Under the Gun Review http://www.underthegunreview.net Entertainment news for today's generation Mon, 31 Aug 2015 18:45:49 +0000 en-US hourly 1 http://wordpress.org/?v=4.3 http://static.underthegunreview.net/2015/08/cropped-icon1-32x32.jpg Under the Gun Review http://www.underthegunreview.net 32 32 Triple Crown Records Signs A Will Away, Rock And Roll Lives http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/08/31/triple-crown-records-signs-a-will-away-rock-and-roll-lives/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/08/31/triple-crown-records-signs-a-will-away-rock-and-roll-lives/#comments Mon, 31 Aug 2015 17:38:27 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1155060 Connecticut rock group A Will Away have signed to Triple Crown Records. The label will re-issue the band’s early 2015 EP Bliss on October 23.

If you’ve been following UTG in 2015, you’re likely already familiar with the band. I raved about Bliss when it released earlier this year, and we sat down with the band at this year’s Skate And Surf Festival. We couldn’t be more proud to see one of the alternative music scene’s best, hardest working bands make such a big step toward the big leagues.

On Bliss, vocalist Matt Carlson comments:

We had reached

…]]>
Connecticut rock group A Will Away have signed to Triple Crown Records. The label will re-issue the band’s early 2015 EP Bliss on October 23.

If you’ve been following UTG in 2015, you’re likely already familiar with the band. I raved about Bliss when it released earlier this year, and we sat down with the band at this year’s Skate And Surf Festival. We couldn’t be more proud to see one of the alternative music scene’s best, hardest working bands make such a big step toward the big leagues.

On Bliss, vocalist Matt Carlson comments:

We had reached this point where we had made all these previous records and we really tried to cater and direct those to an audience when we made them. I think we found over time that what we were missing and what we were losing throughout that process was playing music for ourselves—the reason we started playing to begin with. We wanted to bring out the best of ourselves as musicians.

A Will Away announced a tour with Pentimento and Better Off earlier today. Stay tuned to UTG for more on A Will Away as the year continues.

[Photo via Emily Tantuccio Photography]

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/08/31/triple-crown-records-signs-a-will-away-rock-and-roll-lives/feed/ 0
Pentimento Announce Fall Tour With Better Off, A Will Away http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/08/31/pentimento-announce-fall-tour-with-better-off-a-will-away/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/08/31/pentimento-announce-fall-tour-with-better-off-a-will-away/#comments Mon, 31 Aug 2015 17:15:03 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1155050 Recent Bad Timing Records signees Pentimento have announced a powerful fall tour lineup featuring support from Tennessee’s Better Off and Connecticut’s A Will Away. The tour kicks off in Pittsburgh on October 14 and runs through November 6, concluding in Toronto. Check out a flyer with dates below.

Pentimento will use the tour to support their just-announced LP, I, No Longer. The record is slated for release on October 23. Better Off is gearing up to release their fantastic new LP Milk, and A Will Away released Bliss earlier this year. This tour lineup showcases a diverse …

]]>
Recent Bad Timing Records signees Pentimento have announced a powerful fall tour lineup featuring support from Tennessee’s Better Off and Connecticut’s A Will Away. The tour kicks off in Pittsburgh on October 14 and runs through November 6, concluding in Toronto. Check out a flyer with dates below.

Pentimento will use the tour to support their just-announced LP, I, No Longer. The record is slated for release on October 23. Better Off is gearing up to release their fantastic new LP Milk, and A Will Away released Bliss earlier this year. This tour lineup showcases a diverse group of underground rock bands, and shouldn’t be missed. Take a look at the dates below, and make sure to head out to your local gig.

11891879_972854266107667_5309658141651734143_o

I, No Longer artwork and tracklisting:

Pentimento - I no Longer

  1. Small Talk For Strangers
  2. My Solution Is In The Lake
  3. Sink Or Swim
  4. Clever Reason
  5. Stuck Forever
  6. Got My Answer
  7. Again
  8. Gateway
  9. Tiger Eye
  10. Slow But Sure
  11. No Matter What
  12. Tell Me
]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/08/31/pentimento-announce-fall-tour-with-better-off-a-will-away/feed/ 0
Taylor Swift Debuts “Wildest Dreams” Music Video http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/08/31/taylor-swift-debuts-wildest-dreams-music-video/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/08/31/taylor-swift-debuts-wildest-dreams-music-video/#comments Mon, 31 Aug 2015 16:56:17 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1155052 Taylor Swift has once again joined forces with “Bad Blood” director Joseph Kahn to unleash a vivid new set of visuals for her latest 1989 single, “Wildest Dreams.”

The clip, which premiered yesterday during MTV’s VMA pre-show, finds the 25-year-old pop goddess falling in love in faraway places, and additionally stars Clint Eastwood’s son, Scott. Check it out below, and let us know what you think in the comments section.

If you’d like to catch Ms. Swift live, you’re in luck, as she’s about to kick off the next leg of her monstrous 1989 World Tour. For more …

]]>
Taylor Swift has once again joined forces with “Bad Blood” director Joseph Kahn to unleash a vivid new set of visuals for her latest 1989 single, “Wildest Dreams.”

The clip, which premiered yesterday during MTV’s VMA pre-show, finds the 25-year-old pop goddess falling in love in faraway places, and additionally stars Clint Eastwood’s son, Scott. Check it out below, and let us know what you think in the comments section.

If you’d like to catch Ms. Swift live, you’re in luck, as she’s about to kick off the next leg of her monstrous 1989 World Tour. For more details, head here.

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/08/31/taylor-swift-debuts-wildest-dreams-music-video/feed/ 0
REST IN PEACE: Wes Craven (1939-2015) http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/08/31/rest-in-peace-wes-craven-1939-2015/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/08/31/rest-in-peace-wes-craven-1939-2015/#comments Mon, 31 Aug 2015 15:49:35 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1155038 According to a number of reputable sources, iconic horror director Wes Craven died Sunday evening following an ongoing battle with brain cancer. He was 76 years old.

Born August 2, 1939, in Cleveland, Ohio, Craven began his professional career in academia before taking a job as a sound editor for a post-production company based in New York. This change of scenery eventually attributed to his first credited feature, The Last House On The Left, which he wrote, directed, and edited in 1972. While this initial shocker was followed by a string of other notable titles (The People

]]>
According to a number of reputable sources, iconic horror director Wes Craven died Sunday evening following an ongoing battle with brain cancer. He was 76 years old.

Born August 2, 1939, in Cleveland, Ohio, Craven began his professional career in academia before taking a job as a sound editor for a post-production company based in New York. This change of scenery eventually attributed to his first credited feature, The Last House On The Left, which he wrote, directed, and edited in 1972. While this initial shocker was followed by a string of other notable titles (The People Under The Stairs, Swamp Thing), it was not until 1984’s A Nightmare On Elm Street that the horror maestro’s taste for the terrifying began to garner global recognition.

Craven was still developing projects up until his death, including collaborations with SyFy Networks, UCP, and Federation Entertainment, and  a five-issue comic series written with Steve Niles.

“I am heartbroken at the news of Wes Craven’s passing,” said Bob Weinstein, co-chairman of Dimension Films and the Weinstein Company. “We enjoyed a 20-year professional relationship and more importantly a warm and close friendship. He was a consummate filmmaker and his body of work will live on forever.”

