Under the Gun Review http://www.underthegunreview.net Entertainment news for today's generation Thu, 21 Aug 2014 21:13:48 +0000 en-US hourly 1 http://wordpress.org/?v=3.9 Free Throw To Tour With Empire! Empire!, Premiere New Single From Debut LP http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/21/free-throw-to-tour-with-empire-empire-premiere-new-single-from-debut-lp/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/21/free-throw-to-tour-with-empire-empire-premiere-new-single-from-debut-lp/#comments Thu, 21 Aug 2014 20:45:46 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1127538 In April, Count Your Lucky Stars announced their latest signing, an emo/pop punk band from Nashville called Free Throw. CYLS is getting ready to release the band’s debut full-length, Those Days Are Gone, on September 16.

Last week, AbsolutePunk premiered the first single from the LP, entitled “Two Beers In.”

Now, Free Throw have premiered the second single from Those Days Are Gone, called “Tongue Tied,” with BrooklynVegan and announced a tour with CYLS founders Empire! Empire! (I Was A Lonely Estate). You can check out the song here or below and check out the full list …

]]>
In April, Count Your Lucky Stars announced their latest signing, an emo/pop punk band from Nashville called Free Throw. CYLS is getting ready to release the band’s debut full-length, Those Days Are Gone, on September 16.

Last week, AbsolutePunk premiered the first single from the LP, entitled “Two Beers In.”

Now, Free Throw have premiered the second single from Those Days Are Gone, called “Tongue Tied,” with BrooklynVegan and announced a tour with CYLS founders Empire! Empire! (I Was A Lonely Estate). You can check out the song here or below and check out the full list of tour dates below. You can pre-order the record here.

Free Throw — 2014 Tour Dates:
09/16/2014 – Nashville, TN @ Exponent Manor*
09/17/2014 – Atlanta, GA @ Wonder Root*
09/18/2014 – Savannah, GA @ Graveface HQ*
09/19/2014 – Orlando, FL @ Backbooth*
09/20/2014 – New Orleans, LA @ The Beatnik*
09/21/2014 – Houston, TX @ The Summit*
09/22/2014 – Austin, TX @ Holy Mountain*
09/23/2014 – Denton, TX @ Rubber Gloves*
09/24/2014 – Oklahoma City, OK @ Marshall House*
09/25/2014 – Kansas City, MO @ Art Closet Studio*
09/26/2014 – Moline, IL @ Blackhawk Room*
09/27/2014 – Chicago, IL @ Township*
10/01/2014 – Fargo, ND @ The New Direction*
10/02/2014 – Sioux Falls, SD @ Total Drag Records*
10/06/2014 – Seattle, WA @ El Corazon Lounge*
10/08/2014 – Portland, WA @ Slabtown*
10/09/2014 – San Fransisco CA @ Submission*
10/10/2014 – San Jose, CA @ San Jose Rock Shop*
10/11/2014 – Pomona, CA @ VLHS*
10/12/2014 – Los Angeles, CA @ Los Globos*
10/13/2014 – Phoenix, AZ @ The Nile Underground*
10/14/2014 – Las Vegas, NV @ House Of Wonk*
10/15/2014 – Salt Lake City, UT @ The Shred Shed*
10/16/2014 – Cheyenne, WY @ University of Wyoming*
10/17/2014 – Omaha, NE @ The Slowdown Jr*
10/18/2014 – St. Louis, MO @ Fubar*
10/19/2014 – Indianapolis, IN @ The Hoosier Dome*
10/20/2014 – Cleveland, OH @ Mahall’s*
10/21/2014 – Pittsburgh, PA @ The Mr. Roboto Project*
10/22/2014 – Philadelphia, PA @ The Fire*
10/23/2014 – Amnityville, NY @ The Woodshop*
10/26/2014 – Boston, MA @ T.T. & the Bear’s Place*
10/27/2014 – North Haven, CT @ Up All Night Collective*
10/28/2014 – Asbury Park @ Asbury Lanes*
10/29/2014 – Baltimore, MD @ Metro Gallery*
* w/ Empire! Empire! (I Was a Lonely Estate)

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/21/free-throw-to-tour-with-empire-empire-premiere-new-single-from-debut-lp/feed/ 0
Action Bronson Graces World With “Easy Rider” Music Video http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/21/action-bronson-graces-world-with-easy-rider-music-video/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/21/action-bronson-graces-world-with-easy-rider-music-video/#comments Thu, 21 Aug 2014 20:40:40 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1127564 After releasing a trailer full of cinematic gold for his newest music video, Action Bronson has unleashed the visuals for “Easy Rider” in their entirety. Fortunately, the video lives up to (and possibly even surpasses) its teaser as it finds the charismatic rapper dropping acid, evading the police, and eventually discovering an item of sacred ties. In other words, it’s quite possibly the best visual effort of 2014 as humbly predicted and has our excitement for Bronson’s forthcoming record, Mr. Wonderful, at a fever pitch.

Follow the jump to check out “Easy Rider” and be sure to look out …

]]>
After releasing a trailer full of cinematic gold for his newest music video, Action Bronson has unleashed the visuals for “Easy Rider” in their entirety. Fortunately, the video lives up to (and possibly even surpasses) its teaser as it finds the charismatic rapper dropping acid, evading the police, and eventually discovering an item of sacred ties. In other words, it’s quite possibly the best visual effort of 2014 as humbly predicted and has our excitement for Bronson’s forthcoming record, Mr. Wonderful, at a fever pitch.

Follow the jump to check out “Easy Rider” and be sure to look out for Mr. Wonderful when it hits stores this fall via Noisey/Atlantic Records.

