Under the Gun Review http://www.underthegunreview.net Entertainment news for today's generation Fri, 03 Jul 2015 14:00:52 +0000 en-US hourly 1 http://wordpress.org/?v=3.9.3 UTG INTERVIEW: Kingmaker’s Alex Gaspar Discusses the Creation of ‘The Cradle’ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/07/03/utg-interview-kingmakers-alex-gaspar-discusses-the-creation-of-the-cradle/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/07/03/utg-interview-kingmakers-alex-gaspar-discusses-the-creation-of-the-cradle/#comments Fri, 03 Jul 2015 14:00:52 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1153335 Kingmaker have always been a group that thrives on progression. Since bursting onto the scene in the summer of 2009, the Lake County quartet has undergone a number of style and lineup changes, all leading to the release of their latest full-length effort, The Cradle–a bold blend of abrasive riffs, ear-shattering percussion, and poignant lyricism.

We recently spoke with guitarist Alex Gaspar, who not only gave us all the details on the band’s latest album, but also elaborated on what they have in the works for the rest of 2015. Read our conversation below, and keep in touch with …

]]>
Kingmaker have always been a group that thrives on progression. Since bursting onto the scene in the summer of 2009, the Lake County quartet has undergone a number of style and lineup changes, all leading to the release of their latest full-length effort, The Cradle–a bold blend of abrasive riffs, ear-shattering percussion, and poignant lyricism.

We recently spoke with guitarist Alex Gaspar, who not only gave us all the details on the band’s latest album, but also elaborated on what they have in the works for the rest of 2015. Read our conversation below, and keep in touch with Kingmaker here.

Back in February, you guys released your highly-anticipated new album, The Cradle—how does it feel to have it completed and in the hands of fans?

It definitely feels really good considering it was a project that was well over a year [in the making]—we recorded it the very first time back in January of 2014, and then we ended up trying to record it again in the summer, and it wasn’t until the end of the year that we finally recorded the version that we released. It was just such a pain trying to get everything put together, but it felt really good, and we’re really proud of it.

Very cool. As you mentioned, this album has been in the works for quite some time, and despite a number of lineup changes and instances of uncertainty, it has always remained The Cradle. What’s the significance of this title, if any?

Honestly, I think with a lot of the stuff we come up with as a band–I don’t know–I don’t want to say there’s not any meaning behind it, but it was honestly just something we were like, “This is really, really sick” [laughs]. It just kind of became this blanket name that we were like, “Okay, yeah, that’s cool–that’s really awesome, maybe we’ll build something lyrically around it,” and we never felt like we wanted to change it. It always felt like that was sort of the destined name for the project. I can’t remember exactly how it was formed or discovered, but I know Andy, our other guitarist, came up with it. It may be from a movie or something–I can’t really remember, but it’s really bad-ass.

I couldn’t agree more. In much the same way, “Serpent’s Song” has also withstood the test of time since first appearing on Less Faith. Is there any particular reason this song keeps popping up, or is just one of your guys’ favorites?

Originally, we were actually going to put “Blood Thirst” on The Cradle–that was on the original six-song version that we did back in January ’14, but we took it off because we didn’t love it. I think in hindsight it would’ve been cool to maybe replace it with another newer song, but I like it, and we all really liked it, and it was a song that we felt just could’ve been better the second time around. Once we recorded it in the different tuning and in a different tempo (it’s a little faster), we were like, “You know, this song is good enough to bridge the gap between kind of the old Kingmaker and the newer version with Kyle,” and kind of help people get reacquainted with it a little easier. I think that was the reason it stuck around on that record particularly.

Nowadays, there’s sort of this expectation for bands to progress their sound with each new release. Listening to some of your guys’ earlier work (Stay Pissed, Catacomb), you guys clearly have, but this seems especially true of The Cradle. What do you feel sets your newest record apart from your past releases?

Well, like you said, we’ve always been doing something different, and there’s a lot of bands that sound different from release to release, but I think it’s been noted with us because so many of our older fans are such enormous fans of the first three releases specifically. There was definitely a considerable amount of backlash when the style changed. I mean, Less Faith is even way different than the first two. The first two are very old-sounding, kind of beatdown records, and then Less Faith was like a lot darker–no breakdowns on it–and Stay Asleep is very melodic, sad, foreign. The Cradle was kind of a testament to the fact that we refused to stay the same. And a lot of that came from just wanting to play different music now that we’re all in our 20s. Catacomb was written when we were 16, and now we’re a lot older so it’s just different. A lot of it too is the fact that Kyle’s in the band, so you know, we don’t want to play an old style with his vocals, we want to write a style of music that also serves his vocal strength.

Was that shift in sound kind of a unified decision that you all talked about ahead of time, or did it occur naturally as you were writing?

It’s a combination of both. I mentioned that first recording back in January–we recorded it in New York in the studio, and it was a way different record. As we kept writing, months after that recording, we wrote “My Savior,” “My Only Devil,” “Brain Burner,” Awful Disclosures,” and stuff like that, and I don’t know…it was definitely a combination of both. We found that it was a premeditated thing; going into it we had this set idea, but then as the record kept getting pushed off and re-recorded, and as we kept rewriting and readjusting, we realized like, “Oh, we’re really figuring out a lot of stuff.” The final version–the one that we released–is so significantly greater than the original recording, from a songwriting standpoint especially.

You sort of touched on this earlier, but what role did the addition of your guys’ new vocalist, Kyle, have in the direction of The Cradle? I think he has a very unique delivery.

He has an extremely unique delivery. His vocal style is just so different, and his lyrical style is very poetic. He specifically as a vocalist experimented on The Cradle because we brought Kyle into the mix very late in the songwriting process, and he absolutely shined on it. It definitely was one of those things where we kind of rushed him a little bit just because of the time constraints, but he did a great job and met all the deadlines perfectly. But it was definitely a trial period. It was like, “Okay, this is his first time with this band and he’s about to record a record,” [laughs], Overall, I think after this record was said and done, and after we kind of talked about it as a band, he kind of recognized the strength of what he did great, and he knows what he needs to improve on, etc. His role in this band is super huge now, and it’s awesome to have him on board, and have him deliver what he’s been delivering.

Kind of spring boarding off that last question, are there any artists that you feel majorly influence your guys’ sound or style?

