Under the Gun Review http://www.underthegunreview.net Entertainment news for today's generation Wed, 01 Jul 2015 15:59:11 +0000 en-US hourly 1 http://wordpress.org/?v=3.9.3 MOVIE REVIEW: ‘Terminator Genisys’ Is More Than A Bit Rusty http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/07/01/movie-review-terminator-genisys-is-more-than-a-bit-rusty/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/07/01/movie-review-terminator-genisys-is-more-than-a-bit-rusty/#comments Wed, 01 Jul 2015 15:59:11 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1153300 Film: Terminator Genisys
Starring: Jai Courtney, Emilia Clarke, Arnold Schwarzenegger
Directed By: Alan Taylor

“Old, but not obsolete.” This line reverberates throughout the narrative of the new reboot/sequel/studio machination, Terminator Genisys. As the camera lingers on Schwarzenegger’s automated façade, we see that the lines on his face are more noticeable than ever. A sign of passing times, one would say. Time has most certainly passed since director James Cameron built the foundation for the franchise on top of schlocky B-movie tropes like relentless violence, threadbare sci-fi concepts and seemingly invincible villains. But this is 2015, folks – the time …

]]>
Film: Terminator Genisys
Starring: Jai Courtney, Emilia Clarke, Arnold Schwarzenegger
Directed By: Alan Taylor

“Old, but not obsolete.” This line reverberates throughout the narrative of the new reboot/sequel/studio machination, Terminator Genisys. As the camera lingers on Schwarzenegger’s automated façade, we see that the lines on his face are more noticeable than ever. A sign of passing times, one would say. Time has most certainly passed since director James Cameron built the foundation for the franchise on top of schlocky B-movie tropes like relentless violence, threadbare sci-fi concepts and seemingly invincible villains. But this is 2015, folks – the time when that kind of nutty sci-fi must be over-explained until convolution is achieved. Some things are better left unsaid and under-exploited; however, that isn’t Terminator Genisys’ bag. It’s much more interested in cheaply calling back to its predecessors, sporting a framework indicative of the superhero genre’s increasingly huge influence on blockbusters, and setting the stage for installments to come. This one is programmed to dull.

It’s Los Angeles in 2029 and John Connor (this time played by Jason Clarke) is about to lead an attack that would cripple Skynet once and for all. After discovering Skynet’s major weapon, a time machine, John sends Kyle Reese (Jai Courtney) back in time to 1984 to save Sarah Connor (Emilia Clarke) from one of Skynet’s many robot assassins. Things are different though. Sarah has already destroyed the terminator sent back to kill her with the aid of pops (Arnold Schwarzenegger), another terminator programmed to protect Sarah. There’s a new foe in town though and it has raised the stakes.

Terminator Genisys is the perfect example of a film that believes it can use the goodwill drummed up by its predecessors. While that may be true, Genisys makes it clear that those callbacks and references won’t be the only things reused from other films. Akin to Marvel’s most recent effort, Avengers: Age of Ultron, a physical MacGuffin (plot motivator with little explanation) in the form of the new foe is chased around by the trio of heroes so that judgment day can be averted, once again. Nothing in this effort indicates that the filmmakers wanted to develop something interesting in Terminator lore, like an interesting serial that complements the source material. The explosions are big, the chase scenes are endless, and the mid-credits stinger is Marvel-level insipid. The whole film is a product to be marketed, sold and then sequel-ed by people who believe bombastically dull stories will put butts in seats. I think you already know that answer. There’s still a certain dinosaur movie eating up the box office with a vacuous grin.

The performances both save and make the film sadder to watch. Schwarzenegger’s robotic stoicism is intact but his one-liners never land. When humanistic qualities are added to his moments, they feel cheap and never earned. Emilia Clarke is decent as the new iteration of Sarah Connor. This is a different Sarah though. One already battle-hardened and never looked down upon by others for her prophetic looks into a possible destructive future. Jai Courtney heralds back to Sam Worthington’s performance in Terminator Salvation – one replacing vigor and charm with lifeless line readings and robotic attempts at charm. Jason Clarke as Connor is the biggest loss in the film, though. The kind of confliction in the face of violence he showed in Zero Dark Thirty isn’t here. But again, this isn’t the same John Connor we grew up knowing. J.K. Simmons makes a needed comedic appearance, luckily.

What is it about the Terminator series that resonates with audiences? To me, it was all about the practical effects and John Carpenter-esque qualities to the first and second films. 1984’s The Terminator was a seedy action-thriller bordering on horror with enough sci-fi qualities to set itself from the pack. The second film, although being a bit of a slog, is a sequel that expounds upon the thrills of the original while sticking to the mythos set by the first film. The third and fourth films? Well, their respective quality ranges from fine to dull. Terminator Genisys is what happens when those sci-fi qualities trump the B-movie ones. When the origin of your franchise has the sci-fi depth of Philip K. Dick fan fiction, it’s probably not best to expand upon that mythos. That’s exactly what Genisys does. It tries to make camp into some kind of well-informed fiction by way of nutty, convoluted science.

The visuals are all too familiar as well. There are countless sequences of destruction muddled by an orange tinge, unsaturated colors dulled by 3D post-conversion and the constant fetishistic need for the characters to survive some kind of destructive act. All of the action sequences are shot and scored like they have to carry the heft of the finale. Alas though, that won’t be coming for another two hours.

What is Terminator Genisys’ purpose in the summer of 2015? To remind us that Mad Max: Fury Road was here to save us all and the world didn’t pay attention.

GRADE: D+

Review written by Sam Cohen (follow him on Twitter!)

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/07/01/movie-review-terminator-genisys-is-more-than-a-bit-rusty/feed/ 0
UTG PREMIERE: Mirror Eyes Debut Their New EP, ‘Reality’ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/07/01/utg-premiere-mirror-eyes-debut-their-new-ep-reality/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/07/01/utg-premiere-mirror-eyes-debut-their-new-ep-reality/#comments Wed, 01 Jul 2015 14:01:28 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1153254 Coming together from the Northeast, the Midwest, and the South, melodic hardcore five-piece Mirror Eyes are here to impress and offer diverse musical stylings to a vast majority of music lovers. Today the band is thrilled to premiere their debut EP, entitled Reality.

Undeniably an homage to those that have brought melodic hardcore to the forefront, Reality changes in shape and color after every track. Similarly, the band also brings to the table nuances that recreate some of our most beloved acts’ sound today.

The collection initially calls to mind a more aggressive PVRIS or early-era New Years Day

]]>
Coming together from the Northeast, the Midwest, and the South, melodic hardcore five-piece Mirror Eyes are here to impress and offer diverse musical stylings to a vast majority of music lovers. Today the band is thrilled to premiere their debut EP, entitled Reality.

Undeniably an homage to those that have brought melodic hardcore to the forefront, Reality changes in shape and color after every track. Similarly, the band also brings to the table nuances that recreate some of our most beloved acts’ sound today.

The collection initially calls to mind a more aggressive PVRIS or early-era New Years Day. It then transforms to a fusion of Circa Survive and Pierce the Veil, and closes off the ride with an elaborate synthesis of all four.

“We are really excited about the way the EP came out,” the band shares. “Going into the studio for the first time together, we didn’t know what to expect but we couldn’t be more happy with the end result. The EP embodies everyone’s individual influences. We are excited and anxious to let the world hear.”

Make sure to catch the band live during the Nashville date of Warped Tour on July 1, and again at GameChangerWorld in New Jersey on August 8.

