Under the Gun Review http://www.underthegunreview.net Entertainment news for today's generation Tue, 16 Sep 2014 00:45:13 +0000 en-US hourly 1 http://wordpress.org/?v=3.9 LIGHTS Streams ‘Little Machines’ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/09/15/lights-streams-little-machines/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/09/15/lights-streams-little-machines/#comments Mon, 15 Sep 2014 23:58:19 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1130425 It’s been three years since we last heard a full-length from LIGHTS, so today is undoubtedly an exciting one as the electro-pop star has teamed up with the New York Times to premiere an exclusive stream of her brand new record, Little Machines.

While the album officially hits stores September 23 via Warner Bros. Records, digital pre-orders can be purchased on iTunes for those who dig what they hear.

Click here to check out Little Machines and be sure to let us know your thoughts on LIGHTS’ latest effort in the comments section below.…

]]>
It’s been three years since we last heard a full-length from LIGHTS, so today is undoubtedly an exciting one as the electro-pop star has teamed up with the New York Times to premiere an exclusive stream of her brand new record, Little Machines.

While the album officially hits stores September 23 via Warner Bros. Records, digital pre-orders can be purchased on iTunes for those who dig what they hear.

Click here to check out Little Machines and be sure to let us know your thoughts on LIGHTS’ latest effort in the comments section below.

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/09/15/lights-streams-little-machines/feed/ 0
WATCH: Zella Day Performs “Compass” and “Sweet Ophelia” for ‘Buzzsessions’ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/09/15/watch-zella-day-performs-compass-and-sweet-ophelia-for-buzzsessions/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/09/15/watch-zella-day-performs-compass-and-sweet-ophelia-for-buzzsessions/#comments Mon, 15 Sep 2014 19:55:11 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1130418 Similar to what the good people at Audiotree are doing, The Wild Honey Pie have been producing gorgeous, stripped-down performances for their Buzzsessions series for quite some time. Featuring some of our absolute favorite artists, time and time again we’re left in awe of the end results with each and every session they release. This time around, we’d like to draw attention to Zella Day‘s recent studio visit with TWHP as she performs two of her most recent singles, “Compass” and “Sweet Ophelia.”

Both of these tracks will be featured on Day’s forthcoming debut EP which is set to …

]]>
Similar to what the good people at Audiotree are doing, The Wild Honey Pie have been producing gorgeous, stripped-down performances for their Buzzsessions series for quite some time. Featuring some of our absolute favorite artists, time and time again we’re left in awe of the end results with each and every session they release. This time around, we’d like to draw attention to Zella Day‘s recent studio visit with TWHP as she performs two of her most recent singles, “Compass” and “Sweet Ophelia.”

Both of these tracks will be featured on Day’s forthcoming debut EP which is set to release on October 21 via B3SCI/Pinetop Records. We’ve covered the original versions of these tracks extensively in the past year and are in love with the way these more intimate studio cuts have turned out. I’ve noted countless times how powerful and alluring Day’s voice is and having seen her live with nothing but an acoustic guitar and having now seen these two takes, my confidence in how big of a star this woman is sure to become is through the roof.

Watch both videos from the session below, fall in love, pre-order Zella Day, and check out more fantastic creations over at The Wild Honey Pie.

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/09/15/watch-zella-day-performs-compass-and-sweet-ophelia-for-buzzsessions/feed/ 0
Deafheaven’s Side Project, Creepers, Announce Debut LP, Stream Lead Single http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/09/15/deafheavens-side-project-creepers-announce-debut-lp-stream-lead-single/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/09/15/deafheavens-side-project-creepers-announce-debut-lp-stream-lead-single/#comments Mon, 15 Sep 2014 19:53:10 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1130414 It seems lately that more and more artists are branching out, starting projects that are departures in sound from their main endeavors. The opportunity to hear a diverse sound from some of our favorite musicians is always welcomed, so there’s not much to complain about. The most recent group to have some of its members start a side project is Deafheaven. Two of the band’s members, teamed up with two additional musicians, have started a new project named Creepers. The group is signed to the label run by Deafheaven’s frontman, and they have just announced they’ll release their …

]]>
It seems lately that more and more artists are branching out, starting projects that are departures in sound from their main endeavors. The opportunity to hear a diverse sound from some of our favorite musicians is always welcomed, so there’s not much to complain about. The most recent group to have some of its members start a side project is Deafheaven. Two of the band’s members, teamed up with two additional musicians, have started a new project named Creepers. The group is signed to the label run by Deafheaven’s frontman, and they have just announced they’ll release their debut LP with them later this year.

Creepers will drop Lush on October 28 via All Black Recording Company. They teamed up with Pitchfork to premiere the lead single, which is titled “Stuck.” You can give it a listen by heading right here.

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/09/15/deafheavens-side-project-creepers-announce-debut-lp-stream-lead-single/feed/ 0
Made In Heights Stream New Single Titled “Ghosts” http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/09/15/made-in-heights-stream-new-single-titled-ghosts/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/09/15/made-in-heights-stream-new-single-titled-ghosts/#comments Mon, 15 Sep 2014 19:33:05 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1130413 Self proclaimed “beauty slap” duo Made In Heights have dropped a new single out of the blue, entitled “Ghosts,” for us to dance along with.

Following a full release from 2010 and several other singles, “Ghosts” is the newest jam from the underrated West Coast outfit in a growing catalogue of killer pop cuts. It’s currently unknown whether this track will remain as a stand-alone single or if a new release is currently in the works.

Stream “Ghosts” below, check out all of Made In Heights’ previous works and be sure to catch them live if they’re in your area. …

]]>
Self proclaimed “beauty slap” duo Made In Heights have dropped a new single out of the blue, entitled “Ghosts,” for us to dance along with.

Following a full release from 2010 and several other singles, “Ghosts” is the newest jam from the underrated West Coast outfit in a growing catalogue of killer pop cuts. It’s currently unknown whether this track will remain as a stand-alone single or if a new release is currently in the works.

Stream “Ghosts” below, check out all of Made In Heights’ previous works and be sure to catch them live if they’re in your area. Kelsey and Sabzi put on a fantastic live show.

You can check out our photos of Made In Heights at this year’s Outside Lands festival here.

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/09/15/made-in-heights-stream-new-single-titled-ghosts/feed/ 0
Yellowcard Debut Lyric Video for “Transmission Home” http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/09/15/yellowcard-debut-lyric-video-for-transmission-home/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/09/15/yellowcard-debut-lyric-video-for-transmission-home/#comments Mon, 15 Sep 2014 19:20:19 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1130398 With their seventh studio album Lift A Sail, around the corner, Yellowcard have released a third track off the album in the form of a lyric video. Entitled “Transmission Home,” the lyric video features footage from various space missions with a retro, home video feel.