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/21/action-bronson-graces-world-with-easy-rider-music-video/feed/ 0
The Knife Will Soon Be No More http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/21/the-knife-will-soon-be-no-more/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/21/the-knife-will-soon-be-no-more/#comments Thu, 21 Aug 2014 20:26:28 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1127539 Highly acclaimed and auterist electronic duo The Knife is coming to the end.

Karin Dreijer, one half of the dynamic Swedish duo, dropped the big news in an interview with Dazed and Confused:

“When we finish the tour now in November we will close down, it’s our last tour. We don’t have any obligations to continue, it should only and always be for fun.”

Stereogum has confirmed the breakup with the band’s reps. Once The Knife finishes up their final European tour dates in November, the dissolution will be complete. A brief farewell was posted on The Knife’s website

]]>
Highly acclaimed and auterist electronic duo The Knife is coming to the end.

Karin Dreijer, one half of the dynamic Swedish duo, dropped the big news in an interview with Dazed and Confused:

“When we finish the tour now in November we will close down, it’s our last tour. We don’t have any obligations to continue, it should only and always be for fun.”

Stereogum has confirmed the breakup with the band’s reps. Once The Knife finishes up their final European tour dates in November, the dissolution will be complete. A brief farewell was posted on The Knife’s website (which is delightfully dated for such an experimental group), quoting the titular line from “Without You My Life Would Be Boring.”

The band’s last releases were the monolith 2013 double album Shaking The Habitual (one of Nina Corcoran’s top ten albums of the year) and this year’s Shaken Up Versions. See their final tour dates below. Sadly for any stateside fans, it looks like a North American farewell isn’t in the cards.

10/31 – Stockholm, SE @ Annexet
11/01 – Gothenburg, SE @ Film Studios
11/03 – Berlin, DE @ Arena
11/05 – Manchester, UK @ Academy
11/06 – London, UK @ Brixton Academy
11/08 – Reykjavik, IC @ Iceland Airwaves Festival

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/21/the-knife-will-soon-be-no-more/feed/ 0
Run The Jewels Announce Sophomore Album, Stream New Single http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/21/run-the-jewels-announce-sophomore-album-release-new-single/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/21/run-the-jewels-announce-sophomore-album-release-new-single/#comments Thu, 21 Aug 2014 20:21:13 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1127546 After releasing one of the rap scene’s best records of 2013, heavyweight duo Run The Jewels have returned with plans to release their sophomore full-length. Entitled RTJ2, the newest product from Killer Mike and El-P (which will also feature appearances from Travis Barker and Zack de la Rocha) is set to hit stores October 28 via Mass Appeal Records. They’ve been promising the release for some time and it looks like they’ll be delivering on that promise.

Fortunately for us, the album’s first single, previously teased “Blockbuster Night Pt. 1,” is now streaming on SoundCloud, so follow the jump …

]]>
After releasing one of the rap scene’s best records of 2013, heavyweight duo Run The Jewels have returned with plans to release their sophomore full-length. Entitled RTJ2, the newest product from Killer Mike and El-P (which will also feature appearances from Travis Barker and Zack de la Rocha) is set to hit stores October 28 via Mass Appeal Records. They’ve been promising the release for some time and it looks like they’ll be delivering on that promise.

Fortunately for us, the album’s first single, previously teased “Blockbuster Night Pt. 1,” is now streaming on SoundCloud, so follow the jump to give it a listen.

You can also check out some of our photos of Run The Jewels from Outside Lands in San Francisco earlier this month, here.

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/21/run-the-jewels-announce-sophomore-album-release-new-single/feed/ 0
Gwar Are Heading Out On Large North American Tour This Fall http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/21/gwar-are-heading-out-on-large-north-american-tour-this-fall/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/21/gwar-are-heading-out-on-large-north-american-tour-this-fall/#comments Thu, 21 Aug 2014 20:20:27 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1127542 “Dark clouds of war and ill omen have gathered around GWAR. In our hour of greatest peril, Oderus has left us and our enemies stand poised, ready to strike while they sense weakness. But we shall no longer cower in our Antarctic stronghold, awaiting Destiny’s final blow. This Fall GWAR sets out on the most trying quest of our career. We shall scour our leader’s favorite stomping ground, North America, leaving no city unsearched, no venue unraised, and no sheep unmolested. GWAR will venture to the depths of Hell or to the very end of Time itself, and though I …

]]>
“Dark clouds of war and ill omen have gathered around GWAR. In our hour of greatest peril, Oderus has left us and our enemies stand poised, ready to strike while they sense weakness. But we shall no longer cower in our Antarctic stronghold, awaiting Destiny’s final blow. This Fall GWAR sets out on the most trying quest of our career. We shall scour our leader’s favorite stomping ground, North America, leaving no city unsearched, no venue unraised, and no sheep unmolested. GWAR will venture to the depths of Hell or to the very end of Time itself, and though I fear what we may encounter out there, I know that we can never return home until we have the answer we seek: ‘Where is Oderus Urungus?’”

The above text is the story behind Gwar‘s upcoming headlining tour they just announced. They are embarking on an epic journey to find their long lost leader (the late Dave Brockie, aka Oderus Urungus) which will take them all across North America. The tour, which has been named GWAR Eternal Tour, will kick off this October and not wrap up until the middle of December. They will be sharing the stage with various other bands, including Decapitated, American Sharks and more. Find a full list of dates, venues and some guest spots by checking below.

