Under the Gun Review http://www.underthegunreview.net Entertainment news for today's generation Wed, 20 Aug 2014 08:24:13 +0000 en-US hourly 1 http://wordpress.org/?v=3.9 Faith No More, Soundgarden and Slipknot to Headline Soundwave 2015 http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/20/faith-no-more-soundgarden-and-slipknot-to-headline-soundwave-2015/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/20/faith-no-more-soundgarden-and-slipknot-to-headline-soundwave-2015/#comments Wed, 20 Aug 2014 08:18:30 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1127285 Australia’s heavy music festival monolith, Soundwave, has made a mammoth lineup announcement for 2015 with Faith No More, Soundgarden, Slipknot, Incubus, Marilyn Manson and several other renowned acts leading arguably the festival’s strongest billing yet.

Expanding to a two-day format for the first time in 2015, Soundwave will take place in four cities across two weekends, with every act playing in each city on an alternating schedule that organizers have simply labelled ‘Day One’ and ‘Day Two.’

The first of what festival organizer AJ Maddah promises will be many lineup announcements for the 2015 festival was made on Wednesday …

]]>
Australia’s heavy music festival monolith, Soundwave, has made a mammoth lineup announcement for 2015 with Faith No More, Soundgarden, Slipknot, Incubus, Marilyn Manson and several other renowned acts leading arguably the festival’s strongest billing yet.

Expanding to a two-day format for the first time in 2015, Soundwave will take place in four cities across two weekends, with every act playing in each city on an alternating schedule that organizers have simply labelled ‘Day One’ and ‘Day Two.’

The first of what festival organizer AJ Maddah promises will be many lineup announcements for the 2015 festival was made on Wednesday morning Australian time. A full schedule of dates, ticket details and the official bill poster can can be found below.

Day One features: Faith No More, Soundgarden, Incubus, Lamb Of God, Antemasque, Ministry, Gerard Way, Mayhem, New Found Glory, Fear Factory, Hollywood Undead, Atreyu, The Aquabats, Area-7, Godflesh, Crown The Empire, The Interrupters, Icon For Hire, Emily’s Army, Patent Pending, Fireworks, The Bennies, The Color Morale, Monuments, Nothing More, Deathstars, Ne Obliviscaris, The Treatment

Day Two features: Slipknot, Slash, Marilyn Manson, Fall Out Boy, Judas Priest, Godsmack, All Time Low, Papa Roach, Of Mice & Men, Escape The Fate, Apocalyptica, Lagwagon, Tonight Alive, Crossfaith, Butcher Babies, Confession, The Swellers, Conditions, Coldrain, King 810, Dayshell, This Wild Life.

DATES AND VENUES:
SATURDAY 21 FEBRUARY & SUNDAY 22 FEBRUARY, 2015
Bonython Park, Adelaide

SATURDAY 21 FEBRUARY & SUNDAY 22 FEBRUARY, 2015
Flemington Racecourse, Melbourne

SATURDAY 28 FEBRUARY & SUNDAY 1 MARCH, 2015
Olympic Park, Sydney

SATURDAY 28 FEBRUARY & SUNDAY 1 MARCH, 2015
Brisbane Showgrounds, Brisbane

There will be a Soundwave members pre-sale on Friday, August 22 from midday (AEST) for the two-day passes while general public tickets of both the single and two-day variety will be on sale Friday, August 29 at 9am (AEST)

For more Soundwave 2015 information, visit www.soundwavefestival.com

soundwave

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/20/faith-no-more-soundgarden-and-slipknot-to-headline-soundwave-2015/feed/ 0
STAND-UP TUESDAYS: Tim McIntire http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/19/stand-up-tuesdays-tim-mcintire/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/19/stand-up-tuesdays-tim-mcintire/#comments Tue, 19 Aug 2014 22:48:27 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1127277 Stand-Up Tuesdays is a weekly comedy spotlight written by the wonderfully talented Angie Frissore. Covering both known and unknown comics, Stand-up Tuesdays is your new source for all things funny.

This week, Angie puts a spotlight on Tim McIntire’s comedy career. If you or your comedy troupe would like to be featured on Stand-Up Tuesdays, please email utgjames@gmail.com.

This week in Stand-Up Tuesdays, we take a little trip down memory lane and pay homage to the 2006 self-released comedy album from Boston’s Tim McIntire, Scatterbrain. Recorded at the legendary Comedy Studio in Cambridge, MA, Scatterbrain offers not only …

]]>
Stand-Up Tuesdays is a weekly comedy spotlight written by the wonderfully talented Angie Frissore. Covering both known and unknown comics, Stand-up Tuesdays is your new source for all things funny.

This week, Angie puts a spotlight on Tim McIntire’s comedy career. If you or your comedy troupe would like to be featured on Stand-Up Tuesdays, please email utgjames@gmail.com.

This week in Stand-Up Tuesdays, we take a little trip down memory lane and pay homage to the 2006 self-released comedy album from Boston’s Tim McIntire, Scatterbrain. Recorded at the legendary Comedy Studio in Cambridge, MA, Scatterbrain offers not only an hour of sharp, intelligent hilarity, but includes an absolutely delightful little treat: McIntire’s nightmare set from hell, aptly titled, “Nagasaki.” As McIntire warned me, “The bonus track takes a strong heart to make it through.”

McIntire quickly addresses the elephant in the room upon taking the stage, pointing out his obvious resemblance to the Nazi in Raiders of the Lost Ark, before diving into his witty tales of fatherhood, marriage, and which Queer Eye guy he’d want to date (obviously Ted). His comedic style has a healthy mix of awkwardness and relatability, which can be incredibly difficult to pull off: you might squirm during his in-depth description of the birth of his second child, but you are still inclined to trust McIntire to lead you out of chaos if need be. He maintains a delicate control that creates an intimate connection between him and his audience, leaving you almost wanting to stick around and have a drink with the guy.

“My four-year-old is at that place now where he’s smart enough and articulate enough to ask the difficult questions: ‘what does it mean that Grandma died?’ or ‘where do babies come from?’ or ‘are people who put yellow ribbons on Humvees incapable of understanding the irony or are they just fucking douchebags?’” McIntire quips.

I’m not sure if it’s possible to be both socially responsible and punk rock at the same time on stage, but McIntire is as close as they come. His humor is fuelled by knowledge, but he doesn’t take a preachy approach to his material – the world is a messed up place, so let’s join McIntire as he narrates the crazy ride we’re all on.