Reality is officially out today, July 1, and you can stream it in full below. You may also purchase it via their Bandcamp. Don’t forget to leave a comment and let us know what you think!

unnamed-3

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/07/01/utg-premiere-mirror-eyes-debut-their-new-ep-reality/feed/ 0
Knuckle Puck Share “True Contrite” Off ‘Copacetic’ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/06/30/knuckle-puck-share-true-contrite-off-copacetic/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/06/30/knuckle-puck-share-true-contrite-off-copacetic/#comments Tue, 30 Jun 2015 20:40:15 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1153286 Knuckle Puck have joined forces with SPIN to begin streaming a new track titled “True Contrite.” Give it a listen by following the jump below.

The group’s latest single is taken from their impending debut album, Copacetic, which is set to arrive on July 31 via Rise Records. It is preceded by the equally infectious “Disdain,” which hit the web about a week back. If you dig one or both tracks, you can snag a pre-order here.

Share your thoughts with us in the comments, and follow UTG on Twitter for more updates on all your …

]]>
Knuckle Puck have joined forces with SPIN to begin streaming a new track titled “True Contrite.” Give it a listen by following the jump below.

The group’s latest single is taken from their impending debut album, Copacetic, which is set to arrive on July 31 via Rise Records. It is preceded by the equally infectious “Disdain,” which hit the web about a week back. If you dig one or both tracks, you can snag a pre-order here.

Share your thoughts with us in the comments, and follow UTG on Twitter for more updates on all your favorite artists.

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/06/30/knuckle-puck-share-true-contrite-off-copacetic/feed/ 0
Caspian Announce New Album, ‘Dust & Disquiet’ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/06/30/caspian-announce-new-album-dust-disquiet/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/06/30/caspian-announce-new-album-dust-disquiet/#comments Tue, 30 Jun 2015 19:25:14 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1153271 Caspian will release their fourth studio album, Dust & Disquiet, on September 25 via Triple Crown Records. It follows 2013’s Hymn For The Greatest Generation, and will act as the group’s first full-length effort since the unexpected passing of bassist Chris Friedrich.

To celebrate said announcement, the band has also shared the record’s moving lead single, “Sad Heart Of Mine.” Give it a listen after the break (via Noisey), and let us know what you think in the replies.

The Massachusetts post-rockers will spend a majority of September and October on the road, occasionally sharing the stage …

]]>
Caspian will release their fourth studio album, Dust & Disquiet, on September 25 via Triple Crown Records. It follows 2013’s Hymn For The Greatest Generation, and will act as the group’s first full-length effort since the unexpected passing of bassist Chris Friedrich.

To celebrate said announcement, the band has also shared the record’s moving lead single, “Sad Heart Of Mine.” Give it a listen after the break (via Noisey), and let us know what you think in the replies.

The Massachusetts post-rockers will spend a majority of September and October on the road, occasionally sharing the stage with Circle Takes The Square. If you’d like to get in on the action, a full list of upcoming tour dates can additionally be found below.

Caspian Fall Tour 2015

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/06/30/caspian-announce-new-album-dust-disquiet/feed/ 0
The Black Dahlia Murder Unveil First ‘Abysmal’ Single http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/06/30/the-black-dahlia-murder-unveil-first-abysmal-single/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/06/30/the-black-dahlia-murder-unveil-first-abysmal-single/#comments Tue, 30 Jun 2015 18:14:55 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1153263 In anticipation of their seventh full-length album, Abysmal, The Black Dahlia Murder have graced fans with a brand new ripper titled “Vlad, Son Of The Dragon.” Stream it below, and if you’re a fan, pick up a pre-order here.

While I’ve always been somewhat indifferent to the Michigan outfit’s thrashy brand of death metal, I firmly believe that their latest single is a huge step in the right direction. There’s a lot more at work here than strung-together riffs, and after jamming this track a few times, I’ll definitely be making time for Abysmal when it drops on …

]]>
In anticipation of their seventh full-length album, Abysmal, The Black Dahlia Murder have graced fans with a brand new ripper titled “Vlad, Son Of The Dragon.” Stream it below, and if you’re a fan, pick up a pre-order here.

While I’ve always been somewhat indifferent to the Michigan outfit’s thrashy brand of death metal, I firmly believe that their latest single is a huge step in the right direction. There’s a lot more at work here than strung-together riffs, and after jamming this track a few times, I’ll definitely be making time for Abysmal when it drops on September 18. If you will too, let us know in the comments section.

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/06/30/the-black-dahlia-murder-unveil-first-abysmal-single/feed/ 0
UTG PREMIERE: Sleeping Patterns – ‘Prejudice’ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/06/30/utg-premiere-sleeping-patterns-prejudice/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/06/30/utg-premiere-sleeping-patterns-prejudice/#comments Tue, 30 Jun 2015 17:30:53 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1153260 The new, six-song release from Worcester County-based emo band Sleeping Patterns is simply prolific. Titled Prejudice, there are parts on the record that speak softly to the soul, there are parts on the record that make you want to shout at the top of your lungs. It speaks to both the quiet and loud parts of human emotion.

Due out tomorrow, Under The Gun Review is exclusively streaming the release below. Guitarist Zach Boudrot said the record tackles the intricacies of everyday life.

“Lyrically and musically the songs show diversity and visit topics ranging from the contemplation of existence …

]]>
The new, six-song release from Worcester County-based emo band Sleeping Patterns is simply prolific. Titled Prejudice, there are parts on the record that speak softly to the soul, there are parts on the record that make you want to shout at the top of your lungs. It speaks to both the quiet and loud parts of human emotion.

Due out tomorrow, Under The Gun Review is exclusively streaming the release below. Guitarist Zach Boudrot said the record tackles the intricacies of everyday life.

“Lyrically and musically the songs show diversity and visit topics ranging from the contemplation of existence to casting judgement and sharing preconceived notions,” he said. “It’s been almost two years since we have released any new music. These songs are the culmination of all of our hard work and epitomize every ounce of our creativity. We can only hope that it receives an unbiased listen.”

Stream the record now and leave your thoughts in the comments below. Looking to get a hard copy of Prejudice? Pre-order a cassette copy of the record via Honest Face Records now.

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/06/30/utg-premiere-sleeping-patterns-prejudice/feed/ 0
REVIEW: Sorority Noise – ‘Joy, Departed’ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/06/30/review-sorority-noise-joy-departed/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/06/30/review-sorority-noise-joy-departed/#comments Tue, 30 Jun 2015 14:30:59 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1153245 Artist: Sorority Noise
Album: Joy, Departed
Genre: Emo, Garage Rock
Label: Topshelf Records

Joy, Departed doesn’t sound like a Sorority Noise record, and that’s a good thing. The band’s debut record–the aptly titled Forgettable–is a fun listen with little substance beyond a few catchy choruses and well-written one-liner lyrics. Where Forgettable serves as the polar opposite to vocalist Cam Boucher’s dark and moody other band, Old Gray, Joy, Departed falls somewhere between the two, with a darker lyric focus, but remaining traces of the cynical sense of humor found on the band’s debut. The result is a fantastic, yet …

]]>
Artist: Sorority Noise
Album: Joy, Departed
Genre: Emo, Garage Rock
Label: Topshelf Records

Joy, Departed doesn’t sound like a Sorority Noise record, and that’s a good thing. The band’s debut record–the aptly titled Forgettable–is a fun listen with little substance beyond a few catchy choruses and well-written one-liner lyrics. Where Forgettable serves as the polar opposite to vocalist Cam Boucher’s dark and moody other band, Old Gray, Joy, Departed falls somewhere between the two, with a darker lyric focus, but remaining traces of the cynical sense of humor found on the band’s debut. The result is a fantastic, yet slightly unpolished emo release that dynamically blends all ends of the genre’s wide spectrum of sounds and some of the genre’s most impressive lyrics.