If you frequent UTG regularly, then you are likely well aware of our love for the horror genre, which makes this particular passing one that is especially hard to stomach. Craven was years ahead of his time in many different regards, and his wonderfully macabre mind will be missed dearly.

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/08/31/rest-in-peace-wes-craven-1939-2015/feed/ 0
REVIEW: Carly Rae Jepsen – ‘E•MO•TION’ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/08/31/review-carly-rae-jepsen-e%e2%80%a2mo%e2%80%a2tion/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/08/31/review-carly-rae-jepsen-e%e2%80%a2mo%e2%80%a2tion/#comments Mon, 31 Aug 2015 14:30:30 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1155007 Artist: Carly Rae Jepsen
Album: E•MO•TION
Genre: Pop

We live in a very saturated world. One filled with the over-commercialization of art, trends, clothing, technology, everything. When something takes off, it soars to a point far beyond want, desire, or demand, but, within this generalization of “needing” too much, there is a romanticism buried beneath the “stuff” imposed on us, living within simplistic, exaggerated, fun.

I speak of this with direct correlation to Carly Rae Jepsen‘s third album, and total banger, E•MO•TION. Pop usually isn’t my cup of tea, and I am surely put off by the half-assed, …

]]>
Artist: Carly Rae Jepsen
Album: E•MO•TION
Genre: Pop

We live in a very saturated world. One filled with the over-commercialization of art, trends, clothing, technology, everything. When something takes off, it soars to a point far beyond want, desire, or demand, but, within this generalization of “needing” too much, there is a romanticism buried beneath the “stuff” imposed on us, living within simplistic, exaggerated, fun.

I speak of this with direct correlation to Carly Rae Jepsen‘s third album, and total banger, E•MO•TION. Pop usually isn’t my cup of tea, and I am surely put off by the half-assed, overproduced, filler of songs that I hear on the radio, but as mentioned before, there is romance to be found in full-assed, overproduced pure fun drowned in pop.

With E•MO•TION Jepsen drops much of the gimmicky sound of her earlier work and returns with a collected piece that is stylistically and musically coherent, one which presents an actual full-fledged album stacked with pop songs that release to the listener with care and devotion. Layered with textures of sounds that illuminate the tracks with bright synths and Jepsen’s infectious melodies, E•MO•TION is an album stacked with pure, exaggerated hopeless love dripping with pop sensibilities.

Beginning with the reinventing “Run Away With Me,” E•MO•TION starts off fresh, running away from what Jepsen left behind in her earlier output. To truly enjoy E•MO•TION one must, as said before, find the romanticism buried beneath, to find that enjoyment out of something over-saturated, but done with care, and a full grasp of what is setting itself out to be. E•MO•TION is a pure pop record. Synths run all over the opening chorus of the album, covered with cheesy lyricism and melodies that will be stuck in your head for days after listening; this massive, produced-to-oblivion pop ride is all about letting go to have fun.

Aside from finding the love of letting go–and enjoying for the sake of enjoying–something E•MO•TION really strives at is presenting a consistency in quality throughout the entire piece. Following “Run Away With Me,” the title track “E•MO•TION” steps in, hitting just as hard as before, with Jepsen constantly firing back against walls of sound with soaring melodies that bounce back and forth through the track.

“I Really Like You” may be the most gimmicky of the work, but it’s still, just as before, pure fun. “Gimmie Love” and “All That” slow things down a bit, with “All That” beginning not unlike sounds heard on The Cure’s Disintegration (really).

Following possible hit after hit, with highlights including “Making The Most Of The Night” and “L.A. Hallucinations”–though “L.A Hallucinations” yields some of the cringe-iest lyrics (“Planes I’m hopping / Cards I’m dropping / No shop can fill me up / There’s a little black hole in my golden cup so / You pour and I’ll say stop”)–E•MO•TION still shatters expectations with consistency and style.

Closing with personal favorite “When I Needed You,” though Jepsen’s lyrics continue with juvenile fashion, the sonic palate created remains strong, ending with one of the funnest (if there even is just one) choruses of the record. Featuring As Tall As Lions‘ former singer Dan Nigro on production and writing, E•MO•TION ends in a weird full circle type of way for indie rock fans.

While the lyricism leaves a little to be desired, Jepsen and company have created a powerhouse of a pop record that reminds listeners of the lust found when something is done with care, even that something can be denoted as a part of an overcrowded room. Jepsen stands feet taller than all those in said room, for her care and consistency shine through on E•MO•TION. With a designed style and execution, E•MO•TION is not just one of the year’s best pop records, it can easily stand as one of the year’s best in any genre thus far. Now, lose whatever pride you think you have, blast this record, and have some fucking fun.

SCORE: 8.5/10

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/08/31/review-carly-rae-jepsen-e%e2%80%a2mo%e2%80%a2tion/feed/ 1
Listen To Miley Cyrus’ Strange New Album, ‘Miley Cyrus & Her Dead Petz’ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/08/31/listen-to-miley-cyrus-strange-new-album-miley-cyrus-her-dead-petz/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/08/31/listen-to-miley-cyrus-strange-new-album-miley-cyrus-her-dead-petz/#comments Mon, 31 Aug 2015 14:24:45 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1155031 Unless you made an excellent decision by entirely avoiding the internet during last night’s MTV Video Music Awards, you probably already know that Miley Cyrus hosted the train-wreck affair. You also probably know that she took every opportunity to remind the crowd that she’s a hip youngster who partakes in smoking the pot, and she closed out the night by performing a new song called “Dooo It!” with The Flaming Lips’ Wayne Coyne. As the credits rolled, Miley announced that her new record titled Miley Cyrus & Her Dead Petz is already available as a free download, as previously speculated

]]>
Unless you made an excellent decision by entirely avoiding the internet during last night’s MTV Video Music Awards, you probably already know that Miley Cyrus hosted the train-wreck affair. You also probably know that she took every opportunity to remind the crowd that she’s a hip youngster who partakes in smoking the pot, and she closed out the night by performing a new song called “Dooo It!” with The Flaming Lips’ Wayne Coyne. As the credits rolled, Miley announced that her new record titled Miley Cyrus & Her Dead Petz is already available as a free download, as previously speculated.

I stayed up for a few hours after the show to make some attempt to listen to this album, because we here at UTG have a history with Miley and her dead pets. I’m proud to announce that I have listened through all of Miley Cyrus & Her Dead Petz, and I’m left with more questions than answers.

Questions I asked myself while listening to this record included:

  • “How many label executives in suits had to listen to this album before it was released?”
  • “Why does Wayne from The Flaming Lips have a writing credit on nearly every song?”
  • “Oh god, this album is 23 tracks long. Why is this album 23 tracks long?”
  • “I wonder if Miley Cyrus smokes weed. This is unclear to me.”

Listen to Miley Cyrus & Her Dead Petz below, or log off of the internet and do something productive.

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/08/31/listen-to-miley-cyrus-strange-new-album-miley-cyrus-her-dead-petz/feed/ 0
MOVIE REVIEW: ‘Mistress America’ Is Not To Be Missed http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/08/31/movie-review-mistress-america/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/08/31/movie-review-mistress-america/#comments Mon, 31 Aug 2015 14:00:48 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1155018 Film: Mistress America
Starring: Greta Gerwig, Lola Kirke
Directed By: Noah Baumbach

Noah Baumbach and Greta Gerwig have outdone themselves yet again.