Lift A Sail, due on October 7, marks Yellowcard’s debut with Razor & Tie as well as the band’s first release without iconic drummer Longineu W. Parsons III, better known as simply, “LP.” Coinciding with the departure of their long-time drummer, the band has indicated that the album will provide a more mature …

]]>
With their seventh studio album Lift A Sail, around the corner, Yellowcard have released a third track off the album in the form of a lyric video. Entitled “Transmission Home,” the lyric video features footage from various space missions with a retro, home video feel.

Lift A Sail, due on October 7, marks Yellowcard’s debut with Razor & Tie as well as the band’s first release without iconic drummer Longineu W. Parsons III, better known as simply, “LP.” Coinciding with the departure of their long-time drummer, the band has indicated that the album will provide a more mature “rock” sound, rather than their traditional pop-punk sound. With singles including “One Bedroom,” and “Make Me So” already released, it’s clear that the album will mark a paradigm shift in the band’s historic career.

You can find newly-released pre-order information for Lift A Sail on iTunes, Amazon, Google Play, and more. Don’t forget to stream the new lyric video for “Transmission Home” via The Telegraph, below.

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/09/15/yellowcard-debut-lyric-video-for-transmission-home/feed/ 0
Stars Share “From The Night” Music Video, Expand Tour http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/09/15/stars-share-from-the-night-music-video-expand-tour/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/09/15/stars-share-from-the-night-music-video-expand-tour/#comments Mon, 15 Sep 2014 18:52:54 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1130400 Canadian indie rockers Stars are putting out No One Is Lost on October 14 via ATO Records. They will be hitting the road to tour North America late this fall and, as such, have added some dates which you can see after the jump. To celebrate the upcoming release, they’ve shared the buzzy, exuberant music video for single “From The Night.”

Directed by Darren Curtis, the video sees the band goofing off, staying in tune with the album’s title (which, according to the band, is a joke because “We are all going to lose this game [of life].”), and raising …

]]>
Canadian indie rockers Stars are putting out No One Is Lost on October 14 via ATO Records. They will be hitting the road to tour North America late this fall and, as such, have added some dates which you can see after the jump. To celebrate the upcoming release, they’ve shared the buzzy, exuberant music video for single “From The Night.”

Directed by Darren Curtis, the video sees the band goofing off, staying in tune with the album’s title (which, according to the band, is a joke because “We are all going to lose this game [of life].”), and raising their glasses to the late nights. “We went out, like we always do, we got drunk, like we sometimes do, we saw friends that we don’t see enough and we filmed it all,” said Torquil Campbell. “Enjoy.”

Watch the video below (via SPIN):

No One Is Lost Tour Dates:
10/05 – New York, NY @ Modern Sky Festival (Central Park)
11/08 – Portland, ME @ Port City Music Hall
11/09 – Boston, MA @ Royale
11/12 – Philadelphia, PA @ Union Transfer
11/13 – Washington, DC @ 9:30 Club
11/14 – Raleigh, NC @ Lincoln Theatre
11/15 – Atlanta, GA @ The Loft
11/16 – Nashville, TN @ Mercy Lounge
11/19 – Minneapolis, MN @ First Avenue
11/21 – Chicago, IL @ Vic Theatre
11/22 – Detroit, MI @ Majestic Theatre
11/23 – Buffalo, NY @ The Tralf
02/03 – Kingston, ON @ Grand Theater
02/05 – Montreal, QC @ Metropolis
02/06 – Quebec City, QC @ Imperial
02/07 – Ottawa, ON @ NAC
02/11 – London, ON @ London Music Hall
02/12 – Toronto, ON @ Danforth
02/13 – Toronto, ON @ Danforth
02/21 – Winnipeg, ON @ Burton Cummings
02/23 – Saskatoon, SK @ O’Brian/Odean Event Centre
02/24 – Calgary, AB @ MacEwan Hall
02/25 – Edmonton, AB @ Winspear
02/26 – Vancouver, BC @ Vogue
02/27 – Vancouver, BC @ Vogue
02/28 – Victoria, BC @ Alix Goolden
03/03 – Seattle, WA @ Neptune
03/04 – Portland, OR @ Aladdin
03/05 – San Francisco, CA @ The Fillmore
03/06 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Fonda

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/09/15/stars-share-from-the-night-music-video-expand-tour/feed/ 0
STREAM: VICE – “Shaolin Idols” (Feat. Tom Sheehan of Indecision) http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/09/15/stream-vice-shaolin-idols-feat-tom-sheehan-of-indecision/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/09/15/stream-vice-shaolin-idols-feat-tom-sheehan-of-indecision/#comments Mon, 15 Sep 2014 17:57:52 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1130385 Get ready to slam your head through a wall, because Staten Island hardcore band VICE just released their new single, “Shaolin Idols.” VICE seamlessly switches between fast hardcore, power violence, and heavy melodic hardcore, creating a bastard child so fueled with confusion and hatred that it begs you to rip your own skin off. Is that comparison too graphic? Probably, but if you don’t like it, you probably won’t care for this music anyway. Also, on the track is Tom Sheehan of legendary New York hardcore band Indecision. If you’re not interested now, I don’t know what else to say.…

]]>
Get ready to slam your head through a wall, because Staten Island hardcore band VICE just released their new single, “Shaolin Idols.” VICE seamlessly switches between fast hardcore, power violence, and heavy melodic hardcore, creating a bastard child so fueled with confusion and hatred that it begs you to rip your own skin off. Is that comparison too graphic? Probably, but if you don’t like it, you probably won’t care for this music anyway. Also, on the track is Tom Sheehan of legendary New York hardcore band Indecision. If you’re not interested now, I don’t know what else to say.

“Shaolin Idols” comes off of VICE’s newest EP, No One Gets Buried With You, which is set to come out early next year. If this song is any indication of what’s to come, get on board now, because this EP is going to set the bar really high.

VICE is also going on a US tour this October, and you can check out those dates after the break. You’d be dumb to miss it.

Enough talk, click through the break to listen to the first single off of No One Gets Buried With You, and make sure there’s no one in a 50 foot radius of you because you will be moshing.

vicetour

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/09/15/stream-vice-shaolin-idols-feat-tom-sheehan-of-indecision/feed/ 0
Gerard Way Announces Two Shows In Japan http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/09/15/gerard-way-announces-two-shows-in-japan/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/09/15/gerard-way-announces-two-shows-in-japan/#comments Mon, 15 Sep 2014 16:59:23 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1130377 Gerard Way will be making his way to Japan in February of 2015, following the upcoming September release of his debut solo album, Hesitant Alien.

The Japanese shows will take place first on February 16, 2015 in Osaka at the BIGCAT, and the second February 17, 2015 at Akasaka Blitz.