The album starts off strong with two of the its best tracks, which can be viewed together as a relatively seamless opener. After track one, “Blissth,” which introduces the musical and lyrical themes that occupy the album’s best tracks, and “Corrigan” which has some of the record’s most quotable one-liners, infectious guitar lines, and a guest vocal spot from Modern Baseball’s Brendan Lukens, Joy, Departed hits sort of a dry spell with a few questionable track listing decisions. While both songs are impressive in their own right, “Fluorescent Black” and “Nosley” don’t adequately show off the record’s admirable sense of sonic diversity within the first five songs, and I often find myself skipping both tracks and the moody, surprisingly heavy album highlight “Your Soft Blood” just to get to the second half of the record.

Side B of the album, however, proves the record’s phenomenal worth and sets it apart from nearly every other album in the over-crowded emo genre. “Mononokay” immediately caught my attention on first listen due to its progressive view on mental health issues; vocalist Cam Boucher admits over a catchy, Pinkerton-esque instrumental, “I’ve tried to rid myself of my anxious tendency / but I have to accept my head for what it is to me.”

“Using” is a contender for best song of the year, using a vitriolic sense of humor to look at several deeply private thoughts, such as a reliance on drugs to escape depression and the fear of falling in love while in a highly depressed state of mind. The song’s chorus is the definitive high point of the record, as the band hits full garage-rock mode and Boucher shouts, “I stopped wishing I was dead and learned to love myself before anyone else / become more than just a burden, I know I’m more than worthy of your time.” The delivery in this song, as well as the fantastic, upbeat “Art School Wannabe” is on par with that of Max Bemis circa …Is A Real Boy, with a contradictory sense of what Boucher is saying and how he’s saying it. These moments, abundant in “Art School Wannabe” through “Mononokay,” give a glimpse of Sorority Noise at their best. This excellent sequence of songs makes the middle section of the record (the aforementioned sequence featuring “Fluorescent Black,” “Nosley,” and “Your Soft Blood”) seem boring in comparison, although the songs themselves are quite impressive taken out of context.

Joy, Departed is a wonderful record with some of the year’s most memorable moments from the emo genre. Sorority Noise is onto something incredible here, between their unique sense of musicianship that shines in the record’s impressive guitar work and the progressive discussion of important mental health issues; with Joy, Departed, Sorority Noise never glorify depression as many of their emo contemporaries have been known to do, and instead talk about the benefits of seeking mental counseling and getting better. These unmatched qualities show Sorority Noise doing something different and impressive with Joy, Departed, that’s held back minimally by lackluster production value on a few tracks and a questionable track order. However, given the immense growth between records that Sorority Noise has already shown, no one should be surprised if they continue to grow to be one of the most important bands in this music community.

SCORE: 8.75/10
Review written by John Bazley

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/06/30/review-sorority-noise-joy-departed/feed/ 0
REVIEW: Miguel – ‘Wildheart’ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/06/30/review-miguel-wildheart/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/06/30/review-miguel-wildheart/#comments Tue, 30 Jun 2015 14:00:59 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1153220 Artist: Miguel
Album: Wildheart
Label: RCA
Genre: R&B, Soul

Kaleidoscope Dream from 2012 set the bar very, very high for Wildheart. Grammy-award winner Miguel was on the verge of continuing to champion for the R&B/neo soul sub-industry alongside the likes of D’Angelo and Erykah Badu. In this new record, Los Angeles was his chosen cynosure and commercial-sounding R&B was not an endgame. He divulges his inner eccentric–more so here than in All I Want Is You from 2010–and steers clear of the generic. For those acclimated to the complex retro workings of the late ‘70s and ‘80s, Wildheart

]]>
Artist: Miguel
Album: Wildheart
Label: RCA
Genre: R&B, Soul

Kaleidoscope Dream from 2012 set the bar very, very high for Wildheart. Grammy-award winner Miguel was on the verge of continuing to champion for the R&B/neo soul sub-industry alongside the likes of D’Angelo and Erykah Badu. In this new record, Los Angeles was his chosen cynosure and commercial-sounding R&B was not an endgame. He divulges his inner eccentric–more so here than in All I Want Is You from 2010–and steers clear of the generic. For those acclimated to the complex retro workings of the late ‘70s and ‘80s, Wildheart may come close to precious metal. For others who may find it difficult to unwrap the intricate workings of Miguel’s imagination, it might just be a little too much to swallow.

“I need this album to connect,” Miguel shares in an interview with MTV. The record’s first spin allowed a touch to the surface; a very rough, unpalatable dap. The second spin allowed for a bit of research, and the third allowed for some understanding and the desire to dig a little deeper. All the other encounters that follow emerge as pure wanderlust – a good kind of connection.

Hazy guitars (which, notably, also can be found throughout the entire record), heavy synthesizers, and audio clips of television news greet us in “A Beautiful Exit,” an irony in most regards since it was neither beautiful nor was it the exit. “Deal” follows the same dull path, except this time there’s “No one pays attention now, they just wanna dance. You could be holdin’ the future in the palm of your hands” to contrast the six-word chorus. This sequence forces a careless assumption to be made about the rest of the collection. A lot of them, however, disavow and prove worthy.

We see an abrupt resurgence of Miguel’s music’s notorious baby-making aesthetic in “The Valley.” It’s difficult to ignore a chorus that begins with a hard “I wanna fuck like we’re filming in the valley. I wanna push and shove and paint your hills and valley.”

“Coffee,” along with “NWA” (feat. Kurupt) and the rock and roll lovechild that is “Hollywood Dreams,” was released in December of last year as a placeholder under Wild while Miguel was in the process of completing the record. These three stellar tracks stand out. They command attention individually and seek the spotlight when placed against the other ten tracks in this record.

“Waves,” though with its funky Earth, Wind & Fire trill, falls a little short and rapidly grows forgettable. Similarly, “Leaves” and “Goingtohell” seek out the same pull: an elaborate debate between the commercial and the independent – a seemingly reoccurring theme throughout.

Although imaginably not for everybody, Miguel emphasizes nice, heavy imprints of rock and roll, especially in “Face The Sun,” which features Lenny Kravitz (Seriously. We’re talking “Bohemian Rhapsody”-level guitar solo here). Amidst the heavy lot of genres, though, in this record lie lyrics like “Too immoral for the Christians, but too moral for the cut-throat. Too far out for the in-crowd, what’s normal anyway? Too concerned about what others think. What’s normal anyway?” This helps to explain Wildheart‘s intricacies.

While other artists hail victorious (to a fault) in the “too cohesive” department, Miguel does the opposite with Wildheart. A deliberate distancing from radio R&B/hip-hop and a newly acquired inclination towards the rock and roll byproduct of soul and blues, Wildheart feels like an equally uplifting and anticlimactic hybrid of both the gentrification of Brooklyn and the revival of old L.A.

SCORE: 7/10
Review written by Dana Reandelar

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/06/30/review-miguel-wildheart/feed/ 0
Four Year Strong Announce Massive US Fall Tour http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/06/29/four-year-strong-announce-massive-us-fall-tour/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/06/29/four-year-strong-announce-massive-us-fall-tour/#comments Mon, 29 Jun 2015 21:21:54 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1153212 Four Year Strong are scheduled to hit the road once again this Fall for a huge US outing in support of their brand new self-titled record, which was released earlier this month via Pure Noise.

The Worcester, MA easycore four-piece will be taking a bunch of great bands on the road with them, including Defeater, Expire, Speak Low If You Speak Love, Superheaven, and Elder Brother.

You can head below for the full list of dates and their corresponding supporting acts. Tickets will go on sale this Wednesday at 12PM local.

11063469_10153009405096818_5009115162735082732_n

Tour dates:
Defeater, Expire …

]]>
Four Year Strong are scheduled to hit the road once again this Fall for a huge US outing in support of their brand new self-titled record, which was released earlier this month via Pure Noise.

The Worcester, MA easycore four-piece will be taking a bunch of great bands on the road with them, including Defeater, Expire, Speak Low If You Speak Love, Superheaven, and Elder Brother.