Mistress America is the pinnacle of Baumbach’s career up to this point, and it’s only suiting that time come in a work created with, not to mention starring, his equally talented spouse. It’s funny and heartfelt, with just enough dramatic weight to keep things grounded while the level of absurdity rises to heights the still young-filmmaker has never before explored, and it all relies on a career-best performance from the ever-infallible Gerwig.

Tracy (Lola Kirke) is a college …

]]>
Film: Mistress America
Starring: Greta Gerwig, Lola Kirke
Directed By: Noah Baumbach

Noah Baumbach and Greta Gerwig have outdone themselves yet again.

Mistress America is the pinnacle of Baumbach’s career up to this point, and it’s only suiting that time come in a work created with, not to mention starring, his equally talented spouse. It’s funny and heartfelt, with just enough dramatic weight to keep things grounded while the level of absurdity rises to heights the still young-filmmaker has never before explored, and it all relies on a career-best performance from the ever-infallible Gerwig.

Tracy (Lola Kirke) is a college freshman living in New York City who can’t seem to find her place in the world of higher education. She longs to be a writer, but lacks the confidence needed to make her words spring to life. She is also struggling to deal with her mother who, following years stuck in a loveless marriage for the sake of Tracy and her brother, is finally moving on with a new man she feels might actually be the one. In fact, her mother is planning to get married in the fall, and she suggests that Tracy seek out her new fiance’s daughter as a way of both getting to know her soon to be extended family, as well as the city around her.

Brooke, the daughter Tracy is asked to contact, is a newly-30, single woman living in an apartment zoned for commercial properties in the heart of Times Square. She lives the life we tell ourselves the models for Urban Outfitters or American Apparel must live, with nights of care-free partying and days of stress-free existence. Her dreams are her only real concerns, and though she has yet to act on any of them she wholeheartedly believes that one day they will flourish into the one-of-a-kind reality she has always known was meant for her. She’s the cool girl too cool to recognize just how envious the room is of her apparent lightheartedness, and she welcomes Tracy into her life with open arms.

When they first meet, it seems as if Tracy and Brooke were almost meant for one another. Tracy has an endless array of curiosities about a life outside the constant worry of whether or not one is good enough, and Brooke appears to have an endless amount of knowledge and experience to share. Together these two young women explore their concerns about life, the struggle to match the high expectations of one’s own ambitions, and the constant need to remind yourself that you are not the sum of everyone else’s views, but rather your own. They want different things out of life, but at the same time neither one is entirely sure they are on the right path. They’re searching for something, and for a while you get the idea they believe one another might have the answer.

Mistress America plays with Baumbach’s signature flare for conversation and his innate ability to focus on the small idiosyncrasies that make his characters feel so real, but it comes together in a way far more fulfilling than many of his recent works, and it seems that is owed entirely to what Kirke and Gerwig bring to their roles. The connection between them is real, even when tensions begin to rise, and thanks to Baumbach’s intimate style of direction you feel as if you’re a part of their adventure as well. A car ride from New York to Greenwich, with four people already seated, places you in the middle of it all as the passengers ask one another why they are traveling in the first place. Everyone wants something for themselves, be it peace of mind, money, or a real relationship with another person, and all you want is a little more time with each of them. The bonds they share are real, and you want to belong.

Nothing good ever lasts forever in the world of Baumbach, and before long our leads begin to realize there is lot more to one another than they ever realized. Tracy, despite what she tells herself, cannot help seeing the world through a lens that is decidedly negative for a myriad of reasons largely related to herself. Brooke, on the other hand, is hopeful to a fault as she cannot see her own shortcomings. She is never at fault, but rather the victim of a cruel life that finds her always being overlooked, taken advantage of, used, neglected, or in other words, let down by everyone she has chosen to love, so she has quietly decided to never love again. As she off-handedly comments while dancing in a club on the night she first meets Tracy, “Everyone I love dies.”

There is a lot more to the universe of Mistress America, including a cast of supporting actors delivering hilarious and well balanced performances that are ever-so-slightly surreal in their portrayal of seemingly regular people. The quirks are numerous, from over-zealous lover to wise, pregnant woman, and they decorate an already vivid cinematic landscape with memorable turns that you will be laughing about for days to come. It’s the kind of world you want to live in, even when things are awkward.

Mistress America is the high point of a creative collaboration between Baumbach and Gerwig that is only the latest in careers littered with collaborative highlights. This pair is on a hot streak together, and this is their best work yet. I want nothing more than to live in a world where simple, yet zany little films like this are the main source of entertainment. It’s charming in all the right ways, and it leaves you with a sense of fulfillment that is often sought, but rarely found at the cinema today.

GRADE: A

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/08/31/movie-review-mistress-america/feed/ 0
‘Concussion’ Trailer: Will Smith Battles The NFL http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/08/31/concussion-movie-trailer-nfl-will-smith/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/08/31/concussion-movie-trailer-nfl-will-smith/#comments Mon, 31 Aug 2015 13:56:19 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1155032 Will Smith doesn’t have the best track record with films that put an emphasis on drama over action, especially when looking at his last decade of work. Focus arrived half-baked, Seven Pounds failed to win over audiences, but The Pursuit Of Happyness did manage to find a way into our hearts. Concussion, Smith’s latest foray into the world of pure drama, looks like it could offer the longtime screen vet a second chance at glory.

Concussion is a film about the one thing the NFL does not want to discuss. Smith plays Dr. Bennet Omalu, a forensic neuropathologist who …

]]>
Will Smith doesn’t have the best track record with films that put an emphasis on drama over action, especially when looking at his last decade of work. Focus arrived half-baked, Seven Pounds failed to win over audiences, but The Pursuit Of Happyness did manage to find a way into our hearts. Concussion, Smith’s latest foray into the world of pure drama, looks like it could offer the longtime screen vet a second chance at glory.

Concussion is a film about the one thing the NFL does not want to discuss. Smith plays Dr. Bennet Omalu, a forensic neuropathologist who discovers the first case of CTE (chronic traumatic encephalopathy) in a pro football player. He tries to alert the public to his findings, but the NFL denies his conclusions and stymies his efforts at every turn. You can view the film’s first trailer below.

You don’t have to be a fan of sports to know about CTE and the recent surge in attention it has received over the last few years. Anyone who has repeatedly experienced trauma can fall victim to this horrific degenerative disease, but football players who allow themselves to take multiple shots to the skull over numerous games spread across several years of play run a higher risk than most. It’s a very serious issue that very few in power have made an effort to bring to the nation’s attention, but maybe Concussion will be the wake up call our culture needs.

Based on the 2009 GQ article “Game Brain” by Jeanne Marie Laskas, Concussion arrives in theaters December 25. Alec Baldwin, Luke Wilson, Gugu Mbatha-Raw, and Albert Brooks also star. Ridley Scott produced.