Originally from Colorado, McIntire quickly made a name for himself in the Boston comedy scene, a name which was cemented in the scene’s history when he co-owned the beloved Mottley’s Comedy Club in Boston’s Faneuil Hall. He’s truly a fan favorite and a comedic force to be reckoned with that you should really get to know.

Tim McIntire’s Scatterbrain is available to download, and should be downloaded. Come for the main show, but be sure to stick around for that bonus track – if you have the muster.

GRADE: B+

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/19/stand-up-tuesdays-tim-mcintire/feed/ 0
Simon Pegg & Nick Frost to Get Animated as Their ‘Shaun Of The Dead’ Characters in ‘Phineas And Ferb’ Halloween Special http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/19/simon-pegg-nick-frost-to-get-animated-as-their-shaun-of-the-dead-characters-in-phineas-and-ferb-halloween-special/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/19/simon-pegg-nick-frost-to-get-animated-as-their-shaun-of-the-dead-characters-in-phineas-and-ferb-halloween-special/#comments Tue, 19 Aug 2014 21:36:46 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1127270 If you’re at all into cartoons and have never watched the Disney Channel’s Phineas and Ferb, I highly suggest you give it a shot. Alongside the ridiculously awesome and hilarious Gravity Falls, Phineas and Ferb is top-notch animated entertainment.

Anyway, as we typically don’t feature television news on Under The Gun, this bit involves one of our favorite films, so we figured it was worth the piece. Shaun Of The Dead will be turning 10 next month, which may or may not have anything to do with this, but Simon Pegg and Nick Frost will be reprising their …

]]>
If you’re at all into cartoons and have never watched the Disney Channel’s Phineas and Ferb, I highly suggest you give it a shot. Alongside the ridiculously awesome and hilarious Gravity Falls, Phineas and Ferb is top-notch animated entertainment.

Anyway, as we typically don’t feature television news on Under The Gun, this bit involves one of our favorite films, so we figured it was worth the piece. Shaun Of The Dead will be turning 10 next month, which may or may not have anything to do with this, but Simon Pegg and Nick Frost will be reprising their roles as Shaun and Ed, respectively, in animated form, for the upcoming Phineas and Ferb Halloween special, entitled “Night of the Living Pharmacist.” As /Film points out, Pegg has been involved with the cartoon series before, most notably voicing Star Wars‘ C-3PO in the Phineas and Ferb: Star Wars crossover from this Summer. So as far as we can tell, that’s the only link that seems to have spurred this unlikely combination of Disney kids’ cartoon and British zombie rom-com from 2004.

After the jump you can view a tweet from Pegg announcing the news along with a bit of info regarding the Halloween episode.

The Phineas and Ferb Wiki page gives a brief synopsis: “Doofenshmirtz is hit by a curse that makes him turn anyone he touches into a clone of himself.”

We’re expecting obvious zombie related themes and hope that Shaun and Ed join forces with Phineas and Ferb (or Agent P) for a good portion of the episode. We’ll find out when it airs sometime around Halloween.

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/19/simon-pegg-nick-frost-to-get-animated-as-their-shaun-of-the-dead-characters-in-phineas-and-ferb-halloween-special/feed/ 0
Moose Blood Premiere Video For “Swim Down” http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/19/moose-blood-premiere-video-for-swim-down/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/19/moose-blood-premiere-video-for-swim-down/#comments Tue, 19 Aug 2014 20:13:15 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1127264 Moose Blood have premiered a video for their fantastic new track “Swim Down,” over at AbsolutePunk.

“Swim Down” is a bright, upbeat tune, highlighting the band’s keen sense for musicianship and songwriting, as well as showcasing their vocal pipes. Reminiscent of your favorite emo bands with a greater sense of pop and energy, Moose Blood’s upcoming debut album, I’ll Keep You In Mind, From Time To Time, is sure to resonate strongly with fans of the genre, and hopefully others as well.

Head over to AbsolutePunk, or follow us after the jump to check out the new …

]]>
Moose Blood have premiered a video for their fantastic new track “Swim Down,” over at AbsolutePunk.

“Swim Down” is a bright, upbeat tune, highlighting the band’s keen sense for musicianship and songwriting, as well as showcasing their vocal pipes. Reminiscent of your favorite emo bands with a greater sense of pop and energy, Moose Blood’s upcoming debut album, I’ll Keep You In Mind, From Time To Time, is sure to resonate strongly with fans of the genre, and hopefully others as well.

Head over to AbsolutePunk, or follow us after the jump to check out the new track, and be sure to pre-order the record from No Sleep here.

Be sure to blast the ending of the track, for on this breezy Boston afternoon I found it a fitting companion to aid in the transition of summer to autumn. Enjoy.

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/19/moose-blood-premiere-video-for-swim-down/feed/ 1
Watch The Latest Trailer for Brad Pitt’s ‘Fury’ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/19/watch-the-latest-trailer-for-brad-pitts-fury/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/19/watch-the-latest-trailer-for-brad-pitts-fury/#comments Tue, 19 Aug 2014 19:50:15 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1127245 Recently, a new trailer has arrived for this Fall’s World War II drama, Fury, a story of an American tank team entering Germany during the final months of the war.

The film, which hits theatres on October 17, stars Brad Pitt as a tank sergeant nick-named “Wardaddy,” leading his five-man crew on a dangerous mission into enemy territory. Alongside Pitt are familiar faces including Logan Lerman, Shia LeBeouf and Jon Bernthal, who must fend off an overwhelming German opposition in their Sherman tank.

You can check out the official second peek at Fury and Brad Pitt’s trendy haircut below …

]]>
Recently, a new trailer has arrived for this Fall’s World War II drama, Fury, a story of an American tank team entering Germany during the final months of the war.

The film, which hits theatres on October 17, stars Brad Pitt as a tank sergeant nick-named “Wardaddy,” leading his five-man crew on a dangerous mission into enemy territory. Alongside Pitt are familiar faces including Logan Lerman, Shia LeBeouf and Jon Bernthal, who must fend off an overwhelming German opposition in their Sherman tank.

You can check out the official second peek at Fury and Brad Pitt’s trendy haircut below the jump.

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/19/watch-the-latest-trailer-for-brad-pitts-fury/feed/ 0
Sleepwave Share New Track “The Wolf” http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/19/sleepwave-share-new-track-the-wolf/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/19/sleepwave-share-new-track-the-wolf/#comments Tue, 19 Aug 2014 19:33:50 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1127251 Spencer Chamberlain and his new band, Sleepwave, are riding heavy on a momentum train, and it’s on a collision course with fans everywhere. They are currently on tour with Nothing More and sparking life in fans everywhere.