You can head below for the full list of dates and their corresponding supporting acts. Tickets will go on sale this Wednesday at 12PM local.

11063469_10153009405096818_5009115162735082732_n

Tour dates:
Defeater, Expire & Speak Low (full band)
Sept 1 – Cleveland, OH @ Grog Shop
Sept 2 – Detroit, MI @ The Shelter
Sept 3 – Chicago, IL @ The Bottom Lounge
Sept 4 – Minneapolis, MN @ Triple Rock Social Club
Sept 5 – St. Louis, MO @ Firebird*
Sept 6 – Omaha, NE @ The Waiting Room
Sept 8 – Denver, CO @ Marquis Theater
Sept 9 – Salt Lake City, UT @ The Complex
Sept 11 – Seattle, WA @ The Crocodile
Sept 12 – Portland, OR @ Hawthorne Theatre
*no Expire

Defeater, Expire & My Iron Lung
Sept 14 – Orangevale, CA @ The Boardwalk
Sept 15 – San Diego, CA @ The Epicentre
Sept 16 – Anaheim, CA @ Chain Reaction
Sept 17 – Anaheim, CA @ Chain Reaction
Sept 18 – Tempe, AZ @ Club Red
Sept 19 – Albuquerque, NM @ The Works
Sept 21 – Dallas, TX @ Gas Monkey Bar & Grill
Sept 22 – Austin, TX @ Red 7
Sept 23 – Houston, TX @ Warehouse Live Studio

Defeater, Superheaven & Elder Brother (acoustic)
Sept 25 – Orlando, FL @ The Social
Sept 26 – Margate, FL @ O’Malley’s
Sept 27 – St. Petersburg, FL @ Local 662
Sept 28 – Atlanta, GA @ Masquerade – Hell
Sept 29 – Nashville, TN @ Exit / In
Sept 30 – Louisville, KY @ Headliner’s Music Hall
Oct 1 – Pittsburgh, PA @ Altar Bar
Oct 2 – Washington, DC @ Rock and Roll Hotel
Oct 3 – Virginia Beach, VA @ Shakas Live
Oct 4- Philadelphia, PA @ Union Transfer
Oct 6 – New York, NY @ Gramercy Theatre
Oct 7 – Poughkeepsie, NY @ The Chance
Oct 8 – Montreal, QC @ Theatre Rialto
Oct 9 – Toronto, ON @ The Opera House
Oct 10 – Buffalo, NY @ The Waiting Room
Oct 11 – Boston, MA @ The Middle East Downstairs

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/06/29/four-year-strong-announce-massive-us-fall-tour/feed/ 0
The Wonder Years Announce New Album, ‘No Closer to Heaven’ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/06/29/the-wonder-years-announce-new-album-no-closer-to-heaven/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/06/29/the-wonder-years-announce-new-album-no-closer-to-heaven/#comments Mon, 29 Jun 2015 18:05:37 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1153205 Earlier this year, pop-punk frontrunners The Wonder Years celebrated their tenth anniversary as a band with three discography shows in their hometown of Philadelphia. It now seems as though there are more big things in store for them in 2015.

This morning, the band has announced that they will be putting out a brand new album, entitled No Closer to Heaven – their fourth full-length record and second Hopeless Records effort – on September 4. It has been a little over two years since the band put out their Billboard-charting The Greatest Generation; the last and most commercially well-recieved …

]]>
Earlier this year, pop-punk frontrunners The Wonder Years celebrated their tenth anniversary as a band with three discography shows in their hometown of Philadelphia. It now seems as though there are more big things in store for them in 2015.

This morning, the band has announced that they will be putting out a brand new album, entitled No Closer to Heaven – their fourth full-length record and second Hopeless Records effort – on September 4. It has been a little over two years since the band put out their Billboard-charting The Greatest Generation; the last and most commercially well-recieved installment to their musical “trilogy.”

You can check out No Closer to Heaven‘s album artwork and track list below. Stay tuned for a brand new song and pre-order information at midnight EST.

UPDATE: The band has just put out the new record’s lead single, entitled “Cardinals.” You can check out the heartstring-tugging music video for it below.

twy heaven

Track list:
01. Brothers &
02. Cardinals
03. A Song for Patsy Cline
04. I Don’t Like Who I Was Then
05. Cigarettes & Saints
06. The Bluest Things on Earth
07. A Song for Ernest Hemingway
08. Thanks for the Ride
09. Stained Glass Ceilings (feat. Jason Aalon Butler)
10. I Wanted So Badly to be Brave
11. You in January
12. Palm Reader
13. No Closer to Heaven

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/06/29/the-wonder-years-announce-new-album-no-closer-to-heaven/feed/ 1
BOSTON: Here’s Your Chance To See The New Film ‘Amy’ For Free! http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/06/29/boston-heres-your-chance-to-see-the-new-film-amy-for-free/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/06/29/boston-heres-your-chance-to-see-the-new-film-amy-for-free/#comments Mon, 29 Jun 2015 16:16:07 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1153197 If you’re a regular reader of UTG then you no doubt know the only thing we love as much as music is movies, especially documentaries and indie films. There is something about the power of visual storytelling we cannot get enough of, and today we’re thrilled to offer you, our dear readers, a chance to see one of our favorite 2015 docs, for free, in advance of its US release.

Amy is a new documentary exploring the life and tragic death of powerhouse vocalist Amy Winehouse. The film has already won over festival audiences and film critics worldwide, but it …

]]>
If you’re a regular reader of UTG then you no doubt know the only thing we love as much as music is movies, especially documentaries and indie films. There is something about the power of visual storytelling we cannot get enough of, and today we’re thrilled to offer you, our dear readers, a chance to see one of our favorite 2015 docs, for free, in advance of its US release.

Amy is a new documentary exploring the life and tragic death of powerhouse vocalist Amy Winehouse. The film has already won over festival audiences and film critics worldwide, but it won’t be reaching mainstream crowds until its national release on July 10. We have partnered with the people behind the film to present a one-of-a-kind advance screening of the film in Boston on Tuesday, July 7, and we want YOU to be the first ones in the door.

The screening will take place at 7PM on July 7 inside Kendall Square Cinema in Cambridge, MA. We have 50 tickets available to give away online, and they can be claimed by following this link.

You can view the trailer for Amy below. If you like what you see, please consider attending our screening. We’d love to meet all of you and talk about this powerful new film.

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/06/29/boston-heres-your-chance-to-see-the-new-film-amy-for-free/feed/ 1
UTG PHOTOS & REVIEW: Tove Lo At The Music Hall Of Williamsburg in New York, NY (06/16/15) http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/06/29/utg-photos-review-tove-lo-at-the-music-hall-of-williamsburg-in-new-york-ny-061615/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/06/29/utg-photos-review-tove-lo-at-the-music-hall-of-williamsburg-in-new-york-ny-061615/#comments Mon, 29 Jun 2015 13:30:01 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1153127 Chances are, you have heard the song “Talking Body” either on the radio or while canoodling with your lover. Fun fact: Tove Lo‘s album, Queen Of The Clouds, came out in September 2014, but it seems like it’s peaking at the right time for your summer outings.

I had previously seen the Swedish pop star the week before at Free Press Summer Festival in Houston. Tove Lo has been on a lot of festival rosters – you have to respect her grind. It was about twenty degrees hotter and outdoors, but the singer had one of the biggest …

]]>
Chances are, you have heard the song “Talking Body” either on the radio or while canoodling with your lover. Fun fact: Tove Lo‘s album, Queen Of The Clouds, came out in September 2014, but it seems like it’s peaking at the right time for your summer outings.

