Under the Gun Review http://www.underthegunreview.net Entertainment news for today's generation Sun, 31 Aug 2014 22:45:17 +0000 en-US hourly 1 http://wordpress.org/?v=3.9 ‘Guardians of the Galaxy’ Continues its Box Office Romp this Three-Day Weekend http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/31/guardians-of-the-galaxy-continues-its-box-office-romp-this-three-day-weekend/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/31/guardians-of-the-galaxy-continues-its-box-office-romp-this-three-day-weekend/#comments Sun, 31 Aug 2014 17:31:36 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1128577 It’s official, Guardians of the Galaxy will be known as THE movie of the summer. If not for the hilarious one-liners, stellar soundtrack, and headline-worthy unofficial merchandise, then for its dominance as this quarter’s top film, with $274 thousand dollars made domestically since its August 1 release date. This weekend, the Marvel Studios film topped the charts with the $16.3 thousand dollar pull that it made.

As Above/So Below made its debut this weekend and made around $8.3 million dollars, putting the horror flick not too far behind Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles and If I Stay, which made …

]]>
It’s official, Guardians of the Galaxy will be known as THE movie of the summer. If not for the hilarious one-liners, stellar soundtrack, and headline-worthy unofficial merchandise, then for its dominance as this quarter’s top film, with $274 thousand dollars made domestically since its August 1 release date. This weekend, the Marvel Studios film topped the charts with the $16.3 thousand dollar pull that it made.

As Above/So Below made its debut this weekend and made around $8.3 million dollars, putting the horror flick not too far behind Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles and If I Stay, which made $11.75 million and $9.2 million, respectively. Pierce Brosnan’s The November Man also went into theaters this week, and made a meager $7.66 million dollars.

Be sure to check out our reviews of As Above/So Below and The November Man before following the jump to see this weekend’s top ten highest grossing films.

  1. Guardians of the Galaxy – $16,310,000
  2. Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles – $11,750,00
  3. If I Stay $9,260,000
  4. As Above/So Below – $8,340,000
  5. Let’s Be Cops $8,200,000
  6. The November Man – $7,660,000
  7. When the Game Stands Tall $5,650,000
  8. The Giver $5,250,000
  9. The Hundred-Foot Journey $4,600,000
  10. The Expendables 3 $3,500,000
]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/31/guardians-of-the-galaxy-continues-its-box-office-romp-this-three-day-weekend/feed/ 0
There’s Something Irresistible About Radical Something’s “Cali Get Down” http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/30/there-is-something-irresistible-about-radical-somethings-cali-get-down/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/30/there-is-something-irresistible-about-radical-somethings-cali-get-down/#comments Sat, 30 Aug 2014 16:12:25 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1128558 Several weeks ago we brought you an audio stream of a new song titled “Cali Get Down” by a band we had never previously covered called Radical Something. That same group has since released a video for the that single, and we have only fallen further in love with their unique take on modern pop rock.

I have tried and spectacularly failed to explain the sound of Radical Something at least a half dozen times this month. The closest I have come to nailing it, at least according to people I’ve spoken with, is a more mature …

]]>
Several weeks ago we brought you an audio stream of a new song titled “Cali Get Down” by a band we had never previously covered called Radical Something. That same group has since released a video for the that single, and we have only fallen further in love with their unique take on modern pop rock.

I have tried and spectacularly failed to explain the sound of Radical Something at least a half dozen times this month. The closest I have come to nailing it, at least according to people I’ve spoken with, is a more mature take on the sound Metro Station first brought to the mainstream back in the mid-2000s. That may turn some of you off, but I swear it’s far better than anything that group ever put to tape. “Cali Get Down” is a song that should have dominated radio over the summer, but due to the typical industry BS it’s still finding its way to curious music fans across the country. The video is mostly a performance piece, but it still keeps things interesting with a story involving average people starting a not so average dance party. Watch the clip and discover the song we cannot stop spinning below:

Radical Something are going to be supporting Matisyahu on the rapper’s upcoming nationwide headlining tour. Click here for the tour dates.

We don’t know what Radical Something have planned beyond this tour, but we plan to stay in touch with the group as they plot total global domination. Follow UTG on Twitter for updates.

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/30/there-is-something-irresistible-about-radical-somethings-cali-get-down/feed/ 0
MOVIE REVIEW: ‘The One I Love’ Ruminates on Love Lost With A Sci-Fi Twist http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/30/movie-review-the-one-i-love-ruminates-on-love-lost-with-a-sci-fi-twist/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/30/movie-review-the-one-i-love-ruminates-on-love-lost-with-a-sci-fi-twist/#comments Sat, 30 Aug 2014 14:12:02 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1128549 Film: The One I Love
Directed by: Charlie McDowell
Starring: Mark Duplass, Elisabeth Moss, Ted Danson

***This review originally ran during our coverage of the Provincetown Film Fest. We are posting it a second time because the film has just hit VOD and theaters nationwide.***

The One I Love is like Who’s Afraid of Virginia Wolff? wrapped in the enigma of aTwilight Zone episode with Ted Danson’s character acting as the narrator instead of Rod Serling. So as you can see, this film is a completely different take on the romantic drama subgenre with an otherworldly twist to …

]]>
Film: The One I Love
Directed by: Charlie McDowell
Starring: Mark Duplass, Elisabeth Moss, Ted Danson

***This review originally ran during our coverage of the Provincetown Film Fest. We are posting it a second time because the film has just hit VOD and theaters nationwide.***

The One I Love is like Who’s Afraid of Virginia Wolff? wrapped in the enigma of aTwilight Zone episode with Ted Danson’s character acting as the narrator instead of Rod Serling. So as you can see, this film is a completely different take on the romantic drama subgenre with an otherworldly twist to it. Luckily though, The One I Love ventures into how love is an imperfection in itself more than any other romantic film to come out as of late. It paints a painstaking portrait of a couple that try and try again to make perfect versions of themselves to please each other. Unfortunately, that isn’t how love works.

