Under the Gun Review http://www.underthegunreview.net Entertainment news for today's generation Fri, 31 Oct 2014 19:48:21 +0000 en-US hourly 1 http://wordpress.org/?v=3.9 Refused Guitarist Jon Brännström Says He Was Fired With No Explanation http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/10/31/refused-guitarist-jon-brannstrom-says-he-was-fired-with-no-explanation/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/10/31/refused-guitarist-jon-brannstrom-says-he-was-fired-with-no-explanation/#comments Fri, 31 Oct 2014 19:46:38 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1136353 Earlier today, Refused guitarist Jon Brännström took to Facebook to publicly address fans of the band in regards to his dismissal. The timing or reason for this post seems unprecedented, especially considering the last post on the public page was back in August by vocalist Dennis Lyxzén plugging his new band INVSN.

Below you can read a statement by Brännström:

I was fired from Refused a while ago. I wasn’t given a reasonable explanation and wasn’t even invited to sit down and talk about it, so I’m not completely sure why they decided to go on without me. We’ve

]]>
Earlier today, Refused guitarist Jon Brännström took to Facebook to publicly address fans of the band in regards to his dismissal. The timing or reason for this post seems unprecedented, especially considering the last post on the public page was back in August by vocalist Dennis Lyxzén plugging his new band INVSN.

Below you can read a statement by Brännström:

I was fired from Refused a while ago. I wasn’t given a reasonable explanation and wasn’t even invited to sit down and talk about it, so I’m not completely sure why they decided to go on without me. We’ve always been better at punk rock than democratic processes and dealing with conflicts, so I guess I’m not too surprised it went down like this. Quite sad indeed, but perhaps it’s all for the best.

I have always been more interested in writing music than reproducing it, more at home in the studio than on the road. Comfortable with slow intellectual processes rather than reacting instinctively in tumbling settings. What hurts me the most, is obviously the gesture. We’ve had our ups and downs, but we’ve made art together and have been tied to together through Refused for twenty years. I used to be proud to call these people my friends.

Enough rationalization and moaning, though. I’m writing to you through this forum to express my gratitude. If it weren’t for you Refused wouldn’t have happened in the first place. All of you who made, and still make, wonderful art, thus inspiring us to also try to do so. All the people whose fights fueled ours. Those who couldn’t stand oppression, who took action against capitalism, racism and sexism. All of you who through words and activism lit sparks, kept ideas of solidarity alive, who actually made a change. And of course all you beautiful people who came and made our shows. Who gave us feedback on our music through dancing, shouting, late night discussions, through bombarding us with human faeces. You made it happen in the nineties, you made it happen during our reunion a couple of years ago. Touching to say the least. And I know you’ll keep it up. Fighting, dancing and creating forever. I know I will. Through my music, through my work, through interactions, through speaking up. Just not through the forum of Refused anymore.

From the very bottom of my heart, thank you. See you in the pit.

Love.

Jon Brännström.

(Photo taken by Robin Laananen at the Fun Fun Fun Fest 2012. A lovely evening, as I remember it.)

UTG will be sure to update you if we hear any more on this topic. As you can tell from comments on the thread by fans of the band, they’re certainly confused too.

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/10/31/refused-guitarist-jon-brannstrom-says-he-was-fired-with-no-explanation/feed/ 0
Que Sera Release Free Cover Of Michael Jackson’s “Thriller” http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/10/31/que-sera-release-free-cover-of-michael-jacksons-thriller/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/10/31/que-sera-release-free-cover-of-michael-jacksons-thriller/#comments Fri, 31 Oct 2014 19:45:23 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1136356 Today is Halloween, which means at some point in the coming hours you will peel off your work clothes and step into a costume that allows you to become whatever it is you have chosen to be this year. For some, that may be a zombie or a serial killer covered in fake blood. For others, a sexy Olaf costume may come in handy. Whatever the case may be for you, we must urge you to not leave your home without first adding Que Sera‘s new cover to your personal music collection.

Ever since it first hit radio …

]]>
Today is Halloween, which means at some point in the coming hours you will peel off your work clothes and step into a costume that allows you to become whatever it is you have chosen to be this year. For some, that may be a zombie or a serial killer covered in fake blood. For others, a sexy Olaf costume may come in handy. Whatever the case may be for you, we must urge you to not leave your home without first adding Que Sera‘s new cover to your personal music collection.

Ever since it first hit radio in the 1980s, Michael Jackson‘s “Thriller” has been a staple of weddings and Halloween parties everywhere. The song has everything you could ask for in a hit horror soundtrack, including creepy lyrics, a memorable hook, and a now iconic dance that looks freaking amazing when performed in unison with a large group. The only thing it really lacks is thunderous drums and live instrumentation, which Que Sera have added with their new cover of the classic track. You can stream and download their take on “Thriller,” for free, below:

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/10/31/que-sera-release-free-cover-of-michael-jacksons-thriller/feed/ 0
Bridge Releases “Roll My Weed” Video Featuring Schoolboy Q http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/10/31/bridge-releases-roll-my-weed-video-featuring-schoolboy-q/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/10/31/bridge-releases-roll-my-weed-video-featuring-schoolboy-q/#comments Fri, 31 Oct 2014 19:34:11 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1136352 Up and coming crooner Bridge has partnered with Schoolboy Q for a weed tinged track about the ladies that know what smokers like.