I had previously seen the Swedish pop star the week before at Free Press Summer Festival in Houston. Tove Lo has been on a lot of festival rosters – you have to respect her grind. It was about twenty degrees hotter and outdoors, but the singer had one of the biggest crowds throughout the whole weekend, so I knew fans were receptive to it.

tove lo 1

Flash forward to a special Steve Madden event at the Music Hall Of Williamsburg. To my delight, (OMG, an actual photo pit) it was a free concert that sold out almost instantly. Fans RSVPed in rabid fashion and were asking to see if anybody had extra tickets on Twitter minutes before the show went on. The thing about Tove Lo is that along with her music–which is pretty up front in all aspects==is her stage presence. She uses her sexuality to enhance her subject matter. It’s cool that more artists are embracing that part of themselves.

tove lo3

The night kicked off with “My Gun” and one of the first singles released from Clouds, “Not On Drugs.” Although the album was recently embraced here in the United States, the songs have garnered enough fans to sing every word, or at least hum along with them. The fourth song, “Talking Body” – unless you’ve been living under a rock, well, then you know what happens. Not on this night, however; we kept it strictly music. The last songs performed were the recently released singles “Habits (Stay High)” and “Timebomb.”

If you’ve heard the radio lately, you would know that the album has legs. If you’re going to a festival anytime soon, it seems likely Tove Lo will be performing. Check out her set; you’ll more than likely leave a fan if you weren’t already one going in.

tove lo 4-3

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/06/29/utg-photos-review-tove-lo-at-the-music-hall-of-williamsburg-in-new-york-ny-061615/feed/ 1
UTG INTERVIEW: The Great Game Discuss Their Huge Lineup and Newest Album http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/06/29/utg-interview-the-great-game-discuss-their-huge-lineup-and-newest-album/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/06/29/utg-interview-the-great-game-discuss-their-huge-lineup-and-newest-album/#comments Mon, 29 Jun 2015 12:25:13 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1153178 The Great Game is spread across Europe–primarily from Spain to Scotland–but that doesn’t stop its several members, both permanent and the occasional contributor, from creating some of the most unique music you’ve heard, from any genre, in some time.

We had the chance to have a lengthy conversation with composer and guitarist Mounzer Sarraf, and we discussed the band’s large cast of players, how they all came together, and their newest album they created–a lengthy, 13-track effort that melds far too many styles and genres to list here.

UTG: Firstly, can you introduce yourself to our readers and what your

]]>
The Great Game is spread across Europe–primarily from Spain to Scotland–but that doesn’t stop its several members, both permanent and the occasional contributor, from creating some of the most unique music you’ve heard, from any genre, in some time.

We had the chance to have a lengthy conversation with composer and guitarist Mounzer Sarraf, and we discussed the band’s large cast of players, how they all came together, and their newest album they created–a lengthy, 13-track effort that melds far too many styles and genres to list here.

UTG: Firstly, can you introduce yourself to our readers and what your role is within The Great Game?

MS: Yes I can. I am Mounzer Sarraf, I founded the band and for our first album I have been the main composer of the songs and the writer for the lyrics. I also play guitar in the band.

You’ve got a whole slew of talented people involved with this most recent record. Were you all friends and colleagues before this album started being created?

Well, I knew many of the musicians. I think Bruno is the first one I met years ago when we played a concert of improvised music together. Since then we always said we would stay in touch and when the time would come make an album.

I met Martin when I was living in Scotland. He owns a famous tea house in the west end of Glasgow and I used to frequent it a lot when I was writing a book on music. After jamming one night at my place we started busking on the streets of Glasgow. We’ve been good friends since then.

When I first moved to Lanjaron in Spain I met a mechanic who told me there was a great bass player living in town. I couldn’t believe my luck when I finally met Manuel and he wanted to join after hearing a rough sketch of the music.

One day I was visiting my mother in the town I grew up in and there was David, busking in the center of town. When I cycled passed he had just finished a song but his voice intrigued me. So I put a coin in his hat and asked him if he could sing another one and I knew immediately I wanted to work with him. We stayed in touch et voila…

One day I was on a local market and my daughter was playing with Medina’s kids, we started talking about music and she told me how she loved to sing Latin-American songs. When I heard her sing I promptly asked her if she would be up to singing some songs and she chose “Poetry in Motion.”

Inbal has always been singing; ask anyone who knows her. When I asked her she was immediately interested and she was particularly fond of “Television.” Later on I made a new song (for her) and she ended up singing in it. She became a wonderful friend and partner and in a week we are getting married.

Cesar was picked up on the eve of the recording after Martin had had a night out in Granada.

Jimi was a friend of the technical team at KBYO studios. He was supposed to come and record the trumpets on “Poetry in Motion” but he got really into it and decided to stay. I was very pleased with his way of playing. He has this “Spanish” feel to his playing; just amazing.

Paul was our last addition; I found him online. I felt very lucky because I needed an accordionist who could pull off something amazing.

On our bonus track (“The Great Game”) you can hear James Steele, who will be joining the band in June.

And who all is part of the actual core group that are considered to generally be in the band?

The official core consists of Manuel, Bruno and me and then there’s Martin and David. We have a very fluid way of working and wish to be able to perform under any circumstance. If we can manage we would like to perform with a ten-piece band but we understand that this will not always be the case.

I could sit here and try to pick out influences all day, but I’d rather just ask who some key inspirations are for your creations. Any specific artists for any of you who have really played a role in the way you’ve developed as musicians?

As I am sitting here on my own I can only speak for myself. My foremost inspiration is the John Coltrane quartet. The song called “Resolution” was the most important piece of art in my quest for musical understanding. As a young boy I was a big fan of The Dire Straits but later in life King Crimson became my favorite band. Up to this day their performance in Dour (a big festival in Belgium) has been the best live show I’ve ever been to. I’m also a huge fan of Kroke, Gogol Bordello and System of a Down.

I love the artwork for the album; it’s very minimalist but very eye-catching as well. Where did that image come from and how would you say it relates to the material on the album?

As with most of my songs, I woke up one day and I knew what the album should look like, only I am not a visual artist at all. Luckily, my good friend Simon is. I told him I wanted a bee with a gas mask in a style that reminds me of these official signs you see in traffic and the next day it was done. I think that the purpose of artists is to point out things that are happening in the world, to give people a nudge. Although not all the songs are related to important topics, most of them have a message I hope will not fall on deaf ears, and the artwork might be the most vital one.

the great game cover

It’s one of the most expansive and versatile albums I’ve heard in a long time. For the sake of brevity, have you guys ever consolidated your sound down to one single genre title for when you have to describe it? I’ve seen ‘new world music’ thrown around but that’s definitely restricting in this case.

Before using the term ‘new world Mmusic’ I thought long and hard about the dilemma that was “our style.” It was never my intention to create songs such as the ones you hear on the album. Most of the time I wake up with an idea and in no time the rough sketch is made and the direction of the composition is taken. After putting the album together I noticed how all the songs were like a roller coaster of styles. Then I started thinking that world music has restricted itself over the last decades and I truly believe it is time to reconsider which styles fall under its names. Consider Scandinavian countries. With great bands such as Opeth and Enslaved, shouldn’t black metal be added to world music as it is Ethnic or at least with Ethnic roots?

On the other hand, if you were to take the distortion out of many songs from Metallica, you might be surprised to hear a crazy up-tempo kind of country music. What I found out is that you can blend any style as long as you know how to groove and that in the end musical styles are not that different from each other. This is why I decided on the term ‘new world music.’ It is not so much a style as it is a way of making music that does not limit itself to any style.

Do you feel there are any limitations in fully reaching listeners with having such a lengthy album in today’s music scene?