The One I Love picks up Sophie (Elisabeth Moss) and Ethan (Mark Duplass) at a very crucial time in their marriage. Having lost the luster that they used to have, the unhappy couple seeks the aid of their therapist (Ted Danson) who suggests that they have a vacation getaway for two to patch things up. Sophie and Ethan agree to travel to a nearby, secluded locale to repair their relationship, but along the way something weird happens at the vacation home that will change their relationship forever.

If anything, The One I Love is revolutionary in the fact that it can carry a 91-minute film effortlessly with only two main characters driving the narrative. The humor injected even makes a great case for a heartbreakingly realistic look at a dysfunctional marriage on the edge of break-up. Mark Duplass is the perfect choice to play the dopey and emotionally distant facet to a marriage. Elisabeth Moss proves that her Mad Men TV presence can be transcended as she plays the conflicted wife juggling the pros and cons of continuing her loveless marriage. That may sound like a character done many times but with that aforementioned twist, Moss is able to take the archetype to places never explored before.

The twist in the film doesn’t only serve the plot; it puts the whole romantic drama genre through a blender of unpredictability in the subtlest ways possible. Instead of shoving a narrative-altering convolution in the viewer’s face, the twist is like a character in itself that plays like devil’s advocate to both Sophie and Ethan’s worst personal vices.

Where the film soars high and above any romantically complicated film is the way it treats love. Love in this film is a combined goal as it is with every marriage. What are the costs that we are willing to pay for love, though? That is where things get interesting. Sophie and Ethan struggle with love because they are trying to make the perfect versions of themselves for each other. That isn’t love, though; it’s all about being accepted for who you are, not who you are trying to be. Not all relationships can thrive on short instances of danger/thrill and that is evident in The One I Love.

Okay, enough ranting about the prospect of love! The One I Love ventures into some idiosyncratic territory but its ending almost brings the downfall of the whole film. The makers behind the film spend most of the time trying to make the argument that love can be repaired and that the characters can live happily ever after. There is literally a scene before the final act in which things are spelled out for the viewer on how it is going to end. Instead, The One I Love completely contradicts itself with an ending that almost sent me into furor. Maybe that is The One I Love’s point, though…that love is an entity that is so imperfect and unpredictable that it could make or break the viewer when shown onscreen.

GRADE: B

Review written by: Sam Cohen – (Follow him on Twitter)

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/30/movie-review-the-one-i-love-ruminates-on-love-lost-with-a-sci-fi-twist/feed/ 0
MOVIE REVIEW: ‘As Above, So Below’ Is Just Another Found Footage Dud http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/30/movie-review-as-above-so-below-is-just-another-found-footage-dud/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/30/movie-review-as-above-so-below-is-just-another-found-footage-dud/#comments Sat, 30 Aug 2014 13:30:00 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1128555 Film: As Above, So Below
Starring: Perdita Weeks, Ben Feldman
Directed by: John Erick Dowdle

There is a moment fifteen or twenty minutes into As Above, So Below when it seems as if the film will finally be the long awaited title that raises the bar for found footage across the board. For a few fleeting minutes the characters are interesting, the story is thrilling, and there is a genuine sense of mystery to everything taking place on screen. Then, just as the catacombs begin to close in, things take a turn for the predictable.

The film follows Scarlett (Perdita …

]]>
Film: As Above, So Below
Starring: Perdita Weeks, Ben Feldman
Directed by: John Erick Dowdle

There is a moment fifteen or twenty minutes into As Above, So Below when it seems as if the film will finally be the long awaited title that raises the bar for found footage across the board. For a few fleeting minutes the characters are interesting, the story is thrilling, and there is a genuine sense of mystery to everything taking place on screen. Then, just as the catacombs begin to close in, things take a turn for the predictable.

The film follows Scarlett (Perdita Weeks), a female Indiana Jones set on finding the legendary Philosopher’s Stone. There is a lot of nonsense related to the stone and its powers, but all you really need to know is that the search for this potentially nonexistent rock has driven many people – including Scarlet’s father – insane. After she discovers a long sought after clue in Iran, Scarlet recruits a team of friends and strangers to explore the Catacombs in search of a secret passage. The group equips themselves with cameras, find a whole in the ground, and slowly begin to work their way through the world’s largest burial ground.

The initial passages in the catacombs are tense and chilling, but things quickly go from creepy to downright silly as the film attempts to set an ominous tone with seemingly no idea how to make it happen. It would be wrong of me to revel too much as many examples would double as spoilers, but I will say that every ‘strange occurrence’ in the film’s trailers has no setup or explanation whatsoever. Things just seem to happen, and no matter how unsettling they appear, or how lost the group becomes, no one ever fights to stop and turn around. They plunge further and further into the dark embrace of the catacombs with complete disregard for the half dozen red flags staring them in the face.