Yeah, definitely. As a band, we’re all over the board—-we really like Daughters a lot, Botch, Converge–a lot of those early, mid-2000s mathcore bands. We’re all really big fans of thrash music, like Encrust and stuff. I don’t know…old Norma Jean, like Oh God, The Aftermath. I just saw they’re announcing their 10-year anniversary tour for that record, and I think a bunch of us are going to try to go. That’s a pretty big one for us.

Hell yeah, definitely a classic. And do you personally have a favorite track off the album?

They’re all really good, but I’d probably have to say “My Only Devil.” I think that’s Kyle’s best song, and it’s probably my favorite. It’s got a really cool ending, and I really enjoy that one a lot.

In addition to a more out-of-the-box sound, the release of The Cradle saw sort of a physical rebranding too, mainly in regards to the imagery you guys have been using to represent yourselves. It all seems very premeditated and cohesive. Could you tell me a little bit about that?

As far as like the visual stuff, it’s just specifically supposed to be for this release. We all really enjoy when bands have a myriad of art created for an album, and I like that. I like that theme. It’s kind of like a comic book, punk style, drawn artwork kind of stuff; there’s a lot of yellow in the imagery and things like that. And yeah, a lot of it was just experimenting with different stuff and seeing what looked the coolest, and once we landed on it, we were just like, “This rules, let’s roll with it.” After The Cradle, we’ll retire what we made for that and move on to something else entirely.

This question may be a little premature, but what do you see as the next evolution of Kingmaker’s sound?

Well, we are writing right now. We’re actually taking the summer off, and this is the first summer we’ve taken off from touring since our first tour, which was four years ago in 2011. We’re just writing songs right now, and it’s just going to be for whatever the next release is, and I can definitely tell you that it’s going to be cool [laughs]. You know, every band says “It’s going to be heavier” and “It’s going to be this” or “It’s going to be that,” but it’s just going to be us expanding and trying to make our sound even cooler. We want to make sure the kids are going to like it, and it’s always going to be something you can headbang to or throw an elbow or two to. We’re really excited, and we’ve got some really cool stuff in the works, and we’re excited to reveal it in the coming months.

That’s awesome. I’m stoked to hear it. And while on the topic, do you guys have any other plans for the future? Any touring on the horizon?

We definitely see more touring in our future, for sure. As much as this summer was like, “Oh, we’re bummed we couldn’t get on the road,” it was definitely for the best. I think we really needed to take this summer off and really focus on hammering out songs and just sort making our next few moves. I can promise that in the next two or three months–or hopefully around that general area–we’ll be releasing some information, so definitely stay tuned for that stuff.

We definitely will be. That’s all I’ve got for you today, so is there anything else that you would like to add or would want fans to know?

I guess rather than using this time to talk about anything self-serving, I just want to give a huge shout-out to some bands that are really awesome and really good friends of ours. There’s a band called Our Lady, from Springfield, Illinois, and they’re awesome. We have friends in this band called Ghost Of A Dead Hummingbird from the Chicago suburbs who are a really great band. Arkham from Chicago, Illinois, are really awesome, and yeah, we just have a ton of really, really talented friends, and I of course would spend forever listening to all of them, but those are three that I think a lot of people should really check out that are from our general Illinois area. There’s just a crazy amount of good talent coming up right now, and I’m stoked to have a lot of our friends be a part of it. They all have Bandcamps, so give ‘em a peek.

Interview written and conducted by Kyle Florence
Feature photo courtesy of David Mullis

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/07/03/utg-interview-kingmakers-alex-gaspar-discusses-the-creation-of-the-cradle/feed/ 1
UTG TV: Parmalee At CMA Music Festival 2015 http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/07/03/utg-tv-parmalee-at-cma-music-festival-2015/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/07/03/utg-tv-parmalee-at-cma-music-festival-2015/#comments Fri, 03 Jul 2015 13:30:58 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1153223 We caught up with Parmalee right after they took the stage at CMA Fest in Nashville, Tennessee last month. These guys have been around each other for some time now and know how to have a good time, even with their busy lives. The band had just come back from a performance the night before and spent some time in the airport catching up on sleeping. This of course led to photos being posted of each member caught snoozing. How flattering!

This will be Parmalee’s fourth year at the major music festival that has helped launch major acts in the …

]]>
We caught up with Parmalee right after they took the stage at CMA Fest in Nashville, Tennessee last month. These guys have been around each other for some time now and know how to have a good time, even with their busy lives. The band had just come back from a performance the night before and spent some time in the airport catching up on sleeping. This of course led to photos being posted of each member caught snoozing. How flattering!

This will be Parmalee’s fourth year at the major music festival that has helped launch major acts in the country music scene. In our interview, the four-year veterans take a walk down memory lane as they recall their growth within the festival from 2012 to 2015, and we of course had to find out what these country music stars keep in their pockets.

Produced by: Gabbie Brown

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/07/03/utg-tv-parmalee-at-cma-music-festival-2015/feed/ 1
toe Return With “My Little Wish” http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/07/02/toe-return-with-my-little-wish/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/07/02/toe-return-with-my-little-wish/#comments Thu, 02 Jul 2015 20:07:20 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1153350 Japanese band toe return with their new track, “My Little Wish,” off of the band’s upcoming Topshelf release, Hear You.

The instrumental band write crazy guitar lines that somehow connect within the madness to make beautiful, translucent sound. Fans of American Football, Owen, and all the twinkle daddies should feel right at home with toe.

The band is also playing the US this July – dates can be found here. Be sure to pre-order Hear You here.

Follow us after the jump to listen to the fantastic “My Little Wish.”

]]>
Japanese band toe return with their new track, “My Little Wish,” off of the band’s upcoming Topshelf release, Hear You.

The instrumental band write crazy guitar lines that somehow connect within the madness to make beautiful, translucent sound. Fans of American Football, Owen, and all the twinkle daddies should feel right at home with toe.

The band is also playing the US this July – dates can be found here. Be sure to pre-order Hear You here.

Follow us after the jump to listen to the fantastic “My Little Wish.”

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/07/02/toe-return-with-my-little-wish/feed/ 1
As Cities Burn Surprise With New Track “Goldmine” http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/07/02/as-cities-burn-surprise-with-new-track-goldmine/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/07/02/as-cities-burn-surprise-with-new-track-goldmine/#comments Thu, 02 Jul 2015 19:39:34 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1153346 As Cities Burn have released another new track, surprising fans with the band’s return to new tunes.