“Roll My Weed” is a pretty straightforward song. Whether you smoke or not I have to believe you understand the message Bridge is trying to convey with his latest single. Spitting verses opposite Schoolboy Q, Bridge shares his vision of the perfect lady and the life they would lead against smooth production that could easily accompany the next big RnB radio hit. The black and white video is centered around a pair of performances, but there …

]]>
Up and coming crooner Bridge has partnered with Schoolboy Q for a weed tinged track about the ladies that know what smokers like.

“Roll My Weed” is a pretty straightforward song. Whether you smoke or not I have to believe you understand the message Bridge is trying to convey with his latest single. Spitting verses opposite Schoolboy Q, Bridge shares his vision of the perfect lady and the life they would lead against smooth production that could easily accompany the next big RnB radio hit. The black and white video is centered around a pair of performances, but there are plenty of beautiful ladies to enjoy as well. Check it out:

We haven’t covered Bridge a lot in the past, but this song has us itching to dig through his back catalog. If you agree, head over to iTunes and grab “Roll My Weed” to show your support.

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/10/31/bridge-releases-roll-my-weed-video-featuring-schoolboy-q/feed/ 1
Damien Rice Becomes “The Greatest Bastard” With New Track http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/10/31/damien-rice-becomes-the-greatest-bastard-with-new-track/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/10/31/damien-rice-becomes-the-greatest-bastard-with-new-track/#comments Fri, 31 Oct 2014 19:20:40 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1136346 Another huge release that we’re greatly anticipating here at UTG, is the new Damien Rice album, My Favorite Faded Fantasy. With already hearing the title track and then “I Don’t Want to Change You“, he continually leaves us begging for more. And now we have “The Greatest Bastard.”

He doesn’t stray from his niche in this song, but he continues to blow our minds with his craft. He crescendos and decrescendos so strategically that it crushes our hearts and makes us fall in love at the same time. As he sings “Am I just dreaming once again? …

]]>
Another huge release that we’re greatly anticipating here at UTG, is the new Damien Rice album, My Favorite Faded Fantasy. With already hearing the title track and then “I Don’t Want to Change You“, he continually leaves us begging for more. And now we have “The Greatest Bastard.”

He doesn’t stray from his niche in this song, but he continues to blow our minds with his craft. He crescendos and decrescendos so strategically that it crushes our hearts and makes us fall in love at the same time. As he sings “Am I just dreaming once again? Some dreams are better when they end,” we come out of our trance and have to disagree with him, and wish he didn’t wake us up.

Check out the track below and be sure to pick up My Favorite Faded Fantasy on November 11 when it’s released.

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/10/31/damien-rice-becomes-the-greatest-bastard-with-new-track/feed/ 0
Stop What You’re Doing And Rage To Big K.R.I.T.’s “King Of The South” http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/10/31/stop-what-youre-doing-and-rage-to-big-k-r-i-t-s-king-of-the-south/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/10/31/stop-what-youre-doing-and-rage-to-big-k-r-i-t-s-king-of-the-south/#comments Fri, 31 Oct 2014 19:17:28 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1136345 This week the music industry has dedicated every speck of free space to praise and promote the new album from Taylor Swift. In a year where not a single artist has managed to go platinum with their album release, Swift is believed to be the last great hope for the music industry. If you’re someone who believes that to be true then you likely don’t understand how this business works. We don’t need platinum records in order to have success stories, just dedicated fans who support their favorite artist.

The reason I bring this up is because I believe …

]]>
This week the music industry has dedicated every speck of free space to praise and promote the new album from Taylor Swift. In a year where not a single artist has managed to go platinum with their album release, Swift is believed to be the last great hope for the music industry. If you’re someone who believes that to be true then you likely don’t understand how this business works. We don’t need platinum records in order to have success stories, just dedicated fans who support their favorite artist.

The reason I bring this up is because I believe the industry at large is wrong to write off the rest of the albums coming out this year as incapable of skyrocketing to success. There are at least a handful of albums still to released this year from major talent, and if I had any say over what got the most limelight it would almost certainly be the forthcoming effort from Big K.R.I.T. Cadillactica has been on our radar all year long, and so far the southern rapper behind it has shared a number of crazy good tracks off the record. Today, he delivered his best to date, and we have the complete stream right here on UTG.

Every rapper who was raised south of Kentucky likes to claim themselves to be the king of the south at one point or another, but in the case of Big K.R.I.T. that boast may indeed be the truth. “King Of The South” finds K.R.I.T. recounting all the things that make him the boss of souther hip-hop, and to be honest I cannot think of a single reason to disagree. The track was produced by K.R.I.T. and features only his vocals (along with enough bass to shake your skull). Check it out:

I thought “Cadillactica” would be the highlight of K.R.I.T.’s next album, but this track is proof that is not the case. I’m not mad about it.

