Under the Gun Review http://www.underthegunreview.net Entertainment news for today's generation Thu, 28 May 2015 20:56:42 +0000 en-US hourly 1 http://wordpress.org/?v=3.9.3 SINGLE REVIEW: We Came As Romans – “The World I Used To Know” http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/05/28/single-review-we-came-as-romans-the-world-i-used-to-know/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/05/28/single-review-we-came-as-romans-the-world-i-used-to-know/#comments Thu, 28 May 2015 20:56:42 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1151913 Artist: We Came As Romans
Song: “The World I Used To Know”
Album: Self-Titled

The evolution of We Came As Romans is entangled with the band’s own passion for storytelling and inspirational lyricism. Their journey is their song, and their songs detail their journey. Having long conquered the world of post-hardcore with multiple albums featuring top shelf production and the perfect combination of sing/scream vocals, the group have now stripped their music to its core, and through doing so found a new sound that marks the beginning of yet another chapter in their already celebrated career.

“The World I Used …

]]>
Artist: We Came As Romans
Song: “The World I Used To Know”
Album: Self-Titled

The evolution of We Came As Romans is entangled with the band’s own passion for storytelling and inspirational lyricism. Their journey is their song, and their songs detail their journey. Having long conquered the world of post-hardcore with multiple albums featuring top shelf production and the perfect combination of sing/scream vocals, the group have now stripped their music to its core, and through doing so found a new sound that marks the beginning of yet another chapter in their already celebrated career.

“The World I Used To Know” is without question the most radio friendly song We Came As Romans have produced thus far in their growing catalog. There are no screams, no breakdowns, and absolutely nothing that screams ‘Warped Tour scene.’ It’s a straightforward alternative song that boasts clean vocals from both Kyle Pavone and Dave Stephens, which I’m going to guess is just one of many firsts that will be heard on the group’s upcoming self-titled release.

Is it perfect? Not exactly. The problem with writing for more mainstream audiences is that it essentially requires an artist to focus on big hooks and easy to memorize lyricism. The material needs to be perfect for live shows, but also for potential licensing, not to mention the workout playlists of every exercising rock fan around the globe. That is a lot to keep in mind when creating material, and I would be lying if I said “The World I Used To Know” was the smartest material WCAR has ever written. It’s catchy, and there is no denying that, but in terms of pushing themselves forward from a technical standpoint, “The World I Used To Know” does not do much, if anything, that could be considered all that substantial.

All that said,“The World I Used To Know” is undeniably the product of the same boys turned men who have been refining the WCAR sound for the better part of the last decade. The story that began on their debut EP continues to this day, with each new release sharing the latest update from guys who have been able to see the entire world based on the success of their own dreams. It’s inspirational, though not directly so, and it finds its strength through the honest expression of the human experience. What it lacks in heaviness is more than made up for in emotional engagement with the listener, and in the big scheme of things it’s the connection people make with the band’s material that will stand the test of time.

I thought I knew what to expect from the upcoming We Came As Romans album, but “The World I Used To Know” is proof these Michigan natives are still capable of catching even longtime fans off guard. If their self-titled release is half as good as the material on this song then there isn’t a doubt in my mind that 2015 will quickly become the year WCAR make the transition from underground kings to mainstream heavyweights. It’s an evolution that has arguably been in the making since day one, and “The World I Used To Know” leads me to believe the best is still yet to come.

Review written by James Shotwell

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/05/28/single-review-we-came-as-romans-the-world-i-used-to-know/feed/ 0
MOVIE REVIEW: ‘Drunk Wedding’ Offers Cheap POV Laughs http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/05/28/movie-review-drunk-wedding-offers-cheap-pov-laughs/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/05/28/movie-review-drunk-wedding-offers-cheap-pov-laughs/#comments Thu, 28 May 2015 20:50:42 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1151916 Film: Drunk Wedding
Starring: Nick P. Ross, J.R. Ramirez
Directed by: Nick Weiss

Having suffered through well over a decade of increasingly mindless found footage horror that is typically far too shaky for most audiences to thoroughly enjoy, Drunk Wedding has arrived as proof that POV filmmaking can also be (intentionally) hilarious.

If there was ever a film about a group of people wandering around a foreign place with cameras you could buy at your local department store that you could actually relate to, it’s Nick Weiss’ Drunk Wedding. Set in South America, the film follows a group of …

]]>
Film: Drunk Wedding
Starring: Nick P. Ross, J.R. Ramirez
Directed by: Nick Weiss

Having suffered through well over a decade of increasingly mindless found footage horror that is typically far too shaky for most audiences to thoroughly enjoy, Drunk Wedding has arrived as proof that POV filmmaking can also be (intentionally) hilarious.

If there was ever a film about a group of people wandering around a foreign place with cameras you could buy at your local department store that you could actually relate to, it’s Nick Weiss’ Drunk Wedding. Set in South America, the film follows a group of lifelong friends as they travel from North America for a destination wedding. There are no killers or monsters or spooky sequences in tents to be found anywhere in any frame. This film is all about love and comedy, though there are also one or two drunken montages along the way, and to be honest it’s as refreshing a change as any genre film could hope to be.

There is not a whole lot of plot that can be explained without giving away major reveals, but suffice to say the various cameras distributed amongst the group capture party antics, close moments between friends, couples being romantic, and all the pageantry that comes with a destination wedding. It’s a quick and mostly painless affair, though the rules of logic do go out the window once the drinks begin to flow. As long as you’re invested in the characters that fact won’t matter all that much, and it’s actually kind of impressive how well the film establishes the various people who populate this fictional world. You have the couple who has been together longer than everyone else’s longest relationship, the couple who have dated for way too long, the friends who have been around since birth, and the one awkward guy who is least known to the group (who, perhaps unsurprisingly, is also the most outrageous). Nothing in these characters is all that original, but for the purposes of this story it absolutely works.

As much as Drunk Wedding helps to expand the POV genre by proving real laughs can indeed be earned, there are some shortcomings that cannot be ignored. For instance, there is an inexplicable soundtrack to the entire film, despite being presented entirely through footage captured on home video cameras. There is also a noticeable lull in the progression of the story somewhere around the halfway point, as the narrative becomes as blurred as the vision of the drunken characters on screen. The need to highlight the act of partying in a film with a title like this one is not lost on me, but when the runtime is under 90 minutes there is no excuse for allowing the narrative to stall. The film does a fine job of balancing many stories, and even manages to create some dramatic tension, but then the bachelor/bachelorette festivities begin and all that goes out the window for a bit too long.