Two weeks ago we got the video for “Through the Looking Glass,” and now they have given us a new track off Broken Compass called “The Wolf.” The song is available for streaming on services like Spotify, you can also pre-order the album via iTunes now, and you’ll get the track.

The energy is heavy throughout the whole song and there’s …

]]>
Spencer Chamberlain and his new band, Sleepwave, are riding heavy on a momentum train, and it’s on a collision course with fans everywhere. They are currently on tour with Nothing More and sparking life in fans everywhere.

Two weeks ago we got the video for “Through the Looking Glass,” and now they have given us a new track off Broken Compass called “The Wolf.” The song is available for streaming on services like Spotify, you can also pre-order the album via iTunes now, and you’ll get the track.

The energy is heavy throughout the whole song and there’s even some screaming that will tickle the fancy of Underoath fans. This song comes personally recommended, as this was the stand out track when I was fortunate enough to catch them live. UTG also got some great insider info about the song from Chamberlain himself in an exclusive interview.

Check out the song below and don’t forget to pre-order it, available here and here. Stay tuned to UTG for any more news regarding Sleepwave.

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/19/sleepwave-share-new-track-the-wolf/feed/ 0
Listen To Opeth’s Eleventh Studio Album, ‘Pale Communion,’ In Full http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/19/listen-to-opeths-eleventh-studio-album-pale-communion-in-full/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/19/listen-to-opeths-eleventh-studio-album-pale-communion-in-full/#comments Tue, 19 Aug 2014 18:00:07 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1127237 Progressive metal outfit Opeth will officially unleash their eleventh studio album, Pale Communion, next week via Roadrunner Records. As a surprise for fans though, the band teamed up with Pitchfork to stream the album in its entirety a little bit early. You can give it a listen by heading right here.

Last week the band announced they will be heading out on a co-headlining tour with In Flames. Be sure to check out their Facebook page for a full list of upcoming tour dates to see if they will be heading to a city near you.…

]]>
Progressive metal outfit Opeth will officially unleash their eleventh studio album, Pale Communion, next week via Roadrunner Records. As a surprise for fans though, the band teamed up with Pitchfork to stream the album in its entirety a little bit early. You can give it a listen by heading right here.

Last week the band announced they will be heading out on a co-headlining tour with In Flames. Be sure to check out their Facebook page for a full list of upcoming tour dates to see if they will be heading to a city near you.

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/19/listen-to-opeths-eleventh-studio-album-pale-communion-in-full/feed/ 0
Vinyl Theatre Sign To Fueled By Ramen, Announce Debut Album, ‘Electrogram’ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/19/vinyl-theatre-sign-to-fueled-by-ramen-announce-debut-album-electrogram/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/19/vinyl-theatre-sign-to-fueled-by-ramen-announce-debut-album-electrogram/#comments Tue, 19 Aug 2014 17:59:09 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1127233 Earlier in the day, Milwaukee, Wisconsin’s Vinyl Theatre announced that they have officially joined the Fueled By Ramen family, with plans to release their debut full-length, Electrogram, on September 23. This newest offering will act as a follow-up to the outfit’s delightfully infectious EP, Gold, and can be pre-ordered here.

In addition, the alt-pop four-piece will also be joining their new labelmates Twenty One Pilots on the Quiet Is Viølent world tour this fall. For routing and ticket info, hit up the band’s Facebook.

With a synth-heavy sound and an excess of radio-ready refrains, Vinyl Theatre will …

]]>
Earlier in the day, Milwaukee, Wisconsin’s Vinyl Theatre announced that they have officially joined the Fueled By Ramen family, with plans to release their debut full-length, Electrogram, on September 23. This newest offering will act as a follow-up to the outfit’s delightfully infectious EP, Gold, and can be pre-ordered here.

In addition, the alt-pop four-piece will also be joining their new labelmates Twenty One Pilots on the Quiet Is Viølent world tour this fall. For routing and ticket info, hit up the band’s Facebook.

With a synth-heavy sound and an excess of radio-ready refrains, Vinyl Theatre will surely feel right at home amongst Fun., Cobra Starship, and the rest of the Fueled By Ramen roster. Let us know what you think of the label’s latest acquisition below.

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/19/vinyl-theatre-sign-to-fueled-by-ramen-announce-debut-album-electrogram/feed/ 0
Capture The Crown Announce Co-Headlining Fall Tour http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/19/capture-the-crown-announce-co-headlining-fall-tour/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/19/capture-the-crown-announce-co-headlining-fall-tour/#comments Tue, 19 Aug 2014 17:47:54 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1127228 Capture The Crown have announced that they will be heading out on a co-headlining tour with For All Those Sleeping which has been dubbed ‘Not Your American Idols’ tour, hosted by MerchNow. The lineup will be rounded off by Palisades, Youth In Revolt, Myka, Relocate and Ice Nine Kills. They will hit the road October 1 in Buffalo, New York and wrap up on November 3 in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. You can check out a full list of dates and venues by taking a look below the break.

Tickets will go on sale via local ticket outlets starting …

]]>
Capture The Crown have announced that they will be heading out on a co-headlining tour with For All Those Sleeping which has been dubbed ‘Not Your American Idols’ tour, hosted by MerchNow. The lineup will be rounded off by Palisades, Youth In Revolt, Myka, Relocate and Ice Nine Kills. They will hit the road October 1 in Buffalo, New York and wrap up on November 3 in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. You can check out a full list of dates and venues by taking a look below the break.

Tickets will go on sale via local ticket outlets starting tomorrow, August 20. In the meantime, if you are anxious to see Capture The Crown live, they are currently on tour with Blessthefall and Chiodos until the end of this month. The full list of dates can be found on their Facebook page.

Capture The Crown tour

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/19/capture-the-crown-announce-co-headlining-fall-tour/feed/ 0
U2 Album in 2014 Still Possible http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/19/u2-album-in-2014-still-possible/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/19/u2-album-in-2014-still-possible/#comments Tue, 19 Aug 2014 17:00:43 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1127221 After back-and-forth rumors about U2 releasing its follow-up to the hugely disappointing 2009 effort No Line on the Horizon, it seems yet again that 2014 is the year.