Once the action begins, which aside from a few jump scares is not until well over halfway through the film’s runtime, the inherent shakiness of the found footage genre ruins most climatic moments. It’s clear the filmmakers thought a POV perspective would make people feel as if they too were in the claustrophobic confines of the catacombs, but that is rarely the case. The panicked movements of the team make it impossible to appreciate any set or creature design, though very little of either exists in the first place.

The one advantage As Above, So Below has over other found footage hitting the VOD market this year is an above average cast. Weeks is a great lead, and Ben Feldman delivers a pitch perfect turn as her former lover turned helpful confidant. The two have strong chemistry from the moment Feldman’s character is introduced, but the dialogue is so heavy handed that there is no question as to what will develop between them as things progress. In fact, there is never really any question what will happen to any of the characters. The ones with a story make it longer, the ones with the most story make it the longest.

When all is said and done, As Above, So Below falls into the same traps that catch 99.98% of all found footage films. The best parts were all revealed in the trailers, and the stuff that wasn’t has been featured in countless other films. The premise shows promise, but it’s ultimately overshadowed by a lazy script and far too many attempts at cashing in on tired genre cliches that occur without explanation or justification. It could have been something great, but it’s not. It’s not even good.

GRADE: D

Review written by James Shotwell

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/30/movie-review-as-above-so-below-is-just-another-found-footage-dud/feed/ 1
Amazon Is Bringing Back ‘The Tick’ And Patrick Warburton Is Already On Board http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/29/amazon-is-bringing-back-the-tick-and-patrick-warburton-is-on-board/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/29/amazon-is-bringing-back-the-tick-and-patrick-warburton-is-on-board/#comments Sat, 30 Aug 2014 01:19:40 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1128561 There may in fact be a higher power. After all, who other than an omnipotent being could have the power to bring back such a critically under-appreciated, yet deeply loved show like The Tick?

People Magazine is reporting that Amazon has secured the rights to bring back The Tick TV show as a streaming series with brand new episodes. Even better, star Patrick Warburton has already signed on to reprise the lead role. No release date has been set, but a close source to the story tells the magazine the deal is done.

The Tick series is based on …

]]>
There may in fact be a higher power. After all, who other than an omnipotent being could have the power to bring back such a critically under-appreciated, yet deeply loved show like The Tick?

People Magazine is reporting that Amazon has secured the rights to bring back The Tick TV show as a streaming series with brand new episodes. Even better, star Patrick Warburton has already signed on to reprise the lead role. No release date has been set, but a close source to the story tells the magazine the deal is done.

The Tick series is based on a comic book by Ben Edlund. It was first brought to television as an animated series that lasted three seasons in the mid 1990s. In late 2001, Fox cast Warburton as the lead in the live-action series, but the network cancelled the show after only 9 episodes. You can watch the show’s pilot episode, for free, at the end of this post.

In a world where it seems every obscure character is getting their own film or series, it seems only right that The Tick series live once more. I was a fan of the live-action series just as much as the cartoon, but I never imagined it would return. Anything is possible in the age of streaming, I guess. Even if Yahoo! passed on Enlisted.

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/29/amazon-is-bringing-back-the-tick-and-patrick-warburton-is-on-board/feed/ 0
Watch A New ‘[REC] 4: Apocalypse’ Trailer For More Death At Sea http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/29/watch-a-new-rec-4-apocalypse-trailer-for-more-death-at-sea/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/29/watch-a-new-rec-4-apocalypse-trailer-for-more-death-at-sea/#comments Fri, 29 Aug 2014 22:49:53 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1128544 Two weeks in advance of the film’s debut at the Toronto International Film Festival, we’ve received another trailer for [REC] 4: Apocalypse.

The trailer reuses much of the footage from the previous trailer, leaving out, well the most exciting bits. It gives us a few different views, like security cameras and an exterior view of the boat, but otherwise unfolds the same way: with everything hitting the fan. This one also doesn’t have subtitles. If nothing else, it invites a revisiting of that first trailer and restokes fans’ anticipation for the film.

[REC] 4: Apocalypse is billed as …

]]>
Two weeks in advance of the film’s debut at the Toronto International Film Festival, we’ve received another trailer for [REC] 4: Apocalypse.

The trailer reuses much of the footage from the previous trailer, leaving out, well the most exciting bits. It gives us a few different views, like security cameras and an exterior view of the boat, but otherwise unfolds the same way: with everything hitting the fan. This one also doesn’t have subtitles. If nothing else, it invites a revisiting of that first trailer and restokes fans’ anticipation for the film.

[REC] 4: Apocalypse is billed as the final installment of the series. It marks the return of Jaume Balagueró, who directed the first two entries, and Manuela Velasco, who stars as imperiled reporter Ángela Vidal. The film will be released internationally on October 31.

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/29/watch-a-new-rec-4-apocalypse-trailer-for-more-death-at-sea/feed/ 0
UTG VIDEO PREMIERE: Jeremy Loops – “Sinner” http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/29/video-premiere-jeremy-loops-sinner/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/29/video-premiere-jeremy-loops-sinner/#comments Fri, 29 Aug 2014 22:21:44 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1128541 Every now and then, a folk artist comes our way that leaves us completely floored. In 2008, it was Fleet Foxes. In 2012, it was First Aid Kit. Now, in 2014, it’s Jeremy Loops.