For the first time in a long time I feel like a new POV title may actually make people excited about the genre once again. Drunk Wedding is far from a comedy classic, but it does feature big laughs and adequate acting, which is more than the vast majority of comedic efforts released today can claim. Just sit back, turn off your brain, and enjoy the destination wedding you’ll probably never be invited to because your friends are neither as fun nor successful as those featured in this film. It’s worth your time.

GRADE: C+

Review written by: James Shotwell

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/05/28/movie-review-drunk-wedding-offers-cheap-pov-laughs/feed/ 0
UTG PHOTOS: Bled Fest in Howell, MI (5/23/15) http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/05/28/utg-photos-bledfest-in-howell-mi-52315/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/05/28/utg-photos-bledfest-in-howell-mi-52315/#comments Thu, 28 May 2015 14:30:41 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1151613 Under The Gun Review sent photographer, Benjamin Howell, to cover Big Love’s Education Festival on May 23, 2015 in Howell, MI.

Scattered throughout the Hartland Performing Arts Center in Howell, MI is one of the most exciting and engaging annual music festivals Michigan has to offer. With over 70 bands playing in a ten-hour period on five different stages, Bled Fest offers one of the most intimate and intense concert experiences for both fans and press alike.

No photo pits, no guard rails, and limited security interaction allows fans to get up close and personal with their favorite artists. As …

]]>
Under The Gun Review sent photographer, Benjamin Howell, to cover Big Love’s Education Festival on May 23, 2015 in Howell, MI.

Scattered throughout the Hartland Performing Arts Center in Howell, MI is one of the most exciting and engaging annual music festivals Michigan has to offer. With over 70 bands playing in a ten-hour period on five different stages, Bled Fest offers one of the most intimate and intense concert experiences for both fans and press alike.

No photo pits, no guard rails, and limited security interaction allows fans to get up close and personal with their favorite artists. As soon as one band finishes, another stage lights up and the next band goes on. It may sound like a recipe for disaster, but the increased trust from security at the venue has led to a loyal and respectful fanbase.

As a photographer, sometimes I have to take risks to get the perfect shot. Sometimes I go down trying. The first year I went to Bledfest I not only destroyed my body, but also destroyed some very expensive camera equipment. As I’ve continued to attend throughout the years, I’ve noticed more people offering me better shooting locations as well as better protection from random falling persons. That feeling of safety, that temporary brotherhood, if only for that set – that’s what makes Bledfest special.

Bled Fest 2015 was stacked with talented artists such as Chunk. No. Captain Chunk! and Hit The Lights who recently released new albums, as well as other extremely talented groups like Sudden Suspension who are simply looking to get the word out on their upcoming EP. I managed to cover 19 artists in total before the crowd became too thick for me to move through.

A gallery of my photos can be viewed below.


AVIATOR

aviator1 aviator2 aviator3 aviator4


KUBLAI KAHN

kk kk2 kk3 kk4


SUDDEN SUSPENSION

suddens4 suddens3 suddens2 suddens1


FOREVER CAME CALLING

fcc1 fcc2 fcc3 fcc4


HIT THE LIGHTS

htl1 htl2 htl3 htl4 htl5


IN HER OWN WORDS

ihow1 ihow2 ihow3


TO THE WIND

ttw1 ttw2 ttw3 ttw4


YOUNG AND HEARTLESS

yah1 yah2 yah3 yah4


CHUNK! NO, CAPTAIN CHUNK!

cncc1 cncc2 cncc3 cncc4 cncc5


RUN FOREVER

rf1 rf2 rf3 rf4


SQUID THE WHALE

stw1 stw2 stw3 stw4 stw5


SMALL PARKS

sp1 sp2


ROZWELL KID

rk1 rk2 rk3 rk4


AMERICAN OPERA

ao1 ao2


DIAMOND YOUTH

dy1 dy2 dy3 dy4


RESTORATIONS

rest1 rest2 rest3


SPRAYNARD

spray1 spray2 spray3


PIANOS BECOME THE TEETH

pbtt1 pbtt2 pbtt3 pbtt4 pbtt5 pbtt6


THE EARLY NOVEMBER

ten1 ten2 ten3 ten4 ]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/05/28/utg-photos-bledfest-in-howell-mi-52315/feed/ 0
Tyler, The Creator Hints That Odd Future Are “No More” http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/05/28/tyler-the-creator-hints-that-odd-future-are-no-more/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/05/28/tyler-the-creator-hints-that-odd-future-are-no-more/#comments Thu, 28 May 2015 13:45:38 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1151906 It’s hard to believe Odd Future are a group that only came onto the nation rap radar six years ago, but when that happened the crew seemed as tight as any the industry had seen before. Not only were they all friends, but they each possessed a unique take on hip-hop that allowed them to avoid ever sounding too redundant in their delivery. Now, it seems, we may never hear new material from the crew again.

Any fan of Odd Future could tell you it has been a minute since the group was seen together. After initially touring as a …

]]>
It’s hard to believe Odd Future are a group that only came onto the nation rap radar six years ago, but when that happened the crew seemed as tight as any the industry had seen before. Not only were they all friends, but they each possessed a unique take on hip-hop that allowed them to avoid ever sounding too redundant in their delivery. Now, it seems, we may never hear new material from the crew again.

Any fan of Odd Future could tell you it has been a minute since the group was seen together. After initially touring as a crew, not to mention featuring on one another’s records, the various members of Odd Future have slowly drifted apart while pursuing their individual tastes and interests. Earl has pushed the boundaries of mainstream hip-hop, while Tyler has become more eclectic than ever (both in rap and the number of additional, non-music projects he tackles). Domo Genesis still loves weed more than anyone you know, and Left Brain is just as wild as ever. I could go on, but I assume you get the idea by now that even though the various members of Odd Future are simply more mature versions of their former selves, something has changed in the dynamic between them, and last night Tyler, The Creator seemed to confirm the end of the group via Twitter. You can view the tweets in question below:

Then this morning, after news outlets began running headlines that OF were no more, Tyler posted:

There is a chance someone representing Odd Future will clarify Tyler’s comments as the day goes on, but right now no official statement regarding Odd Future has been released. Follow UTG on Twitter for updates.