“Goldmine” is a blistering track, featuring thundering drums, screams, brooding atmospheres, and more. Still keeping with the band’s keen sense for melody, guitars thrash back and forth as the two vocals intertwine with one another.

The band will be embarking on a ten year anniversary tour for their hit album, Son, I Loved You At Your Darkest – you can find tickets to those shows here.

Follow us after the jump to listen to “Goldmine.” What do you think?

]]>
As Cities Burn have released another new track, surprising fans with the band’s return to new tunes.

“Goldmine” is a blistering track, featuring thundering drums, screams, brooding atmospheres, and more. Still keeping with the band’s keen sense for melody, guitars thrash back and forth as the two vocals intertwine with one another.

The band will be embarking on a ten year anniversary tour for their hit album, Son, I Loved You At Your Darkest – you can find tickets to those shows here.

Follow us after the jump to listen to “Goldmine.” What do you think?

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/07/02/as-cities-burn-surprise-with-new-track-goldmine/feed/ 1
Latest ‘Wet Hot American Summer’ Trailer Is Perfect http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/07/02/latest-wet-hot-american-summer-trailer-is-perfect/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/07/02/latest-wet-hot-american-summer-trailer-is-perfect/#comments Thu, 02 Jul 2015 15:08:49 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1153337 Netflix will help everyone return to Camp Firewood for one more wild season of memories when Wet Hot American Summer: First Day Of Camp hits the popular streaming platform on July 31, 2015. Today a new trailer for the mini-series found its way online, and it might just be the funniest thing you see all week.

If you didn’t know by now, First Day Of Camp is being marketed as a prequel to the original WHAS film. The entire original cast will return, including Elizabeth Banks, Michael Ian Black, Bradley Cooper, Judah Friedlander, Janeane Garofalo, Joe Lo Truglio, Ken Marino, …

]]>
Netflix will help everyone return to Camp Firewood for one more wild season of memories when Wet Hot American Summer: First Day Of Camp hits the popular streaming platform on July 31, 2015. Today a new trailer for the mini-series found its way online, and it might just be the funniest thing you see all week.

If you didn’t know by now, First Day Of Camp is being marketed as a prequel to the original WHAS film. The entire original cast will return, including Elizabeth Banks, Michael Ian Black, Bradley Cooper, Judah Friedlander, Janeane Garofalo, Joe Lo Truglio, Ken Marino, Christopher Meloni, Marguerite Moreau, Zak Orth, Amy Poehler, David Hyde Pierce, and Paul Rudd. There are numerous newcomers as well, like Kristen Wiig and Jon Hamm. Everyone appears in the trailer released today, and everyone is given one brief moment to shine. Click below and prepare to laugh.

Every episode of Wet Hot American Summer: First Day Of Camp arrives in four weeks, which gives you plenty of time to revisit the film that started it all. Heck, just buy a copy off Amazon. It’s not like you’re only going to watch it once. That, my friends, is basically impossible.

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/07/02/latest-wet-hot-american-summer-trailer-is-perfect/feed/ 1
UTG PHOTOS: Imagine Dragons In Cleveland, OH (6/22/15) http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/07/02/utg-photos-imagine-dragons-in-cleveland-oh-62215/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/07/02/utg-photos-imagine-dragons-in-cleveland-oh-62215/#comments Thu, 02 Jul 2015 14:00:01 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1153310 Under The Gun Review sent photographer Kellie Gannon to Quicken Loans Area in Cleveland, OH to shoot Imagine Dragons on June 22.

Recently, Quicken Loans Arena in Cleveland saw a whole lot of action, or lack thereof if we’re considering the Cavs during NBA Finals (just like every other year, next year is our year… seriously… maybe… COME ON, LEBRON!) Anyway, on a humid, rainy night less than a week after that final fateful basketball game, The Q was thankfully rocking to a much different, upbeat tune.

Hailing from Vegas and putting on a Sin City-worthy show, Imagine Dragons have …

]]>
Under The Gun Review sent photographer Kellie Gannon to Quicken Loans Area in Cleveland, OH to shoot Imagine Dragons on June 22.

Recently, Quicken Loans Arena in Cleveland saw a whole lot of action, or lack thereof if we’re considering the Cavs during NBA Finals (just like every other year, next year is our year… seriously… maybe… COME ON, LEBRON!) Anyway, on a humid, rainy night less than a week after that final fateful basketball game, The Q was thankfully rocking to a much different, upbeat tune.

Hailing from Vegas and putting on a Sin City-worthy show, Imagine Dragons have been making waves in the music industry for a few years now. They formed six years ago and were catapulted into the limelight in 2012 with their heavy-hitting, radio friendly debut album, Night Visions. Having quite a few large tours and festivals under their belt in such a short time, they are no stranger to filling large venues and putting on larger than life stage shows. This current arena tour, in support of their sophomore album, Smoke + Mirrors, is exactly what Imagine Dragons fans have been waiting in anticipation for.

Direct support on the tour came from Halsey and Metric, both incredible acts in their own right. Young, blue-haired rocker chick Halsey jump-started the night with a handful of her catchy, dark tunes and Metric’s infectious energy got the crowd on their feet and eager for Imagine Dragons.

Imagine Dragons couldn’t just take the stage like any other band though. The stage before their set was rigged with curtains that dropped immediately following the first notes of the intro song and front man Dan Reynolds immediately traversed the triangular stage onto a catwalk over the crowd, causing the arena to erupt in shrill, adolescent shrieks. They played the majority of their new songs from Smoke + Mirrors including current hit single “Shots,” while also pleasing the crowd with older hits including “Radioactive” and “It’s Time.” Drummer Daniel Platzman certainly held down the rhythm all night, but had a hand from his three band members via floor toms scattered onstage during various songs, including “Top of The World.”

Check out Imagine Dragons in a city near you and enjoy the photos from this wild, energetic show!


IMAGINE DRAGONS


Imagine Dragons 003

Imagine Dragons 002

Imagine Dragons 001

Imagine Dragons 004

Imagine Dragons 005

Imagine Dragons 006

Imagine Dragons 007

Imagine Dragons 008

Imagine Dragons 009

Imagine Dragons 010

Imagine Dragons 011

Imagine Dragons 012

Imagine Dragons 013

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/07/02/utg-photos-imagine-dragons-in-cleveland-oh-62215/feed/ 1
Nai Harvest Release New Music Video For “Ocean Of Madness” http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/07/02/nai-harvest-release-new-music-video-for-ocean-of-madness/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/07/02/nai-harvest-release-new-music-video-for-ocean-of-madness/#comments Thu, 02 Jul 2015 13:00:53 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1153328 Sheffield, UK indie-emo duo Nai Harvest released their sophomore record, Hairball, this past April. Today, with the help of director Eric Crisp, they released a brand new music video for their song “Ocean Of Madness.”