Fresh out of Cape Town, South Africa, Jeremy Loops is a modern folk musician whose music is just now reaching our shores. While his debut album, Trading Change, has already debuted at #1 on his homeland’s iTunes chart, the 27-year-old is still beginning to form his place here in the US. The one-man folk act scratches up a percussive sound thanks to his loop pedal. …

]]>
Every now and then, a folk artist comes our way that leaves us completely floored. In 2008, it was Fleet Foxes. In 2012, it was First Aid Kit. Now, in 2014, it’s Jeremy Loops.

Fresh out of Cape Town, South Africa, Jeremy Loops is a modern folk musician whose music is just now reaching our shores. While his debut album, Trading Change, has already debuted at #1 on his homeland’s iTunes chart, the 27-year-old is still beginning to form his place here in the US. The one-man folk act scratches up a percussive sound thanks to his loop pedal. Without it, he couldn’t make sure every rhythm is layered, every melody is multiplied, and every lyric is more authentically harmonized.

We’re proud to premiere the video for his debut single, “Sinner,” months before Trading Change comes out in the US in January. There’s the careful plucking of banjo, the similar wailing of Mumford and Sons, and the freeing tones of a man with his chin up. Don’t be surprised if you hit replay. This is an infectious debut that shows what the buzz is all about.

Filmed on his last trip to New York City, the video sees him exploring the city and meeting everyone–from music shop owners to hungry pups–along the way. Once you know his background, his friendly demeanor doesn’t come as a surprise. Loops frequently works with Greenpop, an organization he co-founded to help educate students in South Africa about sustainability and eco-friendly actions, and together he and the students have planted over 40,000 trees. He couldn’t get more down to the roots of folk if he tried.

Check it out below:

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/29/video-premiere-jeremy-loops-sinner/feed/ 0
Nai Harvest Release New Music Video For “Buttercups” http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/29/nai-harvest-release-new-music-video-for-buttercups/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/29/nai-harvest-release-new-music-video-for-buttercups/#comments Fri, 29 Aug 2014 21:32:30 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1128533 Cutting-edge, emo indie rock duo from the UK, Nai Harvest, have recently released a new music video and it’s quite the acid trip. This new video is for their song “Buttercups” which is off of the band’s most recent Flower 12” split EP (via Dog Knights) with fellow UK natives, Playlounge.

An appropriately “that’s so wicked, bro” video for a really wicked song, this music video involves a lot of forestry and a lot of washing machines. Get hip to these guys if you haven’t already because majorly breaking through the scene is in their near future.

You …

]]>
Cutting-edge, emo indie rock duo from the UK, Nai Harvest, have recently released a new music video and it’s quite the acid trip. This new video is for their song “Buttercups” which is off of the band’s most recent Flower 12” split EP (via Dog Knights) with fellow UK natives, Playlounge.

An appropriately “that’s so wicked, bro” video for a really wicked song, this music video involves a lot of forestry and a lot of washing machines. Get hip to these guys if you haven’t already because majorly breaking through the scene is in their near future.

You can check out the music video for “Buttercups” below.

Nai Harvest is touring the United States this fall, under Topshelf Records, with bands like Foxing, Dads, and Tiny Moving Parts. You can check out the dates via Topshelf here.

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/29/nai-harvest-release-new-music-video-for-buttercups/feed/ 0
SOHN Streams New Single “The Chase” http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/29/sohn-streams-new-single-the-chase/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/29/sohn-streams-new-single-the-chase/#comments Fri, 29 Aug 2014 20:45:54 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1128529 Electronic musician SOHN dropped his debut album, Tremors, via 4AD earlier this year. The Vienna-based musician is now returning to our attention with a brand new song called “The Chase”.”

The track is a modern ambient piece that sees SOHN singing beautifully over it. Sporadic synth pools in the background before ’80s-style keys make an appearance. All in all, it’s well worth the listen, especially if you’ve been burning through Tremors. Give it a listen after the jump.

SOHN will also be touring this September around England. He kicks off his dates at the iTunes Festival in Lodnon before …

]]>
Electronic musician SOHN dropped his debut album, Tremors, via 4AD earlier this year. The Vienna-based musician is now returning to our attention with a brand new song called “The Chase”.”

The track is a modern ambient piece that sees SOHN singing beautifully over it. Sporadic synth pools in the background before ’80s-style keys make an appearance. All in all, it’s well worth the listen, especially if you’ve been burning through Tremors. Give it a listen after the jump.

SOHN will also be touring this September around England. He kicks off his dates at the iTunes Festival in Lodnon before making his way to Brighton, Glasgow, Manchester, and Liverpool. See the full list of dates below.

SOHN September Tour:
9 London, Roundhouse (iTunes Festival)
12 London, Shepherd’s Bush Empire
13 Brighton, The Haunt
16 Glasgow, Stereo
17 Manchester, Gorilla
17 Liverpool, Kazimier

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/29/sohn-streams-new-single-the-chase/feed/ 1
Cold War Kids Announce New Album ‘Hold My Home,’ Stream Single “First” http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/29/cold-war-kids-announce-new-album-hold-my-home-stream-single-first/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/29/cold-war-kids-announce-new-album-hold-my-home-stream-single-first/#comments Fri, 29 Aug 2014 20:35:18 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1128522 Cold War Kids announced earlier that they would be dropping their fifth studio album this year, and today we’ve learned that the album, titled Hold My Home, drops October 21 via Downtown Records. The 11-track record serves as the follow-up to 2013’s Dear Miss Lonelyhearts and was recorded at the band’s studio in San Jose. Pre-orders for the album are ongoing.