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/05/28/tyler-the-creator-hints-that-odd-future-are-no-more/feed/ 0
Drake Drops Unreleased Freestyle During Detroit Performance http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/05/28/drake-drops-unreleased-freestyle-during-detroit-performance/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/05/28/drake-drops-unreleased-freestyle-during-detroit-performance/#comments Thu, 28 May 2015 13:28:10 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1151903 Warning: You probably aren’t ready for this.

Drake is not spending much of the summer on the road, but right now he’s currently joining Future on the far too short ‘Jungle’ tour that is hitting arenas nationwide. Last night the run stopped in Detroit at the Palace Of Auburn Hills, and the man behind Views From The Six decided to share something never before released with the crowd of thousands who had paid to see him perform. We weren’t there, but fortunately for us (and you), someone shot a video.

Now you’ve probably seen Drake freestyle before. His flow, though …

]]>
Warning: You probably aren’t ready for this.

Drake is not spending much of the summer on the road, but right now he’s currently joining Future on the far too short ‘Jungle’ tour that is hitting arenas nationwide. Last night the run stopped in Detroit at the Palace Of Auburn Hills, and the man behind Views From The Six decided to share something never before released with the crowd of thousands who had paid to see him perform. We weren’t there, but fortunately for us (and you), someone shot a video.

Now you’ve probably seen Drake freestyle before. His flow, though not as smooth as it typically is on records, always feels closer to poetry than what most consider hip-hop. His latest effort is no different, as Drake touches on the drawbacks to success, the isolation that comes with fame, and his complete inability to give a shit about what haters may think of his latest moves. The full freestyle, from what we can hear, goes something like this:

Thank you so so much for wearing your true colors to every single ****in’ function
had ni**as tell me to my face how we were family and how they love me
while they were schemin off the budget, now when I see em they the ones actin’ funny
people been reachin’ out to me but I’m on some straight on (?)responsive ****(?)
Look I would have so many friends if I didnt have money, success, and accomplishments
I would have so many friends if I held back the truth and just gave out compliments
I would have all of your fans if I didnt go pop and I stayed on some conscious ****
Man, I would have so many more friends if I lost my respect and my confidence
‘Cause im in the club every time that they play the competition
if they even play the competition
and I see no response they get, nobody’s even hearing it
on top of the pyramid, might go to Detroit and disappear again
My circle got so small that its a period, saying to myself….

Y’all better not come to my studio with that fake ****
Y’all better not come to my funeral with that fake ****
All I…All I…All I ever ask is that you keep it 100
Yall better not come to my studio with that fake ****
Yall better not come to my funeral with that fake ****
Your better off realizing there’s nothing you can do with me
All I ever ask is you keep it 8 more than 92 with me….100

You can view a fan-filmed video of the freestyle below. If you want to see Drake perform before he hits the studio to finish his upcoming album, click here for tour dates and ticket information.

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/05/28/drake-drops-unreleased-freestyle-during-detroit-performance/feed/ 0
Riot Fest Chicago 2015 Lineup Revealed http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/05/27/riot-fest-chicago-2015-lineup-revealed/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/05/27/riot-fest-chicago-2015-lineup-revealed/#comments Thu, 28 May 2015 01:27:55 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1151867 Christmas has moved from December to May this year, and tonight is the night Santa gives us all the one thing we have been demanding: The lineups for Riot Fest 2015.

The final lineup to be revealed tonight, May 27, was for the Chicago event, which takes place Sept. 11-13. Additional bands and details will be revealed in the coming months, but today’s news is certainly enough to warrant you spending every dollar you have to buy tickets as soon as possible. No Doubt, Iggy Pop, Snoop Dogg, and Coheed And Cambria are just a few of the names on …

]]>
Christmas has moved from December to May this year, and tonight is the night Santa gives us all the one thing we have been demanding: The lineups for Riot Fest 2015.

The final lineup to be revealed tonight, May 27, was for the Chicago event, which takes place Sept. 11-13. Additional bands and details will be revealed in the coming months, but today’s news is certainly enough to warrant you spending every dollar you have to buy tickets as soon as possible. No Doubt, Iggy Pop, Snoop Dogg, and Coheed And Cambria are just a few of the names on the list. View the full lineup from tonight’s reveal below.

We will be posting each city’s lineup as it’s revealed, so please keep checking back for additional updates throughout the evening. If you’re going to Chicago this September, comment below and let us know! We are currently looking into attending as well.

admat_chicago_final-web

RIOT FEST CHICAGO 2015 LINEUP

No Doubt, Modest Mouse, Faith No More, Iggy Pop, Snoop Dogg, Damian “Jr. Gong” Marley,
Motörhead, Rancid, Tenacious D, Billy Idol, Ice Cube & Guests, Alkaline Trio, Coheed & Cambria, Taking Back Sunday, Rodrigo y Gabriela, Drive Like Jehu, Merle Haggard, Flogging Molly, Slightly Stoopid, L7, Alexisonfire, Thrice, The Dirty Heads, Stephen “Ragga” Marley, The Academy Is…, The Lawrence Arms, Kongos, Cypress Hill, Echo & The Bunnymen, Bootsy Collins’s Rubber Band, The Devil Wears Prada, Yelawolf, Pennywise, The Airborne Toxic Event, Manchester Orchestra, Eagles Of Death Metal, Anthrax, De La Soul, The Damned, Andrew McMahon In The Wilderness, New Politics, Mayday Parade, Jimmy Cliff, Against Me!, Babes In Toyland, OK Go, Bayside, Mest, Andrew W.K., Desaparecidos, The Joy Formidable, The Dead Milkmen, Fidlar, Atreyu, Millencolin, American Nightmare, Swervedriver, Lee “Scratch” Perry, Gwar, Less Than Jake, The Expendables, Living Colour, The Thurston Moore Band, Morgan Heritage, Lifetime, Benjamin Booker, Fishbone, Death, Doomtree, Hum, Tarrus Riley, Mariachi El Bronx, Civ, Joyce Manor, Every Time I Die, The Movielife, The Dwarves, Tommy Stinson, Steve Ignorant & Paranoid Visions, Real Friends, The Dear Hunter, Kevin Devine, Mustard Plug, The Ataris, Jo Mersa, Into It. Over It., Alvvays, The White Buffalo, Black-Am-I, Skip Marley, Knuckle Puck, Post Malone with FKI, Jazz Cartier, Chef’Special, Marmozets, Modern Life Is War, Fit For Rivals, Barb Wire Dolls, The Coathangers, Flatfoot 56, Teenage Bottlerocket, Prayers, Chon, Counterpunch, Have Mercy, Speedy Ortiz, Superheaven, White Mystery, Foxing, Direct Hit!, Main Attrakionz, Ground Up, Skinny Lister, Beach Slang, Cayetana, Alex Wiley, Heems, Dirty Fences, Blis, Sleep On It, The Brokedowns, Meat Wave, Psalm One, Northern Faces, Dreamers, Souvenirs, Elway, Indian Handcrafts, Skating Polly, Signals Midwest, Modern Chemistry, Faulkner, Pears, Gateway Drugs, Tasha The Amazon, Foxtrott, Twin River, Clowns, Indian School, Die Selloutz, The Municipal Drainage Project & More to be Announced!