Cadillactica is scheduled to hit stores in November. Follow UTG on Twitter for updates.

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/10/31/stop-what-youre-doing-and-rage-to-big-k-r-i-t-s-king-of-the-south/feed/ 0
UTG’s 31 Days Of Halloween: ‘Housebound’ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/10/31/utgs-31-days-of-halloween-housebound/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/10/31/utgs-31-days-of-halloween-housebound/#comments Fri, 31 Oct 2014 17:17:42 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1136326 Of all the holidays celebrated worldwide, no single day is more loved by the UTG staff than Halloween. With the arrival of the year’s best month, the time has finally come to begin rolling out a plethora of features and special announcements we have prepared in celebration of our favorite day, including the one you’re about to read.

Now in its third year, 31 Days Of Halloween is a recurring feature that will run throughout the month of October. The hope and goal of this column is to supply every UTG reader with a daily horror (or Halloween-themed) movie recommendation …

]]>
Of all the holidays celebrated worldwide, no single day is more loved by the UTG staff than Halloween. With the arrival of the year’s best month, the time has finally come to begin rolling out a plethora of features and special announcements we have prepared in celebration of our favorite day, including the one you’re about to read.

Now in its third year, 31 Days Of Halloween is a recurring feature that will run throughout the month of October. The hope and goal of this column is to supply every UTG reader with a daily horror (or Halloween-themed) movie recommendation that is guaranteed to amplify your All Hallows’ Eve festivities. We’ll be watching every film the day it’s featured, and we hope you’ll follow along at home.

[Warning: the material within is positively NSFW]

HB POSTER FINAL_BLEED_3

Day 31: Housebound (2014)

Before I get to the film I have chosen to highlight it only feels right to thank you for spending another year celebrating the greatest horror films with all of us here at UTG. We look forward to this series every single year, and there is always a little fear in the back of our minds that readers will not want to hear more about our deep fascination with all things horror. You have proven those fears to be nonsense three years running, and we hope you will come back next October to do it all over again.

Today is Halloween, which means we have reached the end of this journey we began at the very beginning of the month. I chose five films to highlight in this series at the start of September, but as October began I realized my selections were no longer the films I felt compelled to share with readers. After two years of digging into the most distributing and bizarre titles I had ever witnessed in order to create great content I had a desire to highlight the flicks that made me laugh as much as they made me scream. I made a last-minute decision to change all but one of my film choices (Street Trash), and looking back now I still stand by my initial decision. Creating a great horror comedy combination is as difficult, is not harder, than creating a genuinely terrifying piece of cinema. It’s a miracle if one good horror comedy comes out each year, and it’s as rare as Haley’s Comet for more than one to debut in that same time frame. I spent the last few weeks hoping 2014 would provide one truly fantastic film that I could highlight in this series of scary comedies, and earlier this week the movie I was waiting for came to my attention with a little help from iTunes.

Housebound is a new film from New Zealand that continues the trend of original film ideas that was pioneered by movies like Bad Taste or Dead Alive. Kylie, a twenty-something female with a criminal past, is forced to return to the home where she grew up when a judge sentences her to house arrest. As if this were not punishment enough, Kylie is forced to live with her mother Miriam – A loving blabbermouth of a woman who is convinced beyond the shadow of a doubt that someone or something is haunting her home. Being the non-believer that she is, Kylie initially dismisses her mother’s fears, but shortly after getting settled she begins to notice several unexplainable occurrences that lead her to believe dear old mom might not b as crazy as she seems.

I’ll be the first to admit that the premise of Housebound is far from being the most original idea presented on screen in 2014. There are countless movies about people entering a home believed to be haunted who then deny the existence of spirits in said home until later realizing there is, in fact, something else inhabiting their dwelling. What sets Housebound apart, aside from the plot point regarding Kylie’s house arrest, are the numerous ways the film presents the entity(s) that haunt the Bucknell family home. Miriam, for instance, swears she has seen the presence of a person in a sheet. Kylie, on the other hand, spends an evening (and following morning) battling a psychopathic teddy bear that only utters disturbing phrases. The diversity on display keep you as a viewer guessing as to the origin and intent of the haunting, which makes the whole affair even more enjoyable.

There is a part of me that wants to write at length about the various gags and scares found in Housebound, but to do so would be to ruin what could potentially be one of the most enjoyable viewing experiences of the year. This film would succeed on the strength of its script alone, but it also boasts a brilliant comedic cast and cinematography that is on par with any studio effort produced stateside. It’s one of those rare instances when everything seems to come together just the right way, and to take away your ability to experience it without knowing what unfolds would be a crime against fellow cinema fans. Just know that you will be on the edge of your seat for much of the film’s runtime, and even when you think you’ve figured out the secret behind the disturbances you will probably be wrong. Don’t try and beat the film to its climax, just kick back and enjoy the ride. This is the kind of journey you will want to take again and again.

Taking a risk with entertainment is something no one concerned with money can afford these days, but believe me when I say there is no better way to invest your Halloween dollar this season than with a rental of Housebound. It will make your holiday more enjoyable and may even win its way into your picks for best films of 2014. Watch it with friends if possible, but a solo viewing will suffice. Happy Halloween!