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/08/31/concussion-movie-trailer-nfl-will-smith/feed/ 0
‘The Iron Giant’ Is Returning To Theaters, Sequel Possible http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/08/30/the-iron-giant-signature-trailer-sequel/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/08/30/the-iron-giant-signature-trailer-sequel/#comments Sun, 30 Aug 2015 19:35:49 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1155015 If there was an animated film that never received the respect or universal adoration it deserved, Brad Bird’s The Iron Giant would be it. Released in 1999, the film received critical love, but failed to bring in the kind of major box office receipts expected of top tier family films. It was still a success though, and now after nearly two decades of underground fanfare the film is getting an incredibly rare second chance at life.

Warner Bros. recently revealed plans for a brief new theatrical release for a version of the beloved film dubbed The Iron Giant: Signature Edition

]]>
If there was an animated film that never received the respect or universal adoration it deserved, Brad Bird’s The Iron Giant would be it. Released in 1999, the film received critical love, but failed to bring in the kind of major box office receipts expected of top tier family films. It was still a success though, and now after nearly two decades of underground fanfare the film is getting an incredibly rare second chance at life.

Warner Bros. recently revealed plans for a brief new theatrical release for a version of the beloved film dubbed The Iron Giant: Signature Edition, which will arrive complete with a bit of new footage. There’s also a new Iron Giant trailer to advertise the September release, which you can watch below.

The new footage is said to be two sequences that have never before been seen by the public. Details on the scenes are scarce, but they likely won’t have any impact on the main narrative.

The film will play in theaters across the country on Wednesday, September 30 at 7 PM, with an encore presentation on Sunday, October 4 at 12 PM. (It is also playing at the Toronto International Film Festival.) Ticket info is online at Fathom Events’ official website. The event will be presented in select movie theaters around the country through Fathom’s Digital Broadcast Network.

An Ultra HD digital release is also being planned for the fall. No Blu-ray of the film exists yet, so there is hope one of those will follow as well.

In a bit of follow-up news, another story involving The Iron Giant broke this week thanks to the voice of the giant, Vin Diesel. While promoting the new trailer on Facebook, the actor commented “P.S. Don’t be surprised when you hear WB announce the sequel.”

There have never been rumors of an Iron Giant sequel prior to this time, but maybe Warner Bros. sees this fall reissue as the chance to see whether or not people still care. I know we at UTG do, but I’m not sure I want a sequel. Do you? Comment below and let us know your thoughts.

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/08/30/the-iron-giant-signature-trailer-sequel/feed/ 1
‘Pay The Ghost’ Trailer: Nicolas Cage + Horror = Must See http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/08/30/pay-the-ghost-trailer-nic-cage/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/08/30/pay-the-ghost-trailer-nic-cage/#comments Sun, 30 Aug 2015 19:10:38 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1155011 After years of genre line with numerous direct-to-DVD/VOD titles, Nicolas Cage is finally stepping into the world of horror with the first trailer for Pay The Ghost.

I’m not going to lie to you. Some of what you’re about to see will feel a bit familiar. Pay The Ghost is essentially a play on the same idea that makes films like Insidious or Poltergeist terrify the living shit out of us, and that is the notion that spirits can and will steal innocent souls to fulfill some ancient prophecy we in 2015 have no idea even exists. In this …

]]>
After years of genre line with numerous direct-to-DVD/VOD titles, Nicolas Cage is finally stepping into the world of horror with the first trailer for Pay The Ghost.

I’m not going to lie to you. Some of what you’re about to see will feel a bit familiar. Pay The Ghost is essentially a play on the same idea that makes films like Insidious or Poltergeist terrify the living shit out of us, and that is the notion that spirits can and will steal innocent souls to fulfill some ancient prophecy we in 2015 have no idea even exists. In this case it’s an angry witch who, on the eve of every Halloween, steals a group of children and takes them to what I can best describe as the ‘ghost dimension.’ Cage plays the father of a child that is taken, and he will stop at nothing to find his beloved offspring. You can view the trailer below.

The official synopsis for Pay The Ghost reads:

“One year after his young son disappeared during a Halloween carnival, Mike Cole (Nicolas Cage) is haunted by eerie images and terrifying messages he can’t explain. Together with his estranged wife (Sarah Wayne Callies), he will stop at nothing to unravel the mystery and find their son—and, in doing so, he unearths a legend that refuses to remain buried in the past.“

We actually had a chance to screen Pay The Ghost earlier this month, and without giving away our entire review we will say it’s one of the better Cage films in recent years. The effects could use a little work, but the story works, and Cage delivers yet another stellar performance.

Pay The Ghost hits VOD and theaters on September 25. Look for our review to surface a few days prior.

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/08/30/pay-the-ghost-trailer-nic-cage/feed/ 1
Baroness Announce New Album, ‘Purple’ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/08/28/baroness-announce-new-album-purple/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/08/28/baroness-announce-new-album-purple/#comments Fri, 28 Aug 2015 17:45:27 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1154998 Savannah, Georgia’s Baroness have unveiled plans to release a new full-length album, Purple, on December 18 through their own label, Abraxan Hymns. The Yellow & Green follow-up will feature ten brand new tracks, all of which were produced by Dave Fridmann (Sleater-Kinney, Tame Impala). Additionally, this will also be the outfit’s first release to feature Nick Jost on bass and Sebastian Thomson on drums. Comment below and let us know if you’re excited.

“After releasing a lengthy and investigative record like Yellow & Green, we all felt that we needed to make something much more direct and …

]]>
Savannah, Georgia’s Baroness have unveiled plans to release a new full-length album, Purple, on December 18 through their own label, Abraxan Hymns. The Yellow & Green follow-up will feature ten brand new tracks, all of which were produced by Dave Fridmann (Sleater-Kinney, Tame Impala). Additionally, this will also be the outfit’s first release to feature Nick Jost on bass and Sebastian Thomson on drums. Comment below and let us know if you’re excited.

“After releasing a lengthy and investigative record like Yellow & Green, we all felt that we needed to make something much more direct and immediate,” explained vocalist John Baizley. “As a result, the music came out in an intense, heavy, and sonically captivating in a new way, which is important, loathe, as we are to fall into any kind of complacency pitfall or formulaic songwriting routine.”

Pre-order Purple here, and stream the record’s lead single, “Chlorine & Wine,” below.

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/08/28/baroness-announce-new-album-purple/feed/ 1
Hawthorne Heights Embrace Nostalgia on New Single, “The Darkest Times” http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/08/28/hawthorne-heights-embrace-nostalgia-on-new-single-the-darkest-times/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/08/28/hawthorne-heights-embrace-nostalgia-on-new-single-the-darkest-times/#comments Fri, 28 Aug 2015 16:37:11 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1154990 Ohio screamo veterans Hawthorne Heights have released the first single off their impending EP, Hurt, which is set to arrive on September 18.

I’ll be the first to admit that I haven’t kept up with HH since I was an angsty teen, but nonetheless, I can say with a good deal of confidence that the band’s latest, “The Darkest Times,” is a lot of fun. Catchy, caustic, and concise, it will surely garner fond memories of outfit’s adored debut, The Silence In Black And White, and no doubt leave longtime fans excited for the future. Give it a …

]]>
Ohio screamo veterans Hawthorne Heights have released the first single off their impending EP, Hurt, which is set to arrive on September 18.