Yes I do. I think that our album alone will be a hard sell at first. I like each song on it but it is not the kind of album to put on the background while relaxing after a days work. Our live performance however is a whole other matter. I think that what The Great Game has to offer is an evening to be remembered. If someone decides to come to a performance after hearing a song or maybe the album, the performance itself will be an experience that reveals the true potential of the band and uncovers the gem that is our music. I believe we have what it takes to be one of those bands that never ceases to amaze you on stage.

Why have you decided to offer the album for free download? What’s the importance of that to you?

First of all, I believe in the strength of our performance and to be able to perform we need people to want us to come and perform. I believe that a recording is a momentary glimpse of what a band can really do. I see the recording as a calling card. Why ask money for it? If we can stay independent, our second album will also be free of charge.

I would imagine that most or all of you are involved with other bands and projects. I could of course be wrong, but can you tell me some other things musically connected to The Great Game?

Bruno plays in a lot of projects and bands. He is also famous; a masterclass teacher and endorser for Mapex, Sabian and Vic Firth. Martin plays in and composes for Martyazz and plays in different bands. Manuel has a few successful bands such as the Babacar Kamara project in Spain. David plays in and composes for Walking Horizon, another emerging band. Paul is a well known and accomplished contemporary accordionist in the UK and Europe.

So the album’s been out for a bit now. Have you already been working on your next material at all? Any details on that?

I am well into the next album and I shared the idea of the cover with Simon.

Do you think a lot of the same players will be involved with the next bit of output or will there be a vastly different, rotating cast so to speak?

That will depend on the availability of the musicians when we record. I have some ideas as regards to the line-up but for now getting together and performing is paramount.

And beyond that, what does The Great Game have in store for the rest of the year? Any big plans or goals on the horizon?

Well, I am in contact with a manager. Hopefully we can find a way to work together as I would really like to find someone to take over the management of the band. We will be performing Spain in June and we would like to start performing in Northern Europe in the fall.

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/06/29/utg-interview-the-great-game-discuss-their-huge-lineup-and-newest-album/feed/ 1
UTG INTERVIEW: CalatrilloZ Talk Concepts and ‘Psalms Of Zahyin’ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/06/29/utg-interview-calatrilloz-talk-concepts-and-psalms-of-zahyin/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/06/29/utg-interview-calatrilloz-talk-concepts-and-psalms-of-zahyin/#comments Mon, 29 Jun 2015 12:10:26 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1153176 Last week, London-based operatic metal band CalatrilloZ released their newest effort, Psalms Of Zahyin — a 6-track blast of shredding guitar riffs, pummeling drum work, orchestral string arrangements and classical vocals led by Zahyin himself, the creative ringleader.

We had the chance to speak with Zahyin about all things CalatrilloZ, from the band’s beginnings to their newest album and everything they have lined up for the future, so read through to find our full conversation and the band’s newest video for “Z The Psychopath.”

First off, the band name is really unique and eye-catching. Where did CalatrilloZ come from and

]]>
Last week, London-based operatic metal band CalatrilloZ released their newest effort, Psalms Of Zahyin — a 6-track blast of shredding guitar riffs, pummeling drum work, orchestral string arrangements and classical vocals led by Zahyin himself, the creative ringleader.

We had the chance to speak with Zahyin about all things CalatrilloZ, from the band’s beginnings to their newest album and everything they have lined up for the future, so read through to find our full conversation and the band’s newest video for “Z The Psychopath.”

First off, the band name is really unique and eye-catching. Where did CalatrilloZ come from and what’s the story or meaning behind it?

The name represents a traveling circus family; it’s original and it is an amalgamation of similar titles. We come on stage as characters of an original fictional history, on which we base the songs and costumes.

And how did you all come together to form the band? Were any of you involved with other bands or projects before this?

Chance, pure chance. I came from across the ocean, and most band members are foreigners as well, with exception of our drummer – straight from UK, Birmingham. I, Zahyin, was raised in a classical music, operatic environment, and I have pretty much been doing only two things music related for the last 9 years: 1) classical music as an operatic tenor, and 2) CalatrilloZ, my dream, my release.

Was it quickly agreed upon what style of music you would play or did just evolve naturally?

Neither. I write and compose all songs and arrangements. And I don’t frame the music in styles/genres. I guess the ones who are with me now, are the ones who love it as much as I do. With a classical music composition background, you tend to hear the music in your head as a whole, and not parts. It’s a different way of composing.

As far as musical influences, who would you say are some artists important to you all collectively who you think might have inspired certain aspects of your music?

Aye aye. Difficult questions. As before, the creative output comes from me, and my influences are the unholy alliance of gods such as Puccini, Verdi, Strauss the II, Black Sabbath, Led Zeppelin, Aretha. To be honest, I am not sure whether what I compose goes alongside what I believe inspires me. But on the possibility aspect of the question, I guess the way the great composers arrange a cello, a violin and a viola, is very close to the way I play with two guitars and a bass.

Can you tell me about the importance of your guys’ appearance and stage presence and how it all relates to the music for you?

Paramount. We are a concept, storytelling band; it was born from an encompassing concept and never moves away from it. We do go down the road of “Theater x Opera x Metal,” and we are telling a story alongside the music.

So this current release, Psalms Of Zahyin — how long was this in the making before it was completed?

The songs have been there for a while, and we have plenty more in the pocket. This album was our move to break through the anonymity shell of the underground world of music, and it is just a prelude. It was aligned with a expensive, and hopefully successful campaign, so we could climb some ladders, and reach a point where we could amass resources to release our true first album–a huge concept album–arts and video included, to be considered our first true CalatrilloZ release.

A lot of reviews are touching on the originality in your sound and the fact that you stand out from similar bands in metal music. What do you think sets CalatrilloZ apart from the rest?

Depth. It’s a non-intentional different approach to composition and arrangement, inspired by a melody, a feeling, and a story, and laboriously stretched and refined, where every single note is intentional and plays a part in the storytelling aspect of our band. It’s the full offer, all inclusive.

You mentioned having a lot more material…

We are aiming for the true first album of CalatrilloZ. The songs are there, the funds are not. It will be a fat concept album, videos included, the songs entwined by classical movements such as interludes, openings and sonatas. A true storytelling experience.

As of now, I see one upcoming show on your website. Do you have any touring plans in the works this year? And also, how would you describe your live show for those who have yet to see you perform?

We will wait for the results of the PR campaign to set the next step in motion. We ain’t rich, and not a single one of us has a foot in the music industry. Our live show is what a live show is supposed to be. A show. You will be blown away, maybe by the vocals, rare quality, range and power–maybe by the guitar work, some riffs and passages you have never heard before, and they actually make sense. Maybe the drumming session, where you will see the amalgam of jazz and metal, where fills are plenty, but the drive is never lost. Then, the visuals, the make-up the costumes, the acting, the never-seen-before musical diversity in a single band.

And overall, what do you guys have in store for the remainder of 2015? Anything we haven’t discussed yet that you can reveal?

Soon we will start scripting small videos telling the background story of the characters. Picture Spawn meets The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen.

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/06/29/utg-interview-calatrilloz-talk-concepts-and-psalms-of-zahyin/feed/ 1
MOVIE REVIEW: ‘Big Game’ Is The Original Action Film Summer 2015 Needs http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/06/27/movie-review-big-game-2015-samuel-l-jackson/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/06/27/movie-review-big-game-2015-samuel-l-jackson/#comments Sat, 27 Jun 2015 20:40:22 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1153154 Film: Big Game
Starring: Samuel L. Jackson, Onni Tommila
Directed By: Jalmari Helander

In a summer overrun with sequels and visually impressive, yet predictable action epics, Finnish director Jalmari Helander has found a way to make adventure films feel new once again.