Written by: James Shotwell (Follow him on Twitter)

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/10/31/utgs-31-days-of-halloween-housebound/feed/ 0
UTG Video Premiere: Angels And Airwaves – “The Wolfpack” http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/10/31/utg-video-premiere-angels-and-airwaves-the-wolfpack/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/10/31/utg-video-premiere-angels-and-airwaves-the-wolfpack/#comments Fri, 31 Oct 2014 16:23:29 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1136335 This is probably the most exciting Halloween we’ve ever had on UTG.

We have partnered with our SpinMedia brothers and sisters to host the world premiere of Angels And Airwaves video for “The Wolfpack.” The track is the latest to surface from the group’s upcoming album, The Dream Walker, and to be perfectly honest it’s our favorite of the bunch. The video is great as well, but would you really expect anything less from a visually focused band like AvA? Check it out:

Speaking about “The Wolfpack,” frontman Tom Delonge offered:

“The Wolfpack’ is the first single from our

]]>
This is probably the most exciting Halloween we’ve ever had on UTG.

We have partnered with our SpinMedia brothers and sisters to host the world premiere of Angels And Airwaves video for “The Wolfpack.” The track is the latest to surface from the group’s upcoming album, The Dream Walker, and to be perfectly honest it’s our favorite of the bunch. The video is great as well, but would you really expect anything less from a visually focused band like AvA? Check it out:

Speaking about “The Wolfpack,” frontman Tom Delonge offered:

“The Wolfpack’ is the first single from our upcoming album, ‘The Dream Walker,’ which is part of a bigger trans-media project called ‘Poet Anderson The Dream Walker.’ The song is a bit of a journey in and out of the many teeth of the music business – an industry that can be a sexy girl on one hand, but a vicious axe murderer on the other.

Each piece of this project, whether it’s the novel, the feature film, or the album, is meant to stand on its own individually, as well within the entirety of its parts. It’s an art projectwith many paths to adventure.

I felt it was time to try a bit harder and create something that was more just an album, and it’s ironic that this album might actually be my best.”

You can pre-order The Dream Walker on iTunes. Follow UTG on Twitter for updates.

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/10/31/utg-video-premiere-angels-and-airwaves-the-wolfpack/feed/ 1
Kevin Smith Confirms Jay And Silent Bob Will Appear In ‘Clerks 3′ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/10/31/kevin-smith-confirms-jay-and-silent-bob-will-appear-in-clerks-3/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/10/31/kevin-smith-confirms-jay-and-silent-bob-will-appear-in-clerks-3/#comments Fri, 31 Oct 2014 15:47:24 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1136331 Kevin Smith confirmed the upcoming production of Clerks III in recent weeks, and he’s already revealed on bit of information that is sure to give fans faith in the View Askew creator’s ability to continue delivering quality entertainment with his beloved characters.

Speaking on a recent episode of his popular Smodcast podcast, Smith confirmed the appearance of the characters known as Jay and Silent Bob in the upcoming Clerks III. “They’re in the movie as much as they were in Clerks and Clerks II,” he said. You can stream the episode featuring the quote at the end of …

]]>
Kevin Smith confirmed the upcoming production of Clerks III in recent weeks, and he’s already revealed on bit of information that is sure to give fans faith in the View Askew creator’s ability to continue delivering quality entertainment with his beloved characters.

Speaking on a recent episode of his popular Smodcast podcast, Smith confirmed the appearance of the characters known as Jay and Silent Bob in the upcoming Clerks III. “They’re in the movie as much as they were in Clerks and Clerks II,” he said. You can stream the episode featuring the quote at the end of this post.

Details on the plot of Clerks III are being closely guarded for the time being. Clerks II ended with Dante and Randall purchasing the Quick Stop and making it their own, so it seems safe to assume that is where the story will begin. Smith has revealed the first ten minutes will take place in black and white, but beyond that we know very little about the highly-anticipated sequel. Follow UTG on Twitter for updates.

giphy

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/10/31/kevin-smith-confirms-jay-and-silent-bob-will-appear-in-clerks-3/feed/ 0
Florida Georgia Line Release “Sun Daze” Music Video http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/10/31/florida-georgia-line-release-sun-daze-music-video/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/10/31/florida-georgia-line-release-sun-daze-music-video/#comments Fri, 31 Oct 2014 14:40:11 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1136322 I woke up this morning to discover the horrible chill of fall creeping through my cracked bedroom window and under my blankets. Sad and just a bit frustrated, I rolled over to check my phone and found a picture from a friend in Michigan featuring snow covered roads that he drove on in order to reach work. I wanted to scream, but instead I put on this song, and just an hour later I learned the official video had been posted online. Funny how life works out, right?

Sun Daze” is the second song off Florida Georgia Line

]]>
I woke up this morning to discover the horrible chill of fall creeping through my cracked bedroom window and under my blankets. Sad and just a bit frustrated, I rolled over to check my phone and found a picture from a friend in Michigan featuring snow covered roads that he drove on in order to reach work. I wanted to scream, but instead I put on this song, and just an hour later I learned the official video had been posted online. Funny how life works out, right?