Two tracks have been released from Way’s highly anticipated debut thus far, and they both rule. Channeling vibes from British pop music, and a sonic catalogue from the ’60s, Hesitant Alien is something I am anxiously awaiting for release.

Follow us after the jump to check out “Action Cat” …

]]>
Gerard Way will be making his way to Japan in February of 2015, following the upcoming September release of his debut solo album, Hesitant Alien.

The Japanese shows will take place first on February 16, 2015 in Osaka at the BIGCAT, and the second February 17, 2015 at Akasaka Blitz.

Two tracks have been released from Way’s highly anticipated debut thus far, and they both rule. Channeling vibes from British pop music, and a sonic catalogue from the ’60s, Hesitant Alien is something I am anxiously awaiting for release.

Follow us after the jump to check out “Action Cat” if you have yet to.

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/09/15/gerard-way-announces-two-shows-in-japan/feed/ 0
Senses Fail Officially Sign To Pure Noise Records; New Album Slated For Summer 2015 http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/09/15/senses-fail-officially-sign-to-pure-noise-records-new-album-slated-for-summer-2015/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/09/15/senses-fail-officially-sign-to-pure-noise-records-new-album-slated-for-summer-2015/#comments Mon, 15 Sep 2014 16:46:41 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1130372 Yesterday, UTG reported that fans were buzzing around Senses Fail during their set at Riot Fest in Chicago where the band announced on stage that they had signed to Pure Noise Records with no clear indication if it was true.

After much speculation, the label announced on their website today that the band officially has signed on with them to record a new record. Buddy Nielsen and co. will be hitting the studio in November to work on their sixth full-length album, the follow up to 2013′s genre-changing Renacer. The record will be slated for release in summer 2015 …

]]>
Yesterday, UTG reported that fans were buzzing around Senses Fail during their set at Riot Fest in Chicago where the band announced on stage that they had signed to Pure Noise Records with no clear indication if it was true.

After much speculation, the label announced on their website today that the band officially has signed on with them to record a new record. Buddy Nielsen and co. will be hitting the studio in November to work on their sixth full-length album, the follow up to 2013′s genre-changing Renacer. The record will be slated for release in summer 2015 after completion of recording.

Currently, Senses Fail are on tour with No Bragging Rights, Knuckle Puck, and To the Wind playing their debut classic Let It Enfold You in full across the United States. You can check out the remaining dates for the tour below after the jump as well as our thoughts on the record’s impact here.

Senses Fail Let It Enfold You 10th Anniversary dates:
9/16 – Paradise Rock Club – Boston, MA
9/17 – Marlin Room in Webster Hall – New York, NY
9/18 – Music Hall of Williamsburg – Brooklyn, NY
9/19 – The Trocadero – Philadelphia, PA
9/20 – Starland Ballroom – Sayreville, NJ
9/21 – Ottobar – Baltimore, MD
9/23 – Cat’s Cradle – Carrboro, NC
9/24 – Underbelly – Jacksonville, FL
9/25 – The Social – Orlando, FL
9/27 – Walter’s – Houston, TX
9/28 – Index Fest – Dallas, TX
9/29 – Red 7 – Austin, TX
10/1 – Launchpad – Albuquerque, NM
10/2 – Club Red – Tempe, AZ
10/3 – The Glass House – Pomona, CA

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/09/15/senses-fail-officially-sign-to-pure-noise-records-new-album-slated-for-summer-2015/feed/ 0
Katniss Fights Back In New Trailer For ‘The Hunger Games: Mockingjay — Part 1’ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/09/15/katniss-fights-back-in-new-trailer-for-the-hunger-games-mockingjay-part-1/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/09/15/katniss-fights-back-in-new-trailer-for-the-hunger-games-mockingjay-part-1/#comments Mon, 15 Sep 2014 16:09:20 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1130364 After months of viral videos and promotional posters, the full trailer for The Hunger Games: Mockingjay — Part 1 has appeared online.

Without going too far into spoiler territory, the last time fans saw Katniss she was being air lifted out of a very scary situation. She realized everything she thought to be true about society was a lie, and though it was never said aloud she also probably pieced together the fact most of the known world was looking to her for guidance. Mockingjay — Part 1 finds Katniss rising to be the leader she was born to become, …

]]>
After months of viral videos and promotional posters, the full trailer for The Hunger Games: Mockingjay — Part 1 has appeared online.

Without going too far into spoiler territory, the last time fans saw Katniss she was being air lifted out of a very scary situation. She realized everything she thought to be true about society was a lie, and though it was never said aloud she also probably pieced together the fact most of the known world was looking to her for guidance. Mockingjay — Part 1 finds Katniss rising to be the leader she was born to become, ushering in a rebellion against the powers that be that will put everyone she loves in harm’s way. This is all showcased in the new trailer, which you can view below:

Here’s the official synopsis:

The worldwide phenomenon of The Hunger Games continues to set the world on fire with The Hunger Games: Mockingjay – Part 1, which finds Katniss Everdeen (Jennifer Lawrence) in District 13 after she literally shatters the games forever. Under the leadership of President Coin (Julianne Moore) and the advice of her trusted friends, Katniss spreads her wings as she fights to save Peeta (Josh Hutcherson) and a nation moved by her courage. The Hunger Games: Mockingjay – Part 1 is directed by Francis Lawrence from a screenplay by Danny Strong and Peter Craig and produced by Nina Jacobson’s Color Force in tandem with producer Jon Kilik. The novel on which the film is based is the third in a trilogy written by Suzanne Collins that has over 65 million copies in print in the U.S. alone. Lionsgate presents, a Color Force / Lionsgate production, a Francis Lawrence film.

The worldwide phenomenon of The Hunger Games continues to set the world on fire with The Hunger Games: Mockingjay – Part 1, which finds Katniss Everdeen (Jennifer Lawrence) in District 13 after she literally shatters the games forever. Under the leadership of President Coin (Julianne Moore) and the advice of her trusted friends, Katniss spreads her wings as she fights to save Peeta (Josh Hutcherson) and a nation moved by her courage. The Hunger Games: Mockingjay – Part 1 is directed by Francis Lawrence from a screenplay by Danny Strong and Peter Craig and produced by Nina Jacobson’s Color Force in tandem with producer Jon Kilik.

The Hunger Games: Mockingjay – Part 1 stars Jennifer Lawrence, Josh Hutcherson, Liam Hemsworth, Woody Harrelson, Elizabeth Banks, Julianne Moore, Philip Seymour Hoffman, Jeffrey Wright, Sam Claflin, Jena Malone, with Stanley Tucci and Donald Sutherland. The film opens nationwide November 22, 2014. Comment below and let us know your thoughts on the latest trailer.