There is a long-running tradition amongst the people in Finland where, upon reaching a certain age, boys are tasked with proving their manhood by hunting alone in the woods. Oskari (Onni Tommila), a young man with dreams of being as great a hunter as his father, is about to embark on that very same mission when Big Game

]]>
Film: Big Game
Starring: Samuel L. Jackson, Onni Tommila
Directed By: Jalmari Helander

In a summer overrun with sequels and visually impressive, yet predictable action epics, Finnish director Jalmari Helander has found a way to make adventure films feel new once again.

There is a long-running tradition amongst the people in Finland where, upon reaching a certain age, boys are tasked with proving their manhood by hunting alone in the woods. Oskari (Onni Tommila), a young man with dreams of being as great a hunter as his father, is about to embark on that very same mission when Big Game begins. He’s smaller than the average boy, and truth be told he’s not exactly as strong as you might expect, but he’s determined to prove himself to be just as much a man as his father.

Meanwhile, a mile or more above the Earth, the president (Samuel L. Jackson) is on his way to handle business in a foreign country. He’s expecting the day to be just like any other, but things take a turn for the worse when alarms begin going off on board the plane and the secret service tell him he must relocate to an escape pod located in the belly of the plane. He complies, and not long after entering the device he’s ejected from the plane as those aboard the flight fight for their own survival. The fall is not easy, but the president survives. Unfortunately, the same cannot be said for his security detail.

It’s at this point that Helander’s Big Game finds a witty and fun groove that it follows all the way to the very end. Oskari discovers the president not long after he crash lands, and together the two continue the boy’s mission to find and kill his first animal. The president wants to go home, of course, but as he is unfamiliar with the area he’s dependent on Oskari for survival. This forces our protagonists to work together, and as the enemies come to ensure the president never makes it home, the stakes only continue to rise. There is nowhere to run except further into the woods. Nowhere to hide except under trees, rocks, and dirt. This is man and boy against nature and the evil of the world, and it delivers all the entertainment you hope to find in a summer movie without succumbing to the predictable twists that often appear in features released during this time of year.

There is a very unique energy running throughout Big Game that will either be a huge selling point for viewers or a complete turn off. There is nothing typical about this film in terms of how it plays with the rules of action films, and it remains incredibly grounded despite several moments that require sustained suspension of belief. Helander taps into the kind of wit and charm that made Spielberg’s best films come to life, but just like his previous film (Rare Exports) you get the idea about halfway through that his next project will be even better. Helander may understand how to create pure movie magic, but he’s not yet honed his abilities to the point where he can no longer improve.

Samuel L. Jackson, shedding the on-screen persona he has delivered in most mainstream films in the last decade, delivers a very strong turn as the president. I cannot imagine this role being one he is offered many times in the future given the caricature of himself he’s become in pop culture, but here he moves from dramatic to comedic beats and back again with ease. He’s strong, yet reserved.

It’s hard to know how much American audiences will see young Onni Tommila in the future, but he carries the bulk of Big Game with the precision of far more experienced actors. The role of Oskari demands an almost cocky sense of confidence wrapped around a very fragile young soul, combined with the inquisitive nature of any growing child and the ever-present desire to impress one’s parents. Add to this the action sequences, which generally involve large set pieces, and you’ve got a challenge for actors at any age. Tommila delivers.

Between shoot-outs, explosions, deception, friendship, and the absolutely gorgeous views of Finland, Big Game offers plenty for action fans, as well as those seeking something unique at the summer box office. It’s a wholly original story built using only the elements you want in a tale of adventure. Even better, it also has a huge heart, and it finds a way to hit home that most bullet-riddled tales of survival never even attempt to accomplish. Helander may not be at the top of his game just yet, but he’s certainly ahead of the curve when it comes to forward-thinking cinema. I ask anyone reading this with the ability to finance his projects to please give him whatever he needs to continue creating films. His brand of escapism is increasingly hard to find, and we need to nurture his abilities for as long as he’s willing to share his vision with the world.

GRADE: B+

Review written by James Shotwell

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/06/27/movie-review-big-game-2015-samuel-l-jackson/feed/ 3
iLoveMakonnen Is Planning To Steal Your Girl With His New Track http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/06/27/ilovemakonnen-where-your-girl-at-mp3/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/06/27/ilovemakonnen-where-your-girl-at-mp3/#comments Sat, 27 Jun 2015 19:56:59 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1153157 If French Montana is known for repetitively saying “Hanh!,” then iLoveMakonnen may soon be known for his use of “Huuuuuuughhhhhh!” on his latest track.

Kicking off the weekend with a party track sure to have clubs and frats going crazy, iLoveMakonnen dropped “Where Your Girl At” seemingly out of the blue. The song finds the rapper asking for your girl because, if you can’t figure out the most obvious of plots, he’s trying to steal her for the night. He’s not looking for a wife however, so he’s completely willing to let you have her back later. Being the good …

]]>
If French Montana is known for repetitively saying “Hanh!,” then iLoveMakonnen may soon be known for his use of “Huuuuuuughhhhhh!” on his latest track.

Kicking off the weekend with a party track sure to have clubs and frats going crazy, iLoveMakonnen dropped “Where Your Girl At” seemingly out of the blue. The song finds the rapper asking for your girl because, if you can’t figure out the most obvious of plots, he’s trying to steal her for the night. He’s not looking for a wife however, so he’s completely willing to let you have her back later. Being the good guy he is, it just makes sense to let you know before he tries to swoop in an steal your girl. You can stream the song below.

The heat from “Tuesday” is finally starting to die down, so all eyes are on iLoveMakonnen to prove himself to be something more than a one hit wonder. I think he possesses the talent needed to pull that off, but I question whether or not he’s got the patience to put in the work needed to create another monster single. “Where Your Girl At” is fine for the internet and people who consume based on the opinions of Twitter, but it’s not the kind of song that guarantees another six to twelve months in the spotlight. Comment below and let us know if you agree.

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/06/27/ilovemakonnen-where-your-girl-at-mp3/feed/ 2
UTG INTERVIEW: Patrick Brice Discusses His New Film, ‘The Overnight’ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/06/26/utg-interview-patrick-brice-the-overnight/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/06/26/utg-interview-patrick-brice-the-overnight/#comments Fri, 26 Jun 2015 15:28:36 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1153139 It’s hard to throw a stone in the world of modern indie movies without hitting some up and coming filmmaker who one or more publications has dubbed the latest ‘visionary’ storyteller. Everyone has someone they’re rooting for in the race to see who graduates from one-time genius to career-long writer/director who influences countless future storytellers, and for me there is no one with more promise or talent working right now than Patrick Brice. He’s delivered two incredibly different and immensely entertaining films over the last year, each pushing genre boundaries in ways rarely, if ever seen before. Like Mark Duplass …

]]>
It’s hard to throw a stone in the world of modern indie movies without hitting some up and coming filmmaker who one or more publications has dubbed the latest ‘visionary’ storyteller. Everyone has someone they’re rooting for in the race to see who graduates from one-time genius to career-long writer/director who influences countless future storytellers, and for me there is no one with more promise or talent working right now than Patrick Brice. He’s delivered two incredibly different and immensely entertaining films over the last year, each pushing genre boundaries in ways rarely, if ever seen before. Like Mark Duplass and Kevin Smith in years prior, Brice could easily become the next indie film everyman, and earlier this month he chose to speak with us about The Overnight, as well as his plans for the future.

At the time of this post we have yet to run our review of The Overnight, but suffice to say it’s destined to be the most talked about sex comedy of 2015. The film follows a couple new to Los Angeles who, following a chance encounter with new neighbors at a local park, embark on a seemingly innocent get-together only to later realize they’ve stumbled upon the strangest and wildest night of their lives. You can view the trailer below, followed by our conversation with Brice. The Overnight is in theaters now.

UTG: Hello, Patrick. Thank you for taking time to speak with us. How are you this afternoon?

PB: I’m great! Thank you for asking.