The dreamy ballad is brought to life with lead singer Ben Thompson and drummer Lew Currie having a lot of fun in what appears to be a room full of a number of their friends dressed up in very odd costumes. Bunnies in gas masks, “happy birthday” signs, and neon wigs, among others? Must have been a great party.

“I had the idea a …

]]>
Sheffield, UK indie-emo duo Nai Harvest released their sophomore record, Hairball, this past April. Today, with the help of director Eric Crisp, they released a brand new music video for their song “Ocean Of Madness.”

The dreamy ballad is brought to life with lead singer Ben Thompson and drummer Lew Currie having a lot of fun in what appears to be a room full of a number of their friends dressed up in very odd costumes. Bunnies in gas masks, “happy birthday” signs, and neon wigs, among others? Must have been a great party.

“I had the idea a while ago for a video that was based on a band playing in the middle of a circular dolly track, so that was the sort of starting point for the video,” Ed Crisp, the music video’s director shares with Stereogum. “Calum and I got some ideas from the internet and set about building a dolly that can move on a track made of PVC pipe, pure DIY all the way. The concept was built around that, we wanted it to be kinda weird, with loads to look at and loads going on, I think it turned out pretty well considering we only had a day of filming including setting up and testing the dolly.”

The band is set to play two UK dates this month. More info can be found here. You can grab yourself a copy of Hairball here. Check out the new music video for “Ocean Of Madness” below.

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/07/02/nai-harvest-release-new-music-video-for-ocean-of-madness/feed/ 1
MOVIE REVIEW: ‘Terminator Genisys’ Is More Than A Bit Rusty http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/07/01/movie-review-terminator-genisys-is-more-than-a-bit-rusty/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/07/01/movie-review-terminator-genisys-is-more-than-a-bit-rusty/#comments Wed, 01 Jul 2015 15:59:11 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1153300 Film: Terminator Genisys
Starring: Jai Courtney, Emilia Clarke, Arnold Schwarzenegger
Directed By: Alan Taylor

“Old, but not obsolete.” This line reverberates throughout the narrative of the new reboot/sequel/studio machination, Terminator Genisys. As the camera lingers on Schwarzenegger’s automated façade, we see that the lines on his face are more noticeable than ever. A sign of passing times, one would say. Time has most certainly passed since director James Cameron built the foundation for the franchise on top of schlocky B-movie tropes like relentless violence, threadbare sci-fi concepts and seemingly invincible villains. But this is 2015, folks – the time …

]]>
Film: Terminator Genisys
Starring: Jai Courtney, Emilia Clarke, Arnold Schwarzenegger
Directed By: Alan Taylor

“Old, but not obsolete.” This line reverberates throughout the narrative of the new reboot/sequel/studio machination, Terminator Genisys. As the camera lingers on Schwarzenegger’s automated façade, we see that the lines on his face are more noticeable than ever. A sign of passing times, one would say. Time has most certainly passed since director James Cameron built the foundation for the franchise on top of schlocky B-movie tropes like relentless violence, threadbare sci-fi concepts and seemingly invincible villains. But this is 2015, folks – the time when that kind of nutty sci-fi must be over-explained until convolution is achieved. Some things are better left unsaid and under-exploited; however, that isn’t Terminator Genisys’ bag. It’s much more interested in cheaply calling back to its predecessors, sporting a framework indicative of the superhero genre’s increasingly huge influence on blockbusters, and setting the stage for installments to come. This one is programmed to dull.

It’s Los Angeles in 2029 and John Connor (this time played by Jason Clarke) is about to lead an attack that would cripple Skynet once and for all. After discovering Skynet’s major weapon, a time machine, John sends Kyle Reese (Jai Courtney) back in time to 1984 to save Sarah Connor (Emilia Clarke) from one of Skynet’s many robot assassins. Things are different though. Sarah has already destroyed the terminator sent back to kill her with the aid of pops (Arnold Schwarzenegger), another terminator programmed to protect Sarah. There’s a new foe in town though and it has raised the stakes.

Terminator Genisys is the perfect example of a film that believes it can use the goodwill drummed up by its predecessors. While that may be true, Genisys makes it clear that those callbacks and references won’t be the only things reused from other films. Akin to Marvel’s most recent effort, Avengers: Age of Ultron, a physical MacGuffin (plot motivator with little explanation) in the form of the new foe is chased around by the trio of heroes so that judgment day can be averted, once again. Nothing in this effort indicates that the filmmakers wanted to develop something interesting in Terminator lore, like an interesting serial that complements the source material. The explosions are big, the chase scenes are endless, and the mid-credits stinger is Marvel-level insipid. The whole film is a product to be marketed, sold and then sequel-ed by people who believe bombastically dull stories will put butts in seats. I think you already know that answer. There’s still a certain dinosaur movie eating up the box office with a vacuous grin.

The performances both save and make the film sadder to watch. Schwarzenegger’s robotic stoicism is intact but his one-liners never land. When humanistic qualities are added to his moments, they feel cheap and never earned. Emilia Clarke is decent as the new iteration of Sarah Connor. This is a different Sarah though. One already battle-hardened and never looked down upon by others for her prophetic looks into a possible destructive future. Jai Courtney heralds back to Sam Worthington’s performance in Terminator Salvation – one replacing vigor and charm with lifeless line readings and robotic attempts at charm. Jason Clarke as Connor is the biggest loss in the film, though. The kind of confliction in the face of violence he showed in Zero Dark Thirty isn’t here. But again, this isn’t the same John Connor we grew up knowing. J.K. Simmons makes a needed comedic appearance, luckily.