In addition to “All This Could Be Yours,” Cold War Kids have shared a new single titled “First.” It’s a swelling, stadium-ready number that’s equally as uplifting as it is relaxing thanks to handclaps, harmonies, and …

]]>
Cold War Kids announced earlier that they would be dropping their fifth studio album this year, and today we’ve learned that the album, titled Hold My Home, drops October 21 via Downtown Records. The 11-track record serves as the follow-up to 2013’s Dear Miss Lonelyhearts and was recorded at the band’s studio in San Jose. Pre-orders for the album are ongoing.

In addition to “All This Could Be Yours,” Cold War Kids have shared a new single titled “First.” It’s a swelling, stadium-ready number that’s equally as uplifting as it is relaxing thanks to handclaps, harmonies, and jumpy guitars. They aren’t breaking boundaries, but they will win you over in the way they always seem to.

Give the single a listen below:

Hold My Home Tracklist:
01. All This Could Be Yours
02. First
03. Hot Coals
04. Drive Desperate
05. Hotel Anywhere
06. Go Quietly
07. Nights & Weekends
08. Hold My Home
09. Flower Drum Song
10. Harold Bloom
11. Hear My Baby Call

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/29/cold-war-kids-announce-new-album-hold-my-home-stream-single-first/feed/ 0
Max Jury Delivers Clever New Single, “Black Metal” http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/29/max-jury-delivers-clever-new-single-black-metal/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/29/max-jury-delivers-clever-new-single-black-metal/#comments Fri, 29 Aug 2014 17:23:34 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1128513 Des Moines, Iowa’s own singer-songwriter Max Jury debuted his brand new single, “Black Metal,” off of the upcoming EP, All I Want: The Sonic Factory Sessions via Clash yesterday. The song is a clever demise of a damsel who enjoys…you guessed it, black metal.

Jury is at his best when channeling his unique style of late ’60s and early ’70s piano-balanced rock ‘n’ roll, which is shown in the new single. If the new track is any indication of the direction of the new EP, then this Midwestern boy is ready to steal listeners’ hearts and souls far and wide. …

]]>
Des Moines, Iowa’s own singer-songwriter Max Jury debuted his brand new single, “Black Metal,” off of the upcoming EP, All I Want: The Sonic Factory Sessions via Clash yesterday. The song is a clever demise of a damsel who enjoys…you guessed it, black metal.

Jury is at his best when channeling his unique style of late ’60s and early ’70s piano-balanced rock ‘n’ roll, which is shown in the new single. If the new track is any indication of the direction of the new EP, then this Midwestern boy is ready to steal listeners’ hearts and souls far and wide.

Since dropping his first soulful EP, Something In The Air, last year, Jury has been gaining international success — including sold out solo shows in London and main support for Lana Del Rey in Berlin. Be sure to follow the jump to enjoy the new track and leave your thoughts in the comments below.

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/29/max-jury-delivers-clever-new-single-black-metal/feed/ 0
Front Porch Step Releases Music Video For Emotional Song, “Private Fears In Public Places” http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/29/front-porch-step-release-music-video-for-emotional-song-private-fears-in-public-places/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/29/front-porch-step-release-music-video-for-emotional-song-private-fears-in-public-places/#comments Fri, 29 Aug 2014 16:47:06 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1128510 Our friends at Substream Music Press exclusively released the latest music video from Front Porch Step today. The track, titled “Private Fears In Public Places,” is another overtly emotional and transparent number from the acoustic punk solo artist’s Pure Noise Records debut, Aware, which was released late last year.

The video gives viewers an inside look of FPS mastermind Jake Mcelfresh’s experience on this year’s Vans Warped Tour, where his music spread amongst the scene like wildfire. He told Substream this about the new video:

“This video is very special to me for multiple reasons. Not only is …

]]>
Our friends at Substream Music Press exclusively released the latest music video from Front Porch Step today. The track, titled “Private Fears In Public Places,” is another overtly emotional and transparent number from the acoustic punk solo artist’s Pure Noise Records debut, Aware, which was released late last year.

The video gives viewers an inside look of FPS mastermind Jake Mcelfresh’s experience on this year’s Vans Warped Tour, where his music spread amongst the scene like wildfire. He told Substream this about the new video:

“This video is very special to me for multiple reasons. Not only is this my favorite song from my record but it’s my favorite song to play live. Cincinnati always shows up for me. I remember when I played there two years ago as the local opener for a small tour off date for Man Overboard and I couldn’t believe how many people knew the words to my songs. It was incredible.”

Follow the jump to watch the video and see Front Porch Step’s upcoming tour dates.