According to Rolling Stone, a spokesperson for the band has been quoted saying it’s now. “We’ve always said an album is expected this year.”

The band has been working on this album for a good five years now and to quote The Edge, “We really want the songs to be right. That’s the only reason why we’re not on tour – because we’re so good at starting, not so good …

]]>
After back-and-forth rumors about U2 releasing its follow-up to the hugely disappointing 2009 effort No Line on the Horizon, it seems yet again that 2014 is the year.

According to Rolling Stone, a spokesperson for the band has been quoted saying it’s now. “We’ve always said an album is expected this year.”

The band has been working on this album for a good five years now and to quote The Edge, “We really want the songs to be right. That’s the only reason why we’re not on tour – because we’re so good at starting, not so good at finishing. That’s always the way it’s been.” So it’s fair that after some not-so-good reception with the single “Invisible” that was released after the Super Bowl, the band is taking some more time to perfect this album. The band has allegedly also been working with producers the likes of Danger Mouse, Will.i.am, David Guetta, etc. Just to name a few.

Rolling Stone also has some inside info on a bit of a timeline crafted with the album. The article states “The French newspaper Nice-Matin reported that the group shot a new video in Nice, France, the other week, and the Irish Times quotes a source saying there will be a single in September, an album in September or October and a tour announced in December, with dates beginning in April of next year.”

It still all seems up in the air, but whatever happens, it seems like we’re on the doorstep of new U2. Keep your eyes peeled to UTG for further coverage and news regarding U2.

Read the full article from the Rolling Stone here.

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/19/u2-album-in-2014-still-possible/feed/ 0
UTG PHOTOS: Pitchfork Music Festival 2014 (7/18/14) http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/19/utg-photos-pitchfork-music-festival-2014-71814/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/19/utg-photos-pitchfork-music-festival-2014-71814/#comments Tue, 19 Aug 2014 14:30:38 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1126816 Under the Gun sent photographer Nina Corcoran to Union Park in Chicago, IL from July 18-20 for Pitchfork Music Festival.

Every year, Pitchfork Music Festival announces its lineup and I let out a little wimper over in Boston from jealousy. The music blog’s annual festival has been going on for ten years now in Chicago, and as such they’re able to curate a small but focused line-up that boasts a lot of great up-and-coming acts as well as bigger indie staples. This year, at long last, I finally caved in and went.

After interviewing the bands playing about their favorite

]]>
Under the Gun sent photographer Nina Corcoran to Union Park in Chicago, IL from July 18-20 for Pitchfork Music Festival.

Every year, Pitchfork Music Festival announces its lineup and I let out a little wimper over in Boston from jealousy. The music blog’s annual festival has been going on for ten years now in Chicago, and as such they’re able to curate a small but focused line-up that boasts a lot of great up-and-coming acts as well as bigger indie staples. This year, at long last, I finally caved in and went.

After interviewing the bands playing about their favorite Chicago spots, seeing them light up the three stages was a delight. From Grimes’ terrifying elf faces to Beck’s forever cool antics, no one left upset. The only hard part was deciding the victor of each set overlap.

(Click on the photos to enlarge them.)

Avey Tare's Slasher Flicks Avey Tare's Slasher Flicks Avey Tare's Slasher Flicks Avey Tare's Slasher Flicks Avey Tare's Slasher Flicks Crowd Beck Beck Beck Beck Crowd Crowd Factory Floor Factory Floor Factory Floor Factory Floor Factory Floor Crowd Giorgio Moroder Giorgio Moroder Giorgio Moroder Giorgio Moroder Giorgio Moroder Crowd Hundred Waters Hundred Waters Hundred Waters Hundred Waters Hundred Waters Crowd Neneh Cherry Neneh Cherry Neneh Cherry Neneh Cherry Crowd Crowd Sharon Van Etten Sharon Van Etten Sharon Van Etten Sharon Van Etten Sharon Van Etten Crowd Sun Kil Moon Sun Kil Moon Sun Kil Moon Sun Kil Moon Sun Kil Moon Crowd Circulatory System Circulatory System Circulatory System Cloud Nothings Cloud Nothings Cloud Nothings Cloud Nothings Crowd Crowd Danny Brown Danny Brown Danny Brown Danny Brown Danny Brown Danny Brown Ka Ka Ka Ka Crowd Crowd Pusha T Pusha T Pusha T St. Vincent St. Vincent St. Vincent St. Vincent St. Vincent Crowd The Field The Field The Field tUnE-yArDs tUnE-yArDs tUnE-yArDs tUnE-yArDs tUnE-yArDs tUnE-yArDs Wild Beasts Wild Beasts Wild Beasts Wild Beasts Wild Beasts Crowd Deafheaven Deafheaven Deafheaven Deafheaven Deafheaven Crowd DIIV DIIV DIIV DIIV DIIV Crowd Dum Dum Girls Dum Dum Girls Dum Dum Girls Dum Dum Girls Dum Dum Girls Crowd Earl Sweatshirt Earl Sweatshirt Earl Sweatshirt Earl Sweatshirt Earl Sweatshirt Crowd Grimes Grimes Grimes Grimes Grimes Crowd Isaiah Rashad Isaiah Rashad Isaiah Rashad Isaiah Rashad Isaiah Rashad Crowd Jon Hopkins Jon Hopkins Jon Hopkins Jon Hopkins Crowd Crowd Mutual Benefit Mutual Benefit Mutual Benefit Mutual Benefit Mutual Benefit Crowd Perfect Pussy Perfect Pussy Perfect Pussy Perfect Pussy Perfect Pussy Crowd Real Estate Real Estate Real Estate Real Estate Real Estate Crowd Schoolboy Q Schoolboy Q Schoolboy Q Schoolboy Q Schoolboy Q Crowd Slowdive Slowdive Slowdive Slowdive Slowdive Crowd Speedy Ortiz Speedy Ortiz Speedy Ortiz ]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/19/utg-photos-pitchfork-music-festival-2014-71814/feed/ 0
SINGLE REVIEW: Taylor Swift – “Shake It Off” http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/19/single-review-taylor-swift-shake-it-off/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/19/single-review-taylor-swift-shake-it-off/#comments Tue, 19 Aug 2014 14:15:03 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1127201 Artist: Taylor Swift
Single: “Shake It Off”
Album: 1989
Genre: Pop