What is it about the Terminator series that resonates with audiences? To me, it was all about the practical effects and John Carpenter-esque qualities to the first and second films. 1984’s The Terminator was a seedy action-thriller bordering on horror with enough sci-fi qualities to set itself from the pack. The second film, although being a bit of a slog, is a sequel that expounds upon the thrills of the original while sticking to the mythos set by the first film. The third and fourth films? Well, their respective quality ranges from fine to dull. Terminator Genisys is what happens when those sci-fi qualities trump the B-movie ones. When the origin of your franchise has the sci-fi depth of Philip K. Dick fan fiction, it’s probably not best to expand upon that mythos. That’s exactly what Genisys does. It tries to make camp into some kind of well-informed fiction by way of nutty, convoluted science.

The visuals are all too familiar as well. There are countless sequences of destruction muddled by an orange tinge, unsaturated colors dulled by 3D post-conversion and the constant fetishistic need for the characters to survive some kind of destructive act. All of the action sequences are shot and scored like they have to carry the heft of the finale. Alas though, that won’t be coming for another two hours.

What is Terminator Genisys’ purpose in the summer of 2015? To remind us that Mad Max: Fury Road was here to save us all and the world didn’t pay attention.

GRADE: D+

Review written by Sam Cohen (follow him on Twitter!)

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/07/01/movie-review-terminator-genisys-is-more-than-a-bit-rusty/feed/ 1
UTG PREMIERE: Mirror Eyes Debut Their New EP, ‘Reality’ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/07/01/utg-premiere-mirror-eyes-debut-their-new-ep-reality/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/07/01/utg-premiere-mirror-eyes-debut-their-new-ep-reality/#comments Wed, 01 Jul 2015 14:01:28 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1153254 Coming together from the Northeast, the Midwest, and the South, melodic hardcore five-piece Mirror Eyes are here to impress and offer diverse musical stylings to a vast majority of music lovers. Today the band is thrilled to premiere their debut EP, entitled Reality.

Undeniably an homage to those that have brought melodic hardcore to the forefront, Reality changes in shape and color after every track. Similarly, the band also brings to the table nuances that recreate some of our most beloved acts’ sound today.

The collection initially calls to mind a more aggressive PVRIS or early-era New Years Day

]]>
Coming together from the Northeast, the Midwest, and the South, melodic hardcore five-piece Mirror Eyes are here to impress and offer diverse musical stylings to a vast majority of music lovers. Today the band is thrilled to premiere their debut EP, entitled Reality.

Undeniably an homage to those that have brought melodic hardcore to the forefront, Reality changes in shape and color after every track. Similarly, the band also brings to the table nuances that recreate some of our most beloved acts’ sound today.

The collection initially calls to mind a more aggressive PVRIS or early-era New Years Day. It then transforms to a fusion of Circa Survive and Pierce the Veil, and closes off the ride with an elaborate synthesis of all four.

“We are really excited about the way the EP came out,” the band shares. “Going into the studio for the first time together, we didn’t know what to expect but we couldn’t be more happy with the end result. The EP embodies everyone’s individual influences. We are excited and anxious to let the world hear.”

Make sure to catch the band live during the Nashville date of Warped Tour on July 1, and again at GameChangerWorld in New Jersey on August 8.

Reality is officially out today, July 1, and you can stream it in full below. You may also purchase it via their Bandcamp. Don’t forget to leave a comment and let us know what you think!

unnamed-3

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/07/01/utg-premiere-mirror-eyes-debut-their-new-ep-reality/feed/ 1
Knuckle Puck Share “True Contrite” Off ‘Copacetic’ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/06/30/knuckle-puck-share-true-contrite-off-copacetic/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/06/30/knuckle-puck-share-true-contrite-off-copacetic/#comments Tue, 30 Jun 2015 20:40:15 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1153286 Knuckle Puck have joined forces with SPIN to begin streaming a new track titled “True Contrite.” Give it a listen by following the jump below.

The group’s latest single is taken from their impending debut album, Copacetic, which is set to arrive on July 31 via Rise Records. It is preceded by the equally infectious “Disdain,” which hit the web about a week back. If you dig one or both tracks, you can snag a pre-order here.

Share your thoughts with us in the comments, and follow UTG on Twitter for more updates on all your …

]]>
Knuckle Puck have joined forces with SPIN to begin streaming a new track titled “True Contrite.” Give it a listen by following the jump below.

The group’s latest single is taken from their impending debut album, Copacetic, which is set to arrive on July 31 via Rise Records. It is preceded by the equally infectious “Disdain,” which hit the web about a week back. If you dig one or both tracks, you can snag a pre-order here.

Share your thoughts with us in the comments, and follow UTG on Twitter for more updates on all your favorite artists.

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/06/30/knuckle-puck-share-true-contrite-off-copacetic/feed/ 1
Caspian Announce New Album, ‘Dust & Disquiet’ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/06/30/caspian-announce-new-album-dust-disquiet/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/06/30/caspian-announce-new-album-dust-disquiet/#comments Tue, 30 Jun 2015 19:25:14 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1153271 Caspian will release their fourth studio album, Dust & Disquiet, on September 25 via Triple Crown Records. It follows 2013’s Hymn For The Greatest Generation, and will act as the group’s first full-length effort since the unexpected passing of bassist Chris Friedrich.

To celebrate said announcement, the band has also shared the record’s moving lead single, “Sad Heart Of Mine.” Give it a listen after the break (via Noisey), and let us know what you think in the replies.

The Massachusetts post-rockers will spend a majority of September and October on the road, occasionally sharing the stage …

]]>
Caspian will release their fourth studio album, Dust & Disquiet, on September 25 via Triple Crown Records. It follows 2013’s Hymn For The Greatest Generation, and will act as the group’s first full-length effort since the unexpected passing of bassist Chris Friedrich.

To celebrate said announcement, the band has also shared the record’s moving lead single, “Sad Heart Of Mine.” Give it a listen after the break (via Noisey), and let us know what you think in the replies.

The Massachusetts post-rockers will spend a majority of September and October on the road, occasionally sharing the stage with Circle Takes The Square. If you’d like to get in on the action, a full list of upcoming tour dates can additionally be found below.

Caspian Fall Tour 2015

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/06/30/caspian-announce-new-album-dust-disquiet/feed/ 0
The Black Dahlia Murder Unveil First ‘Abysmal’ Single http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/06/30/the-black-dahlia-murder-unveil-first-abysmal-single/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/06/30/the-black-dahlia-murder-unveil-first-abysmal-single/#comments Tue, 30 Jun 2015 18:14:55 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1153263 In anticipation of their seventh full-length album, Abysmal, The Black Dahlia Murder have graced fans with a brand new ripper titled “Vlad, Son Of The Dragon.” Stream it below, and if you’re a fan, pick up a pre-order here.