Tour Dates:
10/3 – Bogies – Albany, NY
10/4 – Revolution Bar – Amityville, NY
10/5 – The Palladium – Worcester, MA
10/7 – La Sala Rossa – Montreal, QC
10/8 – Hard Luck Bar – Toronto, ON
10/9 – The Waiting Room – Buffalo, NY
10/10 – Agora – Cleveland, OH
10/11 – The Shelter – Detroit, MI
10/12 – Bottom Lounge – Chicago, IL
10/14 – The Garage – Burnsville, MN
10/15 – Gabe’s – Iowa City, IA
10/16 – Fubar – St. Louis, MO
10/17 – Jackpot Music Hall – Lawrence, KS
10/18 – Marquis Theatre – Denver, CO
10/19 – Loading Dock – Salt Lake City, UT
10/20 – The Shredder – Boise, ID
10/22 – El Corazon – Seattle, WA
10/23 – Hawthorne Theatre – Portland, OR
10/24 – Oakland Metro – Oakland, CA
10/25 – Chain Reaction – Anaheim, CA
10/26 – House of Blues – San Diego, CA
10/28 – The Nile – Mesa, AZ
10/29 – The Gasworks – Albuquerque, NM
10/30 – Red 7 – Austin, TX
10/31 – Walter’s – Houston, TX
11/1 – Tomcats West – Ft. Worth, TX
11/2 – The Conservatory – Oklahoma City, OK
11/4 – The End – Nashville, TN
11/5 – Woodland’s Tavern – Columbus, OH
11/6 – Altar Bar – Pittsburgh, PA
11/7 – Jammin Java – Vienna, VA
11/8 – The Barbary – Philadelphia, PA
11/9 – Webster Hall – New York, NY

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/29/front-porch-step-release-music-video-for-emotional-song-private-fears-in-public-places/feed/ 0
MOVIE REVIEW: ‘The Prince’ Is A Complete Waste Of Time http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/29/movie-review-the-prince-is-a-complete-waste-of-time/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/29/movie-review-the-prince-is-a-complete-waste-of-time/#comments Fri, 29 Aug 2014 16:05:03 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1128495 Film: The Prince
Starring: Jason Patric, Bruce Willis
Directed by: Brian A. Miller

The Prince attempts to copy Taken’s formula for success but forgets to include the fun and suspense.

Jason Patric stars as a retired New Orleans crime boss and widow who has spent years trying to separate himself from his life in crime. This isn’t explained up front in the actual film, but it’s how marketing has set up the story. When his daughter is kidnapped seemingly out of a the blue, our hero must partner with an old acquaintance (John Cusack) to stop an old rival …

]]>
Film: The Prince
Starring: Jason Patric, Bruce Willis
Directed by: Brian A. Miller

The Prince attempts to copy Taken’s formula for success but forgets to include the fun and suspense.

Jason Patric stars as a retired New Orleans crime boss and widow who has spent years trying to separate himself from his life in crime. This isn’t explained up front in the actual film, but it’s how marketing has set up the story. When his daughter is kidnapped seemingly out of a the blue, our hero must partner with an old acquaintance (John Cusack) to stop an old rival (Bruce Willis). Gun play and violence ensues, but none of it is all that interesting.

On paper, The Prince has almost everything one looks for in a potential blockbuster; but somewhere in the process of bringing those ideas to life things went horribly awry. The story is decent, even if it has been told a thousand times before, but the way it unfolds is so heavy handed it’s hard to think anything other than the most predictable ending will occur. There is never any question of what needs to happen or how it will all take place, only how long you will have to sit and wait for the characters have this same realization. Once this happens, everything else is a meaningless exposition and violence intended to stretch a paper thin retread of a tired idea to feature length. There’s even a brief 50 Cent appearance for no reason other than to add an extra step to Patric’s journey. His existence before and after his one scene has no impact on the rest of the story, but here’s there nonetheless. Another face for posters, I guess.

Jason Patric is not the biggest name in Hollywood, but John Cusack and Bruce Willis still have enough clout to sell at least a few tickets based on name recognition alone. One might think that would encourage the aging stars to give things their all even when the script leaves a lot to be desire, but Cusack mainly looks tired. It’s as if he woke just long enough to shoot his brief scenes and then retreated to his trailer for another several hours of rest. Willis appears so little it’s a wonder why he’s the person who is in the center of the film’s poster and cover art. When he is on screen, audiences get a rare taste of Willis as a villain and it doesn’t take long to recognize it’s not exactly a match made in heaven.

When Patric and Willis do finally face off, the ending you expected from the moment you learned the film’s plot is exactly what happens and there is never a moment’s doubt as to whether or not that will be the case. It’s a finale so anticlimactic I immediately began to suspect that the film would attempt to setup a sequel, if only to offer audiences a more compelling ending, but fortunately no such efforts took place. Instead, I shut off my television, walked over to my home video collection, and tried to figure out where Cusack and Willis went so wrong with their career decisions that The Prince would appeal to them in 2014. I never found the answer, but I hope I will someday.

If you see The Prince playing in theaters near you or being promoted across your favorite VOD platform, keep on doing whatever it is you’re doing in that moment and move on. The only thing there is to gain from watching The Prince is the feeling that you just wasted 93 minutes of life that could have been spent doing absolutely anything else. You will feel sense of sorrow for the fading careers of once great actors, but that will pass in time.

GRADE: D-

Review written by James Shotwell

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/29/movie-review-the-prince-is-a-complete-waste-of-time/feed/ 0
Unreleased Smashing Pumpkins Remix by P. Diddy Is Here http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/29/unreleased-smashing-pumpkins-remix-by-p-diddy-is-here/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/29/unreleased-smashing-pumpkins-remix-by-p-diddy-is-here/#comments Fri, 29 Aug 2014 15:25:18 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1128500 Almost two decades ago, P. Diddy, Puff Daddy, Puffy–whatever you want to call him–reportedly took his turn on two of Smashing Pumpkins‘ classic songs, “Perfect” and “Ava Adore.” The former was released shortly after they were announced. “Ava Adore,” on the other hand, has never seen the light of day. Until now.