Taylor Swift returned to the international stage earlier this week with the release of her new single, “Shake It Off.” The song is the first track to surface of Swift’s highly-anticipated new album, 1989, and it ushered in a whole new sound and style for the girl who has spent the better part of the last decade as America’s pop music sweetheart. If you missed the premiere, or if you simply need a few minutes to experience the single again, click below to view the track’s …

]]>
Artist: Taylor Swift
Single: “Shake It Off”
Album: 1989
Genre: Pop

Taylor Swift returned to the international stage earlier this week with the release of her new single, “Shake It Off.” The song is the first track to surface of Swift’s highly-anticipated new album, 1989, and it ushered in a whole new sound and style for the girl who has spent the better part of the last decade as America’s pop music sweetheart. If you missed the premiere, or if you simply need a few minutes to experience the single again, click below to view the track’s official video:

We have been kicking around ideas on how to improve our single reviews, and while blasting “Shake It Off” through our offices yesterday it dawned on us that it might be fun to let everyone express their opinion in one thread. Instead of having one person on staff write 500-1000 words about Swift’s return we could all share an opinion and hopefully spark a bit of conversation with readers along the way:

anigif_enhanced-4477-1408400880-25

“A lot has changed in music since Taylor Swift released Red, but to be fair a lot has also changed about Taylor Swift. The singer/songwriter who won over the planet with country inspired ballads has now fully embraced her pop alter ego and delivered a late-80s inspired radio single that is sure to be overplayed before the leaves change. I’m not sure I love “Shake It Off,” but I know it’s going to be stuck in my head. I think the bridge turns me off the most, but the attitude and sound is something I can definitely get used to. My only fear is that it may not stand out against other young, female pop starlets of the moment the way Swift’s previous hits did. This feels very ‘now,’ and ‘now’ might not work in six months.” - James Shotwell (Twitter)


anigif_enhanced-3719-1408400733-28

“In a world ostensibly plagued with an inundation of darkness that tends to supersede life’s more cheerful qualities, pop music shines through. Alongside radio’s other recent heavy hitters (Pharrell, Charli XCX, etc.) Taylor Swift is having a blast and reminding us that it’s really not all that difficult to do so. As with the majority of top 40 pop hits, the new single does suffer from a bit of repetition, and I can’t say that I’m crazy about Swifty’s uninspired break in the song at 2:18, but for the most part, “Shake It Off” is indeed an infectious anthem for letting loose, ignoring your critics, and enjoying the simplicities in life that are readily available to anyone. So let your hair down, clear your head and dance along to this killer new video.

I for one look forward to everything forthcoming from this “new” Taylor Swift.” – Brian Lion (Twitter)


anigif_enhanced-565-1408400778-9

“I’m not a huge T.Swift fan, but this is easily the least catchy single she’s put out. The bridge sounds like an Avril Lavigne break and that’s not a good thing. It appears Ms. Swift is running out of ideas.” - Tyler Osborne (Twitter)


anigif_enhanced-9841-1408400844-19

“When rumors about Taylor Swift’s forthcoming fifth album came in January, people piled on the “How many times can a girl-next-door’s heart be broken?” jokes. Now that her first single is out, it’s clear she’s been listening. “Shake It Off” is Swift throwing the first punch. She’s smashed the acoustic guitar, shoved the country into the closet, and stuck Max Martin and Shellback’s heads together to come up with a snarky comeback to the hate she’s gotten–and rightfully anticipated getting. The semi-rap breakdown is wildly reminiscent of Avril Lavigne and the extra-long diva note (ahem, 2:43) to those of Katy Perry, but the decision to go with horns, drums, and an organ is bold enough to make up for it. If Red being delivered to your door with a Papa John’s pizza in 2012 wasn’t indication enough, Swift’s lead single shows she’s ready to sell herself to the masses. I just hope she’s clever enough to spell out an apology in M&Ms this time if the other songs follow suit.” - Nina Corcoran (Twitter)


anigif_enhanced-31054-1408400931-15

“Swift’s newest single “Shake It Off” is either a stab at Miley, or an attempt to hop on the freight train of controversial adolescent music that has been storming pop radio since Katy Perry kissed a girl, and liked it. Taking influences from Pink to Gwen Stefani, the song is the epitome of every defiant “pop anthem for the ladies” since 2008. Swift’s fans can take solace in the fact that it comes off as a little bit of a satire, but it doesn’t look like she’ll go back to singing country ballads anytime soon. Love it or hate it, “Shake It Off” is undeniably catchy, and it won’t be long until you’re singing it against your will.” – Scott Murray (Twitter)


anigif_enhanced-9443-1408401076-5

“The first two things to pop into my head after the intro of “Shake It Off” were “this sounds a little like Avril Lavigne” and “Oh Mickey, you’re so fine, you’re so fine, you blow my mind, hey Mickey, hey Mickey.” Was that just me?

When you become incredibly popular you will find yourself the target of criticism and hatred. Taylor Swift is no stranger to that. Her new single shows that she is well aware of what’s said about her, and she simply couldn’t care less. The song itself is not like any of her previous singles, which for those of us who are not a huge fan is a great change of pace. It’s not very serious, and isn’t meant to be. Fans of the artist will likely appreciate her approach to handling all of the negativity she receives. I’m curious to hear what the rest of her album sounds like and hope she continues changing up her sound.” - Kriston McConnell (Twitter)


anigif_enhanced-6997-1408400893-8

“Not to be that guy, but throughout that whole song, I just watched and counted down until the end. The few things that made Taylor Swift’s music close to tolerable, are all but gone. No more guitar, no country melodies, just nasty, self-indulgent pop. Her fans will either feel completely abandoned or feel obligated to love it because it’s her. No in between.

Now, instead of the girl who got her heart broken, she’s got that cocky, “they didn’t matter” attitude that is laughable. Regardless, she’ll get plays, and get attention, and this will be huge, whether people actually like it or not.” – Corey From (Twitter)


Do you agree with us? Comment below and leave us your thoughts on Taylor Swift’s latest!

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/19/single-review-taylor-swift-shake-it-off/feed/ 0
ALBUM STREAM: Ty Segall – ‘Manipulator’ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/19/album-stream-ty-segall-manipulator/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/19/album-stream-ty-segall-manipulator/#comments Tue, 19 Aug 2014 14:00:11 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1127169 The god of garage rock is back. After a rousing performance on Conan last week, Ty Segall is now prepped and ready to share his whole album with the world. In anticipation of its release, he’s streaming Manipulator in full before it comes out August 26 via Drag City.