Sun Daze” is the second song off Florida Georgia Line‘s recently released album Anything Goes to be given a proper promotional push. The track captures the true essence of summer, with a laid back groove and talk of hanging out poolside with your closest friends and whatever drugs they desire. The video echoes this sentiment with a story about the members of FGL cutting work in order to party and get stoned. You can view the footage below:

Country music has always celebrated the moments spent with friends having a good time, but few have put the use of marijuana into focus like Florida Georgia Line do with this track. It’s not something I expect people to get upset about, but you can bet your ass there will be upset conservatives calling bible belt stations in protest as soon as this song begins to make rounds at radio. My hope is that they won’t cause the song to be pulled or edited, but in 2014 that is entirely possible.

Anything Goes, the Sophomore album from Florida Georgia Line, is available now wherever music is sold.

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/10/31/florida-georgia-line-release-sun-daze-music-video/feed/ 0
MOVIE REVIEW: ‘Nightcrawler’ Is A Visceral Thrill Ride http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/10/31/movie-review-nightcrawler-is-a-visceral-thrill-ride/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/10/31/movie-review-nightcrawler-is-a-visceral-thrill-ride/#comments Fri, 31 Oct 2014 14:29:29 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1136316 Film: Nightcrawler
Starring: Jake Gyllenhaal
Directed by: Dan Gilroy

Nightcrawler brushes with greatness before settling for a solid story with one truly great performance.

When we first meet Lou Bloom at the top of Nightcrawler he is a lonely man desperate for work. Portrayed by Jake Gyllenhaal, Bloom is a quiet and reserved man who has spent far too much time on the Internet. He’s smart, but a lack of social skills prevents him from ever forging lasting connections with other people. To make ends meet, Bloom is a thief, taking everything that isn’t nailed down in order to keep …

]]>
Film: Nightcrawler
Starring: Jake Gyllenhaal
Directed by: Dan Gilroy

Nightcrawler brushes with greatness before settling for a solid story with one truly great performance.

When we first meet Lou Bloom at the top of Nightcrawler he is a lonely man desperate for work. Portrayed by Jake Gyllenhaal, Bloom is a quiet and reserved man who has spent far too much time on the Internet. He’s smart, but a lack of social skills prevents him from ever forging lasting connections with other people. To make ends meet, Bloom is a thief, taking everything that isn’t nailed down in order to keep a roof over his head. You feel sorry for him, but only from a distance.

Lou’s life changes forever when he drives past a recent car accident while traveling through the city late one night. He arrives just before the press and as the scene plays out Lou cannot help becoming fascinated with everything happening in front of him. There is someone bloody and fighting to survive just feet in front of him, and standing over them are people with cameras doing everything in their power to get a great shot. It a short and odd portrait of life and media colliding, but it’s more than enough to sell Bloom on an intriguing new career opportunity.

Nightcrawler is a film that intentionally sets out to make you uncomfortable. Bloom is clearly a little off, but we’re never given enough information about him to decide whether it’s the good or bad type of crazy (though the third act does offer some clarity). Aside from the mysterious motivations of our lead, there’s also the fact Bloom’s job requires him to film people at their absolute worst. He’s essentially a crime paparazzi, chasing the bloodiest and most violent incidents that come across his police scanner in hopes of landing a money making image. To do this, Bloom must get close to his subject. Too close, some may say. If you’re someone whose heart breaks whenever they see another human in pain you may feel helpless throughout the film’s 2-hour runtime.

Writer/Director Dan Gilroy challenges us with these images, as well as the way Bloom makes his money, in hopes of causing us to reflect on our own addiction to media. The old “if it bleeds, it leads” adage is put to the test in an unflinching way. It asks just how much is too much when covering the worst moments of the human experience. You feel disgusted with what Bloom is willing to do for a good pay day, but at the same time you cannot resist the urge to gawk at everything unfolding on screen. Can we really hate or shame someone for doing something that we, as media consumers, demand? Also, can anyone draw a line between what is in good taste and what falls outside the realm of things that should be shown on TV? If so, how? All of this and more comes into focus throughout the story, and it lingers in the mind long after the credits have rolled.

I think it would be possible for Nightcrawler to succeed with a number of actors in the lead role, but something about the way Gyllenhaal brings Bloom to life makes the character feel like a creation wholly his own. Lou is presented like someone who attended a motivational seminar taught by Wolf Of Wall Street inspiration Jordan Belfort and immediately set to putting his advice into action. Lacking Belfort’s people skills however, Bloom’s efforts to be friendly and/or helpful come across as creepy and somewhat unsettling, even when Bloom only has the best of intentions. This is due in part to the lack of information we have about Bloom’s history, but also because of how Gyllenhaal carries himself when in frame. He rarely looks confident, but is clearly always trying to think of his next scheme for success. He’s smart, but not in a way that necessarily comes across in conversation, which causes a lot of people to underestimate just how far he’s willing to go in order to achieve his goals. In short – he’s unpredictable, and it’s because of Gyllenhaal’s abilities to keep that sense of mystery alive throughout the film that makes the story work so well.