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/09/15/katniss-fights-back-in-new-trailer-for-the-hunger-games-mockingjay-part-1/feed/ 0
Run The Jewels Release New Track From ‘RTJ2′ Feat. ‘Police Academy’ Actor Michael Winslow http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/09/15/run-the-jewels-release-new-track-from-rtj2-feat-police-academy-actor-michael-winslow/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/09/15/run-the-jewels-release-new-track-from-rtj2-feat-police-academy-actor-michael-winslow/#comments Mon, 15 Sep 2014 15:58:45 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1130359 Oh my. Killer Mike and El-P can do no wrong.

Run The Jewels have finally released their contribution to the Adult Swim Singles Program which has been running strong and steadily for 14 weeks, featuring huge hits from the likes of Mastodon, Deafheaven, Diarrhea Planet, Captain Murphy and many more. This year’s series’ second to last track is “Oh My Darling Don’t Cry,” which serves as our second taste of Run The Jewels’ highly anticipated sophomore LP following the massive “Blockbuster Night Part 1.”

“Oh My Darling Don’t Cry” has a production almost akin to a more mainstream …

]]>
Oh my. Killer Mike and El-P can do no wrong.

Run The Jewels have finally released their contribution to the Adult Swim Singles Program which has been running strong and steadily for 14 weeks, featuring huge hits from the likes of Mastodon, Deafheaven, Diarrhea Planet, Captain Murphy and many more. This year’s series’ second to last track is “Oh My Darling Don’t Cry,” which serves as our second taste of Run The Jewels’ highly anticipated sophomore LP following the massive “Blockbuster Night Part 1.”

“Oh My Darling Don’t Cry” has a production almost akin to a more mainstream Death Grips — The Money Store era I’d say. Between that and the flawless flows of Killer Mike and El-P, our anxiousness to get a hold of RTJ2 has risen yet again. To top off all the awesome here, RTJ recruited iconic actor / comedian / human noise sampler Michael Winslow from the Police Academy series to drop some robot voices on the track.

The Adult Swim Singles series wraps up next week with an offering from KA. Run The Jewels’ followup to 2013′s stellar self-titled debut drops on October 27 via Mass Appeal (Nas’ label). A number of ridiculous pre-order packages can be found here. These unique bonus packages include Killer Mike and El-P going to ‘show and tell’ with your child, self-producing a new episode of Gordon Ramsay’s Kitchen Nightmares, or taking revenge upon your enemy for you “through a series of humiliating and vicious tactics designed to bring shame upon their name and the name of their children.”

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/09/15/run-the-jewels-release-new-track-from-rtj2-feat-police-academy-actor-michael-winslow/feed/ 0
REVIEW: The Architects (U.S) – ‘Border Wars Episode II’ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/09/15/review-the-architects-u-s-border-wars-episode-ii/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/09/15/review-the-architects-u-s-border-wars-episode-ii/#comments Mon, 15 Sep 2014 15:15:19 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1129554 Artist: The Architects (U.S.)
Album: Border Wars Episode II
Genre: Rock ‘n’ Roll

Border Wars Episode II from Kansas City’s The Architects is a record poised to steal your heart and make you truly fight to get it back.

As the latest installment of the five-part concept record and graphic novel combination, Episode II is the pat on the back to help you recover from the hard punch in the gut that was Border Wars Episode I. Yes, you still hear The Architects’ unapologetic brand of Midwest rock ‘n’ roll moxy, but it comes with a sweeter side this …

]]>
Artist: The Architects (U.S.)
Album: Border Wars Episode II
Genre: Rock ‘n’ Roll

Border Wars Episode II from Kansas City’s The Architects is a record poised to steal your heart and make you truly fight to get it back.

As the latest installment of the five-part concept record and graphic novel combination, Episode II is the pat on the back to help you recover from the hard punch in the gut that was Border Wars Episode I. Yes, you still hear The Architects’ unapologetic brand of Midwest rock ‘n’ roll moxy, but it comes with a sweeter side this time. It’s everything you want from an Architects record and then some.

Don’t mistake the above description as writing this record off as a polished pop success the likes of Justin Timberlake or…5 Seconds of Summer? It’s not a pop record, it’s still a goddamn dirty rock ‘n’ roll effort that will quench your never-plenished thirst for rebellion and spite the way any goddamn rock ‘n’ roll record should. Unlike Episode I, which exploded with massive guitars and loudly driven vocals, the music for Episode II feels more melody-driven.

A track like power chord-driven “Cadillac” shows this through a huge, addictive chorus that rings, “Ca-ca-ca-ca-Cadillac, Cadillac, oh my God,” just sits with you. It rings through your ears, travels down your spine and settles somewhere in your body, ready to be released every time the chorus drops. The standout number on the record, “Kickswaggerboom,” also has a sense of melodic triumph throughout the song. Singer and guitarist Brandon Phillips sings, “She sings like Aretha and fights like a man. She’s on kick, swagger, boom, swagger, kick, swagger, boom.” It’s too addictive to pass up.

And it’s not just Phillips and company’s ability to write a melody that reels you in — it’s also the timelessness of the music. Artists today, especially in popular music, get so wound into making contemporary references within lyrics that it sometimes dilutes the timelessness of a song. This isn’t the case with Border Wars Episode II. This record could come rightfully blasting from your stereo in the ’70s or ’80s the same way it is today — and it will hold up for decades to come.

A song like “Raise Up” is as traditionally punk-influenced as rock music can get. The swiveling bass and the furious guitars make it the musical climax of the record, but again, it’s the timelessness and transparency of the hook that will help it stand the test of time. “If you fittin’ to raise up, raise up, hands up, way up,” Phillips belts behind “whoas” from the band. Classic. Unforgettable.

Embrace the Border Wars series by America’s The Architects now and be prepared to be sent on a musical roller coaster worthy of the greats. It’s the type of music that has the potential to change the way you hear every record after, and that’s a powerful feat to accomplish.

SCORE: 9.5/10
Written by Matthew Leimkuehler (@callinghomematt)

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/09/15/review-the-architects-u-s-border-wars-episode-ii/feed/ 0
HIM Announce Limited-Edition Vinyl Boxed Set, Remastered Catalog http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/09/15/him-announce-limited-edition-vinyl-boxed-set-remastered-catalog/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/09/15/him-announce-limited-edition-vinyl-boxed-set-remastered-catalog/#comments Mon, 15 Sep 2014 15:15:16 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1130353 Break out the eyeliner and tissues because HIM have revealed plans to bring their back catalog to your personal vinyl collection before the end of 2014.

According to a press released sent out Monday morning, HIM will be releasing an exclusive limited edition boxset titled Lashes To Ashes, Lust To Dust: A Vinyl Retrospective ’96-’03 on November 25th via The End Records. The boxset includes the rare debut 1996 EP 666 Ways To Love: Prologue on 180gram heavy weight vinyl for the first time ever, along with an exclusive Heartagram logo slipmat and a USB drive with 37 bonus tracks, …

]]>
Break out the eyeliner and tissues because HIM have revealed plans to bring their back catalog to your personal vinyl collection before the end of 2014.