Instead of whipping out an album’s worth of songs in two days, Segall took his time in studio with producer Chris Woodhouse (Thee Oh Sees, !!!, Wild Flag) this time around. He’s decided to keep the 1000 lbs. of fuzz that plod around his songs, but pile on orchestration, strings, and …

]]>
The god of garage rock is back. After a rousing performance on Conan last week, Ty Segall is now prepped and ready to share his whole album with the world. In anticipation of its release, he’s streaming Manipulator in full before it comes out August 26 via Drag City.

Instead of whipping out an album’s worth of songs in two days, Segall took his time in studio with producer Chris Woodhouse (Thee Oh Sees, !!!, Wild Flag) this time around. He’s decided to keep the 1000 lbs. of fuzz that plod around his songs, but pile on orchestration, strings, and fancy drumming for a new sound that still clings to his core, too. The result is a 17-track release that revisits the ’60s in more ways than one. Talk about garage perfection.

Give it a listen over at NPR.

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/19/album-stream-ty-segall-manipulator/feed/ 0
Gerard Way Shares “No Shows” Music Video http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/19/gerard-way-shares-no-shows-music-video/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/19/gerard-way-shares-no-shows-music-video/#comments Tue, 19 Aug 2014 13:40:00 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1127197 You may want to make some room to dance…

A day after premiering his latest solo single with BBC Radio, former My Chemical Romance frontman Gerard Way has given fans the gift of a brand new music video.

“No Shows” reintroduces Gerard Way to the world with a throwback inspired sound and just enough pop influence to make it clear the Danger Days are far behind him. The video also feels inspired by the past, with VHS quality footage showcasing the band performing on a televised dance show. It’s like something out of the 1980s, and I mean that …

]]>
You may want to make some room to dance…

A day after premiering his latest solo single with BBC Radio, former My Chemical Romance frontman Gerard Way has given fans the gift of a brand new music video.

“No Shows” reintroduces Gerard Way to the world with a throwback inspired sound and just enough pop influence to make it clear the Danger Days are far behind him. The video also feels inspired by the past, with VHS quality footage showcasing the band performing on a televised dance show. It’s like something out of the 1980s, and I mean that in all the best ways. Check it out:

“No Shows” will appear on Gerard Way’s first solo album, Hesitant Alien, which is scheduled to hit stores later this year. We have yet to review the track, so comment below and let us know what you think of Way’s first solo single.

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/19/gerard-way-shares-no-shows-music-video/feed/ 0
UTG TV: Rockstar Mayhem Fest 2014 With Levi Benton Of Miss May I http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/19/utg-tv-rockstar-mayhem-fest-2014-with-levi-benton-of-miss-may-i/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/19/utg-tv-rockstar-mayhem-fest-2014-with-levi-benton-of-miss-may-i/#comments Tue, 19 Aug 2014 13:30:29 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1126621 In 2009, I witnessed Miss May I perform at Irving Plaza in New York City without knowing a single thing about the band. By 2014, the band has released four full-length albums via Rise Records, and has been growing just as steadily as the label has.

This April, the band released Rise Of The Lion to critical acclaim, charting in the upper ranks of the the Billboard charts in America. This summer, we caught up with them at the Rockstar Mayhem Festival 2014 in Scranton, PA.

We spoke to vocalist Levi Benton about Miss May I’s rise to success and …

]]>
In 2009, I witnessed Miss May I perform at Irving Plaza in New York City without knowing a single thing about the band. By 2014, the band has released four full-length albums via Rise Records, and has been growing just as steadily as the label has.

This April, the band released Rise Of The Lion to critical acclaim, charting in the upper ranks of the the Billboard charts in America. This summer, we caught up with them at the Rockstar Mayhem Festival 2014 in Scranton, PA.

We spoke to vocalist Levi Benton about Miss May I’s rise to success and how the tour has been so far. He told us about the band recording with Terry Date on the newest record, a process that the guys were ecstatic about. He’s worked alongside talent as varied as Sir Mix-A-Lot and Ozzy Osbourne.

Below you can find our exclusive UTG TV interview with Levi Benton.

Produced by: Derek Scancarelli & John Bazley
Check out D. SKANK PHOTOGRAPHY.

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/19/utg-tv-rockstar-mayhem-fest-2014-with-levi-benton-of-miss-may-i/feed/ 0
Haim Win The Internet With Their Video For “My Song 5″ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/19/haim-win-the-internet-with-their-video-for-my-song-5/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/19/haim-win-the-internet-with-their-video-for-my-song-5/#comments Tue, 19 Aug 2014 13:24:30 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1127194 Is there anything better than daytime talk shows? Pizza is great, sure, and a beautiful sunset always gives you warm fuzzies in all the right ways, but can either of those things hold a candle to watching the oddest of humanity’s odd balls air their dirty laundry on national television from the comfort of your bed/couch? I didn’t think so.

Many years have passed since I have admittedly had enough free time to properly enjoy this type of programming, but thanks to the ladies of Haim and their new video for “My Song 5″ people like me can revisit that …

]]>
Is there anything better than daytime talk shows? Pizza is great, sure, and a beautiful sunset always gives you warm fuzzies in all the right ways, but can either of those things hold a candle to watching the oddest of humanity’s odd balls air their dirty laundry on national television from the comfort of your bed/couch? I didn’t think so.

Many years have passed since I have admittedly had enough free time to properly enjoy this type of programming, but thanks to the ladies of Haim and their new video for “My Song 5″ people like me can revisit that amazing time in life where we enjoyed crappy talk shows once more. The video casts the trio as guests on a fictional program known as the Dallas Murphy Show. There, seated in front of a ‘live’ audience, the ladies reveal a number of secrets, including sexual fetishes and surprise lovers. I don’t want to give everything away, but I will say that A$AP Ferg, A$AP Rocky, and Ke$ha make an appearance. You can view the clip below:

Ferg recently remixed “My Song 5,” so it makes sense for him to appear in this clip. The rest is a pleasant surprise, and only further solidifies our love for Haim. If you have somehow yet to purchase Days Are Gone, the album which provided “My Song 5,” click here and change your life for the better.

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/19/haim-win-the-internet-with-their-video-for-my-song-5/feed/ 0
‘Women Aren’t Funny’ Trailer: Do Women Have A Place In Comedy? http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/19/women-arent-funny-trailer-do-women-have-a-place-in-comedy/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/19/women-arent-funny-trailer-do-women-have-a-place-in-comedy/#comments Tue, 19 Aug 2014 13:09:19 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1127191 Hold on, internet. Before you go reaching for pitchforks, torches, and whatever DDOS attacks you may plan against people who hate women online, please know that the headline above does not reflect our views in any way. Sometimes in order to create a great film you need to ask tough questions, and if those questions make you uncomfortable in any way then the filmmakers are probably on to something great.