I’ll be the first to admit that I haven’t kept up with HH since I was an angsty teen, but nonetheless, I can say with a good deal of confidence that the band’s latest, “The Darkest Times,” is a lot of fun. Catchy, caustic, and concise, it will surely garner fond memories of outfit’s adored debut, The Silence In Black And White, and no doubt leave longtime fans excited for the future. Give it a listen after the break, and let us know what you think in the replies.

Pre-orders for Hurt are ongoing.

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/08/28/hawthorne-heights-embrace-nostalgia-on-new-single-the-darkest-times/feed/ 1
UTG @ MIXTAPE FEST: Microwave Discuss Writing Process Behind ‘Stovall,’ Hint At New Material http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/08/28/utg-mixtape-fest-microwave-discuss-writing-process-behind-stovall-hint-at-new-material/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/08/28/utg-mixtape-fest-microwave-discuss-writing-process-behind-stovall-hint-at-new-material/#comments Fri, 28 Aug 2015 15:30:16 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1154970 Alternative rock outfit Microwave recently wrapped up a quick run with You Blew It! and Sorority Noise. The band played three consecutive shows in New York, one of which was a stop at Long Island’s Mixtape Festival, where they played alongside bands like Incendiary, Crime In Stereo, The Movielife, and more.

Under The Gun had the pleasure of catching up with the Georgia, Atlanta four-piece after they played a killer set during Mixtape Fest. The band discussed the recording process behind their well-recieved debut full-length album, Stovall. They also talked about their recent signing to …

]]>
Alternative rock outfit Microwave recently wrapped up a quick run with You Blew It! and Sorority Noise. The band played three consecutive shows in New York, one of which was a stop at Long Island’s Mixtape Festival, where they played alongside bands like Incendiary, Crime In Stereo, The Movielife, and more.

Under The Gun had the pleasure of catching up with the Georgia, Atlanta four-piece after they played a killer set during Mixtape Fest. The band discussed the recording process behind their well-recieved debut full-length album, Stovall. They also talked about their recent signing to SideOneDummy and their plans for the near future. Check out the full interview below.

Nathan Hardy (vocals/guitar): This is a cool little room. They went all out with the comfy couches.

Tyler Hill (bass/band Mom/packs lunch for everyone): Apparently this is where they do hip-hop shows.

NH: …this room?

Wesley Swanson (guitar/backup vocals): [laughs] No, the venue.

NH: Oh. [laughs] Yeah, there’s not a huge hip-hop scene in this room.

Under The Gun: DMX was actually supposed to play here a couple weeks ago but he got sent to prison.

TH: He would. That silly knucklehead.

Tito Pittard (percussion): There’s this really hilarious video of him screaming during a slingshot amusement park ride. He was cussing and yelling the whole time. It’s great.

UTG (to Tito): You’re the guy who’s always popping up and being quoted on Twitter.

TP: Yeah, apparently!

NH: Titto’s a high-profile guy. The face of the band, for sure.

WS: He’s actually on one of our shirts.

TH: When one of our Audiotree sessions got posted, the comments were like, “Walter White on the drums!” So we made a Breaking Bad shirt with his face on it.

UTG: How was your first NYC show?

TH: It was awesome! That was our first ever New York show. Pretty insane.

NH: It sold out. It was really hot and sweaty, but it was great.

WS: That was probably the rowdiest crowd of the tour, too.

UTG: I want to go into a little bit of the band’s history. How were you guys formed and when did you decide that this band was something you wanted to do?

NH: We formed in late 2012, around the mutual love for Tito.

UTG: You guys are fairly new. I’m not sure how often you’ve already gotten this, but where did “Microwave” come from?

TH: Out of the blue, really. We used to practice at this storage area and our name at that time was “Blue Shake” but they didn’t really like that. So we started throwing around names and someone at a party threw out the “Microwave.” We were like, “fuck it.”

UTG: I was telling one of my friends that I was listening to a band called Microwave and she goes, “That’s so Brooklyn.”

NH: Is it? How come?

UTG: I guess people find that it’s a really hipster name.

TP: Is it?! Is it cool? [laughs] We always get shit for it!

WS: We get so much shit for it. But that’s cool that it’s cool.

UTG: Also searching it up on Google is a bit hard.

TH: Exactly. It’s hard because you type it up and all this scientific shit pops up. It was always a placeholder until I could find something better, but it kind of clicked.

UTG: You guys mentioned Blue Shake earlier, but did you have other musical endeavors prior to this band?

TP: Me and Wesley were in a band called Iron Wolves. It was sort of death metal… That didn’t go well. [laughs]

WS: Tyler used to be in this band called We Are Only Fiction.

TP: What was your band called, Nathan?

NH: I don’t wanna talk about it.

Everyone: [laughs]

NH: Tito was also in Have You Seen My Ghost. They were huge on MySpace.

UTG: You’re all from Georgia, correct?

NH: Yup. All of us are from North Georgia, I’d say.

UTG: What is the music scene like down there?

TH: Atlanta has so many awesome bands. Some are really active and some are just nonchalantly doing their thing. There is definitely no shortage of sick bands. We’re fortunate enough to be friends with a lot of them.

WS: Everybody thinks it’s mostly hip-hop over there, but there are a bunch in our scene. It’s really diverse and there’s always a lot going on.

UTG: [Nathan] actually talked about this at the Brooklyn show last night, and I was going to bring it up today: In terms of Stovall, which is a great record, by the way, you mentioned that the a lot of the lyrical context was about your childhood.

NH: Yup, it was.

UTG: Specifically, “Mansions In The Sky” was really interesting. Was that the younger version of you speaking their mind?

NH: Yeah. It was actually supposed to be very sarcastic. When I was younger, I was very involved in a bunch of stuff. Had to go to church every morning before school, stuff like that.

UTG: Do you do majority of the songwriting?

NH: As far as the lyrical and vocal stuff goes, I write as a guy with an acoustic guitar, but we sort of tailor it together for the full band.

TP: He creates the skeleton and we flesh it out together.

UTG: When you guys were starting out, did you know that [Stovall] was what you wanted Microwave to sound like?

WS: Nope. We all have really different influences. The fact that everyone has a say in what’s going on affects the sound.

NH: It’s definitely evolved so much since we started writing.

TP: Everyone is kind of feeding off of each other’s creativity, which is nice.

UTG: When you guys were writing, was there a particular song you wrote one way that turned out a lot differently than you intended?

WS: I would say “Trash Stains” turned out infinitely better than I thought. We had that particular riff for a while. We had the basic structure, but the final version came together unexpectedly.

NH: It was really last-minute.

WS: Yeah, we had everything set, but we needed one more song. It ended up being one of our favorites on the album.

TP: Yeah, Nathan works really well under pressure.

UTG: Did you have a sense that the first track, “Stovall,” was gonna be the “crowd favorite”?

NH: Not really. We have a wide range of what people tell us they like most. A lot of it is upbeat and pop-punk. We didn’t know who was going to latch on to which.

TH: We didn’t think anybody was gonna like “Something Right.” So many people liked it and we didn’t even think we were ever gonna play it live.

UTG: Is there a particular song you thought was gonna set you apart from everyone? One that you could point to and consider really special?

TH: I think we can all agree on “Work It Out.” People like that song. Also, I do have a memory of when we were putting everything together. My brother mixed the record and I used to live with him. I came home one night and he was working on mixes really late. He was working on “Trash Stains” and I walk in, he was fucking jamming out, like “this song rules!” It was really exciting.