According to a press released sent out Monday morning, HIM will be releasing an exclusive limited edition boxset titled Lashes To Ashes, Lust To Dust: A Vinyl Retrospective ’96-’03 on November 25th via The End Records. The boxset includes the rare debut 1996 EP 666 Ways To Love: Prologue on 180gram heavy weight vinyl for the first time ever, along with an exclusive Heartagram logo slipmat and a USB drive with 37 bonus tracks, 80 tracks all together, all re-mastered. You can view an image of the packaging below:

him-boxset-2014-billboard-510

Additionally, November 25 will also find him reissuing four of their iconic albums, Greatest Love Songs Vol. 666, Razorblade Romance, Deep Shadows And Brilliant Highlights, and Love Metal will be released in multiple configurations, all re-mastered with bonus tracks, exclusive liner notes, and special packaging. Billboard got their hands on one of the bonus tracks, a live cut of “Right Here In My Arms,” which you can stream below:

Speaking about the planned releases, HIM vocalist Ville Valo commented, “We feel truly blessed to have our sonic offspring of yore being given a new lease of life in the US by The End Records, the home for many of our aural idols, both old and new. For the past months, the infamous Love Metal archives have been extensively scoured by us for rare, exclusive and downright scary musical nuggets for an experience in Finnish melancholy like no other, so please consider yourself warned…”

HIM’s last studio album, Tears on Tape, has sold 39,000 copies in the United States. The albums in the box set above are the band’s best work, at least in my opinion, so don’t feel bad if you missed out on their more recent efforts.

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/09/15/him-announce-limited-edition-vinyl-boxed-set-remastered-catalog/feed/ 0
UTG INTERVIEW: Hostage Calm’s ‘Die On Stage’ Is Their ‘Born In The U.S.A.’ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/09/15/utg-interview-hostage-calms-die-on-stage-is-their-born-in-the-u-s-a/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/09/15/utg-interview-hostage-calms-die-on-stage-is-their-born-in-the-u-s-a/#comments Mon, 15 Sep 2014 14:30:43 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1129852 In 2012, there were countless people frantically concerned that the world was coming to an end. To some, it didn’t matter that December’s doomsday was approaching. At least they’d have the time between October 9 and the end of the world to blast Hostage Calm‘s breakthrough record Please Remain Calm.

On September 16, we will see the formal release of Hostage Calm’s new record Die On Stage, although if you’re a fan of the band, I’m sure you’ve streamed or bought it online already.

The staff at Under The Gun Review have collectively been longtime supporters of …

]]>
In 2012, there were countless people frantically concerned that the world was coming to an end. To some, it didn’t matter that December’s doomsday was approaching. At least they’d have the time between October 9 and the end of the world to blast Hostage Calm‘s breakthrough record Please Remain Calm.

On September 16, we will see the formal release of Hostage Calm’s new record Die On Stage, although if you’re a fan of the band, I’m sure you’ve streamed or bought it online already.

The staff at Under The Gun Review have collectively been longtime supporters of the Connecticut band, so we decided it was entirely necessary to get a hold of vocalist/guitarist Chris “Cmar” Martin to talk about the new record.

Check below the jump for the UTG exclusive interview and the band’s upcoming tour dates.

Die On Stage

The last time we spoke we talked about Please Remain Calm being your band’s manifesto and how it was a representation of the youth and the circumstances they were enduring at the time. Would you say that Die On Stage has a theme to it as well?

I do. The album deals a lot with the loneliness of American life. It comes on the heels of a major breakup with a longtime partner of mine and the record kind of documents life after love for me, and moreso the kind of darker interpersonal experiences where you’re starting to meet new people. You’re lonely, you’re kind of wandering through this new environment, that for me I hadn’t felt since I was a teenager, just because of the nature of my prior relationships.

It definitely takes place in the same environment as Please Remain Calm, but it gets more to the social element. It’s steeped in the politics–everything is political–but it gets more to that social interpersonal level of what it feels like to live and be a young person in modern America.

Please Remain Calm has often been compared to The Clash’s London Calling. What iconic album would you like Die On Stage to be compared to as far as scope?

I don’t know, that’s tough. We’re certainly eternally inspired by London Calling, and it’s very flattering that people make that association. I’d say Die On Stage- I’m going off the cuff here- it’s definitely our biggest sounding record. It is a record that celebrates the enormity of our sound and in that respect, I don’t see why it wouldn’t be like a Born In the U.S.A. type of thing. A mammoth sounding record, at least sonically, that was what we wanted.

When I listened to it I could hear that bigger grandiose sound, but it doesn’t overpower the listener. Subtle chimes and instrumentation in the background adds a huge touch. Minor details make a bigger sound, if that makes any sense.

Yeah, absolutely. I love things to be singular and defining. For instance, it’s a stock thing to have backing chords and a lead guitar. There’s nothing wrong with that, the history of rock music is littered with that. But I thought to myself, “What can we make that’s like a voice?” Like when somebody sings, you have a voice. That voice is a theme across a record, it’s singularly communicative. When you look at the guitar parts, we took this kind of mesh of guitar, organ, synth, glockenspiel, bells, piano and created this blend that is sort of this lead instrumental voice on the record. A lot of times I’m singing at the same time that these things are going, so there’s sort of this sense of a voice that carries the record and it stands out as its own thing. As soon as you hear “Fallen Angel,” and that guitar riff and the way that it mixes with the bells, piano, synth, organ, etc. Those layers make it, a lot more creative way to go about expressing ourselves than, “Here’s a guitar lead, here are the backing chords.”

I never learned the drums because in elementary school, the drum pad came with the glockenspiel. I wasn’t carrying that heavy thing with a dinky drum pad. I wanted at least a snare. Plus I couldn’t even get a drum roll going…

I actually started off as a drummer believe it or not. When I was in elementary school I got the drum pad and I don’t know why I was able to stick with that and not be bored with it, but maybe simple mind, simple pleasure. That was how I got started in music was with a drum pad. I wish they gave me a glockenspiel, maybe I could’ve done this whole Hostage Calm thing like 15 years ago.

Screen Shot 2014-09-10 at 10.17.41 PM

Speaking of simple mind, I know you’re a strongman who’s very into your health. I find it funny for someone who’s so into fitness to be so mild mannered and reserved.

I think that a lot of weight lifting certainly builds on self discipline. It’s really built on intellect and if you’re doing something like powerlifting, understanding the fundamentals and getting to the crux of what makes something work is what makes something successful.