The biggest problem facing Nightcrawler is not as much an issue as it is a disappointment. Gilroy sets up a beautifully haunting, visceral universe for us to explore and populates it with truly unique characters, but their conversations and actions never go as far as you feel they could. Though the story deals with topics like how far the media will go for a story, much of what happens during the film’s runtime is relatively tame. There is some blood, as well as a handful questionable decisions, but it’s hard to not feel like the story is falling short of its full potential. Bloom could be crazier, his actions could become more extreme, and the way he interacts with the more level headed members of society never really comes to a head of any kind. That’s not to say the story isn’t thrilling, but it’s nowhere near as crazy or dramatic as the marketing would lead you to believe.

Though it falls short of its potential cinematic glory, Nightcrawler is a visceral and exciting look at life in the underbelly of modern media. Dan Gilroy has crafted a story that, aided by the incredibly believable delivery of Jake Gyllenhaal, grabs you by the throat early on and refuses to loosen its grip until the final scene comes to a close. You won’t be able to look away from a single frame, though every ounce of your being may beg you to at least consider taking a break, and when it’s all over you will be left with questions regarding our culture and society that linger for days on end. I cannot tell you whether it’s right or wrong to enjoy this picture, but you certainly won’t forget what you have seen.

Grade: B-

Review written by: James Shotwell

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/10/31/movie-review-nightcrawler-is-a-visceral-thrill-ride/feed/ 0
DROP EVERYTHING AND JAM: Foo Fighters Release Third ‘Sonic Highways’ Song http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/10/31/drop-everything-and-jam-foo-fighters-release-third-sonic-highways-song/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/10/31/drop-everything-and-jam-foo-fighters-release-third-sonic-highways-song/#comments Fri, 31 Oct 2014 04:52:01 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1136293 Fall 2014 is shaping up to forever be known as the season of Foo. The all-American rock ‘n’ roll band dropped the third track off of their upcoming LP, Sonic Highways, this evening. The track, “Congregation,” is a full on Foo track — containing the gnarly energy and light-hearted melodies that have been stealing our hearts for years on end.

The song drops the evening before the third edition of the band’s HBO Original Series, Sonic Highways. In the show the band travels to different American cities and attempts to capture the musical history and aesthetic of …

]]>
Fall 2014 is shaping up to forever be known as the season of Foo. The all-American rock ‘n’ roll band dropped the third track off of their upcoming LP, Sonic Highways, this evening. The track, “Congregation,” is a full on Foo track — containing the gnarly energy and light-hearted melodies that have been stealing our hearts for years on end.

The song drops the evening before the third edition of the band’s HBO Original Series, Sonic Highways. In the show the band travels to different American cities and attempts to capture the musical history and aesthetic of the city through an original song. The band traveled to eight cities for the Sonic Highways record and television show. “Congregation,” a glorified rock number with a bit of a country twang, represents Nashville. The song features Nashville native Zac Brown and was recorded at Nashville’s Southern Ground Studio.

The band previously released “Something From Nothing,” an ode to Chicago, and “The Feast and the Famine,” a gritty number encompassing Washington D.C.

Sonic Highways, the band’s eighth LP, is due out Nov. 10 on Roswell Records. Follow the jump to hear the song and see the full track listing for Sonic Highways.

Sonic Highways Track list:
01. Something From Nothing
02. The Feast and The Famine
03. Congregation
04. What Did I Do?/God As My Witness
05. Outside
06. In The Clear
07. Subterranean
08. I Am A River

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/10/31/drop-everything-and-jam-foo-fighters-release-third-sonic-highways-song/feed/ 0
Strawberry Girls Launch IndieGoGo Campaign For Tour Van http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/10/30/strawberry-girls-launch-indiegogo-campaign-for-tour-van/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/10/30/strawberry-girls-launch-indiegogo-campaign-for-tour-van/#comments Fri, 31 Oct 2014 01:36:32 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1136289 Instrumental rock outfit Strawberry Girls have launched an IndieGoGo campaign to raise funds for the purchase of the band’s future van. For those who feel compelled to donate to the band’s cause and help them take their groovy sounds on the road, a slew of price-based awards awaits including everything from exclusive pre-release downloads to having the band throw a private performance in their Carmel, California practice spot.

There’s little doubt our staff would jump at the chance to see Strawberry Girls perform in our various cities, so we highly suggest donating to the IndieGoGo campaign here. For those …

]]>
Instrumental rock outfit Strawberry Girls have launched an IndieGoGo campaign to raise funds for the purchase of the band’s future van. For those who feel compelled to donate to the band’s cause and help them take their groovy sounds on the road, a slew of price-based awards awaits including everything from exclusive pre-release downloads to having the band throw a private performance in their Carmel, California practice spot.

There’s little doubt our staff would jump at the chance to see Strawberry Girls perform in our various cities, so we highly suggest donating to the IndieGoGo campaign here. For those who might need a little convincing before passing on their funds, feel free to check out a message from the band concerning their campaign after the jump.