While I’ve always been somewhat indifferent to the Michigan outfit’s thrashy brand of death metal, I firmly believe that their latest single is a huge step in the right direction. There’s a lot more at work here than strung-together riffs, and after jamming this track a few times, I’ll definitely be making time for Abysmal when it drops on …

]]>
In anticipation of their seventh full-length album, Abysmal, The Black Dahlia Murder have graced fans with a brand new ripper titled “Vlad, Son Of The Dragon.” Stream it below, and if you’re a fan, pick up a pre-order here.

While I’ve always been somewhat indifferent to the Michigan outfit’s thrashy brand of death metal, I firmly believe that their latest single is a huge step in the right direction. There’s a lot more at work here than strung-together riffs, and after jamming this track a few times, I’ll definitely be making time for Abysmal when it drops on September 18. If you will too, let us know in the comments section.

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/06/30/the-black-dahlia-murder-unveil-first-abysmal-single/feed/ 0
UTG PREMIERE: Sleeping Patterns – ‘Prejudice’ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/06/30/utg-premiere-sleeping-patterns-prejudice/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/06/30/utg-premiere-sleeping-patterns-prejudice/#comments Tue, 30 Jun 2015 17:30:53 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1153260 The new, six-song release from Worcester County-based emo band Sleeping Patterns is simply prolific. Titled Prejudice, there are parts on the record that speak softly to the soul, there are parts on the record that make you want to shout at the top of your lungs. It speaks to both the quiet and loud parts of human emotion.

Due out tomorrow, Under The Gun Review is exclusively streaming the release below. Guitarist Zach Boudrot said the record tackles the intricacies of everyday life.

“Lyrically and musically the songs show diversity and visit topics ranging from the contemplation of existence …

]]>
The new, six-song release from Worcester County-based emo band Sleeping Patterns is simply prolific. Titled Prejudice, there are parts on the record that speak softly to the soul, there are parts on the record that make you want to shout at the top of your lungs. It speaks to both the quiet and loud parts of human emotion.

Due out tomorrow, Under The Gun Review is exclusively streaming the release below. Guitarist Zach Boudrot said the record tackles the intricacies of everyday life.

“Lyrically and musically the songs show diversity and visit topics ranging from the contemplation of existence to casting judgement and sharing preconceived notions,” he said. “It’s been almost two years since we have released any new music. These songs are the culmination of all of our hard work and epitomize every ounce of our creativity. We can only hope that it receives an unbiased listen.”

Stream the record now and leave your thoughts in the comments below. Looking to get a hard copy of Prejudice? Pre-order a cassette copy of the record via Honest Face Records now.

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/06/30/utg-premiere-sleeping-patterns-prejudice/feed/ 0
REVIEW: Sorority Noise – ‘Joy, Departed’ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/06/30/review-sorority-noise-joy-departed/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/06/30/review-sorority-noise-joy-departed/#comments Tue, 30 Jun 2015 14:30:59 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1153245 Artist: Sorority Noise
Album: Joy, Departed
Genre: Emo, Garage Rock
Label: Topshelf Records

Joy, Departed doesn’t sound like a Sorority Noise record, and that’s a good thing. The band’s debut record–the aptly titled Forgettable–is a fun listen with little substance beyond a few catchy choruses and well-written one-liner lyrics. Where Forgettable serves as the polar opposite to vocalist Cam Boucher’s dark and moody other band, Old Gray, Joy, Departed falls somewhere between the two, with a darker lyric focus, but remaining traces of the cynical sense of humor found on the band’s debut. The result is a fantastic, yet …

]]>
Artist: Sorority Noise
Album: Joy, Departed
Genre: Emo, Garage Rock
Label: Topshelf Records

Joy, Departed doesn’t sound like a Sorority Noise record, and that’s a good thing. The band’s debut record–the aptly titled Forgettable–is a fun listen with little substance beyond a few catchy choruses and well-written one-liner lyrics. Where Forgettable serves as the polar opposite to vocalist Cam Boucher’s dark and moody other band, Old Gray, Joy, Departed falls somewhere between the two, with a darker lyric focus, but remaining traces of the cynical sense of humor found on the band’s debut. The result is a fantastic, yet slightly unpolished emo release that dynamically blends all ends of the genre’s wide spectrum of sounds and some of the genre’s most impressive lyrics.

The album starts off strong with two of the its best tracks, which can be viewed together as a relatively seamless opener. After track one, “Blissth,” which introduces the musical and lyrical themes that occupy the album’s best tracks, and “Corrigan” which has some of the record’s most quotable one-liners, infectious guitar lines, and a guest vocal spot from Modern Baseball’s Brendan Lukens, Joy, Departed hits sort of a dry spell with a few questionable track listing decisions. While both songs are impressive in their own right, “Fluorescent Black” and “Nosley” don’t adequately show off the record’s admirable sense of sonic diversity within the first five songs, and I often find myself skipping both tracks and the moody, surprisingly heavy album highlight “Your Soft Blood” just to get to the second half of the record.

Side B of the album, however, proves the record’s phenomenal worth and sets it apart from nearly every other album in the over-crowded emo genre. “Mononokay” immediately caught my attention on first listen due to its progressive view on mental health issues; vocalist Cam Boucher admits over a catchy, Pinkerton-esque instrumental, “I’ve tried to rid myself of my anxious tendency / but I have to accept my head for what it is to me.”

“Using” is a contender for best song of the year, using a vitriolic sense of humor to look at several deeply private thoughts, such as a reliance on drugs to escape depression and the fear of falling in love while in a highly depressed state of mind. The song’s chorus is the definitive high point of the record, as the band hits full garage-rock mode and Boucher shouts, “I stopped wishing I was dead and learned to love myself before anyone else / become more than just a burden, I know I’m more than worthy of your time.” The delivery in this song, as well as the fantastic, upbeat “Art School Wannabe” is on par with that of Max Bemis circa …Is A Real Boy, with a contradictory sense of what Boucher is saying and how he’s saying it. These moments, abundant in “Art School Wannabe” through “Mononokay,” give a glimpse of Sorority Noise at their best. This excellent sequence of songs makes the middle section of the record (the aforementioned sequence featuring “Fluorescent Black,” “Nosley,” and “Your Soft Blood”) seem boring in comparison, although the songs themselves are quite impressive taken out of context.