This is how a remix should be done. Taking elements of a song, and enhancing them with some different ideas. Removing pretty much every guitar part and replacing them with a vibrant, celestial string section with the drum track, enhances this track to a new dimension. The …

]]>
Almost two decades ago, P. Diddy, Puff Daddy, Puffy–whatever you want to call him–reportedly took his turn on two of Smashing Pumpkins‘ classic songs, “Perfect” and “Ava Adore.” The former was released shortly after they were announced. “Ava Adore,” on the other hand, has never seen the light of day. Until now.

This is how a remix should be done. Taking elements of a song, and enhancing them with some different ideas. Removing pretty much every guitar part and replacing them with a vibrant, celestial string section with the drum track, enhances this track to a new dimension. The solo is still there, importantly, and Diddy throws in what sounds like some record scratching, which is weirdly fitting. The best part of the track, though, is what isn’t there. “It’s bad boy, baby.”

Check it out below, and let us know what you think. This remix will appear on the super deluxe reissue of Adore, which is due out September 23.

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/29/unreleased-smashing-pumpkins-remix-by-p-diddy-is-here/feed/ 0
Broken Bells Have Those UFO Vibes in “Control” Video http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/29/broken-bells-have-those-ufo-vibes-in-control-video/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/29/broken-bells-have-those-ufo-vibes-in-control-video/#comments Fri, 29 Aug 2014 15:04:19 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1128494 We’ve got a perfect metaphor for this collaborated duo, Broken Bells, contained in their new video for “Control.” It’s out of this world.

The track parallels with the video, which contains many photos, video footage and faux images containing unidentified flying objects taken over the years. Some of them are “real,” some are just random takes where they have included their little spiked ball “logo” that is featured on their album covers. It fits well with the song’s context of losing control and not being able to distinguish fact from fiction when you have no clue either way.

Check …

]]>
We’ve got a perfect metaphor for this collaborated duo, Broken Bells, contained in their new video for “Control.” It’s out of this world.

The track parallels with the video, which contains many photos, video footage and faux images containing unidentified flying objects taken over the years. Some of them are “real,” some are just random takes where they have included their little spiked ball “logo” that is featured on their album covers. It fits well with the song’s context of losing control and not being able to distinguish fact from fiction when you have no clue either way.

Check out the new James Mercer x Danger Mouse video below.

After the Disco is out now.

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/29/broken-bells-have-those-ufo-vibes-in-control-video/feed/ 0
UTG PREMIERE: Sara Rachele – “Never Come Around” http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/29/utg-premiere-sara-rachele-never-come-around/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/29/utg-premiere-sara-rachele-never-come-around/#comments Fri, 29 Aug 2014 15:00:52 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1128437 As one of New York City’s via Atlanta, Georgia’s best-kept gems, Sara Rachele (pronounced ra-kelly) is creating the type of music lost in the digital age. Her new record, Diamond Street, produced by Ponderosa’s Kris Sampson (Balkans, B-52′s, The Coathangers), is a lo-fi rock ‘n’ roll effort worthy of Stevie Nicks. Her form of transparent and loose songwriting is ready to capture the hearts of America and beyond.

Today we are bringing you a song titled “Never Come Around” off of the brand new record. Inheriting the lo-fi essence described above, Rachele knocks out a swooning and sweet …

]]>
As one of New York City’s via Atlanta, Georgia’s best-kept gems, Sara Rachele (pronounced ra-kelly) is creating the type of music lost in the digital age. Her new record, Diamond Street, produced by Ponderosa’s Kris Sampson (Balkans, B-52′s, The Coathangers), is a lo-fi rock ‘n’ roll effort worthy of Stevie Nicks. Her form of transparent and loose songwriting is ready to capture the hearts of America and beyond.

Today we are bringing you a song titled “Never Come Around” off of the brand new record. Inheriting the lo-fi essence described above, Rachele knocks out a swooning and sweet melody atop a Jeff Buckley-esque guitar riff, sending the listener into a peaceful abyss.

Rachele had this to say about the new record, which drops next Tuesday:

“I think the strangeness of my work is what makes people get it. We all have these stories, but where I grew up, we were always throwing furniture around the house, emotionally. Like a lot of people, I got intensified in New York, so I just started writing—to keep sane.”

Click the “Read More” button to stream the brand new track today and be sure to leave your thoughts in the comments below.

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/29/utg-premiere-sara-rachele-never-come-around/feed/ 0
UTG TRACK-BY-TRACK: Dog Fashion Disco – ‘Sweet Nothings’ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/29/utg-track-by-track-dog-fashion-disco-sweet-nothings/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/29/utg-track-by-track-dog-fashion-disco-sweet-nothings/#comments Fri, 29 Aug 2014 14:15:56 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1128442 One of the most eclectic and missed bands of independent music came roaring out of the shadows this year to bring fans a blazing, brand new record. Dog Fashion Disco returned last month with the new album, Sweet Nothings, that boasts 8 years of pent-up energy from the band’s previous hiatus into a massacre of magnificent music.