GWAR W/ Decapitated and American Sharks:

10/15: Norfolk, VA @ The Norva
10/16: Sayreville, NJ @ Starland Ballroom
10/17: Stroudsburg, PA @ Sherman Theater
10/18: Worcester, MA @ The Palladium – “Rock and Shock Festival”
10/19: Buffalo, NY @ The Town Ballroom
10/21: Louisville, KY @ Expo Five
10/22: Memphis, TN @ New Daisy Theater
10/23: Dallas, TX @ Gas Monkey Live
10/24: New Orleans, LA @ House of Blues
10/25: Austin, TX @ Emo’s – “Housecore Horror Film Festival*
10/26: Houston, TX @ Warehouse Live
10/28: Oklahoma City, OK @ Diamond Ballroom
10/29: Sauget, IL @ Pop’s Nightclub
10/30: Lawrence, KS @ Granada Theater
10/31: Denver, CO @ The Summit Music Hall**
11/1: Albuquerque, NM @ Sunshine Theater
11/2: Tempe, AZ @ The Marquee
11/3: Santa Ana, CA @ The Observatory
11/4: Reno, NV @ Knitting Factory Concert House
11/5: San Francisco, CA @ The Regency Ballroom
11/6: Hollywood, CA @ House of Blues
11/7: Las Vegas, NV @ Hard Rock Live
11/8: Magna, UT @ The Great Salt Air
11/10: Boise, ID @ Knitting Factory Concert House
11/11: Portland, OR @ Roseland Theater
11/12: Seattle, WA @ Showbox SODO

GWAR W/ TBA and American Sharks:

11/14: Vancouver, BC and Commodore Ballroom

GWAR W/ Corrosion of Conformity and American Sharks:

11/15: Spokane, WA @ Knitting Factory Concert House
11/16: Calgary, AB @ MacEwan Hall Ballroom
11/17: Edmonton, AB @ Union Hall
11/19: Fargo, ND @ The Venue
11/20: Minneapolis, MN @ Skyway Theater
11/21: Milwaukee, WI @ The Rave
11/22: Detroit, MI @ Harpo’s
11/23: Grand Rapids, MI @ The Intersection
11/25: Indianapolis, IN @ The Vogue
11/26: Cleveland, OH @ House of Blues
11/28: Charlotte, NC @ Tremont Music Hall
11/29: Philadelphia, PA @ Electric Factory
11/30: New York, NY @ Irving Plaza
12/2: Nashville, TN @ Exit/In
12/3: Asheville, NC @ The Orange Peel
12/4: Pensacola, FL @ Vinyl Music Hall
12/5: Orlando, FL @ Firestone Live
12/6: Atlanta, GA @ The Masquerade
12/7: Columbus, OH @ Newport Music Hall
12/8: Millvale, PA @ Mr. Smalls Theater
12/9: Toronto, ON @ Opera House
12/10: Montreal, QC @ Virgin Mobile Corona Theater
12/11: Clifton Park, NY @ Upstate Concert Hall
12/12: New Haven, CT @ Toad’s Place
12/13: Baltimore, MD @ Baltimore Sound Stage

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/21/gwar-are-heading-out-on-large-north-american-tour-this-fall/feed/ 0
Stream Gideon’s New Single, “Calloused” http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/21/stream-gideons-new-single-calloused/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/21/stream-gideons-new-single-calloused/#comments Thu, 21 Aug 2014 20:04:03 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1127534 Gideon have unleashed the title track from their forthcoming album, titled Calloused. The song has been presented to us in the form of a lyric video, and you can stream it right beneath the break. Calloused will be the group’s third studio album, and is set to hit stores everywhere via Facedown Records on October 14.

There are currently plenty of different pre-order options available for purchase. You can pick up a merch bundle by either heading to All In Merch or MerchNow.

]]>
Gideon have unleashed the title track from their forthcoming album, titled Calloused. The song has been presented to us in the form of a lyric video, and you can stream it right beneath the break. Calloused will be the group’s third studio album, and is set to hit stores everywhere via Facedown Records on October 14.

There are currently plenty of different pre-order options available for purchase. You can pick up a merch bundle by either heading to All In Merch or MerchNow.

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/21/stream-gideons-new-single-calloused/feed/ 0
American Hi-Fi Premiere “Golden State” Music Video http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/21/american-hi-fi-premiere-golden-state-music-video/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/21/american-hi-fi-premiere-golden-state-music-video/#comments Thu, 21 Aug 2014 19:49:28 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1127512 American Hi-Fi is back! Although, more accurately, they never really left. Most people probably remember that back in 2001, American Hi-Fi released one of the most well-known songs of a generation. “Flavor of the Week,” was such a smash hit that you’ve probably starting singing it in your head already just since reading this post.

Through some less than well-received albums, the band has hung to their roots, and done their damndest not to be labeled as a one hit wonder. Unfortunately, after their 2003 release, The Art of Losing, the guys were let go by Island Def Jam

]]>
American Hi-Fi is back! Although, more accurately, they never really left. Most people probably remember that back in 2001, American Hi-Fi released one of the most well-known songs of a generation. “Flavor of the Week,” was such a smash hit that you’ve probably starting singing it in your head already just since reading this post.

Through some less than well-received albums, the band has hung to their roots, and done their damndest not to be labeled as a one hit wonder. Unfortunately, after their 2003 release, The Art of Losing, the guys were let go by Island Def Jam Records, and have been treading water for some time with releases in 2005 and 2010.

This week, American Hi-Fi released a catchy new tune with a little bit of Bayside flavor, titled “Golden State.” The single is off the band’s upcoming record Blood & Lemonade which drops September 9 via Rude Records. Stream “Golden State” below the jump and decide for yourself if the track will be enough to mount an American Hi-Fi comeback.

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/21/american-hi-fi-premiere-golden-state-music-video/feed/ 0
Foo Fighters Release ‘Sonic Highways’ Trailer http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/21/foo-fighters-release-sonic-highways-trailer/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/21/foo-fighters-release-sonic-highways-trailer/#comments Thu, 21 Aug 2014 19:15:21 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1127527 We are nearing the premiere of Sonic Highways, HBO’s new documentary series following Dave Grohl and the members of Foo Fighters as they travel the country visiting historical recording studios. We’ve known about the show since the beginning of summer, but it was not until this afternoon that we got our first true look at the new series.

