with the forward pass, you other teams better watch your ass.” You can …

]]>
We said this a lot in our review of Riot Fest Denver, but In The Whale are quickly becoming our favorite unsigned band in the entire world. Their unique take on rock and roll is incredibly exhilarating, and their live show cannot be topped.

Today, the Colorado natives surprised fans by sharing an updated version of their fan favorite track “Ride” that is meant to show support for the Denver Broncos. The song is now called “(Mile High) Ride,” and it contains lyrics like “Number 18 with the forward pass, you other teams better watch your ass.” You can stream the track below:

In The Whale released two killer EPs this year, and they have another planned for early 2015. We’re expecting HUGE things from these guys in the future, so make it a point to familiarize yourself with their work now.

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/10/20/in-the-whale-update-ride-to-support-the-denver-broncos/feed/ 1
ERRA Sign To Sumerian Records, Release New Single http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/10/20/erra-sign-to-sumerian-records-release-new-single/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/10/20/erra-sign-to-sumerian-records-release-new-single/#comments Tue, 21 Oct 2014 00:12:29 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1134846 Two phenomenal full-lengths deep into their career, progressive metalcore outfit ERRA have revealed they are now a member of the Sumerian Records family. In celebration of the signing, the band have released a brand new single. Entitled “Dreamcatcher,” the first taste of their forthcoming EP, Moments of Clarity, can be found after the jump.

Moments of Clarity will only be available for purchase online in limited quantities, so be sure to pre-order a copy of ERRA’s Sumerian debut here before it drops November 10.

]]>
Two phenomenal full-lengths deep into their career, progressive metalcore outfit ERRA have revealed they are now a member of the Sumerian Records family. In celebration of the signing, the band have released a brand new single. Entitled “Dreamcatcher,” the first taste of their forthcoming EP, Moments of Clarity, can be found after the jump.

Moments of Clarity will only be available for purchase online in limited quantities, so be sure to pre-order a copy of ERRA’s Sumerian debut here before it drops November 10.

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/10/20/erra-sign-to-sumerian-records-release-new-single/feed/ 0
The Smashing Pumpkins Stream “Being Beige” From New Album http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/10/20/the-smashing-pumpkins-stream-being-beige-from-new-album/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/10/20/the-smashing-pumpkins-stream-being-beige-from-new-album/#comments Tue, 21 Oct 2014 00:02:58 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1134842 The Smashing Pumpkins have released the first song from their upcoming LP, Monuments to an Elegy, via Rolling Stone.

With the album due out December 9, hopefully the bright track can tide fans over until then. Featuring lush atmospheres and pretty guitars grounded by acoustics, “Being Beige” is a soaring track that may divide Smashing Pumpkins fans (though honestly, what doesn’t?), but it sure is a solid track that is consistent throughout.

When speaking on the track with Rolling Stone, singer/guitarist Billy Corgan said that “people always ask me to explain songs, and honestly I can’t. But if there’s …

]]>
The Smashing Pumpkins have released the first song from their upcoming LP, Monuments to an Elegy, via Rolling Stone.

With the album due out December 9, hopefully the bright track can tide fans over until then. Featuring lush atmospheres and pretty guitars grounded by acoustics, “Being Beige” is a soaring track that may divide Smashing Pumpkins fans (though honestly, what doesn’t?), but it sure is a solid track that is consistent throughout.

When speaking on the track with Rolling Stone, singer/guitarist Billy Corgan said that “people always ask me to explain songs, and honestly I can’t. But if there’s honesty in this lyric, it’s that there’s something amiss in our cosmos. Yet still, we must love.”

Follow us after the jump to experience “Being Beige.”

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/10/20/the-smashing-pumpkins-stream-being-beige-from-new-album/feed/ 0
Ariel Pink Releases “Black Ballerina” http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/10/20/ariel-pink-releases-black-ballerina/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/10/20/ariel-pink-releases-black-ballerina/#comments Mon, 20 Oct 2014 22:59:37 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1134836 With less than a month until Ariel Pink releases his forthcoming LP, pom pom, the ever-experimenting musician has released another fresh single off the effort. Entitled “Black Ballerina,” the heavily ’80s influenced cut is mighty different from pom pom‘s preceding single, “Put Your Number In My Phone,” but the diversity in sound appears to be a positive after spinning both tracks on repeat.

Follow the jump to give “Black Ballerina” a listen and be sure to mark your calendars as pom pom is set to hit stores November 18 via 4AD (pre-order options are available here for those …

]]>
With less than a month until Ariel Pink releases his forthcoming LP, pom pom, the ever-experimenting musician has released another fresh single off the effort. Entitled “Black Ballerina,” the heavily ’80s influenced cut is mighty different from pom pom‘s preceding single, “Put Your Number In My Phone,” but the diversity in sound appears to be a positive after spinning both tracks on repeat.

Follow the jump to give “Black Ballerina” a listen and be sure to mark your calendars as pom pom is set to hit stores November 18 via 4AD (pre-order options are available here for those looking to secure their copy).

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/10/20/ariel-pink-releases-black-ballerina/feed/ 0
Attila Debut “Proving Grounds” http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/10/20/attila-debut-proving-grounds/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/10/20/attila-debut-proving-grounds/#comments Mon, 20 Oct 2014 22:40:08 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1134789 Metalcore party starters Attila recently announced their forthcoming full-length, Guilty Pleasure, so there was little doubt a new single would be released in the near future. A little over a week later, the music community has been graced with its first taste of the album in the form of “Proving Grounds,” courtesy of our friends over at Alternative Press.

On first listen, it seems to be exactly what one would expect from a new Attila track. For some readers, this could spell head-banging triumph, and for others, unbridled despair, but don’t just take our word for it; …

]]>
Metalcore party starters Attila recently announced their forthcoming full-length, Guilty Pleasure, so there was little doubt a new single would be released in the near future. A little over a week later, the music community has been graced with its first taste of the album in the form of “Proving Grounds,” courtesy of our friends over at Alternative Press.

On first listen, it seems to be exactly what one would expect from a new Attila track. For some readers, this could spell head-banging triumph, and for others, unbridled despair, but don’t just take our word for it; head over to AltPress to check out “Proving Grounds” and look out for Guilty Pleasure when it drops November 24 via Artery Recordings. If the track suits your fancy, pre-order options are also available here for those ready to spend some cash on the upcoming release before it officially drops.

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/10/20/attila-debut-proving-grounds/feed/ 0