Today we are bringing you an exclusive track-by-track of the new record, where frontman Todd Smith discusses his method of madness behind each of the album’s 13 offerings. He describes the track “Doctor’s Orders” as “my contempt for the American stereotypical cycle …

]]>
One of the most eclectic and missed bands of independent music came roaring out of the shadows this year to bring fans a blazing, brand new record. Dog Fashion Disco returned last month with the new album, Sweet Nothings, that boasts 8 years of pent-up energy from the band’s previous hiatus into a massacre of magnificent music.

Today we are bringing you an exclusive track-by-track of the new record, where frontman Todd Smith discusses his method of madness behind each of the album’s 13 offerings. He describes the track “Doctor’s Orders” as “my contempt for the American stereotypical cycle of life,” and “We Aren’t The World” with insight: “a little less greed, narcissism and self-centered thinking could go a long way.”

Are you as excited for the return of this band as we are? Follow the jump to read the entire track-by-track and leave your thoughts in the comments below.

“Greta” — The album opener. [It has] a creepy and smoky, jazz night club feel, set in the 1930s. The lyrics are about a young man’s fascination and overwhelming desire for an older and seemingly untouchable woman way out of his league.

“War Party” — This song echoes my feelings that most wars waged by the United States since and not including WWII were started for profit and not to fight for freedom and spread democracy.

“Scarlet Fever” — This song is about a cannibal cult family with whom the parents and elders hunt their children for sport.

“Tastes So Sweet” — This song is about a dysfunctional bi-polar relationship. One minute, pure hatred for each other, the next minute, make-up sex, adoration and worship.

“Doctor’s Orders” — My contempt for the American stereotypical cycle of life. Go to school, get good grades, go to college, go into debt with student loans, try to get a job out of college to pay off debt, try and find a life partner, poop out kids who are annoying, drive minivan, go to Chuck E. Cheese a lot, try to keep food on the table working overtime at life-draining job, grow old and regretful, then die!

“Envy The Vultures” — This song is about a large section of the American population that should not be allowed to procreate.

“Approach and Recede” — This song is about an uncontrollable appetite for lust, sex, skin, saliva, perversion and deviancy.

“Down The Rabbit Hole” — This is about being young and invincible and really high on drugs.

“We Aren’t the World” — We live in a “me, me, I’m the center of the universe” culture and it’s dividing the world. A little less greed, narcissism and self centered thinking could go a long way.

“Struck By Lightning” — This is about being in love with life and a beautiful woman, laying on a beach on a tropical island. Oh, and you’re drunk.

“Sweet Nothings” — A sleazy tune about special sexy time with yo lady!

“Pale Horse” — War and death, commander to peasant. Everyone has their place.

“End of the Road” — This is an ode to the greatest comedian, poet and an enlightened prophet: Bill Hicks.

Check out Dog Fashion Disco’s upcoming tour dates:

9-05-14 in London, UK at The Barfly (SOLD OUT)
9-06-14 in London, UK at The Barfly (SOLD OUT)
9-07-14 in London, UK at The Barfly (added due to popular demand)
9-12-14 in New York, NY at Slake
9-13-14 in Providence, RI at Simon’s s677
9-14-14 in Bucksport, ME at The Kave
9-16-14 in Greensboro, NC at Green St Club
9-17-14 in Fayetteville, NC at The Drunk Horse Pub
9-18-14 in Atlanta, GA at The Masquerade
9-19-14 in Pensacola, FL at Handle Bar
9-20-14 in Orlando, FL at Backbooth

Buy Sweet Nothings here today.

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/29/utg-track-by-track-dog-fashion-disco-sweet-nothings/feed/ 0
Jermaine Dupri Shares “Pull-Up” Featuring Ty Dolla $ign and Migos http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/29/jermaine-dupri-shares-pull-up-featuring-ty-dolla-ign-and-migos/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/29/jermaine-dupri-shares-pull-up-featuring-ty-dolla-ign-and-migos/#comments Fri, 29 Aug 2014 14:15:31 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1128491 That headline is not a lie and you are not dreaming. Jermaine Dupri has returned to the studio and delivered a new single featuring two of the biggest names in urban music today.

“Pull-Up” has all the makings of a chart-topping single, at least on paper. Dupri, a seasoned industry vet with a house made of platinum plaques to back up his pedigree, paired with Taylor Gang member Ty Dolla $ign and the “Versace” loving rap family known as Migos. The problem is, no one has anything to share that hasn’t been spit on a thousand tracks before. Migos …

]]>
That headline is not a lie and you are not dreaming. Jermaine Dupri has returned to the studio and delivered a new single featuring two of the biggest names in urban music today.

“Pull-Up” has all the makings of a chart-topping single, at least on paper. Dupri, a seasoned industry vet with a house made of platinum plaques to back up his pedigree, paired with Taylor Gang member Ty Dolla $ign and the “Versace” loving rap family known as Migos. The problem is, no one has anything to share that hasn’t been spit on a thousand tracks before. Migos yelps in the background, Ty uses vocoder like it’s going out of style, and Dupri does his thing, but not enough to make up for the lack of character in every single verse. You can stream the song below:

Dupri is rumored to be preparing a new EP for release before the end of the year. For his sake, as well as ours, I hope “Pull-Up” is the worst song on the record. Comment below and let us know your thoughts.

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/29/jermaine-dupri-shares-pull-up-featuring-ty-dolla-ign-and-migos/feed/ 0