The first official trailer for Sonic Highways found its way online this afternoon through the various social channels controlled by members of Foo Fighters. The three and a half minute clip features a variety of music icons, as well as beautiful …

]]>
We are nearing the premiere of Sonic Highways, HBO’s new documentary series following Dave Grohl and the members of Foo Fighters as they travel the country visiting historical recording studios. We’ve known about the show since the beginning of summer, but it was not until this afternoon that we got our first true look at the new series.

The first official trailer for Sonic Highways found its way online this afternoon through the various social channels controlled by members of Foo Fighters. The three and a half minute clip features a variety of music icons, as well as beautiful footage of recording spaces across the country, and just the slightest taste of new music teasers from the Foo. It looks like everything we hoped to find and more, but I don’t want to spoil the surprises. Click below and experience the trailer for yourself:

As you hear Grohl explain in the clip, the motivation behind Sonic Highways started with the idea to record the upcoming Foo Fighters album by traveling the country and recording each song in a new city. This does not guarantee fans of the band will hear new/unreleased music during the duration of the show, but it seems pretty likely.

Sonic Highways premieres October 17 on HBO. Foo Fighters’ new album, which is also called Sonic Highways, arrives November 11.

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/21/foo-fighters-release-sonic-highways-trailer/feed/ 0
Heartist Release “Skeletons” Music Video http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/21/heartist-release-skeletons-music-video/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/21/heartist-release-skeletons-music-video/#comments Thu, 21 Aug 2014 19:05:37 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1127521 Roadrunner recording group Heartist have released the official music video for “Skeletons.”

We have covered a Heartist a lot over the last year, and in that time they have proven themselves to be a band that has far more to offer than meets the eye. Their initial singles felt like amateur versions of bigger and better bands within the same scene, but with the release of their debut album the group shed those comparisons and stepped out with a sound decidedly their own. “Skeletons” is as close to a full-on ballad their music will likely ever get, and its video …

]]>
Roadrunner recording group Heartist have released the official music video for “Skeletons.”

We have covered a Heartist a lot over the last year, and in that time they have proven themselves to be a band that has far more to offer than meets the eye. Their initial singles felt like amateur versions of bigger and better bands within the same scene, but with the release of their debut album the group shed those comparisons and stepped out with a sound decidedly their own. “Skeletons” is as close to a full-on ballad their music will likely ever get, and its video packs a fitting emotional punch. You can view the clip at the end of this post.

Heartist have been touring heavily throughout 2014 and will likely continue to do so well into winter. Click here for a look at the group’s upcoming tour plans.

Feeding Fiction, the debut album from Heartist, is available on the iTunes Store as well as Heartist’s Official Webstore. If you dig this song, please buy the album.

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/21/heartist-release-skeletons-music-video/feed/ 0
Texas In July Give You A Reason To Rage With “Sweetest Poison” http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/21/texas-in-july-give-you-a-reason-to-rage-with-sweetest-poison/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/21/texas-in-july-give-you-a-reason-to-rage-with-sweetest-poison/#comments Thu, 21 Aug 2014 18:58:01 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1127516 Equal Vision Records hard rock outfit Texas In July have released a new song titled “Sweetest Poison” that is one click away from kicking your ass.

This time last year it was unclear whether or not the world would ever hear from Texas In July again. After years together, including multiple releases, frontman Alex Good decided that life on the road was no longer the path for him. The rest of the band took this time to step back and reevaluate their own lives, but they ultimately settled on pushing ahead and recruited J.T. Cavey to help take their sound …

]]>
Equal Vision Records hard rock outfit Texas In July have released a new song titled “Sweetest Poison” that is one click away from kicking your ass.

This time last year it was unclear whether or not the world would ever hear from Texas In July again. After years together, including multiple releases, frontman Alex Good decided that life on the road was no longer the path for him. The rest of the band took this time to step back and reevaluate their own lives, but they ultimately settled on pushing ahead and recruited J.T. Cavey to help take their sound to the next level. From the sound of “Sweetest Poison” it seems Cavey has done just that. You can stream the track below:

Texas In July will release their latest album, Bloodwork, in September. Visit Amazon for clips of every track on the record.

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/21/texas-in-july-give-you-a-reason-to-rage-with-sweetest-poison/feed/ 0
‘White Bird In A Blizzard’ Trailer: Shailene Woodley Has A Sexual Awakening (And A Missing Mom) http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/21/white-bird-in-a-blizzard-trailer-shailene-woodley-has-a-sexual-awakening-and-a-missing-mom/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/21/white-bird-in-a-blizzard-trailer-shailene-woodley-has-a-sexual-awakening-and-a-missing-mom/#comments Thu, 21 Aug 2014 18:50:09 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1127510 White Bird In A Blizzard serves as the third film to star Shailene Woodley in the last year. It is also the third adaptation the former Secret Life Of The American Teenager star has appeared in during that same time. I’m not sure if she likes books, or if she feels the stories in them are better told on the silver screen, but either way, there is a new film on the way that is sure to give all the feels.

Kat Connors (Shailene Woodley) is 17 years old when her perfect homemaker mother, Eve (Eva Green), a beautiful, enigmatic, …

]]>
White Bird In A Blizzard serves as the third film to star Shailene Woodley in the last year. It is also the third adaptation the former Secret Life Of The American Teenager star has appeared in during that same time. I’m not sure if she likes books, or if she feels the stories in them are better told on the silver screen, but either way, there is a new film on the way that is sure to give all the feels.