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/10/30/strawberry-girls-launch-indiegogo-campaign-for-tour-van/feed/ 0
Ed Sheeran Makes Surprise Appearance At Sam Smith’s Manchester Show http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/10/30/ed-sheeran-makes-surprise-appearance-at-sam-smiths-manchester-show/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/10/30/ed-sheeran-makes-surprise-appearance-at-sam-smiths-manchester-show/#comments Fri, 31 Oct 2014 00:40:04 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1136274 Earlier last night, pop sensation Sam Smith played the Manchester leg of his U.K. tour at the infamous Albert Hall. To his fans’ delight, Smith brought out a very special guest during his performance of “Stay With Me.”

Smith whips out the one and only Ed Sheeran on stage and the audience, with all the feelings in the world, went absolutely nuts. Footage of the special moment was barely audible due to the amount of screaming that took place. Check out the video below.

Later that evening, Sam Smith put up an Instagram photo of their performance with the caption, …

]]>
Earlier last night, pop sensation Sam Smith played the Manchester leg of his U.K. tour at the infamous Albert Hall. To his fans’ delight, Smith brought out a very special guest during his performance of “Stay With Me.”

Smith whips out the one and only Ed Sheeran on stage and the audience, with all the feelings in the world, went absolutely nuts. Footage of the special moment was barely audible due to the amount of screaming that took place. Check out the video below.

Later that evening, Sam Smith put up an Instagram photo of their performance with the caption, “So amazing to have this KING @teddysphotos on stage with me tonight. Such a wise and true friend to have. Love ya brother x.”

What a night.

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/10/30/ed-sheeran-makes-surprise-appearance-at-sam-smiths-manchester-show/feed/ 0
Happy Body Slow Brain Stream “Residue” From The Film ‘Bridge And Tunnel’ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/10/30/happy-body-slow-brain-stream-residue-from-the-film-bridge-and-tunnel/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/10/30/happy-body-slow-brain-stream-residue-from-the-film-bridge-and-tunnel/#comments Thu, 30 Oct 2014 23:51:51 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1136261 If you’re like me, you’ve been waiting patiently for Happy Body Slow Brain to release some new music, and finally, here’s something to enjoy for the time being.

Earlier in the year, the guys from Happy Body Slow Brain contributed a song called “Residue” to the official soundtrack of the indie film, Bridge And Tunnel. The soundtrack arrived on October 21, and is available now on iTunes.

Check below the jump to stream “Residue” right now via YouTube.

]]>
If you’re like me, you’ve been waiting patiently for Happy Body Slow Brain to release some new music, and finally, here’s something to enjoy for the time being.

Earlier in the year, the guys from Happy Body Slow Brain contributed a song called “Residue” to the official soundtrack of the indie film, Bridge And Tunnel. The soundtrack arrived on October 21, and is available now on iTunes.

Check below the jump to stream “Residue” right now via YouTube.

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/10/30/happy-body-slow-brain-stream-residue-from-the-film-bridge-and-tunnel/feed/ 0
Justin Vernon (Bon Iver) Granted Approval to Host Music Festival Next Summer http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/10/30/justin-vernon-bon-iver-granted-approval-to-host-music-festival-next-summer/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/10/30/justin-vernon-bon-iver-granted-approval-to-host-music-festival-next-summer/#comments Thu, 30 Oct 2014 23:49:28 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1136258 Justin Vernon, best known for his work in Bon Iver, has apparently been pursuing the idea of hosting a music festival in his hometown of Eau Claire, Wisconsin this upcoming Summer. Recently, news broke that the singer had received permission to use Foster Farm for his two day camp-out, called ‘Eaux Claires Music and Art Festival.’

The festival is said to take place over the weekend of July 17, 2015. The event will reportedly feature two outdoor stages, one tented stage, and an approximate twenty-five thousand visitors on each of its two days. The festival is sure to …

]]>
Justin Vernon, best known for his work in Bon Iver, has apparently been pursuing the idea of hosting a music festival in his hometown of Eau Claire, Wisconsin this upcoming Summer. Recently, news broke that the singer had received permission to use Foster Farm for his two day camp-out, called ‘Eaux Claires Music and Art Festival.’

The festival is said to take place over the weekend of July 17, 2015. The event will reportedly feature two outdoor stages, one tented stage, and an approximate twenty-five thousand visitors on each of its two days. The festival is sure to be an exciting one for fans of Bon Iver, Volcano Choir or any other Vernon-related project, and those looking to enjoy some good music on the outskirts of civilization.

Stay tuned for more news on Vernon’s ‘Eaux Claires Music and Art Festival.’

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/10/30/justin-vernon-bon-iver-granted-approval-to-host-music-festival-next-summer/feed/ 0
STREAM: Fredo Santana – “Riot” Feat. Childish Gambino http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/10/30/stream-fredo-santana-riot-feat-childish-gambino/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/10/30/stream-fredo-santana-riot-feat-childish-gambino/#comments Thu, 30 Oct 2014 23:44:02 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1136252 Chicago rapper and label-owner, Fredo Santana, known by some as the elder cousin of rapper Chief Keef, has recently released an interesting track featuring Childish Gambino.