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/05/27/riot-fest-chicago-2015-lineup-revealed/feed/ 0
Riot Fest Denver 2015 Lineup Revealed http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/05/27/riot-fest-denver-2015-lineup-revealed/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/05/27/riot-fest-denver-2015-lineup-revealed/#comments Thu, 28 May 2015 00:08:34 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1151860 Christmas has moved from December to May this year, and tonight is the night Santa gives us all the one thing we have been demanding: The lineups for Riot Fest 2015.

The second lineup to be revealed tonight, May 27, was for the Denver event, which takes place August 28-30. Additional bands and details will be revealed in the coming months, but today’s news is certainly enough to warrant you spending every dollar you have to buy tickets as soon as possible. Pixies, Modest Mouse, Ice Cube, Tenacious D, and Run DMC are just a few of the names on …

]]>
Christmas has moved from December to May this year, and tonight is the night Santa gives us all the one thing we have been demanding: The lineups for Riot Fest 2015.

The second lineup to be revealed tonight, May 27, was for the Denver event, which takes place August 28-30. Additional bands and details will be revealed in the coming months, but today’s news is certainly enough to warrant you spending every dollar you have to buy tickets as soon as possible. Pixies, Modest Mouse, Ice Cube, Tenacious D, and Run DMC are just a few of the names on the list. View the full lineup from tonight’s reveal below.

We will be posting each city’s lineup as it’s revealed, so please keep checking back for additional updates throughout the evening. If you’re going to Denver this September, comment below and let us know! We are currently looking into attending as well.

RIOT FEST DENVER 2015 LINEUP

Modest Mouse, Pixies, Snoop Dogg, Iggy Pop, Tenacious D, Run DMC, Ice Cube & Special Guests, Rancid, Motörhead, Flogging Molly, Coheed and Cambria, Drive Like Jehu, L7, Explosions in the Sky, Kongos, Cypress Hill, Alkaline Trio, Thrice, Cold War Kids, The Airborne Toxic Event, Iration, Bootsy Collins’ Rubber Band, Yelawolf, Babes in Toyland, Anthrax, The Damned, Eagles of Death Metal, The Mighty Mighty Bosstones, GZA, OK Go, De La Soul, Testament, Desaparecidos, The Dead Milkmen, Nada Surf, The Lawrence Arms, Reverend Horton Heat, Andrew W.K., GWAR, The Black Lips, The Get Up Kids, American Nightmare, Bayside, Swervedriver, Millencolin, The Vandals, Less Than Jake, The Joy Formidable, Doomtree, Cloud Cult, 7 Seconds, OFF!, Benjamin Booker, Joyce Manor, The White Buffalo, Post Malone with FKI, Jazz Cartier, Teenage Bottlerocket, The Bunny Gang, Speedy Ortiz, PUP, Beach Slang, The Hotelier, Prayers, Fit For Rivals, Direct Hit!, The Moth & The Flame, Elway, Main Attrakionz, Cayetana, Broadway Calls, White Mystery, Skating Polly, Souvenirs, Northern Faces, Dreamers, PEARS, Meat Wave, Rozwell Kid, Sleep On It, Faulkner, Gateway Drugs, Daye Jack, Indian School

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/05/27/riot-fest-denver-2015-lineup-revealed/feed/ 0
Riot Fest Toronto 2015 Lineup Revealed http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/05/27/riot-fest-toronto-2015-lineup-revealed/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/05/27/riot-fest-toronto-2015-lineup-revealed/#comments Wed, 27 May 2015 23:11:17 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1151856 Christmas has moved from December to May this year, and tonight is the night Santa gives us all the one thing we have been demanding: The lineups for Riot Fest 2015.

The first lineup to be revealed tonight, May 27, was for the Toronto event, which takes place September 19-20. Additional bands and details will be revealed in the coming months, but today’s news is certainly enough to warrant you spending every dollar you have to buy tickets as soon as possible. Wu-Tang Clan, Frank Turner, Alexisonfire, and Thrice are just a few of the names on the list. View …

]]>
Christmas has moved from December to May this year, and tonight is the night Santa gives us all the one thing we have been demanding: The lineups for Riot Fest 2015.

The first lineup to be revealed tonight, May 27, was for the Toronto event, which takes place September 19-20. Additional bands and details will be revealed in the coming months, but today’s news is certainly enough to warrant you spending every dollar you have to buy tickets as soon as possible. Wu-Tang Clan, Frank Turner, Alexisonfire, and Thrice are just a few of the names on the list. View the full lineup from tonight’s reveal below.

We will be posting each city’s lineup as it’s revealed, so please keep checking back for additional updates throughout the evening. If you’re going to Toronto this September, comment below and let us know! We are currently looking into attending as well.