I guess for me that’s that outlet for that intensity, so is playing music. I think a lot people are even more surprised when I’m in regular common life and I’m talking to some 52-year-old person and that person says, “Wait, you’re a singer of a band? I never would’ve expected that!” I guess because I am kind of reserved in daily life, but I think that I have a reverence for those dynamics. There is a time to be super drawn down, and there are times to be fuckin’ full tilt. I’m happy to play the whole spectrum for sure.

Alright, let’s get an honest answer to this question. When you found out that Die On Stage leaked early, were you full tilt or reserved?

I’m bummed for Run For Cover Records, because they put so much into us. Obviously, I was just happy for people to hear the record. For me it was such an overwhelming positive response and I’m just happy we started to unleash it. Part of me is bummed that RFC had that happen, but as far as it concerns me, it’s no secret that people have been downloading records for over a decade. When I was getting into punk that’s what I was doing. I got respect for kids out there who are just hungry for new music. I think that when RFC throws up the $5 download of the new album, it makes it so people don’t have to be in this weird spot where they are hungry to hear music but they feel bad because they need to download it. You give them a nice easy avenue to support; it’s affordable and they can rock out to it. I think it’s a perfect middle ground.

The video for “Your Head / Your Heart” seems to have a serious Beatles thing going on there. So you think you’re The Clash, you think you’re Bruce Springsteen, and now you think you’re The Beatles, too. Is that what we’re getting at here?

We’re basically all the great rock legends of all time just melded into one thing.

Jokes aside, was that video a blast to shoot?

Oh, it was so fun. Well it was super fucking hot in there. Every single take ended with being wiped down with towels. We had the AC blasting but it was July. It was a definitely a blast to play. I was playing a Richenbacher. I don’t remember if I played the 12-string or the six. We have both at our disposal, but, we were in suits. Our band loves that stuff. You know, the semi-campy over-the-top early ’60s rock stuff. Growing up I always thought it was very tied to punk, like “You Really Got Me Now.” I would think to myself, “That’s as driving and as full-tilt as any punk song,” that I could’ve fallen in love with at age 12. For me, for us, it’s really fun for us to play along with the announcement that they’re in the concert hall, they’re in the living room now, that whole lead in. It was a good time to have that sort of old flair.

I noticed that you seemed very comfortable with the theatrics of singing like an Elvis or a Johnny Cash, the way you lean into the mic but keep your body at a distance.

Yeah, it’s not that different from how we probably perform. I didn’t feel like we had to do things much differently. Now people have different mics for each performer but we were singing into one mic. That was a super nod to the classic old-time, early rock. To us, we love that shit. That flair has inspired us. We’re always reflecting that reverence for The Clash or Elvis or whatever. You’ve got your right foot forward and you’ve got your guitar sitting right on your thigh there. I mean, that’s rock and roll.

“Someone Else” seems like a really personal song. Can you tell me about it?

The song tackles when I had left my ex. All of a sudden I was thrust into this world where now there are different partners and I found that at one standpoint it was quite alluring, and at one standpoint it was kind of a dark place. There are these people that you don’t know and they don’t care about and there’s a real sense–if you’re being honest with yourself–that it can be a dark place. I felt like the darkness in those chords and the darkness in that melody and the darkness in that stark, “Someone else for someone else,” that captured a lot of the longing and desperation and the various acts of desperation that probably went down in the wake of love lost. You’re out there just trying to find your way, and it’s not always as romantic as maybe you envisioned it.

I hear what you’re saying. I had a sudden breakup about a year ago, it wasn’t too long of a relationship but I considered it my first real one. I didn’t really know what to do with myself or how to operate.

That’s the whole thing with “Someone else for someone else.” You’re asking people out on dates, you’re texting, it’s just another world. You feel almost like you’re not yourself if it’s not what you’re used to for a long time. For me, I was in a relationship for six years, so it was just all of a sudden like I was a teenager again. Part of that is reflected on the album in this super romantic fucking stoked way. But I think that the album has its extremes, and those extremes are something the album celebrates and really takes on.

Here’s a question. For example, when I got out of my relationship, I cut off all ties on any kind of social media and we haven’t spoken in literally a year. But for you, you wrote music about it and shared it with the world. It’s out in the public. Are you comfortable with that? The notion that this person could potentially even read this interview?

It neither makes me uncomfortable and neither is the interview or anything like that. I’m not venting, I don’t need that from a therapeutic standpoint or anything like that. I think the writing is. For us, with the whole ‘Die On Stage,’ concept, you take on the responsibility that goes with art. The responsibility to be honest and shoot for some high artistic achievement, I think that you’re taking on that vulnerability. You’re going to be vulnerable, you’re going to leave yourself out too bare. So for me, that’s something that comes with the territory. I feel like you’d almost be cheating if you weren’t going to take it to that level.

Screen Shot 2014-09-10 at 10.18.47 PM
So, do I hear Vinnie Caruana on a track?

Yes, he sings on the song “Raised.” Vinnie has always been a longtime supporter of Hostage Calm. He took us out on tour while we were still on the self-titled with I Am The Avalanche, so he’s always been supportive of us. He’s been in The Movielife and now I Am The Avalanche, bands that really inspired us. And he’s from that Long Island scene that really inspired us. I almost feel like so much of our band’s career has been interwove with what I Am The Avalanche and what Vinnie has done. He’s the perfect person to have on that song both sonically and as far as his spiritual involvement in the band.

In that song you say, “I’d rather be hated for who I am than loved for who I am.” That’s pretty heavy. What’s the thought behind that?

I love wordplay. I love manipulating expectations. When someone thinks I’m going to be saying something totally different at the end of that statement. That song really is one of the most fatalistic on the whole record, it’s kind of celebrating the out of control emotional desperation of this generation. It’s not trying to say what it should be or shouldn’t be, but it’s celebrating that extreme. For us, punk has always been an iconoclastic project, so the bands we loved and the things we loved, we romanticized that which is controversial and pushing boundaries. That’s kind of a theme that runs along this band. Sometimes I have to tell myself that sometimes it’s better to be hated than to be loved, because it shows you that you’re challenging things. That song was just a little reminder; I look at that line and think to myself, “Yeah, be strong with what you’re doing. Don’t fucking back down. Don’t be subject to what people are saying about your record or your band, or your personality.”

Screen Shot 2014-09-10 at 10.23.41 PM

During the track “12/31,” you reference “Auld Lang Syne,” the whole, “Let all acquaintance be forgot…” It’s such a cool moment. Where do you get the idea to incorporate something like that? I looked up the origin, it’s actually derived from a poem written in 1788.