UTG: You guys recently signed to SideOneDummy. Congratulations! What can we expect from that? Is there any new material soon?

TP: Yes. But that’s about all we can say. Nothing’s really been announced yet.

NH: We’re also recording two songs for a split that hasn’t been announced yet, but it’ll be out this fall. We’re working on a full-length that we’re recording in the winter, so it’ll probably be out next summer. It’ll be our first major release with S1D.

WS: Also, just a little plug, we’re going out with Have Mercy and Somos in October. It’s gonna be awesome.

UTG: Are you looking to change anything when you put out the new record? Either in terms of your sound, or the writing process, or other stuff?

TP: A lot of breakdowns. [laughs]

NH: I’ve always wanted to do each record slightly differently. One of my favorite bands is As Cities Burn, and I always loved how they have a really heavy screamo record, and then they have one that’s a blend of indie and then alternative. Like Radiohead and Mew, too. Ours is more jazzy almost. A lot of lo-fi, jazzy elements.

WS: It’s obviously going to change a bunch overtime. As of now, though, it’s not gonna be as fast and as upbeat, but there are songs that are. We’re not straying too far away, but it’ll be a variety.

UTG: Lastly, individually, if you guys could have anyone listen to Stovall, who would it be?

TH: When I was a kid, I was really into Elvis Presley. I used to dance around my dresser with a fake microphone. I think I’d like to show him.

WS: I’d wanna show it to Obama. I imagine him being like, [imitating Obama’s voice] “Yup, that’s pretty good.”

UTG: It’ll be like that meme, except Obama would actually be holding your record.

Obama Microwave meme2

TP: For me, I think I’d say Kevin Bacon.

NH: It’d be pretty cool to bring Kurt Cobain back from the dead and ask him if he thought we were posers.

You can catch Microwave on tour this fall. Dates for those can be found here.

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/08/28/utg-mixtape-fest-microwave-discuss-writing-process-behind-stovall-hint-at-new-material/feed/ 1
Macklemore & Ryan Lewis Drop “Downtown” http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/08/28/macklemore-ryan-lewis-drop-downtown/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/08/28/macklemore-ryan-lewis-drop-downtown/#comments Fri, 28 Aug 2015 15:25:57 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1154980 Macklemore & Ryan Lewis have reunited to grace the masses with an outstanding new single destined for radio greatness.

Titled “Downtown,” the eclectic, sample-heavy track found its way online yesterday along with some outrageously wonderful visuals that pit the Seattle hip-hop duo against none other than Eric Nally of Foxy Shazam. There are over-the-top West Side Story dance battles, majestic slow-motion chariot montages, and an excess of random wackiness that you’re better off experiencing for yourself. Check it out below.

When I first spun this track this morning, it didn’t do a lot for me, but the more I …

]]>
Macklemore & Ryan Lewis have reunited to grace the masses with an outstanding new single destined for radio greatness.

Titled “Downtown,” the eclectic, sample-heavy track found its way online yesterday along with some outrageously wonderful visuals that pit the Seattle hip-hop duo against none other than Eric Nally of Foxy Shazam. There are over-the-top West Side Story dance battles, majestic slow-motion chariot montages, and an excess of random wackiness that you’re better off experiencing for yourself. Check it out below.

When I first spun this track this morning, it didn’t do a lot for me, but the more I watch this video, the more I’m convinced that this is probably one of the best things to happen in music this week. Get in on the action now, because it won’t be long before “Downtown” is inescapable.

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/08/28/macklemore-ryan-lewis-drop-downtown/feed/ 1
UTG PHOTOS: Pop Evil CD Release Show in Grand Rapids, MI (8/21/15) http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/08/28/utg-photos-pop-evil-cd-release-show-in-grand-rapids-mi-82115/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/08/28/utg-photos-pop-evil-cd-release-show-in-grand-rapids-mi-82115/#comments Fri, 28 Aug 2015 15:00:09 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1154681 ­­On August 21, in one of the wildest release shows in Grand Rapids history, superstars Pop Evil returned to The Intersection with an entourage of media coverage to support the release of their new album Up, available now through eOne Music.

Mayor George Hartwell declared it ‘Pop Evil Day’ for the city and a handful of lucky WGRD winners were selected for a secret acoustic set and autograph session at The Stache prior to the live performance.

There’s always a tangible energy in the air when a band like Pop Evil returns to Michigan, but there was …

]]>
­­On August 21, in one of the wildest release shows in Grand Rapids history, superstars Pop Evil returned to The Intersection with an entourage of media coverage to support the release of their new album Up, available now through eOne Music.

Mayor George Hartwell declared it ‘Pop Evil Day’ for the city and a handful of lucky WGRD winners were selected for a secret acoustic set and autograph session at The Stache prior to the live performance.

There’s always a tangible energy in the air when a band like Pop Evil returns to Michigan, but there was something special about walking into this show. Unlike most I’ve attended at The Intersection, this took place outside in the parking lot on a professionally built and lit stage. There were local and national video crews running all over the place. Yahoo! Live was set to do a live broadcast of the whole performance. The sun was painfully bright and setting right behind the stage. It was a beautiful madness.

Torrid - 6

First up was Torrid, a local rock group with great energy and all the potential needed to get the crowd off their feet right away. The sun was glaring from behind the stage as we stretched into the hottest part of the day, but nobody seemed to care. It wasn’t anything some cold beer and good music couldn’t cure. They closed with a cover of “Killing in the Name” by Rage Against The Machine and headed over to the merch tables for some meet and greets.

Red Sun Rising - 12

Red Sun Rising took the stage next. Having caught them at the sold-out Pop Evil show last December at The Intersection, I was excited to see them on them card as support once again. With a slew of material from their new album Polyester Zeal, they stormed the stage and set the bar high for the rest of the show. Finally, the sun was starting to set, people were loosening up, and all of the media crews were starting to get their footing.

Aranda - 9

By the time Aranda took the stage, everyone was thoroughly intoxicated and ready to party. Empty beer cans were starting to pile up everywhere and the crowd swarmed in hoping to lock down their spot for Pop Evil. Aranda kept the show moving with some new material from their album Not The Same which is available now through Windup Records. As we waved goodbye to the sun, the roar of the crowd intensified and the stage lights took over. Aranda walked off stage, the lights went dark, and then everything changed.

Pop Evil - 13

The crowd started to smash in, testing the barricades to the sound of the house music playing over the PA. Conversations of who knew who in Pop Evil from the old days began stirring in the crowd. This wasn’t just a band walking on stage, but an extension of the thousands of lives that they’ve impacted on their way to the top. These were the roots of one of the most powerful trees that Michigan has ever grown and now it was time to watch it bear fruit.

Pop Evil appeared on stage in an explosion of light, and the roar of the crowd was enough to chill me to the bone. Playing a heavy mix of new and old material, the band and crowd were competing for intensity. Women began to lose their minds. A photographer and security guard were both mauled and nearly pulled into the crowd during the first song. Men were torn between fists of beer, fists in the sky, or fists on fellow man. The show had taken the feel of a typical Michigan house party and turned it into a rave. The crowd spilled all the way out of the venue and into the streets. People could hear Pop Evil from all over Grand Rapids and were swarming to see what all the hype was about. The party lasted late into the night and well past the show. It was the craziest release show that I’ve ever attended, and I couldn’t think of a more deserving group of guys to enjoy it with.