Called “Riot,” the song shows Santana’s typical style, plus a heavy contribution by Childish Gambino, who has put acting on the back burner to develop and legitimize his hip-hop image. It’s strange to hear Gambino on trap tracks, but almost fitting after hearing his recent STN MTN mixtape in which he presents himself as an Atlanta rap superstar.

Stream “Riot” below the jump to hear the track for yourself.

]]>
Chicago rapper and label-owner, Fredo Santana, known by some as the elder cousin of rapper Chief Keef, has recently released an interesting track featuring Childish Gambino.

Called “Riot,” the song shows Santana’s typical style, plus a heavy contribution by Childish Gambino, who has put acting on the back burner to develop and legitimize his hip-hop image. It’s strange to hear Gambino on trap tracks, but almost fitting after hearing his recent STN MTN mixtape in which he presents himself as an Atlanta rap superstar.

Stream “Riot” below the jump to hear the track for yourself.

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/10/30/stream-fredo-santana-riot-feat-childish-gambino/feed/ 0
Stream Chief Keef’s “Paper” Featuring Gucci Mane http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/10/30/stream-chief-keefs-paper-featuring-gucci-mane/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/10/30/stream-chief-keefs-paper-featuring-gucci-mane/#comments Thu, 30 Oct 2014 23:41:59 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1136249 Chicago rapper, Chief Keef, is back at it. This time, he’s collaborating with controversial rapper Gucci Mane to produce a single entitled “Paper.”

The track is said to be included on Chief Keef’s upcoming project Back From The Dead 2, a mixtape which is set for free download in approximately 24 hours.

Back From The Dead 2 can be found on DatPiff tomorrow, which is quite fitting given that it is Halloween. Check below the jump to stream “Paper,” featuring Gucci Mane.

]]>
Chicago rapper, Chief Keef, is back at it. This time, he’s collaborating with controversial rapper Gucci Mane to produce a single entitled “Paper.”

The track is said to be included on Chief Keef’s upcoming project Back From The Dead 2, a mixtape which is set for free download in approximately 24 hours.

Back From The Dead 2 can be found on DatPiff tomorrow, which is quite fitting given that it is Halloween. Check below the jump to stream “Paper,” featuring Gucci Mane.

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/10/30/stream-chief-keefs-paper-featuring-gucci-mane/feed/ 0
Stream Antarctigo Vespucci’s Energetic New EP http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/10/30/stream-antarctigo-vespuccis-energetic-new-ep/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/10/30/stream-antarctigo-vespuccis-energetic-new-ep/#comments Thu, 30 Oct 2014 20:13:29 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1136242 Cross-country collaborators Chris Farren (Fake Problems) and Jeff Rosenstock (Bomb the Music Industry!) practically broke the internet when they released their EP Soulmate Stuff under the moniker Antarctigo Vespucci earlier this year, and now they’re doing it all over again.

Simply put, I’m So Tethered packs in some of the best aspects that we’ve come to love from the group’s debut release into a three-track EP. To top that off, Rosenstock’s vocal presence comes in much more strongly. This all comes in with great timing, since Antarctigo Vespucci will be leaving for their first ever tour …

]]>
Cross-country collaborators Chris Farren (Fake Problems) and Jeff Rosenstock (Bomb the Music Industry!) practically broke the internet when they released their EP Soulmate Stuff under the moniker Antarctigo Vespucci earlier this year, and now they’re doing it all over again.

Simply put, I’m So Tethered packs in some of the best aspects that we’ve come to love from the group’s debut release into a three-track EP. To top that off, Rosenstock’s vocal presence comes in much more strongly. This all comes in with great timing, since Antarctigo Vespucci will be leaving for their first ever tour that starts off with a November 1 appearance at The Fest in Gainesville, FL.

The duo’s three-track followup has been streaming on AV Club since this morning and can be found following the jump, alongside the dates for their headlining tour. As of now, physical copies of the EP can be pre-ordered through Asian Man Records.

Antarctigo Vespucci tour dates:

Nov. 1–The Fest–Gainesville, Florida
Nov. 3–Backbooth–Orlando, Florida
Nov. 4–Wonder Root–Atlanta, Georgia
Nov. 5–Cafe Coco–Nashville, Tennessee
Nov. 6–Double Happiness–Columbus, Ohio
Nov. 7–Mac’s Bar–Lansing, Michigan
Nov. 8–Beat Kitchen–Chicago, Illinois
Nov. 9–The Grog Shop–Cleveland, Ohio
Nov. 10–Roboto–Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Nov. 11–Strange Matter–Richmond, Virginia
Nov. 12–DC9–Washington D.C.
Nov. 13–Asbury Lanes–Asbury Park, New Jersey
Nov. 14–Golden Tea House–Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Nov. 15–Palisades–New York City, New York
Nov. 16–Middle East Upstairs–Boston, Massachusetts
Nov. 17–The Space–Hamden, Connecticut

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2014/10/30/stream-antarctigo-vespuccis-energetic-new-ep/feed/ 0