Yeah, you never hear it referred to as that, but you recognize the iconic melody. We used it as the bridge and play off the words. The song is really synonymous with New Year’s Eve now and with this sort of nostalgia that goes with reflecting upon a year and being anxious or whatever for the year ahead. I remember on the song “Patriot,” there is a part where we do the actual melody to the National Anthem where we sing, “Oh say can’t you see, that they’ve taken you from me.” It’s fun to play off of something that’s such a pop-culture staple at that point and to play with expectations and to help challenge the notion of New Year’s Eve as this fun thing. You know, in the context of that song it’s not fun, it’s a lonely night. By using that melody you can evoke a lot of the feelings from that time and also challenge folks. I know there will be people who hear that song and love “12/31,” and they’ll hear that song sang on New Year’s Eve and it’ll have a different little meaning to them. For us, that’s a great interplay between different artistic pieces.

When the album leaked, even though you were bummed, on your personal Facebook you called it “The finest moment in my young artistic life.” What made you come to that conclusion?

It’s the best record we’ve ever made. It’s the best record I’ve ever written. The best produced. It really would get every superlative that I could come up with regarding our music or our artistic pursuit in general. I look at that record with nothing but pride. As I’ve gotten older and been playing music, I understood that “Wow, we have a legacy now.” We’ve made multiple records, we’ve played all these places, we’ve toured with all these bands and made music videos. There is this sense that we’re cementing this sort of legacy and I’ve started now to take a step back and see where a record like this fits in that legacy, and I think that that’s a big thing with Die On Stage. Somebody asked me recently what I thought it meant to die. And I spoke about how death is the finality of effort, it’s the end of the material existence; of the big push. That’s it on the material end, but then it’s possible that you’ve created things that live well beyond your life, or live forever. I think we have a record that can stand that test of time and that even whenever this band dies or the people that are in this band, their lives are done, you have this record that you’ve launched that can carry your legacy.

Screen Shot 2014-09-10 at 10.24.04 PM

TOUR DATES:
09/12 – Pontiac, MI @ Crofoot Ballroom
09/14 – Lawrence, KS @ Jackpot Music Hall
09/15 – Denver, CO @ Marquis Theater
09/16 – Salt Lake City, UT @ Shred Shed
09/18 – Oakland, CA @ Oakland Metro
09/19 – Anaheim, CA @ Chain Reaction
09/20 – San Diego, CA @ House of Blues
09/21 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Troubadour
09/22 – Las Vegas, NV @ Eagle Hall
09/23 – Mesa, AZ @ Nile Theater
09/25 – Dallas, TX @ Sons of Herman Hall
09/26 – St. Louis, MO @ The Demo
09/27 – Birmingham, AL @ The Forge
09/28 – Orlando, FL @ Backbooth
09/29 – Tampa, FL @ Epic Problems
09/30 – Lake Worth, FL @ Propaganda
10/01 – Jacksonville, FL @ Underbelly
10/02 – Atlanta, GA @ Masquerade
10/03 – Greensboro, NC @ Greene Street Club
10/04 – Richmond, VA @ The Broadberry
10/05 – Baltimore, MD @ Ottobar
10/07 – Poughkeepsie, NY @ The Loft
10/08 – Asbury Park, NJ @ Asbury Lanes
10/09 – Long Island, NY @ Revolution Music Hall
10/10 – New York, NY @ Studio at Webster Hall
10/11 – Philadelphia, PA @ First Unitarian Church
10/12 – Boston, MA @ The Sinclair
10/14 – Buffalo, NY @ Waiting Room
10/15 – Cleveland, OH @ Grog Shop

To buy the record now or a bundle, head to the Run For Cover Store.

Interviewed by: Derek Scancarelli
Check out D. SKANK PHOTOGRAPHY.

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/09/15/utg-interview-hostage-calms-die-on-stage-is-their-born-in-the-u-s-a/feed/ 0
Panda Bear Streams New Mixtape http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/09/15/panda-bear-streams-new-mixtape/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/09/15/panda-bear-streams-new-mixtape/#comments Mon, 15 Sep 2014 14:03:41 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1130347 We’ve known that Panda Bear (aka Noah Lennox of Animal Collective) has been working on a new album this year with hip-hop influences, but we’re still left in the air in terms of its title and release date. Today what we do get, however, is a mixtape he made which likely points in the direction of what his new record will sound like.

The mixtape showed up on his new website, PBVSGR.com. While previous reports suspected his upcoming LP’s title would be Panda Bear Meets The Grim Reaper, the mixtape’s hyperlink indicates it may be Panda Bear VS

]]>
We’ve known that Panda Bear (aka Noah Lennox of Animal Collective) has been working on a new album this year with hip-hop influences, but we’re still left in the air in terms of its title and release date. Today what we do get, however, is a mixtape he made which likely points in the direction of what his new record will sound like.

The mixtape showed up on his new website, PBVSGR.com. While previous reports suspected his upcoming LP’s title would be Panda Bear Meets The Grim Reaper, the mixtape’s hyperlink indicates it may be Panda Bear VS Grim Reaper. According to Stereogum, the mixtape isn’t made entirely of new material from Panda Bear; there’s Moodyman x Laidback Luke in thereas well as several other artists’ work.

Head over to his website to dive into the trippy imagery, stream it below if your lazy, or catch him on tour to hear some of these songs live.

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/09/15/panda-bear-streams-new-mixtape/feed/ 0
Meatbodies (feat. Ty Segall and Mikal Cronin Member) Share New Track “Disorder” http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/09/15/meatbodies-feat-ty-segall-and-mikal-cronin-members-share-new-track-disorder/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/09/15/meatbodies-feat-ty-segall-and-mikal-cronin-members-share-new-track-disorder/#comments Mon, 15 Sep 2014 13:48:40 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1130343 Chad Ubovich has plenty of experience playing guitar and bass behind both psych rock gods Ty Segall and Mikal Cronin. Between tours with them, he spent his time recording his own crunchy fuzz as Chad and the Meatbodies. Now he’s shortened the name, written up 12 tracks, and teamed up with Cory Hanson of Wand and Erik Jimenez of Together Pangea to create a heavy debut, their self-titled album out October 14 via In The Red.

“Disorder” sees the Ty Segall and Mikal Cronin members doing what they do best: thrashing. Every power chord riff goes hand-in-hand with crazy …

]]>
Chad Ubovich has plenty of experience playing guitar and bass behind both psych rock gods Ty Segall and Mikal Cronin. Between tours with them, he spent his time recording his own crunchy fuzz as Chad and the Meatbodies. Now he’s shortened the name, written up 12 tracks, and teamed up with Cory Hanson of Wand and Erik Jimenez of Together Pangea to create a heavy debut, their self-titled album out October 14 via In The Red.

“Disorder” sees the Ty Segall and Mikal Cronin members doing what they do best: thrashing. Every power chord riff goes hand-in-hand with crazy antics and summer garage rock straight from the garage. As they all join together in singing a long stream of “Oohs” at the end, we get the feeling summer never really ended after all — at least if you’re from California.