RIOT FEST TORONTO 2015 LINEUP

Alexisonfire, ????, ????, Wu-Tang Clan, Rancid, Motörhead, All Time Low, Tyler, The Creator, Coheed and Cambria, Atmosphere, Drive Like Jehu, Echo & the Bunnymen, Thrice, Frank Turner, Eagles Of Death Metal, Against Me!, Babes In Toyland, Yelawolf, The Airborne Toxic Event, The Joy Formidable, Andrew W.K., Bayside, GWAR, The Thurston Moore Band, FIDLAR, Doomtree, Jazz Cartier, D.O.A., Moneen, Die Mannequin Heat, OBGMs, Wildlife, Nova Rockafeller, The Dirty Nil, Indian Handcrafts, Like Pacific, The Dying Arts, Safe To Say, PARTYCAT, Willa, Tasha The Amazon, Rarity, Foxtrott, Twin River, Black Mastiff, and Tomahawk Love.

(Shoutout to Substream for the heads up.)

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/05/27/riot-fest-toronto-2015-lineup-revealed/feed/ 0
The Good Life Announce First New Album in 8 Years, Stream Lead Single http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/05/27/the-good-life-cursive-frontman-tim-kashers-brainchild-announce-new-album/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/05/27/the-good-life-cursive-frontman-tim-kashers-brainchild-announce-new-album/#comments Wed, 27 May 2015 21:19:18 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1151815 After eight long years of inactivity, Tim Kasher (also of Cursive) has decided to put some oil back in the old indie rock machine that is The Good Life. The band has just announced that they will be releasing a brand new record this summer via Saddle Creek.

Entitled Everybody’s Coming Down, the impending effort is slated for an August 14 release date, about eight years since the release of their last record, Help Wanted Nights. This will immediately be followed by a US tour alongside Big Harp set to run until early in September. In …

]]>
After eight long years of inactivity, Tim Kasher (also of Cursive) has decided to put some oil back in the old indie rock machine that is The Good Life. The band has just announced that they will be releasing a brand new record this summer via Saddle Creek.

Entitled Everybody’s Coming Down, the impending effort is slated for an August 14 release date, about eight years since the release of their last record, Help Wanted Nights. This will immediately be followed by a US tour alongside Big Harp set to run until early in September. In addition to the news of new music, the Omaha/Nebraska four-piece has also just released the first single off of the record entitled “Everybody.”

You can check the new song out below. Pre-orders for the record are now available here.

GD30OB2-N.cdr

08-15 Omaha, NE – Maha Music Festival
08-18 St. Paul, MN – Turf Club *
08-19 Chicago, IL – Lincoln Hall *
08-20 Ferndale, MI – Loving Touch *
08-21 Cleveland, OH – Grog Shop *
08-22 Washington, DC – Rock & Roll Hotel *
08-23 Philadelphia, PA – Boot & Saddle *
08-26 Boston, MA – The Sinclair *
08-27 New York, NY – Bowery Ballroom *
08-29 Carrboro, NC – Cat’s Cradle (Back Room) *
08-30 Atlanta, GA – The Earl *
09-01 Orlando, FL – The Social *
09-04 Nashville, TN – High Watt *
09-05 St. Louis, MO – Off Broadway *
09-06 Iowa City, IA – Gabes *
* with Big Harp

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/05/27/the-good-life-cursive-frontman-tim-kashers-brainchild-announce-new-album/feed/ 0
You Can Now Stream Four Year Strong’s Brand New Album In Full http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/05/27/you-can-now-stream-four-year-strongs-brand-new-album-in-full/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/05/27/you-can-now-stream-four-year-strongs-brand-new-album-in-full/#comments Wed, 27 May 2015 21:16:52 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1151812 Following their highly-anticipated, return-to-the-scene 2014 EP, Go Down In History, Four Year Strong make a very firm “we’re back and better than ever” statement in the form of their brand new full-length, self-titled record.

The Worcester, MA four-piece welcomed eleven killer tracks into their catalog, serving up some of their finest easycore material to date and transcending their music further and further to the top – proving more and more each day that musicians are always able to move past bad reception for an old release.

This record, which we just reviewed over the holiday weekend, is officially out …

]]>
Following their highly-anticipated, return-to-the-scene 2014 EP, Go Down In History, Four Year Strong make a very firm “we’re back and better than ever” statement in the form of their brand new full-length, self-titled record.

The Worcester, MA four-piece welcomed eleven killer tracks into their catalog, serving up some of their finest easycore material to date and transcending their music further and further to the top – proving more and more each day that musicians are always able to move past bad reception for an old release.

This record, which we just reviewed over the holiday weekend, is officially out digitally and physically on Tuesday, June 2, via Pure Noise. You can grab yourself a copy here.

You can listen to Four Year Strong in full below. Let us know what you think!

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/05/27/you-can-now-stream-four-year-strongs-brand-new-album-in-full/feed/ 0
Attalus Stream “Albatross,” You Make Room On Your AOTY List http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/05/27/attalus-stream-albatross-you-make-room-on-your-aoty-list/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/05/27/attalus-stream-albatross-you-make-room-on-your-aoty-list/#comments Wed, 27 May 2015 16:45:17 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1151803 On June 2, Raleigh, NC’s Attalus will be releasing one of the most ambitious and most impressive albums of 2015. Get prepared to fall in love and immerse yourself in a 16-track concept album entitled Into The Sea.

Today, the four-piece are streaming “Albatross,” the seventh track on their massive forthcoming release. Like a mixture of The Receiving End Of Sirens, Thrice, Emery and The Dear Hunter, Attalus offer up an easily accessible and highly enjoyable concoction of stellar, layered instrumentation, harmonious vocal layers, energetic choruses, and plenty of emotion. It really fills the hole TREOS has left in …

]]>
On June 2, Raleigh, NC’s Attalus will be releasing one of the most ambitious and most impressive albums of 2015. Get prepared to fall in love and immerse yourself in a 16-track concept album entitled Into The Sea.

Today, the four-piece are streaming “Albatross,” the seventh track on their massive forthcoming release. Like a mixture of The Receiving End Of Sirens, Thrice, Emery and The Dear Hunter, Attalus offer up an easily accessible and highly enjoyable concoction of stellar, layered instrumentation, harmonious vocal layers, energetic choruses, and plenty of emotion. It really fills the hole TREOS has left in our hearts since their disbanding years ago – but, Attalus aren’t a ripoff at all; they simply remind me of the great times I’ve spent listening to such bands over the years, getting lost in the lengthy epics that are Between The Heart and the Synapse or Act II: The Meaning of, and All Things Regarding Ms. Leading.