Joy, Departed is a wonderful record with some of the year’s most memorable moments from the emo genre. Sorority Noise is onto something incredible here, between their unique sense of musicianship that shines in the record’s impressive guitar work and the progressive discussion of important mental health issues; with Joy, Departed, Sorority Noise never glorify depression as many of their emo contemporaries have been known to do, and instead talk about the benefits of seeking mental counseling and getting better. These unmatched qualities show Sorority Noise doing something different and impressive with Joy, Departed, that’s held back minimally by lackluster production value on a few tracks and a questionable track order. However, given the immense growth between records that Sorority Noise has already shown, no one should be surprised if they continue to grow to be one of the most important bands in this music community.

SCORE: 8.75/10
Review written by John Bazley

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/06/30/review-sorority-noise-joy-departed/feed/ 0
REVIEW: Miguel – ‘Wildheart’ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/06/30/review-miguel-wildheart/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/06/30/review-miguel-wildheart/#comments Tue, 30 Jun 2015 14:00:59 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1153220 Artist: Miguel
Album: Wildheart
Label: RCA
Genre: R&B, Soul

Kaleidoscope Dream from 2012 set the bar very, very high for Wildheart. Grammy-award winner Miguel was on the verge of continuing to champion for the R&B/neo soul sub-industry alongside the likes of D’Angelo and Erykah Badu. In this new record, Los Angeles was his chosen cynosure and commercial-sounding R&B was not an endgame. He divulges his inner eccentric–more so here than in All I Want Is You from 2010–and steers clear of the generic. For those acclimated to the complex retro workings of the late ‘70s and ‘80s, Wildheart

]]>
Artist: Miguel
Album: Wildheart
Label: RCA
Genre: R&B, Soul

Kaleidoscope Dream from 2012 set the bar very, very high for Wildheart. Grammy-award winner Miguel was on the verge of continuing to champion for the R&B/neo soul sub-industry alongside the likes of D’Angelo and Erykah Badu. In this new record, Los Angeles was his chosen cynosure and commercial-sounding R&B was not an endgame. He divulges his inner eccentric–more so here than in All I Want Is You from 2010–and steers clear of the generic. For those acclimated to the complex retro workings of the late ‘70s and ‘80s, Wildheart may come close to precious metal. For others who may find it difficult to unwrap the intricate workings of Miguel’s imagination, it might just be a little too much to swallow.

“I need this album to connect,” Miguel shares in an interview with MTV. The record’s first spin allowed a touch to the surface; a very rough, unpalatable dap. The second spin allowed for a bit of research, and the third allowed for some understanding and the desire to dig a little deeper. All the other encounters that follow emerge as pure wanderlust – a good kind of connection.

Hazy guitars (which, notably, also can be found throughout the entire record), heavy synthesizers, and audio clips of television news greet us in “A Beautiful Exit,” an irony in most regards since it was neither beautiful nor was it the exit. “Deal” follows the same dull path, except this time there’s “No one pays attention now, they just wanna dance. You could be holdin’ the future in the palm of your hands” to contrast the six-word chorus. This sequence forces a careless assumption to be made about the rest of the collection. A lot of them, however, disavow and prove worthy.

We see an abrupt resurgence of Miguel’s music’s notorious baby-making aesthetic in “The Valley.” It’s difficult to ignore a chorus that begins with a hard “I wanna fuck like we’re filming in the valley. I wanna push and shove and paint your hills and valley.”

“Coffee,” along with “NWA” (feat. Kurupt) and the rock and roll lovechild that is “Hollywood Dreams,” was released in December of last year as a placeholder under Wild while Miguel was in the process of completing the record. These three stellar tracks stand out. They command attention individually and seek the spotlight when placed against the other ten tracks in this record.

“Waves,” though with its funky Earth, Wind & Fire trill, falls a little short and rapidly grows forgettable. Similarly, “Leaves” and “Goingtohell” seek out the same pull: an elaborate debate between the commercial and the independent – a seemingly reoccurring theme throughout.

Although imaginably not for everybody, Miguel emphasizes nice, heavy imprints of rock and roll, especially in “Face The Sun,” which features Lenny Kravitz (Seriously. We’re talking “Bohemian Rhapsody”-level guitar solo here). Amidst the heavy lot of genres, though, in this record lie lyrics like “Too immoral for the Christians, but too moral for the cut-throat. Too far out for the in-crowd, what’s normal anyway? Too concerned about what others think. What’s normal anyway?” This helps to explain Wildheart‘s intricacies.

While other artists hail victorious (to a fault) in the “too cohesive” department, Miguel does the opposite with Wildheart. A deliberate distancing from radio R&B/hip-hop and a newly acquired inclination towards the rock and roll byproduct of soul and blues, Wildheart feels like an equally uplifting and anticlimactic hybrid of both the gentrification of Brooklyn and the revival of old L.A.

SCORE: 7/10
Review written by Dana Reandelar

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/06/30/review-miguel-wildheart/feed/ 0
Four Year Strong Announce Massive US Fall Tour http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/06/29/four-year-strong-announce-massive-us-fall-tour/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/06/29/four-year-strong-announce-massive-us-fall-tour/#comments Mon, 29 Jun 2015 21:21:54 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1153212 Four Year Strong are scheduled to hit the road once again this Fall for a huge US outing in support of their brand new self-titled record, which was released earlier this month via Pure Noise.

The Worcester, MA easycore four-piece will be taking a bunch of great bands on the road with them, including Defeater, Expire, Speak Low If You Speak Love, Superheaven, and Elder Brother.

You can head below for the full list of dates and their corresponding supporting acts. Tickets will go on sale this Wednesday at 12PM local.

11063469_10153009405096818_5009115162735082732_n

Tour dates:
Defeater, Expire …

]]>
Four Year Strong are scheduled to hit the road once again this Fall for a huge US outing in support of their brand new self-titled record, which was released earlier this month via Pure Noise.

The Worcester, MA easycore four-piece will be taking a bunch of great bands on the road with them, including Defeater, Expire, Speak Low If You Speak Love, Superheaven, and Elder Brother.

You can head below for the full list of dates and their corresponding supporting acts. Tickets will go on sale this Wednesday at 12PM local.