Bonnie McFarlane and Rich Vos have released the first trailer for their new documentary, Women Aren’t Funny. The film, which is available for pre-order on iTunes, chases down the …

]]>
Hold on, internet. Before you go reaching for pitchforks, torches, and whatever DDOS attacks you may plan against people who hate women online, please know that the headline above does not reflect our views in any way. Sometimes in order to create a great film you need to ask tough questions, and if those questions make you uncomfortable in any way then the filmmakers are probably on to something great.

Bonnie McFarlane and Rich Vos have released the first trailer for their new documentary, Women Aren’t Funny. The film, which is available for pre-order on iTunes, chases down the myth that women don’t belong in comedy. Along the way, there are interviews with some seriously funny women, including Amy Schumer, Sarah Silverman, Wanda Sykes, Rosie O’Donnell, Susie Essman, Judy Gold, Maria Bamford, Chelsea Peretti, Joy Behar, Lisa Lampanelli, and Joan Rivers. Male comics also weigh in on the topic with their own strong points of view including Chris Rock, Adam Carolla, Artie Lange, Tom Arnold, Robert Kelly, Colin Quinn, Jim Norton, Dane Cook, and the late Patrice O’Neal. You can view the trailer below:

Women Aren’t Funny hits VOD on August 26.

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/19/women-arent-funny-trailer-do-women-have-a-place-in-comedy/feed/ 0
UTG INTERVIEW: The Slang http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/19/utg-interview-the-slang/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/19/utg-interview-the-slang/#comments Tue, 19 Aug 2014 12:30:50 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1127178 Columbus, OH rockers The Slang recently released a brand new single and lyric video to give fans a taste of what to expect from their forthcoming EP. That’s only the tip of the iceberg, though. The Slang have much more new material in the works and plans to hit the road this Fall as well.

We recently had the chance to speak with The Slang’s two Johns, Bobo and Newsome, about their band’s inception, their lyric video for “Feels Like Work” and what we can expect from them in the coming months. Follow us through the jump to get the …

]]>
Columbus, OH rockers The Slang recently released a brand new single and lyric video to give fans a taste of what to expect from their forthcoming EP. That’s only the tip of the iceberg, though. The Slang have much more new material in the works and plans to hit the road this Fall as well.

We recently had the chance to speak with The Slang’s two Johns, Bobo and Newsome, about their band’s inception, their lyric video for “Feels Like Work” and what we can expect from them in the coming months. Follow us through the jump to get the in-depth scoop from The Slang and check out their stop-motion lyric video for their newest single.

I really like the simplicity in your guys’ band name but I’d assume you chose it for a reason which may be deeper than what’s on the surface, so how did you land on The Slang?

Bobo: Whenever you get a few guys in a room to come up with your band name it consists of roughly 2 minutes of serious conversation followed by 10 minutes of the most obscene and inappropriate band names you can possibly think of. Of course, we did the same thing… About a week later I was helping my Mother clean out some items in her house and came across her racing trophies (both of my parents used to race Corvettes semi-professionally back in the ’70s). This led me to think about slang terms from that era. For example, “four on the floor” or “deuce coupe.” Very Beach Boys type of stuff. We liked the fact that every generation has their own slang terms and it is essentially a definition of who they are. With that in mind, we couldn’t pick any particular slang term that fit us so we went with the word itself – “The Slang.”

With your debut EP yet to release, I’d imagine you guys are somewhat newly formed, maybe? How did you guys come together originally to form this band?

Bobo: Newsome and I have actually known each other for quite a few years prior to this band. We previously played with an Elvis impersonator which was a lot of fun. It’s amazing the response people have to Elvis and I am a big fan of The King myself. We were also in some other bands prior to The Slang which played original music. I think we both started to gravitate towards original music and wanted to focus on that as we formed The Slang.

Newsome: Me and Bobo seem to continue to gravitate to the whole original music scene. Lot of folks try it for a few years, get a girlfriend or don’t get signed and then give it up. I think being able to express yourself through music with parts created by yourself is something that can not be duplicated. Literally the love of doing what we do has finally got us to this point where we are today.

Do you have any specific memories from the first time you jammed together?

Bobo: We used to rehearse in a space near the Ohio State campus and Newsome was invited by a mutual friend to come jam with us. Being perfectly honest, my very first thought when I saw Newsome was that I hoped it was going to work out because he is such a big guy and I didn’t want to have to tell him he’s not in the band. Luckily, he is an incredible bass player and works perfectly with my writing style so there couldn’t be a better fit.

Newsome: Actually, first time we jammed, Bobo’s band was kind of a “local legend” in Columbus so playing for the first time on some of those tunes for me personally was really sweet. Actually had just had microfracture surgery on my knee about a week befor and had to go down I think like 30 steps to this old garage basement. Took me like 10 minutes to get to the bottom.

How would you say your sound came together? Was that a direction you chose intentionally or is it something that just happened organically as you played together?

Bobo: Our sound grew very organically. One of the nice things about being an unknown artist is that you have no rules to follow. No one is telling you what to sound like and you don’t have to follow up any previous albums that defined your sound. That’s a nice freedom to have. In reality, you always have that freedom, but you can sometimes trick yourself into thinking you do not. Despite the fact that I write the songs, I like to make sure the band ultimately determines how the song will sound. A song can be played in a number of different styles, but I want to make sure the band has defined its own style. It’s something that happens naturally if you have the right group of people. It’s fun to listen back to songs and see what direction they took compared to my original demos. We seem to have taken all of our individual influences to form our own sound.

Newsome: Agree 100% with Bobo – we kind of gravitate naturally to this sound we have developed. I’m sure there are influences there of other artists but sometimes those may surprise you. The one thing that Bobo is really good about is that he never comes in with a finished song – that is for the band to do. I can tell you that a couple of songs on the EP sounded much different when they were first brought to the band than what they do now. That is a credit to Bobo for knowing that the best tunes are made when other folks playing on it are allowed to suggest revisions that make the song better in the long run.

So why did you choose “Feels Like Work” as the lead single for the EP, and what’s the story behind the track?