I’m telling you now, this is not a band or album you want to overlook this year. Into The Sea will be on several AOTY lists come the end of 2015 and I foresee it holding up for many years to come as such records have for years past. Stream their newest single below, along with two others from the album, and make sure to pre-order Into The Sea through Facedown Records before its release next week, June 2.

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/05/27/attalus-stream-albatross-you-make-room-on-your-aoty-list/feed/ 0
Watch Ben Howard Cover Jessie Ware’s “Wildest Moments” http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/05/27/watch-ben-howard-cover-jessie-wares-wildest-moments/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/05/27/watch-ben-howard-cover-jessie-wares-wildest-moments/#comments Wed, 27 May 2015 15:32:19 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1151768 A few days back, the outrageously talented Ben Howard stopped by BBC Radio 1, where he continued to blow our collective minds via an incredibly moving rendition of Jessie Ware’s “Wildest Moments.” Give it a listen after the break, and let us know if you’re a fan in the comments section below.

In the months ahead, the UK crooner will split his time between Europe and Australia before embarking on an extremely limited run alongside indie darlings Daughter. To see if he’ll be in your neck of the woods, hit up his official website.…

]]>
A few days back, the outrageously talented Ben Howard stopped by BBC Radio 1, where he continued to blow our collective minds via an incredibly moving rendition of Jessie Ware’s “Wildest Moments.” Give it a listen after the break, and let us know if you’re a fan in the comments section below.

In the months ahead, the UK crooner will split his time between Europe and Australia before embarking on an extremely limited run alongside indie darlings Daughter. To see if he’ll be in your neck of the woods, hit up his official website.

Additionally, if you haven’t yet made time for Howard’s phenomenal sophomore effort, I Forget Where We Were, I highly suggest you do. It’s wonderful.

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/05/27/watch-ben-howard-cover-jessie-wares-wildest-moments/feed/ 0
UTG INTERVIEW: The Technicolors Talk Tour, Joining 8123 and Their New EP http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/05/27/utg-interview-the-technicolors-talk-tour-joining-8123-and-their-new-ep/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/05/27/utg-interview-the-technicolors-talk-tour-joining-8123-and-their-new-ep/#comments Wed, 27 May 2015 14:44:32 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1151600 Having recently released their stellar debut EP, Ultraviolet Disguise, 81twentythree’s very own The Technicolors set out on a full U.S. tour alongside label-mates The Maine, Real Friends, and Knuckle Puck.

Under The Gun got to catch up with the Phoenix natives before they played their New York City show.

The garage rock/90s Brit-pop-inspired three-piece talked with us about the inception of the band, how much they love being on tour, and their favorite cities thus far. Head below to get acquainted with them.

UTG: Hi, guys! Before we get started, can you go around and

]]>
Having recently released their stellar debut EP, Ultraviolet Disguise, 81twentythree’s very own The Technicolors set out on a full U.S. tour alongside label-mates The Maine, Real Friends, and Knuckle Puck.

Under The Gun got to catch up with the Phoenix natives before they played their New York City show.

The garage rock/90s Brit-pop-inspired three-piece talked with us about the inception of the band, how much they love being on tour, and their favorite cities thus far. Head below to get acquainted with them.

UTG: Hi, guys! Before we get started, can you go around and say your names and what you do for the band?

Brennan Smiley: I’m Brennan, I do vocals and guitar.

Troy Lowney: I’m Troy, I play keys.

Mike (Nico) Nicolette: I’m Nico, I play bass.

UTG: How are you guys liking tour so far?

BS: It’s been really awesome. Kind of a whirlwind in a good way. We’ve never been on a tour this big before.

TL: I love it, too.

BS: All about the road life.

MN: I don’t wanna go home!

UTG: You guys got a day off yesterday. Did you do anything fun?

BS: Yeah, we went in and saw some friends from Arizona and we went into Bushwick and hung out.

TL: Then we went to the village after that. Alphabet City. Lower East Side. Went to all of those places and spent all of our money.

BS: It’s all gone. [laughs]

UTG: Do you guys have a particular favorite show yet?

TL: I did have a surprisingly great time in Phoenix. That was our first show. It was a hometown one. It’s the most memorable one for me. Toronto was really awesome, too. Good show.

BS: Toronto was maybe my favorite, too. That or Boston.

MN: Yeah, I was gonna say Boston.

UTG: Did you guys enjoy the food anywhere particular?

BS: Something that stands out is this Korean barbecue joint in Los Angeles.

TL: Yeah! And we’ve had a bunch of Viet food from all over.

UTG: So you, Brennan, started out as an acoustic solo endeavor of sorts, right?

BS: Yeah. The band was built out of the progression of me trying to learn to write songs. Once that was there, I kept wanting to do more. Playing locally, there isn’t really much you can do alone on an acoustic guitar. At least at that time. It kind of kept growing and growing. We became a band and started booking our own tours.

UTG: When did you bring everybody else on board?

BS: Not too long after. Right after I graduated high school in 2008, I started writing demos and stuff. My dad sort of inspired me to go into it. And then shortly after it turned into a full band thing, then from there on out it became The Technicolors. That whole thing transpired within about two years.

UTG: So from that, I’m assuming you do all the songwriting?

BS: Yeah. I do the lyrics and the tune and bring it to the boys and we work it out and transform it into something different.

UTG: How would you describe your overall sound in terms of your new EP?

BS: Uh.. I would say “sneaky.”

TL: Yeah, that’s exactly what we were going for.

MN: It’s very spy-esque.

BS: We’ve always been a band rooted in rock and roll and elements of that, but we’ve always tried to reach outside that box and have a good time. The people we were working with allowed for that to happen.

UTG: This EP is called Ultraviolet Disguise, correct?

BS: Yup, that’s correct.

technicolors ep

UTG: What’s behind that title?

BS: It’s actually a lyric from one of our songs, “Tonight You Are Mine,” and it just felt very appropriate to name the EP after it. For me, I felt like I reached the point where I was comfortable enough to write new things without it feeling trite or like I was putting on a façade. It was very reflective of everything happening in our lives. The name framed this body of work pretty well.