Kat Connors (Shailene Woodley) is 17 years old when her perfect homemaker mother, Eve (Eva Green), a beautiful, enigmatic, and haunted woman, disappears – just as Kat is discovering and relishing her newfound sexuality. Having lived for so long in a stifled, emotionally repressed household, she barely registers her mother’s absence and certainly doesn’t blame her doormat of a father, Brock, (Christopher Meloni) for the loss. In fact, it’s almost a relief. But as time passes, Kat begins to come to grips with how deeply Eve’s disappearance has affected her. Returning home on a break from college, she finds herself confronted with the truth about her mother’s departure, and her own denial about the events surrounding it. You can view the film’s first trailer, which arrived online this afternoon, below:

I know people go back and forth about whether or not Woodley possesses the kind of talent to warrant the amount of attention she has received, but this story looks strong so far. I think Meloni steals the trailer, but that’s only because he has one of the best cry faces of all time. Need a second chance to take it in? Don’t worry, I’ve got you covered:

Screen Shot 2014-08-21 at 2.42.38 PM

Magnolia Pictures will release White Bird In A Blizzard via OnDemand September 25, 2014 and in theaters October 24, 2014. Comment below and let us know your thoughts on the trailer.

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/21/white-bird-in-a-blizzard-trailer-shailene-woodley-has-a-sexual-awakening-and-a-missing-mom/feed/ 0
Dads Stream “Fake Knees” http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/21/dad-stream-fake-knees/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/21/dad-stream-fake-knees/#comments Thu, 21 Aug 2014 18:35:16 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1127507 It’s hard to explain how Dads rose from underground sensations to being a band on the verge of taking the nation by storm, but at some point in the last year or so something changed. Their music has stayed the same, as has their thrilling live show, but the way people react to their creativity has been amplified in a big way. As longtime fans, this brings us a great deal of joy.

Today, the members of Dads partnered with our friends at AltPress to share a new song titled “Fake Knees.” The song is the latest to surface from …

]]>
It’s hard to explain how Dads rose from underground sensations to being a band on the verge of taking the nation by storm, but at some point in the last year or so something changed. Their music has stayed the same, as has their thrilling live show, but the way people react to their creativity has been amplified in a big way. As longtime fans, this brings us a great deal of joy.

Today, the members of Dads partnered with our friends at AltPress to share a new song titled “Fake Knees.” The song is the latest to surface from the group’s upcoming album, I’ll Be the Tornado, and if I am not mistaken there is an ever-so-slight hint of country influence to the entire affair. That’s not to say the rock and indie influences have disappeared. In fact, they’re as apparent as ever, but it’s also clear the evolution of Dads is far from complete. Click below and listen for yourself:

I’ll Be The Tornado is set for release October 14 via 6131 Records. Dads will be touring this fall to support the release. Here is a complete list of their current touring plans:

09/14 – Chicago, IL @ Riot Fest
09/15 – St. Louis, MO @ Fubar #
09/17 – Minneapolis, MN @ Triple Rock Social Club #
09/18 – Iowa City, IA @ Gabe’s Oasis #
09/19 – Omaha, NE @ Sokol Underground #
09/20 – Denver, CO @ Riot Fest
10/17 Lansing, MI @ Mac’s Bar *
10/18 Toronto, ON @ Hard Luck *
10/19 Buffalo, NY @ Waiting Room *
10/20 New York, NY @ The Studio at Webster Hall *
10/22 Allston, MA @ Great Scott *
10/23 Philadelphia, PA @ First Unitarian Church *
10/24 Washington, DC @ DC9 *
10/25 Raleigh, NC @ Kings *
10/26 Columbia, SC @ New Brookland Tavern *
10/27 Atlanta, GA @ Masquerade *
10/29-10/30 Ybor City, FL @ Pre-Fest *
10/31-11/02 Gainesville, FL @ The Fest *
11/03 Houston, TX @ Fitzgerald’s Downstairs +
11/04 Austin, TX @ Mohawk +
11/05 Dallas, TX @ Gas Monkey +
11/07 Tucson, AZ @ Gary’s Place +
11/08 Scottsdale, AZ @ Pub Rock Live +
11/10 Anaheim, CA @ Chain Reaction +
11/11 Los Angeles, CA @ EchoPlex +
11/12 San Francisco, CA @ Bottom of The Hill +
11/14 Portland, OR @ Slabtown +
11/15 Seattle, WA @ Vera Project +
11/17 Salt Lake City, UT @ Kilby Court +

# Dads, I Am the Avalanche
* Dads, Tiny Moving Parts, Nai Harvest
+ Dads, Tiny Moving Parts, Choir Vandals

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/21/dad-stream-fake-knees/feed/ 0
UTG PHOTOS: Lollapalooza 2014 in Chicago, IL http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/21/utg-photos-lollapalooza-2014-in-chicago-il/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/21/utg-photos-lollapalooza-2014-in-chicago-il/#comments Thu, 21 Aug 2014 14:30:52 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1124961 Under The Gun’s Head of Photography, Corbin Alvae, attended Lollapalooza at Grant Park in Chicago, IL.

I went out to Chicago to attend the infamous 3-day music festival known as Lollapalooza, which takes place at Grant Park in the downtown area. The whole weekend was packed with artists of various genres; everything from electronic, to indie rock, to hip-hop. Chicago is one of my favorite cities to go and photograph in, all because the area is just simply beauty and definitely a place everyone needs to visit.

Kicking off my weekend starting on Friday, I began by getting the feel …

]]>
Under The Gun’s Head of Photography, Corbin Alvae, attended Lollapalooza at Grant Park in Chicago, IL.

I went out to Chicago to attend the infamous 3-day music festival known as Lollapalooza, which takes place at Grant Park in the downtown area. The whole weekend was packed with artists of various genres; everything from electronic, to indie rock, to hip-hop. Chicago is one of my favorite cities to go and photograph in, all because the area is just simply beauty and definitely a place everyone needs to visit.