TORRID

Torrid - 6 Torrid - 5 Torrid - 4 Torrid - 3 Torrid - 2 Torrid - 1


RED SUN RISING

Red Sun Rising - 9 Red Sun Rising - 8 Red Sun Rising - 7 Red Sun Rising - 6 Red Sun Rising - 5 Red Sun Rising - 4 Red Sun Rising - 3 Red Sun Rising - 2 Red Sun Rising - 12 Red Sun Rising - 11 Red Sun Rising - 10 Red Sun Rising - 1


ARANDA

Aranda - 9 Aranda - 7 Aranda - 8 Aranda - 6 Aranda - 5 Aranda - 4 Aranda - 3 Aranda - 2 Aranda - 1


POP EVIL

Pop Evil - 12 Pop Evil - 9 Pop Evil - 8 Pop Evil - 7 Pop Evil - 6 Pop Evil - 5 Pop Evil - 4 Pop Evil - 3 Pop Evil - 2 Pop Evil - 14 Pop Evil - 13 Pop Evil - 11 Pop Evil - 10 Pop Evil - 1

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/08/28/utg-photos-pop-evil-cd-release-show-in-grand-rapids-mi-82115/feed/ 1
UTG @ MIXTAPE FEST: Giants At Large Discuss Musical Influences, ‘The American Dream Is Dead’ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/08/28/utg-mixtape-fest-giants-at-large-discuss-musical-influences-the-american-dream-is-dead/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/08/28/utg-mixtape-fest-giants-at-large-discuss-musical-influences-the-american-dream-is-dead/#comments Fri, 28 Aug 2015 14:30:19 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1154843 One of the most charismatic bands out there today goes by the name of Giants At Large. The Long Island pop-punk four-piece radiates a lot of young passion, both on stage and off.

The band recently played the first day of Today’s Mixtape Festival in Patchogue, NY alongisde bands like Iron Chic, Kill Your Idols, The Movielife, and many more. Under the Gun had the pleasure of speaking with them about their new record, their plans for the rest of the year, Criss Angel, and several other hot topics. Check it out below.

Under The Gun:

]]>
One of the most charismatic bands out there today goes by the name of Giants At Large. The Long Island pop-punk four-piece radiates a lot of young passion, both on stage and off.

The band recently played the first day of Today’s Mixtape Festival in Patchogue, NY alongisde bands like Iron Chic, Kill Your Idols, The Movielife, and many more. Under the Gun had the pleasure of speaking with them about their new record, their plans for the rest of the year, Criss Angel, and several other hot topics. Check it out below.

Under The Gun: Hey, guys! It’s nice to meet you. Can you tell me your names and what you do for the band?

CJ Kostaras: I’m CJ. I play drums.

Andrew Bilder: I’m Bilder. I play bass.

Matt Lagatutta: I’m Matt. I do sing and play guitar. Our other guitar player is in Ireland. Our friend Dom is filling in today.

UTG: Awesome. So how long has the band been around?

CK: We’ve been around for about five years now.

ML: We have previous bands that we played in together, but we all started releasing music under Giants At Large in 2010.

UTG: How did you all get started? Did you grow up with musical backgrounds?

AB: We actually all took lessons at the same music school. Matt and I knew each other from when we were really young. CJ, too, actually. And Dom, our fill-in guitarist, who’s also on our latest record’s artwork.

CK: We all took lessons at the same time, but we weren’t aware that we were taking it with one another. I’m sure we probably sat next to each other at one point and didn’t say a word. Fun fact from where we all took lessons, actually: the owner of the place was the brother of Criss Angel.

UTG: That’s sick!

ML: Yeah! So Criss Angel would just hang out where we were and he’d be like, “Hey, guys! Wanna see a magic trick?” And I’m like, “Piss off, Criss Angel. I wanna get to my guitar lesson. Leave me alone.”

CK: We used to tell Criss Angel to leave us alone. It was hilarious. He’d walk up to us and be like, “Hey. Wanna see me levitate?” And I’ll be like, “Not really…. I just wanna get to my drum lesson and leave….” [laughs] And then he’ll freaking levitate in front of me! He was some weird, goth guy.

UTG: How did you come together as a band?

ML: CJ and I played in another band together. When that broke up, we decided we wanted to keep playing. We’ve had people go in and out over the past few years, but CJ and I have been around since the first day. We then brought Bilder along.

UTG: Tell me about your back catalog. How many EPs and full-lengths have you guys had so far?

ML: We have one EP, one split, and now two full-lengths.

UTG: What’s your newest full-length record called?

ML: It’s called The American Dream Is Dead and we put it out in March.

11870703_989539607776372_4916633569504236054_n

UTG: Tell me about the writing and recording process for that.

ML: We started writing in August of 2012 and we wrote until probably about September 2013. We started recording in October of 2013. We sat on it for a while, and then we just put it out this year.

UTG: What made you guys decide to put it out this year as opposed to last year?

ML: I guess we were just waiting for the right time. It took a while for the record to get back to us. Our producer’s father passed away, and a lot of other things happened that led to pushing it back a bit.

UTG: Who were some of the bands you guys looked up to when you were younger that could have made an impact on The American Dream Is Dead?

ML: I think everyone can agree that blink-182 is that band that got us listening to music. Over time, we got into other things. I personally got into Third Eye Blind and Jimmy Eat World. I think that shows a lot in this one.

AB: I’m going to say The Movielife. Not just because they’re playing tonight. I discovered them when I was younger and they’ve been one of my favorite bands ever since. They broke up and now they’re back together so I’m really excited. I got to see their reunion shows in New York City, and now I’m playing the same show as they are. It’s sick. I feel lucky.

CK: I can also say that we were all influenced by the original Tony Hawk soundtrack and American Pie 1, 2, and [American Wedding]. As I was growing up, I veered towards the metal scene–which has absolutely nothing to do with them–but I was very cool with going back to that type of music.

UTG: What have you guys been doing in support of the record?

ML: We did a couple East Coast tours in the Spring, and then a Midwest run earlier this Summer. Right now we’re all home. We’ve started writing again and we’re focusing on writing new songs.

UTG: Can we expect new material next year?

ML: Yeah, potentially!

CK: Maybe a few songs here and there eventually. Right now, we’re just focusing on writing as much as we can.

ML: I think we have the best version of the band right now. Everyone here can write songs, and this is the first time everyone’s really tugging and pulling and trying to get things out there. We’re coming up with some really great stuff and it’s making me excited.

CK: Also, I write really good Christmas songs. Just putting that out there. I’m a big fan of Christmas.

UTG: You guys should put out a Christmas EP! Have a twenty-track Christmas EP. Like twenty different versions of “Joy To The World.”

ML: Don’t give him ideas. [laughs]

CK: Oh, I am all about that.

UTG: So what would you say so far is your favorite thing about being in this band?

ML: We’re all really good friends who hang out. We’re not just people who play music together. I’ll probably see these guys tomorrow just to chill.