Give it a listen below:

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/09/15/meatbodies-feat-ty-segall-and-mikal-cronin-members-share-new-track-disorder/feed/ 0
UTG VIDEO PREMIERE: 20 Eyes – “Friends Like You” http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/09/15/utg-video-premiere-20-eyes-friends-like-you/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/09/15/utg-video-premiere-20-eyes-friends-like-you/#comments Mon, 15 Sep 2014 13:45:07 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1130231 Friends and viewers of Under The Gun, we are happy to present you with the official premiere of an unusual song and video to match. 20 Eyes, the three-piece alternative group from San Pedro, CA, are equally as excited to unveil “Friends Like You.”

The video features genre-fusing musical stylings cleverly paired with the funkiest dance moves I’ve ever seen from an elderly man. Although artists have successfully deployed the use of a wacky random guy in the past, this one is just too good to pass over. The band has also found a quirky way to deliver a …

]]>
Friends and viewers of Under The Gun, we are happy to present you with the official premiere of an unusual song and video to match. 20 Eyes, the three-piece alternative group from San Pedro, CA, are equally as excited to unveil “Friends Like You.”

The video features genre-fusing musical stylings cleverly paired with the funkiest dance moves I’ve ever seen from an elderly man. Although artists have successfully deployed the use of a wacky random guy in the past, this one is just too good to pass over. The band has also found a quirky way to deliver a track that has a more serious undertone than you’d imagine at first listen.

“We feel this song really demonstrates who we are as a band. The lyrical content of it is very personal to me. It’s also a subject I think a lot of people can relate to. This song if for the kids who have ever felt abandoned. We want them to know, you’re not alone, vocalist Wolf Bradley told UTG.

The absurd concept for the video came naturally to the guys while playing a show at home in California.

“We were playing ‘Friends Like You,’ this man was dancing and just having a blast. I think everyone in that moment figured out that we had to film this. He was the missing piece. So we built a three wall room, painted it white, and let him improvise to the song.”

The spoken-word nature of the track unfolded when Bradley realized that he had too much to say to fit into a particular melody. The splicing of wild animals also adds a layer of depth.

“The animals signify what it’s like when someone you thought was your own kind, betrays you. It represents the lyrics of the song. Having this close group of friends that turn their back on you, really tears you up inside.”

20 Eyes

20 Eyes’ next show will be on September 17 at Club Moscow.

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/09/15/utg-video-premiere-20-eyes-friends-like-you/feed/ 0
REVIEW: Hostage Calm – ‘Die on Stage’ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/09/15/review-hostage-calm-die-on-stage/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/09/15/review-hostage-calm-die-on-stage/#comments Mon, 15 Sep 2014 12:45:22 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1130238 Artist: Hostage Calm
Album: Die on Stage
Label: Run For Cover Records
Genre: Punk, Alternative

There are a lot of bands that come and go in the music scene, and rarely make a mark of any kind. Most bands like to think that they are “different” and “special,” but let’s be honest, they usually are not. A few years back when I first saw Hostage Calm, I really did not get “it.” A lot of people really liked them to an extreme degree, and I felt like I was on the outs in a way. Maybe I just wasn’t …

]]>
Artist: Hostage Calm
Album: Die on Stage
Label: Run For Cover Records
Genre: Punk, Alternative

There are a lot of bands that come and go in the music scene, and rarely make a mark of any kind. Most bands like to think that they are “different” and “special,” but let’s be honest, they usually are not. A few years back when I first saw Hostage Calm, I really did not get “it.” A lot of people really liked them to an extreme degree, and I felt like I was on the outs in a way. Maybe I just wasn’t in the right place in time. However when the band released Please Remain Calm, something inside of me clicked. Hostage Calm were a band that were really trying something different, and successfully bringing a different style of punk and pop to a relatively boring, oversaturated scene. Calm’s followup, Die on Stage, while lopsided, is a solid entry in the ever-growing catalog of one of my favorite bands making music today.

Die on Stage’s five of the first six tracks are certified bangers. Every single song feels uniquely its own, while still feeling cohesively a part of the record. “When You Know” kicks off the record at a very quick pace, introducing a lot of the elements of this record that will continue with you for the 32-minute runtime. May it be the joyful xylophone accenting the songs, or the ripping guitar solos, Hostage Calm kick into full gear right off the bat, and set the bar extremely high for the rest of the record. Optimism and joy seems to be an overarching theme throughout this entire record, not just lyrically, but musically as well. In my first play-through of Die on Stage, I could not wipe the smile off my face. “Love Against!” makes me feel like I literally can do anything, while “Fallen Angel” begs me to sing along. Hostage Calm proves they truly know how to write a pop-infused punk record. Honestly, there are points on this record where I feel like the songs could be the background to a teen comedy, which I think is in part due to the youthful hopefulness that bleeds out of these songs. Some of you may look at my “teen comedy” comment as a negative comparison, but you’re wrong. These tracks are the Hostage Calm I love, not because they sound like songs they’ve done before, but because they showcase really smart songwriting.

However, the issue that I have with this record is the track order. Because of how Die on Stage is put together, the first half of this record is hit after hit, but then comes to a grinding halt with “Raised.” The first six tracks (with the exception of the incredibly repetitive “Someone Else”) are wonderfully upbeat, and set a tone that the last four tracks just don’t really know how to keep up with. Trust me, I love Vinnie Caruana just as much as the next guy, but the featured vocal on here doesn’t make much sense to me at all. The last four tracks are all weighted on the slower end of the spectrum, and makes the record anticlimactic. Honestly, I find myself turning off the record after the first six tracks, because the mood Die on Stage successfully puts me in essentially disappears, which is pretty jarring to say the least. “12/31” sounds like something that should go on the No Sleep Til Christmas comp, which again, seems out of place, and “Past Ideas of the Future” builds up to what I think is supposed to be something huge, but instead, shrinks away from what could be a really powerful moment, which again, is disappointing considering how strong the first half of the record was. These songs feel more like filler than anything else, which shouldn’t happen considering they bookend the record.

All in all, I think Die On Stage is a solid effort by Hostage Calm, but falls victim to a strange track order. The record doesn’t feel as cohesive as Please Remain Calm, meaning, Please Remain Calm feels like a focused effort, while Die on Stage starts to feel like it has that same cohesion, then drops the ball. When you’re a band that demonstrates that they know how to write a really catchy song, it’s hard not to be disappointed when things just don’t come together. However, the first half of this record will stick with me for the months to come, and will undoubtedly bring smiles to my face exactly when I need them.

SCORE: 7/10
Review written by Tyler Osborne

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/09/15/review-hostage-calm-die-on-stage/feed/ 0