Kicking off my weekend starting on Friday, I began by getting the feel of how Lollapalooza was since this was my very first year attending and photographing this festival. Friday was greeted with a little heavy rain storm, but thankfully that only lasted for a few minutes. The first day, overall, was a blast with artists such as Iggy Azalea, AFI, The Glitch Mob, and Eminem tearing up all the stages.

The second day of the festival was probably one of my most memorable days, period. Filled with lots of sun, some blood and a lot of sweat, day two was perfect. With artists like Krewella, Meg Myers, and the legends themselves, OutKast, Lollapalooza’s midpoint was amazing, and knowing that I got to photograph these artists below was perfect.

Day three was unfortunately rather rough, due to the heavy rain that ended up lasting a majority of the day, leaving it a little hard to go out and photograph artists. Thankfully, I was able to catch some shots of Jhene Aiko and The 1975 while the rain slowed down, but with the storm picking up and coming down randomly, it left me a little disappointed. Overall though, day three was packed with a lot of artists that I’m sure every single fan had a blast experiencing.

All and all, Lollapalooza was a huge success. Even though the rain was kind of a downer, I’m sure everyone absolutely enjoyed their time in the Windy City for a very memorable music festival.

 

DAY ONE

KODALINE

Kodaline_0102 Kodaline_0122 Kodaline_0137 Kodaline_0151 Kodaline_0164 Kodaline_0183

BRILLZ

Brillz_0185 Brillz_0210 Brillz_0218

IGGY AZALEA

IggyAzalea_0265 IggyAzalea_0269 IggyAzalea_0289 IggyAzalea_0303 IggyAzalea_0309 IggyAzalea_0334

AFI

AFI_0373 AFI_0379 AFI_0380 AFI_0439 AFI_0466 AFI_0517

THE GLITCH MOB

TheGlitchMob_0535 TheGlitchMob_0572 TheGlitchMob_0598 TheGlitchMob_0618 TheGlitchMob_0624 TheGlitchMob_0652


DAY TWO

THE DISTRICTS

TheDistricts_0677 TheDistricts_0682 TheDistricts_0690 TheDistricts_0700 TheDistricts_0731 TheDistricts_0735

MEG MYERS

MegMyers_0837 MegMyers_0848 MegMyers_0879 MegMyers_0896 MegMyers_0932 MegMyers_0955

FITZ AND THE TANTRUMS

Fitz_0983 Fitz_0989 Fitz_0994 Fitz_1009 Fitz_1036 Fitz_1043

MANCHESTER ORCHESTRA

ManchesterOrchestra_1106 ManchesterOrchestra_1126 ManchesterOrchestra_1129 ManchesterOrchestra_1146 ManchesterOrchestra_1183 ManchesterOrchestra_1199

OUTKAST

OutKast_1273 OutKast_1276 OutKast_1286 OutKast_1294 Outkast_1311 OutKast_1329

KREWELLA

Krewella_1351 Krewella_1385 Krewella_1392 Krewella_1395 Krewella_1400 Krewella_1444

DAY THREE

JHENE AIKO

JheneAiko_1589 JheneAiko_1529 JheneAiko_1542 JheneAiko_1556 JheneAiko_1560 JheneAiko_1568

THE 1975

The1975_1673 The1975_1680 The1975_1682 The1975_1683 The1975_1693 The1975_1698 The1975_1703 The1975_1709 The1975_1738

 

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/21/utg-photos-lollapalooza-2014-in-chicago-il/feed/ 0
‘Outcast’ Trailer: Nicolas Cage Saves Children With A Sword In Ancient China http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/21/outcast-trailer-nicolas-cage-saves-children-with-a-sword-in-ancient-china/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/21/outcast-trailer-nicolas-cage-saves-children-with-a-sword-in-ancient-china/#comments Thu, 21 Aug 2014 13:52:32 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1127495 Nicolas Cage has spent the last several years trying to repay debt owed to the federal government from years of unpaid taxes. As a result, he has also spent the past several years taking on a number of questionable roles in movies that have production value akin to a college thesis project. Some films have turned out great, but most have been bad. Outcast, sadly, looks to be the latter.

It’s the age of the crusades in ancient China, and Nicolas Cage is a long-haired warrior taking a stand against the evil in the world. When a new …

]]>
Nicolas Cage has spent the last several years trying to repay debt owed to the federal government from years of unpaid taxes. As a result, he has also spent the past several years taking on a number of questionable roles in movies that have production value akin to a college thesis project. Some films have turned out great, but most have been bad. Outcast, sadly, looks to be the latter.

It’s the age of the crusades in ancient China, and Nicolas Cage is a long-haired warrior taking a stand against the evil in the world. When a new threat challenges the rightful heir to the Chinese throne, Cage must join forces with another rebel (played by Hayden Christensen). Battles and bloodshed ensue, as well as a handful of over-the-top moments from Cage. The trailer offers a taste of everything, including an immensely entertaining sequence where Cage cackles before shouting “I AM THE WHITE GHOST!” Check it out, below:

Nick Powell directed Outcast from a script by James Dormer. The film currently has a February 27, 2015 release date. That may change between now and then, but rest assured if it does we will give you an update. In the meantime, Cage’s turn in the reboot of Left Behind hits theaters in October.

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/21/outcast-trailer-nicolas-cage-saves-children-with-a-sword-in-ancient-china/feed/ 0
Gucci Mane Sentenced To 39 Months In Jail On Gun Charges http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/21/gucci-mane-sentenced-to-39-months-in-jail-on-gun-charges/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/21/gucci-mane-sentenced-to-39-months-in-jail-on-gun-charges/#comments Thu, 21 Aug 2014 13:40:00 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1127491 A federal judge has sentenced the rapper known as Gucci Mane to 39 months in prison after serving a sentence on the firearms charge for which he was indicted late last year. The judge, who told the rapper that his grandchildren consider him to be “quite cool,” also informed the 34-year-old performer that he might have to limit his time on the road following release.