UTG: I had the opportunity to watch The Overnight yesterday, and it was eye-opening to say the least. I pride myself on being someone who claims to have seen it all, but you caught me off guard a time or two.

PB: Oh good. You’re part of the demographic I’m worried about the most.

UTG: Why is that? Do you think the reveals are not big enough or something like that? What makes you worried?

PB: I don’t know, really. It’s a pretty inclusive movie, despite the fact so much crazy or potentially discomforting stuff happens in it. I just think that if you’re watching it and you’re looking to poke holes or disprove something it might not be as fun of an experience. My goal was just to make things as entertaining as possible, and of course to keep things moving.

UTG: I think you pulled it off. Things move very fast throughout, and the story never seems to plateau. The third act is the craziest of the bunch. Watching a screener at home this week my fiancée and I were constantly looking at one another in disbelief.

PB: Oh, man. That is so great to hear. It has been interesting to watch the way people react based on the situation they’re in when they see it.

UTG: It’s funny you mention that because I remember wondering what it must have been like to see this film play out in front of a sold-out crowd. I was uncomfortable watching it with the person I’m most myself around, so I can’t imagine how it plays in a room of strangers.

PB: It runs the gamut. It’s funny, really, because I never thought I would make movies that were contingent on receiving an audible response from the audience to determine whether or not it was a good feature. We never expected the film to be the crowd-pleaser it has become. It’s always fun to hear people–for lack of a better description–discover the film at the same time.

UTG: Let me back up for a second. I saw your short doc, Maurice, years ago and I am thrilled to see you working more today. When I realized you were the same man who made that film things started to make a bit more sense.

PB: [Laughs] Yeah, I can see that.

UTG: So you went from that, to Creep, and then you made The Overnight? I know most audiences are seeing Overnight first, but I’m pretty sure it’s not your first feature.

PB: Exactly. Creep premiered at SXSW last year, but it’s not on VOD until a few days after The Overnight hits theaters. That is just how things worked out. It was never planned for the film to roll out the way they have, but it’s all good.

UTG: So where does the initial inspiration for The Overnight come from?

PB: It was drawing on a few different things. One was thinking about this sub-genre of film where stories play out over one night or twenty-four hours. The idea of making something that fit those story constraints really appealed to me. Also, I am a transplant to Los Angeles myself, and I know about how the perceptions of this town can sometimes turn out to be real, so I wanted to make a film about that. I also wanted a film about sex and intimacy that I could relate to more than how most comedic films approach those topics. I was able to try some things thematically and tonally I don’t think we’ve seen before. Male body issues, for example, is something a lot of films shy away from. My hope is that we are able to convey an idea of self-acceptance that viewers will pick up on while also having a fun, laugh-filled time.

the_overnight_still

UTG: I assume most people will go in expecting a straight-up comedic romp, but you do make an effort to bring real emotional weight to the story.

PB: Exactly. Normally, films like this are made with people making marks on a checklist of thematic must-haves, and we didn’t want to do that. I knew we were treading on familiar ground, but it was exciting to try and meet the challenge of upping the ante every step of the way.

UTG: Is there anything in this story that would make you uncomfortable in real life? I know some people may be made to feel uneasy during the sequences dealing with emotion just as easily as others will feel themselves becoming uncomfortable when the more shocking comedic elements hit, so I’m curious which unsettles you?

PB: For me, what’s funny is the sort of slow discovery of the characters, what they’re about, and what their intentions are for the night.

UTG: Without giving too much away, you certainly leave the door open for a sequel or two to be created. Do you have a desire to pursue that if the film is well-received?

PB: I mean, yeah, I’m completely open to it. I especially love the idea of seeing where Jason Schwartzman’s character goes from the point where we leave him.

UTG: There is a lot left unsaid when the story ends.

PB: I wanted there to be an ambiguity to everything. That last scene may feel a little unfulfilling for people who want everything wrapped up nice and tight, but I wanted it to feel as awkward and true to the story as possible. It plays out the way I would expect it to in real life.

UTG: In real life things don’t end with big punchlines.

PB: Exactly.

UTG: We only have time for one more question, so let’s take it back to the beginning. Do you have any interest in further pursuing the world of documentary filmmaking?

PB: One of the things that is really exciting about making movies is that you’re allowed to be into everything. I am very much interested in the possibility of making more docs, and if I do it will probably be something along the lines of Maurice.

UTG: Great. Well, thank you very much for your time.

PB: No problem, man. Thank you. Have a good day.


The Overnight is now playing in theaters nationwide. Brice’s other recent film, Creep, is available on iTunes. This weekend, avoid big budget blockbusters and support Patrick Brice’s unique cinematic vision.

Interview written and conducted by James Shotwell

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/06/26/utg-interview-patrick-brice-the-overnight/feed/ 2
MOVIE REVIEW: ‘Creep’ Is Incredibly Unsettling http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/06/25/movie-review-creep-2015-brice-duplass/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/06/25/movie-review-creep-2015-brice-duplass/#comments Thu, 25 Jun 2015 14:20:35 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1153104 Film: Creep
Starring: Patrick Brice, Mark Duplass
Directed By: Patrick Brice

I have never seen a found footage film quite like Creep, but I always wanted to. It’s a combination of horror, drama, and comedy that is so tightly wound that you never know what to expect from one moment to the next. Credit for this is owed as much to the script as it is to the cast, which consists of just two people, and even though I know it’s still a bit early in 2015 to say such things, I must admit I walked away from Patrick …

]]>
Film: Creep
Starring: Patrick Brice, Mark Duplass
Directed By: Patrick Brice

I have never seen a found footage film quite like Creep, but I always wanted to. It’s a combination of horror, drama, and comedy that is so tightly wound that you never know what to expect from one moment to the next. Credit for this is owed as much to the script as it is to the cast, which consists of just two people, and even though I know it’s still a bit early in 2015 to say such things, I must admit I walked away from Patrick Brice’s first foray into horror knowing without a doubt in my mind it’s the most unsettling film to be released this year.

The idea is simple: Responding to a Craigslist ad that sought a videographer for a one-day job, an unassuming man named Aaron (Patrick Brice) drives to rural California to film a dying man’s final video message to his wife and as-of-yet unborn child. At least, that is why he believes he is taking the job. The real reason he was hired, as well as the story of the man he lured him into one of the more scenic areas of the gold rush state, remains a mystery to Aaron and the audience throughout most of the film. Even when the twists begin to be revealed the true horror of everything happening remains a secret. It’s not until you’re able to step back and consider the movie as a whole, from beginning to end, that the twisted mind of writer/director Patrick Brice reveals its sinister master plan to ensure you never, ever trust strangers you meet online in the real world again.

The man Aaron travels to meet, Josef, is portrayed by indie film everyman Mark Duplass (Safety Not Guaranteed, The League). He and Brice share an on-screen chemistry rarely found in film today, especially POV titles like Creep. The idea of first person is always good in theory, but over a decade of disposable Blair Witch Project-inspired horror has taught viewers otherwise. Making viewers feel the way the person holding the camera does is incredibly hard to accomplish, but through either genius or sheer luck Brice and Duplass pull it off. It’s as much in what you see and hear as it is in what’s left to the imagination. One conversation that, while heard, is never shown on camera and forces viewers to pull together their own mental depiction of events, and the results are likely to send chills down your spine.

Running under 80 minutes, which is perfectly fine for the genre, Creep is a disturbing nightmare of a film that takes twists that may feel familiar, but through innovation and creativity are made new once more. If you go on the adventure Josef hires Aaron to experience with the same open mind as the protagonist there is not a doubt in my mind you will spend the next several days or weeks trying to scrub certain elements of this film from the darkest corners of your mind. Oh, and good luck making new friends.

GRADE: A-

Review written by James Shotwell

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/06/25/movie-review-creep-2015-brice-duplass/feed/ 2