UTG: When I look at the artwork and listen to the music, it definitely goes with each other very well.

B: Oh yeah, for sure. There’s not really a story behind it, but we have a friend who’s a talented photographer and a great musician in this band called The Chain Game of 1974 and we sent him the tunes and he snapped a few photos. I’m very sensitive to things like aesthetic and what you would imagine listening to the songs. This one happened to work really well.

UTG: How did you guys get on board with 81twentythree?

BS: We’ve kind of just always known people within the crew. Being in Arizona, there really isn’t much happening musically. They happened to be there and we were in a massive transition period. It all clicked together and it was really natural and exciting.

TL: It was like early last summer.

UTG: What are you guys looking forward to for the rest of the year?

BS: More touring.

MN: More music to be put out, hopefully.

UTG: Are we aiming for a full-length?

TL: We’re not really sure, but we’re definitely trying to sneak it in there. Keep it “sneaky,” you know? [laughs]

BS: Yeah. We’re definitely going to write and record more in between the touring. We don’t know what that’ll turn into, but it’ll be something.

UTG: If you guys could get anyone in the world to listen to Ultraviolet Disguise, who would it be?

MN: Wow. Um, I’d say Maynard Keenan. The lead singer of Tool. He’s the biggest critic in the world. If that dude likes our music, I’m happy.

TL: I’d have to go with Dave Mustaine (Megadeth). I’d love for him to hear our stuff. I think he’d enjoy it.

BS: Peter Frampton. That would be a moment.

 

Interview written and conducted by Dana Reandelar
‘Ultraviolet Disguise’ was officially released on April 7. Digital copies are available here.

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/05/27/utg-interview-the-technicolors-talk-tour-joining-8123-and-their-new-ep/feed/ 0
First ‘End Of The Tour’ Trailer Is Wonderful (And Sad) http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/05/27/first-end-of-the-tour-trailer-is-wonderful-and-sad/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/05/27/first-end-of-the-tour-trailer-is-wonderful-and-sad/#comments Wed, 27 May 2015 14:24:02 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1151750 David Foster Wallace spent a part of his life as the most famous writer in America, but whether or not he reveled in the attention is another story altogether. The End Of The Tour, which A24 will release this summer, tells the story of a young man (Jesse Eisenberg) who follows Wallace (Jason Segel) during the tail end of a book tour. He’s there to write about the man everyone loves to read, but as the first trailer reveals he’s really embarking on the biggest journey of his life.

I had a chance to see …

]]>
David Foster Wallace spent a part of his life as the most famous writer in America, but whether or not he reveled in the attention is another story altogether. The End Of The Tour, which A24 will release this summer, tells the story of a young man (Jesse Eisenberg) who follows Wallace (Jason Segel) during the tail end of a book tour. He’s there to write about the man everyone loves to read, but as the first trailer reveals he’s really embarking on the biggest journey of his life.

I had a chance to see The End Of The Tour back in April and completely blew it, so as soon as I watched the trailer below, I immediately wished time travel for the sole purpose of enjoying yet to be released feature films was a thing that actually existed. It doesn’t, unfortunately, so we all just have to wait until July 31 when the film arrives in theaters to fully appreciate just how compelling the performances by the two leads in this movie actually are. Early reports — including one from our own Sam Cohen — claim this film could easily crack many people’s top 10 of the year, and the first trailer makes it seem that is 100% true. You can view the footage below.

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/05/27/first-end-of-the-tour-trailer-is-wonderful-and-sad/feed/ 0
Refused Stream Second ‘Freedom’ Single, “Françafrique” http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/05/27/refused-stream-second-freedom-single-francafrique/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/05/27/refused-stream-second-freedom-single-francafrique/#comments Wed, 27 May 2015 14:20:09 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1151668 On June 30, Refused will unleash Freedom, their first new album in nearly two decades. In anticipation, the Swedish four-piece have begun streaming a poignant new track titled “Françafrique.”

Though considerably “lighter” than the previously released “Elektra,” the hardcore titans’ latest offering is no less affecting, drawing its power from the vivid imagery of frontman Dennis Lyxzén. Some exceptional guitar work further adds to the fun, and over the course of five minutes it becomes increasingly clear that, even after 17 years, Refused are still willing to take risks that most of their peers wouldn’t dream of. …

]]>
On June 30, Refused will unleash Freedom, their first new album in nearly two decades. In anticipation, the Swedish four-piece have begun streaming a poignant new track titled “Françafrique.”

Though considerably “lighter” than the previously released “Elektra,” the hardcore titans’ latest offering is no less affecting, drawing its power from the vivid imagery of frontman Dennis Lyxzén. Some exceptional guitar work further adds to the fun, and over the course of five minutes it becomes increasingly clear that, even after 17 years, Refused are still willing to take risks that most of their peers wouldn’t dream of. If “Françafrique” is a sign of things to come, then color me excited.

Check out the track below, and pre-order Freedom here.

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/05/27/refused-stream-second-freedom-single-francafrique/feed/ 0
Netflix Renews Its Best New Show, ‘Grace And Frankie’ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/05/27/netflix-renews-its-best-new-show-grace-and-frankie/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/05/27/netflix-renews-its-best-new-show-grace-and-frankie/#comments Wed, 27 May 2015 14:11:37 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1151737 A lot has been written about Netflix and its attempts to add a large amount of original programming to their streaming service in 2015. Most shows have been a hit (Daredevil, House of Cards, OITNB), but others have struggled to find the immediate fandom others seem to have so easily acquired (Bloodline, Marco Polo).

This week, Netflix announced that it has decided to renew its most recent original offering, Grace and Frankie, for at least a second season. If Billboard is to be believed, it’s likely fans of the show have Miley

]]>
A lot has been written about Netflix and its attempts to add a large amount of original programming to their streaming service in 2015. Most shows have been a hit (Daredevil, House of Cards, OITNB), but others have struggled to find the immediate fandom others seem to have so easily acquired (Bloodline, Marco Polo).

This week, Netflix announced that it has decided to renew its most recent original offering, Grace and Frankie, for at least a second season. If Billboard is to be believed, it’s likely fans of the show have Miley Cyrus to thank for this decision, as writer Jocelyn Vena explains:

Looking to get your show renewed? You might hope that Miley Cyrus tweets about it.