This is the latest chapter in a story that has plagued Gucci Mane for the better part of two years. The Atlanta Journal-Constitution reports that Mane has served 11 months of the sentence already. If …

]]>
A federal judge has sentenced the rapper known as Gucci Mane to 39 months in prison after serving a sentence on the firearms charge for which he was indicted late last year. The judge, who told the rapper that his grandchildren consider him to be “quite cool,” also informed the 34-year-old performer that he might have to limit his time on the road following release.

This is the latest chapter in a story that has plagued Gucci Mane for the better part of two years. The Atlanta Journal-Constitution reports that Mane has served 11 months of the sentence already. If he chose to go to trial, rather than reach the plea agreement, he faced up to 10 years in prison.

In addition to his stint in jail, Mane has also been told he must report to a drug rehabilitation center and stay on the West Coast, far from his associates in the city of Atlanta. “He understands he has some work ahead of him and his goal is to bring resolution to this case and get back to performing,” Mane’s lawyer, Drew Findling, said. “He doesn’t want anything to distract him. He wants to do anything to get back to the work place and the work place is the stage.”

Mane was caught in the middle of 2013 with a handgun and bullets at a time when he was serving probation for another felony. A few days later, police were called by an anonymous source claiming that Mane was acting erratically. According to Rolling Stone, Mane was confronted by police and grew “increasingly agitated with officers and began cursing and threatening them.” At that time, he was carrying a Glock 40-caliber handgun, 11 bullets and marijuana. By December, Mane was indicted on two counts of possession of a firearm by a felon.

All this trouble with the legal system has not slowed Gucci’s creativity. His latest album, Gucci Vs Guwop, hit stores on August 15. His next mixtape is set for release in September.

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/21/gucci-mane-sentenced-to-39-months-in-jail-on-gun-charges/feed/ 0
UTG INTERVIEW: Suicide Silence’s Eddie Hermida Talks ‘You Can’t Stop Me’ And Continuing The Legacy Of The Band http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/21/utg-interview-suicide-silences-eddie-hermida-talks-you-cant-stop-me-and-continuing-the-legacy-of-the-band/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/21/utg-interview-suicide-silences-eddie-hermida-talks-you-cant-stop-me-and-continuing-the-legacy-of-the-band/#comments Thu, 21 Aug 2014 13:30:07 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1127341 “I feel like in this world you’ve gotta leave some kind of mark and impact. Most people have kids, I have music.”

Due to a parking mishap at the Scranton date of the 2014 Rockstar Energy Mayhem Festival, I missed the interview time we had scheduled to speak with Suicide Silence vocalist Eddie Hermida. By the time we arrived at the press area, the band had left to prepare for their set. However, we were able to track the band down after their killer performance and three-hour meet-and-greet session, in which the band personally met every single person who was …

]]>
“I feel like in this world you’ve gotta leave some kind of mark and impact. Most people have kids, I have music.”

Due to a parking mishap at the Scranton date of the 2014 Rockstar Energy Mayhem Festival, I missed the interview time we had scheduled to speak with Suicide Silence vocalist Eddie Hermida. By the time we arrived at the press area, the band had left to prepare for their set. However, we were able to track the band down after their killer performance and three-hour meet-and-greet session, in which the band personally met every single person who was there to see them.

The band was exhausted when the session was over, and I was shocked when Hermida was still enthusiastic to speak with us for a few minutes about his role in the band. Eddie is the most professional artist I’ve worked with, and I can confirm that he is just as excited about the band off-stage as he is when he’s on stage, tearing it up.

I saw on Facebook that you guys played Starland Ballroom the other day.

Yep.

That’s out where I live. How was the show?

Fucking awesome, why weren’t you there? First you’re late to our interview, now you’re telling me you weren’t at our Starland show? Alright, you suck dude [Laughs].

I’m sure everyone knows by now, but you used to be in a band called All Shall Perish and now you’re in a band called Suicide Silence. What’s it like working with the Suicide Silence guys? Any big changes?

Dude, yeah, the vibe and energy with the band is… I can’t say there’s been much difference, because to me, we’ve been brothers for a long, long time. It’s like stepping into a band that I’m already friends with. We work hard together, play hard together, and we’re all really good friends.

A lot of the reviews on the new album have been saying that you pushed yourself harder and that this your best work as a vocalist. How do you feel about that? Do you think you had something to prove when you entered the studio?

Yeah. Fuck yeah, man. I had to make sure, without a doubt, that people understand that I’m here to fucking do a job and do something positive, and I’m here to continue portraying Mitch’s message and move this band forward. The only real negative thing that has come from this is that my band decided to move forward without me, but aside from that, I’m here to do as hard of work as I did with All Shall Perish and give it my all. I’ve been kicking my own butt, and I’m getting to that age in my own life where I feel I have to step it up for myself, because I feel like in this world you’ve gotta leave some kind of mark and impact. Most people have kids, I have music.

This is your first album with the band, and you re-recorded “Ending Is The Beginning,” which Mitch wrote, and the title track has some of Mitch’s personal lyrics. Given those constraints, did you feel like you had enough creative energy to come in and make it your own?

Those were my creative choices actually, there were no constraints. I came into this band as a brand new member, and they’ve been treating me like a full member of the band since day one.

eddie hermida suicide silence interview mayhem

That’s awesome to hear.

Those two songs- I mean, the guys suggested it and I said, “Dude, that’s such a great idea.” I really wanted to kill “Ending Is The Beginning,” I wanted kids to hear it as my song. As if I had come into the band and written that song.

As the new vocalist, you wanted to redefine the old stuff.