CK: It’s an awesome feeling, on and off the stage. It’s not just playing a set and doing your own thing afterwards. It’s playing the set and then being together right after. I’ve known these guys for a really long time. They’re still cool with hanging out with me. I’m surprised[laughs]. We can call each other and not think about the band… Horseplay. I just wanted to say that. Horseplay.

AB: I’ve been in a handful of bands and I can say that this is the first time where I can sit around with any of them and play, and none of them have to stop and show me what they’re doing. Everybody kind of just picks things up. Even during a show, I’ll look over at CJ and improvise.

CK: That’s the best.

AB: We’re all very in-sync with one another. There’s no specific learning curve.

CK: It’s so crazy how you can look at someone and know what they’re trying to get at without saying a word.

ML: You give a nod and everyone knows what you’re talking about.

UTG: What is something you would tell bands that are just starting out?

CK: Quit right now [laughs].

ML: I’d say just write music you like. There are so many bands out there that feel like they have to write songs just so they could get signed. Just do what you like. If it happens, then it does. If it doesn’t, then it doesn’t. Just play music. Don’t worry about the other stuff.

UTG: Lastly, if you guys could head out on the road right now and tour with any musician. What would the bill look like?

AB: We’d be direct support to Beethoven, and then Bach would open [laughs]. But seriously, maybe Taking Back Sunday. I have a weird connection to Long Island bands.

CK: Dead or alive? Oh, my god. I would do an All Killer No Filler Sum 41 tour. I would love that. I loved Sum 41 as a kid. I used to listen to rap. Serious Notorious BIG shit. Then my cousin got me into Sum 41. Maybe add Weezer. I also bleed Weezer, by the way.

ML: I would say I want to tour with bands you’d mesh with musically, but I also want to tour with someone fun. I’ll say Jimmy Eat World.

‘The American Dream Is Dead’ is now available for digital purchase here.
Feature photo credit: Michael Leighton Stollard

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/08/28/utg-mixtape-fest-giants-at-large-discuss-musical-influences-the-american-dream-is-dead/feed/ 1
REVIEW: Eden The Cat – Live In A Basement Apartment http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/08/28/review-eden-the-cat-live-ep/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/08/28/review-eden-the-cat-live-ep/#comments Fri, 28 Aug 2015 13:44:50 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1154974 Artist: Eden The Cat
Album: Live In A Basement Apartment
Genre: Folk, Acoustic

The best music hits you like a drug. It rolls over your body with a sensation that can only be compared to the first drag on a much needed cigarette or the first sip of that whiskey you’ve been thinking about since lunch. You get high off great music. A high, I might add, that no amount of liquor, weed, smoke, or pills is ever going to replace. Great music puts you in a state of intoxication so entirely satisfying you don’t need anything else to be …

]]>
Artist: Eden The Cat
Album: Live In A Basement Apartment
Genre: Folk, Acoustic

The best music hits you like a drug. It rolls over your body with a sensation that can only be compared to the first drag on a much needed cigarette or the first sip of that whiskey you’ve been thinking about since lunch. You get high off great music. A high, I might add, that no amount of liquor, weed, smoke, or pills is ever going to replace. Great music puts you in a state of intoxication so entirely satisfying you don’t need anything else to be content with life, and that is the way you will feel when experiencing Eden The Cat’s latest EP.

Live In A Basement Apartment is the result of Eden The Cat finding herself with a few too many songs for her upcoming full-length, Funny Women. The songs were recorded in Eden’s Saskatchewan based apartment, partially while the singer-songwriter broadcast herself on Periscope. The resulting product is a little rough around the edges, with the vocals sometimes toeing the line of over-modulation, but the combination of Eden’s entrancing croon with her gift for melody makes every track spring to life. Whether she’s talking about the feeling of new love (“Teens”), or lamenting the fact drunk sex has lost its zeal (“Shithead”), there is something inherently infectious in every bar Eden shares.

If Amateur was meant to introduce us to Eden as a solo artist who isn’t afraid to get a little dirty if it means being able to tell her truth, and if Orphan Mothers‘ first LP was intended to showcase her diverse songwriting abilities, then Live In A Basement Apartment is proof Eden The Cat has all the potential to be someone the world recognizes as an artist with something meaningful to say. Most of the EP is comprised of stories that feel as if they were lifted from Eden’s own diary, with details big and small painting vivid images from life in a part of Canada far too few have experienced. That said, there is also something so incredibly universal about what Eden has to say. Her views on love, life, sex, and the crossroads between the three are often as brutally honest as any you could hope to come across, and you believe them because you can hear the conviction in her voice. She may be entertaining you with her art, but it’s clear it was created as a release for her. She needs the music as much as you want it, and that’s what makes it so great.

These day it seems like most singer-songwriters are a dime a dozen. Simply having a few good hooks and a moderate understanding of how your instrument works is no longer enough to win over coffee shop crowds, let alone the world at large. Standing out in this forever overcrowded genre requires that intangible ‘it’ factor, and I don’t know that we have encountered anyone in the last few years who embodies that indescribable quality better than Eden The Cat. With three releases in the last year alone, this Canadian is making a damn good argument for everyone to give her a bit of their time, and so far she has delivered nothing but quality work. Live In A Basement Apartment is yet another step forward in what is quickly becoming a career to watch, and I cannot wait to hear what she has in store for us when Funny Women arrives later this year.

SCORE: 9.5/10

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/08/28/review-eden-the-cat-live-ep/feed/ 1
My God, It’s Full Of Stars (ex-Mae) Sign With Spartan Records, To Release New EP This Fall http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/08/27/my-god-its-full-of-stars-ex-mae-sign-with-spartan-records-to-release-new-ep-this-fall/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/08/27/my-god-its-full-of-stars-ex-mae-sign-with-spartan-records-to-release-new-ep-this-fall/#comments Thu, 27 Aug 2015 20:54:05 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1154942 After choosing to focus on home life and parting ways with Mae in 2008, Rob Sweitzer has announced a new solo project under the name of My God, It’s Full Of Stars.

The singer-songwriter is set to put out his debut EP, M29, this coming Fall. The EP was co-produced with Dave Elkins and was recorded at 4115 Studios in Nashville, TN. Sweitzer successfully funded the Kickstarter campaign for this project in November.

“I’m enthused to be working with Spartan Records. I’ve seen this label grow steadily with the addition of a solid caliber of artists they believe …

]]>
After choosing to focus on home life and parting ways with Mae in 2008, Rob Sweitzer has announced a new solo project under the name of My God, It’s Full Of Stars.

The singer-songwriter is set to put out his debut EP, M29, this coming Fall. The EP was co-produced with Dave Elkins and was recorded at 4115 Studios in Nashville, TN. Sweitzer successfully funded the Kickstarter campaign for this project in November.

“I’m enthused to be working with Spartan Records. I’ve seen this label grow steadily with the addition of a solid caliber of artists they believe in and it shows in Spartan’s work ethic as it relates to the presentation of each artist’s blood, sweat and tears to the world. I can now say I’m happy that my project My God, It’s Full Of Stars is a part of the family. Thank you, John and Spartan for believing in me,” Sweitzer shares.

You can check out M29‘s album artwork below, as well as a demo for his new song, entitled “Lightness Of Being.”

unnamed-2

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/08/27/my-god-its-full-of-stars-ex-mae-sign-with-spartan-records-to-release-new-ep-this-fall/feed/ 1