Bobo: I’ll let Newsome tell how it was selected but here is some background on the song: “Feels Like Work” was the last song written for the EP. We went into the studio with a ton of pre-production done for every other song on the EP, but we had only a live handheld recorder version of “Feels Like Work” recorded from practice. I maybe had one verse and the chorus lyrics written. I like to write and work in the studio so that things stay inspired. For me, it’s about the balance of creating versus trying to get the perfect take. I also wanted to have at least one song where we went into the studio and had to figure it out on the fly.

In terms of the story, it’s pretty much about the frustration I felt during my last relationship. I always intended to change the chorus lyric as it seemed a bit redundant and simple. However, it ultimately matches what you sometimes say or feel after an exhausting relationship when you aren’t necessarily at your best. Working on it just feels like work and it isn’t very much fun. I also later listened to The Cure’s song “Disintegration” and it has the lyric “…how the end always ends.” It has that same redundant nature that I like so I kept the chorus lyrics.

Newsome: There was actually some debate about this. I know a lot of artists feel this way but we really thought all the songs recorded could have easily been the single. I think for me and Bobo there was an energy about the song that we seemed to capture when the tune was recorded, probably for the reasons he has stated. I think what it literally came down to was a feeling that it just seemed like the right tune to pick.

The stop-motion lyric video is really awesome. I don’t think I’ve ever seen that before. How did you come up with the concept and put it all together?

Bobo: Thanks for the compliments on the video! The stop-motion approach was born out of necessity. We had a lineup change around the time that the video was being conceptualized and it didn’t make sense to have live-action without a final lineup in place. In terms of the concept, I was on Craigslist and found an ad from a photographer that also does music videos. His name is Josh Miller and he is an incredible talent. Josh had done a similar video for another artist and, given the lineup change, we gravitated towards stop-motion. Josh came up with the concept and really ran with it. He did a great job! I think it took over 3,500 pictures and a total of 8 hours to shoot and another 10 hours to edit.

Would you say the song is at all indicative of what the rest of the EP has to offer?

Bobo: Some early reviews have said that each song goes in a little different direction. I’d like to think that is true. I think certain things remain the same across each song. For example, my vocals and the fact that I write what I know from a first person perspective. We always try to strike a balance to make sure there is a consistent thread between songs, but that they don’t all sound the same.

Newsome: I think the song is a peek into the EP. I agree with Bobo — it’s been interesting to see industry reviews of the full EP. I think beyond the approach of the lyrics and vocal approach from Bobo, I think we like to have interesting textures and depths of sound with all our songs in addition to having a very dynamic rhythm section as the foundation.

You have some pretty impressive credits as far as where you got to work on the album and who you had mixing and mastering it. How would you describe that whole process and the experience you gained from it all?

Bobo: It was an incredible experience to work with everyone on the album. It’s amazing to me that someone can write songs in a basement in Columbus, OH and then work with all of these great industry people. It is certainly a great feeling to have them tell you that they like your music and want to work with you. Some of the people were based in Columbus originally. For example, Brian Lucey was right in our backyard, but has since moved to L.A. I subscribe to ‘Tape Op’ magazine which is another way I find people to work with. I love the articles with all the producers and technical industry folks. I can usually get a good idea of their personalities and if it will be a good fit for The Slang. I’ve started taking notes for the next EP based on the most recent issue of ‘Tape Op’ and some producers that may be a good fit for us. One nice side-effect to the record industry changing in the past few years is that you can reach out to a lot of industry professionals and, if you are a good fit, they will work on your project.

Newsome: For me the whole recording experience was an eye-opener. We recorded the album at the Cutting Room in NYC and this was the first time I think I recorded where the attitude from the folks in the studio was more than “well that’s good enough.” I think one of the big takeaways for me personally is that you can save yourself a lot of trouble down the road if you work out a kink/arraignment early in the process as opposed to letting it slip to the studio. Something as simple as when the cymbal hits when there is a vocal cue; it can make a difference in a tune. I think it has actually made us more efficient and creative taking the last recording experience into account. As far as the mixing and mastering, just knowing who those guys have worked with in the past and knowing they are working on something you created is really pretty humbling.

That album cover is awesome, too. Who did the work on that?

Bobo: Thank you! I like the album cover, too! It was designed by Justin Helton. His company is Status Serigraph. He’s done a lot of great work with a ton of different bands, (most of which are MUCH bigger than The Slang). We were happy he agreed to work with us and loved his design. We plan to use it on some merchandise in the near future.

the slang2

And you have plans to tour this Fall in support of the release? Can you tell us any details about that outing as far as where you’re going and what you’re looking forward to? You’ll be bringing some other backing members to round out the sound, too, right?

Bobo: We have quite a few cities where we’d love to play shows. One of the nice things about being based out of Columbus, OH is that it is very centrally located. We can hit around 10 major cities within an 8-hour drive. Depending on which radio markets we hit, we will likely venture even further outside that net. Everyone is really excited to get on the road – we take a lot of pride in our live show. We will have some new members in the band to help us tour, but they are full-time members and not “hired hands.” I’ve always enjoyed being in a true “band” so I like getting new people and changing the sound to match the new lineup. Live shows have been a lot of fun with the new guys and has brought a renewed energy.

What can fans expect from you guys on the tour? Lots of Newsome’s dance moves I hope.

Bobo: Truth be told, Newsome has a bad knee from his football and semi-professional wrestling career (no joke!). He really shouldn’t be moving around or dancing at all. Yet, he will get into it and dance around at shows. If you are lucky, he will also wear a wrestling mask for a couple tunes. For another time, but he played some semi-pro football a few years back and ended up breaking a finger on his index finger – awesome move for a bass player right? [Laughs] I think that was the final straw for him on his “Sunday Dreams” [laughs]. Anyway, we’ll have some brand new tunes that will be on the next EP in addition to the songs on the self-titled. That usually gets him amped up more.

Newsome: I swear I think I took the same training as Napoleon Dynamite for my sweet moves. My sweetest move is actually this thing called “the globe” – dance move I made up myself. It’s hard to do with a bass in my hand but folks might just get lucky this tour…

And after the tour…any specific plans in the works? Anything we haven’t discussed?

Bobo: I am starting to plan the next EP which includes a lot of songwriting – we will be playing a few songs on the tour that will be on the next EP. We aren’t sure where or how we would like to record the next EP, but we certainly wouldn’t mind working with the Cutting Room, Mark Needham and Brian Lucey once again.

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/08/19/utg-interview-the-slang/feed/ 0