Yeah, yeah. I wanted to show people that I can still do the stuff very similarly to Mitch. We wrote very similarly. I mean, to where I would to a long scream, he would to a short scream. That’s really the only difference. We have the same voices, we both really love lows and highs, and I think all of that stuff is very similar. That’s why this all works.

Excluding You Can’t Stop Me, what would you say is your favorite Suicide Silence album?

Black Crown. Black Crown to me was the band really putting on their big boy shoes and really writing an album that made sense. My biggest qualm with Suicide Silence when I was a peer, coming into it and analyzing, I was thinking, “This band right here, they’re so much more simple,” and as a death metal fan, I’m looking for the most technical and most proficient musicians. That’s kind of a blindsided way of looking at music, you know what I mean? They always had the grooves and the drops, and I’ve always felt like Suicide Silence was more of a dance band. They wrote music for the live show. All Shall Perish wrote music for the studio, and we just tried to completely out-shred ourselves and outdo ourselves. I really feel with Black Crown they did that. I feel like they went in there like, “I want to make the best album I can possibly make,” and not just the heaviest record, but the best record, and I feel like they did that.

In that regard, you could also say you’re continuing the band and moving it forward.

Yes, exactly.

You performed “Slave To Substance” from The Black Crown on the band’s live DVD tribute to Mitch. Was that the first time you worked collaboratively with the band, and how did that come together?

Well we toured together, but that’s about it. That’s maybe a question that’s better for them because I just got a call. They said, “Hey dude, we’re gonna do this memorial show, would you be down?” and of course I was down. It was one of those things where Mitch had just passed, and my heart was very much in pain. I felt like I needed to say good-bye to my friend and I needed some closure, and what better way than to stand on stage with his band and sing one of his songs, you know? That day was such a cathartic experience.

That whole performance was extremely powerful.

Yeah, absolutely. It was fucking cool, dude. Seeing some of my best friends in the industry performing with some of my other best friends in the industry. Mitch was there, just like he’s with us on stage every day.

Conducted by: John Bazley
Photography by: Derek Scancarelli (D. SKANK PHOTOGRAPHY)

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/21/utg-interview-suicide-silences-eddie-hermida-talks-you-cant-stop-me-and-continuing-the-legacy-of-the-band/feed/ 0
‘Miss Meadows’ Trailer: Katie Holmes Has A Gun And She Is Not Afraid To Use It http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/21/miss-meadows-trailer-katie-holmes-has-a-gun-and-she-is-not-afraid-to-use-it/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/21/miss-meadows-trailer-katie-holmes-has-a-gun-and-she-is-not-afraid-to-use-it/#comments Thu, 21 Aug 2014 13:23:33 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1127488 One of the magical things about elementary teachers is that they seem to know just what to say and do in order to make their students feel safe, even as their understanding of the world grows by the day. It’s a rare feat that not everyone is capable of achieving, but there are those who do have the ability to shape the future of our planet. It’s a high risk situation, but the rewards are priceless.

What if you learned that same teacher that made you feel safe was also a crime fighting vigilante who was not afraid to use …

]]>
One of the magical things about elementary teachers is that they seem to know just what to say and do in order to make their students feel safe, even as their understanding of the world grows by the day. It’s a rare feat that not everyone is capable of achieving, but there are those who do have the ability to shape the future of our planet. It’s a high risk situation, but the rewards are priceless.

What if you learned that same teacher that made you feel safe was also a crime fighting vigilante who was not afraid to use a gun? Enter Miss Meadows, a new film that explores that very idea with the ever-so-innocent Katie Holmes playing the lead role. She kicks ass, a lot of it, but also makes time to prepare a lesson plan for her students. The first trailer is a little quirky and just a bit heavy handed with dramatics, but it definitely held our attention. Check it out:

The official synopsis reads:

Katie Holmes is a sweet and proper elementary school teacher whose perfect manners and pretty floral dresses hide a dark secret: when she’s not teaching at the local elementary school or tending to her garden, she’s moonlighting as a gun-toting vigilante.

This trailer looks like someone created a mashup of pure exploitation and your typical ‘going nowhere’ festival film, and I mean that in all the best ways. Holmes has never been an actress I longed to see more of onscreen, but this role feels made for her to an extent, playing into her physical qualities while allowing her to showcase a more broad spectrum of dramatic talent. Whether or not the final feature holds up to this trailer is another conversation altogether, but the clip above certainly has me sold on buying a ticket. Comment below and let us know if you agree.

Miss Meadows opens on November 14.

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/21/miss-meadows-trailer-katie-holmes-has-a-gun-and-she-is-not-afraid-to-use-it/feed/ 0
The Front Bottoms Release Music Video For “12 Feet Deep” http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/21/the-front-bottoms-release-music-video-for-12-feet-deep/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/21/the-front-bottoms-release-music-video-for-12-feet-deep/#comments Thu, 21 Aug 2014 05:04:51 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1127480 Back in June UTG’s favorite indie rock outfit The Front Bottoms dropped their Rose EP. The group teamed up with Rock Sound to reveal a music video for one of the singles off the EP, titled “12 Feet Deep.” It’s also available to watch beneath the break.

The video contains a mix of live performance shots and some behind the scenes video of the band goofing around. It’s clear that they are genuinely having fun the whole time, and it’s great to see a bit of the musicians’ personality shining through.

]]>
Back in June UTG’s favorite indie rock outfit The Front Bottoms dropped their Rose EP. The group teamed up with Rock Sound to reveal a music video for one of the singles off the EP, titled “12 Feet Deep.” It’s also available to watch beneath the break.

The video contains a mix of live performance shots and some behind the scenes video of the band goofing around. It’s clear that they are genuinely having fun the whole time, and it’s great to see a bit of the musicians’ personality shining through.

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/21/the-front-bottoms-release-music-video-for-12-feet-deep/feed/ 0