After the pop star headed to social media to rave about the Netflix comedy, ‘Grace and Frankie,’ earlier this week, it’s now been confirmed that the show will be back for a second season in 2016. And, it looks like that Cyrus tweet may have had something to do with it.

“Let me say, it’s so awesome to do a show on Netflix,” the show’s co-creator Marta Kauffman said in a statement, via Vulture. “Because two and a half weeks after we launched, Miley Cyrus does a tweet about your show, and they call and say, ‘We’d like to do a season two.’ So yes, there is a season two. We have [head of content acquisition for Netflix] Ted [Sarandos] and Miley to thank.”

If you haven’t watched Grace And Frankie yet, the show follows two hilarious older women (Jane Fonda and Lily Tomlin) as they are forced to begin a new chapter in life after their husbands reveal they are homosexuals – and in love with one another. That may sound like the setup to a very cheesy sitcom, but what actually unfolds is a complex tale of self-discovery in the latter half of life. It’s equal amounts heartbreaking and laugh out loud hilarious, with pitch perfect performances from everyone involved. If you don’t have plans this weekend, you might as well stay in and get caught up. You can view a trailer for the series below.

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/05/27/netflix-renews-its-best-new-show-grace-and-frankie/feed/ 0
Every Time I Die Announce US Summer Tour http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/05/27/every-time-i-die-announce-us-summer-tour/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/05/27/every-time-i-die-announce-us-summer-tour/#comments Wed, 27 May 2015 13:48:05 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1151719 After recently having wrapped up a month-long run with The Used, Buffalo metalcore outfit Every Time I Die are once again heading out on the road this summer, still in support of their 2014 full-length record, From Parts Unknown, and Record Store Day EP release, Salem.

Set to kick off late July in Richmond, VA, the band will also be joined by Real Friends, Counterparts, Brigades, Gnarwolves, and Gathers. “With so many multi-band tours covering so much ground these next few summer months, it was important for us to be a part of …

]]>
After recently having wrapped up a month-long run with The Used, Buffalo metalcore outfit Every Time I Die are once again heading out on the road this summer, still in support of their 2014 full-length record, From Parts Unknown, and Record Store Day EP release, Salem.

Set to kick off late July in Richmond, VA, the band will also be joined by Real Friends, Counterparts, Brigades, Gnarwolves, and Gathers. “With so many multi-band tours covering so much ground these next few summer months, it was important for us to be a part of something that would not only excite us but be able to satisfy a wide range of musical tastes,” frontman Keith Buckley shares.

VIP tickets are now on sale here. General admission tickets will go on sale this Friday at 10AM local time. You can check out the full tour poster and a complete list of dates below.

etid

07/23 Richmond, VA – The National
07/24 Greensboro, NC – Greene Street
07/25 Wilmington, NC – Ziggy’s By The Sea
07/26 Atlanta, GA – Centerstage
07/27 Orlando, FL – Venue 578
07/29 Houston, TX – Scout Bar
07/30 San Antonio, TX – Alamo City Music Hall
07/31 El Paso, TX – Tricky Falls
08/01 Tucson, AZ – Rialto Theatre
08/02 Riverside, CA – Riverside Municipal Auditorium
08/03 Santa Cruz, CA – The Catalyst
08/04 Reno, NV – Knitting Factory
08/07 Colorado Springs, CO – The Black Sheep
08/08 Lincoln, NE – Bourbon Theatre
08/09 St. Louis, MO – The Ready Room
08/10 Bloomington, IL – The Castle Theatre
08/11 Louisville, KY – Mercury Ballroom
08/12 Grand Rapids, MI – The Intersection
08/13 Pontiac, MI – The Crofoot Ballroom
08/14 London, ON – London Music Hall
08/15 Syracuse, NY – Lost Horizon
08/16 Patchogue, NY – The Emporium
08/18 Burlington, VT – Higher Ground
08/19 New Haven, CT – College Street Music Hall
08/20 Sayreville, NJ – Starland Ballroom
08/21 Philadelphia, PA – Theatre of Living Arts
08/22 Poughkeepsie, NY – The Chance Theater

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/05/27/every-time-i-die-announce-us-summer-tour/feed/ 0
Bon Iver Will Return This Summer http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/05/27/bon-iver-will-return-this-summer/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/05/27/bon-iver-will-return-this-summer/#comments Wed, 27 May 2015 13:45:08 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1151727 In the four years since Bon Iver exited the spotlight, many fans have wondered if the critically adored folk group would ever bless the world with another release. It’s a fear and worry that started when — in an interview with Australia’s Triple J radio while promoting his Volcano Choir album — group mastermind Justin Vernon said, “I don’t really write songs anymore… I really have to be in a specific headspace to even begin to illuminate an idea that would create another Bon Iver record, and I’m just not there.” You felt it, and I know I did too.…

]]>
In the four years since Bon Iver exited the spotlight, many fans have wondered if the critically adored folk group would ever bless the world with another release. It’s a fear and worry that started when — in an interview with Australia’s Triple J radio while promoting his Volcano Choir album — group mastermind Justin Vernon said, “I don’t really write songs anymore… I really have to be in a specific headspace to even begin to illuminate an idea that would create another Bon Iver record, and I’m just not there.” You felt it, and I know I did too.

That was then and this is now, and the Justin Vernon of today has a completely different message for the world. During a recent interview with Minneapolis’ KARE 11, Vernon revealed that he’ll get the band back together for a headlining set at the inaugural Eaux Claires Music & Arts Festival, to be held in Vernon’s native Wisconsin from July 17-18. “It’s the perfect platform for us to be like, ‘This is how we’re starting this new cycle, new life of the band,’” he said. “It makes so much sense to start it here.”

The National, Sufjan Stevens and The Tallest Man on Earth are also set to appear at Eaux Claires Music and Arts Festival. Visit the festival’s website for ticket and travel information.

Details of the performance have yet to be confirmed by the band’s management or PR, but if Vernon says that the plan is to reunite at Eaux Claire then we are certainly not going to argue otherwise. We’ll bring you more news on the return of Bon Iver as soon as additional information becomes available.

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/05/27/bon-iver-will-return-this-summer/feed/ 0