11063469_10153009405096818_5009115162735082732_n

Tour dates:
Defeater, Expire & Speak Low (full band)
Sept 1 – Cleveland, OH @ Grog Shop
Sept 2 – Detroit, MI @ The Shelter
Sept 3 – Chicago, IL @ The Bottom Lounge
Sept 4 – Minneapolis, MN @ Triple Rock Social Club
Sept 5 – St. Louis, MO @ Firebird*
Sept 6 – Omaha, NE @ The Waiting Room
Sept 8 – Denver, CO @ Marquis Theater
Sept 9 – Salt Lake City, UT @ The Complex
Sept 11 – Seattle, WA @ The Crocodile
Sept 12 – Portland, OR @ Hawthorne Theatre
*no Expire

Defeater, Expire & My Iron Lung
Sept 14 – Orangevale, CA @ The Boardwalk
Sept 15 – San Diego, CA @ The Epicentre
Sept 16 – Anaheim, CA @ Chain Reaction
Sept 17 – Anaheim, CA @ Chain Reaction
Sept 18 – Tempe, AZ @ Club Red
Sept 19 – Albuquerque, NM @ The Works
Sept 21 – Dallas, TX @ Gas Monkey Bar & Grill
Sept 22 – Austin, TX @ Red 7
Sept 23 – Houston, TX @ Warehouse Live Studio

Defeater, Superheaven & Elder Brother (acoustic)
Sept 25 – Orlando, FL @ The Social
Sept 26 – Margate, FL @ O’Malley’s
Sept 27 – St. Petersburg, FL @ Local 662
Sept 28 – Atlanta, GA @ Masquerade – Hell
Sept 29 – Nashville, TN @ Exit / In
Sept 30 – Louisville, KY @ Headliner’s Music Hall
Oct 1 – Pittsburgh, PA @ Altar Bar
Oct 2 – Washington, DC @ Rock and Roll Hotel
Oct 3 – Virginia Beach, VA @ Shakas Live
Oct 4- Philadelphia, PA @ Union Transfer
Oct 6 – New York, NY @ Gramercy Theatre
Oct 7 – Poughkeepsie, NY @ The Chance
Oct 8 – Montreal, QC @ Theatre Rialto
Oct 9 – Toronto, ON @ The Opera House
Oct 10 – Buffalo, NY @ The Waiting Room
Oct 11 – Boston, MA @ The Middle East Downstairs

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/06/29/four-year-strong-announce-massive-us-fall-tour/feed/ 0
The Wonder Years Announce New Album, ‘No Closer to Heaven’ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/06/29/the-wonder-years-announce-new-album-no-closer-to-heaven/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/06/29/the-wonder-years-announce-new-album-no-closer-to-heaven/#comments Mon, 29 Jun 2015 18:05:37 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1153205 Earlier this year, pop-punk frontrunners The Wonder Years celebrated their tenth anniversary as a band with three discography shows in their hometown of Philadelphia. It now seems as though there are more big things in store for them in 2015.

This morning, the band has announced that they will be putting out a brand new album, entitled No Closer to Heaven – their fourth full-length record and second Hopeless Records effort – on September 4. It has been a little over two years since the band put out their Billboard-charting The Greatest Generation; the last and most commercially well-recieved …

]]>
Earlier this year, pop-punk frontrunners The Wonder Years celebrated their tenth anniversary as a band with three discography shows in their hometown of Philadelphia. It now seems as though there are more big things in store for them in 2015.

This morning, the band has announced that they will be putting out a brand new album, entitled No Closer to Heaven – their fourth full-length record and second Hopeless Records effort – on September 4. It has been a little over two years since the band put out their Billboard-charting The Greatest Generation; the last and most commercially well-recieved installment to their musical “trilogy.”

You can check out No Closer to Heaven‘s album artwork and track list below. Stay tuned for a brand new song and pre-order information at midnight EST.

UPDATE: The band has just put out the new record’s lead single, entitled “Cardinals.” You can check out the heartstring-tugging music video for it below.

twy heaven

Track list:
01. Brothers &
02. Cardinals
03. A Song for Patsy Cline
04. I Don’t Like Who I Was Then
05. Cigarettes & Saints
06. The Bluest Things on Earth
07. A Song for Ernest Hemingway
08. Thanks for the Ride
09. Stained Glass Ceilings (feat. Jason Aalon Butler)
10. I Wanted So Badly to be Brave
11. You in January
12. Palm Reader
13. No Closer to Heaven

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/06/29/the-wonder-years-announce-new-album-no-closer-to-heaven/feed/ 1
BOSTON: Here’s Your Chance To See The New Film ‘Amy’ For Free! http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/06/29/boston-heres-your-chance-to-see-the-new-film-amy-for-free/ http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/06/29/boston-heres-your-chance-to-see-the-new-film-amy-for-free/#comments Mon, 29 Jun 2015 16:16:07 +0000 http://www.underthegunreview.net/?p=1153197 If you’re a regular reader of UTG then you no doubt know the only thing we love as much as music is movies, especially documentaries and indie films. There is something about the power of visual storytelling we cannot get enough of, and today we’re thrilled to offer you, our dear readers, a chance to see one of our favorite 2015 docs, for free, in advance of its US release.

Amy is a new documentary exploring the life and tragic death of powerhouse vocalist Amy Winehouse. The film has already won over festival audiences and film critics worldwide, but it …

]]>
If you’re a regular reader of UTG then you no doubt know the only thing we love as much as music is movies, especially documentaries and indie films. There is something about the power of visual storytelling we cannot get enough of, and today we’re thrilled to offer you, our dear readers, a chance to see one of our favorite 2015 docs, for free, in advance of its US release.

Amy is a new documentary exploring the life and tragic death of powerhouse vocalist Amy Winehouse. The film has already won over festival audiences and film critics worldwide, but it won’t be reaching mainstream crowds until its national release on July 10. We have partnered with the people behind the film to present a one-of-a-kind advance screening of the film in Boston on Tuesday, July 7, and we want YOU to be the first ones in the door.

The screening will take place at 7PM on July 7 inside Kendall Square Cinema in Cambridge, MA. We have 50 tickets available to give away online, and they can be claimed by following this link.

You can view the trailer for Amy below. If you like what you see, please consider attending our screening. We’d love to meet all of you and talk about this powerful new film.

]]>
http://www.underthegunreview.net/2015/06/29/boston-heres-your-chance-to-see-the-new-film-amy-for-free/feed/ 1